Pan's Labyrinth

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 2151 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. FrennB.
    Apr 2, 2007
    8
    I'm a little bit surprised that so many critics, and viewers have given this film a 10. I think it's a beautiful, disturbing movie, and I would give it 8.5, cause I feel it stops short of true greatness only just. But a 10? Not sure. I'm a Spaniard, so I had the advantage of watching the movie in my mother tongue and accent. I happen to like a lot Sergi Garcia, from his I'm a little bit surprised that so many critics, and viewers have given this film a 10. I think it's a beautiful, disturbing movie, and I would give it 8.5, cause I feel it stops short of true greatness only just. But a 10? Not sure. I'm a Spaniard, so I had the advantage of watching the movie in my mother tongue and accent. I happen to like a lot Sergi Garcia, from his earlier movies in France and Spain. He's great at comedy, and outstanding as a villain, as in this movie here. Maribel Verdu is a thirty-something actress who's been in movies since I was a kid (so was she), and is also a fine actress. The girl, Ivana Baquero, is also pretty good. So the acting is very good. The plot is OK-ish, if somewhat predictable , but it's well told, edited and beautifully shot. The imaginary and the real world are very well put together. The music is also beautiful, and falls into the "haunting" category so sought after nowadays, especially in a fairy-tale movie like this. I loved this film, and I strongly recommend it to anyone, but I wouldn't go to the cinema expecting a masterpiece, cause it ain't one! Expand
  2. MH.
    Apr 5, 2007
    9
    This is a great film for several reasons and I personally enjoyed it thoroughly, but it is hated by many who expected a charming flick about little girls befriending mythical creatures. The only real criticisms seem to be that there was too much violence and not enough fantasy, which already would suggest that the people who use these criticisms simply went to see the wrong film (and This is a great film for several reasons and I personally enjoyed it thoroughly, but it is hated by many who expected a charming flick about little girls befriending mythical creatures. The only real criticisms seem to be that there was too much violence and not enough fantasy, which already would suggest that the people who use these criticisms simply went to see the wrong film (and would probably have been more content to rent out Disney Expand
  3. JackL.
    May 20, 2007
    10
    Wow. This isn't a fantasy movie like it seems to be getting labled, but it is a masterpiece. It's got such an amazing amount of depth, and a story that is just as stunning as its visuals, and thats saying a lot. They're not as off the wall crazy as Lord of the Rings, they're more akin to a great painting. Simple and beautiful. If this film doesn't move you Wow. This isn't a fantasy movie like it seems to be getting labled, but it is a masterpiece. It's got such an amazing amount of depth, and a story that is just as stunning as its visuals, and thats saying a lot. They're not as off the wall crazy as Lord of the Rings, they're more akin to a great painting. Simple and beautiful. If this film doesn't move you emotionally, and hit your soul like a ton of bricks, than you're a complete, heartless monster. And I'm dead serous about that. Expand
  4. RobertH.
    May 30, 2007
    10
    An uncompromising fantasy epic. One of the very best of 2006.
  5. PizzleRizzle
    May 5, 2007
    9
    I'm somewhat of a pessimist in general going into movies, and this case is no different. This movie was absolutely not what I expected in any sense. That being said, I was enthralled from start to finish. I viewed everything from the perspective of the girl, and truly enjoyed the blurred lines between fantasy and reality. It was impossible to know where the girl's mind ended and I'm somewhat of a pessimist in general going into movies, and this case is no different. This movie was absolutely not what I expected in any sense. That being said, I was enthralled from start to finish. I viewed everything from the perspective of the girl, and truly enjoyed the blurred lines between fantasy and reality. It was impossible to know where the girl's mind ended and reality started. The shocking violence was also refreshing. Only disney made fairy tales family-friendly. Hansel and Gretel is one of the most brutal and disturbing stories for a child. Their parents abandoned them, a witch tried to cannibalize them, and then they murdered her via fire. This film is what a fairy tale is supposed to be: invigorating, tragic, and thought-provoking. Expand
  6. Drew
    May 7, 2007
    10
    Honestly this is one of the best movies I've ever seen. Superbly acted, and written, this movie is just masterfully crafted around reality and an escape from the rough life of a young spanish girl who is living through Franco's Spain in 1944. Just a great movie, do yourself a favor and watch it.
  7. KeetonJohnson
    Jun 1, 2007
    9
    This movie is probably the most wierd movie you'll ever see, yet one of the most amazing. A mix of horror and fantasy, with a dose of reality stuck in there. Even if you don't speak Spanish, and have to read the subtitles, unless you hate to read, you should love this movie. Great music accompanies some great acting. I just wish it would have shown more of Ofelia's This movie is probably the most wierd movie you'll ever see, yet one of the most amazing. A mix of horror and fantasy, with a dose of reality stuck in there. Even if you don't speak Spanish, and have to read the subtitles, unless you hate to read, you should love this movie. Great music accompanies some great acting. I just wish it would have shown more of Ofelia's adventure and less of the war. One of the greatest movies of 2006. Expand
  8. BradC
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    Perfect. Instant classic. Movies do not get any better then this.
  9. CT
    Jun 2, 2007
    9
    A modern version of classical fairy tales before they were Disney-fied or even Victorianized. A cautionary tale set in a world mixing fantasy and reality, with a child heroine having to make life and death decisions yet showing her naivety and innocence until the very last frame. Reflects a place where children are much more involved in the brutality of war and nature; something most A modern version of classical fairy tales before they were Disney-fied or even Victorianized. A cautionary tale set in a world mixing fantasy and reality, with a child heroine having to make life and death decisions yet showing her naivety and innocence until the very last frame. Reflects a place where children are much more involved in the brutality of war and nature; something most Western children are removed from except for their game consoles or news broadcasts. Read some pre-Victorian or non-Western children's stories and you may see why this more modern story is told so well. Expand
  10. EduardoM.
    Jul 1, 2007
    9
    One of the best movies, I´ve ever seen, I watched it some days ago and I could not yet forget it. Wonderful, absolutely unforgettable, full of magic, power and breath-taking images. It creates a universe of its own, powerful, intense, original. A visionary film whose power of creation is unparalleled. A great movie.
  11. AbbyL
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    First I have to say great movie, second I agree with Lena, third it bothers me that people watch movies they know they're not going to like and then give them low scores. This film, as many have said, is the perfect mix of so many polar opposites. It is truly amazing how Del Toro actually pulls this movie off with such grace. I do believe that this movie deserves this score, it was First I have to say great movie, second I agree with Lena, third it bothers me that people watch movies they know they're not going to like and then give them low scores. This film, as many have said, is the perfect mix of so many polar opposites. It is truly amazing how Del Toro actually pulls this movie off with such grace. I do believe that this movie deserves this score, it was breath taking... and the end?! Oh the ending was... well I won't spoil it but I left that movie feeling upset for Ofelia. Anyways the point is the movie is wonderful and no matter what there will always be that one person saying to the most universally acclaimed film, "It sucked, don't watch it." But always trust the minority or just watch whatever you like watching. Expand
  12. JordanH
    Jul 20, 2007
    9
    Word of the wise, if you don't like violence well then don't watch this movie. The movie is rated R for GRAPHIC VIOLENCE and some language! It's pathetic to say, this movie was dumb because it was violent! Please read the before you watch obviously. Well... Pan's Labyrinth was really good. It was just.. I don't know new in a way but old in another. Just watch the Word of the wise, if you don't like violence well then don't watch this movie. The movie is rated R for GRAPHIC VIOLENCE and some language! It's pathetic to say, this movie was dumb because it was violent! Please read the before you watch obviously. Well... Pan's Labyrinth was really good. It was just.. I don't know new in a way but old in another. Just watch the damn movie and decide for yourself but before you watcha and say it's stupid remember GRAPHIC VIOLENCE! Expand
  13. LaurenU
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    Very good movie, very compelling. And to say that I claimed it was good simply because someone told me it was is a lie. I can think for myself and watch a good movie. And yes critics usually rate foreign films high, but look at the sheer originality of those films, my opinion is that a lot of american directors either take a book and make a terrible movie, take a play and make a decent Very good movie, very compelling. And to say that I claimed it was good simply because someone told me it was is a lie. I can think for myself and watch a good movie. And yes critics usually rate foreign films high, but look at the sheer originality of those films, my opinion is that a lot of american directors either take a book and make a terrible movie, take a play and make a decent movie, or remake a foreign film and everyone loves it. Expand
  14. MiriamM
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    Simply stunning. Nuff said.
  15. ElinG
    Aug 2, 2007
    10
    This movie is amazing and I believe it deserves its place on metacritics all-time high scores. It is a beautiful, tragic, and sometimes traumatizing portrayal of how brutally war affects children. Yes, this movie is very violent, but at least the violence is there for a reason: to demontrate the horrors of war. And Bick B, I think you're completely wrong. This film dazzled with This movie is amazing and I believe it deserves its place on metacritics all-time high scores. It is a beautiful, tragic, and sometimes traumatizing portrayal of how brutally war affects children. Yes, this movie is very violent, but at least the violence is there for a reason: to demontrate the horrors of war. And Bick B, I think you're completely wrong. This film dazzled with brilliance, which is why it is one of the highest rated films of all time. Expand
  16. JonM
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    A great fantasy adventure that despite some incredulous remarks and 0 scores still rates at 8.4. This says much for the maligned few who judge not on message but on appearance, choosing to bypass the part of the brain that processes thought and sends them straight out of the rear. To avoid this film because of such pretentious folks thinking they are above the underlying meaning of theA great fantasy adventure that despite some incredulous remarks and 0 scores still rates at 8.4. This says much for the maligned few who judge not on message but on appearance, choosing to bypass the part of the brain that processes thought and sends them straight out of the rear. To avoid this film because of such pretentious folks thinking they are above the underlying meaning of the film is nigh on criminal. Expand
  17. MikeT.
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    This film is haunting in every sense of the word. In fact, this movie redefined it for me. Every scene has stayed with me in a way that entire movies rarely do. An accomplished feat of filmmaking.
  18. TylerC.
    Feb 6, 2008
    9
    The most successful of it's kind. Great, memorable scenes. Beautiful and grotesque, always tense.
  19. DennisS.
    Jun 6, 2008
    10
    Pan's Labyrinth is a beautiful fairytale for adults, that will remain in someone's mind for a long time.
  20. SteveJ.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    My wife & I rarely watch a rented movie twice--preferring to return the movie as soon as we can & get another one. This one we not only watched twice, but we also invited others to join us when we watched it the second time! Loved it!
  21. Mario
    Jan 15, 2009
    9
    Pan's labyrinth is a must, if you haven't rent it, then DO IT! it's a nice movie I loved it and I hope everyone else does.
  22. KaneP
    Jul 2, 2009
    10
    Very few times do I watch a "hyped" film and expect it to meet the expectations. Pan's Labyrinth smashed all my expectations. Never have I viewed a film so beautifully crafted and executed. Beautifully constructed fantastic elements are juxtaposed against violent realism, creating an uneasy yet beautiful environment that is also an extremely tragic. This is the perfect example of Very few times do I watch a "hyped" film and expect it to meet the expectations. Pan's Labyrinth smashed all my expectations. Never have I viewed a film so beautifully crafted and executed. Beautifully constructed fantastic elements are juxtaposed against violent realism, creating an uneasy yet beautiful environment that is also an extremely tragic. This is the perfect example of film making at its finest. A film made with care, love and passion for the medium that is rarely seen in modern film. Expand
  23. ReneC
    Sep 25, 2009
    10
    Excellent! I used this film as part of a school curriculum... Yes a I am a professor.. Some critics said: "a 6 because is violent"... These people should just look around them.. maybe they are playing the part of Ofelia... I think these people should go and live in Disneyland.
  24. EusebioP
    Sep 7, 2009
    10
    Wonderful fairy tales and atrocious reality melt a lake of fantasy where you will drown like a child in the bed reading the Lord of the Rings for the first time. Superb.
  25. TiagoF
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    Brilliant. Magical realism at it's best. Some people don't like it because they expect something else. Others don't like it because they just don't get it. People who now what to expect and can understand this masterpiece will NOT be disappointed.
  26. DaveH
    Feb 14, 2010
    8
    I did enjoy this film but I believe Guillermo del Toro can do better films than this one, it's good, but it doesn't interest me much.
  27. Jerrod
    Apr 30, 2010
    10
    Absolutely spectacular in its ability to simultaneously dazzle and provide scathing insight into the more sordid nature of the human condition.(In a side note the person who gave this a one for being too gruesome for children, which you claim is the intended audience, this movie is rated R which has never denoted that children should watch).
  28. BrianneC
    May 21, 2010
    10
    I just saw this movie for the first time a couple days ago. I've never had the chance to see it and I've wanted to for the past four years. I would recommend this movie to anyone who likes horror and fantasy. It has strong elements of both. It's a fantastic movie. So what if it has blood and gore in it and it's a fairy tale? No one ever said it was for kids. I wanted I just saw this movie for the first time a couple days ago. I've never had the chance to see it and I've wanted to for the past four years. I would recommend this movie to anyone who likes horror and fantasy. It has strong elements of both. It's a fantastic movie. So what if it has blood and gore in it and it's a fairy tale? No one ever said it was for kids. I wanted to see it when I was 12 and I think I would've been fine with it. This movie is definitely one of my favorites and I completely love it. Expand
  29. ColeeW.
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    Intricate and graceful, del Toro's Pan's Labyrinth is a work of art to savor.
  30. JoeC.
    Jan 11, 2007
    10
    I must say this movie was so good I'm going to see it again easily. I don't quite get all the negative reviews everyone (minus the critics of course) have been posting. Is it because mainly all critics enjoyed it? Probably but all this aside Pan's Labyrinth in my opinion is easily the best film of the Year! Full of character, mysteries & mainly a great story reminiscent of I must say this movie was so good I'm going to see it again easily. I don't quite get all the negative reviews everyone (minus the critics of course) have been posting. Is it because mainly all critics enjoyed it? Probably but all this aside Pan's Labyrinth in my opinion is easily the best film of the Year! Full of character, mysteries & mainly a great story reminiscent of Alice in Wonderland Meets Hellraiser meets All Great Wartime Films. An astonishing accomplishment! Expand
  31. StevenM.
    Jan 13, 2007
    10
    One of the best films of the year if not the best. It's a grown-up, unrelenting version of a child's fairy tale. The key difference -- we don't get the happy, joyful ending that children need. It's grand mix of the realities of war, and the fantasies of a child stuck in its middle. The violence is grisly, unrelenting, but that's the point. War is hell, life can be One of the best films of the year if not the best. It's a grown-up, unrelenting version of a child's fairy tale. The key difference -- we don't get the happy, joyful ending that children need. It's grand mix of the realities of war, and the fantasies of a child stuck in its middle. The violence is grisly, unrelenting, but that's the point. War is hell, life can be hell, and to not show the gore, the blood, the terrible deaths, is coddling to the viewer. One viewer says the violence is "entirely gratuitous" -- how lucky she is to have never seen anyone shot or killed. Heartbreaking? Yes. Shocking? Yep. But hopeful, too. And not easily forgotten. Expand
  32. BradG.
    Jan 14, 2007
    10
    Beautiful, terrifying, and heartbreaking. Fantastic movie.
  33. LauraG.
    Jan 14, 2007
    8
    I would score an 8.5 if it was an option. With a 97 rating on Metacritic, I was expecting something totally amazing. Don't get me wrong, it is very good, but just not amazing. I will say that it is inspiring to see this Hollywood director create something so visually engrossing. The actors for Ophelia, the Captain and Mercedes are in very good form. But the story itself needs some I would score an 8.5 if it was an option. With a 97 rating on Metacritic, I was expecting something totally amazing. Don't get me wrong, it is very good, but just not amazing. I will say that it is inspiring to see this Hollywood director create something so visually engrossing. The actors for Ophelia, the Captain and Mercedes are in very good form. But the story itself needs some fleshing out - I just wanted more. You never fully connect with any character except a complete disgust for the Captain and sympathy for his victims. The transitions between reality and fantasy are often odd or abrupt. Could have been amazing, but just didn't quite get there. Expand
  34. ChadShiira
    Jan 15, 2007
    8
    "Pan's Labyrinth" might've been a coming-of-age film had there been a boy for Ofelia(Ivana Baquero) to come-of-age with. In the absence of cute guys, Ofelia invents a fantasy world, which can easily be read as a sublimation of sex. There's phallic symbols all over the place. In one scene, she seems to run away from, by all appearances, a seven-foot penis, after eating some"Pan's Labyrinth" might've been a coming-of-age film had there been a boy for Ofelia(Ivana Baquero) to come-of-age with. In the absence of cute guys, Ofelia invents a fantasy world, which can easily be read as a sublimation of sex. There's phallic symbols all over the place. In one scene, she seems to run away from, by all appearances, a seven-foot penis, after eating some forbidden fruit. Her sexual awakening is conducted brilliantly in code. An argument can be made that she's actually creating from her bed whenever the film switches into fantasy mode. In another scene, Ofelia crawls into a tree stump and gets mud all over her face. She feels dirty, but still her curiosity lingers. Check out the size of the key she discovers. "Pan's Labyrinth" also works as a very sophisticated genre film(like "The Devil's Backbone"), which is this filmmaker's speciality whenever he's not making inspired pop entertainments, because he shrewdly places the fantastical firmly in a very realistic setting. "Pan's Labyrinth" is a great film to "read". Expand
  35. AlanC.
    Jan 18, 2007
    10
    New York Magazine rates it 80...their reviews are the most unreliable of any publication I read. The movie is fantastic!
  36. LeeF.
    Jan 19, 2007
    10
    Better, even, than The Devil's Backbone. I was astonished at how much I liked this movie.
  37. Tim
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    i just saw this film and... i dont even know where to begin. my heart has been ripped in two... the devastating beauty, yet the devastation- the entire theater was dead silent when the credits began to roll, every soul in the house marinating in the beautiful sadness... the reviews cannot convey... you must see it yourself.
  38. JeremyM.
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    I just saw the movie not too long ago and it was worth it. It's not for young children and then again people should have understood it knowing that the rating was and R rating.. The subject that came to my mind after the movie is that no matter how old you are you are always clashing between what is fantasy and what is reality. In our minds as people we are always clashing with what I just saw the movie not too long ago and it was worth it. It's not for young children and then again people should have understood it knowing that the rating was and R rating.. The subject that came to my mind after the movie is that no matter how old you are you are always clashing between what is fantasy and what is reality. In our minds as people we are always clashing with what is fantasy and what is reality. It does not matter what perception our minds are in the chaos is there to deal with as of now. M.S. said a lot in his comments and I am going to put them in here because this person made sense "M. S. gave it a9: Before I say anything about this movie I would just like to ask a few questions. Is the violence in this movie as gratituous or as brutal as many of the reviewers here would suggest? The answer to that question is no. The violence was by no means as gruesome or as intrusive to the film's messages as many of these score keepers suggest. I apologize but this isn't Hostel. Can you be THAT squeamish? My belief is a few of you don't believe that a contemporary piece can possibly merit such critical acclaim. As many of you have pointed out, you wanted to see that 98 go down a notch. Ok. Your vote only affects user scores, idiots. With that out of the way, I would like to announce that this is one of the most beautifully directed and realized films of the year. Though it's plot may be simple and the special effects may not devour the screen, the stark and grim reality of what is seen is portrayed with an unflinching love for what is possible in our minds. If anything, my only complaint would be that the fantasy world of Ophelia, the main character, was not seen enough. But I realize that this was necessary. It shows how the greed, bloodlust, and chaos of our world affects the minds of the young and the curious and how the real world's scary tendencies are not forgotten within the imagination. The scene with the horrifying "Pale Man" is the perfect example. A hideous and bloodthirsty, yet totally fantasized entity wishing to do harm to Ophelia. This helps emphasize on the truth that pain and fear as well as love and laughter encompass all worlds, whether fictional or factual. The concepts of our reality never die even if its imagery and logic does. Acting wise this movie is grade A. Every person in the cast makes his or her role believable and vital to the overall presentation. The camera work was gorgeous and the special effects were, if not subtle, breath-taking in their aesthetic. Before I decide to top this review off, I would like to say that the packed theatre I was in clapped loudly and before that clapped a particularly tense yet triumphant escape scene. It had a totally unanimous effect on the crowd, showcasing the genious of the movie's acting, writing, directing, and pacing. This film is not for everyone but for anyone with an open mind, heart, or imagination...please see this." Stephanie P's comments made sense as well.. "Stephanie P. gave it a10: For the naysayers who think that there was (a) no plot or character development, (b) lack of fantasy elements throughout the film, and (c) nothing worth loving in this film other than startling visuals, then I have to wonder if you're thinking outside of the box at all!!! del Toro does an amazing job at paralleling the fantasy of the Underworld and the fantasy of Fascism - the "fantasy" is throughout; it is a fairy tale throughout... sometimes you don't always need monsters with eyes in their hands to signify "fantasy"... but, that was pretty creepy/awesome too. And, insofar as lack of character development, if you didn't cheer when Mercedes did the-thing-that-she-did-that-I'm-not-going-to-say-here-so-as-to-not-spoil-the-plot, then I can see how you thought character development was lacking but I also wonder if you were paying attention. All in all, del Toro's statement on horror both in fantasy and in politics, is so of the time that the movie goes beyond a simple beautiful piece of cinema. It is also very well crafted and intelligent and one of the best examples of traditional-horror-as-reflection-of-the-current-zeitgeist that I have seen." Cindy L's comments are with writing on here.... "Cindy L. gave it a10: The movie has been billed as a fairy tale for grownups -- I think that's a poor description. It is a movie about cruelty and being in the last place you want to be, and embracing the magic that presents itself. Much of the film isn't fairytale at all. It's cruel, horrible, and very difficult to watch. This is not, I say again NOT, a film for children. Ofelia has been torn from her world by the Captain. Those things that have been real to her are gone -- her father is dead, her mother's love is not hers alone anymore, she is in a strange place with strange sounds and strange people, everything feels wrong. Yet in that, and maybe because of that, she embraces the magic around her. Would a happy, well-adjusted child even seek out the labyrinth, even follow the insect fairy in the first place? Maybe it is only when we lack something, when we are lost, that we are willing to embrace something that would seem in a normal situation to be absurd. She never says, "weird!" or "this can't be happening". She never questions what she sees -- it is her possible salvation, and she accepts it straight off. When she sees the moon mark on her shoulder it only convinces her fully of what she had already accepted, and in the very next scene she introduces herself (fearlessly I might add) to the great toad as Princess Morella. She believes it utterly -- why? It feels like she knows that she has no other choice -- this is the way out, the only way out, and she takes it all willingly and bravely. Didn't we all wish to find out that secretly we are princesses and princes, that this life isn't our true life? (I know I did!) She surrenders to the fantasy in order to survive." I can go on and on and find the right remarks that makes this movie worth seeing again and again and I for those who understood the movie's psychological conflict. The comments that these people made on here are exactly what the movie hits on. For those who give this movie a 1 or a 0, are you afraid of reality and live in a fantasy world? Open your minds and think for once!!! Expand
  39. StephanieP.
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    For the naysayers who think that there was (a) no plot or character development, (b) lack of fantasy elements throughout the film, and (c) nothing worth loving in this film other than startling visuals, then I have to wonder if you're thinking outside of the box at all!!! del Toro does an amazing job at paralleling the fantasy of the Underworld and the fantasy of Fascism - the For the naysayers who think that there was (a) no plot or character development, (b) lack of fantasy elements throughout the film, and (c) nothing worth loving in this film other than startling visuals, then I have to wonder if you're thinking outside of the box at all!!! del Toro does an amazing job at paralleling the fantasy of the Underworld and the fantasy of Fascism - the "fantasy" is throughout; it is a fairy tale throughout... sometimes you don't always need monsters with eyes in their hands to signify "fantasy"... but, that was pretty creepy/awesome too. And, insofar as lack of character development, if you didn't cheer when Mercedes did the-thing-that-she-did-that-I'm-not-going-to-say-here-so-as-to-not-spoil-the-plot, then I can see how you thought character development was lacking but I also wonder if you were paying attention. All in all, del Toro's statement on horror both in fantasy and in politics, is so of the time that the movie goes beyond a simple beautiful piece of cinema. It is also very well crafted and intelligent and one of the best examples of traditional-horror-as-reflection-of-the-current-zeitgeist that I have seen. Expand
  40. BobB.
    Jan 20, 2007
    8
    I agree with people saying that the advertisement campaign was pretty misleading, but at the same time I believe this movie is still pretty darn good. To be honest, I wouldn't have been disappointed at all if the ads had just said "Come see this movie, it's great". But instead they were pretty misleading, and in the end you think to yourself "Wow, that was a pretty good movie, I agree with people saying that the advertisement campaign was pretty misleading, but at the same time I believe this movie is still pretty darn good. To be honest, I wouldn't have been disappointed at all if the ads had just said "Come see this movie, it's great". But instead they were pretty misleading, and in the end you think to yourself "Wow, that was a pretty good movie, but it wasn't what they said it would be", so overall you end up being pretty disappointed. Definitely not a smart move, in my view it's better to let the audience decide for themselves before you tell them how great your movie is. As for Ryan C, I think you missed the point of rating movies : You rate it what you think it should get, not rate it based on what other people gave it. If you thought it's overrated, fine, but lowering your score in an attempt to lower the overall score is just imposing your beliefs on other people. Expand
  41. JeffS.
    Jan 22, 2007
    10
    I simply do not understand the dislike for this movie I've been seeing around the web. It's not Hellboy, but it really is a perfectly realized fable about life's choices, working on multiple levels which, frankly, are really not too difficult to figure out. This is Amelie-level accessible, and just as poignant.
  42. WillG.
    Jan 25, 2007
    10
    This movie is perhaps the most amazing movie I have seen in quite some time, certainly the best of 2006. It grabs you from the first scenes of the film and doesn't loosen its grasp even after it is over. Incredible acting by all actors. Not only a fantasy film, but a perfect drama.
  43. SteveA.
    Jan 27, 2007
    9
    This movie was beautiful. I think a lot of people were upset because the movie was part war movie. However, that half of the movie was as well written as the fantasy part, and it had as many good twists in it. Perhaps, the movie's American audience is burned out on war movies (and war period). I can also see a back-lash toward Eastwood's current war movie. Anyhow, I found this This movie was beautiful. I think a lot of people were upset because the movie was part war movie. However, that half of the movie was as well written as the fantasy part, and it had as many good twists in it. Perhaps, the movie's American audience is burned out on war movies (and war period). I can also see a back-lash toward Eastwood's current war movie. Anyhow, I found this to be a wonderful movie. I loved the Mercedes character. Not only was she extremely humble and kind, but her fate seemed grave, and you could see the sadness and fear in her eyes throughout. To a lesser extent, my heart also went out for the little girl. However, the child was so entrenched in her fantasies (and her situation more hopeful) that it gave the character less rooting power than the Mercedes character. I think that might have hurt the end a little. Furthermore, by giving his artestry back to his people, Del Toro probably did the right thing. However, I also feel that Del Toro cooked his golden goose. If this movie had been made in English, it probably would have swept the Oscars and box office. (But is that what movie making is about?) Expand
  44. DavidV.
    Jan 28, 2007
    10
    Magical realism at its very best. Lyrically, one can not deny its relevance to Marquez. Likewise, this is the kind of story Rushdie has been trying to tell his entire career and has fallen short. The Renaissance of Mexican filmmaking has been underway for at least ten years now, and "Pan's Labyrinth" ranks among the country's very top achievements. Undoubtedly, the best film of Magical realism at its very best. Lyrically, one can not deny its relevance to Marquez. Likewise, this is the kind of story Rushdie has been trying to tell his entire career and has fallen short. The Renaissance of Mexican filmmaking has been underway for at least ten years now, and "Pan's Labyrinth" ranks among the country's very top achievements. Undoubtedly, the best film of the year. Expand
  45. JordanZ.
    Jan 4, 2007
    9
    Too much time wasted on the general and the relationship between the worker and her secret soldier lover. It should've focused more on the girl. More on fantasty. Less on bullshit realism and people. BUT, this is a wonderful film. Really beautiful, nicely shot, creates tension, sadness, really evokes emotion, some nice shots, really good stuff here. certainly one of the year's Too much time wasted on the general and the relationship between the worker and her secret soldier lover. It should've focused more on the girl. More on fantasty. Less on bullshit realism and people. BUT, this is a wonderful film. Really beautiful, nicely shot, creates tension, sadness, really evokes emotion, some nice shots, really good stuff here. certainly one of the year's best but it does have it's problem (as mentioned above). Expand
  46. TetoB.
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    Excelente pelicula, es una rara mezcla de terror, guerra civil, drama y fantasía, donde las mismas hadas no siempre salen bien libradas, imaginen entonces a los que desean verlas?, el Fauno está mas feo que el mismo diablo, perfecto!. y toda esta combinación funciona!.
  47. BrianC.
    Jan 5, 2007
    8
    Definitely worth seeing due to its unique nature, but prepared to be surprised by its story. The way del Toro is able to intertwine reality and fantasy plus history seamlessly into one is unmatched.
  48. Barry
    Oct 8, 2007
    7
    Good but stupidly overrated.
  49. StephenD.
    Jan 9, 2007
    10
    Glowing from the opening credits to the final scene. Cruel, tragic, terrifying and at times just purely beautiful. Building a divide for audiences to feel hatred and love for characters is never easy but here its magnifcient. The acting is of such a high standard many careers should blossom from such performances. First rate stuff.
  50. TomG.
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    I just watched PL an hour ago or so and it has got me searching the Internet for more information on this fantastic and timeless film. Like The Secret Garden, it is about that emotional disjoint in life between cynical and cruel reality and the hope and boundless generosity of myth and childhood. One of the best movies I've ever seen.
  51. CoryH.
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    I am a huge fan of both the fantasy and horror genre, and I have never seen a movie in either that left me as affected as this film did. What Del Toro has done is created a world that is horrifying and ugly in the physical sense, but one that is beautiful and intriguing as well. It is a world I would love to visit, but would scare the hell out of me. Be warned that it is in Spanish with I am a huge fan of both the fantasy and horror genre, and I have never seen a movie in either that left me as affected as this film did. What Del Toro has done is created a world that is horrifying and ugly in the physical sense, but one that is beautiful and intriguing as well. It is a world I would love to visit, but would scare the hell out of me. Be warned that it is in Spanish with English subtitles, but you won't even realize it ten minutes in. This is not a film for children by any means, but it reminded me of the first time I saw movies like Tron, The Neverending Story, and Labryinth. It will take to a place in your mind where you were afraid of went bump in the night, but will make you want to see what is making the noises. Go see it, and be amazed!!! Expand
  52. YokSan
    Feb 10, 2007
    9
    "there wasn't enough car chases"
    "this film ruined my weekend and my life boo fucking hoo"
    why dont you walking rainclouds fuck off. You'd give a film of the edge of the universe a bad review if you thought it was controverisal enough to make people pay attention to you for 15 seconds.
  53. AdamT.
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    I am 45 years old andthis is the finest movie I have ever seen.
  54. PaulN.
    Feb 1, 2007
    10
    An absolute masterpiece. Visually stunning and a wonderful deomstration that fantasy can be reality too.
  55. TimK
    Feb 1, 2007
    10
    Of the 200-some-odd foreign films I've seen, this easily ranks in my top 5... though I hate to classify it that way, I know there are some that will undoubtedly stay away just because. Of the thousands of films I've seen, this may just wind up around the top ten. The combination of cinematography, direction, and story, along with the superb acting makes this a very rare treat. Of the 200-some-odd foreign films I've seen, this easily ranks in my top 5... though I hate to classify it that way, I know there are some that will undoubtedly stay away just because. Of the thousands of films I've seen, this may just wind up around the top ten. The combination of cinematography, direction, and story, along with the superb acting makes this a very rare treat. My wife came out of the theater and said "That's what I want for Christmas next year". Hopefully we'll be able to view it again long before then. Expand
  56. JustinS.
    Feb 18, 2007
    10
    A great movie, as long as you know what you're in for. It may be billed as a fair tale, but its not one Walt Disney could ever have dreamed up. This is very much a gothic movie aimed squarely at adults. It is extremely dark, even depressing and graphically violent, with only the faintest hint of a happy ending. I don't know if the movie's rating in other places gives the A great movie, as long as you know what you're in for. It may be billed as a fair tale, but its not one Walt Disney could ever have dreamed up. This is very much a gothic movie aimed squarely at adults. It is extremely dark, even depressing and graphically violent, with only the faintest hint of a happy ending. I don't know if the movie's rating in other places gives the wrong impression, but suffice to say it most definitely deserves and R and children should not be allowed anywhere near it. Nevertheless, the movie is very imaginative and very well done. Its also extremely engrossing and adults will probably find it immensely satisfying, even though it will probably leave you profoundly depressed at the end. Expand
  57. StevenC.
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    I am saddened to see some people overlook every aspect of such a great movie, and instead focus solely on the violence or the lack of a deep, thought provoking, life changing plot. Pan's Labyrinth may not be the most family-oriented film of the season, but it does what so many movies have forgotten to do: tell a story. The movie tells a fairytale the way they used to be, before I am saddened to see some people overlook every aspect of such a great movie, and instead focus solely on the violence or the lack of a deep, thought provoking, life changing plot. Pan's Labyrinth may not be the most family-oriented film of the season, but it does what so many movies have forgotten to do: tell a story. The movie tells a fairytale the way they used to be, before Disneyland and overly-concerned parents. The movie is hardly violent on an unnecessary scale (Saw or Hostel), but instead focuses on the harsh realities of a world where good people do not always live. Ofelia's story is insperational and heart-warming; a young girl who is compassionate about good, wishes to vanquish evil and most importantly, seeks to find meaning in her world, her life. As I mentioned before, this film does not open your eyes to some new dimension; it simply tells a classic fairytale, without the make-up and glitter that hides reality in so much of our daily lives. Expand
  58. ChrisD.
    Feb 2, 2007
    10
    One of the best movies of the year. I'm amazed that some people rated this movie below an 8, even as low as a 0 in some cases. These people need their heads examined. I guess it hurts some people to have to actually use their brain to follow a story.
  59. JeremyF.
    Feb 22, 2007
    10
    This movie is beyond perfection. I am so disappointed to see how many people overlook each detail. They say there's too much violence, and it's dark, and it's too depressing. And they're all wrong. I mean, yes it is a dark and depressing movie, but it's supposed to be. And it's not THAT depressing. Not so much that you can't watch it. And the violence is This movie is beyond perfection. I am so disappointed to see how many people overlook each detail. They say there's too much violence, and it's dark, and it's too depressing. And they're all wrong. I mean, yes it is a dark and depressing movie, but it's supposed to be. And it's not THAT depressing. Not so much that you can't watch it. And the violence is not tasteless or useless. i think it's right. Guillermo Del Toro always has a lot of gore. Now, with that said... The movie's brilliance is almost indescribable. Ivana Baquero is an amazing aspiring young actress. And Sergi Lopez is amazing in his role as the heartless villain. All the acting is incredible. The visuals are as astounding as the hype makes them out to be. The music is breathtakingly beautiful. The whole thing is just a beyond perfect piece of work. This is not a work of cinematic stupidity. It's cinematic genius. 10/10, no doubt. Expand
  60. JonC.
    Feb 26, 2007
    7
    Truly a gothic fairy-tale, with a good script, wonderful cinematography, and awesome visual effects. The story is sad, but captivating. But luckily it does have its gorey scenes! Not a good film for a date. Not a good film to watch with a group of guys. Not a good movie for small children. Perfect family film, to watch together.
  61. BillyB.T.
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    A great film that I can easily recommend to anyone despite the very gruesome torture/murder scenes. I don't want to ruin the plot but if you are looking for an easy thematic reference look to Milton's "Marriage of Heaven and Hell". Ophelia makes for the best Satan ever committed to film. The other prevalent theme, outside of the main theme rebellion vs order, is a slightly more A great film that I can easily recommend to anyone despite the very gruesome torture/murder scenes. I don't want to ruin the plot but if you are looking for an easy thematic reference look to Milton's "Marriage of Heaven and Hell". Ophelia makes for the best Satan ever committed to film. The other prevalent theme, outside of the main theme rebellion vs order, is a slightly more obtuse one of how we must fight to help shape the paths of our children and their collective futures. Expand
  62. mulderdog
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    Maybe 98 is a little high, but I enjoyed this movie more than any other in recent memory. A solid 95 for me.
  63. marksfreecomixcartoonist
    Feb 4, 2007
    9
    Beautiful and gut-wrenching, fantastic and sad, people openly wept all around me. I am strongly tempted to give it a 10 'cause it really succeeds in all it attempts to do. Acting, story everything worked. Del Toro is a poet.
  64. CatherineC.
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    Captivating, haunting, visceral and heartbreakingly sad, at times, this movie enobles the viewer in a way that few others have.
  65. BrettR
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    Celeste R. is clearly not well cultured. This film is a depiction of the post-civil war era of Spain as seen through the escapism of a little girl. Children often conceive adults by one-dimensional characteristics, and they are beautifully captured. However, there is no one-dimension to this story. From the religious references to the forbidden fruit tempting the woman via the grapes to Celeste R. is clearly not well cultured. This film is a depiction of the post-civil war era of Spain as seen through the escapism of a little girl. Children often conceive adults by one-dimensional characteristics, and they are beautifully captured. However, there is no one-dimension to this story. From the religious references to the forbidden fruit tempting the woman via the grapes to the obvious Goya reference of Saturno comiendo su hijo with the Pale Man eating the fairies, there are distinct influences in this movie which embody 40's Spanish sentiment. Patriarchy and Fascism are oft depicted through violence but never with such force and clarity. There's also nothing ditzy about a mother trying to save her daughter from the slums of 1940's Barcelona. Don't critize a film if you didn't understand it. Perfecto. Celeste, read some Borges while you're at it. Expand
  66. B.K.
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    This movie is a work of art. It deserves the 98/100 it got. The story is wonderfully woven between our world and a fantasy world either created or lived by a young girl. The visuals are fantastic. Sure, it is violent, but it works with the movie. Some people are dissapointed because it's not what they expected, but that doesn't make it a bad movie, it's still the same great This movie is a work of art. It deserves the 98/100 it got. The story is wonderfully woven between our world and a fantasy world either created or lived by a young girl. The visuals are fantastic. Sure, it is violent, but it works with the movie. Some people are dissapointed because it's not what they expected, but that doesn't make it a bad movie, it's still the same great movie if you knew what it was before you saw it or not. Another thing is don't follow the low user reviews, because there are people who are rating too low just to lower the score, which just chances people from going to see the best film of the year. Expand
  67. EvanC.
    Feb 7, 2007
    10
    I saw the trailer twice and both times thought to myself this is one to miss. However, because of the uniformly great reviews, I decided to go see it, and I'm glad I did. It is one of the best movies I have seen in years, and keeps haunting me. The trailer does the movie injustice. See it!
  68. TimB.
    Feb 9, 2007
    9
    Excellent movie, very beautiful and surprisingly deep.
  69. BJones
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    Absolutely one of the greatest movies ever created. It is so engrossing, that I couldn't even explain what it was about after until I had a half an hour to get my thoughts together and attempt to do it justice. Astonishing would be an understatement.
  70. NancyH
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    Wow--it's one of the best films all year--no kidding. This is heart breaking and brilliant. Acting is fantastic.
  71. JIMD.
    Mar 11, 2007
    10
    This movie blew me away ! Depth, imagitation glimpse into the madness of all it's characters.... Excellent entertainement.
  72. ChristianB.
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    This movie is simply superb, the story is touching and moving - as a matter of fact, the whole theatre was captured in silence at the end. The actors do a tremendous job. The only criticism one might include is that some parts of the plot are somewhat predictable - but since Pan's Labyrinth is an adult (I mean adult! This movie has mature content) fairy tale, that's not too much This movie is simply superb, the story is touching and moving - as a matter of fact, the whole theatre was captured in silence at the end. The actors do a tremendous job. The only criticism one might include is that some parts of the plot are somewhat predictable - but since Pan's Labyrinth is an adult (I mean adult! This movie has mature content) fairy tale, that's not too much of a point Expand
  73. 2Roads
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    This is a stroke of brilliance by Guillermo del Toro-- the brilliance comes into play with how he has intricately woven the Parallel Journeys of the unconscious and conscious mind. It is a parable of moral choices versus blind obedience juxtaposed with the symbols of mythology and religion without getting lost in specific perceptions. The parable is told from the POV of fantasy being the This is a stroke of brilliance by Guillermo del Toro-- the brilliance comes into play with how he has intricately woven the Parallel Journeys of the unconscious and conscious mind. It is a parable of moral choices versus blind obedience juxtaposed with the symbols of mythology and religion without getting lost in specific perceptions. The parable is told from the POV of fantasy being the reality. It is the test of what one believes even though it cannot be seen Expand
  74. T.user
    Mar 28, 2007
    9
    This film was a work of art a brilliant story that takes you into a world of fantasy. I had no expectations going into the movie as I didnt know what the movie was about. I was positivley surprised at how mindblowing this movie was I could not leave my seat for fear of missing anything.
  75. KevinC.
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    A fantastic movie, easily one of my favorites. Visually stunning, I found that the violence perfectly underscored the horrors of war, especially those horrors having been seen through the eyes of a 10-year-old girl. Some may say that the characters were underdeveloped, with Mercedes adopting the "Good Guy" and the Captain being the classic villian archtype, but one must remember that thisA fantastic movie, easily one of my favorites. Visually stunning, I found that the violence perfectly underscored the horrors of war, especially those horrors having been seen through the eyes of a 10-year-old girl. Some may say that the characters were underdeveloped, with Mercedes adopting the "Good Guy" and the Captain being the classic villian archtype, but one must remember that this is a story seen through the eyes of a young girl. All adults, to children, are either good, or bad. And to the people griping about the film being unsuitable for children, well, it's rated R for a reason. Expand
  76. NenadJ.
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    Mix of fairy tale and cruel war film, incredible feeling during watching, must watch!
  77. JosephP.
    Mar 9, 2007
    7
    It was good, but 98 out of 100 good? No way. The reviews gave out a lot of false expectations. Yeah, the movie was good, but saying that it's better than so many other war movies (Saving Pvt. Ryan) is a joke. This is nothing but a highly overrated foreign film.
  78. DiianaBigham
    Apr 14, 2007
    10
    a new classic which I will want to have in my DVD library. multilayered and dazzling -- appealing to the mind and the soul -- archetypes of fairy tales and quests about life's journey and choices every step of the way, during Childhood and Adulthood.
  79. SenB
    Apr 27, 2007
    9
    The film had visuals that complemented the film instead of being the centerpiece, which is a really good thing considering that fantasy films nowadays are bombarded with CGI. the reality and the fantastical aspects were handled nicely and gelled well near the ending. but this is not for the faint of heart. my body became mush after a scene with the captain and the maid in the storeroom The film had visuals that complemented the film instead of being the centerpiece, which is a really good thing considering that fantasy films nowadays are bombarded with CGI. the reality and the fantastical aspects were handled nicely and gelled well near the ending. but this is not for the faint of heart. my body became mush after a scene with the captain and the maid in the storeroom where the rations were held. *shivers* Expand
  80. RonS.
    Apr 6, 2007
    10
    A transcendent movie experience. Perhaps not as perfect as a '10' implies but it deserves the highest rank if only to distinguish it from movies, however worthy, that are merely entertaining.
  81. JamesB.
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    This film is nothing short of a masterpiece and a must see. While it isn't quite the fairy tale that you are lead to believe, it is fantastic film with deep resounding themes if you look for them. The plot is still immensely interesting and keeps the viewer's attention even if a good three-fourths takes place outside the fantasy world. It also has some of the most brilliant This film is nothing short of a masterpiece and a must see. While it isn't quite the fairy tale that you are lead to believe, it is fantastic film with deep resounding themes if you look for them. The plot is still immensely interesting and keeps the viewer's attention even if a good three-fourths takes place outside the fantasy world. It also has some of the most brilliant cinematography and rich art direction of any film ever made. Expand
  82. AndrewY.
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    I'm not going to lie, this is quite argueably the best movie i have ever seen. ever. It has an amazing amount of depth to it, like a classic novel (possibly even more). If you give the movie some thought after viewing it, you'll understand what I'm talking about.
  83. CalvinJ.
    May 14, 2007
    10
    Pan's Labyrinth is a dark and well crafted movie which deserved the Academy Award. Pan's Labyrinth is unique and is hands down interesting.
  84. DanS.
    May 16, 2007
    9
    Powerful and always engrossing, this tale is not too sad nor bloody for most adutls and young people to see. The acting and cinematography are simply terrific. I hope that theatre managers keep this on the screen long enough for the favorable word of mouth to get around. I plan to see it again on DVD sometime.
  85. GrantV.
    May 16, 2007
    10
    Great movie and a note to Alex H. Pan was the fawn not the girl. If you didn't know that much, no wonder you only gave the movie a 5.
  86. FrattyB.n
    May 20, 2007
    10
    The sheer beauty of this film is shown through so many different aspects of the film. First of all this film was del Toto's baby which he finely crafted down to every detail. When so much heart goes into a film it shows on screen. The acting is incredible and Ivana Baquero (Ofelia) is going to be a star. The reason I believe this is one of the greatest films of all time is because of The sheer beauty of this film is shown through so many different aspects of the film. First of all this film was del Toto's baby which he finely crafted down to every detail. When so much heart goes into a film it shows on screen. The acting is incredible and Ivana Baquero (Ofelia) is going to be a star. The reason I believe this is one of the greatest films of all time is because of the simple fact that it was original. Yes, del Toro put many parallels of Alice in Wonderland and countless fairy tails, and Narnia into the movie, but he isn't copying these stories, he is taking some of their ideas and creatures and applying them to his original story. When you watch the movie you can feel the heart and soul of everyone involved projecting from the screen. This is what is wrong with today's films, there is no heart. All we see today are blockbusters and sequels. But this movie is different. Most movies like blockbusters blatently tell you what to think and what you should feel coming out of the movie. But Pan's Labyrinth leaves so many decisions up to the viewer to interpret that it makes you feel like the adult who dismisses the magic of fairy tales or feel like you do in fact believe that what Ofelia saw was real. And on one last note about the ending. I believe when she gets to the kingdom it is in fact heaven and it may be insinuating that everyone has their own version of heaven, and that was hers because of what she believed. Expand
  87. Matt
    May 20, 2007
    9
    Everyone who has been criticizing this movie, with the interesting exception of K Henderson, is simply too stupid to understand it. Go see Spiderman. Henderson brings up interesting points, notably the plot holes (what motivated the General to kill the little girl? That should have been developed a little more. I'd be interested to see what other holes you found.) Also, it's Everyone who has been criticizing this movie, with the interesting exception of K Henderson, is simply too stupid to understand it. Go see Spiderman. Henderson brings up interesting points, notably the plot holes (what motivated the General to kill the little girl? That should have been developed a little more. I'd be interested to see what other holes you found.) Also, it's hard because the main character is an 11 year old girl who did phenominally, but still just can't be expected to develop the on screen complexity of an adult. I'll address a few people's stupid issues at this time: 1. PnArdy--art is not supposed to be entertaining. It's supposed to be beautiful. You're obviously not Spanish, so the facists mean nothing to you, but it dominates the psyches of most Spaniards born before 1975 (including my current teacher.) It is one of the most profound horrors in human history, even if it is almost entirely overlooked by Americans. 2. P E--the ending is not a cop out. It shows that peace and the ability to resist facism, as represented by the girl who disobeyed her facist leader, is only a fantasy. The reality is all those rebels are going to die within 24 hours. It's actually one of the most profound endings I've ever seen. 3. E R--the characters are not one dimensional entirely. Why does Mercedes continue to serve the captain instead of fighting with her brother? Why does the mother allow the captain to dominate her and why does she crush her girl's fantasies? Why does the girl decide to eat the grapes? One dimensional characters would not do such things. Admittedly, there is little moral gray area within the characters (except the mother, who is not evil but is considered worthy of death, apparently, for her passivity, which is one of the strongest and most powerful messages of the entire movie.) However, the movie is an allegory. Allegories are not meant to have much gray area. Also, the fact that the fantasy world was unpleasant until the end is the point of the allegory (fantasy=facism except in the fantasy land, when the girl disobeys she is exalted and lives while in real life she dies.) It is actually one of the most difficult films to interpret I've ever seen. I've had to think about it for half an hour and write about it. 4. Doug R--go see Spiderman. Not going to go on. Basically, one must know a lot about the Spanish Civil War to appreciate this movie, and one must be willing to understand the allegory. Expand
  88. BillB.
    May 27, 2007
    10
    A wonderful film like this should be bestowed on the public more often. The riveting details and incredible special effects really pulled this movie together and made you go back to your childhood days and think about how fairy tales were supposed to be told.
  89. RobE.
    May 7, 2007
    9
    I don't understand the people bashing this film. It's not a fantasy film, not does it have any intention on being one. The fantasy elements are the girl's way of escaping an otherwise terrible life. As for a cop-out ending, how can you say that everyone winds up happy. There's no celebration with the rebel victory, as they know a looming threat still exists in franco I don't understand the people bashing this film. It's not a fantasy film, not does it have any intention on being one. The fantasy elements are the girl's way of escaping an otherwise terrible life. As for a cop-out ending, how can you say that everyone winds up happy. There's no celebration with the rebel victory, as they know a looming threat still exists in franco and the fascists. As for the girl, she's dead, the only reason she's happy in the fantasty is because she'd rather die then live in her reality. To say the movie is a cliche of oversimplified elements is just to go against the grain and refuse to admit to the film's popular reception. It's a fantastic film and a entertaining, moving experience. Expand
  90. IanB.
    May 7, 2007
    10
    This was an amazing film - fantasy, but not for children (seriously, not suitable for children) - for adults. It was beautiful, frightening, and utterly captivating. The musical score is still with me, many weeks after seeing the film. It's not a children's movie, it's not a wizards and warlocks movie, it's not a drama - it's unlike anything you've ever seen This was an amazing film - fantasy, but not for children (seriously, not suitable for children) - for adults. It was beautiful, frightening, and utterly captivating. The musical score is still with me, many weeks after seeing the film. It's not a children's movie, it's not a wizards and warlocks movie, it's not a drama - it's unlike anything you've ever seen or heard. If you hve an open mind and the IQ to handle it, it could be one of the best movies you've ever seen. Expand
  91. EricS.
    May 9, 2007
    10
    Incredible movie. Those who don't understand how the two plots are interrelated are simply taking everything that happened in the movie at face value. In actuality-- whether the events that led her to her ultimate destiny even happened are debatable. This is about a little girl who is trying to cope with the very violent world we live in any way she can-- mostly by using her Incredible movie. Those who don't understand how the two plots are interrelated are simply taking everything that happened in the movie at face value. In actuality-- whether the events that led her to her ultimate destiny even happened are debatable. This is about a little girl who is trying to cope with the very violent world we live in any way she can-- mostly by using her imagination. For those of you trying to apply historical theory: this is not a documentary-- it is a fictional narrative that comes from the imagination of one person and should be viewed as just that: FICTION. Personally, talking fauns and magical doors dissuade me from trying to apply any sort of realist theory... but there are always those who will try to find the worst in everything. I personally respect anyone's opinion that this is a bad film -- I just strongly disagree. Expand
  92. K.
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    My favorite movie by far. It was easy and fun to sit through and I'm looking forward to watching it again. The costumes and places were amazingly designed, the acting was marvelous and the ending left me speechless. Only if you watch the movie with a closed-mind will you hate it.
  93. JonasH.
    Jun 15, 2007
    9
    Great movie, expressing in a new manner the horrors of the Franco regime, and finally with proper effects, in opposition to earlier tries to do the same. It's not a family movie though, and can be somewhat depressing, if you don't like analyzing that is, which is probably why many fantasy fans gave it bad grades. A perfect mix in my point of view.
  94. MattG
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    An absolute triumph! This movie beautifully depicts the creative imagination of a young girl hostile to an environment that is at once cruel and suppressive. I do not understand the bad reviews. This movie left me shaken and moved to the core. I am definitely with the critics on this one.
  95. RyanF.
    Jun 2, 2007
    10
    This movie is one of the most beautiful, poetic and brilliant movies I have ever seen. The storyline flows so well...it is an incredible work of art and imagination. I loved it so much it brought a tear to my eye at the end.....especially the second time around....I think this movie is definitely something where you just can say "Awesome!" , it's fascination and amazement will leave This movie is one of the most beautiful, poetic and brilliant movies I have ever seen. The storyline flows so well...it is an incredible work of art and imagination. I loved it so much it brought a tear to my eye at the end.....especially the second time around....I think this movie is definitely something where you just can say "Awesome!" , it's fascination and amazement will leave deep thinkers in awe at the end........almost as if for that last moment of the movie.....you look at life in a whole different way. Pan's Labyrinth=masterpeice 10++ no doubt. Expand
  96. JimS
    Jun 5, 2007
    8
    This is a very good movie, but not great. I don't understand the extremely high reviews, but I did really enjoy it. At least the "professional" reviewers are giving a good movie great reviews instead of giving great reviews to a crappy movie like "Lost in Translation.
  97. AmberCameron
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    Set in the midst of the Spanish Civil War, the story of young Ofelia and her quest to return to her other worldly kingdom, is a masterpiece that deserves only the utmost honor and respect. It takes us to a time when the world was in tragedy, and the only way to survive was to shut your mouth and do some of the most atrocious things. To live with a fascist stepfather, and a mother who isSet in the midst of the Spanish Civil War, the story of young Ofelia and her quest to return to her other worldly kingdom, is a masterpiece that deserves only the utmost honor and respect. It takes us to a time when the world was in tragedy, and the only way to survive was to shut your mouth and do some of the most atrocious things. To live with a fascist stepfather, and a mother who is carrying his child, and seemingly only in it for security, Ofelia is trapped in a wasteland. The pain inflicted on her mother Carmen, physically by her unborn child, can also be construed as a representation of the pain she may feel emotionally about marrying a fascist murderer, who only cares about the child she bears, and has no good sentiments towards her daughter. Ofelia, alone and afraid in a troubling time, has been so desensitized by the war, that she begins to repress her feelings, and create a world entirely her own, where she is a princess. One would also be blind however, not to notice that the fantasy world is as dark as reality. It is a mirror image of the real world, the only difference being that Ofelia could give herself hope. She was put through trials, including facing a child eating monster (who could easily be construed as her step father) and had to watch as her hopes started to die. We often see how reality coincides with Ofelia Expand
  98. PatrickH.
    Jul 12, 2007
    9
    Brilliant movie. Fantastic imagery, and quite moving.
  99. NickL
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    Visually stunning and provocative, this movie effectively brings together both the elements of childhood fantasy and adult reality. A breathtaking movie that magnificently portrays the innocence of the young, and the feeling of safety and seclusion that one obtains from the so called "fantasy world". Easily the best film I have ever seen, this movie is full of parallels and truly and Visually stunning and provocative, this movie effectively brings together both the elements of childhood fantasy and adult reality. A breathtaking movie that magnificently portrays the innocence of the young, and the feeling of safety and seclusion that one obtains from the so called "fantasy world". Easily the best film I have ever seen, this movie is full of parallels and truly and deeply expresses the caring and compassion that one aspires to have. Expand
  100. NontayaK.
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    Taken place in the mid of political war blending with a little girl's imagination. Telling a tragedy story with full of excites and emotions. The end is heartrending but happy.
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    88
    Pan's Labyrinth artfully fuses a war film with a family melodrama and a fairy tale. The result is visually stunning and emotionally shattering.
  2. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    100
    Dark, twisted and beautiful, this entwines fairy-tale fantasy with war-movie horror to startling effect.
  3. 100
    One of the greatest of all fantasy films.