Picturehouse | Release Date: December 29, 2006
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2245 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,957
Mixed:
155
Negative:
133
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
GeorgeS.Jan 6, 2007
Phenomenal! Brilliantly written and directed. Brutal reality infused with innocence and fantasy. Reminds us of the power of cinema and why we enjoy the espace movies provide.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JBSJan 8, 2007
Visually, the fairy tale elements and half of the real world segments deserve a 10, but I do agree that there was too much time spent on the rather banal rebels versus soldiers plot. Yes, there is a political point being made which is Visually, the fairy tale elements and half of the real world segments deserve a 10, but I do agree that there was too much time spent on the rather banal rebels versus soldiers plot. Yes, there is a political point being made which is probably important to the director, but that entire plot line is so pallid compared to the fantasy plot that it really does not deserve the amount of exposition that it was given. On balance a 6, I was intrigued by not transfixed by the film taken as a whole. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelrobinsonOct 8, 2007
I loved this movie. The best movie by far this year. It tells a story that is unforgetable about the choices we make and what will happen if we make the wrong choices. This is what movies should be about. Now a days all they worry about isI loved this movie. The best movie by far this year. It tells a story that is unforgetable about the choices we make and what will happen if we make the wrong choices. This is what movies should be about. Now a days all they worry about is fancy special effects but this movie focuses on not onlty the special effects but the story. Which is why i really like this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnneB.Feb 11, 2007
Brilliant on every level. Some viewers said the violence was too "graffic [sp]" and gratuitous. It was necessary, however, to show the extent of the horror from which the child escaped through fantasy. Torture and violence on the part of Brilliant on every level. Some viewers said the violence was too "graffic [sp]" and gratuitous. It was necessary, however, to show the extent of the horror from which the child escaped through fantasy. Torture and violence on the part of those in power exist in our modern reality, but we have done a good job of not wanting to see that either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisT.Feb 11, 2007
I must admit that when I heard this movie was in Spanish with subtitles, I was more than a little hesitant to see it. I took a chance and am most certainly glad I did!. Pan's Labyrinth will join the ranks of one of the best movies I must admit that when I heard this movie was in Spanish with subtitles, I was more than a little hesitant to see it. I took a chance and am most certainly glad I did!. Pan's Labyrinth will join the ranks of one of the best movies I've ever seen. It is truly captivating and spellbinding. As a matter of fact, I'm heading back to the theater today to see it again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeThomasFeb 12, 2007
best of 2006!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
chrisjohnsonFeb 13, 2007
A somewhat interesting story, but with loose ends. The movie should get your attention because it is quite violent. The visuals and music should win awards.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
LewisP.Feb 13, 2007
[***SPOILERS***] It's strange but this film sort of reminded me a little of one of those moderately successful "Twilight Zone" episodes. Does anyone recall "The Pitchman" starring Ed Wynn? In that Twilight Zone episode a kindly street [***SPOILERS***] It's strange but this film sort of reminded me a little of one of those moderately successful "Twilight Zone" episodes. Does anyone recall "The Pitchman" starring Ed Wynn? In that Twilight Zone episode a kindly street vendor makes one last 'pitch' to the Devil in order to save a little girl's life. In the end he sacrifices his own life so the girl can be saved and in so doing wins a round against the Devil. Here, the 'pitchman' is a not so charming Faun creature who gives a little girl the power to save her infant brother's life but in a variation, the little girl is the one who must be sacrificed at the expense of the Devil ('the Captain'). Like in the Twilight Zone episode, the Devil takes a life but in the end loses to the forces of justice and morality (The Pitchman dies but the little girl lives; in Pan's Labyrinth, the little girl dies but the infant brother lives and in saving him, the little girl attains eternal life). The best part of the film is the dark tale of the Facist Captain who relentlessly pursues the Rebels without mercy and is pitted against Mercedes, the Rebel leader's sister who works undercover as the Captain's housekeeper. No, these characters don't have the depth of the Facists or their opponents in a film like "Schindler's List" but as far as a dark melodrama, a lot of it is as good as some of the best of Twilight Zone. The only part I didn't buy in regards to this aspect of the film was when Mercedes has the opportunity to finish off the Captain. Why doesn't she just kill him right there? The film falls down when it decides to mix fantasy with horror. While the grim scenes with the Captain have a real ring of truth, Ofelia's machinations with her fantasy antagonists take us away from the gut-wrenching scenes of war and offer us a side-show that can never come close to what's happening in the real world. While the Captain is torturing prisoners, Ofelia is stuffing stones into the mouth of a giant toad who ends up exploding! The fantasy becomes ridiculous, bordering on farce. And I didn't believe for one minute that Ofelia would eat the grapes especially after she was warned more than once (and quite emphatically) that it would be a disaster if she did. In a sense the film was very much true to Rod Serling's influence on Twilight Zone--it was Serling who wrote the majority of the overly moralistic and sappy episdoes. And Pan's Labyrinth was sappy to the hilt. The ending could have been much more powerful if Ofelia was not resurrected. Most people just can't accept that sometimes bad things happen to good people. Instead, the viewer needs to be 'comforted' with magical thinking--that the dead can be resurrected and overcome evil through some kind of miracle. It's a very Christian film without ever mentioning Christ and one sees that the basic tenets of Christianity are firmly rooted in pagan folklore. It's no surprise that the film is very highly rated across the board as most people have a thirst for these type of 'Passion plays'. What the film needed was a darker and much more clever ending, instead of another 'Jesus' meeting his father in 'heaven'. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
HarryKFeb 13, 2007
A film so unbelievably good that Del Toro could retire right now at the young age of 29 and never have to make another film again and his legacy would live on forever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RheaR.Feb 14, 2007
The rating on this movie is too low. 14A is not appropriate and the movie should be rated 18A and the audience should warned about scenes of torture and violence. My son said a 14A rating was a trick so that people would go watch the movie. The rating on this movie is too low. 14A is not appropriate and the movie should be rated 18A and the audience should warned about scenes of torture and violence. My son said a 14A rating was a trick so that people would go watch the movie. He wishes he hadn't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertS.Feb 16, 2007
This movie delivers exactly what it intends to deliver. I didnt expect much from this movie especially with it having subtitles, but left amazed. I shutter to think the impact had I been able to speak the language.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MagnificentB.Feb 16, 2007
One of the best movies I've ever seen. A wonderful story that captures the horrors of war, the evils of facism, and the oftentimes difficult decisions involved in making "moral" choices. Del Toro has finally made a movie that not only One of the best movies I've ever seen. A wonderful story that captures the horrors of war, the evils of facism, and the oftentimes difficult decisions involved in making "moral" choices. Del Toro has finally made a movie that not only delivers on the promise he showed with "The devils Backbone", but actually eclipses it. And to the reviewers who criticized the film for it's blood and violence . . . war and facism, folks! It ain't pretty, it isn't supposed to be pretty, and if you took your kids to see it, what part of "Rated R" did you not understand? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
XXXXXXXXXFeb 17, 2007
Anyone who has rated this less than an 8 doesn't know what good movies are. This one is Amazing! Yes, there are some brutal scenes of violence, but its done well and (if you didnt close your eyes) looks very real. This is NOT 90%Anyone who has rated this less than an 8 doesn't know what good movies are. This one is Amazing! Yes, there are some brutal scenes of violence, but its done well and (if you didnt close your eyes) looks very real. This is NOT 90% violence like one reviewer has said. Most of the movie has to do with the little girl's relationship with her mother and her step-dad. There's part which has to do with her trying to complete her tasks to become the fantasy princess. Just go see it. Make your own judgement. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JFTLFeb 17, 2007
Haunting.... This movie will be in your mind days after you see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LizzE.Feb 18, 2007
This movie is rated R. Anyone who thought this was a flick for kids clearly didn't see that bit. Furthermore, the acting is fantastic. The violence is very graphic, but the choice to make the "real world" parts of the film as realistic This movie is rated R. Anyone who thought this was a flick for kids clearly didn't see that bit. Furthermore, the acting is fantastic. The violence is very graphic, but the choice to make the "real world" parts of the film as realistic as possible was a wise one--hollywood BS would have completely ruined it, and made it difficult to differentiate between Ofelia's reality and fantasy. Furthermore, it wouldn't have made it so emotionally stirring. If you're complaining because you though you could take your kids to it, you need to get over it. YOU are responsible for your kids--not everyone else is. Stop being such an entitlement jack ass. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomA.Feb 18, 2007
This is such an amazing, amazing movie for so many reasons. So good, in fact, that it has been in my dreams for the past few nights. Not since Lord of The Rings: The Two Towers have I felt so alive after watching a film. Also to some of the This is such an amazing, amazing movie for so many reasons. So good, in fact, that it has been in my dreams for the past few nights. Not since Lord of The Rings: The Two Towers have I felt so alive after watching a film. Also to some of the complainers down bellow: The film is a Gothic fairy tale, meaning it's supposed to be very dark and devoid of humor. That's like criticizing a comedy for not being scary enough. Yes shooting children is wrong. I'm glad you think so. The movie doesn't portray the act of doing so as correct or "right" in anyway. It troubles me to see such people with such logic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TimBFeb 18, 2007
A film of sufficient quality to meet my standards of good art, but by no means does Pan's Labyrinth stand up to the kind of hype it's been given lately. Analyzed as a whole, the movie mixes fantasy and reality in an innovativeA film of sufficient quality to meet my standards of good art, but by no means does Pan's Labyrinth stand up to the kind of hype it's been given lately. Analyzed as a whole, the movie mixes fantasy and reality in an innovative fashion, but individual aspects of the film are by no means the best they could have been. While the acting is good, it's not great, and characters (particularly the Colonel) are flat. Arguably, the film is meant to transcend its characters, but at the very least, Ofelia should have been fleshed out to a greater degree. The fantasy and reality plotlines of the film are only nominally interesting and would make for a terrible film if they weren't mixed. Maybe this is intentional, but it doesn't make it good. In regards to the visuals and violence, I was neither impressed nor horrified. Maybe I'm just desensitized, but the blood and gore are far from gratuitious: people are capable of terrible violence, and the movie doesn't suffer for showing it. On the other hand, the visuals don't have nearly the same impact as the recent 'Children of Men', which masterfully used brutal but less bloody violence to much greater effect. The cinematography, while pretty, was also fairly bland for a supposed masterpiece. 'Pan's Labyrinth' is very much worth seeing for those with reasonably strong stomachs and the ability to suspend their disbelief long enough to take in the overall themes, but a noticeable lack of quality in the film's minor (and not-so-minor) details ruin its supposed greatness. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful
7
DreezyBabyFeb 20, 2007
This movie is ok, it really doesn't warrant the 98 of a hundred it got. If this movie was made in Hollywood and I mean the exact same movie, it wouldn't have scored more than 85 at best. The movie really feels more like a 76ish This movie is ok, it really doesn't warrant the 98 of a hundred it got. If this movie was made in Hollywood and I mean the exact same movie, it wouldn't have scored more than 85 at best. The movie really feels more like a 76ish type of movie. There is the need to escape from the usual brain numbing garbage Hollywood keeps churning out movie after movie, but we also need to see these foreign films for what they really are. This movie is not Spirited Away or Princess Mononoke, and it's not an epic as any of the LOTR movies which it trumps by the critics' ratings ... This movie is ok ... Let's say a much darker Chronicles of Narnia at best. Thank you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnaG.Feb 2, 2007
Masterpiece. Absolutely brilliant! I think is the best film of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CelesteR.Feb 2, 2007
I am just stunned that this movie has gotten such high reviews. The violence, cruelty, torture scenes, and birthing scenes are plainly designed to manipulate your emotions every which way, and to distract you from the fact that the movie is I am just stunned that this movie has gotten such high reviews. The violence, cruelty, torture scenes, and birthing scenes are plainly designed to manipulate your emotions every which way, and to distract you from the fact that the movie is just not very interesting. The characters are almost cartoonish in their two-dimensionality: cruel violent stepdad, ditzy mom, noble resistance fighters. I mean, come on, life is really more interesting than that! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TiffanyFeb 3, 2007
Great movie! Very weird, very disturbing, but very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JCJCFeb 3, 2007
Celeste R. seems to be missing the point. The characters are supposed to be somewhat one dimensional. This is a modern day fairy tale and a resoundingly brilliant one at that. One of the most memorable and enjoyable experiences at the movies Celeste R. seems to be missing the point. The characters are supposed to be somewhat one dimensional. This is a modern day fairy tale and a resoundingly brilliant one at that. One of the most memorable and enjoyable experiences at the movies in quite some time. It starts out a bit on the slow side but by the end its hard not be fascinated by all facets of the story as they come together. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
OpheliaH.Feb 4, 2007
Overall the movie had an excellent storyline. You really don't know what to expect and I definately didn't get what I expected, but I am not saying that is a bad thing. I personally would opt for less violence, but it really shows Overall the movie had an excellent storyline. You really don't know what to expect and I definately didn't get what I expected, but I am not saying that is a bad thing. I personally would opt for less violence, but it really shows how dark some peoples souls really are. I just hope that it doesn't fill anyones head with any ideas. The movie makes me feel like I went and got my money's worth at the theatre. I say bra-friggin-va and cudos all around. (i dont know if i spelled that right). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeithFeb 4, 2007
Thanks Celeste! Thanks so much for setting us all straight. You'd think all the critics, what with their fancy smancy degrees and years upon years of viewing and reviewing films could have seen the movie for what it really was. I guess Thanks Celeste! Thanks so much for setting us all straight. You'd think all the critics, what with their fancy smancy degrees and years upon years of viewing and reviewing films could have seen the movie for what it really was. I guess they and all the rest of us who agreed with them are just not as bright as you! You certainly proved your point. I mean, how could every single critic and 99% of those who've see the movie be so wrong?! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkR.Feb 4, 2007
Astonishing to see the reactions this film has prompted. Even the rationale behind the lower scores are thought provoking, rare for metacritic boards. As for myself, I believe this to be one of the very finest movies I've ever seen or Astonishing to see the reactions this film has prompted. Even the rationale behind the lower scores are thought provoking, rare for metacritic boards. As for myself, I believe this to be one of the very finest movies I've ever seen or likely ever will. But not because I think it's perfect. Rather, I think this is a masterpiece because it touched feelings in me that I thought had been long buried since childhood, but clearly aren't. There is an alchemy to this film that is breathtaking. I've never seen a film - or filmmaker - so artfully reflect our souls coping with mortality and evil. Without pandering, del Toro imagines the manifestations of wonder that guard us from reality and existential dread, as well as the monsters that rise in sleep from our reptilian fears. More importantly, he shows us these things to reveal the complexity of how we ultimately find hope. In the end, Del Toro creates ambiguity about Ofelia's fantasy, but what's ironic and beautiful and sad and heartbreaking about Pan's Labyrinth is that the movie itself is proof that magic does exist. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AndrewGFeb 5, 2007
I'm going with Celeste R. here. Cartoonish is a good way to describe this movie's moral sense and the depth of characters. I'm not convinced that the characters are 'supposed to be somewhat one dimensional'. I I'm going with Celeste R. here. Cartoonish is a good way to describe this movie's moral sense and the depth of characters. I'm not convinced that the characters are 'supposed to be somewhat one dimensional'. I don't see any evidence for that claim. Instead, I think that Del Toro uses massive chunks of time for characterization, especially with "brutal" scenes, but to no avail. Every time the Captain mutilates himself and others, his character becomes increasingly simple and one-dimensional, so why spend time on it? We've seen these characters a billion times before. The production quality of this movie can't be touched, but the story is a huge yawn. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.P.Feb 7, 2007
I'm not sure a movie like this needs much to be said about it. It exists independetly of us, it doesn't need us to live. If you have not seen this movie, I plead with you to go see it. This not a child's film or is it supposed I'm not sure a movie like this needs much to be said about it. It exists independetly of us, it doesn't need us to live. If you have not seen this movie, I plead with you to go see it. This not a child's film or is it supposed to be. This is a film that despite the violence (the violence is never unnecessary or over-simplified) had me in tears at the end. These were tears that I had witnessed magic. It has been months since I have seen the movie and it is still with me. This film and Del Toro challenges us to find hope and meaning in violence and innocence as they exist all around us. The balance is always in so much danger of tipping to one side. This movie doesn't need my support; it warrants personal interpretation not mass categorization. Watch this movie and you'll be still for a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomD.Feb 7, 2007
I would have to say most of the people who have negative words for this movie tend to like the crap that seems to make so much money but nobody really knows why. Example Epic Movie was at tops at the box office.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayF.Feb 8, 2007
The best film I've ever seen. Period. I don't usually get worked up about these sorts of things, but I've never seen a film as compelling, rich, and beautiful as this one. From start to finish, the performances are perfect, The best film I've ever seen. Period. I don't usually get worked up about these sorts of things, but I've never seen a film as compelling, rich, and beautiful as this one. From start to finish, the performances are perfect, the cinematography is seamless, and the narrative never slows or fizzles. An unmitigated masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CraigD.Feb 9, 2007
Great Movie. Some of the special effects are unbelievable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JeffFeb 9, 2007
Enjoyed the visual presentation. Bored by the graffic violence. Overall a yawner. Ended up reading e-mails on my Blackberry instead of watching.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
LinL.Feb 9, 2007
i must say that this is one of the most over-rated films i'd ever seen. i've seen the director's other work and liked it. he was more of a theatre director in "the devil's backbone," but at least he tried. in pan's i must say that this is one of the most over-rated films i'd ever seen. i've seen the director's other work and liked it. he was more of a theatre director in "the devil's backbone," but at least he tried. in pan's labyrinth i find a horrifically thin and lazy story, with characters barely developed but all very pretty for the eyes, doing stupid things without any apparent motives. strip away the special effects and the violence, there're only a few very conventional storylines hastily interwoven together without traction or necessity. the acting was ok, yet with the exception of the actor who played mercedes, annoyingly one-dimensional and unengaging. and the movie's heart is a horrendously dark one, with the meek saved but unredempt, and the victors seeking vengeance. an intellectually and spiritually bankrupt movie, and no amount of pretty special effect or pretty faces can save it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HunterFeb 9, 2007
The most amazing movie I have ever seen. Period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AnthonyB.Feb 9, 2007
Good Visuals and monsters. Lacked interesting story. They did good job keeping hidden the fact that the whole movie is in subtitles. Besides the monsters, this movie is worth waiting to see until it comes on tv so you have a chance to turn it off.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
6
PeteM.Feb 9, 2007
A little too much "reality" and not enough fantasy. The villain was just too villainous, which made it a bit boring. The trips or crossovers into the fantasy realm did not inspire any sense of wonder in me, nor was there any great build in A little too much "reality" and not enough fantasy. The villain was just too villainous, which made it a bit boring. The trips or crossovers into the fantasy realm did not inspire any sense of wonder in me, nor was there any great build in the pacing of the movie. Given the high critic reviews, my expectations were very high, and this was a disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TooBooCooMar 13, 2007
Pan's Labyrinth seems perhaps a little overrated by critics, who seem to gift foreign language films a token 15% extra when deciding on the rating. However, it was a thouroughly well crafted and imagigined piece of work, both visually Pan's Labyrinth seems perhaps a little overrated by critics, who seem to gift foreign language films a token 15% extra when deciding on the rating. However, it was a thouroughly well crafted and imagigined piece of work, both visually stunnong and superbly acted. Indeed, in 'The Captain' I feel we have one of the best villains in cinema history. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCMar 14, 2007
I had low expectations for this, as I find many movies that are critically acclaimed to be uninteresting and confusing. But I actually really liked this. Sometimes you're on the edge of your seat, sometimes you're just in awe ofI had low expectations for this, as I find many movies that are critically acclaimed to be uninteresting and confusing. But I actually really liked this. Sometimes you're on the edge of your seat, sometimes you're just in awe of all the visual effects. Sometimes it's brutal, sometimes it's just enchanting. Really worth your time and money for this masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KimMar 15, 2007
Not many movies rate a re-watching after I have seen them. 99.8% of all th stiories today are retreads and schlock. El Labyrinto del Fauno is not only worth every second of film. I will own it, cherish ih and enjoy it Many more times. It is Not many movies rate a re-watching after I have seen them. 99.8% of all th stiories today are retreads and schlock. El Labyrinto del Fauno is not only worth every second of film. I will own it, cherish ih and enjoy it Many more times. It is so artfully and caringly crafted, you feel a part of the story. fantasy and brutal reality mix and collide in most fascinating ways. I wish that more would have the care that Del T^oro does for their visions, and ignore that which has become the bane of existance, the MTVGen X/next claptrap. When we as artists create or do something, we need to take that level of pride and craftsmanship seen here, as we essentially are creating our legacy for others to follow. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelA.Mar 17, 2007
Beautiful and Mystifying. There was nothing wrong with this film. I'm surprised and sad to see that this did not win the Oscar for best foreign film. What won me over was the lullaby.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnastashaC.Mar 21, 2007
The best movie I have ever seen. I have never been so moved by anything in my entire life. Beautiful. Just beautiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FutureCriticMar 23, 2007
This is my second favorite movie of all time. Definatley the best made in my lifetime. The only movie I like better than this is Jurrasic Park, and that is because it is one of the first movies i ever saw. This movie was a masterpeice to be This is my second favorite movie of all time. Definatley the best made in my lifetime. The only movie I like better than this is Jurrasic Park, and that is because it is one of the first movies i ever saw. This movie was a masterpeice to be remembered and revered as the godfather or casablanca, different genres, but both are amazingly well done. I am only 13 and i found this movie amazing, from how it was shot to the story and acting. Sergi Lopez captured the part of a heartless villain better than any performer ever did, and Ivana Baquero should have the fame of Dakota fanning, that joke of an actress. I was amazed to see it didnt win best foreign film in the oscars, Who would pick "the lives of others" compared to this, what idiots think that heap of crap was comparable to this? The only explaination is that Pans Labrynth isnt the best film of the year, its the best film in the last 15 years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KayArkMar 3, 2007
An amazing movie. The best one I've seen this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RafaElorduyMar 5, 2007
As good is this film that everyone who has given it a "10" (including myself of course) don´t have to explain much to say that it is one of the best movies ever made. On the contrary, those who give it a low rating have to explain inAs good is this film that everyone who has given it a "10" (including myself of course) don´t have to explain much to say that it is one of the best movies ever made. On the contrary, those who give it a low rating have to explain in more than a thousand words why they were not satisfied by this magical, magnificent masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LanceD.Mar 5, 2007
Surprised at such high score on Meta-Critic. I do believe if this movie was made by and in Hollywood it would not have scored as high. The plot is simplistic. I kept waiting for surprise twist at the end with the Faun but it never developed. Surprised at such high score on Meta-Critic. I do believe if this movie was made by and in Hollywood it would not have scored as high. The plot is simplistic. I kept waiting for surprise twist at the end with the Faun but it never developed. Predictable. Gratifying visual effects. I would rate this a B or B+ but no where near the ranks of The Godfather as Meta-Critic did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JustinBrekkeMar 6, 2007
All the tips will get out of this movie is the scene with the dude who has eyes on his hands and he chases after the girl. If you are not a tip however it is a great movie and will let you into the unbelievable imagination of a triumphant young girl.
3 of 6 users found this helpful
10
RichardW.Mar 9, 2007
I enjoyed this movie tremendously. It is very powerful. At the conclusion of the movie, my wife's interpretation and my own were different. Consequently it strenghthened my conviction that this truly is a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikoApr 13, 2007
Perspective is required with this Movie. So far reactions have been completely over the top. The film is neither so brilliant as to make you reconsider how you live your life or so poor as to make you wish you had taken your granny out for Perspective is required with this Movie. So far reactions have been completely over the top. The film is neither so brilliant as to make you reconsider how you live your life or so poor as to make you wish you had taken your granny out for tea and scones instead. Yes it very imaginative with great acting and contains thought provoking insights. But the magic only touches the edges of film like elaborate embroidering and the violence distracts to the point of gratuitousness. In the end, the movie fails to be truly immersive or involving and one feels like one has had a quaint trip to the theatre rather than a journey to the other side of imagination. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KurtisR.Apr 14, 2007
One of the best film of 2006. The idea of magic realism translates onto the film medium with breathtakaing visual veracity and power.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonL.Apr 19, 2007
Pan's Labyrinth is simply one of the best movies ever made. The ending scene was simply brilliant, it makes no judgement, and lets you decide if you are sad or elated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattP.Apr 19, 2007
Although it is no longer in theaters, it will soon beout on DVD. If you are seventeen or older, and can stomach some pretty brutal scenes, you will be treated to, at least in my opinion, the best movie of 2006
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MojoPiNApr 21, 2007
This movie was as astounding as they say. More so then even the brilliant acting and directing was the mood that was set throughout the entire script. You were able to really place yourself in the beginnings of what was to be Franco's This movie was as astounding as they say. More so then even the brilliant acting and directing was the mood that was set throughout the entire script. You were able to really place yourself in the beginnings of what was to be Franco's Spain and the whole affair flowed seamlessly. There was no overacting here, no overt Hollywood drama whose formula is old and tired. It was genuine, believable and most of all inspiring. A beautiful flick for anyone to see, even the most alpha of males. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JunichiF.Apr 2, 2007
One of the worst film of the year. I was terribly disappointed because I have heard so much good things about the film. Shallow story, cheap effects, and bad acting makes for a very frustrating 2 hours.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
CalvinH.Apr 20, 2007
Honestly, I don't know what I can say about the movie. It was pretty violent and depressing and had some really weird parts. I saw the movie about a month ago, and I still don't know how I feel about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobinJ.Apr 24, 2007
I don't really understand Spanish and there are no subtitles to help me understand while I watched the movie. But i can see the struggles of war and the classic tale of good versus evil. And this one, of course the good triumphs. After I don't really understand Spanish and there are no subtitles to help me understand while I watched the movie. But i can see the struggles of war and the classic tale of good versus evil. And this one, of course the good triumphs. After I watched, all I remember was that the film is a war film. It depicts the horror, the fear, the violence and the selfishness of war. For more squeamish people, like me, this film is a bit difficult and uncomfortable to watch. But the fantasy part of the film is beautiful. The fantasy side is used to describe the hope of peace and safety that you wish for when you are facing war. It's original and i give credit for that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GhostlyApr 25, 2007
this film was vibrant with darkness life and death spirtual...and brought me to my own childhood...where i looked for escape doors and other portals to get away from the dreary parisian buildings and adults...who surrounded me...with their this film was vibrant with darkness life and death spirtual...and brought me to my own childhood...where i looked for escape doors and other portals to get away from the dreary parisian buildings and adults...who surrounded me...with their sharp energies. Children are not as innocent as u think. especially in today s modern world. think about what a fairy tale really is. Our director honnored the true function of a fairy tale. we tell our children fairy tales to warn them about the world educate them about courage faith trust and honnor we educate our children that death and life exist and that magic is the power of their own hearts and souls and basically many worldy fairy tales are bloody and scary and horrid and also magical with prizes and challenges and punishements and risks. this little girl moved me...she was very very brave. she was alive and cared deeply about life about her mom s well being...about her new friend mercedes well being and understaood the wickedness of her stepp father. She was able to recognize evil. and choose good. she was a child. but she had the soul of a warrior princess. adn in this world we live in why should we hide the truth from our little children...? Dont they see hellraiser friday the 13th and other creepy movies anyways? Or what about all the cartoons on tv. do u think those cartoons are that sweet. they are more perverse. or what about the glorified politics of ou r governemtns which are killing children? Should we hide this stuff from our children. Fairy tales and life and blood have always been hand in hand. even hensel and grettel is not nice story and it is europeen. it s like pocahontas lies..made by disney...that she was in love and happy with the blond dude... but actually...she was forced to marry him and follow him to his ugly grey old england city..where she got sick from a european disease and then died. But that fairy tale with Disney made it look like colonization never happened... So thank u for Truth and for loving ly working on every single frame. Also ...I just want to say ...that it was about God and life and death...and life after Death...and spiritual life. Our world ..hahhaha...do u know how many children live thirsty..on the streets ...how many children beg...are victims of organ traffic business...victims of sex exploitation business... are victims of pedophiles... so please... do bring ur kid to see this flick. i would have loved it when i was a kid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MichaeltenPasApr 30, 2007
There were two different plots in this story: the one about the people caught up in a war and then some attempt at a fairy tale. Both came across as underdeveloped and entirely unconnected.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MattB.Apr 30, 2007
One of the most moving pictures I have ever seen. Unique, creative, and memorable. Simply put, it was amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SZSZApr 9, 2007
Too dry for a fairy tale, too silly for a drama. Zero excitement, with a weak point at the end. Near pointless movie experience. No idea why there's so much hype around it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RyanTerryMay 15, 2007
I loved everything about this movie. Incredibly imaginative. It takes you to a whole other world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickD.May 15, 2007
Stunning film that should have won Best Picture. Along with United 93 and Children of Men, it was one of the best films of the past decade let alone the year of 2006. What all those 3 films have in common is what people do when confronted Stunning film that should have won Best Picture. Along with United 93 and Children of Men, it was one of the best films of the past decade let alone the year of 2006. What all those 3 films have in common is what people do when confronted when society is falling apart. This film is worth the emotional investment Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadSweeMay 16, 2007
Pan's Labyrinth, a film (written and directed) by Guillermo del Toro (Blade 2 and Hellboy), is a memorable, unique, and adventurous movie that excells in many aspects. The plot revolves around a young spanish (and that's SpainPan's Labyrinth, a film (written and directed) by Guillermo del Toro (Blade 2 and Hellboy), is a memorable, unique, and adventurous movie that excells in many aspects. The plot revolves around a young spanish (and that's Spain spanish, not Mexico spanish) girl, Ofelia, whose mother has been widowed and is now moving in with her new husband who happens to be the captain of a fascist group that overtook Spain. The captain plays the role of a ruthless ruler, similiar to that of the Nazi in Schindler's List. The actor plays this character flawlessly, but he is not the only person who brings a good acting performance to the table. The mother, doctor, maid and many others perfectly play their parts also, with the exception of the lead character, Ofelia. Ofelia comes off as a very dull and undramatic young girl, roughly the age of 12, eventhough she is supposed to be full of imagination. She has a passion for fairy tales, and as she witnesses the violent nature of the captain and his group she uses her mind to escape reality. This movie, in all actuality, is a fairy tale for adults. The plot is interesting, and definately a fresh breath of air compared to recent films that keep using revenge as a motive for every last thing. From a directing stand point Pan's Labyrinth is amazing. It's gorgeous to watch, exciting to watch, and, most importantly, fun to watch. Pan's Labyrinth may not blow you away, but is ultimately a great movie. It gets, on a scale of one to ten, five being average, a nine.
Oh and just a little fore-warning, this movie is in spanish and therefore you have to read english subtitles. This may shy people away from watching it, but by no means should you let this one go simply because of having to read subtitles.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TriciaR.May 17, 2007
I have spent almost as long reading these comments as I did watching the film - fascinating. Maybe the distinguishing feature of art is that 'all or nothing' engagement on many levels. Genius doesn't have to be perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeZ.May 18, 2007
This is an oustanding film which is deeply moving. when I left the theatre I felt like my emotional stability had been put through the ringer, but only to emerge stronger in the end. For me this film really evoked one of those expreriences This is an oustanding film which is deeply moving. when I left the theatre I felt like my emotional stability had been put through the ringer, but only to emerge stronger in the end. For me this film really evoked one of those expreriences where you are so wrapped in the drama that the consequences of the story feel real. Excellent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JarredM.May 19, 2007
This movie is incredibly overrated. The fantastical side of the story isn't very fantastical, and the historical side hardly has hardly any depth to it whatsover. This movie is simple and boring. I wonder if critics would get so excited This movie is incredibly overrated. The fantastical side of the story isn't very fantastical, and the historical side hardly has hardly any depth to it whatsover. This movie is simple and boring. I wonder if critics would get so excited about it if it was in English. I think not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LL.May 21, 2007
The movie was wonderful with one massive omission. I am baffled by the directors decision to include the nose bashing scene. It was something out of a B' slasher movie. Other wise it was truly thought provoking. Is the afterlife as The movie was wonderful with one massive omission. I am baffled by the directors decision to include the nose bashing scene. It was something out of a B' slasher movie. Other wise it was truly thought provoking. Is the afterlife as individual as each of us? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArielL.May 22, 2007
This movie is just absolutely wonderful in every way, from its beautifully executed shot of every frame to it's acting and story. I'm previleged to see these wonderful films made outside of the US that have so much depth and This movie is just absolutely wonderful in every way, from its beautifully executed shot of every frame to it's acting and story. I'm previleged to see these wonderful films made outside of the US that have so much depth and originally. I think my next one will be Once. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlakeW.May 20, 2007
This is a fantastic film. Anyone who thinks it may be flawed in some way are just wrong. Anyone may like or dislike any film, but even if you disliked it, you must recognize that it is perfectly executed and fantastically beautiful in both This is a fantastic film. Anyone who thinks it may be flawed in some way are just wrong. Anyone may like or dislike any film, but even if you disliked it, you must recognize that it is perfectly executed and fantastically beautiful in both its story and visuals. If you don't realize this there is something wrong with you...seriously. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayAMay 24, 2007
Great movie. Stirring, violent, emotional and fantastical. Ivana Baquero is a wonderful actress and the whole story is well thought-out and incredibly well executed by the whole cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BruceQ.May 24, 2007
One of the best movies that I saw in 2006. My wife and I were still talking about it days later. It is not surprising that this movie has already reached #41 on IMDB's top 250 movies of all time list - it certainly deserves the high One of the best movies that I saw in 2006. My wife and I were still talking about it days later. It is not surprising that this movie has already reached #41 on IMDB's top 250 movies of all time list - it certainly deserves the high praise it has received. Some viewers might be put off by the brutal scenes and it is certainly not young kids (the R-rating is a clue people!) Pan's Labyrinth is beautiful, thrilling and poignant. Unless you are looking for Disney fare or think films with subtitles are too taxing, you will enthralled. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilO.May 30, 2007
A masterpiece which inextricably links fantasy, drama, suspense, horror, and socio-political history to perfection, which instructs us of the malevolent nature of man, but also of the redeeming, hopeful and powerful force of imagination. A A masterpiece which inextricably links fantasy, drama, suspense, horror, and socio-political history to perfection, which instructs us of the malevolent nature of man, but also of the redeeming, hopeful and powerful force of imagination. A display of on-screen magic perfectly crafted by Del Toro. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattF.May 30, 2007
I would definitely agree with many of the reviewers of the film in that Pan's Labyrinth is better than pretty much anything I've seen in recent memory. This is due neither to it being a foreign film or it being made out of the I would definitely agree with many of the reviewers of the film in that Pan's Labyrinth is better than pretty much anything I've seen in recent memory. This is due neither to it being a foreign film or it being made out of the Hollywood system. If the film is separated into it's constituent parts - acting or special effects or cinematography - there are, I will give you, better films made. But what makes this film stand out is its tapestry use of these constituencies. The special effects, for example, are not made to form the alltogether trite "spectacle" reaction. The acting as well doesn't have the crying breakdown scene, another form of hollywood-derived spectacle. The film, rather, is a study in subtlety. The story does not call for crappy remake King Kong special effects, its cinematography is subdued to counterpoint some of the ultraviolent scenes, etcetera etcetera. With that said, I was actually a bit disappointed with how the fantasy realm was set up. The child was obviously utilizing this fantasy to escape the militaristic strife around her yet her fantasies did not, for me, become enough of an escape. They were still too rooted in a realism - a non-eden, non-childlike state - that left me understanding a dichotomy that wasn't entirely functional. Overall great stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DD.May 31, 2007
Average movie....Didn't get the hype. A little strange but nothing worth what was built up for this movie.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
PEMay 5, 2007
A very disappointing film, especially after all the hype. The characters are crudely drawn to the point of parody and the fantasy sequences lack magic. The Fascists are laughably evil and the resistance fighters handsome and are noble. This A very disappointing film, especially after all the hype. The characters are crudely drawn to the point of parody and the fantasy sequences lack magic. The Fascists are laughably evil and the resistance fighters handsome and are noble. This is a travesty of a war film married to a poorly-realised fantasy. The cop-out ending is especially irritating. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
TracyC.Jun 13, 2007
Grossly and unnecessarily violent.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
EricE.Jun 14, 2007
I felt totally ripped off by this movie. Nowhere in the ads, commercials, or anything I heard about this film, did it say the movie was in spanish. Granted the back of the DVD had a small box that said it was in spanish, but, since theI felt totally ripped off by this movie. Nowhere in the ads, commercials, or anything I heard about this film, did it say the movie was in spanish. Granted the back of the DVD had a small box that said it was in spanish, but, since the commercials talked about other films he was involved with, I didn't think to look to see it was not in english. Not once in any commercials I saw for the film did any of the characters speak to show that it was in a different language than the majority of DVDs that you hear about on english channels on TV. I have no problems with spanish movies, I would just like to know they are in spanish before spending my money on them and not being able to return them because they are opened. In the least you would think that a movie would have an english track on it since it was being advertised so heavily (and IMO deceptively) on all types of english channels. Looking back on the advertising I saw how deceptive they were in their ads. Not once did they show anyone speaking. They just showed some graphics, then talked about the producer and the other films he's done (english speaking movies), and then compared it to the Lord of the Rings. It might be a great movie but they should be honest about it and say that it is subtitled in english or that it is in spanish. That is what I am mad about. That is what I will be sure to look for on any future purchases! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
TimF.Jun 19, 2007
Good movie, yes. but perfect? a 10/10? No. Critics have seriously over-hyped this movie don't go along expecting to see the movie of the year and you will be richly rewarded rather than slightly disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LisbethJ.Jun 19, 2007
Great movie. Really beautiful and touching. I wouldn't give it the highest vote though, because it's not the best movie I've ever seen, but it's very good. If you like movies that are visual stunning, has an adventurous Great movie. Really beautiful and touching. I wouldn't give it the highest vote though, because it's not the best movie I've ever seen, but it's very good. If you like movies that are visual stunning, has an adventurous story and will move you, you should watch it. If you only like action packed comedy or movies that will leave you with a happy feeling, you shouldn't watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatthewH.Jun 20, 2007
I do not believe this movie was ever over hyped, for e.g star wars episode1 suffered greatly to over-hyping, what this movie got was critical acclaim. The difference being, this film was not forced down our throats with advertising, but I do not believe this movie was ever over hyped, for e.g star wars episode1 suffered greatly to over-hyping, what this movie got was critical acclaim. The difference being, this film was not forced down our throats with advertising, but instead critics and people all found the film highly enjoyable. That said, going into it i was scared of the fact it was subtitled might distract me away from the on screen fun, I'm happy to say it didn't, in fact helped the story feel even more of an escape. It is a fairy tale for adults, and one which i believe should be seen by everyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JordanR.Jun 21, 2007
Instantly in my top 5. Emotionally complex and dark, not a kids movie, although for adults this film is wildly entertaining and insightful to our own inner child as we find courage to face our biggest fears and challenges every day. Instantly in my top 5. Emotionally complex and dark, not a kids movie, although for adults this film is wildly entertaining and insightful to our own inner child as we find courage to face our biggest fears and challenges every day. Beautifully crafted with unexpected and likable (though not all human) characters, spot on acting, and brilliant cinematography brings a unique blend of drama & suspense like no other film I've seen before. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterJ.Jun 22, 2007
Excellent movie. This film had every possible emotion in it and played it out perfectly. The guy that gave it a two would probably enjoy NORBIT.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
Ashl.Jun 25, 2007
One of the most boring movies I have seen in a long time. I hate fantasy movies and this one is just an adult's wet dream. Can somebody in the fantasy genre please tell the writers to get over the come-to-life trees. 98 by metacritic... One of the most boring movies I have seen in a long time. I hate fantasy movies and this one is just an adult's wet dream. Can somebody in the fantasy genre please tell the writers to get over the come-to-life trees. 98 by metacritic... this site is flawed! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
MegB.Jun 26, 2007
Excellent film, very well done. Much darker than I expected. I've recommended it to several people since I saw it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AbbylJun 28, 2007
This movie was beyond my greatest expectations. I would recommend this movie to anyone and everyone who likes a mind blowing movie. It was intense and very real, but magical.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkB.Jun 29, 2007
Excellent film, through and through. For the few people who posted on here and said that it was filled with unnecessary violence: I agree and I disagree, and I think you missed the point. Here's what I mean: The entire point is that the Excellent film, through and through. For the few people who posted on here and said that it was filled with unnecessary violence: I agree and I disagree, and I think you missed the point. Here's what I mean: The entire point is that the violence IS unnecessary, and ultimately inconsequential. But it was necessary for the director to show this violence because he's making a point about fascism. It is necessary to see that the consequences of blind obedience and fascism is unnecessary and meaningless deaths. Get it? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JasminC.Jun 29, 2007
Trite and overdone, hoping to score authenticity points with excessive violence.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AdrianneZ.Jul 1, 2007
If you love fantasy you'll love this movie, if you hate fantasy you'll still love this movie. One of the best movies I have ever seen. This movie executes everything it tries to do perfectly. The beautiful thing is even though this If you love fantasy you'll love this movie, if you hate fantasy you'll still love this movie. One of the best movies I have ever seen. This movie executes everything it tries to do perfectly. The beautiful thing is even though this whole movie is in Spanish, you understand it all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisCJul 14, 2007
Outstanding. Del Toro managed to mix innocence,fear and politics with a fairytale. The way Del Toro built up the climax of the movie was just perfect to give this sdult fairyutale a fantastic ending. Splendid script and genius photography.Outstanding. Del Toro managed to mix innocence,fear and politics with a fairytale. The way Del Toro built up the climax of the movie was just perfect to give this sdult fairyutale a fantastic ending. Splendid script and genius photography. The movie was outstanding and didnt need a great score to make it better like other movies, but Navarrete's score is a classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GordonS.Jul 17, 2007
I liked it. I don't agree with such a high marks though. There was quite a few boring scenes that didn't bring much or help building the atmosphere.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
****Jul 18, 2007
Another breathtaking example of the incomprehensible talent Guillermo del Toro has at his disposal. And to echo the discourteous Lena J, kiss my ass Fredrick T!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TBirdJul 2, 2007
For me this movie was perfect in every way. I encourage everyone to view it and form their own opinion as this movie deserves to be watched and discussed by all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatC.Jul 3, 2007
The final chapter of the movie Fantasia is presented as a musical exposition of the interaction between the profane and the sacred. In Pan;s Labyrinth, we see this interaction fully formed in plot and characters to create a photoplay of The final chapter of the movie Fantasia is presented as a musical exposition of the interaction between the profane and the sacred. In Pan;s Labyrinth, we see this interaction fully formed in plot and characters to create a photoplay of undeniable insight and power. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NormL.Aug 14, 2007
Awesome. Stirring. Take your breath away.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SiniH.Aug 16, 2007
Very sad and fantastic with solid story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SaulS.Aug 20, 2007
The Best fantastic movie, and the best, he made for a Mexican.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewR.Aug 26, 2007
Anyone who gives this movie less than a 9-- is just plain dumb. too dumb to figure out what a good movie is. this movie was brilliant, probably one of the best films I've seen in my life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertK.Aug 5, 2007
One of the few film whose images return, invited or not, nearly a year later. Although I began to focus on the underlying structure on repeat viewing the first experience was as close to a dream I wanted to awaken from but couldn't as One of the few film whose images return, invited or not, nearly a year later. Although I began to focus on the underlying structure on repeat viewing the first experience was as close to a dream I wanted to awaken from but couldn't as any visual art in recent years. (You close your eyes hoping the image will have passed; it's usually that much more intense.). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricG.Aug 6, 2007
Here's what I think: Pan's Labyrinth, above all, is about being true to oneself. It is about doing the right thing in the face of evil and horrible consequences. It is about rebelling in the face of wrong, it is about trusting Here's what I think: Pan's Labyrinth, above all, is about being true to oneself. It is about doing the right thing in the face of evil and horrible consequences. It is about rebelling in the face of wrong, it is about trusting one's inner instincts. It is about life in the face of death, right in the face of wrong. The ending captures the essence of the afterlife so beautifully, and captures the paradox of the tragedy on earth that it remains both strangely beautiful and despairing at once. The plot, characters, cinematography, acting, all function as a driving force to drive this theme home. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LydiaJ.Sep 10, 2007
This is clearly a brilliant film, a "fairy tale" for adults. Surely anyone who has lived at least 45 years recognizes the fact that evil tends to masquerade as innocence and beauty. Bravo to Guillermo Del Toro for creating a film that gives This is clearly a brilliant film, a "fairy tale" for adults. Surely anyone who has lived at least 45 years recognizes the fact that evil tends to masquerade as innocence and beauty. Bravo to Guillermo Del Toro for creating a film that gives words, and image, to the all so painful truths of life, and human behavior. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MasherM.Sep 1, 2007
Pan's Labyrinth is by far the best movie of the year. Guillermo del toro combines a brutal war drama, with a beautifull and breathtaking fantasy. The ending is an incredible mix of sorrow, joy, triumph, and revenge. If you have not seen Pan's Labyrinth is by far the best movie of the year. Guillermo del toro combines a brutal war drama, with a beautifull and breathtaking fantasy. The ending is an incredible mix of sorrow, joy, triumph, and revenge. If you have not seen it yet do not listen to the few stupid and deluded individuals who believe Pan's Labyrinth is a bad movie. See Pan's Labyrinth yourself, and prepare to be blown away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MiguelB.Sep 20, 2007
This movie is an instant classic, a master piece, something you haven´t seen before, some people didn't like the end, well the thing is that there is no end, the movie is so ambiguous, that you can choose an end, you can choose to This movie is an instant classic, a master piece, something you haven´t seen before, some people didn't like the end, well the thing is that there is no end, the movie is so ambiguous, that you can choose an end, you can choose to believe that Ofelia died in vain and that fairies never existed or you can choose to believe that she made a change, and some sort of "heaven" awaits for people who do the right thing, which most of the times is the difficult painful thing, in other words you can choose to be Vidal or to be Ofelia, it´s called free will, remember that the pan never forced Ofelia into nothing, she chose her path, the one she thought was the right one, and she lived with the consequences. People who bash this movie do it because they were expecting a clear end, they were expecting the director to take them by the hand and show them the way out of this madness, they couldn't stand the stress of the overwhelming ambiguity and uncertainty of the film, but it is ok because that was the intention of the film, (in other words you feel like Ofelia did, you feel lost, and you choose to believe what you think is right) This is not the never ending story kind of film where everybody lives happy for ever and ever, or the labyrinth where Sarah and her brother Toby return home safely. Hmmm or is it?? Greetings from Mexico. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful