User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1380 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    Disclaimer: I loved this movie. I watched it twice, back-to-back, in 3D.

    I loved the action and the spectacle. The battles, despite the one absurdity of giant robots fighting alien invaders had sense of realism that was rather unnerving. Everything but that (minor detail) was eerily plausible. I also liked the other messages found throughout. Mostly, though, I loved how it all came
    Disclaimer: I loved this movie. I watched it twice, back-to-back, in 3D.

    I loved the action and the spectacle. The battles, despite the one absurdity of giant robots fighting alien invaders had sense of realism that was rather unnerving. Everything but that (minor detail) was eerily plausible. I also liked the other messages found throughout. Mostly, though, I loved how it all came together as a kind of celebration of the value science and technology when coupled with human courage, ingenuity, innovation, self-sacrifice, individualism (when appropriate), and cooperation (when appropriate).

    It's the many minor messages within the movie that made it stand out from mindless summer action movie fare (which are fine, on occasion).

    First, what I like the most: I liked abiding theme of science and technology being tools for human salvation. There are literally no scenes without some object of human ingenuity in view. The giant robots are man-machine saviours that aid humanity in fighting against grotesque organic monsters.

    (As an aside: I like nature. I was raised in a rural area, and I enjoyed camping. But make no mistake, nature can be brutal, and it is only human scientific, technological, social, and other developments that can keep the monster at bay. If you doubt me, try surviving alone and without man-made equipment for a week in virtually any natural environment. You may not be dead, but you'll almost wish you were. Where I live (just outside a city of 1 million), you’d be dead in less than 5 hours without winter clothing, six months a year. Nature can be subservient to us, but it must never again be our master. Precambrian humans had an average life expectancy of 31 years. Also, like the monsters in this movie, any number larger wild animals would kill a human without a second thought. A bear will rip a child to shreds. Wolves (prior to their gradual domestication by killing the more violent ones over the centuries), were a particularly large threat in Europe. An elephant will gore a grown man. And so on. **It is solely our scientific, technological, and social advancements made possible by an appropriate mix of individual initiative and group cooperation that keep the nightmare at bay.** The movie Pacific Rim acknowledges this. Unlike the technological luddism of, for example, the Terminator movies or Avatar [which both partially denigrate technology and science], this movie celebrates human achievement and progress. And movies could use more of that.)

    I liked that movie (unlike almost all American blockbusters) takes place in several locations, none of which are large American cities. The United States comprises about 5% of the global population, and it’s nice to see that represented in an American blockbuster. And how many times do you really want to see New York destroyed, for instance?

    I appreciated the message that both cooperation and individual initiative are prudent and necessary. The fight against (for instance, there are several instances of insubordination and deviations from military procedure, but they mostly involve serving the greater good).

    I liked the love story component. The lead man was not a handsome male Brad Pitt lookalike, and the female love interest was not the typical American supermodel of action flicks. Rather, she was an English-speaking Chinese national who models the very best traits of many females from that culture. She is polite and respectful, yet stands up for her beliefs non-confrontationally, and she is obviously intelligent. She is "equal but different" from the main male protagonist.

    I appreciated the cursory mention of the cause for the alien invasion: global environmental degradation, the (spoiler) reason for the alien invasion.

    Although there is much "apocalyptic porn" (hey, I like it too), the body count is actually quite low. While we see entire skyscrapers destroyed, because civilians are evacuated in shelters, the number of civilian casualties is less than 100. (Contrast that with "Man of Steel", which had a casualty count of six or seven figures).

    It was nice to see scientists portrayed are heroes. The two scientist characters literally risk their lives to test a theory and gain evidence that is crucial to a positive outcome. This world needs more scientists and technologists. Even the characters' stereotypical eccentricity is endearing: they have their foibles, but they are each aware of it. Sometimes, human foibles are unavoidable, and condemning people for (relatively) harmless quirks that they cannot change serves no purpose.

    I did like that movie avoids many Hollywood clichés (for the above reasons).

    If I had one complaint, it's that the movie is too short. It's 2 hours and 10 minutes. However, there is less action than I would have liked. It's not that there is too much "non-action" content. It's just that another 30 minutes or so of giant robot battles would have been swell.

    In short: see it.
    Expand
  2. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    Exactly what you would expect from a robot vs monster movie. So if you think you might be into that I recommend seeing this movie. This was a treat to for the eyes if you can see it in 3D I thought it was worth the extra
  3. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    A perfect popcorn summer fun movie. Those looking for in depth commentary on the human condition should look elsewhere. Just a badass movie that's lots of fun.
  4. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    Pacific Rim is another wonderful brought to us by Guillermo del Toro, as this film is a visual masterpiece with great acting and a terrific story. But most of all, it is undeniably a fun ride at the movies
  5. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    Wow, what an incredible movie. I enjoyed the effects more than those in Avatar and the movie has the best 3D effects I've ever seen. There were a few moments where I was on the edge of my seat and the fighters made moves that just floored me--really great action sequences that will awe you. So cool
  6. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    My inner child exploded from glee watching this movie. It delivered on its premise in spades while still showing a surprising amount of heart. The battles are epic, the CGI is stunning, and the content between the fights drives the film better than I could ever have hoped for. This is the movie of the summer, no doubt.
  7. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    By far the best Kaiju/Mecha movie out there. The science behind the jaegers actually advances the relationships between the characters, and you end up liking them all as you learn more and more of their story. Of course, the battles themselves are big, loud, and visually stunning.
  8. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    An epic, gloriously goofy summer film for lovers of giant monsters and robots. Guillermo del Toro must have had a blast making this film, and it shows. Beautiful visuals, offbeat characters, and awesome battles. The dialogue is corny and cliched, but thats part of the fun. Great casting also, everyone fits perfectly into there parts. Those that are fans of Anime will have a lot of funAn epic, gloriously goofy summer film for lovers of giant monsters and robots. Guillermo del Toro must have had a blast making this film, and it shows. Beautiful visuals, offbeat characters, and awesome battles. The dialogue is corny and cliched, but thats part of the fun. Great casting also, everyone fits perfectly into there parts. Those that are fans of Anime will have a lot of fun picking out the numerous references to various past works, there is even a couple nods to Star Wars. Expand
  9. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    To all those critics that they don't have the slight imagination in their heads ,disconnect for the harsh stuff that is happening in the world and put your self in the fantasy world of a movie like this and really by heart enjoy it you can't call your selfs critic ,the movie it's awesome refreshing it brings me back to those days of mazinger z robotec or even gundan, if you don't takeTo all those critics that they don't have the slight imagination in their heads ,disconnect for the harsh stuff that is happening in the world and put your self in the fantasy world of a movie like this and really by heart enjoy it you can't call your selfs critic ,the movie it's awesome refreshing it brings me back to those days of mazinger z robotec or even gundan, if you don't take your mine to that era,your not going to enjoy the movie, for me it bring back my inner child and for the entire movie my mind was running wild remembering waking up rushing to see those cartoons or just walking in the street thinking that i was a giant robot and that the ants where the people lol to resume this ,great job del toro. Expand
  10. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    Truly EPIC movie from start to finish. Hands down the best movie so far this summer and a very very nice surprise. Did not expect to like it this much, The kid inside me was coming out like a chest buster from Aliens. Grand scale, great special effects, amazing sound effects, decent acting, and above avg story/script. Worth seeing.
  11. Jul 17, 2013
    10
    Easily the best movie of the year so far, amazing special effects, solid writing great characterization. It's pretty much Evangelion, if Evangelion wasn't awful. See it, see it again, you will not regret it.
  12. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Pacific Rim may be the most delightful summer blockbuster I've ever seen because it is EXACTLY what it promised it would be. Giant robots fighting giant monsters with absolutely beautiful visuals.
  13. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    Pacific Rim: It wasn't perfect but it was damn good. Pacific Rim doesn't try to be anything that it's not and that is why this movie is pretty awesome. It is Monster Movie, not a horror movie mind you, a MONSTER movie. Borrowing from Godzilla, Neon Genesis, and a several other films and stories, Pac Rim manages to create a believable world with characters that you actually care for by thePacific Rim: It wasn't perfect but it was damn good. Pacific Rim doesn't try to be anything that it's not and that is why this movie is pretty awesome. It is Monster Movie, not a horror movie mind you, a MONSTER movie. Borrowing from Godzilla, Neon Genesis, and a several other films and stories, Pac Rim manages to create a believable world with characters that you actually care for by the movies end. The characters were well thought out and the actors playing them knew their roles in this film. Now don't expect "Oscar award winning" performances, but they did their jobs well. One nice thing was that Pac Rim is a self contained story and, admirably, does not blatantly set itself up for a franchise. Pac Rim is not without it's faults but I went with zero expectations and left really enjoying the film. I would even venture to say it is one, if not THE, best sci fi flick out this year (and there have been several)! If you like Giant Monsters, Giant Robots, good sci fi with a healthy dose of apocalyptic threats, then go see it. You'll have a great time! Expand
  14. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    One of the best "pop-corn movies" ever. This is the reason to go to a cinema. Spectacular in every way, but only and only if you are buying all this hugely ridiculous story. If you cringe at a first thought of "another monster/robot movie", you might just want to stay away or take a risk to see it, but you wouldn't get much else than amazing visuals, huge beautifully staged fights, greatOne of the best "pop-corn movies" ever. This is the reason to go to a cinema. Spectacular in every way, but only and only if you are buying all this hugely ridiculous story. If you cringe at a first thought of "another monster/robot movie", you might just want to stay away or take a risk to see it, but you wouldn't get much else than amazing visuals, huge beautifully staged fights, great detail in everything: environment, cities, robots, monsters (who are all different, btw). The main problem is characters, I must say, who are feeling generic in many ways. Not always do you feel compelled by them and care this much as you should've presumably. And nevertheless, this movie rocked so so much! I felt like 8 years old while watching this spectacle of a movie. But the main thing is that you just have to buy this stuff wholesale, otherwise you wont enjoy it a bit. Expand
  15. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Guillermo Del Toro is the Man! Pacific Rim was as good as I had hoped. I was thoroughly entertained and it went by rather quickly. I wasn't sitting in my seat all tired and ready to go like some other of the summer movies I've seen so far. I liked that the story was original as were the monsters and robots. I also liked that it was explained why the monsters are attacking. The entire subject of "the drift" and controlling of the Jaegers was completely original and I appreciate everything about it. The CGI was top notch and the use of colors was amazing.

    The only issue I have with this movie is that I had hoped to see more fighting between the other Jaegers....not just Gypsy Danger. Spoiler Alert...the only scene where we see multiple Jaegers fighting two Kaiju pretty much went the way I had worried it might go. You have (3) Jaegers fighting one Kaiju and they two get their asses handed to them in short order. It reminds me of Iron Man 3. At the end of the movie, he has all of these suits that come to help, but they don't last more than a minute when fighting the enemy. What is the point of having all of those cool suits if you don't get to enjoy them being used for an extended amount of time. The same thing happens here with the Jaegers. In any case...that is a small issue of mine, but not a deal breaker.

    Aside from that malarkey of mine, I'd like to point out that the cast is fantastic. I never really cared for Charlie Hunnam before, but I liked him in this. Idris Elba is a great actor and I hope to see more of him in the coming years. I didn't care for the movies he's been cast in before, but this was a great role for him. I've never heard of Rinko Kikuci before, but she really grew on me. I hope to see more of her in the future. Lastly, Charlie Day has been on fire the past string of movies he's done. I really liked his character. When Charlie Day and Ron Pearlman are on screen together, it's nothing but gold.

    I hope that there's a sequel in the works. I enjoyed this one so much I didn't want it to end. I was surprised at how fast it paced along. It's over two hours long, but it flew by. I highly recommend you see it. Great flick!
    Expand
  16. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    The movie relies heavily on action and is well acted by most of the actors. It is entertaining and a nonstop ride that will make my blu ray collection.
  17. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    The "Citizen Kane" of spectacle films. It wears it's identity as a spectacle film on its sleeve and that will turn off some. For the rest of us we get some of the most fun we've had in a theater all summer. Everything from the music to the production design get you amped for the next monster encounter. Del Toro captures lighting in a bottle by giving us a spectacle film that also has aThe "Citizen Kane" of spectacle films. It wears it's identity as a spectacle film on its sleeve and that will turn off some. For the rest of us we get some of the most fun we've had in a theater all summer. Everything from the music to the production design get you amped for the next monster encounter. Del Toro captures lighting in a bottle by giving us a spectacle film that also has a depth of mythology not seen in these types of films. It's biggest weakness is the wooden characters and cliched tropes, but even these feed into what Del Toro was trying to do which is give us a live action anime of sorts. Those flaws do not outweigh the genius of the robot on monster fights. This film delivered everything as advertised. Collapse
  18. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    What am i seeing is not able to believe, so gave10/10 no more numbers to give rating.....excellent movie...Don't miss it....u may not see this kinda movie these days....thanx for all the team worked in it and expecting more parts.....2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10
  19. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    Rarely does a movie get everything right. The story is interesting and playful. The characters are dynamic, and fun, and a little silly at times, but fleshed out enough to be believable people you can empathize, respect, and in one case fear a little. However, the best part is that this film understand and get's what it its. It isn't afraid to admit what it is, and how essentiallyRarely does a movie get everything right. The story is interesting and playful. The characters are dynamic, and fun, and a little silly at times, but fleshed out enough to be believable people you can empathize, respect, and in one case fear a little. However, the best part is that this film understand and get's what it its. It isn't afraid to admit what it is, and how essentially ridiculous the premise is, so unlike most movies it doesn't waste most of it's time trying to explain how it isn't what it really is, and dedicates it's resources to amazing fights and great character moments. Half of this film is just straight up monster battles. I'm giving this a 10/10 not because I think it is one of the best movies ever made or anything like that, but because I honestly can't think of a single way to improve this movie. Expand
  20. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    This is probably the best revitalization of a monster movie since B&W Godzilla. The only thing I've come across as good was a South Korean movie The Host (2006). Which is probably like comparing District 9 to the Upcoming Film Elysium, because the scope and scale the Director and ILM achieved was phenomenal. It's PG-13 so it's a 'Family' movie but I'd expect some of the scenes to scareThis is probably the best revitalization of a monster movie since B&W Godzilla. The only thing I've come across as good was a South Korean movie The Host (2006). Which is probably like comparing District 9 to the Upcoming Film Elysium, because the scope and scale the Director and ILM achieved was phenomenal. It's PG-13 so it's a 'Family' movie but I'd expect some of the scenes to scare younger kids. The only thing I wished is that we could see more, but I think the length was appropriate for the debut. I hope they get to do a sequel and we get to see more of the robots. Expand
  21. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    A good, fun, visual feast; a concept we haven't seen in a long while on the big screen. Incredible movie all in all, one of the best movies so far this summer.
  22. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Pacific Rim gushes with love with every single scene Robot designs, one liners, the simplistic plot make for a non-cluttered enjoyable expirience for everyone involved.

    Not needed, but I personally recommmend seeing this film in 3D. Having all the battles and characters on different grounds makes everything seem very real and makes all the action easy to see.
  23. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    Kaiju fans will love this. Full of genre tropes and homages, but delivered in a unique mix. More humanity than most, with a clever plot device called "the drift". Clearly a labor of love. Great wall metaphor too.
  24. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    It's not often we get a treat like this. A solid story laid the foundation for one of the coolest, most thrilling movie experiences I've had in a long whole. The action set pieces are on such a scale and really get your blood pumping. The brawls look fantastic and really brutal. Watching colossal aliens being punched repeatedly in the face by these metal beasts is just amazing, But it'sIt's not often we get a treat like this. A solid story laid the foundation for one of the coolest, most thrilling movie experiences I've had in a long whole. The action set pieces are on such a scale and really get your blood pumping. The brawls look fantastic and really brutal. Watching colossal aliens being punched repeatedly in the face by these metal beasts is just amazing, But it's not all about the action. The characters are given a lot of attention too. They're by no means 2D and they all have backstories and their own motivations. A masterpiece really. Expand
  25. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    This movie was fantastic. I'd give this a better rating than any other movie this summer. Iron Man 3, Man of Steel, those were decent, but this movie, not once did it break my attention for dragging on or being uninteresting. Sure there are times when you think it's unrealistic for other universes and a tanker ship to be used as a sword and not fall apart. But it's a FUN awesome movieThis movie was fantastic. I'd give this a better rating than any other movie this summer. Iron Man 3, Man of Steel, those were decent, but this movie, not once did it break my attention for dragging on or being uninteresting. Sure there are times when you think it's unrealistic for other universes and a tanker ship to be used as a sword and not fall apart. But it's a FUN awesome movie where you stop caring and are along for the ride. It reminded me of Transformers, meets Never Back Down, meets Cloverfield. It was an absolute thrill to watch and I can't wait to go see it again. By the way... this is some of the best 3D I've seen (especially since it was post converted). If you get the chance, go see it! Expand
  26. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Wow, just wow. I give a 10 rating once every 5 yrs or so and this rates that big time! This film is Transformers vs Godzillas on steroids, amped up to the max. The intensity is phenomenal, you'll wish the entire film was just mega-sized fight scenes.Yes, you can criticize this and that about the story, plot, etc but you'll be missing the entire point of the film. Enjoy this for what it is,Wow, just wow. I give a 10 rating once every 5 yrs or so and this rates that big time! This film is Transformers vs Godzillas on steroids, amped up to the max. The intensity is phenomenal, you'll wish the entire film was just mega-sized fight scenes.Yes, you can criticize this and that about the story, plot, etc but you'll be missing the entire point of the film. Enjoy this for what it is, and it's the best at what it does. Expand
  27. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    What can be said? There are plenty of audience pointed blockbusters. Good ones, bad ones. Popcorn flips, But only in unique cases there are MASTERPIECEs. Like Avengers, Tron, Star Trek. As well there are some breakthrough ideas occur in every summer. Like Inception, Dark Knight, Ted or something like that. Anyway.
    PACIFIC RIM is all of it combined and multiplied at least five times. One
    What can be said? There are plenty of audience pointed blockbusters. Good ones, bad ones. Popcorn flips, But only in unique cases there are MASTERPIECEs. Like Avengers, Tron, Star Trek. As well there are some breakthrough ideas occur in every summer. Like Inception, Dark Knight, Ted or something like that. Anyway.
    PACIFIC RIM is all of it combined and multiplied at least five times. One of the greates and most underestimated director of our time Guillermo Del Toro has done one of the most incredible sci-fi movies in late 100 years. It is not Space Odyssey by Kubrick, Not a War of Worlds by Spielberg, or Nolan's Inception and anything else. It is an alien invasion on high profile. It is a hidden dangerous, comes from the abyss of our world. It is science, why two pilots? You will know and will be shocked. Why Kaiju? Keep calm and just watch.
    Does it cost 2 hours? Yes it does. It has everything from humor to drama, from love to honor. Visually Spectacular. Joyfully directed, perfectly performed characters by Idris Elba, Charlie Hunnam and ROn Pearlman. So Amazing storyline and visual show. great score. You will not have an opportunity to get some popcorn, cause you will not be able to taker your eyes away from it.
    Expand
  28. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Listen, this is THE popcorn SUMMER ACTION movie. This is BETTER than any other films in it's genera. I'll keep it simple. If you want to be pulled into the ride of your life, and be hit in the face with total badassness then go see this film. Ignore anything else you hear. It's a fun, action packed, insane ride.
  29. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    phenomenal...great movie, very powerful...exclusive director Guillermo del Toro, one of my favorite... spectacle for the eyes and ears. Epic from start to finish
  30. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    To the "0" review titled "Fantasy" No duh. It's a fantasy/sci-fi flick and wears it proudly and does not laugh off the peril the world faces. Yes, it has some "borrowings" from Godzilla, but I don't see independence day. I think del Toro has been explicit about his influences. I saw this movie in Imax 3D and I was blown away. Was it a plot worthy of Shakespeare? No. But the plotTo the "0" review titled "Fantasy" No duh. It's a fantasy/sci-fi flick and wears it proudly and does not laugh off the peril the world faces. Yes, it has some "borrowings" from Godzilla, but I don't see independence day. I think del Toro has been explicit about his influences. I saw this movie in Imax 3D and I was blown away. Was it a plot worthy of Shakespeare? No. But the plot was solid even if some of the physics were improbable (they would need more helicopters to lift their Jaegers). Did I enjoy the movie? All four of the friends I went with and I LOVED the movie. It was very entertaining and did have a very unique, appealing visual style. I have to admit I'm a del Toro fan and have like everything he's done (too bad that couldn't have included the Hobbit). Expand
  31. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    In short, see it. You won't regret it, stop wasting your time looking at this and look at the movie!
    Anyways, this movie does everything I can think of right. The action is amazing with the best special effects I have ever seen. There isn't as much as you might expect but it certainly makes up for that in quality. The story is good, not really anything special, but it certainly
    In short, see it. You won't regret it, stop wasting your time looking at this and look at the movie!
    Anyways, this movie does everything I can think of right. The action is amazing with the best special effects I have ever seen. There isn't as much as you might expect but it certainly makes up for that in quality. The story is good, not really anything special, but it certainly surprised me that the story wasn't just an excuse to watch monsters and robots fight. It also struck me how plausible things seems. At no point does it step outside of the bounds of reason in any ways that's distracting. In fact it's hard to think of anything that couldn't actually work. By making the Jaegers piloted by two people was a nice way to blend the action with the plot that was surprisingly good. I went into the movie with high expectations because of what I heard about it, and what I got shattered my already high expectations.
    Expand
  32. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    Pacific Rim was glorious. It was Power Rangers vs Godzilla. Giant crabs attacking Japan, pterodactyls lifting giant mechs into the sky, attacks moves being shouted at the screen-- stupendous! The film does not take itself seriously and plays out like a live-action anime, specifically like the 70s and 80s mech anime I grew up with. If you remember Voltron, Patlabor, Power Rangers, and evenPacific Rim was glorious. It was Power Rangers vs Godzilla. Giant crabs attacking Japan, pterodactyls lifting giant mechs into the sky, attacks moves being shouted at the screen-- stupendous! The film does not take itself seriously and plays out like a live-action anime, specifically like the 70s and 80s mech anime I grew up with. If you remember Voltron, Patlabor, Power Rangers, and even the original Godzilla films, you cannot miss this. Highly recommended! Expand
  33. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    This is a movie whose parts would never work by themselves, but when mixed together make the whole experience AWESOME. I could poke holes in the plot, characters and logic of the movie all day long(easily, in fact), and it wouldn't change my opinion at all. It was like watching Robotech and Godzilla for the first time when I was a kid.

    No, it wouldn't win Best Picture, and it's not
    This is a movie whose parts would never work by themselves, but when mixed together make the whole experience AWESOME. I could poke holes in the plot, characters and logic of the movie all day long(easily, in fact), and it wouldn't change my opinion at all. It was like watching Robotech and Godzilla for the first time when I was a kid.

    No, it wouldn't win Best Picture, and it's not deep and thought-provoking. Just listen to del Toro talk about the movie. You can tell that was NOT the type of movie he wanted to make. He wanted to make a fun movie about robots fighting giant monsters, because he loves those kinds of movies. And that's exactly what he did. And that's why you should go watch it.
    Expand
  34. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    Took me back to the early 80s, when Robotec and Godzilla ruled my world; to all the weird and wonderful Japanese toys and cartoons that infiltrated my youth. I love it. It's a lot of fun, excellent special effects. The story may seem simple, and it is, but really it is paying homage to all the classic Japanese movies that inspired it. Very cool.
  35. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    I went in wanting an epic movie about Giant robots, and I got it. The fight scenes were well done and at times pretty intense. The story in between was a bit ho hum, but I wasn't expecting anything amazing. I think this movies succeeds in what it set out to do, and what us Giant Robot fans expected.
  36. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Very fun and entertaining! I think I will see it again. Worth a see on the big screen. It will keep your attention and is a welcome addition to the monster movie genre. Hoping a prequel is made.
  37. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    The acting could be better at times, but what it lacks in dialogue and speech, it more than makes up in beautiful, fun and unique action. This is not Transformers. It's Godzilla meets Gundam! Great movie for kids also. No sexual content whatsoever.
  38. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    The reason why this movie is such a masterful work is that Guillermo Del Toro knows exactly how to set emotional tones. He sets up an atmosphere so easy to fall in love with it'll remind you that movies truly can have soul to them.
  39. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    Incredible! Just one of the many words to describe this film overall. The emotional depth of the characters was deep and sincere, creating attachment to each unique individual as the story progressed with a captivating intensity rarely attained in movies of this epic caliber. The visual effects were beyond breathtaking with some of the most monumental battle scenes in movie history. In theIncredible! Just one of the many words to describe this film overall. The emotional depth of the characters was deep and sincere, creating attachment to each unique individual as the story progressed with a captivating intensity rarely attained in movies of this epic caliber. The visual effects were beyond breathtaking with some of the most monumental battle scenes in movie history. In the end, this is without a doubt, a great achievement in cinema, and has a heart and hardcore attitude that'll please any moviegoer and have them cheering in elation. Expand
  40. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    Pretty much everything i could ever want out of a giant monster movie. The only downside is that every time someone who isn't Idris Elba had some lines, it distracted my attention a little from Idris Elba being named Stacker Pentecost.

    Sorry, i just need to say that name again: Stacker Pentecost.

    Stacker Pentecost. I lied. Stacker Pentecost.
  41. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    I Remember when directors made movies with so much passion (early George Lucas, Spielberg, etc.) well that's what i sense after seeing Pacific Rim. It's has that spark of passion the same passion i feel most movies been lacking lately, there's no big Celebrities here or a big Franchise superhero, It focuses on delivering that "Magic" on the screen, and in my opinion that's what movies areI Remember when directors made movies with so much passion (early George Lucas, Spielberg, etc.) well that's what i sense after seeing Pacific Rim. It's has that spark of passion the same passion i feel most movies been lacking lately, there's no big Celebrities here or a big Franchise superhero, It focuses on delivering that "Magic" on the screen, and in my opinion that's what movies are all about, it all comes together so well. Big applause to Guillermo del Toro for showing us that movies can still be magic. Giant robots, monsters, what more could you ask. must see, if you are into Mecha, or Sci-fi. films you won't be disappointed. Expand
  42. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    2nd best movie I've seen this year, I wish people would see it and rate it first than just rate it. If you just want to see action and a simple story this is it
  43. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    quite possibly the best movie of the summer. Michael Bay can learn something from the CGI fight scenes in this movie for the next Transformers installment
  44. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    An insanely fun and imaginative movie. It has its aspects of action, drama, comedy and much more. There are so many great fight scenes that you wish you could watch over and over again. The Jaegers and the Kaiju are menacing but at the same time fun to look at. While it does have minor flaws, the movie not only focuses on robots and aliens blowing the crap out of each other but focusesAn insanely fun and imaginative movie. It has its aspects of action, drama, comedy and much more. There are so many great fight scenes that you wish you could watch over and over again. The Jaegers and the Kaiju are menacing but at the same time fun to look at. While it does have minor flaws, the movie not only focuses on robots and aliens blowing the crap out of each other but focuses on intriguing story details as well. A must watch, definitely not a movie you wanna miss. 9/10. Expand
  45. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    That it was my best visiting of cinema in this year. Epic robots, epic pokemons, epic EVERYTHING! And so sweet that none of main characters are AAA-stars. Its must see in the cinema only because huge robots should be HUUGE!
  46. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    An amazing movie, where cliches didn't bothered me, because it was compensated with the astonishing special effects, the creativity of the Jaegers design, and the emotion that is injected to your bloodstream when you see them fight in unique and incredible locations. The acting was also amazing and it had very funny moments, classic of a Mexican director. I was also excited because itAn amazing movie, where cliches didn't bothered me, because it was compensated with the astonishing special effects, the creativity of the Jaegers design, and the emotion that is injected to your bloodstream when you see them fight in unique and incredible locations. The acting was also amazing and it had very funny moments, classic of a Mexican director. I was also excited because it reminded me the classics of Evangelion and Godzilla, being mixed up to become a stronger entretaining movie. Very well done del Toro! Expand
  47. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    Those who say this movie is boring, just have no taste in a decent mecha anime, or hate all science fiction. I personally watched this movie and enjoyed it. Sure, most of the acting sucked, but most people would not care for such tripe. Most movie watchers these days would like to see a lot of action. However, movie critics that cal this movie trash are drama-freaks who hate scienceThose who say this movie is boring, just have no taste in a decent mecha anime, or hate all science fiction. I personally watched this movie and enjoyed it. Sure, most of the acting sucked, but most people would not care for such tripe. Most movie watchers these days would like to see a lot of action. However, movie critics that cal this movie trash are drama-freaks who hate science fiction (or Romantic Fiction as it was called back in the early days: LOOK IT UP, baka) because it makes no sense to them. Expand
  48. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    If you like robots and monsters you can't really go wrong here. The acting isn't bad, the characters likable, the effects and *amazing*, and there's enough plot to keep things going but not enough to get in the way of what you went to see: robots beating up on monsters. I was actually really impressed with the characters and plot, initially worried there would be too much of them and IIf you like robots and monsters you can't really go wrong here. The acting isn't bad, the characters likable, the effects and *amazing*, and there's enough plot to keep things going but not enough to get in the way of what you went to see: robots beating up on monsters. I was actually really impressed with the characters and plot, initially worried there would be too much of them and I wouldn't see enough action. The science in this world mostly makes some sense and technical plot holes are few(once you accept the general setup). If you're a fan of mecha themed anime, grew up with Ultraman, or play video games that are action packed then you'll like this movie. Expand
  49. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    I was thinking about what conditional promise to make for this review on the way home from Pacific Rim tonight. "If you love Transformers, you'll love Pacific Rim!" or "If you love Godzilla/Guillermo del Toro/action movies-- you'll love Pacific Rim!" These scratch the surface, however. I can promise you: if you love *movies,* you will *love* Pacific Rim. This movie is the definition ofI was thinking about what conditional promise to make for this review on the way home from Pacific Rim tonight. "If you love Transformers, you'll love Pacific Rim!" or "If you love Godzilla/Guillermo del Toro/action movies-- you'll love Pacific Rim!" These scratch the surface, however. I can promise you: if you love *movies,* you will *love* Pacific Rim. This movie is the definition of fun, entertainment-- it reset my mind. Like us all, I've got life that I like to escape from, and I've found that movies granting me that escape have been becoming increasingly rare. This is a work of movie-art, a labour of love, and it's obvious the people behind it *threw* themselves into it. Go. See. Pacific. Rim. This gets a well-earned ten. Expand
  50. Jul 17, 2013
    10
    This is the best movie of the summer! Plain and simple fun. good old fashion Rock um Sock um action movie. I will go see it again. If you want to have fun watching a great fight movie just like those good old GODZILLA movies, this is the movie for you but with better Graphs.
  51. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    I felt like I was watching a modern version of a classic Toho film. It took me back, like when the food critic bites into the ratatouille in the movie Ratatouille.
  52. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    Pacific Rim is what action based movies should be. It delivers it's plot early on and gives you an idea of how grim the situation is, but it fortunately doesn't linger on the base exposition long enough to bore you to tears. The action scenes are exceptionally well made and really reflect the realism (what realism there can be with giant robots fighting monsters) of how a battle like thisPacific Rim is what action based movies should be. It delivers it's plot early on and gives you an idea of how grim the situation is, but it fortunately doesn't linger on the base exposition long enough to bore you to tears. The action scenes are exceptionally well made and really reflect the realism (what realism there can be with giant robots fighting monsters) of how a battle like this would happen. All the actors play their characters fantastically, helping to really deliver the experience, such as Raleigh Becket's washed up pilot character type. Overall the soundtrack had me shivering in my seat with excitement as the first track accompanied the pilots suiting up to pilot their Jaeger, and it kept me intensified during each Kaiju battle that came on screen. While the overall plot did have many cliches in it, they were delivered in the proper way as to improve the story. I highly recommend that anyone see this movie at least once, as I've already seen it twice in IMAX. Expand
  53. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    Pacific Rim explodes with fantastical imagery, sillybutt action sequences and irresistable fun while exposing emotion and balancing its otherwise average plot.
  54. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    Absolutely one of my favorite movies of the summer. Probably the best big-budget robot-vs-godzilla (c'mon..you know that's what this is) movie that will ever be made. Every twist and device in the movie is a complete rip-off of something else, but it's so damned FUN that you can't help to like it...unless you are allergic to good times. As someone who enjoyed a little (ok...a lot of)Absolutely one of my favorite movies of the summer. Probably the best big-budget robot-vs-godzilla (c'mon..you know that's what this is) movie that will ever be made. Every twist and device in the movie is a complete rip-off of something else, but it's so damned FUN that you can't help to like it...unless you are allergic to good times. As someone who enjoyed a little (ok...a lot of) Voltron back in the day, the "sword" scene almost had me jumping out of my seat. If you like robots and giant monsters, you love this movie. If not, I am sure there is some Scandinavian neo-realist retrospective playing somewhere. Expand
  55. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    I enjoyed this film very much. Everything from the acting to the CGI is brilliant and high quality. It's visual desert. Of course, like all these type of godzilla-esque films comes the Japanese themes. The Japanese have always enjoyed designing these types of films. Be it Godzilla, Godzilla vs Mothra, Godzilla vs Gomora, Godzilla vs Baragon and so on, but they lack resources to produceI enjoyed this film very much. Everything from the acting to the CGI is brilliant and high quality. It's visual desert. Of course, like all these type of godzilla-esque films comes the Japanese themes. The Japanese have always enjoyed designing these types of films. Be it Godzilla, Godzilla vs Mothra, Godzilla vs Gomora, Godzilla vs Baragon and so on, but they lack resources to produce proper visually attractive films. The makers of this film took the idea of robots fighting godzilla monsters and turned it into this beautiful film.

    I have no other words to describe this. Just go and watch it.
    Expand
  56. Jul 17, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When i first saw ads for this film, I did not expect much, but I watched it regardless, mainly because robots. But when i saw it, i was pleasantly surprised. it was actually a pretty good film, it had a good story line, amazing visuals, and good action scenes. i really only had one complaint though, there is very little character development. Ok, maybe I've been spoiled by evangelion, but there really isn't much. i mean, with some of the characters you meet them, you see their robot, their dead. you never really get to learn much about them, but besides that this was a very good film i believe is worth watching. Expand
  57. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    "Do you want to sit here or go out there and do something really stupid" Pacific Rim is a gigantic monster brawl. But not like Godzilla versus Mechagodzilla. It has awesome special effects, great acting and a amazing story. Something that you would usually get in a movie like Argo or Lincoln. But this movie delivers all that. Don't be turned off by the genre and even though it's in"Do you want to sit here or go out there and do something really stupid" Pacific Rim is a gigantic monster brawl. But not like Godzilla versus Mechagodzilla. It has awesome special effects, great acting and a amazing story. Something that you would usually get in a movie like Argo or Lincoln. But this movie delivers all that. Don't be turned off by the genre and even though it's in third place in the box office it is easily better than Grown ups 2 in critical reception and it may be better than Despicable Me 2 for older kids. So really it should be number 1. Also if you think it may be scary for little kids that's not true. There only gore that comes from the monster and one or two curses. Maybe not for 4-8 years olds but anyone older will probably be alright. So anyway this films boasts amazing visuals, great acting and a great story. I wouldn't be surprised if it won an Oscar for best visuals. This is a definite must see. Expand
  58. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    No esperen ver un clásico, sino una película entretenida de principio a fin con muchos guiños a Macross, Personajes secundarios carismaticos y mounstros grandes... muy grandes!!
  59. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    Great fun, amazing designs. The Jaegers especially were pure joy to watch. There's no lulling dip dragging out mankind's first contact, or over the top drama, just monsters versus robots. Absolutely brilliant.
  60. Jul 17, 2013
    9
    As a massive Del Torro fan, and a huge Mange, Anime and Mecha fan this film was everything I wanted it to be.

    It made me feel like a child again, it made me feel the same way Jurassic Park made me feel when I was 5 years time, I was in awe. People will of course compare this brilliantly designed and thought of almost Film Noir epic to the atrocity that is is Michael Bay's orange
    As a massive Del Torro fan, and a huge Mange, Anime and Mecha fan this film was everything I wanted it to be.

    It made me feel like a child again, it made me feel the same way Jurassic Park made me feel when I was 5 years time, I was in awe. People will of course compare this brilliantly designed and thought of almost Film Noir epic to the atrocity that is is Michael Bay's orange backdrop and explosion fest that is the Transformer series, but this film is everything Bay could only dream of making and so much more. The Jeagers had a real sense of proportion, much like the classic PS2 game Shadow of the Colossus you really felt how big they were and when the [spoiler] Kaiju unfurled its wings my jaw actually dropped.

    It wasn't a perfect film, but it was everything I hoped for and so much more!
    Expand
  61. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    This movie was great. While it is not perfect, it is still better then many of the critics say it is. The movie moved right along, the cast was great and the graphics for this type of movie are outstanding. No spoilers, the ending was good to and it did not try to force room for a sequel. My only problem was a lack of fight scenes, but not to such an extent that it was ever slow or boring.This movie was great. While it is not perfect, it is still better then many of the critics say it is. The movie moved right along, the cast was great and the graphics for this type of movie are outstanding. No spoilers, the ending was good to and it did not try to force room for a sequel. My only problem was a lack of fight scenes, but not to such an extent that it was ever slow or boring. A must watch for summer 2013. Expand
  62. Oct 5, 2013
    9
    I didn't expect to like this movie as much as I did. Wow, was it ever a satisfying monster/giant robot movie that was visually pleasing in an anime style. It has a relatively straight forward story, but it doesn't need to be complicated. It was well acted, had substance, and I was thoroughly entertained throughout. This is what awful robot movies like Transformers or Robot Jox should haveI didn't expect to like this movie as much as I did. Wow, was it ever a satisfying monster/giant robot movie that was visually pleasing in an anime style. It has a relatively straight forward story, but it doesn't need to be complicated. It was well acted, had substance, and I was thoroughly entertained throughout. This is what awful robot movies like Transformers or Robot Jox should have been like, and it was better than monster movies like Cloverfield. Expand
  63. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    think this is the last time i'll ever listen to bad reviews. this movie is great! and definitely a nice watch on Blu-ray. it had everything i wanted, and took me back in memory of a game with mech warriors from sega. i'll actually be buying this.
  64. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    I loved this movie for what it is, a magificent tribute to the Mecha and Kaiju generes. The fights are simply amazing and the visual effects are top notch. Del Toro makes this colosual Mechas come alive in a way that I've never seen before. Of course it has many cliches but it's a Robot vs Monster movie, what did you expect? The character do feel generic but IMHO they fit in a perfect way.I loved this movie for what it is, a magificent tribute to the Mecha and Kaiju generes. The fights are simply amazing and the visual effects are top notch. Del Toro makes this colosual Mechas come alive in a way that I've never seen before. Of course it has many cliches but it's a Robot vs Monster movie, what did you expect? The character do feel generic but IMHO they fit in a perfect way. If this movie would had been released in the 90s it would have marked my childhood.

    If you are a fan of Mecha anime or shows this is a must see.
    Expand
  65. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I appreciated the fact that "Pacific Rim" wasn't overly hyped like a lot of films usually are. I guess that's probably Guillermo del Toro's MO when it comes to films.

    That being said, I loved it. The fights were epic, with each Kaiju requiring a different tactic to defeat and the introductory timeline showing the dwindling numbers of Jaegers still active set a tone of desperation for humanity. That leads back to the film's battle sequences, where you don't know if a Jaeger (and its pilots) will survive the fight or not. Sudden twists with the Kaiju elicited a "what??" response from me on more than one occasion. An engaging story together with intense battles made the movie one of the best films I've seen this summer.
    Expand
  66. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    Let go of your scientific knowledge for this movie. A lot of stuff that happens juts isn't all that plausible, but you should know that before you even go in. You are about to watch giant robots suckerpunch demons from another dimension.

    The movie is pretty great. It's fresh in the movie industry, and creates a new world for your mind to explore. The characters develop in realistic
    Let go of your scientific knowledge for this movie. A lot of stuff that happens juts isn't all that plausible, but you should know that before you even go in. You are about to watch giant robots suckerpunch demons from another dimension.

    The movie is pretty great. It's fresh in the movie industry, and creates a new world for your mind to explore. The characters develop in realistic ways, and while they could have been fleshes out more, Guillermo del Toro does a great job with the 131 minutes he had.

    I went into this movie as a big skeptic. Whenever I see movies like this, I think it is going to be as mindless as the Transformers series or just plain silly. Instead, there was some great tropes that made you think more about the characters and their role in this war they are fighting.

    A great new movie that creates a fun new world. I definitely recommend it.
    Expand
  67. May 25, 2014
    10
    This film completely defied my expectations! What i expected to be a passible action flick ended up being a non stop thrill ride with cooler action than i could have imagined! Do yourself a favor and go watch this one right now!
  68. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    This isn't your typical monster movie.
    After just seeing this movie only a few hours ago, I can safely say this movie is a MUST SEE. This movie is what the Transformers films should be, and by that I mean unlike Transformers which has such small fight scenes and too much character development. Pacific Rim has little to just the right amount of character development and HUGE, grandiose
    This isn't your typical monster movie.
    After just seeing this movie only a few hours ago, I can safely say this movie is a MUST SEE. This movie is what the Transformers films should be, and by that I mean unlike Transformers which has such small fight scenes and too much character development. Pacific Rim has little to just the right amount of character development and HUGE, grandiose fight scenes. These fight scenes are just so incredibly well done and really show the scale of what they are but if you want to see my full review you can watch it at http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCqfOgWFfBvqgqLbVEtvNw4g?feature=watch.
    Expand
  69. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    Separemos desde un principio dos cosas. Esta es una película de acción y efectos especiales, esto no es Sci-fi. Así que no vamos a hablar de excelsas linea de dialogo o profundidad en los personajes. Teniendo esto en cuenta, analicemos por que los Jeager de Pacific Rim son los Mechas mas increíbles que ha tenido el cine. Transformers marco una etapa donde los efectos habían empatado a laSeparemos desde un principio dos cosas. Esta es una película de acción y efectos especiales, esto no es Sci-fi. Así que no vamos a hablar de excelsas linea de dialogo o profundidad en los personajes. Teniendo esto en cuenta, analicemos por que los Jeager de Pacific Rim son los Mechas mas increíbles que ha tenido el cine. Transformers marco una etapa donde los efectos habían empatado a la fotografía de la película y todo después de Transformers era un post, era un "ya lo vimos, y mejor". Ahora tenemos estos colosales mechas, del tamaño de un rascacielos, rompiendo los margenes establecidos en Transformers, y ademas, peleando con criaturas que a pesar de ser oscuras y sin ningún previo en que basar el arte, terminaron por encantarnos, por tener una personalidad, y en lo mas profundo del monstruo; una relación con alguna fobia. A este punto, la película marca un nuevo nivel, una nueva base en efectos limpios y secuencias de acción monumental que nos impiden olvidarlas, y por supuesto; querer mas.

    La película puede tener tropiezos, pero estos están en partes que no nos interesan. Uno no fue a ver Les miserables por los efectos visuales. Hay quienes quieren neciamente compararla con Neon Genesis Evangelion, y la película tiene dos cosas:
    1.- NO es Neon Genesis Evangelion, y
    2.- Es lo mas cerca y mejor logrado, en el ahora un genero de películas; los Mechas.

    Es conmovedor leer que la película esta dedicada a Harryhausen y Honda. Al saber un poco de producción cinematográfica puedo decir sin problemas, que las secuencias donde pelean en Hong Kong es un logro técnico, un parte-aguas en la implementacion de efectos que solo Industrial Light and Magic pudo lograr, un gran tributo, un respeto y regalo a aquellos que nos hicieron imaginar cosas como esta hace muchos años.

    Hoy digo Gracias por crear Pacific Rim, espero que de alguna manera Guillermo pueda convencer de hacer Bioshock.
    Expand
  70. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    Start with an unoriginal science fiction monster movie script-and then ingraft numerous moments of creativity well acted and shot and this is Pacific Rim. Giant amphibian monsters enter our world from a portal in the pacific ocean attacking coastal cities and threatening the entire planet. Earth unites and builds giant robots each operated by two human pilots. Especially brilliant are theStart with an unoriginal science fiction monster movie script-and then ingraft numerous moments of creativity well acted and shot and this is Pacific Rim. Giant amphibian monsters enter our world from a portal in the pacific ocean attacking coastal cities and threatening the entire planet. Earth unites and builds giant robots each operated by two human pilots. Especially brilliant are the scenes showing character Mako Mori's past. The pacing is thrilling. the characters are interesting, and there are several humorous moments. At the end battle scenes there were times when it was difficult to hear what the characters were yelling because of the score and special effects which were too loud. Otherwise all is well done. If you like this kind of film ---this is a film you are going to like. I was entertained throughout and awestruck at the best scenes. Expand
  71. Jul 17, 2013
    9
    Okay, first off. Definitely not a Transformers Rip Off. I felt that this was very fresh. It built on the long lost "Oh That's a Giant Monster Destroying our City!" concept which I haven't seen since the new King Kong. The Monsters themselves, the Kaiju were beastly, very cool. Then the Jaigers...Damn, just damn. Loved it from start to finish, I felt that there was not really a "main"Okay, first off. Definitely not a Transformers Rip Off. I felt that this was very fresh. It built on the long lost "Oh That's a Giant Monster Destroying our City!" concept which I haven't seen since the new King Kong. The Monsters themselves, the Kaiju were beastly, very cool. Then the Jaigers...Damn, just damn. Loved it from start to finish, I felt that there was not really a "main" character and there were reasons to root for and become attached to all of them. I could see t he Del Toro flavor in much of the design, specifically the Ron Pearlman character. So to sum up, just watch it! Classic Summer flick. Enjoy. Expand
  72. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    This was a wonderful experience I just felt like a child again, the movie is intelligent, intriguint and so excited. Guillermo del Toro must be one of the best directors of this era. Congratulation for our mexican artist
  73. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    Want a fresh break for Sci fi fans. If you ever grew up seeing the movie robot joxs as a kid and wanted more this is it. My only grip was alot was just simply spoiled by the trailers. Fight scenes were tone back from the Michael bay catastrophe action. Great for the kid geek at heart better to take your kids to. Del Toro did a great job and it makes up for a lot of the past Sci fi letWant a fresh break for Sci fi fans. If you ever grew up seeing the movie robot joxs as a kid and wanted more this is it. My only grip was alot was just simply spoiled by the trailers. Fight scenes were tone back from the Michael bay catastrophe action. Great for the kid geek at heart better to take your kids to. Del Toro did a great job and it makes up for a lot of the past Sci fi let downs over this year. Worth a see on the big screen but, could be just as content at home with a good surround system. Expand
  74. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    Pacific Rim is pure unadulterated entertainment. The acting isn't the best, the script is kinda cheesy but it doesn't matter because the film works 100%. Visually amazing and when watched in the cinema on IMAX and 3D the mix of visuals and sound is overwhelmingly stunning and for a simple film it manages to keep you on the edge of your seat through to the end.
  75. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    FUN!!! Yes, it's about giant robots battling giant monsters. And somehow a couple of scenes made me tear up. (I'm a father and the father-daughter scenes worked on me.) I'll be buying this one.
  76. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    I thought, that "Pacific Rim" was a thoroughly, enjoyable, action-packed movie that got me gripping the seat and biting my nails. I don't get how people can stand to give it a low rating. The plot may have been lost a few times, but the intense action and graphics make up for everything. No famous celebs? Pssh. They're introducing brilliant new people, for God's sake, don't judge too much.I thought, that "Pacific Rim" was a thoroughly, enjoyable, action-packed movie that got me gripping the seat and biting my nails. I don't get how people can stand to give it a low rating. The plot may have been lost a few times, but the intense action and graphics make up for everything. No famous celebs? Pssh. They're introducing brilliant new people, for God's sake, don't judge too much. This is a quality movie, guys. They've spent millions on making it, and they deserve the millions back. This is what summertime in the cinemas should be consisting of. Critics, if you can find a movie in this genre that beats it, (in graphics, plot, and mind-blowing action), give me a call. I loved it. Expand
  77. Aug 1, 2013
    9
    In times when cities collapse due to heroes, robots, villains, aliens or mythical creatures mostly soulless white noises of explosions and clunky strapped on stories to imply deepness of characters we needed a movie that combines the heart of 80s classics such as Top Gun, the trash factor of 70s monster movies and the scale of actual blockbuster cinema. And whoop, there it is!

    No
    In times when cities collapse due to heroes, robots, villains, aliens or mythical creatures mostly soulless white noises of explosions and clunky strapped on stories to imply deepness of characters we needed a movie that combines the heart of 80s classics such as Top Gun, the trash factor of 70s monster movies and the scale of actual blockbuster cinema. And whoop, there it is!

    No McGuffins, no "awww I can't handle the responsibility of being a hero", no dark deep metaphorical jibber jabber. Two heroes who have to manage their problems due to the storie's basic thesis: To kick some aline butt and close the rim, you have to work as a unit.

    The result is a stereotype heavy movie with meaningfull fistfight and visible effects on the world around the main story. Go watch it, if somewhere inside of you still exists a big child that loves giant robots and city crushing monsters.
    Expand
  78. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    An epic movie!This movie is basically better than transformers or any other robot movies out there.The story might not be good but the action is thrilling and very exciting.I am telling you guys to go out there and watch this movie.It will be great.
  79. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    There's no way you can't love this movie. Being a fan of Gundam and the original Godzilla movies, seeing those two things together was like my dream becoming true. The plot is amazing with a major focus on the humans, the actors playing the characters are pretty good, but sometimes, they feel a bit generic in personality. The Kaiju x Jaeger scenes are this movie's selling point, and ohThere's no way you can't love this movie. Being a fan of Gundam and the original Godzilla movies, seeing those two things together was like my dream becoming true. The plot is amazing with a major focus on the humans, the actors playing the characters are pretty good, but sometimes, they feel a bit generic in personality. The Kaiju x Jaeger scenes are this movie's selling point, and oh boy, it is amazing. The soundtrack is also amazing. I can't wait to see the sequel. 10/10 Expand
  80. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Esta pelicula, es diferente a las muchas peliculas de robots, pasando por Real steal. Esta pelicula con tintes apocalípticos, retrata una invasión alien de esta forma un tanto diferente a lo que se había visto, a pesar de tener similitud a Evangelion; El director Guillermo del Toro ha dicho que el solo hizo una pelicula de monstruos y que retrata lo que viene haciendo en sus ultimas películas.
    Esta pelicula esta mas que recomendada.
    Expand
  81. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    For an action movie, this is perfect. That's the reason for a score of 10. Awesome effects, cliche but enjoyable characters and lines, predictable plot. Still an absolute pleasure to watch. From an mech-anime fan, it's like a dream come true, particularly if your a fan of the Evangelion franchise.
  82. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    This is a dream come true for everyone who grew up watching the classic Kaiju Mecha genre. Predictable but wonderfully executed by Del Toro. The characters, action, story all scream of nostalgia.
  83. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    This isn't Shakespeare by any means. It is, however, the most entertaining movie I've seen in a long time. If you enjoy movies that are kinda dumb yet super awesome (Terminator, Predator, Alien, etc), you will like this movie.
  84. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    Absolutely loved this movie. Excellent special effects, amazing action, and true fun all throughout. Only issue was the plot was a bit pointless but it personally didn't bother me because who honestly goes to a movie like Pacific Rim and expects and Academy award winning story? Pacific Rim was just plain awesome. Giant monsters vs giant robots, what more can you ask for? Ever wanna see aAbsolutely loved this movie. Excellent special effects, amazing action, and true fun all throughout. Only issue was the plot was a bit pointless but it personally didn't bother me because who honestly goes to a movie like Pacific Rim and expects and Academy award winning story? Pacific Rim was just plain awesome. Giant monsters vs giant robots, what more can you ask for? Ever wanna see a barge (really large boat) be used as a weapon? GO SEE Pacific Rim! You're guaranteed a great time. Let's hope the studio's give the green light for the sequel Del Toro already has in mind! 9.5/10 Expand
  85. Aug 2, 2013
    9
    Very creative, original plot with its share of surprises. The visuals and sounds are great, the acting is great. Everything is great. Hopefully, there's a sequel. Or at least a film in the same universe.
  86. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    I loved this flick. Saw it with my daughter, who is in to all things anime, and she also loved it.

    Saw it in an IMAX theater and that lead to my biggest complaint: all the rain in 3D made it hard to focus on the action once in a while. But since that is my biggest complaint, that should tell you what I think of the rest of the movie. Loved the Jaegers and Kaijus. Gipsy Danger
    I loved this flick. Saw it with my daughter, who is in to all things anime, and she also loved it.

    Saw it in an IMAX theater and that lead to my biggest complaint: all the rain in 3D made it hard to focus on the action once in a while. But since that is my biggest complaint, that should tell you what I think of the rest of the movie.

    Loved the Jaegers and Kaijus. Gipsy Danger rocks!

    The fact that this is (gasp!) and ORIGINAL universe gave Guillermo del Toro freedom to create as he wished, without the fear that the die hard fans would hate what he did. And create he did. If you get a chance watch the extras in the Blu-ray. I think you'll be surprised at how many small details are in the movie.

    Idris Elba is one of my favorite up-and-coming actors. His work in The Wire was incredible, and it is good that Hollywood is giving him an opportunity. Charlie Hunnam was more than serviceable as the action hero and while I am not a fan of Rinko Kikuchi, she also played her role well.

    I will not lie and say that there is anything extraordinarily NEW here. It is a story of humans v. monsters. But this minor film does BIG better than a lot of predecessors recently. The Transformers trilogy comes to mind immediately.

    While it seems like a backhanded compliment, you need to enjoy this movie for what it is. It is nothing more than a rollercoaster ride and, as such, does the job VERY well.
    Expand
  87. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    A movie about giant robots fighting giant monsters. It's fun to watch (especially in IMAX 3D) and definitely not the Evangelion rip-off a lot of ignorant people might make it out to be.
  88. Xon
    Aug 16, 2013
    10
    Absolutely amazing. Delivers what it promised. Perhaps there isn't such a big audience for this kind of movie to validade the budget, but the film-makers squeezed every bit of brilliance out of everything and everyone that went into this film. You have to be really cynical not to like this film. For me its like a modern fairy tale.
  89. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pacific Rim is a 2013 science fiction film directed by Guillermo del Toro with Charlie Hunnam, Rinko Kikuchi and Rob Perlman.
    In a future world the earth was attacked by the giant alien monsters called Kaiju, emerged on the bottom of the Pacific Ocean through an interdimensional portal. Because, to destroy one of those monsters many lives are sacrificed, it was decided to build giant robots called Jaegers controlled by two pilots. Initially, the robots are able to get the better of the monsters, but the latter seem to adapt to new weapons and that pushes humanity to the brink of disaster. The last remaining Jaegers are taken in Hong Kong and the former pilot Jaeger, Raleigh Becket (Charlie Hunnam) is persuaded to return to the team he left after losing his brother, also a pilot, clashing against a Kaiju. Here begins the last attack to save humanity.
    Although it seems not to follow the rules of the director, Pacific Rim is a product of Del Toro and we can see it in the prologue, which serves to immerggerci in the world we are told the story and also in the memories of Mako (Rinko Kikuchi) a lot well done.
    The film is inspired by the anime of the 70s and also to those of today (especially Neo Genesis Evangelion).
    The plot is not very original but it is by no means trivial or obvious. The photography of the film is well done as well as special effects (featuring beautiful as are the Kaiju and Jaegers).
    The fight scenes between the giants are well made and it is clear that they were made in anime style (such as special moves of Jaegers).
    The film also manages to entertain with humor and never forced anything vulgar or exaggerated.
    It will not be a masterpiece but Guillermo was able to create a great film
    Expand
  90. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    This is easily one of the best movies I've ever seen. It's everything an action movie should be and then some. Anyone coming to the theater looking for badass fights between giant robots and giant monsters will be utterly satisfied by some of the best fight scenes I have ever seen in all of cinema, as it keeps throwing new things at you and every single one goes over extremely well. TheThis is easily one of the best movies I've ever seen. It's everything an action movie should be and then some. Anyone coming to the theater looking for badass fights between giant robots and giant monsters will be utterly satisfied by some of the best fight scenes I have ever seen in all of cinema, as it keeps throwing new things at you and every single one goes over extremely well. The special effects and visual design are simply masterful; the Jaegers look exactly how a giant robotic mech suit should, their interfaces look suitably futuristic and cool, while on the other end the Kaiju look suitably otherworldly, but with enough grounding to not look out of place in our world. On the story end of things, you have a surprisingly intricate tale of multiple characters who each have personal struggles relating to the Kaiju invasion and subsequent advent of Jaegers, as well as even minor characters generally being at worst interesting and entertaining and at best well-developed and multidimensional. It's also simply astounding just how well this movie built its world, with every environment feeling exactly how it should and fitting into the rest of the setting very impressively. Certain flashback scenes which I won't spoil were simply a joy to watch, masterful displays of cinematography at its absolute best, and the rest of the movie isn't far behind them. I honestly can't think of any legitimate complaints about this movie, beyond petty gripes not worth mentioning. It's simply worth watching, no matter who you are. Expand
  91. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    Pacific Rim was surprisingly one of the best movies I've seen this year. I expected an entertaining action movie with mechs fighting monsters, but a movie void of any quality acting or plot. Boy was I wrong. While it was a very entertaining action movie with mechs fighting monsters, it had a very interesting storyline with solid plot development, granted a little brief. The acting was alsoPacific Rim was surprisingly one of the best movies I've seen this year. I expected an entertaining action movie with mechs fighting monsters, but a movie void of any quality acting or plot. Boy was I wrong. While it was a very entertaining action movie with mechs fighting monsters, it had a very interesting storyline with solid plot development, granted a little brief. The acting was also up to par and the character development was fantastic, giving life and depth to characters that seem at first to be a bit superficial. There were also some nice cameos by actors like Charlie Day and Ron Perlman, who though I don't like, had a cool role. Overall, this movie takes a substantial amount of suspended disbelief but I think most people who like cool action movies will really enjoy it. Expand
  92. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    as someone who grew up with Transformers and was heavily disappointed with Michael Bay's movies, and I also grew up with Godzilla, well this movie was just made for me and people of similar generations.
    Surprising that in the US they didn't like it, guess Mechs and Kaijus weren't as big in there back in the 80/90s.
    Although, yes, the movie has obvious cliches and one scene that simply
    as someone who grew up with Transformers and was heavily disappointed with Michael Bay's movies, and I also grew up with Godzilla, well this movie was just made for me and people of similar generations.
    Surprising that in the US they didn't like it, guess Mechs and Kaijus weren't as big in there back in the 80/90s.

    Although, yes, the movie has obvious cliches and one scene that simply showed the hand going through the building that wasn't cool nor funny, but when you grow up to that kind of things, seeing a tribute to your childhood heroes is always fun
    Expand
  93. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    If you like SCI FI, if you like anime, if you're into action movies, this is the BEST MOVIE EVER, it sure was for me, no regrets in watching it, kept me on the edge of the seat the whole time, i'm planning on seeing it a couple more time on theaters while i still can.
  94. Dec 3, 2013
    9
    "Pacific Rim" has perhaps some of the greatest action I have ever seen. The use of 3-D is fantastic, the CGI and visuals were stunning, the acting is brilliant and both the story and script are intelligently crafted. This truly is a intense, epic, visually-stunning spectacle.
  95. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    Perfect plot, best Bluray release ever, with 10+ 3D video and 10+ lossless DTS HD-MA audio track.

    You must have this movie if you loved at least one of these movies/characters:
    Godzilla
    Mazinger
    Power Rangers
    Jurassic Park
    Gamera
  96. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    It was action packed robot flick! Future Perfect for any Robot movie like never before. Pacific Rim still the best summer movie of all time since The Avengers. Very Flawless!
  97. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    It's important to note that while I very much enjoyed Pacific Rim, I was coming in from a biased perspective of enjoying shows such as Gundam Wing and old Godzilla films from quite a young age. As long as you come in knowing what to expect from this kind of film, it's really very good. CGI was great and the fight scene choreography was fantastic, although some of the camera-work wasIt's important to note that while I very much enjoyed Pacific Rim, I was coming in from a biased perspective of enjoying shows such as Gundam Wing and old Godzilla films from quite a young age. As long as you come in knowing what to expect from this kind of film, it's really very good. CGI was great and the fight scene choreography was fantastic, although some of the camera-work was awkward and it was hard to tell what was going on in combat sometimes. There could've been more variation in setting as well.

    I found the designs of the jaegers (mechs) and kaiju (monsters) interesting and successful, creating a very specific appearance and silhouette for each individual combatant on the battlefield, which helped give each one a sense of identity in often difficult viewing conditions.

    The plot and characters certainly aren't going to win too many awards but most of the acting was fairly sound, and I particularly enjoyed Idris Elba's performance in this film; although his character was nothing terribly original, it was well-delivered. Also, although I initially found them somewhat contrived and grating, on second viewing the scientist characters (Charlie Day and Burn Gorman) did provide something of a welcome break from all the action and grimness of the film and added something of an extra dimension to the film on top of all the fighting.

    I thought they could've done more with Charlie Hunnam and Rinko Kikuchi's character interaction, but you shouldn't come into this film expecting massive character development. You should come in for an all-action summer blockbuster and in this regard Pacific Rim mostly delivers. It also cleverly ties up most of its loose ends while still leaving some possibility of a sequel. Remarkably few plot-holes too, though there were a couple here and there all in all pretty tight writing and production, and you could tell this was a Guillermo del Toro passion-project.

    To sum up: best action film I've seen for some time, and the first one in a while that's made me leave with a real sense of 'awesome'. I could probably watch this film half a dozen times and not get bored of it, and that speaks volumes.
    Expand
  98. Aug 24, 2013
    9
    It was something different, watching Pacific Rim in the theatre. I realised how predictable it was, but I didn't have a problem with that at all. It was nice, seeing a movie that tried to set itself apart from the others, with the classic Giant Monsters Invading plot. But the downside to this, is a noticable lack of development of the characters and the story in general. It basicall cameIt was something different, watching Pacific Rim in the theatre. I realised how predictable it was, but I didn't have a problem with that at all. It was nice, seeing a movie that tried to set itself apart from the others, with the classic Giant Monsters Invading plot. But the downside to this, is a noticable lack of development of the characters and the story in general. It basicall came down to this: "Giants invading, kill 'em." But I still liked the movie. The CGI was great and the music was simply epic. It promised action, it promised giant robots fighting giant monsters, and we got all that. And really, isn't that what these kinds of movies are all about; the action? 9/10! Expand
  99. Aug 24, 2013
    9
    Pacific Rim delivers on what it advertises. You've got giant robots and monsters, beating the utter crap out of each other. What else could you really ask for from this film? The action and the detailing is great and the overall story is solid. The only problems I had were with some off CGI here and there as well as some scenes that really didn't belong. Otherwise, this surely is a mustPacific Rim delivers on what it advertises. You've got giant robots and monsters, beating the utter crap out of each other. What else could you really ask for from this film? The action and the detailing is great and the overall story is solid. The only problems I had were with some off CGI here and there as well as some scenes that really didn't belong. Otherwise, this surely is a must see for fans of the genre. If you love anime, giant monsters, mechs and action, Pacific Rim is the film for you! Expand
  100. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    Pacific rim

    The bigger they are, the harder they brawl As I watched this movie I felt Guillermo del Toro asking me: Wanna have a dose of sweet awesome fun? Grab some popcorn, buy a red flavored Icee, lay back and enjoy this movie brother. And that was all I did. This movie tells the story about people who pilot giant robots that are up to stop the obliteration of our species when
    Pacific rim

    The bigger they are, the harder they brawl

    As I watched this movie I felt Guillermo del Toro asking me: Wanna have a dose of sweet awesome fun? Grab some popcorn, buy a red flavored Icee, lay back and enjoy this movie brother.
    And that was all I did.

    This movie tells the story about people who pilot giant robots that are up to stop the obliteration of our species when giant monsters, straight out of every ones childhood fantasy, burst out of a portal in the Pacific Ocean.
    It may sound cliche, and I can proudly say it is full of cliches and it doesn't shy away from the fact. It knows what it was sent to this good earth for and that is entertain the hell out of us. And it does that oh so good. And looks astonishing while doing so!
    From the plot it is implied you expect some ginormous robot vs big monster battles, and holy crap are they going to blow your skin of. Beautifully filmed for you to see the scale of the situations and for these brawls to look just badass. The Hong Kong battle in particular is going to stand out as a perfect set piece for me.
    And responsible for all of this are the special effects. In my opinion what helps to scale out things is are the water effects. How it cascades off these giants is as realistic as it gets.
    After all this focus on its looks and battles you may be wondering about the human element of the movie. While not perfect the arcs these characters go through with each other are fun to watch. Especially Idris Elba who transmits authority like a boss. Charlie Hunamm while not as good manages to hold as a main character. Rinko Kikuchi, the female lead is the one who should win the "Underrated hot chick of the year" award. And finally we have the two crazy scientists played by Charlie Day and Burn Gorman who while incredibly cliche and hyped up on something unknown tend to be funny and energetic.
    A curious fact in the movie is that it shows the social reaction to these monsters and robots and realistically it isn't always fear but propaganda and adapting to the situation. The second one involves Ron Perlman in it.
    After all this praise there is one stand out sequence that involves Mako's (Rinko Kikuchi's) past that you should really look out for. It changes the tone to a more serious and dark one and is made with excelence.

    And of course there has to be a negative or two in this flick and the one negative I can pick is that while the movie builds itself on cliches sometimes these go over the legal limit and strive into predictability and unoriginality.
    But in general this is an amazing achievement in entertainment and special effects that you should really look for if you are having a grey day and want to jack release your worries by watching robots beat the living crap out of some monsters.
    I'm giving this jacked up child dream a 9/10.
    Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 48
  2. Negative: 4 out of 48
  1. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jul 15, 2013
    50
    It is possible to applaud Pacific Rim for the efficacy of its business model while deploring the tale that has been engendered — long, loud, dark, and very wet. You might as well watch the birth of an elephant.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jul 12, 2013
    50
    The Kaijus make zombies look like wusses, so at least the fights in this film are battles royal. But overload sets in early, and it all turns into battle boring.
  3. 50
    Pacific Rim made me marvel at the technology of movies, but never the magic of them.