Picturehouse | Release Date: December 29, 2006
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2198 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,909
Mixed:
155
Negative:
134
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
SiniH.Aug 16, 2007
Very sad and fantastic with solid story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NormL.Aug 14, 2007
Awesome. Stirring. Take your breath away.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricG.Aug 6, 2007
Here's what I think: Pan's Labyrinth, above all, is about being true to oneself. It is about doing the right thing in the face of evil and horrible consequences. It is about rebelling in the face of wrong, it is about trusting Here's what I think: Pan's Labyrinth, above all, is about being true to oneself. It is about doing the right thing in the face of evil and horrible consequences. It is about rebelling in the face of wrong, it is about trusting one's inner instincts. It is about life in the face of death, right in the face of wrong. The ending captures the essence of the afterlife so beautifully, and captures the paradox of the tragedy on earth that it remains both strangely beautiful and despairing at once. The plot, characters, cinematography, acting, all function as a driving force to drive this theme home. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertK.Aug 5, 2007
One of the few film whose images return, invited or not, nearly a year later. Although I began to focus on the underlying structure on repeat viewing the first experience was as close to a dream I wanted to awaken from but couldn't as One of the few film whose images return, invited or not, nearly a year later. Although I began to focus on the underlying structure on repeat viewing the first experience was as close to a dream I wanted to awaken from but couldn't as any visual art in recent years. (You close your eyes hoping the image will have passed; it's usually that much more intense.). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElinGAug 2, 2007
This movie is amazing and I believe it deserves its place on metacritics all-time high scores. It is a beautiful, tragic, and sometimes traumatizing portrayal of how brutally war affects children. Yes, this movie is very violent, but at This movie is amazing and I believe it deserves its place on metacritics all-time high scores. It is a beautiful, tragic, and sometimes traumatizing portrayal of how brutally war affects children. Yes, this movie is very violent, but at least the violence is there for a reason: to demontrate the horrors of war. And Bick B, I think you're completely wrong. This film dazzled with brilliance, which is why it is one of the highest rated films of all time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JordanHJul 20, 2007
Word of the wise, if you don't like violence well then don't watch this movie. The movie is rated R for GRAPHIC VIOLENCE and some language! It's pathetic to say, this movie was dumb because it was violent! Please read the Word of the wise, if you don't like violence well then don't watch this movie. The movie is rated R for GRAPHIC VIOLENCE and some language! It's pathetic to say, this movie was dumb because it was violent! Please read the before you watch obviously. Well... Pan's Labyrinth was really good. It was just.. I don't know new in a way but old in another. Just watch the damn movie and decide for yourself but before you watcha and say it's stupid remember GRAPHIC VIOLENCE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AbbyLJul 20, 2007
First I have to say great movie, second I agree with Lena, third it bothers me that people watch movies they know they're not going to like and then give them low scores. This film, as many have said, is the perfect mix of so many polar First I have to say great movie, second I agree with Lena, third it bothers me that people watch movies they know they're not going to like and then give them low scores. This film, as many have said, is the perfect mix of so many polar opposites. It is truly amazing how Del Toro actually pulls this movie off with such grace. I do believe that this movie deserves this score, it was breath taking... and the end?! Oh the ending was... well I won't spoil it but I left that movie feeling upset for Ofelia. Anyways the point is the movie is wonderful and no matter what there will always be that one person saying to the most universally acclaimed film, "It sucked, don't watch it." But always trust the minority or just watch whatever you like watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LaurenUJul 20, 2007
Very good movie, very compelling. And to say that I claimed it was good simply because someone told me it was is a lie. I can think for myself and watch a good movie. And yes critics usually rate foreign films high, but look at the sheer Very good movie, very compelling. And to say that I claimed it was good simply because someone told me it was is a lie. I can think for myself and watch a good movie. And yes critics usually rate foreign films high, but look at the sheer originality of those films, my opinion is that a lot of american directors either take a book and make a terrible movie, take a play and make a decent movie, or remake a foreign film and everyone loves it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
****Jul 18, 2007
Another breathtaking example of the incomprehensible talent Guillermo del Toro has at his disposal. And to echo the discourteous Lena J, kiss my ass Fredrick T!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LenaJ.Jul 17, 2007
Despite what some closed minded users of this website might have said, I found it absolutely nothing short of fantastic. Kiss my ass Kyriakos, you worthless pile of shit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GordonS.Jul 17, 2007
I liked it. I don't agree with such a high marks though. There was quite a few boring scenes that didn't bring much or help building the atmosphere.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisCJul 14, 2007
Outstanding. Del Toro managed to mix innocence,fear and politics with a fairytale. The way Del Toro built up the climax of the movie was just perfect to give this sdult fairyutale a fantastic ending. Splendid script and genius photography.Outstanding. Del Toro managed to mix innocence,fear and politics with a fairytale. The way Del Toro built up the climax of the movie was just perfect to give this sdult fairyutale a fantastic ending. Splendid script and genius photography. The movie was outstanding and didnt need a great score to make it better like other movies, but Navarrete's score is a classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatrickH.Jul 12, 2007
Brilliant movie. Fantastic imagery, and quite moving.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveFJul 8, 2007
Powerfully good movie. There's a lot more going on than meets the eye, but what meets the eye is so compelling you'll have to pick yourself up after it's over to even begin thinking about the multiple levels at work. People Powerfully good movie. There's a lot more going on than meets the eye, but what meets the eye is so compelling you'll have to pick yourself up after it's over to even begin thinking about the multiple levels at work. People will red-score anything, even modern masterpieces. Avoid it at your peril. Also, a word to the horror-averse: you have nothing to worry about. There's a little blood but it's not a shock or scare film in the least. Remember the Dark Crystal? It's like that--fantasy in its darkest color. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DennisD.Jul 7, 2007
A moving, many layered masterpiece. Far more than fantasy, this film compares with the Ring trilogy for symbolic meaning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
nasrim.Jul 7, 2007
Perfect, amazing soundtrack, photography.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MiriamMJul 6, 2007
Simply stunning. Nuff said.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WalterR.Jul 6, 2007
Masterpiece...pure and simple. For the simple-minded, a confusing tale, but for those who understand that story-telling at this level happens once or twice per decade, this is simply genius. You will be haunted by it, moved by it, and Masterpiece...pure and simple. For the simple-minded, a confusing tale, but for those who understand that story-telling at this level happens once or twice per decade, this is simply genius. You will be haunted by it, moved by it, and overwhelmed by it's brilliance and power. See it...I beg you! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NontayaK.Jul 6, 2007
Taken place in the mid of political war blending with a little girl's imagination. Telling a tragedy story with full of excites and emotions. The end is heartrending but happy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickLJul 3, 2007
Visually stunning and provocative, this movie effectively brings together both the elements of childhood fantasy and adult reality. A breathtaking movie that magnificently portrays the innocence of the young, and the feeling of safety and Visually stunning and provocative, this movie effectively brings together both the elements of childhood fantasy and adult reality. A breathtaking movie that magnificently portrays the innocence of the young, and the feeling of safety and seclusion that one obtains from the so called "fantasy world". Easily the best film I have ever seen, this movie is full of parallels and truly and deeply expresses the caring and compassion that one aspires to have. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatC.Jul 3, 2007
The final chapter of the movie Fantasia is presented as a musical exposition of the interaction between the profane and the sacred. In Pan;s Labyrinth, we see this interaction fully formed in plot and characters to create a photoplay of The final chapter of the movie Fantasia is presented as a musical exposition of the interaction between the profane and the sacred. In Pan;s Labyrinth, we see this interaction fully formed in plot and characters to create a photoplay of undeniable insight and power. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TBirdJul 2, 2007
For me this movie was perfect in every way. I encourage everyone to view it and form their own opinion as this movie deserves to be watched and discussed by all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EduardoM.Jul 1, 2007
One of the best movies, I´ve ever seen, I watched it some days ago and I could not yet forget it. Wonderful, absolutely unforgettable, full of magic, power and breath-taking images. It creates a universe of its own, powerful, intense, One of the best movies, I´ve ever seen, I watched it some days ago and I could not yet forget it. Wonderful, absolutely unforgettable, full of magic, power and breath-taking images. It creates a universe of its own, powerful, intense, original. A visionary film whose power of creation is unparalleled. A great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdrianneZ.Jul 1, 2007
If you love fantasy you'll love this movie, if you hate fantasy you'll still love this movie. One of the best movies I have ever seen. This movie executes everything it tries to do perfectly. The beautiful thing is even though this If you love fantasy you'll love this movie, if you hate fantasy you'll still love this movie. One of the best movies I have ever seen. This movie executes everything it tries to do perfectly. The beautiful thing is even though this whole movie is in Spanish, you understand it all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmberCameronJul 1, 2007
Set in the midst of the Spanish Civil War, the story of young Ofelia and her quest to return to her other worldly kingdom, is a masterpiece that deserves only the utmost honor and respect. It takes us to a time when the world was in tragedy,Set in the midst of the Spanish Civil War, the story of young Ofelia and her quest to return to her other worldly kingdom, is a masterpiece that deserves only the utmost honor and respect. It takes us to a time when the world was in tragedy, and the only way to survive was to shut your mouth and do some of the most atrocious things. To live with a fascist stepfather, and a mother who is carrying his child, and seemingly only in it for security, Ofelia is trapped in a wasteland. The pain inflicted on her mother Carmen, physically by her unborn child, can also be construed as a representation of the pain she may feel emotionally about marrying a fascist murderer, who only cares about the child she bears, and has no good sentiments towards her daughter. Ofelia, alone and afraid in a troubling time, has been so desensitized by the war, that she begins to repress her feelings, and create a world entirely her own, where she is a princess. One would also be blind however, not to notice that the fantasy world is as dark as reality. It is a mirror image of the real world, the only difference being that Ofelia could give herself hope. She was put through trials, including facing a child eating monster (who could easily be construed as her step father) and had to watch as her hopes started to die. We often see how reality coincides with Ofelia Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkB.Jun 29, 2007
Excellent film, through and through. For the few people who posted on here and said that it was filled with unnecessary violence: I agree and I disagree, and I think you missed the point. Here's what I mean: The entire point is that the Excellent film, through and through. For the few people who posted on here and said that it was filled with unnecessary violence: I agree and I disagree, and I think you missed the point. Here's what I mean: The entire point is that the violence IS unnecessary, and ultimately inconsequential. But it was necessary for the director to show this violence because he's making a point about fascism. It is necessary to see that the consequences of blind obedience and fascism is unnecessary and meaningless deaths. Get it? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AbbylJun 28, 2007
This movie was beyond my greatest expectations. I would recommend this movie to anyone and everyone who likes a mind blowing movie. It was intense and very real, but magical.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MegB.Jun 26, 2007
Excellent film, very well done. Much darker than I expected. I've recommended it to several people since I saw it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradCJun 25, 2007
Perfect. Instant classic. Movies do not get any better then this.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TimothyJun 23, 2007
It's not the stunning visionary masterpiece critics want me to believe - "Le Fabuleux destin d'Amélie Poulain" is a far superior movie I think - but it's still a good movie. Especially I've never seen such a It's not the stunning visionary masterpiece critics want me to believe - "Le Fabuleux destin d'Amélie Poulain" is a far superior movie I think - but it's still a good movie. Especially I've never seen such a brilliant blend between reality and fantasy before. And I appreciate it very much that there are still directors out there trying to enrich the rare pool of fantasy movies. I would compare "Pan's Labyrinth" with "The Cell": it feels like someone of the commercial industry was involved. So it's visually stunning but its content is somehow shallow. There is neither much to think about nor enough room to build up your own fantasy world like when you read a book. And it hardly has a poetic or philosophic aspect. Nevertheless this is a nice dark fairy tale for adults ... and kids with strong nerves of course Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonyVJun 22, 2007
One of the low scoring voters said the following: W. R. gave it a2: If you like your movies twisted, depressing, gruesome and full of gratuitous violence then you'll love this but you'd have to be pretty desensitised. If, like me, One of the low scoring voters said the following: W. R. gave it a2: If you like your movies twisted, depressing, gruesome and full of gratuitous violence then you'll love this but you'd have to be pretty desensitised. If, like me, you like movies that don't give you nightmares afterwards, steer clear. And yes I'm slightly worried about film critics that recommend movies like this for *children*. All I can say is that you should continue to read the sanitized news and t.v. reports about the horrors of war. Go outside the U.S. to Spain, Ireland, the Middle East, Algeria, most of Africa, Cambodia, Vietnam, so you can see what gruesome, gratuitous violence really looks like. Yes, go to sleep soundly, blissfully unaware of what real living is like. For those who don't like the fantasy, let me suggest The Wind that Shakes the Barley. Reminds you that there are tougher choices out there than what color SUV you want to drive. America is populated with so many lazy people it is sickening. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterJ.Jun 22, 2007
Excellent movie. This film had every possible emotion in it and played it out perfectly. The guy that gave it a two would probably enjoy NORBIT.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidJun 21, 2007
If you are curious about the meaning of this movie, you must listen to Terri Gross' interview with the director Guillermo Del Toro. Very illuminating. He is a visionary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattGJun 21, 2007
An absolute triumph! This movie beautifully depicts the creative imagination of a young girl hostile to an environment that is at once cruel and suppressive. I do not understand the bad reviews. This movie left me shaken and moved to the An absolute triumph! This movie beautifully depicts the creative imagination of a young girl hostile to an environment that is at once cruel and suppressive. I do not understand the bad reviews. This movie left me shaken and moved to the core. I am definitely with the critics on this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JordanR.Jun 21, 2007
Instantly in my top 5. Emotionally complex and dark, not a kids movie, although for adults this film is wildly entertaining and insightful to our own inner child as we find courage to face our biggest fears and challenges every day. Instantly in my top 5. Emotionally complex and dark, not a kids movie, although for adults this film is wildly entertaining and insightful to our own inner child as we find courage to face our biggest fears and challenges every day. Beautifully crafted with unexpected and likable (though not all human) characters, spot on acting, and brilliant cinematography brings a unique blend of drama & suspense like no other film I've seen before. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatthewH.Jun 20, 2007
I do not believe this movie was ever over hyped, for e.g star wars episode1 suffered greatly to over-hyping, what this movie got was critical acclaim. The difference being, this film was not forced down our throats with advertising, but I do not believe this movie was ever over hyped, for e.g star wars episode1 suffered greatly to over-hyping, what this movie got was critical acclaim. The difference being, this film was not forced down our throats with advertising, but instead critics and people all found the film highly enjoyable. That said, going into it i was scared of the fact it was subtitled might distract me away from the on screen fun, I'm happy to say it didn't, in fact helped the story feel even more of an escape. It is a fairy tale for adults, and one which i believe should be seen by everyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TimF.Jun 19, 2007
Good movie, yes. but perfect? a 10/10? No. Critics have seriously over-hyped this movie don't go along expecting to see the movie of the year and you will be richly rewarded rather than slightly disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JosephM.Jun 19, 2007
This is an amazing movie that is a solemn retreat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LisbethJ.Jun 19, 2007
Great movie. Really beautiful and touching. I wouldn't give it the highest vote though, because it's not the best movie I've ever seen, but it's very good. If you like movies that are visual stunning, has an adventurous Great movie. Really beautiful and touching. I wouldn't give it the highest vote though, because it's not the best movie I've ever seen, but it's very good. If you like movies that are visual stunning, has an adventurous story and will move you, you should watch it. If you only like action packed comedy or movies that will leave you with a happy feeling, you shouldn't watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonasH.Jun 15, 2007
Great movie, expressing in a new manner the horrors of the Franco regime, and finally with proper effects, in opposition to earlier tries to do the same. It's not a family movie though, and can be somewhat depressing, if you don't Great movie, expressing in a new manner the horrors of the Franco regime, and finally with proper effects, in opposition to earlier tries to do the same. It's not a family movie though, and can be somewhat depressing, if you don't like analyzing that is, which is probably why many fantasy fans gave it bad grades. A perfect mix in my point of view. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandonB.Jun 13, 2007
Enchanting, frightening, and an overall achievement in movie making.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
K.Jun 10, 2007
My favorite movie by far. It was easy and fun to sit through and I'm looking forward to watching it again. The costumes and places were amazingly designed, the acting was marvelous and the ending left me speechless. Only if you watch My favorite movie by far. It was easy and fun to sit through and I'm looking forward to watching it again. The costumes and places were amazingly designed, the acting was marvelous and the ending left me speechless. Only if you watch the movie with a closed-mind will you hate it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimSJun 5, 2007
This is a very good movie, but not great. I don't understand the extremely high reviews, but I did really enjoy it. At least the "professional" reviewers are giving a good movie great reviews instead of giving great reviews to a crappy This is a very good movie, but not great. I don't understand the extremely high reviews, but I did really enjoy it. At least the "professional" reviewers are giving a good movie great reviews instead of giving great reviews to a crappy movie like "Lost in Translation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanF.Jun 2, 2007
This movie is one of the most beautiful, poetic and brilliant movies I have ever seen. The storyline flows so well...it is an incredible work of art and imagination. I loved it so much it brought a tear to my eye at the end.....especially This movie is one of the most beautiful, poetic and brilliant movies I have ever seen. The storyline flows so well...it is an incredible work of art and imagination. I loved it so much it brought a tear to my eye at the end.....especially the second time around....I think this movie is definitely something where you just can say "Awesome!" , it's fascination and amazement will leave deep thinkers in awe at the end........almost as if for that last moment of the movie.....you look at life in a whole different way. Pan's Labyrinth=masterpeice 10++ no doubt. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CTJun 2, 2007
A modern version of classical fairy tales before they were Disney-fied or even Victorianized. A cautionary tale set in a world mixing fantasy and reality, with a child heroine having to make life and death decisions yet showing her naivety A modern version of classical fairy tales before they were Disney-fied or even Victorianized. A cautionary tale set in a world mixing fantasy and reality, with a child heroine having to make life and death decisions yet showing her naivety and innocence until the very last frame. Reflects a place where children are much more involved in the brutality of war and nature; something most Western children are removed from except for their game consoles or news broadcasts. Read some pre-Victorian or non-Western children's stories and you may see why this more modern story is told so well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KeetonJohnsonJun 1, 2007
This movie is probably the most wierd movie you'll ever see, yet one of the most amazing. A mix of horror and fantasy, with a dose of reality stuck in there. Even if you don't speak Spanish, and have to read the subtitles, unless This movie is probably the most wierd movie you'll ever see, yet one of the most amazing. A mix of horror and fantasy, with a dose of reality stuck in there. Even if you don't speak Spanish, and have to read the subtitles, unless you hate to read, you should love this movie. Great music accompanies some great acting. I just wish it would have shown more of Ofelia's adventure and less of the war. One of the greatest movies of 2006. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattF.May 30, 2007
I would definitely agree with many of the reviewers of the film in that Pan's Labyrinth is better than pretty much anything I've seen in recent memory. This is due neither to it being a foreign film or it being made out of the I would definitely agree with many of the reviewers of the film in that Pan's Labyrinth is better than pretty much anything I've seen in recent memory. This is due neither to it being a foreign film or it being made out of the Hollywood system. If the film is separated into it's constituent parts - acting or special effects or cinematography - there are, I will give you, better films made. But what makes this film stand out is its tapestry use of these constituencies. The special effects, for example, are not made to form the alltogether trite "spectacle" reaction. The acting as well doesn't have the crying breakdown scene, another form of hollywood-derived spectacle. The film, rather, is a study in subtlety. The story does not call for crappy remake King Kong special effects, its cinematography is subdued to counterpoint some of the ultraviolent scenes, etcetera etcetera. With that said, I was actually a bit disappointed with how the fantasy realm was set up. The child was obviously utilizing this fantasy to escape the militaristic strife around her yet her fantasies did not, for me, become enough of an escape. They were still too rooted in a realism - a non-eden, non-childlike state - that left me understanding a dichotomy that wasn't entirely functional. Overall great stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilO.May 30, 2007
A masterpiece which inextricably links fantasy, drama, suspense, horror, and socio-political history to perfection, which instructs us of the malevolent nature of man, but also of the redeeming, hopeful and powerful force of imagination. A A masterpiece which inextricably links fantasy, drama, suspense, horror, and socio-political history to perfection, which instructs us of the malevolent nature of man, but also of the redeeming, hopeful and powerful force of imagination. A display of on-screen magic perfectly crafted by Del Toro. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertH.May 30, 2007
An uncompromising fantasy epic. One of the very best of 2006.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WinstonA.May 29, 2007
One of the bet films I've ever seen. It touched me on many levels and left me gagging for more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarmineT.May 28, 2007
Mythic, political and visually stunning. Well crafted with something to say at many levels of the human experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillB.May 27, 2007
A wonderful film like this should be bestowed on the public more often. The riveting details and incredible special effects really pulled this movie together and made you go back to your childhood days and think about how fairy tales were A wonderful film like this should be bestowed on the public more often. The riveting details and incredible special effects really pulled this movie together and made you go back to your childhood days and think about how fairy tales were supposed to be told. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BruceQ.May 24, 2007
One of the best movies that I saw in 2006. My wife and I were still talking about it days later. It is not surprising that this movie has already reached #41 on IMDB's top 250 movies of all time list - it certainly deserves the high One of the best movies that I saw in 2006. My wife and I were still talking about it days later. It is not surprising that this movie has already reached #41 on IMDB's top 250 movies of all time list - it certainly deserves the high praise it has received. Some viewers might be put off by the brutal scenes and it is certainly not young kids (the R-rating is a clue people!) Pan's Labyrinth is beautiful, thrilling and poignant. Unless you are looking for Disney fare or think films with subtitles are too taxing, you will enthralled. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayAMay 24, 2007
Great movie. Stirring, violent, emotional and fantastical. Ivana Baquero is a wonderful actress and the whole story is well thought-out and incredibly well executed by the whole cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HollyC.May 24, 2007
Easily one of the best 'fairy tales' ever put to film. And in the true sense of the old-time allegorical 'fairy tale', not the Disney kid-friendly stuff of today. Del Toro's depth in this allegory/story is quite Easily one of the best 'fairy tales' ever put to film. And in the true sense of the old-time allegorical 'fairy tale', not the Disney kid-friendly stuff of today. Del Toro's depth in this allegory/story is quite complex, though even if you're not familiar with Franco's Spain during WWII, the story is still profound & relevant. What a great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CriticsR.May 22, 2007
Beautiful atmosphere. Touching story. There was some gratuitous yuckiness, but other than that, this movie was awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArielL.May 22, 2007
This movie is just absolutely wonderful in every way, from its beautifully executed shot of every frame to it's acting and story. I'm previleged to see these wonderful films made outside of the US that have so much depth and This movie is just absolutely wonderful in every way, from its beautifully executed shot of every frame to it's acting and story. I'm previleged to see these wonderful films made outside of the US that have so much depth and originally. I think my next one will be Once. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LL.May 21, 2007
The movie was wonderful with one massive omission. I am baffled by the directors decision to include the nose bashing scene. It was something out of a B' slasher movie. Other wise it was truly thought provoking. Is the afterlife as The movie was wonderful with one massive omission. I am baffled by the directors decision to include the nose bashing scene. It was something out of a B' slasher movie. Other wise it was truly thought provoking. Is the afterlife as individual as each of us? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlakeW.May 20, 2007
This is a fantastic film. Anyone who thinks it may be flawed in some way are just wrong. Anyone may like or dislike any film, but even if you disliked it, you must recognize that it is perfectly executed and fantastically beautiful in both This is a fantastic film. Anyone who thinks it may be flawed in some way are just wrong. Anyone may like or dislike any film, but even if you disliked it, you must recognize that it is perfectly executed and fantastically beautiful in both its story and visuals. If you don't realize this there is something wrong with you...seriously. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackL.May 20, 2007
Wow. This isn't a fantasy movie like it seems to be getting labled, but it is a masterpiece. It's got such an amazing amount of depth, and a story that is just as stunning as its visuals, and thats saying a lot. They're not as Wow. This isn't a fantasy movie like it seems to be getting labled, but it is a masterpiece. It's got such an amazing amount of depth, and a story that is just as stunning as its visuals, and thats saying a lot. They're not as off the wall crazy as Lord of the Rings, they're more akin to a great painting. Simple and beautiful. If this film doesn't move you emotionally, and hit your soul like a ton of bricks, than you're a complete, heartless monster. And I'm dead serous about that. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MattMay 20, 2007
Everyone who has been criticizing this movie, with the interesting exception of K Henderson, is simply too stupid to understand it. Go see Spiderman. Henderson brings up interesting points, notably the plot holes (what motivated the General Everyone who has been criticizing this movie, with the interesting exception of K Henderson, is simply too stupid to understand it. Go see Spiderman. Henderson brings up interesting points, notably the plot holes (what motivated the General to kill the little girl? That should have been developed a little more. I'd be interested to see what other holes you found.) Also, it's hard because the main character is an 11 year old girl who did phenominally, but still just can't be expected to develop the on screen complexity of an adult. I'll address a few people's stupid issues at this time: 1. PnArdy--art is not supposed to be entertaining. It's supposed to be beautiful. You're obviously not Spanish, so the facists mean nothing to you, but it dominates the psyches of most Spaniards born before 1975 (including my current teacher.) It is one of the most profound horrors in human history, even if it is almost entirely overlooked by Americans. 2. P E--the ending is not a cop out. It shows that peace and the ability to resist facism, as represented by the girl who disobeyed her facist leader, is only a fantasy. The reality is all those rebels are going to die within 24 hours. It's actually one of the most profound endings I've ever seen. 3. E R--the characters are not one dimensional entirely. Why does Mercedes continue to serve the captain instead of fighting with her brother? Why does the mother allow the captain to dominate her and why does she crush her girl's fantasies? Why does the girl decide to eat the grapes? One dimensional characters would not do such things. Admittedly, there is little moral gray area within the characters (except the mother, who is not evil but is considered worthy of death, apparently, for her passivity, which is one of the strongest and most powerful messages of the entire movie.) However, the movie is an allegory. Allegories are not meant to have much gray area. Also, the fact that the fantasy world was unpleasant until the end is the point of the allegory (fantasy=facism except in the fantasy land, when the girl disobeys she is exalted and lives while in real life she dies.) It is actually one of the most difficult films to interpret I've ever seen. I've had to think about it for half an hour and write about it. 4. Doug R--go see Spiderman. Not going to go on. Basically, one must know a lot about the Spanish Civil War to appreciate this movie, and one must be willing to understand the allegory. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrattyB.nMay 20, 2007
The sheer beauty of this film is shown through so many different aspects of the film. First of all this film was del Toto's baby which he finely crafted down to every detail. When so much heart goes into a film it shows on screen. The The sheer beauty of this film is shown through so many different aspects of the film. First of all this film was del Toto's baby which he finely crafted down to every detail. When so much heart goes into a film it shows on screen. The acting is incredible and Ivana Baquero (Ofelia) is going to be a star. The reason I believe this is one of the greatest films of all time is because of the simple fact that it was original. Yes, del Toro put many parallels of Alice in Wonderland and countless fairy tails, and Narnia into the movie, but he isn't copying these stories, he is taking some of their ideas and creatures and applying them to his original story. When you watch the movie you can feel the heart and soul of everyone involved projecting from the screen. This is what is wrong with today's films, there is no heart. All we see today are blockbusters and sequels. But this movie is different. Most movies like blockbusters blatently tell you what to think and what you should feel coming out of the movie. But Pan's Labyrinth leaves so many decisions up to the viewer to interpret that it makes you feel like the adult who dismisses the magic of fairy tales or feel like you do in fact believe that what Ofelia saw was real. And on one last note about the ending. I believe when she gets to the kingdom it is in fact heaven and it may be insinuating that everyone has their own version of heaven, and that was hers because of what she believed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielMorenoMay 18, 2007
Astounding imagery and cinematography
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeZ.May 18, 2007
This is an oustanding film which is deeply moving. when I left the theatre I felt like my emotional stability had been put through the ringer, but only to emerge stronger in the end. For me this film really evoked one of those expreriences This is an oustanding film which is deeply moving. when I left the theatre I felt like my emotional stability had been put through the ringer, but only to emerge stronger in the end. For me this film really evoked one of those expreriences where you are so wrapped in the drama that the consequences of the story feel real. Excellent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TriciaR.May 17, 2007
I have spent almost as long reading these comments as I did watching the film - fascinating. Maybe the distinguishing feature of art is that 'all or nothing' engagement on many levels. Genius doesn't have to be perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadSweeMay 16, 2007
Pan's Labyrinth, a film (written and directed) by Guillermo del Toro (Blade 2 and Hellboy), is a memorable, unique, and adventurous movie that excells in many aspects. The plot revolves around a young spanish (and that's SpainPan's Labyrinth, a film (written and directed) by Guillermo del Toro (Blade 2 and Hellboy), is a memorable, unique, and adventurous movie that excells in many aspects. The plot revolves around a young spanish (and that's Spain spanish, not Mexico spanish) girl, Ofelia, whose mother has been widowed and is now moving in with her new husband who happens to be the captain of a fascist group that overtook Spain. The captain plays the role of a ruthless ruler, similiar to that of the Nazi in Schindler's List. The actor plays this character flawlessly, but he is not the only person who brings a good acting performance to the table. The mother, doctor, maid and many others perfectly play their parts also, with the exception of the lead character, Ofelia. Ofelia comes off as a very dull and undramatic young girl, roughly the age of 12, eventhough she is supposed to be full of imagination. She has a passion for fairy tales, and as she witnesses the violent nature of the captain and his group she uses her mind to escape reality. This movie, in all actuality, is a fairy tale for adults. The plot is interesting, and definately a fresh breath of air compared to recent films that keep using revenge as a motive for every last thing. From a directing stand point Pan's Labyrinth is amazing. It's gorgeous to watch, exciting to watch, and, most importantly, fun to watch. Pan's Labyrinth may not blow you away, but is ultimately a great movie. It gets, on a scale of one to ten, five being average, a nine.
Oh and just a little fore-warning, this movie is in spanish and therefore you have to read english subtitles. This may shy people away from watching it, but by no means should you let this one go simply because of having to read subtitles.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrantV.May 16, 2007
Great movie and a note to Alex H. Pan was the fawn not the girl. If you didn't know that much, no wonder you only gave the movie a 5.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanS.May 16, 2007
Powerful and always engrossing, this tale is not too sad nor bloody for most adutls and young people to see. The acting and cinematography are simply terrific. I hope that theatre managers keep this on the screen long enough for the Powerful and always engrossing, this tale is not too sad nor bloody for most adutls and young people to see. The acting and cinematography are simply terrific. I hope that theatre managers keep this on the screen long enough for the favorable word of mouth to get around. I plan to see it again on DVD sometime. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickD.May 15, 2007
Stunning film that should have won Best Picture. Along with United 93 and Children of Men, it was one of the best films of the past decade let alone the year of 2006. What all those 3 films have in common is what people do when confronted Stunning film that should have won Best Picture. Along with United 93 and Children of Men, it was one of the best films of the past decade let alone the year of 2006. What all those 3 films have in common is what people do when confronted when society is falling apart. This film is worth the emotional investment Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KHendersonMay 15, 2007
There's several moments in the imaginative film when the screenplay has to manipulate events in an implausible way in order for the film to have sequence of events it wants. And the ending if one really thinks about it, has an obvious There's several moments in the imaginative film when the screenplay has to manipulate events in an implausible way in order for the film to have sequence of events it wants. And the ending if one really thinks about it, has an obvious problem that renders it nonsensical. It surprised me that so many critics werent observing the events in the film carefully enough to see these plot holes. A great film but quite imperfect too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanTerryMay 15, 2007
I loved everything about this movie. Incredibly imaginative. It takes you to a whole other world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CalvinJ.May 14, 2007
Pan's Labyrinth is a dark and well crafted movie which deserved the Academy Award. Pan's Labyrinth is unique and is hands down interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricS.May 9, 2007
Incredible movie. Those who don't understand how the two plots are interrelated are simply taking everything that happened in the movie at face value. In actuality-- whether the events that led her to her ultimate destiny even happened Incredible movie. Those who don't understand how the two plots are interrelated are simply taking everything that happened in the movie at face value. In actuality-- whether the events that led her to her ultimate destiny even happened are debatable. This is about a little girl who is trying to cope with the very violent world we live in any way she can-- mostly by using her imagination. For those of you trying to apply historical theory: this is not a documentary-- it is a fictional narrative that comes from the imagination of one person and should be viewed as just that: FICTION. Personally, talking fauns and magical doors dissuade me from trying to apply any sort of realist theory... but there are always those who will try to find the worst in everything. I personally respect anyone's opinion that this is a bad film -- I just strongly disagree. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DrewMay 7, 2007
Honestly this is one of the best movies I've ever seen. Superbly acted, and written, this movie is just masterfully crafted around reality and an escape from the rough life of a young spanish girl who is living through Franco'sHonestly this is one of the best movies I've ever seen. Superbly acted, and written, this movie is just masterfully crafted around reality and an escape from the rough life of a young spanish girl who is living through Franco's Spain in 1944. Just a great movie, do yourself a favor and watch it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
IanB.May 7, 2007
This was an amazing film - fantasy, but not for children (seriously, not suitable for children) - for adults. It was beautiful, frightening, and utterly captivating. The musical score is still with me, many weeks after seeing the film. This was an amazing film - fantasy, but not for children (seriously, not suitable for children) - for adults. It was beautiful, frightening, and utterly captivating. The musical score is still with me, many weeks after seeing the film. It's not a children's movie, it's not a wizards and warlocks movie, it's not a drama - it's unlike anything you've ever seen or heard. If you hve an open mind and the IQ to handle it, it could be one of the best movies you've ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobE.May 7, 2007
I don't understand the people bashing this film. It's not a fantasy film, not does it have any intention on being one. The fantasy elements are the girl's way of escaping an otherwise terrible life. As for a cop-out ending, I don't understand the people bashing this film. It's not a fantasy film, not does it have any intention on being one. The fantasy elements are the girl's way of escaping an otherwise terrible life. As for a cop-out ending, how can you say that everyone winds up happy. There's no celebration with the rebel victory, as they know a looming threat still exists in franco and the fascists. As for the girl, she's dead, the only reason she's happy in the fantasty is because she'd rather die then live in her reality. To say the movie is a cliche of oversimplified elements is just to go against the grain and refuse to admit to the film's popular reception. It's a fantastic film and a entertaining, moving experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PizzleRizzleMay 5, 2007
I'm somewhat of a pessimist in general going into movies, and this case is no different. This movie was absolutely not what I expected in any sense. That being said, I was enthralled from start to finish. I viewed everything from the I'm somewhat of a pessimist in general going into movies, and this case is no different. This movie was absolutely not what I expected in any sense. That being said, I was enthralled from start to finish. I viewed everything from the perspective of the girl, and truly enjoyed the blurred lines between fantasy and reality. It was impossible to know where the girl's mind ended and reality started. The shocking violence was also refreshing. Only disney made fairy tales family-friendly. Hansel and Gretel is one of the most brutal and disturbing stories for a child. Their parents abandoned them, a witch tried to cannibalize them, and then they murdered her via fire. This film is what a fairy tale is supposed to be: invigorating, tragic, and thought-provoking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattB.Apr 30, 2007
One of the most moving pictures I have ever seen. Unique, creative, and memorable. Simply put, it was amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BelleA-SApr 29, 2007
I know I like something if I wake up in the morning and I still think about it. Such is what happened today after I watched this movie last night. See, I'm even writing a review on it! What I love about it is that I haven't seen I know I like something if I wake up in the morning and I still think about it. Such is what happened today after I watched this movie last night. See, I'm even writing a review on it! What I love about it is that I haven't seen anything like it before. Throughout the movie I was thinking if the story of Princess Moanna is a traditional fairy tale much like the Grimm's are. I still don't know now. While watching though I did see flashes of similarities to Alice in Wonderland, The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe and White Flower The Devil's Daughter. So the story may not be entirely original --- that's why I give it a 9 --- but the execution of the movie is perfect and I am still mesmerized the morning after. That's what makes it a great movie! Better than Babel or The Departed or all those movies with Academy Award mentions. I will watch it again today. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SenBApr 27, 2007
The film had visuals that complemented the film instead of being the centerpiece, which is a really good thing considering that fantasy films nowadays are bombarded with CGI. the reality and the fantastical aspects were handled nicely and The film had visuals that complemented the film instead of being the centerpiece, which is a really good thing considering that fantasy films nowadays are bombarded with CGI. the reality and the fantastical aspects were handled nicely and gelled well near the ending. but this is not for the faint of heart. my body became mush after a scene with the captain and the maid in the storeroom where the rations were held. *shivers* Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GhostlyApr 25, 2007
this film was vibrant with darkness life and death spirtual...and brought me to my own childhood...where i looked for escape doors and other portals to get away from the dreary parisian buildings and adults...who surrounded me...with their this film was vibrant with darkness life and death spirtual...and brought me to my own childhood...where i looked for escape doors and other portals to get away from the dreary parisian buildings and adults...who surrounded me...with their sharp energies. Children are not as innocent as u think. especially in today s modern world. think about what a fairy tale really is. Our director honnored the true function of a fairy tale. we tell our children fairy tales to warn them about the world educate them about courage faith trust and honnor we educate our children that death and life exist and that magic is the power of their own hearts and souls and basically many worldy fairy tales are bloody and scary and horrid and also magical with prizes and challenges and punishements and risks. this little girl moved me...she was very very brave. she was alive and cared deeply about life about her mom s well being...about her new friend mercedes well being and understaood the wickedness of her stepp father. She was able to recognize evil. and choose good. she was a child. but she had the soul of a warrior princess. adn in this world we live in why should we hide the truth from our little children...? Dont they see hellraiser friday the 13th and other creepy movies anyways? Or what about all the cartoons on tv. do u think those cartoons are that sweet. they are more perverse. or what about the glorified politics of ou r governemtns which are killing children? Should we hide this stuff from our children. Fairy tales and life and blood have always been hand in hand. even hensel and grettel is not nice story and it is europeen. it s like pocahontas lies..made by disney...that she was in love and happy with the blond dude... but actually...she was forced to marry him and follow him to his ugly grey old england city..where she got sick from a european disease and then died. But that fairy tale with Disney made it look like colonization never happened... So thank u for Truth and for loving ly working on every single frame. Also ...I just want to say ...that it was about God and life and death...and life after Death...and spiritual life. Our world ..hahhaha...do u know how many children live thirsty..on the streets ...how many children beg...are victims of organ traffic business...victims of sex exploitation business... are victims of pedophiles... so please... do bring ur kid to see this flick. i would have loved it when i was a kid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobinJ.Apr 24, 2007
I don't really understand Spanish and there are no subtitles to help me understand while I watched the movie. But i can see the struggles of war and the classic tale of good versus evil. And this one, of course the good triumphs. After I don't really understand Spanish and there are no subtitles to help me understand while I watched the movie. But i can see the struggles of war and the classic tale of good versus evil. And this one, of course the good triumphs. After I watched, all I remember was that the film is a war film. It depicts the horror, the fear, the violence and the selfishness of war. For more squeamish people, like me, this film is a bit difficult and uncomfortable to watch. But the fantasy part of the film is beautiful. The fantasy side is used to describe the hope of peace and safety that you wish for when you are facing war. It's original and i give credit for that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MojoPiNApr 21, 2007
This movie was as astounding as they say. More so then even the brilliant acting and directing was the mood that was set throughout the entire script. You were able to really place yourself in the beginnings of what was to be Franco's This movie was as astounding as they say. More so then even the brilliant acting and directing was the mood that was set throughout the entire script. You were able to really place yourself in the beginnings of what was to be Franco's Spain and the whole affair flowed seamlessly. There was no overacting here, no overt Hollywood drama whose formula is old and tired. It was genuine, believable and most of all inspiring. A beautiful flick for anyone to see, even the most alpha of males. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattP.Apr 19, 2007
Although it is no longer in theaters, it will soon beout on DVD. If you are seventeen or older, and can stomach some pretty brutal scenes, you will be treated to, at least in my opinion, the best movie of 2006
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonL.Apr 19, 2007
Pan's Labyrinth is simply one of the best movies ever made. The ending scene was simply brilliant, it makes no judgement, and lets you decide if you are sad or elated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KurtisR.Apr 14, 2007
One of the best film of 2006. The idea of magic realism translates onto the film medium with breathtakaing visual veracity and power.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DiianaBighamApr 14, 2007
a new classic which I will want to have in my DVD library. multilayered and dazzling -- appealing to the mind and the soul -- archetypes of fairy tales and quests about life's journey and choices every step of the way, during Childhood a new classic which I will want to have in my DVD library. multilayered and dazzling -- appealing to the mind and the soul -- archetypes of fairy tales and quests about life's journey and choices every step of the way, during Childhood and Adulthood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikoApr 13, 2007
Perspective is required with this Movie. So far reactions have been completely over the top. The film is neither so brilliant as to make you reconsider how you live your life or so poor as to make you wish you had taken your granny out for Perspective is required with this Movie. So far reactions have been completely over the top. The film is neither so brilliant as to make you reconsider how you live your life or so poor as to make you wish you had taken your granny out for tea and scones instead. Yes it very imaginative with great acting and contains thought provoking insights. But the magic only touches the edges of film like elaborate embroidering and the violence distracts to the point of gratuitousness. In the end, the movie fails to be truly immersive or involving and one feels like one has had a quaint trip to the theatre rather than a journey to the other side of imagination. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewY.Apr 8, 2007
I'm not going to lie, this is quite argueably the best movie i have ever seen. ever. It has an amazing amount of depth to it, like a classic novel (possibly even more). If you give the movie some thought after viewing it, you'll I'm not going to lie, this is quite argueably the best movie i have ever seen. ever. It has an amazing amount of depth to it, like a classic novel (possibly even more). If you give the movie some thought after viewing it, you'll understand what I'm talking about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesB.Apr 8, 2007
This film is nothing short of a masterpiece and a must see. While it isn't quite the fairy tale that you are lead to believe, it is fantastic film with deep resounding themes if you look for them. The plot is still immensely interesting This film is nothing short of a masterpiece and a must see. While it isn't quite the fairy tale that you are lead to believe, it is fantastic film with deep resounding themes if you look for them. The plot is still immensely interesting and keeps the viewer's attention even if a good three-fourths takes place outside the fantasy world. It also has some of the most brilliant cinematography and rich art direction of any film ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RonS.Apr 6, 2007
A transcendent movie experience. Perhaps not as perfect as a '10' implies but it deserves the highest rank if only to distinguish it from movies, however worthy, that are merely entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MH.Apr 5, 2007
This is a great film for several reasons and I personally enjoyed it thoroughly, but it is hated by many who expected a charming flick about little girls befriending mythical creatures. The only real criticisms seem to be that there was too This is a great film for several reasons and I personally enjoyed it thoroughly, but it is hated by many who expected a charming flick about little girls befriending mythical creatures. The only real criticisms seem to be that there was too much violence and not enough fantasy, which already would suggest that the people who use these criticisms simply went to see the wrong film (and would probably have been more content to rent out Disney Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FrennB.Apr 2, 2007
I'm a little bit surprised that so many critics, and viewers have given this film a 10. I think it's a beautiful, disturbing movie, and I would give it 8.5, cause I feel it stops short of true greatness only just. But a 10? Not I'm a little bit surprised that so many critics, and viewers have given this film a 10. I think it's a beautiful, disturbing movie, and I would give it 8.5, cause I feel it stops short of true greatness only just. But a 10? Not sure. I'm a Spaniard, so I had the advantage of watching the movie in my mother tongue and accent. I happen to like a lot Sergi Garcia, from his earlier movies in France and Spain. He's great at comedy, and outstanding as a villain, as in this movie here. Maribel Verdu is a thirty-something actress who's been in movies since I was a kid (so was she), and is also a fine actress. The girl, Ivana Baquero, is also pretty good. So the acting is very good. The plot is OK-ish, if somewhat predictable , but it's well told, edited and beautifully shot. The imaginary and the real world are very well put together. The music is also beautiful, and falls into the "haunting" category so sought after nowadays, especially in a fairy-tale movie like this. I loved this film, and I strongly recommend it to anyone, but I wouldn't go to the cinema expecting a masterpiece, cause it ain't one! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinC.Mar 29, 2007
A fantastic movie, easily one of my favorites. Visually stunning, I found that the violence perfectly underscored the horrors of war, especially those horrors having been seen through the eyes of a 10-year-old girl. Some may say that theA fantastic movie, easily one of my favorites. Visually stunning, I found that the violence perfectly underscored the horrors of war, especially those horrors having been seen through the eyes of a 10-year-old girl. Some may say that the characters were underdeveloped, with Mercedes adopting the "Good Guy" and the Captain being the classic villian archtype, but one must remember that this is a story seen through the eyes of a young girl. All adults, to children, are either good, or bad. And to the people griping about the film being unsuitable for children, well, it's rated R for a reason. Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful
9
T.userMar 28, 2007
This film was a work of art a brilliant story that takes you into a world of fantasy. I had no expectations going into the movie as I didnt know what the movie was about. I was positivley surprised at how mindblowing this movie was I could This film was a work of art a brilliant story that takes you into a world of fantasy. I had no expectations going into the movie as I didnt know what the movie was about. I was positivley surprised at how mindblowing this movie was I could not leave my seat for fear of missing anything. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricC.Mar 26, 2007
Let me just start by tackling all the people trying, idiotically, to bash this movie. None of you, not one, have given a decent reason. Someone wrote that it had a shallow script just about doing three tasks and becoming a princess. Are you Let me just start by tackling all the people trying, idiotically, to bash this movie. None of you, not one, have given a decent reason. Someone wrote that it had a shallow script just about doing three tasks and becoming a princess. Are you really that dumb? I'd tell you to go watch the film again and try harder, but you don't deserve to. You just stick to Norbit and Ghost Rider. You might just grasp those. Someone else called it exploitive. Don't throw around words you don't understand. Go look it up first. Babel is exploitive. 24 is exploitive. This isn't. The violance and horror is exaggerated for a reason, for those of you who thought it was pointless. It was a horrible world then, and it's a horrible world today. Seriously, try making the connections. What are the fascists today? The rebels? del Toro wasn't being complicated on this point. This movie was mindblowing, visually and story-wise. The "little fairytale" is only a tiny part of the trajedy and joy in this movie. There's a reason why it's one of the best reviewed movies of all time. If you're too shallow to fully experience it, then really, I don't care. Most people actually are. I don't have a clue what Gillermo del Toro is doing after Hellboy 2 (yes, he actually has fun with his career), but if it gets anywhere close to what this movie was, I can't wait to be amazed (I know it sounds cheesy, leave me alone). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamM.Mar 24, 2007
Perfect film, a beautiful story with a brilliant ending. Best film I've seen in a very long time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FutureCriticMar 23, 2007
This is my second favorite movie of all time. Definatley the best made in my lifetime. The only movie I like better than this is Jurrasic Park, and that is because it is one of the first movies i ever saw. This movie was a masterpeice to be This is my second favorite movie of all time. Definatley the best made in my lifetime. The only movie I like better than this is Jurrasic Park, and that is because it is one of the first movies i ever saw. This movie was a masterpeice to be remembered and revered as the godfather or casablanca, different genres, but both are amazingly well done. I am only 13 and i found this movie amazing, from how it was shot to the story and acting. Sergi Lopez captured the part of a heartless villain better than any performer ever did, and Ivana Baquero should have the fame of Dakota fanning, that joke of an actress. I was amazed to see it didnt win best foreign film in the oscars, Who would pick "the lives of others" compared to this, what idiots think that heap of crap was comparable to this? The only explaination is that Pans Labrynth isnt the best film of the year, its the best film in the last 15 years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnastashaC.Mar 21, 2007
The best movie I have ever seen. I have never been so moved by anything in my entire life. Beautiful. Just beautiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
2RoadsMar 20, 2007
This is a stroke of brilliance by Guillermo del Toro-- the brilliance comes into play with how he has intricately woven the Parallel Journeys of the unconscious and conscious mind. It is a parable of moral choices versus blind obedience This is a stroke of brilliance by Guillermo del Toro-- the brilliance comes into play with how he has intricately woven the Parallel Journeys of the unconscious and conscious mind. It is a parable of moral choices versus blind obedience juxtaposed with the symbols of mythology and religion without getting lost in specific perceptions. The parable is told from the POV of fantasy being the reality. It is the test of what one believes even though it cannot be seen Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful