Picturehouse | Release Date: December 29, 2006
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2277 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,984
Mixed:
159
Negative:
134
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
PatrickH.Jul 12, 2007
Brilliant movie. Fantastic imagery, and quite moving.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickLJul 3, 2007
Visually stunning and provocative, this movie effectively brings together both the elements of childhood fantasy and adult reality. A breathtaking movie that magnificently portrays the innocence of the young, and the feeling of safety and Visually stunning and provocative, this movie effectively brings together both the elements of childhood fantasy and adult reality. A breathtaking movie that magnificently portrays the innocence of the young, and the feeling of safety and seclusion that one obtains from the so called "fantasy world". Easily the best film I have ever seen, this movie is full of parallels and truly and deeply expresses the caring and compassion that one aspires to have. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NontayaK.Jul 6, 2007
Taken place in the mid of political war blending with a little girl's imagination. Telling a tragedy story with full of excites and emotions. The end is heartrending but happy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WalterR.Jul 6, 2007
Masterpiece...pure and simple. For the simple-minded, a confusing tale, but for those who understand that story-telling at this level happens once or twice per decade, this is simply genius. You will be haunted by it, moved by it, and Masterpiece...pure and simple. For the simple-minded, a confusing tale, but for those who understand that story-telling at this level happens once or twice per decade, this is simply genius. You will be haunted by it, moved by it, and overwhelmed by it's brilliance and power. See it...I beg you! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
nasrim.Jul 7, 2007
Perfect, amazing soundtrack, photography.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DennisD.Jul 7, 2007
A moving, many layered masterpiece. Far more than fantasy, this film compares with the Ring trilogy for symbolic meaning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveFJul 8, 2007
Powerfully good movie. There's a lot more going on than meets the eye, but what meets the eye is so compelling you'll have to pick yourself up after it's over to even begin thinking about the multiple levels at work. People Powerfully good movie. There's a lot more going on than meets the eye, but what meets the eye is so compelling you'll have to pick yourself up after it's over to even begin thinking about the multiple levels at work. People will red-score anything, even modern masterpieces. Avoid it at your peril. Also, a word to the horror-averse: you have nothing to worry about. There's a little blood but it's not a shock or scare film in the least. Remember the Dark Crystal? It's like that--fantasy in its darkest color. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MickeyM.Aug 24, 2007
An excellent movie, but I am writing this as a response to many of the uninformed opinions here. This is NOT a movie about the Spanish Civil War, which had been over for 5 years by 1944 (when this takes place). It is not an advertisement forAn excellent movie, but I am writing this as a response to many of the uninformed opinions here. This is NOT a movie about the Spanish Civil War, which had been over for 5 years by 1944 (when this takes place). It is not an advertisement for Communism (which was never the uniting force among the Republicans) vs. Fascism. There is no real political message--it's simply set (realistically) in a time when the victors of a terrible civil war were still violently suppressing guerrillas from the losing side (btw this continued into the 1950s and estimates are that as many as 200K people were killed). Read a book, and learn some history. Orwell's Homage to Catalonia is a good start, although it takes place well before these (fictional) events. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregRRAug 20, 2007
Beautiful. Haunting. Ending featured an astounding juxtaposition of heartbreak and joy. Took my breath away.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeM.Sep 30, 2007
Masterpiece. The low ratings for this movie are laughable. Sure I can see an 8, even a 7 but below that and you're dealing with an 8 year old who wanted more transformers. It's a story of fascism and brutality, hope and love. It Masterpiece. The low ratings for this movie are laughable. Sure I can see an 8, even a 7 but below that and you're dealing with an 8 year old who wanted more transformers. It's a story of fascism and brutality, hope and love. It helps if you know a little about post civil war Spain but petty dictatorships are common enough that most people shouldn't have too much trouble understanding the setup. Simply amazing is all I can say. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrentA.Sep 5, 2007
One of the greatest movies I have ever seen. If you've been putting off seeing this movie, stop. It's well worth the money. Don't worry about having to know Spanish. After a while, you forget that they're speaking One of the greatest movies I have ever seen. If you've been putting off seeing this movie, stop. It's well worth the money. Don't worry about having to know Spanish. After a while, you forget that they're speaking Spanish. Overall, the movie itself consists of two different stories, that intertwine at the right moments. And PLEASE, people, before rating this movie, SEE IT! A majority of bad ratings nowadays come from people who haven't seen the movie yet. Don't be ignorant like that. Anyway, see this movie, love it, rate it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HannesW.Oct 11, 2008
The best film I have ever seen. It was a perfect story between fantasy and reality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CalebH.Nov 21, 2008
Um, vague much? Art direction and make up was fantastic, but everything else was a mess! Don't get me wrong, it was a good movie. It's just not the Oscar winning, best picture of the year material. Too much pointless violence, not Um, vague much? Art direction and make up was fantastic, but everything else was a mess! Don't get me wrong, it was a good movie. It's just not the Oscar winning, best picture of the year material. Too much pointless violence, not enough fantasy and not enough distinction between the two. The ending was the best part. The movie drags on in some places and should have been 30 mintues shorter. Good movie, not great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
IanReyP.Oct 13, 2008
My expectation was that this movie is a great fantasy movie. But through the course of the film, I felt the war concept of the film more. And the war part was I could only say, finely done. And I still enjoyed it.I have seen anything like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlosRDec 30, 2008
If you can't understand the movie, shut your traphole. This movie was awesome and illustrated two separate worlds: that of war and that of innocence and fantasy. Amazing across the board, regardless of what lesser-able individuals say.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ErikFeb 10, 2008
Not a gilded treasure from the vaults of xerxes, like teh critics think.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ManuelB.Feb 5, 2008
I can say lots of great things on this movie, but I will only say It honestly made me cry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanB.Feb 5, 2008
This movie is awesome. Never have I seen such different concepts of movies blended into one so well. War, Fantasy, and Horror. A true emotional roller coaster.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanMayerMar 4, 2008
This is one incredible film, from start to finish. Hands down, one of the greatest films I have ever seen.

To the reviewers that gave it poor reviews: I agree that the marketing was completely misleading, it was not what I was expecting.
This is one incredible film, from start to finish. Hands down, one of the greatest films I have ever seen.

To the reviewers that gave it poor reviews: I agree that the marketing was completely misleading, it was not what I was expecting. But to comment that there was "no exploration of the real and important politics behind what was happening" is missing the entire point of the film. The film is about a young girl coping with the horrors of war and fascism, not about the events actually going on.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KakesarS.Apr 7, 2008
I really can't understand where some of these ridiculously negative views of the movie are coming from, other than the fact that in some ways the movie has been slightly overrated. Still, it certainly doesn't deserve such a harsh I really can't understand where some of these ridiculously negative views of the movie are coming from, other than the fact that in some ways the movie has been slightly overrated. Still, it certainly doesn't deserve such a harsh rating as 4, letalone 0. The movie was dark and emotional. There was enough fantasy to satisfy and the switching between harsh reality and mystical adventure brought a very powerful twist to the movie. I felt that the few violent scenes were well placed and did well to demonstrate the barbaric and sadistic behaviour of the fascist stepfather. That said, I was slightly disappointed as I feel the movie could have offered more. Unlike some people, though, I'm not going to give the movie a bad score just because it had untapped potential - it was still a fantastic viewing experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeaneSJun 16, 2008
Simply one of the best movies i have ever seen. Beautifully produced and directed, great visuals, and an awesome story. I disagree with Baz regarding the unbelievable plot. The movie is meant to be half fantasy half reality, the true meaning Simply one of the best movies i have ever seen. Beautifully produced and directed, great visuals, and an awesome story. I disagree with Baz regarding the unbelievable plot. The movie is meant to be half fantasy half reality, the true meaning or significance is largely left to interpretation by the audience. Also the characters IQ, i dont know who specifically Baz refers to but i believe she is referring to a part (i wont reveal it) involving the child character in the story in which case simple mistakes are just a common child error. Definitely worth a try. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewB.Jul 10, 2008
A beautiful, emotional, and spellbinding film that is the single best film I've seen in 2006.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EmmaN.Jul 19, 2008
Brilliant movie. It's so refreshing to watch a film like this. Each scene was obviously very well thought out. The sound and picture seemed so beautifully crisp. Marvelous.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshuaO.Aug 15, 2008
For all the naysayers who gave this movie a low score, i'm sorry that you have zero imagination and must be spoon fed a boring run of the mill plot. But for those who enjoy the strange and enthralling worlds of mythos and fables, you For all the naysayers who gave this movie a low score, i'm sorry that you have zero imagination and must be spoon fed a boring run of the mill plot. But for those who enjoy the strange and enthralling worlds of mythos and fables, you will enjoy this movie. To end it I will say 4 words! BOTTLE IN THE FACE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidO.Sep 29, 2008
A beautifully told allegory about power, love, innocence.. I could go on, but firstly... Nathaniel Z, what are you sniffing?! You say you haven't got time to properly criticize the movie. Well, don't. Your self-important opinions A beautifully told allegory about power, love, innocence.. I could go on, but firstly... Nathaniel Z, what are you sniffing?! You say you haven't got time to properly criticize the movie. Well, don't. Your self-important opinions are misguided and, at their worst, completely irrelevant. For example, you say Del Toro is obese, but my next door neighbor has an orange cat (and if that confuses you, you've just subtly got my point)... Del Toro rocks. I could hug his big, cuddly ass. P.S. What are you even doing reading this anyway? I won't be bothering; better things to do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrettKOct 10, 2009
Very good movie. Reminded me of a cross between Schindler's List and The Secret Garden.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DianaBOct 28, 2009
Really good story of the Spanish Civil War and its effect on a little girl.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanMOct 9, 2009
Anybody who says Pan's Labyrinth is boring is a totally unsophisticated person with the mind of a 10 year old. My full review is on Rotten Tomatoes. My SN on there is Ryguy4738 M.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MrFFeb 1, 2009
Deadly yet beautiful, I still can't get over how amazing this film was! Great in every way, my fav. P.S. If you find yourself giving it less then an 8 you just don't get the movie (or have a weak stomach)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaxBApr 14, 2009
Truly an exceptional movie. The two stories are flawlessly incorporated together and the movie is actually quite terrifying, but without being a horror movie. An instant classic that will be remembered as one of the greatest films ever made.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DreHJun 25, 2009
Those who gave this movie below a 7 probably aren't very credible voters. This movie is beautiful on so many levels. This movie isn't slow. This movie isn't for those with ADD, this isnt a fast action thriller... I thin a lot Those who gave this movie below a 7 probably aren't very credible voters. This movie is beautiful on so many levels. This movie isn't slow. This movie isn't for those with ADD, this isnt a fast action thriller... I thin a lot of people do not realize that this is not an American made movie, but are judging i on American standards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewC.Jul 13, 2009
Would give it a 9.5 if I could but rounding down I go to a '9'. @ Matt C: What movie were you hoping to see when you went and saw this film? I get the feeling you just want to coast through life, movies, and the universe, with Would give it a 9.5 if I could but rounding down I go to a '9'. @ Matt C: What movie were you hoping to see when you went and saw this film? I get the feeling you just want to coast through life, movies, and the universe, with nothing taxing your brain throughout the whole safe, bland experience. @ Brian L: I would not call the violence in this movie 'exquisite', but neither do I agree with all your negative inaccuracies about the film. There is horror in this film, to be sure. And it is brutal and shocking - I guarantee you that's how it happened in real life. I hate to break it to you, but humans can be more monstrous than any fantastical creature. In sync and alongside the horrifying way humans treat each other in the film is the fantastical element of the piece. No, it's not Disney - and you seem upset by this. I am not sure what you were expecting but I think you were definitely on the wrong track mate, regarding fairies and what-have-you. The torture scenes were very tastefully done - you barely see anything, but are left with a lot of nasty things to the imagination. You mentioned exploding brains - not a one to be seen - are you mixing this film up with a more mindless horror flick? I graduated from film school. but I am not a 'pro reviewer', as you say: I just see and appreciate the movie for what it is, don't let any preconceived ideas taint my online text. My quick summary of this film - honestly a truly powerful film. A quite stunning blend of brutal history with an seamless injection of fantasy that has to be seen to be understood how effortlessly it entwines into the story. In fact, I don't think I've experienced another film that blends reality and fantasy as seamlessly as this film. The only detraction for me is the ultimate ending, and even this is fine except for certain little things. The 'correct choice' at the end seems rather cliched, in the sense that the film deals with it very quickly and moves on with such speed that it feels we are running out of time. However, apart from that small flaw this film truly is quite incredible. I encourage all of you to watch this film - you probably won't see anything quite as incredible for a few years to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeBJul 1, 2009
A brilliant mix of fantasy, brutal violence, and horror in Del Toro's masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SandraSJan 6, 2010
You should know a bit more about the spanish history and u will understand that the movie is not as violent as the true. Its a wonderful way to show us the cruel true.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
UnaiMJan 7, 2010
Absolutely brilliant
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
EfraimA.Feb 6, 2010
Interesting movie, very freaky and weird at first... but the story is incredible and the acting is inconceivable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
diegoMar 6, 2010
Awesome!!!! Beautiful!!! Fantastic!!!! This movie helped me erase some memories of the horrid crap I had seen . I love this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RyanK.May 2, 2010
This is definitely one of the best movies ever. It is so compelling story-wise and has a lot of meaning behind it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JosephPJun 18, 2010
This movie focuses more on the real world Spanish civil war rather than the fantasy element, although it terrifically interwoven into the plot. For those who complain about the high level of gore, i completely agree but you must realise the This movie focuses more on the real world Spanish civil war rather than the fantasy element, although it terrifically interwoven into the plot. For those who complain about the high level of gore, i completely agree but you must realise the Spanish civil war is the 'bloodiest' war to date in human history, and infact the violence is actually tremendously toned down. Unless you know a bit of Spanish history, I'd recommend you study up before watching this movie, as this is a MUST SEE. If you are a close-minded person or don't like the big bad world, don't watch it and stop littering the score with 0's. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GattWDec 29, 2006
Grand.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GustavoFDec 29, 2006
Just beautful. In every way. I won't say any more, just go see it. Saw this in Madrid last month and I really recommend everyone in the States goes and sees it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobS.Dec 29, 2006
Really really good - you must see Pan's Labyrinth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
B.CrowlyDec 31, 2006
Absolutely incredible. Brought me close tears, and hasn't left my mind since I saw it...one of the very best films i have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronS.Dec 30, 2006
One of the year's very best films. A dazzling mix of fantasy, horror, politics and history. It's an exhilarating and damn near fautless film. A must see on the large screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholasF.Jan 11, 2007
Personally i think this is the greatest movie of all time, its mix of reality and fantasy makes this the ultimate movie to be seen by our children and so forth. this movie is no for the weak of mind which is where any bad reviews came from. Personally i think this is the greatest movie of all time, its mix of reality and fantasy makes this the ultimate movie to be seen by our children and so forth. this movie is no for the weak of mind which is where any bad reviews came from. if any movie deserves higher than a 10, its this one Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahBeckettNov 19, 2007
Some people really get on my nerves. Do the people giving this film a zero honestly think that it's the worst film ever and undeserving of a single point towards its name. Quit wasting intelligent people's time with your idioticSome people really get on my nerves. Do the people giving this film a zero honestly think that it's the worst film ever and undeserving of a single point towards its name. Quit wasting intelligent people's time with your idiotic reviews and go back to watching Norbit and Big Mommas House 2. It's heartbreaking for me to see these bad reviews for a film so undeserving of them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffreyL.Jan 10, 2007
I initially went to see this movie thinking it was a fantasy movie, a mistake that has been made by many it seems like, though I wasn't disappointed to find out that it wasn't as much a fantasy as it was a war drama. This was one I initially went to see this movie thinking it was a fantasy movie, a mistake that has been made by many it seems like, though I wasn't disappointed to find out that it wasn't as much a fantasy as it was a war drama. This was one of the best movie going experiences of my life. after screening the movie I wasn't able to get out of my head. I can't stop thinking about it. I will be forced a second viewing just so i can think of something else except Pan's Labyrinth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickMJan 12, 2007
A rich, beautiful and profound film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NewtG.Jan 13, 2007
First off, this movie is actually not in the least bit gratuitous when it comes to violence. Deemed "hyper-violent," there is actually very little blood/gore shown in the movie. Other than that minor point, the movie is a unique and nicely First off, this movie is actually not in the least bit gratuitous when it comes to violence. Deemed "hyper-violent," there is actually very little blood/gore shown in the movie. Other than that minor point, the movie is a unique and nicely imagined picture that's almost perfect. Besides Mercedes' unexplicable decision to not kill the captain, ther are very few things the movie does poorly. A little more fantasy and a little less revolution could have made the movie better. The fantasy plays truer to Del Toro's style, so it's strange that he doesn' delve more into that. But this movie stays with you long after it ends. It leaves you deeply affected and shaken, which was most likely Del Toro's intent. 97? No, it's not that incredible, but it's quite close and is by and far the best movie so far this year. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
10
TimmyJan 13, 2007
In Pan's Labyrinth, Del Toro masterfully reminds us of the dark emotions that are tucked away in each one of us, lovingly cuts each one open, oozing just enough for our souls to willingly drown.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LBJan 13, 2007
This movie was so stimulating and intense I had to sit in a dark room and drink a beer for an hour or so after I finished it. Absolutely beautiful. Absolutely mesmerizing. Absolutely terrifying. Amazing.
4 of 6 users found this helpful
8
MarcD.Jan 13, 2007
Disappointing. After peeping the 97 Metascore on this site, I was expecting...more. More gorgeous visuals. More nightmarish monsters. More lullabies into the dreamy world which del Toro was creating. Just...more. Ultimately, I felt short Disappointing. After peeping the 97 Metascore on this site, I was expecting...more. More gorgeous visuals. More nightmarish monsters. More lullabies into the dreamy world which del Toro was creating. Just...more. Ultimately, I felt short changed. The movie was good...but very...far short on the promise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobAJan 13, 2007
I drove 50 miles to see this movie and after having seen it, I would have driven 100. It was amazing. Best movie I have seen in a looooong time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdrianA.Jan 13, 2007
incredible storyline very deep to the point that some people are unsure if the faun and the fairies were real or if it was just her imagining everything to try to escape reality. I believe it was just her mind making up for the horror of her incredible storyline very deep to the point that some people are unsure if the faun and the fairies were real or if it was just her imagining everything to try to escape reality. I believe it was just her mind making up for the horror of her life so the bad reviews and calling it a Mexican SciFi came from someone unable to comprehend the true message of a story like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HarryP.Jan 13, 2007
When the films of 2006 are talked about, years from now, this will be seen as the Everest among the foothills of the piedmont.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AbeS.Jan 14, 2007
I swear this is the best movie I have seen in my whole life. The story is perfect also the setting and the actors. YOU MUST GO AND SEE IT.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LanaL.Nov 4, 2007
A good movie. Possible answer to Zabbock, she might've drawn upward cause it would be more difficult for the wrinkler to climb upwards.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LarryL.Jan 14, 2007
Best film I've seen in 35 years. A masterwork of originality -- I really don't have the language for how good Pan's Labyrinth is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IsraelB.Jan 15, 2007
Excellent movie, the best of all 2006. I can´t think of nothing else but this movie. Del Toro is a true master of this kind of movie, really, you can´t miss this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ClintonM.Jan 15, 2007
This lyrical movie was one of the saddest I have ever seen. Its battle scenes seemed to be heavy-handed at times, and the screenplay on the whole could have been stronger. Nevertheless, it is an extraordinary movie of breathtaking vision.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaimeB.Jan 16, 2007
Maybe not everybody agrees with the story but the film itself is a masterpiece. It's very different from what Hollywood usually does, Del Toro now is among the greatest filmmakers. His imagination is inspiring. I´m very glad to Maybe not everybody agrees with the story but the film itself is a masterpiece. It's very different from what Hollywood usually does, Del Toro now is among the greatest filmmakers. His imagination is inspiring. I´m very glad to have had the opportunity to see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IanD.Jan 16, 2007
If Pan's Labyrinth was a book it would be a Gabriel Garcia Marquez at the height of his powers. Moving, beautiful and deeply moral. I can't wait to see it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FilmfanJan 17, 2007
This is a must see film. It has qualities similar to the Rings films--an engaging tale being told as fate unfolds. My most serious criticism is too much graphic violence, which the filmmaker probably thought supported a grotesque atmosphere.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisCJan 19, 2007
Incredible movie. Incredible contrast between the fantasy escapism plotline and the gritty real world plotline. It's like a fairy tale, except bloody. The commercials were deceptive, but your expectations being off the mark wasn't Incredible movie. Incredible contrast between the fantasy escapism plotline and the gritty real world plotline. It's like a fairy tale, except bloody. The commercials were deceptive, but your expectations being off the mark wasn't the movie's fault. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinC.Jan 21, 2007
Splendid. This film is beautifully shot, the SFX are astounding, the acting -- especially Ivana Baquero -- is sterling, and the multi-layered maessages resonate throughout. One of, if not the, best films I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeslieC.Jan 21, 2007
This is a brilliant movie which is made for mature audiences that are willing to put in the effort to THINK about the deeper context of the film, rather than serve as eyecandy for the easily swayed. That said. people who gave it a zero were This is a brilliant movie which is made for mature audiences that are willing to put in the effort to THINK about the deeper context of the film, rather than serve as eyecandy for the easily swayed. That said. people who gave it a zero were clearly having a brain fart while watching it.WATCH IT. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidH.Jan 2, 2007
Works on so many levels, intellectual and visceral, artistic, humanistic and historical, with gripping peformances, stunning visual effects that are seamlessly part of the narrative. The cinematography is rich and appropriate to the moment, Works on so many levels, intellectual and visceral, artistic, humanistic and historical, with gripping peformances, stunning visual effects that are seamlessly part of the narrative. The cinematography is rich and appropriate to the moment, the score unobtrusive but persuasive. What a vision this man has! To me, the most original film in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BryanS.Jan 2, 2007
One of the best films I've ever seen...6 times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterM.Jan 2, 2007
Is it fable or political commentary......or vice versa? Either way, it's fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SarahJan 2, 2007
An extremely captivating movie and highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jan 2, 2007
A graceful and amazing film of historic proportions.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KerryM.Jan 21, 2007
This movie was GOOD, not GREAT. It is visually spectacular, yet definitely not a 4-star movie. Avoiding spoilers, I would say only that it is not what you think it would be. The previews make it sound like a fairy tale. While it does have a This movie was GOOD, not GREAT. It is visually spectacular, yet definitely not a 4-star movie. Avoiding spoilers, I would say only that it is not what you think it would be. The previews make it sound like a fairy tale. While it does have a fairy tale elemement and things tie together, the magical element is only half of the movie. I would describe this movie as a fairy tale within a gritty and violent movie. I do recommend this movie, but just be aware that is isn't along the lines of Mirror Mask, Labrynth, or the Never Ending Story. Also, it is definitely not for children! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrancoC.Jan 21, 2007
An absolutely fantastic movie. the visuals are fantastic, the story line is deeply engrossing and the sheer complexity of the story, the great allusions and scenes it gives us is wonderful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
M.S.Jan 20, 2007
Before I say anything about this movie I would just like to ask a few questions. Is the violence in this movie as gratituous or as brutal as many of the reviewers here would suggest? The answer to that question is no. The violence was by no Before I say anything about this movie I would just like to ask a few questions. Is the violence in this movie as gratituous or as brutal as many of the reviewers here would suggest? The answer to that question is no. The violence was by no means as gruesome or as intrusive to the film's messages as many of these score keepers suggest. I apologize but this isn't Hostel. Can you be THAT squeamish? My belief is a few of you don't believe that a contemporary piece can possibly merit such critical acclaim. As many of you have pointed out, you wanted to see that 98 go down a notch. Ok. Your vote only affects user scores, idiots. With that out of the way, I would like to announce that this is one of the most beautifully directed and realized films of the year. Though it's plot may be simple and the special effects may not devour the screen, the stark and grim reality of what is seen is portrayed with an unflinching love for what is possible in our minds. If anything, my only complaint would be that the fantasy world of Ophelia, the main character, was not seen enough. But I realize that this was necessary. It shows how the greed, bloodlust, and chaos of our world affects the minds of the young and the curious and how the real world's scary tendencies are not forgotten within the imagination. The scene with the horrifying "Pale Man" is the perfect example. A hideous and bloodthirsty, yet totally fantasized entity wishing to do harm to Ophelia. This helps emphasize on the truth that pain and fear as well as love and laughter encompass all worlds, whether fictional or factual. The concepts of our reality never die even if its imagery and logic does. Acting wise this movie is grade A. Every person in the cast makes his or her role believable and vital to the overall presentation. The camera work was gorgeous and the special effects were, if not subtle, breath-taking in their aesthetic. Before I decide to top this review off, I would like to say that the packed theatre I was in clapped loudly and before that clapped a particularly tense yet triumphant escape scene. It had a totally unanimous effect on the crowd, showcasing the genious of the movie's acting, writing, directing, and pacing. This film is not for everyone but for anyone with an open mind, heart, or imagination...please see this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CynthiaR.Jan 21, 2007
I just saw this movie yesterday inside a packed theater. Two words: absolutely incredible. Del Torro geniously interweaves the fantasy and reality aspects of the film, with the reality being more frightening. The actors were astounding, and I just saw this movie yesterday inside a packed theater. Two words: absolutely incredible. Del Torro geniously interweaves the fantasy and reality aspects of the film, with the reality being more frightening. The actors were astounding, and although Ivana Baquero did an amazing job portraying the innocent Ofelia, my props go to the captured stuttering soldier who was about to be tortured. The fear was just so believable and intense that me and my friends were hiding under our jackets. Another thing to add, some people may have felt that the general was too cruel to be real (my friend said that was the only downer), but I took a course on Spain last semester, and that's really how Franco's dictatorship was like. Overall 10/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DigitalPharaohJan 20, 2007
Brilliant...no matter what the last few reviewers wrote. Best movie I've seen in years. Breathtaking fantasy...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SteveO.Jan 22, 2007
A bit disappointing. Yes, this was a good movie, not spectacular. Much potential but didn't capitalize I don't believe. Not That Gory! No worse than Private Ryan. Well shot scenes left a lot of the gore to the imagination so theseA bit disappointing. Yes, this was a good movie, not spectacular. Much potential but didn't capitalize I don't believe. Not That Gory! No worse than Private Ryan. Well shot scenes left a lot of the gore to the imagination so these ppl must have some perverted thoughts. Anywho - worth seeing. But as a fairy talle i would've appreciated a more in depth look into the fantasy world - the tasks in the fantasy world were brief, and not enthralling. and seemingly simple. Seems to me the director wished to say more about the time in history than the story of this little girl and her imagination. The labyrinth could've been done away with - there was no point in having it in the movie. He did nothing with it. It could've been "Pan's Closet" for all intents and purposes. The faun was the most interesting character and did not reveal his purpose - be it self serving or if indeed his purpose was to help Ofelia. Ending was good. Very good Idea for a flick - just didn't explore what had been set up from the beginning as an ingenious fairy tale. Left me wanting more. Good movie though.. Not a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MoL.Jan 22, 2007
An excellent work of abstract film making. It's a movie that obviously has working beneath its surface, and it wears a lot of the thematic elements and metaphors right on its face, but its still excellent, still fascinating, still An excellent work of abstract film making. It's a movie that obviously has working beneath its surface, and it wears a lot of the thematic elements and metaphors right on its face, but its still excellent, still fascinating, still entertaining. Oh, and one more thing, DO NOT BRING CHILDREN TO THE MOVIE. It's not exactly the whale rider situation where theres some minor technicality that prevents it from pulling a PG or a G. It's violent. Really, really violent. Like, "Oh my god!" followed by covering your eyes violent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BruceS.Jan 20, 2007
Those who have so selflessly tossed this movie aside for the sake of those of us who go to see movies like Pan's Labyrinth hoping to see Chronicles of Narnia can take a breather and step to the sidelines. Why? Because your opinion Those who have so selflessly tossed this movie aside for the sake of those of us who go to see movies like Pan's Labyrinth hoping to see Chronicles of Narnia can take a breather and step to the sidelines. Why? Because your opinion doesn't matter, because you obviously have horrible taste in film. Pan's Labyrinth is nothing short of genius. When you leave the theatre, you will be instantly reminded of what this film puts you through, and you will be all the wiser having seen it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
mikeDec 27, 2007
Definitely a cool movie. It's the only movie I know of that mixes graphic violence with fairy tale sequences. It also shows the terrors of war from the eyes of a child, and it sheds some light on how a child might comprehend all of it byDefinitely a cool movie. It's the only movie I know of that mixes graphic violence with fairy tale sequences. It also shows the terrors of war from the eyes of a child, and it sheds some light on how a child might comprehend all of it by creating some elaborate fantasy. It's not actually the most entertaining movie of the year, in fact it can be boring at times, it's just one of the most unique movies of the year. My advice is to go into with the goal of experiencing it in your own way, without preconceived notions of hating it or loving it. Once again, I personally was not entertained, but it has been 3 weeks and I am still haunted by the violent images, haunted by the cruelty displayed in the film. It seems to me that the movie presents violence and cruelty as being real and hope as being fantasy, and thus presents a bleak view of life that I am still thinking about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
W.G.Jan 22, 2007
To those who claim that the two worlds don't coincide with each other are missing the point of the entire movie. Reality is what we make of it. The ending was one of the greatest I have ever seen, and seems to encapsulate the human To those who claim that the two worlds don't coincide with each other are missing the point of the entire movie. Reality is what we make of it. The ending was one of the greatest I have ever seen, and seems to encapsulate the human condition in one pivotal scene...ie it attempts to frame the greatest human question of all "Why are we here?" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkS.Jan 23, 2007
I assumed Pan's Labyrinth would be a tour de force in crazy creatures and dark wonderlands and brilliant cinematography. What I found instead was a precise, compelling narrative that managed to bring all of those aspects together I assumed Pan's Labyrinth would be a tour de force in crazy creatures and dark wonderlands and brilliant cinematography. What I found instead was a precise, compelling narrative that managed to bring all of those aspects together without forcing it down the audience's throats. The gorier parts have enough context to them to not offend (in my opinion), while the sweeter, more poetic parts are just flat-out gorgeous. Although minimally developed, the context of Spanish Civil War was engrossing and flowed surprisingly well with the fantasy elements. In a film climate often split between the factory-line tight and overly-ambitious, PL finds a nice middle ground. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ZabbockK.Oct 23, 2007
Good movie except for the length and ending. There were 3 hard-to-get-passed-areas: 1. There wasn't a need for Mercedes' scene cutting the captain with her trusty knife. I couldn't get passed the fact that she could have ended Good movie except for the length and ending. There were 3 hard-to-get-passed-areas: 1. There wasn't a need for Mercedes' scene cutting the captain with her trusty knife. I couldn't get passed the fact that she could have ended the war right there by thrusting a couple more times instead of doing some dental work and then leaving. She can cut the mouth and even threaten to cut her own throat but can't cut the captain's and triumph? - 1 point 2. I also found it tough that the baby in Ofelia's arms just happens to silence itself as soon as ol' Captain comes tromping into the room. And if she used a special door to get in then why not use a door to get out? - 1 point 3. In the scene where she ate the grapes and ran from the wrinkle monster, why did she have to draw upward? Why not draw where she can reach and get through easier? - 1 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanJan 23, 2007
Oh man, my jaw was literally dropped through the whole 2 hours. The movie grabbed me from the first words and didn't let go. After watching this film, i was confused. I loved it so much, i was so enchanted and shocked by it all, that Oh man, my jaw was literally dropped through the whole 2 hours. The movie grabbed me from the first words and didn't let go. After watching this film, i was confused. I loved it so much, i was so enchanted and shocked by it all, that during the actual viewing, it seemed downright perfect. But i dwelled on it afterwards, to find some flaw, ANY flaw. Could a film really be as perfect as this one first seemed? And, surpsingly, i couldnt find any flaws. While watching it, i got the same exhilaration of great filmmaking that Citizen Kane, The Godfather, and Lord of the Rings gave me. And the more i thought it over, the more i realized that, yes, indeed, this film belongs in that company, just like Metacritic would have us believe. I was also worried before the movie that i would be disappointed, because while the critical acclaim was unprecedented, many non-critics had been complaining about over-praise. But watching it, i honestly believe the critics were on to something, and that the movie is getting all the professional praise it deserves. A perfect work of art. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanB.Jan 23, 2007
Very well done, executed, written, etc. (With the exception of one markedly goofy cow-milking scene.) In the end, though, it left me cold. Can't say why, really. I just didn't much care. Still, it's very impressive and in many Very well done, executed, written, etc. (With the exception of one markedly goofy cow-milking scene.) In the end, though, it left me cold. Can't say why, really. I just didn't much care. Still, it's very impressive and in many parts entertaining, and I wish more movies were as inventive and unafraid of being different. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshS.Jan 24, 2007
The most enthusiastic ten I've given in quite some time. An incredible movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanAJan 26, 2007
Its violence is harrowing, its message is clearcut, and its fantasy is dark and gripping. But the tie-in between the two worlds - that of the civil war in the real and the fairy tale one in its midst - is carefully and expertly presented; Its violence is harrowing, its message is clearcut, and its fantasy is dark and gripping. But the tie-in between the two worlds - that of the civil war in the real and the fairy tale one in its midst - is carefully and expertly presented; that is where its subtlety and excellence lies. It will not hit you until the final scene about the significance of the fantasy elements, and then everything else about the film's earlier sequences clicks. Incredible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PacoC.Jan 26, 2007
Guillermo del Toro has been able to give two sets of story lines that both mix and conjunt very well, One the cruel reality and other the beautifull yet twisted fantasy. With this it is interesting the way the director created a Fantasy Guillermo del Toro has been able to give two sets of story lines that both mix and conjunt very well, One the cruel reality and other the beautifull yet twisted fantasy. With this it is interesting the way the director created a Fantasy movie for adults. Some scenes are very gore and I would not sugest small children to come and watch the film but you have to as well think that it is what made the movie even more special and not so americanized and not so categorised for either matured adults or young children. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaneH.Oct 27, 2007
The best film i have seen since i can remember. I broke down at the end. Never has a film had such an effect on me. Guillermo del Toro is a genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamD.Jan 27, 2007
Extraordinary, especially if you are aware of the events and politics of the Spanish Civil War before World War II.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StinkyP.Jan 27, 2007
all the negative reviews are written in the same style here. is it one reviewer submitting in mutliples? Anyway, I loved it. Incredible cinematics. Great mood and atmosphere. Mercedes from Y Tu Mam Tambien? Magnifique! How did they make that all the negative reviews are written in the same style here. is it one reviewer submitting in mutliples? Anyway, I loved it. Incredible cinematics. Great mood and atmosphere. Mercedes from Y Tu Mam Tambien? Magnifique! How did they make that stunner look drab? I didi see a 6 or 7 year old atthe theatre ... way too young for the disturbing scences in this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartynG.Jan 27, 2007
This movie was amazing, i can't stop thinking about it; terrifing, beautiful and a courage that is unmatched.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PennD.Jan 27, 2007
This is one of the finest movies to come along in a long time. It is truly groundbreaking as it merges the harsh reality that was Post Civil War Spain with the delicacy and charm of fantasy with its under story.... With so many bad offerings This is one of the finest movies to come along in a long time. It is truly groundbreaking as it merges the harsh reality that was Post Civil War Spain with the delicacy and charm of fantasy with its under story.... With so many bad offerings and incomplete attempts (Eragon for example)... this movie will truly renew your faith in the cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FizgigP.Jan 28, 2007
Pan's Labyrinth was absolutely amazing. I did not know what to expect walking into the theater, but i knew what i saw when i walked out, a masterpiece. The parallels between the real world and the fairytale are very subtle, and both Pan's Labyrinth was absolutely amazing. I did not know what to expect walking into the theater, but i knew what i saw when i walked out, a masterpiece. The parallels between the real world and the fairytale are very subtle, and both worlds in their own way were bitter and relentless towards ofellia. The Movie was very violent, but not overdone. The first scene in which captain Vidal kills a man you know what is in store for Ofellia. The monsters were beautiful in their own way each with a creepy dark fairytale aspect to them. The makeup was outstanding, and the cgi was not bad. Very Very Good Film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KadathB.Jan 29, 2007
Beautiful. Disturbing. Emotionally draining. These are only a few words to describe Pan's Labyrinth, an amazing picture that will unlikely resemble anything you've seen before, but before you enter this film you must have an open Beautiful. Disturbing. Emotionally draining. These are only a few words to describe Pan's Labyrinth, an amazing picture that will unlikely resemble anything you've seen before, but before you enter this film you must have an open mind. It's not the gore that disturbed me [though it is at a level of detail that many could find disgusting or shocking] but rather the magnitude and impact the movie has emotionally and visually, it's a beautiful picture but in a very dark and gothic way, in fact I don't know if I have seen a gothic fantasy work quite this well in a movie, and the tremendously well acted and portrayed vision of reality, blurs the line between the real and the fiction more than any story has before, and when it all comes together, you either feel everything the characters have felt or you feel nothing, and I can tell you the majority of the people will feel something. Pan's Labyrinth is far and away the best film in years, and considering it's limited release here, consider yourself lucky to catch it in the theatre, but even if you miss it on the big screen, you must make it a goal to see it on video- mthis is simply a film that cannot be missed, but once again keep an open mind [Also a warning for parents: It may be a fairy tale, but it is equally a horror, drama, and war film- it's most definitely not a film children under the age of at least 14 should see]. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveJan 29, 2007
Absolutely brilliant! This is one of the best films not only from last year, but probably the last decade. Unlike many of the people here, I WAS NOT expecting more fantasy, because I read some of the reviews of the film. And as far as the Absolutely brilliant! This is one of the best films not only from last year, but probably the last decade. Unlike many of the people here, I WAS NOT expecting more fantasy, because I read some of the reviews of the film. And as far as the violence, yes some parts of the film are hard to watch, but hey this is during Franco's reign near the end of WW II in Spain. If you knew anything about Spanish history, you'd know what a brutal dictator Franco was, so the violence depicted was all REAL. Actually, it was probably far worse. In any case, this is a must-see, one that will be remembered many years from now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mikeperezJan 29, 2007
Anyone who felt this movie had bad writing or no meaning needs to take a film appreciation class. this is not a movie for people who dont want to think or make their own ideas about what the director was trying to say. For those who did notAnyone who felt this movie had bad writing or no meaning needs to take a film appreciation class. this is not a movie for people who dont want to think or make their own ideas about what the director was trying to say. For those who did not uderstand the movie it about fasicism and religion. Think chronicles of narnia with the closing scenes. The major theme of this movie is to no follow blindly but to question and create your own beliefs, to do what you feel is right and not what others tell you to do. Also many have complained that the violence was over the top. first of all we are talking about post-civil war spain. violence happened, its simple as that. Also it is a fairy tale. and no not like the fairy tales we have today but like the original fairy tales that the brothers brimm were able to collect. ever notice the violence and brutality in those tales. now bring them to real life and place those images in a modern movie and you will get more gore and violence then is in this movie. anthother complain is that the characters are one sided and are cliched. again its a fairy tale thats the way the characters are supposed to be in order to clearly polarcize the difference between good and evil. There are enough positice reviews on here to where i will not talk about the lighting and camera work or the special effects. But another complaint i hear was that people expected a different movie and because of this gave the movie a bad review. You should not base a reviewon the type of movie you wanted to see but the actuall elements that the movie you saw brought to the screen. just because a movie does not have as much fantasy as your stars wars fan wanted to see does not make it a bad movie. all-in-all this is the best movie of the year but not for those who do not know how to appreciate fine film making. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
MichaelH.Jan 31, 2007
The last scene silenced the entire theater in an attempt to translate the meaning of what had been 2 hours of magic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkW.Jan 3, 2007
This powerful film lingers in the heart and mind long after the credits roll. Creative, captivating stroytelling like this is why I go to the movies. Not to be missed. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TorontoD.Jan 30, 2007
A film like this only comes around every several years. It defies genres and must be viewed with an open mind. The violence is at a horror movie level, so don't go in expecting "Lord of the Rings". I gave it a 9 because it was excellent A film like this only comes around every several years. It defies genres and must be viewed with an open mind. The violence is at a horror movie level, so don't go in expecting "Lord of the Rings". I gave it a 9 because it was excellent in all technical and artistic aspects, but I would have personally wanted to see more of the "fantasy" world, to give it a 10. Intense, daring, beautiful and scary all at the same time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful