Picturehouse | Release Date: December 29, 2006
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2214 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,925
Mixed:
155
Negative:
134
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
JoeD.Sep 21, 2007
Definitely not worthy of a 98. I was expecting a movie that changes the way I view the world, not a confused, clumsy collage of characters and images that pre-date this movie, in some cases, by decades. Plus, with two exceptions, the acting Definitely not worthy of a 98. I was expecting a movie that changes the way I view the world, not a confused, clumsy collage of characters and images that pre-date this movie, in some cases, by decades. Plus, with two exceptions, the acting was terrible. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCNov 1, 2008
This movie is easily the best movie ever made (in my opinion). Del Toro blends fantasy and reality perfectly. The movie is beautiful and flawless, and shows brutality and innocence. Those hate it should go back to watching Meet the SpartansThis movie is easily the best movie ever made (in my opinion). Del Toro blends fantasy and reality perfectly. The movie is beautiful and flawless, and shows brutality and innocence. Those hate it should go back to watching Meet the Spartans or Epic Movie, since you obviously don't know what a real film is. A perfect 10/10 for Pan's Labyrinth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ESJan 15, 2008
why would I want to subject myself of a Peter Pan / Hostel hybrid movie(but well shot)? Because it's critically acclaimed. I learned that you can't always rely on critic reviews for good movies to watch. I found this moviewhy would I want to subject myself of a Peter Pan / Hostel hybrid movie(but well shot)? Because it's critically acclaimed. I learned that you can't always rely on critic reviews for good movies to watch. I found this movie disturbing, and not in a good horror flick kind of way... more like... distasteful. It's like a stark antithesis of Pixar's Ratatouille. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JeanBJan 21, 2008
This movie is definitely not a fantasy film. If you judge by the normal measures of cinema, and not by your own arbitrary expectations, you will find an truly epic film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JanetCDec 22, 2008
A BEAUTIFUL anti-Fascist allegory, which can also be enjoyed merely on a surface, aesthetic level. Anybody who fails to be impressed by this has no heart, no soul and no mind. Flawless in concept, casting and execution.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CooperH.Jan 26, 2008
I have never fallen so much in love with a story before seeing this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkD.Jan 29, 2008
Stunning visuals and a great story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
anonymousanonymousFeb 29, 2008
This movie sucked flat out. I really don't see what there was to like about it. The fantasy elements were shallow and simplistic, and lacking in characters, location, and screen time. The real world scenarios were simply mediocre. None This movie sucked flat out. I really don't see what there was to like about it. The fantasy elements were shallow and simplistic, and lacking in characters, location, and screen time. The real world scenarios were simply mediocre. None of the characters were likable or believable. There was no exploration of the mechanisms behind the conflict except for some naive black and white paradigm. The violence was pointless, it was like the movie was trying to reaffirm for two hours "look at this guy, he is EVIL, EVIL, EVIL!". The little girl is a shallow idiot. There was about as much personality in this film as in an aquarium. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JajaMFeb 3, 2008
It was so beautiful shot and i fell in love with the characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BazLMay 13, 2008
Woeful plot. Good animation here and there but thats about all I can say that is good about this movie. Why is it that directors assume their audiences to be dumb and weave about unbelievable plots? Not only that but they give their Woeful plot. Good animation here and there but thats about all I can say that is good about this movie. Why is it that directors assume their audiences to be dumb and weave about unbelievable plots? Not only that but they give their characters 1/2 the IQ of an average person? God help us if Del Toro turns the Hobbit into another Pans labyrinth. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
PedroM.May 15, 2008
Excellent movie. Very entertaining, really a classic. It has lots of violence, but instead of insulting it is sad, and makes one aware that reality is more violent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HugoB.May 17, 2008
Most beautiful, emotional and gripping movie I've ever seen. I was left feeling happy and sad all in one go.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeNMay 20, 2008
Honestly, this film is simply confused. Del Toro should have choosen one story line or the other to be the center of the film and the other story to support and enrich it. As it stands, neither story seems real. That said, the imagery is Honestly, this film is simply confused. Del Toro should have choosen one story line or the other to be the center of the film and the other story to support and enrich it. As it stands, neither story seems real. That said, the imagery is unforgettable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeH.May 24, 2008
Holy Shit! This movie kicked ass! The gory bloody parts are amazing and the fact that it's in a different langauge totally ROCKS!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelM.Jun 1, 2008
Imaginative, amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChenL.Jul 22, 2008
What a beautiful movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
joeqNov 4, 2009
Um, liz S, you just picked the two people who rated below you to comment on, you didn't even read most of the reviews. Also, saying, the movie is perfect doesn't provide any sort of insight or details as to why the film is so Um, liz S, you just picked the two people who rated below you to comment on, you didn't even read most of the reviews. Also, saying, the movie is perfect doesn't provide any sort of insight or details as to why the film is so great, so I'd have to say you're the one who is being "simply ridiculous". I though the film was good movie, and be a big Guillermo del Toro fan certainly doesn't hurt. I though it was creative enough, but also a little excessive at points. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrantZOct 25, 2009
Pans Labyrinth may seem simple at first,but scratch away at the above layers and it's as complex as a film can get. IAre the fairies and things the girl sees make-believe or real. Is it all in her mind, is she mad, or is everyone around Pans Labyrinth may seem simple at first,but scratch away at the above layers and it's as complex as a film can get. IAre the fairies and things the girl sees make-believe or real. Is it all in her mind, is she mad, or is everyone around her mad? Examine the story closely and it can be made more life-like. The fawn that tells the girl to steal the baby and do all this bad stuff could just be paedophile. She lives in a war torn area. So the monster with eyes in it's hands couldbe a blind person, who has been tortured to feel their way around. The film is deep, you have to think to get it and it's also beautifully haunting. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
TomTJan 27, 2009
Brilliant elements, but they don't quite cohere. For me, the graphic ultra-violence limits the appeal. Yet the savagery of the Spanish conflict can hardly be overstated. A friend's father was a youngster who fled his bombed Brilliant elements, but they don't quite cohere. For me, the graphic ultra-violence limits the appeal. Yet the savagery of the Spanish conflict can hardly be overstated. A friend's father was a youngster who fled his bombed provincial town with thousands of civilians, mostly women and children. Every warplane they encountered, of either side, bombed and strafed these innocents. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillLOct 29, 2009
Flawless masterpiece. Unforgettable.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
SammyR.Jan 4, 2009
This movie ripped off it's plot and it's major theme, almost verbatim, from Victor Erice's SPIRIT OF THE BEEHIVE, supplanting elements of the original with the carefully studied window dressing of its fantasy/reality hybrid. This movie ripped off it's plot and it's major theme, almost verbatim, from Victor Erice's SPIRIT OF THE BEEHIVE, supplanting elements of the original with the carefully studied window dressing of its fantasy/reality hybrid. Nothing in it justifies the critical reception it has received; everything this movie has to say and show us has been said before, with more eloquence and less self-important stylistic bombast. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EddieEagleFeb 27, 2009
Outstanding. I wasn't aware of the critical acclaim received by this movie and more stumbled on the film by chance. What a great film it is and it works on so many levels. Very emotive and beautifully shot with some fantastic Outstanding. I wasn't aware of the critical acclaim received by this movie and more stumbled on the film by chance. What a great film it is and it works on so many levels. Very emotive and beautifully shot with some fantastic performances by the lead actors. Del toro cleverly interweaves the fantasy world and the real world proving to be a true master of his art. Bodes well for his next project- the hobbit. If you have not seen this film I would encourage you to check it out and if you do not have a tear in you eye at the end you are made of some stern stuff Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MiguelVApr 2, 2009
This movie has two parts. One explains who where the good guys and bad guys in the Spanish civil war, for the thousandth time and with simple and recognizable stereotypes so there is no chance you miss it. So, If you are a complete moron you This movie has two parts. One explains who where the good guys and bad guys in the Spanish civil war, for the thousandth time and with simple and recognizable stereotypes so there is no chance you miss it. So, If you are a complete moron you must see it, if not, you do yourself a favor passing. The other part is a fantasy plot with nothing new or remotely interesting. I can't believe the rating it got here. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
VRCMay 10, 2009
Poor very poor. I so wanted to like this movie but it missed the mark totally. There was one moment of terror in this movie but was not worth waiting for. A really slow movie with such little substance I am amazed it got such a high rating Poor very poor. I so wanted to like this movie but it missed the mark totally. There was one moment of terror in this movie but was not worth waiting for. A really slow movie with such little substance I am amazed it got such a high rating from critics Avoid. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
goodmovielolzMay 26, 2009
Kevin c is incredibly ignorant. this movie is brilliant. im sorry that some of you are too stupid to understand it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarmineCMay 3, 2009
i hate the people who thinks that they are movie critics, this movie was incredible, this is a horror movie because it was scary compared to the sh*t that you see en discovery kids, Lord of the Rings was also cool kevin c, so when you have a i hate the people who thinks that they are movie critics, this movie was incredible, this is a horror movie because it was scary compared to the sh*t that you see en discovery kids, Lord of the Rings was also cool kevin c, so when you have a smart argument for why it wasnt a great movie, post it here, Miguel V, you and kevin c are the only morons that rated it with a 2, you are not critics, me neither, but i see good movies and i can differ a good movie from a bad one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NickGJul 14, 2009
Trying to balance out the user-score. The movie is violent, but like a previous comment its not Kill Bill like violence, it is cruel and distasteful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulDJul 20, 2009
This may be my favorite movie. I personally interpret the magic / religious elements in the movie as metaphor, although I'm aware of Del Toro's opinion on magic. This film and it's ending are (to me) a profound insight into This may be my favorite movie. I personally interpret the magic / religious elements in the movie as metaphor, although I'm aware of Del Toro's opinion on magic. This film and it's ending are (to me) a profound insight into the human need for religion, the need to believe in life beyond death etc. in a world that is often cruel and without meaning. I'm personally an agnostic but this film gave me a new understanding of the religious mindset. A beautiful film that works on almost every level. Everyone should see it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
BobNJul 29, 2009
Have to agree with another rating, this film is a sort of rip from Spirit of the Beehive. Spirit is less entertaining than Pan's, but it is a deeper and more memorable film. Pan's is a good film, but it does not deserve all the Have to agree with another rating, this film is a sort of rip from Spirit of the Beehive. Spirit is less entertaining than Pan's, but it is a deeper and more memorable film. Pan's is a good film, but it does not deserve all the praise it has gotten. Over-praised but still decent film. Great ending, but boring story. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
9
EmericCAug 11, 2009
Great movie, great actors. But something's missing in the plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LizSAug 16, 2009
Some of the people leaving these ratings are ridiculous... A 5 because it does not deserve all the praise it has gotten.... a 9 because something is missing in the plot.... Simply ridiculous. This movie deserves a 10 in every aspect of Some of the people leaving these ratings are ridiculous... A 5 because it does not deserve all the praise it has gotten.... a 9 because something is missing in the plot.... Simply ridiculous. This movie deserves a 10 in every aspect of cinematography. It is simply perfect and enchanting. It has some much more meaning than most of the films out there playing in theaters at the present moment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
UnknownSep 7, 2009
After reading some of the reader reviews, I have completely lost faith in public opinion - moreso.This hauntingly beautiful foreign fairy tale/war movie, that intricately interplays abstract fantasy, and gritty realism can only be described After reading some of the reader reviews, I have completely lost faith in public opinion - moreso.This hauntingly beautiful foreign fairy tale/war movie, that intricately interplays abstract fantasy, and gritty realism can only be described as one the most provocative films of the decade. The story brilliantly portrays the harsh realities of the Spanish war and a young girl's desperate need to escape it, which leads to a heartbreaking climax which will annoy most, and leave others wallowing in its wondrously ironic metaphor. This is a thinking persons movie, and for those who say complain about the graphic violence, are the types of people who live in complete ignorance and shelter themselves from the realities of war. Although I would have liked to see more the subtly stylized fantasy aspect of the film, I understand why they abruptly cut it short - fairy tales do not last forever. With a haunting soundtrack, brilliantly well told story, fantastic acting and exquisitely disturbing images of the war - this is one film a smart person MUST see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
IcecreamFeb 12, 2010
I give a 5 or 6 but i just cant comprehend how metacritic says its 3rd best film ever!!! I can think of a hundred movies I would watch before this one. Lets think logically here is one russel crowe Gladiator off the top of head is better I give a 5 or 6 but i just cant comprehend how metacritic says its 3rd best film ever!!! I can think of a hundred movies I would watch before this one. Lets think logically here is one russel crowe Gladiator off the top of head is better than this! UNBELIEVABLE. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
9
BillyC.Feb 12, 2010
Modern fantasy tale - as graphic as any of the old Germanic tales. Visually wonderful - one of the very few movies I'd suggest getting on Blu-Ray (Yes, there is a visible difference in this movie).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WIlC.Apr 19, 2010
Absolutely amazing. I still watch it habitually and I am still completely blown away by it every time I watch it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ClintM.May 19, 2010
Original and non comprimising in both script and directing. I am not a fantasy/folklore fan and don't care much for Lord of the Rings nor Harry Potter etc but this movie works and stands on its own as unique, beautifully shot and Original and non comprimising in both script and directing. I am not a fantasy/folklore fan and don't care much for Lord of the Rings nor Harry Potter etc but this movie works and stands on its own as unique, beautifully shot and actedanda middle finger to Hollywood. Guillermo's best movie in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BeesloDec 28, 2006
The ultimate adult fairy tale! Pan's Labyrinth is by far, the best movie of 2006. An artful mixture of adventure and horror, this movie brings out the kid in every adult and at the same time scares it back it into the arms of its The ultimate adult fairy tale! Pan's Labyrinth is by far, the best movie of 2006. An artful mixture of adventure and horror, this movie brings out the kid in every adult and at the same time scares it back it into the arms of its mother. Wonderfully directed and acted and filled with some of the best puppertry, this side of Jim Henson, Pan's Labyrinth easily succeeds in every facet where Mirrormask failed. Its beauty does not sacrifice from its heart and there is plenty of heart in this movie to fill up 10. I cannot stress enough how precious of a film this movie is and it will be long remembered as a modern day classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeDec 29, 2006
Easily one of the top 5 movies of the year. Very few movies change how future movies are made, but this one will. It is a cinema classic. There is almost nothing like it to compare it with. Perhaps Cocteau's "Beaty and the Beast" or Easily one of the top 5 movies of the year. Very few movies change how future movies are made, but this one will. It is a cinema classic. There is almost nothing like it to compare it with. Perhaps Cocteau's "Beaty and the Beast" or "Lord of the Rings" . . . it is that good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlancoA.Dec 31, 2006
Yes, I was a little skeptical after noticing that massive metascore, but this is an absolutely beautiful film which lives up to every expectation of mine. The crowd in my theater was in stunned silence at the end, until a single person Yes, I was a little skeptical after noticing that massive metascore, but this is an absolutely beautiful film which lives up to every expectation of mine. The crowd in my theater was in stunned silence at the end, until a single person started to applaud which led to the entire theater erupting in applause. It's simply the best fim of the year. An instant classic. Here's to hoping this one gets a WIDE release so as many people can be exposed to its grace as possible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NeilH.Dec 31, 2006
There no way of describing this film which does not devalue it. If you care enough about films to read online reviews don't read any more - go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TracyB.Dec 31, 2006
Excellent film- beautifully shot, excellent story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattADec 30, 2006
A Visionary, Emotional, Couragous, Imaginative, Epic Masterpiece. Enough said.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaneD.Dec 31, 2006
I have never been more mesmerized by a film before this one. It is truly a fascinating tale that captivated my interest every second. Amazing acting, directing, cinematography and special effects combines to make a fairy tale that is very I have never been more mesmerized by a film before this one. It is truly a fascinating tale that captivated my interest every second. Amazing acting, directing, cinematography and special effects combines to make a fairy tale that is very deep and moving. I recommend highly to anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LauraH.Jan 11, 2007
Amazing and haunting. This is the best movie I have seen in a very long time. It masters beauty and the grotesque in the same breath. I will definitely be looking up other movies by this director.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DWillyJan 12, 2007
Interesting, yes, occaisionally affecting, OK, but, my god! In no way deserving the numbers that would seem to indicate a great work of art. Some gaps and off-touches don't help: the beautiful mother is a creep, the girl giving into Interesting, yes, occaisionally affecting, OK, but, my god! In no way deserving the numbers that would seem to indicate a great work of art. Some gaps and off-touches don't help: the beautiful mother is a creep, the girl giving into temptation seems stupid, and why doesn't that lady just kill the bastard when she has the chance! Also some things, like the faun, Pan himself, seem a throwback to painfully camp Mexican SciFi. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RobertaL.Jan 12, 2007
I coundn't get past the sickening violence and scenes of torture; I had to leave the room twice, came back to see it to the bitter end, only to find out that violence was entirely gratuitous to an otherwise engaging story.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MananP.Jan 12, 2007
Brilliant. A unique movie going experince.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevensNov 23, 2007
An impeccably structured film with gorgeous parallels and masterful storytelling. Each action served a major purpose to the personality of the character. The baby stopped crying when the captain came in because his prescense alone was soAn impeccably structured film with gorgeous parallels and masterful storytelling. Each action served a major purpose to the personality of the character. The baby stopped crying when the captain came in because his prescense alone was so terrifying that the baby couldn't even make a sound. Mercedes inflicted damage on the captain but didn't make absolute sure before she fled in terror. Ofelia draws the door above her because she knew that was the way she came in and that she'd just end up in a wall.

And to those who say it doesn't have substance, well, that just makes me sad. The film drew beautifully off most classic fairy tales but then threw in ingenious parallels to the real world so some people would have an easier time taking it in context.

My 06 film of the year... so far. There's one left that could knock it out that I have yet to see and will be watching tomorrow called The Lives of Others. I also need to get my hands on a copy of Mutual Appreciation.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BarbaraT.Jan 13, 2007
Intense, chilling, and utterly engrossing. This makes you clearly see how far Hollywood is missing the boat. An original vision and not a sequel in sight.
4 of 6 users found this helpful
10
GuyZ.Jan 13, 2007
Exquisite film making and exquisite story telling. Just far enough away in time for the resonance to today's political scene to truly register. It's so rare to encounter a film that's thematically profound and at the same time Exquisite film making and exquisite story telling. Just far enough away in time for the resonance to today's political scene to truly register. It's so rare to encounter a film that's thematically profound and at the same time completely engrossing and deeply moving also. And the effortlessness of it is inspiring. That Del Toro apprenticed himself in the Hollywood system in order to make something this effective and beautiful inspires hope. A must see. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
EricaK.Jan 13, 2007
I kept waiting for more fairy tale scenes of the labyrinth until I realized that the fairy tale isn't set against postwar Spain, it IS postwar Spain, itself, that is the Labyrinth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MitchellK.Jan 13, 2007
Absolutely beautiful piece of art. Combines a fantastic story with beautiful visuals and above all a haunting presence that keeps you glued to your seat. Guillermo Del Toro really knows how to make a fairy tale for adults and kids alike. Absolutely beautiful piece of art. Combines a fantastic story with beautiful visuals and above all a haunting presence that keeps you glued to your seat. Guillermo Del Toro really knows how to make a fairy tale for adults and kids alike. Mystical, powerful and, above all, brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KurisuD.Jan 14, 2007
The movie is okay. Nothing that deserves all these 10 ratings in my mind. Such high reviews raised my expectations to levels that are just impossible for this movie to achieve. I still gave it an 8 because of its unique story and the The movie is okay. Nothing that deserves all these 10 ratings in my mind. Such high reviews raised my expectations to levels that are just impossible for this movie to achieve. I still gave it an 8 because of its unique story and the unusualness that keeps you wondering what exactly is real, whether or not the fairy tale is bad or good, and what will happen next. The special effects are great and unlike todays movies they add to the story rather than replace it. Bottom line I was just expecting more of a fairy tale movie, but instead was hit with more Rebel and El Capitan scenes. Example: The chalk scene with the monster and food really peeked my interest, but then just abruptly ended without much happening. Also, definitely definitely not for kids (lots of violence and scary characters) Good artistic piece.. definitely recommend watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OliverC.Jan 14, 2007
Truly one of the best films ever made. It's possible that it could have been a little better, but if Gods made movies than the competition would be too unfair.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanC.Jan 14, 2007
I really feel like ive just seen the best movie I'll ever see. The guy who said I was expecting more 'visually' is, um... blind. The girl is the first child actor I not only haven't wanted to strangle but absolutely got I really feel like ive just seen the best movie I'll ever see. The guy who said I was expecting more 'visually' is, um... blind. The girl is the first child actor I not only haven't wanted to strangle but absolutely got it, she understood what was goin on, understood how important she was and how good she had to be. It's a movie that doesn't ad lib, doesnt think about what to stuff in between the start the middle and the end, its so fully realised that its practically too real, thats hard to take! Which is strange for a movie thats based in fantasy - argh so good! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CindyL.Jan 14, 2007
The movie has been billed as a fairy tale for grownups -- I think that's a poor description. It is a movie about cruelty and being in the last place you want to be, and embracing the magic that presents itself. Much of the film The movie has been billed as a fairy tale for grownups -- I think that's a poor description. It is a movie about cruelty and being in the last place you want to be, and embracing the magic that presents itself. Much of the film isn't fairytale at all. It's cruel, horrible, and very difficult to watch. This is not, I say again NOT, a film for children. Ofelia has been torn from her world by the Captain. Those things that have been real to her are gone -- her father is dead, her mother's love is not hers alone anymore, she is in a strange place with strange sounds and strange people, everything feels wrong. Yet in that, and maybe because of that, she embraces the magic around her. Would a happy, well-adjusted child even seek out the labyrinth, even follow the insect fairy in the first place? Maybe it is only when we lack something, when we are lost, that we are willing to embrace something that would seem in a normal situation to be absurd. She never says, "weird!" or "this can't be happening". She never questions what she sees -- it is her possible salvation, and she accepts it straight off. When she sees the moon mark on her shoulder it only convinces her fully of what she had already accepted, and in the very next scene she introduces herself (fearlessly I might add) to the great toad as Princess Morella. She believes it utterly -- why? It feels like she knows that she has no other choice -- this is the way out, the only way out, and she takes it all willingly and bravely. Didn't we all wish to find out that secretly we are princesses and princes, that this life isn't our true life? (I know I did!) She surrenders to the fantasy in order to survive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Jan 14, 2007
Very good, but not the masterpiece it wants to be (and critics are making it out to be). There are three reasons for this: the fascism stuff is a bit too heavy-handed to be as engrossing as the fantasy, there's one unbelievably lazy Very good, but not the masterpiece it wants to be (and critics are making it out to be). There are three reasons for this: the fascism stuff is a bit too heavy-handed to be as engrossing as the fantasy, there's one unbelievably lazy plot turn (Ofelia's actions with the pale man), and Del Toro's violence fetish becomes more and more ridiculous (and unwatchable) as the film goes on. Again, still very good, but 97-good? Nah. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MANov 5, 2007
An awful excuse for a fantasy film. Well shot - that's for sure. but other than that, an utter joke that this has been so highly praised.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
IoannisS.Oct 15, 2007
Innocence triumphs over evil even if in another life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
madsp.Nov 5, 2007
Terrifying, sweet.. Dark, light.. Fantasy, reality... Imagination, truth.. Hope, Despair... Life, death... Pans Labyrinth is one of the best movies of 2006.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CoreyFOct 17, 2007
98? are u kidding me this movie was terribly overhyped and just plain sucked
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ArthurXOct 17, 2007
Those who found fault with the movies use of effects or props, both of which I found to be effective, are choosing to ignore a magnificent piece of art. Del Toro adeptly depicts the profound courage of his characters in a way that is both Those who found fault with the movies use of effects or props, both of which I found to be effective, are choosing to ignore a magnificent piece of art. Del Toro adeptly depicts the profound courage of his characters in a way that is both painful and uplifting. In blending the real with the surreal, he creates an ending that is satisfying yet true to the movie's ambiance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RyanC.Jan 18, 2007
This movie was a major disappointment. I can't say it was horrible because it was generally entertaining with some great visuals, but a 97/100? If this film did not have such an inflated score I would normally have given it a 6 or 7. I This movie was a major disappointment. I can't say it was horrible because it was generally entertaining with some great visuals, but a 97/100? If this film did not have such an inflated score I would normally have given it a 6 or 7. I realise a zero may not be in the best taste but for the sake of future readers the score needs to be lowered. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
10
IvanD.Jan 19, 2007
Simply perfect! All you can say is see it, see it, see it!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyS.Jan 19, 2007
When a movie starts out with the narration- "A long time ago in another world there was a little princess...", you know you're watching a fairy tale. Plain and simple. Not a great metaphorical, deeply meaningful reflection of life, a When a movie starts out with the narration- "A long time ago in another world there was a little princess...", you know you're watching a fairy tale. Plain and simple. Not a great metaphorical, deeply meaningful reflection of life, a fairy tale with breathtaking wonders and horrific evils, damsels in distress and sinister evildoers, places of wondorous glory and stick bug fairies and whether you believe it or not, a place where they lived happily ever after in the end. That said, Pan's Labyrinth is also the most brilliant, intelligent, visually stunning movie of a fairy tale ever filmed! Plain and simple. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErikH.Jan 19, 2007
Ryan C, you do not realize that your vote for a zero isn't going to change the 97 (now 98) metascore you complained about, right? That being said, this was an excellent film with impressive effects and excellent direction. Connecting Ryan C, you do not realize that your vote for a zero isn't going to change the 97 (now 98) metascore you complained about, right? That being said, this was an excellent film with impressive effects and excellent direction. Connecting fantasy with reality is nothing new, but Del Toro is able to craft it in such a way that the connection is more powerful than it has ever been in other films. This is easily one of the best films of 2006. It's a true must see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MozzM.Jan 19, 2007
This is the best most incredibly moving movie since I seen Schindler's List. It has become one of my top ten favorites, the first film to break into my top ten of all time, since I've seen Shawshank Redemption.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlisterL.Jan 21, 2007
[***SPOILERS***] I can see how this movie might alienate some- those demanding a literal fantasy rather than a figurative one were always going to be disappointed ('Damn! I've been forced to think! Won't!). I'll admit I [***SPOILERS***] I can see how this movie might alienate some- those demanding a literal fantasy rather than a figurative one were always going to be disappointed ('Damn! I've been forced to think! Won't!). I'll admit I was also expecting something different, and was delighted by the surprise. This is truly intelligent, layered drama; something to savour again and again. For those who gave it between 0 and 2, don't worry- the cast of polished mannequins that 'starred' in 'The Chronicles of Narnia' will be soon decorating the sequel in a multiplex near you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChipL.Jan 21, 2007
The best anti-war movie I've seen in years. Very intense, very scary and very moving. NOT for children and not for those expecting a fun fantasy. Loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmyA.Jan 21, 2007
This is quite possibly one of the most profound allegorical films you will ever see. It is beautifully terrifying. The scene between the doctor and Vidal after the mercy killing rattles you. It proves that the truly strong are the ones who This is quite possibly one of the most profound allegorical films you will ever see. It is beautifully terrifying. The scene between the doctor and Vidal after the mercy killing rattles you. It proves that the truly strong are the ones who question the powers that be. So many are unwilling to do that in our world. The metaphorical fantasy of Ofelia juxtaposed with the nightmare of Facism is brilliant. I am still deciding what is fanstastic and what is reality. This is a perfect-- and I am not one to use that term loosely--film. I will see it again in the theatre. It is worth every second and every penny. Del Toro is an amazing filmmaker. I hope he receives all of the acclaim that he deserves. It is a film for those who understand history and myth. It isn't for someone who wants to mindlessly be led into an escapist fantasy for 2 hours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisStoikoffDec 14, 2007
Quickly scrolling through the MANY reviews, I see a hell of a lot of Reds and Yellows. RIdiculous. This movie's story is so deep and entrancing as to be an instant classic, but you have to be watching the movie, and getting past the factQuickly scrolling through the MANY reviews, I see a hell of a lot of Reds and Yellows. RIdiculous. This movie's story is so deep and entrancing as to be an instant classic, but you have to be watching the movie, and getting past the fact that there are subtitles to truly appreciate this masterpiece. Knowing Spanish would probably be a great asset to you as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JonKDec 16, 2007
Not nearly as enjoyable as I had expected based on reviews. I hate to say it, but reading the subtitles distracted from the full enjoyment potential of the film. I also had a problem with some of the plot and actions. While there were subtleNot nearly as enjoyable as I had expected based on reviews. I hate to say it, but reading the subtitles distracted from the full enjoyment potential of the film. I also had a problem with some of the plot and actions. While there were subtle things going on that really require a second or third viewing, all good things that add to the masterful art of the film, I simply was uninspired. Sometimes art can be technically correct but not connect. While it clearly connected with many, it didn't with me or my wife. She somewhat strongly disliked it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
R.K.Jan 22, 2007
Was expecting more fantasy and a lot less gore. The cinematography was beautiful, but the characters were very 2 dimensional - desperate woman marries for convenience, cruel military husband, naive girl (or maybe somewhat stupid -would a Was expecting more fantasy and a lot less gore. The cinematography was beautiful, but the characters were very 2 dimensional - desperate woman marries for convenience, cruel military husband, naive girl (or maybe somewhat stupid -would a child with a lick of common sense stop and eat grapes in the lair of a child eating monster while time is running out?), nurturing housekeeper, likeable rebels, despicable Nazis, etc. If you want to see a war movie with blood, torture, and other nasties, go see it. If you want a good fantasy, pass it up. Some reviewers are commenting on the state of the audience at the end of the movie - I took their stunned silence not as a compliment, but more like "What the ....?" Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoeK.Jr.Jan 22, 2007
An absolute masterpiece. Incorporates almost every genre of cinema. I am usually a very serious person who only cries and laughs when needed; but, I cried during this movie and so did everyone in the theater with me. Deserves an oscar for An absolute masterpiece. Incorporates almost every genre of cinema. I am usually a very serious person who only cries and laughs when needed; but, I cried during this movie and so did everyone in the theater with me. Deserves an oscar for best picture of the year!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerZ.Jan 22, 2007
When I saw Guillermo del Toro directed this film, I already knew it was going to be good and I set my expectations high, they werent disapointed. This fairy tale for adults mixes in real monsters with fantasy ones and doesnt coddle you. It When I saw Guillermo del Toro directed this film, I already knew it was going to be good and I set my expectations high, they werent disapointed. This fairy tale for adults mixes in real monsters with fantasy ones and doesnt coddle you. It weaves in and out between the protagonists fantasies and reality. This movie is epic literally and figuratively, the Alice in Wonderland of the 21st century. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JrebJan 22, 2007
The theatre was packed when I went to see this movie so I was in the second row and found it very hard to see what was going on and reading the subtitles was very hard. Overall it was a good movie, but has been misadvertised and overrated. The theatre was packed when I went to see this movie so I was in the second row and found it very hard to see what was going on and reading the subtitles was very hard. Overall it was a good movie, but has been misadvertised and overrated. Worth seeing though, as it was engaging, beautiful, and original. In fact it was one of the most original movies ive seen in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CahJan 22, 2007
thought-provoking, mystifying, spell-binding, intelligent, unexpected, deft, acute; a brilliant exposition of the blurring of our perceptions of what is real, what is intolerable,on what must be tolerated precisely because it is real, and thought-provoking, mystifying, spell-binding, intelligent, unexpected, deft, acute; a brilliant exposition of the blurring of our perceptions of what is real, what is intolerable,on what must be tolerated precisely because it is real, and what realms lie beyond ordinary perception. a deeply engaging film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TalJan 22, 2007
Its so blatantly obvious that people who gave this movie bad reviews came into it with terrible preconceptions or biases about it. Stop reading reviews, and just go see the movie. Movie critics aren't so ridiculous to give a movie this Its so blatantly obvious that people who gave this movie bad reviews came into it with terrible preconceptions or biases about it. Stop reading reviews, and just go see the movie. Movie critics aren't so ridiculous to give a movie this much praise without some true merit. Go see it, and judge for yourself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AllistairP.Jan 23, 2007
Lots of things I liked about it, in fact there was something interesting visually or story wise every minute. Yet it never came together like I would have hoped. Still a great film, just wish it's story pulled some things together a bit Lots of things I liked about it, in fact there was something interesting visually or story wise every minute. Yet it never came together like I would have hoped. Still a great film, just wish it's story pulled some things together a bit better and focused a little more on one thing and not 3. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AriBJan 23, 2007
I went to see this movie expecting a complete fantasy story, but I was pleasantly surprised by this briliant masterpiece. I don't think I've seen a movie truly as great as this; an original story with such intensity that had me on I went to see this movie expecting a complete fantasy story, but I was pleasantly surprised by this briliant masterpiece. I don't think I've seen a movie truly as great as this; an original story with such intensity that had me on the edge of my seat the entire time..and the contrast between the innocence of a child and the brutality of war had me deeply moved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JennJan 24, 2007
This movie is over-rated. After reading the many positive reviews I was a bit dissapointed when I actually saw it myself. I was expecting more fantasy and less history. Overall I would have to say that it didn't live up to high overall This movie is over-rated. After reading the many positive reviews I was a bit dissapointed when I actually saw it myself. I was expecting more fantasy and less history. Overall I would have to say that it didn't live up to high overall ratings or my expectations. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
T.J.Jan 24, 2007
The film is amazing looking and imaginative. The young girl is a terrific actress. But, I still think the film lacks subtlety. It's a comic book world of extreme violence and brutal fascism on one side and innocence and imagination on The film is amazing looking and imaginative. The young girl is a terrific actress. But, I still think the film lacks subtlety. It's a comic book world of extreme violence and brutal fascism on one side and innocence and imagination on the other. Life exists in the gray areas and so does great cinema. Is it really all that brave or interesting to show Franco's fascists as brutal and the rebels as valiant? Surely there's a deeper story here. But, very well acted and imaginative. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DannN.Jan 25, 2007
Awesome film. A wonderfully conceived fairytale too grusome for children. Perhaps that's del Toro's design. To make a fantasy that recreates the childlike horrors and triumphs of traditional fairy tales, but for adult Awesome film. A wonderfully conceived fairytale too grusome for children. Perhaps that's del Toro's design. To make a fantasy that recreates the childlike horrors and triumphs of traditional fairy tales, but for adult sensibilities. Whether that goal was his intent or not...it worked. And wondrously so. (One small flaw: the reason the faun gives for coming back and allowing the young girl a second chance is weak. That could have been fixed. Oh, well.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeithJOct 26, 2007
Possibly the best movie I've ever seen. It's this or Casablanca. I guess the critics thought they were seeing either The Ferryman or Alice In Wonderland. Next time, read some previews first.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronMJan 26, 2007
This movie is thought provoking and well made, not to mention that the fantasy parts of it are sweet, and the war scenes are extremely exciting. This movie is so original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoanneK.Jan 27, 2007
Grisly, at times impossible to watch, sad, lnspiring, amazing. I will definitely see it again - noiw that I know I can stand the brutality, I hope to be able to focus on all those metapphors and allusions. I Icould not stop thinking about Grisly, at times impossible to watch, sad, lnspiring, amazing. I will definitely see it again - noiw that I know I can stand the brutality, I hope to be able to focus on all those metapphors and allusions. I Icould not stop thinking about this movie. Yes, I dreamed abouit it last night. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisK.Jan 27, 2007
The people bashing this movie celarly didn't understand the film. It is a transcendant beautiful film, one that I feel privaleged to have seen. Beautiful acting, an aching story, this is THE definitive film of '06
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SeanS.Jan 27, 2007
Outrageously overrated due to either the lack of good films these days or the lack of knowledge of film history to put this movie in context with the greatness of the past. Should have had more exploration of the labyrinth theme and scenesOutrageously overrated due to either the lack of good films these days or the lack of knowledge of film history to put this movie in context with the greatness of the past. Should have had more exploration of the labyrinth theme and scenes and a more provocative and deeper connection with the "real-life" scenes.
The villain is too one-dimensional. Sure, it looks beautiful but it doesn't really make the meaningful connections that it could have with its promising double story line.
Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful
8
ReidF.Jan 27, 2007
This is definitely not a fantasy film. It is a very dark, bloody, gory, and violent film about war and tyranny that includes some elements of fantasy. It can best be described as gritty surrealism. It is also an excellent movie, directed in This is definitely not a fantasy film. It is a very dark, bloody, gory, and violent film about war and tyranny that includes some elements of fantasy. It can best be described as gritty surrealism. It is also an excellent movie, directed in Spanish by Guillermo del Toro, with superb visual technique and a well-developed story taking place after the Spanish Civil War. In my opinion, there are too many unexplained plot devices and dangling characters, and the ending feels tacked on like an old episode of Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChrisH.Jan 27, 2007
This movie is really about how a girl dissociated from the real world to a fantasy/dream world, in my opinion. So, to be honest, I didn't care for it as much as I wanted to. (And I really wanted to.) I think part of it is that it really This movie is really about how a girl dissociated from the real world to a fantasy/dream world, in my opinion. So, to be honest, I didn't care for it as much as I wanted to. (And I really wanted to.) I think part of it is that it really cheats the fantasy side of the movie, almost to be the equivalent of something like Donnie Darko, although just barely. Yes, it is beautiful, and the acting is very good, save the small girl, who's practically aimless. While it attempts to tie in the fantasy aspects with the real world, it more or less confuses the audience so that, at the end of the movie, you're left feeling, "So what?" It's not bad, but don't be surprised if it's not what you thought it would be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChayesJan 28, 2007
It's an overal good movie, but like most people after watching this movie, I was expecting more "fantasy" scences. I don't agree with the 98 rating it's receiving here, although don't get me wrong it's a good flick It's an overal good movie, but like most people after watching this movie, I was expecting more "fantasy" scences. I don't agree with the 98 rating it's receiving here, although don't get me wrong it's a good flick all-in-all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Sidewinder572Jan 28, 2007
A supposed twenty plus minute standing ovation at the Cannes Film Festival, already in the top one hundred at the Internet Movie Data Base, every major film critic and their mothers are giving this film the highest possible praise. Naturally A supposed twenty plus minute standing ovation at the Cannes Film Festival, already in the top one hundred at the Internet Movie Data Base, every major film critic and their mothers are giving this film the highest possible praise. Naturally I went in hoping for the best and at same time expecting the worst. How can a film with this much praise possibly live up to the hype? Well it does, and then some. El Laberinto del Fauno is the latest film by director Guerillmo Del Toro. It is easily his best work to date. Although I am basing this view having only seen two of his other films (Blade 2 and Hellboy). Those films were entertaining popcorn films. This however is something else all together. El Laberinto del Fauno tells the story of Ofelia (Ivana Baquero) is goes with her pregnant mother (Ariadna Gil) to live with step-father (Sergi López) who is a Captain fighting with the Nationalists at the time of the Spanish Civil War. The film takes place immediately after the war, when small pockets of Loyalists continue fighting the Nationalists. (For more info on the Spanish Civil War read a book) El Laberinto del Fauno however is not a film about the Spanish Civil War. It is a fairy tale and a dark one at that. Where this movie succeeds is that the lines between fantasy and reality are completely blurred and never once to the things happening in the fantasy world contradict those things going on in reality. Ofelia escapes into a fairy tale in order to escape the horrors around her. There are fairies, monsters, and a faun (Doug Jones) that sends her on various tasks. I won Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
UnaiMJan 29, 2007
Absolutely brilliant
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanF.Feb 11, 2007
I was left in awe....this is one of the best movies I have seen. Never once did I check my watch. I was caught up in this bizarre, terrifying, magical, all too real story from the first seconds to the final frame. Bravo to all involved with I was left in awe....this is one of the best movies I have seen. Never once did I check my watch. I was caught up in this bizarre, terrifying, magical, all too real story from the first seconds to the final frame. Bravo to all involved with this film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshCFeb 11, 2007
Anybody who has seen this movie doesn't need me to further extol its virtues. I am merely posting to laugh at the contrary so-and-so's who have decided to slate the film, for no reason other than to make a scene! These are the same Anybody who has seen this movie doesn't need me to further extol its virtues. I am merely posting to laugh at the contrary so-and-so's who have decided to slate the film, for no reason other than to make a scene! These are the same people who say that they don't like The Godfather, The Shawshank Redemption and Singing In The Rain. Come on, stop lying to yourselves. Pan's Labyrinth was an unarguable masterpiece, convincing and enchanting on a number of levels, in a world where most films released fail to do so on one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MATHIASMoschelFeb 13, 2007
I have never ever thought I might be writing an opinion regarding a movie on a website but this one left me looking all over the net for more information about it. The soundtrack is running all day long on my computer and I already went I have never ever thought I might be writing an opinion regarding a movie on a website but this one left me looking all over the net for more information about it. The soundtrack is running all day long on my computer and I already went seeing it twice. "Hauntingly beautiful" and "magic realism" is what some say and I totally agree. It seems that the more you see it, the better it gets. Certainly the best movie I have ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmarB.Feb 15, 2007
Restores my faith in the power of filmmaking to transcend the quotidian. It takes us to places we could never have imagined. There is hope after all. Easily the best movie of year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamFeb 18, 2007
P.L. was indeed very gory. While I was walking out, some people thought was not needed, which I have to disagree with. Let me say that I'm usually not all that affected by the common movies violence, but P.L. had a unique twist that P.L. was indeed very gory. While I was walking out, some people thought was not needed, which I have to disagree with. Let me say that I'm usually not all that affected by the common movies violence, but P.L. had a unique twist that actaully made me aware of how horrible it trully was. So I have to give props, not many movies can do that for me. The movies fantasy attribute was very unique and eye opening, while the horror and suspense made a true villian. I loved it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
B.F.Feb 18, 2007
Quite simply, one of the most imaginative and original movies I've seen in a long time. Instantly one of favorite movies ever. It's executed almost perfectly on every level.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AngieH.Feb 18, 2007
I have real mixed feelings on this one. It is visually stunning, but there's quite a bit of violence that starts to feel gratuitious and exploitative. The critics seems to gloss over this point. Definitely not for kids.
0 of 2 users found this helpful