Picturehouse | Release Date: December 29, 2006
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2326 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,030
Mixed:
162
Negative:
134
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MichaelN.Jan 20, 2007
I think this was an allegory about the rebirth of Spain after the Franco years. I lived in the country in the '80s and what happened after Franco died was born in the years this movie takes place. It's too much to go into here, but I think this was an allegory about the rebirth of Spain after the Franco years. I lived in the country in the '80s and what happened after Franco died was born in the years this movie takes place. It's too much to go into here, but it seems to fit very well. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamB.Jul 20, 2008
A very entertaining movie with some violence and a fantastic fairy tale central story.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SherryB.Feb 18, 2007
I loved this movie one of the best I've seen in a long time, not for small children though this is a film for adults, I think alot of people forget that this is set in a period where times were tough and you have to work to survive. I loved this movie one of the best I've seen in a long time, not for small children though this is a film for adults, I think alot of people forget that this is set in a period where times were tough and you have to work to survive. Highly recommened. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RichYApr 14, 2008
I missed this in the cinema and on DVD but finally watched it on TV, and it more than lives up to the critics score. I haven't watched a subtitled film in years and was worried that it would be distracting, but the film keeps such a I missed this in the cinema and on DVD but finally watched it on TV, and it more than lives up to the critics score. I haven't watched a subtitled film in years and was worried that it would be distracting, but the film keeps such a hold on you that you're virtually reading them subconsciously. The idiots who scored 0 for this film are the ones that can't watch and read at the same time, or just refuse to accept that a foreign language film can be good too! Maybe if it was dubbed they would have scored it higher? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AliceM.Jul 11, 2008
The most beautiful and shocking film I've ever seen. It's incredibly imaginative, with a perfect mixture of fantasy and reality interwoven. I can't really fault it. I was genuinely moved by it, it even got me crying. If The most beautiful and shocking film I've ever seen. It's incredibly imaginative, with a perfect mixture of fantasy and reality interwoven. I can't really fault it. I was genuinely moved by it, it even got me crying. If you're feeling strong enough for some very serious cinema, I highly recommend it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AdrianB.Feb 10, 2009
The only movie you need to see before you die
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JRMMJan 3, 2010
Few movies are perfect: Pan's Labyrinth is one of the perfect ones. Truly one of the greatest fantasy films ever made. Among my top 20 favorite films of all time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
gabrielFeb 9, 2010
I thought this movie was fantastic. The acting was superb. I don't understand why people are complaining about the movie being too violent. It was my understanding that war is a bloody horrific thing. Hm. Maybe I'm wrong? Also, In I thought this movie was fantastic. The acting was superb. I don't understand why people are complaining about the movie being too violent. It was my understanding that war is a bloody horrific thing. Hm. Maybe I'm wrong? Also, In my opinion this movie was about a young girl using her imagination to help her escape and cope with the traumatic situation she was in. I thought it made perfect sense that the movie didn't focus that much on the fantasy element, which I saw upset some reviewers. Lastly, in regards to Nathaniel Z.'s comment, Ofelia and Ophelia are both correct. As you should know, names are spelled differently, constantly. Get used to it. And, she was bleeding out of her nose, because it is possible that after she got shot in the stomach that she had internal bleeding. Please, do your own research before criticizing the absolutely dumbest things. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RebeccaJan 15, 2007
This movie wasn't what I was expecting coming into it. I did not read up on the movie because I did not want the plot spoiled, so I missed the part where it said it was subtitled. I do not mind subtitles, but was not expecting it for This movie wasn't what I was expecting coming into it. I did not read up on the movie because I did not want the plot spoiled, so I missed the part where it said it was subtitled. I do not mind subtitles, but was not expecting it for this movie. Other than that I really enjoyed the plot and the visual effects. It was shocking, gritty and had me on the edge of my seat. I will be buying this movie when it comes out on DVD. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
WalterC.Jan 21, 2007
The merits of Pan's Labyrinth have been pretty well documented. Just look at the other users saying it's the greatest thing they've ever seen. It's definitely got some good points to it. Being marketed as a fairy tale for The merits of Pan's Labyrinth have been pretty well documented. Just look at the other users saying it's the greatest thing they've ever seen. It's definitely got some good points to it. Being marketed as a fairy tale for grown-ups, and with about half of the scenes in the trailer looking like an amped up Chronicles of Narnia, I assumed it would be equal parts fantasy and reality. Like many others, I was disappointed to find that the film only had about 15 or 20 minutes of fantasy in it. The rest focusing on an evil stepfather, a mother who makes bad choices, and a plane of reality where people are generally just jerks to each other. Had I gone into this thinking it was going to be a suspensful drama about how lousy life was for that group of people, I would have wondered why they decided to tack on the subplot about the girl's imaginary friends. But even then, any verisimilitude in the "realist" narrative is clouded by hyperbollic characters that are just as over-the-top as a 7-foot faun. Pan's Labyrinth is enjoyable, but certainly not the best movie in its genre, of its time, or even of this year. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NicholasW.Oct 21, 2007
Ya, I guess I can't understand the low ratings either, I guess if the moive wasn't for you...than an 8 maybe..I haven't seen many movies this good...this is a really good movie- period- the 4's I see I just can't Ya, I guess I can't understand the low ratings either, I guess if the moive wasn't for you...than an 8 maybe..I haven't seen many movies this good...this is a really good movie- period- the 4's I see I just can't make sense of...definitely worthy of a 98 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SeanS.Jan 22, 2007
Wow. Pan's Labyrinth is easily the finest movie I've seen this year. The deck is stacked against it (see Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon), but this is a foreign language film finer than most Best Picture winners and quite clearly Wow. Pan's Labyrinth is easily the finest movie I've seen this year. The deck is stacked against it (see Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon), but this is a foreign language film finer than most Best Picture winners and quite clearly deserving of the award. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlexS.Jan 24, 2007
Breathtaking, I liken it to a Miyazaki film. Just utterly fantastic and unforgettable.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PatK.Jan 26, 2007
If you expect a fantasy film, keep in mind fantasy is more than Tolkein and Lewis. Before them, fantasy and folklore were about the darker aspects of life and developed to attempt to explain the unexplainable cruelty, capricious and uncaring If you expect a fantasy film, keep in mind fantasy is more than Tolkein and Lewis. Before them, fantasy and folklore were about the darker aspects of life and developed to attempt to explain the unexplainable cruelty, capricious and uncaring aspects of life. This movie is every bit a fantasy in this respect. Like the labyrinth (not the "maze" but the religious version, pictured on the floor of the chamber) each person's life is an attempt to navigate an often tortuous path without a clear destination - every character in this film does so, with those falling away suffering the physical and metaphysical consequences of doing so. The fixing of the broken watch, the pantomimed versus real knife-at-the-throat moments, the echoes upon echoes all suffuse the film with, like many a fairy tale, implied choice and consequence. I cannot wait for the DVD to continue to explore the many character contrasts in the film, and number del Toro amongst the truly great storytellers. If you went in expecting mindless fluff, you haven't seen a del Toro film before. He is a craftsman in an era of shallow and artless direction. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JOhnJan 20, 2007
This film was excellent. To those who scored below and gave the film a low rating because it didn't contain enough fantasy...you missed the point. The fantasy backdrop was brillantly, and purposefully used, as a mirror to the real world This film was excellent. To those who scored below and gave the film a low rating because it didn't contain enough fantasy...you missed the point. The fantasy backdrop was brillantly, and purposefully used, as a mirror to the real world events unfolding in the film. If the film was more of a "pure fantasy" then that aspect of the film (the political allegory) would have been lost. Loved it. Fantastic. See this and Children of Men back to back. Both great, intelligent, politically charged films that don't pander to the crass, thoughtless impulses of most films. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AbeV.Jan 28, 2007
This was a brilliant movie. I really can't say enough great things about this film except that I loved it. Ever since seeing the preview I knew I had to see it, and it didn't let me down. It was every bit as tragic and glorious as This was a brilliant movie. I really can't say enough great things about this film except that I loved it. Ever since seeing the preview I knew I had to see it, and it didn't let me down. It was every bit as tragic and glorious as I'd hoped. I think it may be one of the greatest accomplishments of cinema thus far. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnA.Jan 7, 2007
I was fascinated by this film - Ivana Baquero evoked all the horrors of a child caught up in the European (Spanish) 20th Century. It wrenches us between the brutal real world with that of a girl's fantasy - or is it a fantasy? A I was fascinated by this film - Ivana Baquero evoked all the horrors of a child caught up in the European (Spanish) 20th Century. It wrenches us between the brutal real world with that of a girl's fantasy - or is it a fantasy? A gut-wrenching film that left me stunned - something that rarely happens any more to this jaded old guy... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LarryM.Feb 3, 2007
A great movie, but not for the squemish.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanaM.Feb 4, 2007
I don't usually give movies 10s. But this one is special. Savage at times, mystical fantasy thorughout, this is a must see. Be ready to read the subtitles, but worth the effort.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KuldeepT.Feb 5, 2007
An amazing visionary movie. A masterpiece. American cinema has been needing some re-invigoration and with no surprise it comes from outside the establishment. The striking analogy to today's headlines and political climate should not be An amazing visionary movie. A masterpiece. American cinema has been needing some re-invigoration and with no surprise it comes from outside the establishment. The striking analogy to today's headlines and political climate should not be missed (i.e. military fascism, torture etc). This is a real contribution to the art of cinema, a landmark film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DariusFeb 6, 2007
The film was mesmerizing. Brilliant political allegories and biblical parables, makes this a hard-to-miss-film. absolutely beautiful.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TrevorM.Mar 1, 2007
The best movie of the year- beautiful, magical, haunting, and suspensful. Who knew bloody and beautiful would be in the same movie??
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MiguelM.Mar 18, 2007
It's a bit boring, but visually powerful, the "real" part it's too simple, the fantastic part it's beautifull. Overrated and hype, but it's worth seen it. Greetings from Spain.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BretG.Mar 2, 2007
It's not often you see anything with a score this high on Metacritic, so I just had to see this movie and I was awestruck. At every point in the movie I was either contemplating "what this is" or "what this could be", gasping in utter It's not often you see anything with a score this high on Metacritic, so I just had to see this movie and I was awestruck. At every point in the movie I was either contemplating "what this is" or "what this could be", gasping in utter horrorstricken suspense or gripping my seat, ect. Truly a great and very original movie. Although I half expected David Bowie to pop out at anytime to sing "Dance magic dance!" This is a movie that certainly doesnt disappoint, unless you want to see Davie Bowie pop out to sing "Dance magic dance!" maybe in spanish, theres nothing wrong with that I guess. David Bowie is cool man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamM.Mar 24, 2007
Perfect film, a beautiful story with a brilliant ending. Best film I've seen in a very long time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoeAverageMar 5, 2007
Off the top of my head, 'bittersweet' and 'lyrical' are two adjectives that come to mind. Could come up with countless more. Will stay with you forever...
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KidA.Mar 9, 2007
This is the most beautiful film I have ever seen.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MelissaW.Mar 9, 2007
The best film I have seen in the past 5 years. Del Toro has finally achieved the perfection he was close to in Devil's Backbone. After a few dull years I am actually inspired by the medium again.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
FrennB.Apr 2, 2007
I'm a little bit surprised that so many critics, and viewers have given this film a 10. I think it's a beautiful, disturbing movie, and I would give it 8.5, cause I feel it stops short of true greatness only just. But a 10? Not I'm a little bit surprised that so many critics, and viewers have given this film a 10. I think it's a beautiful, disturbing movie, and I would give it 8.5, cause I feel it stops short of true greatness only just. But a 10? Not sure. I'm a Spaniard, so I had the advantage of watching the movie in my mother tongue and accent. I happen to like a lot Sergi Garcia, from his earlier movies in France and Spain. He's great at comedy, and outstanding as a villain, as in this movie here. Maribel Verdu is a thirty-something actress who's been in movies since I was a kid (so was she), and is also a fine actress. The girl, Ivana Baquero, is also pretty good. So the acting is very good. The plot is OK-ish, if somewhat predictable , but it's well told, edited and beautifully shot. The imaginary and the real world are very well put together. The music is also beautiful, and falls into the "haunting" category so sought after nowadays, especially in a fairy-tale movie like this. I loved this film, and I strongly recommend it to anyone, but I wouldn't go to the cinema expecting a masterpiece, cause it ain't one! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MH.Apr 5, 2007
This is a great film for several reasons and I personally enjoyed it thoroughly, but it is hated by many who expected a charming flick about little girls befriending mythical creatures. The only real criticisms seem to be that there was too This is a great film for several reasons and I personally enjoyed it thoroughly, but it is hated by many who expected a charming flick about little girls befriending mythical creatures. The only real criticisms seem to be that there was too much violence and not enough fantasy, which already would suggest that the people who use these criticisms simply went to see the wrong film (and would probably have been more content to rent out Disney Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackL.May 20, 2007
Wow. This isn't a fantasy movie like it seems to be getting labled, but it is a masterpiece. It's got such an amazing amount of depth, and a story that is just as stunning as its visuals, and thats saying a lot. They're not as Wow. This isn't a fantasy movie like it seems to be getting labled, but it is a masterpiece. It's got such an amazing amount of depth, and a story that is just as stunning as its visuals, and thats saying a lot. They're not as off the wall crazy as Lord of the Rings, they're more akin to a great painting. Simple and beautiful. If this film doesn't move you emotionally, and hit your soul like a ton of bricks, than you're a complete, heartless monster. And I'm dead serous about that. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobertH.May 30, 2007
An uncompromising fantasy epic. One of the very best of 2006.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PizzleRizzleMay 5, 2007
I'm somewhat of a pessimist in general going into movies, and this case is no different. This movie was absolutely not what I expected in any sense. That being said, I was enthralled from start to finish. I viewed everything from the I'm somewhat of a pessimist in general going into movies, and this case is no different. This movie was absolutely not what I expected in any sense. That being said, I was enthralled from start to finish. I viewed everything from the perspective of the girl, and truly enjoyed the blurred lines between fantasy and reality. It was impossible to know where the girl's mind ended and reality started. The shocking violence was also refreshing. Only disney made fairy tales family-friendly. Hansel and Gretel is one of the most brutal and disturbing stories for a child. Their parents abandoned them, a witch tried to cannibalize them, and then they murdered her via fire. This film is what a fairy tale is supposed to be: invigorating, tragic, and thought-provoking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DrewMay 7, 2007
Honestly this is one of the best movies I've ever seen. Superbly acted, and written, this movie is just masterfully crafted around reality and an escape from the rough life of a young spanish girl who is living through Franco'sHonestly this is one of the best movies I've ever seen. Superbly acted, and written, this movie is just masterfully crafted around reality and an escape from the rough life of a young spanish girl who is living through Franco's Spain in 1944. Just a great movie, do yourself a favor and watch it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KeetonJohnsonJun 1, 2007
This movie is probably the most wierd movie you'll ever see, yet one of the most amazing. A mix of horror and fantasy, with a dose of reality stuck in there. Even if you don't speak Spanish, and have to read the subtitles, unless This movie is probably the most wierd movie you'll ever see, yet one of the most amazing. A mix of horror and fantasy, with a dose of reality stuck in there. Even if you don't speak Spanish, and have to read the subtitles, unless you hate to read, you should love this movie. Great music accompanies some great acting. I just wish it would have shown more of Ofelia's adventure and less of the war. One of the greatest movies of 2006. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradCJun 25, 2007
Perfect. Instant classic. Movies do not get any better then this.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
CTJun 2, 2007
A modern version of classical fairy tales before they were Disney-fied or even Victorianized. A cautionary tale set in a world mixing fantasy and reality, with a child heroine having to make life and death decisions yet showing her naivety A modern version of classical fairy tales before they were Disney-fied or even Victorianized. A cautionary tale set in a world mixing fantasy and reality, with a child heroine having to make life and death decisions yet showing her naivety and innocence until the very last frame. Reflects a place where children are much more involved in the brutality of war and nature; something most Western children are removed from except for their game consoles or news broadcasts. Read some pre-Victorian or non-Western children's stories and you may see why this more modern story is told so well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EduardoM.Jul 1, 2007
One of the best movies, I´ve ever seen, I watched it some days ago and I could not yet forget it. Wonderful, absolutely unforgettable, full of magic, power and breath-taking images. It creates a universe of its own, powerful, intense, One of the best movies, I´ve ever seen, I watched it some days ago and I could not yet forget it. Wonderful, absolutely unforgettable, full of magic, power and breath-taking images. It creates a universe of its own, powerful, intense, original. A visionary film whose power of creation is unparalleled. A great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AbbyLJul 20, 2007
First I have to say great movie, second I agree with Lena, third it bothers me that people watch movies they know they're not going to like and then give them low scores. This film, as many have said, is the perfect mix of so many polar First I have to say great movie, second I agree with Lena, third it bothers me that people watch movies they know they're not going to like and then give them low scores. This film, as many have said, is the perfect mix of so many polar opposites. It is truly amazing how Del Toro actually pulls this movie off with such grace. I do believe that this movie deserves this score, it was breath taking... and the end?! Oh the ending was... well I won't spoil it but I left that movie feeling upset for Ofelia. Anyways the point is the movie is wonderful and no matter what there will always be that one person saying to the most universally acclaimed film, "It sucked, don't watch it." But always trust the minority or just watch whatever you like watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JordanHJul 20, 2007
Word of the wise, if you don't like violence well then don't watch this movie. The movie is rated R for GRAPHIC VIOLENCE and some language! It's pathetic to say, this movie was dumb because it was violent! Please read the Word of the wise, if you don't like violence well then don't watch this movie. The movie is rated R for GRAPHIC VIOLENCE and some language! It's pathetic to say, this movie was dumb because it was violent! Please read the before you watch obviously. Well... Pan's Labyrinth was really good. It was just.. I don't know new in a way but old in another. Just watch the damn movie and decide for yourself but before you watcha and say it's stupid remember GRAPHIC VIOLENCE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LaurenUJul 20, 2007
Very good movie, very compelling. And to say that I claimed it was good simply because someone told me it was is a lie. I can think for myself and watch a good movie. And yes critics usually rate foreign films high, but look at the sheer Very good movie, very compelling. And to say that I claimed it was good simply because someone told me it was is a lie. I can think for myself and watch a good movie. And yes critics usually rate foreign films high, but look at the sheer originality of those films, my opinion is that a lot of american directors either take a book and make a terrible movie, take a play and make a decent movie, or remake a foreign film and everyone loves it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MiriamMJul 6, 2007
Simply stunning. Nuff said.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ElinGAug 2, 2007
This movie is amazing and I believe it deserves its place on metacritics all-time high scores. It is a beautiful, tragic, and sometimes traumatizing portrayal of how brutally war affects children. Yes, this movie is very violent, but at This movie is amazing and I believe it deserves its place on metacritics all-time high scores. It is a beautiful, tragic, and sometimes traumatizing portrayal of how brutally war affects children. Yes, this movie is very violent, but at least the violence is there for a reason: to demontrate the horrors of war. And Bick B, I think you're completely wrong. This film dazzled with brilliance, which is why it is one of the highest rated films of all time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JonMJan 3, 2008
A great fantasy adventure that despite some incredulous remarks and 0 scores still rates at 8.4. This says much for the maligned few who judge not on message but on appearance, choosing to bypass the part of the brain that processes thoughtA great fantasy adventure that despite some incredulous remarks and 0 scores still rates at 8.4. This says much for the maligned few who judge not on message but on appearance, choosing to bypass the part of the brain that processes thought and sends them straight out of the rear. To avoid this film because of such pretentious folks thinking they are above the underlying meaning of the film is nigh on criminal. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MikeT.Feb 21, 2008
This film is haunting in every sense of the word. In fact, this movie redefined it for me. Every scene has stayed with me in a way that entire movies rarely do. An accomplished feat of filmmaking.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TylerC.Feb 6, 2008
The most successful of it's kind. Great, memorable scenes. Beautiful and grotesque, always tense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DennisS.Jun 6, 2008
Pan's Labyrinth is a beautiful fairytale for adults, that will remain in someone's mind for a long time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SteveJ.Jul 24, 2008
My wife & I rarely watch a rented movie twice--preferring to return the movie as soon as we can & get another one. This one we not only watched twice, but we also invited others to join us when we watched it the second time! Loved it!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MarioJan 15, 2009
Pan's labyrinth is a must, if you haven't rent it, then DO IT! it's a nice movie I loved it and I hope everyone else does.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KanePJul 2, 2009
Very few times do I watch a "hyped" film and expect it to meet the expectations. Pan's Labyrinth smashed all my expectations. Never have I viewed a film so beautifully crafted and executed. Beautifully constructed fantastic elements are Very few times do I watch a "hyped" film and expect it to meet the expectations. Pan's Labyrinth smashed all my expectations. Never have I viewed a film so beautifully crafted and executed. Beautifully constructed fantastic elements are juxtaposed against violent realism, creating an uneasy yet beautiful environment that is also an extremely tragic. This is the perfect example of film making at its finest. A film made with care, love and passion for the medium that is rarely seen in modern film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ReneCSep 25, 2009
Excellent! I used this film as part of a school curriculum... Yes a I am a professor.. Some critics said: "a 6 because is violent"... These people should just look around them.. maybe they are playing the part of Ofelia... I think these Excellent! I used this film as part of a school curriculum... Yes a I am a professor.. Some critics said: "a 6 because is violent"... These people should just look around them.. maybe they are playing the part of Ofelia... I think these people should go and live in Disneyland. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EusebioPSep 7, 2009
Wonderful fairy tales and atrocious reality melt a lake of fantasy where you will drown like a child in the bed reading the Lord of the Rings for the first time. Superb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TiagoFJan 6, 2010
Brilliant. Magical realism at it's best. Some people don't like it because they expect something else. Others don't like it because they just don't get it. People who now what to expect and can understand this masterpiece Brilliant. Magical realism at it's best. Some people don't like it because they expect something else. Others don't like it because they just don't get it. People who now what to expect and can understand this masterpiece will NOT be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaveHFeb 14, 2010
I did enjoy this film but I believe Guillermo del Toro can do better films than this one, it's good, but it doesn't interest me much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JerrodApr 30, 2010
Absolutely spectacular in its ability to simultaneously dazzle and provide scathing insight into the more sordid nature of the human condition.(In a side note the person who gave this a one for being too gruesome for children, which you Absolutely spectacular in its ability to simultaneously dazzle and provide scathing insight into the more sordid nature of the human condition.(In a side note the person who gave this a one for being too gruesome for children, which you claim is the intended audience, this movie is rated R which has never denoted that children should watch). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BrianneCMay 21, 2010
I just saw this movie for the first time a couple days ago. I've never had the chance to see it and I've wanted to for the past four years. I would recommend this movie to anyone who likes horror and fantasy. It has strong elements I just saw this movie for the first time a couple days ago. I've never had the chance to see it and I've wanted to for the past four years. I would recommend this movie to anyone who likes horror and fantasy. It has strong elements of both. It's a fantastic movie. So what if it has blood and gore in it and it's a fairy tale? No one ever said it was for kids. I wanted to see it when I was 12 and I think I would've been fine with it. This movie is definitely one of my favorites and I completely love it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ColeeW.Dec 30, 2006
Intricate and graceful, del Toro's Pan's Labyrinth is a work of art to savor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeC.Jan 11, 2007
I must say this movie was so good I'm going to see it again easily. I don't quite get all the negative reviews everyone (minus the critics of course) have been posting. Is it because mainly all critics enjoyed it? Probably but all I must say this movie was so good I'm going to see it again easily. I don't quite get all the negative reviews everyone (minus the critics of course) have been posting. Is it because mainly all critics enjoyed it? Probably but all this aside Pan's Labyrinth in my opinion is easily the best film of the Year! Full of character, mysteries & mainly a great story reminiscent of Alice in Wonderland Meets Hellraiser meets All Great Wartime Films. An astonishing accomplishment! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenM.Jan 13, 2007
One of the best films of the year if not the best. It's a grown-up, unrelenting version of a child's fairy tale. The key difference -- we don't get the happy, joyful ending that children need. It's grand mix of the One of the best films of the year if not the best. It's a grown-up, unrelenting version of a child's fairy tale. The key difference -- we don't get the happy, joyful ending that children need. It's grand mix of the realities of war, and the fantasies of a child stuck in its middle. The violence is grisly, unrelenting, but that's the point. War is hell, life can be hell, and to not show the gore, the blood, the terrible deaths, is coddling to the viewer. One viewer says the violence is "entirely gratuitous" -- how lucky she is to have never seen anyone shot or killed. Heartbreaking? Yes. Shocking? Yep. But hopeful, too. And not easily forgotten. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful
10
BradG.Jan 14, 2007
Beautiful, terrifying, and heartbreaking. Fantastic movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LauraG.Jan 14, 2007
I would score an 8.5 if it was an option. With a 97 rating on Metacritic, I was expecting something totally amazing. Don't get me wrong, it is very good, but just not amazing. I will say that it is inspiring to see this Hollywood I would score an 8.5 if it was an option. With a 97 rating on Metacritic, I was expecting something totally amazing. Don't get me wrong, it is very good, but just not amazing. I will say that it is inspiring to see this Hollywood director create something so visually engrossing. The actors for Ophelia, the Captain and Mercedes are in very good form. But the story itself needs some fleshing out - I just wanted more. You never fully connect with any character except a complete disgust for the Captain and sympathy for his victims. The transitions between reality and fantasy are often odd or abrupt. Could have been amazing, but just didn't quite get there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadShiiraJan 15, 2007
"Pan's Labyrinth" might've been a coming-of-age film had there been a boy for Ofelia(Ivana Baquero) to come-of-age with. In the absence of cute guys, Ofelia invents a fantasy world, which can easily be read as a sublimation of sex."Pan's Labyrinth" might've been a coming-of-age film had there been a boy for Ofelia(Ivana Baquero) to come-of-age with. In the absence of cute guys, Ofelia invents a fantasy world, which can easily be read as a sublimation of sex. There's phallic symbols all over the place. In one scene, she seems to run away from, by all appearances, a seven-foot penis, after eating some forbidden fruit. Her sexual awakening is conducted brilliantly in code. An argument can be made that she's actually creating from her bed whenever the film switches into fantasy mode. In another scene, Ofelia crawls into a tree stump and gets mud all over her face. She feels dirty, but still her curiosity lingers. Check out the size of the key she discovers. "Pan's Labyrinth" also works as a very sophisticated genre film(like "The Devil's Backbone"), which is this filmmaker's speciality whenever he's not making inspired pop entertainments, because he shrewdly places the fantastical firmly in a very realistic setting. "Pan's Labyrinth" is a great film to "read". Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlanC.Jan 18, 2007
New York Magazine rates it 80...their reviews are the most unreliable of any publication I read. The movie is fantastic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeeF.Jan 19, 2007
Better, even, than The Devil's Backbone. I was astonished at how much I liked this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimJan 21, 2007
i just saw this film and... i dont even know where to begin. my heart has been ripped in two... the devastating beauty, yet the devastation- the entire theater was dead silent when the credits began to roll, every soul in the house i just saw this film and... i dont even know where to begin. my heart has been ripped in two... the devastating beauty, yet the devastation- the entire theater was dead silent when the credits began to roll, every soul in the house marinating in the beautiful sadness... the reviews cannot convey... you must see it yourself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyM.Jan 21, 2007
I just saw the movie not too long ago and it was worth it. It's not for young children and then again people should have understood it knowing that the rating was and R rating.. The subject that came to my mind after the movie is that I just saw the movie not too long ago and it was worth it. It's not for young children and then again people should have understood it knowing that the rating was and R rating.. The subject that came to my mind after the movie is that no matter how old you are you are always clashing between what is fantasy and what is reality. In our minds as people we are always clashing with what is fantasy and what is reality. It does not matter what perception our minds are in the chaos is there to deal with as of now. M.S. said a lot in his comments and I am going to put them in here because this person made sense "M. S. gave it a9: Before I say anything about this movie I would just like to ask a few questions. Is the violence in this movie as gratituous or as brutal as many of the reviewers here would suggest? The answer to that question is no. The violence was by no means as gruesome or as intrusive to the film's messages as many of these score keepers suggest. I apologize but this isn't Hostel. Can you be THAT squeamish? My belief is a few of you don't believe that a contemporary piece can possibly merit such critical acclaim. As many of you have pointed out, you wanted to see that 98 go down a notch. Ok. Your vote only affects user scores, idiots. With that out of the way, I would like to announce that this is one of the most beautifully directed and realized films of the year. Though it's plot may be simple and the special effects may not devour the screen, the stark and grim reality of what is seen is portrayed with an unflinching love for what is possible in our minds. If anything, my only complaint would be that the fantasy world of Ophelia, the main character, was not seen enough. But I realize that this was necessary. It shows how the greed, bloodlust, and chaos of our world affects the minds of the young and the curious and how the real world's scary tendencies are not forgotten within the imagination. The scene with the horrifying "Pale Man" is the perfect example. A hideous and bloodthirsty, yet totally fantasized entity wishing to do harm to Ophelia. This helps emphasize on the truth that pain and fear as well as love and laughter encompass all worlds, whether fictional or factual. The concepts of our reality never die even if its imagery and logic does. Acting wise this movie is grade A. Every person in the cast makes his or her role believable and vital to the overall presentation. The camera work was gorgeous and the special effects were, if not subtle, breath-taking in their aesthetic. Before I decide to top this review off, I would like to say that the packed theatre I was in clapped loudly and before that clapped a particularly tense yet triumphant escape scene. It had a totally unanimous effect on the crowd, showcasing the genious of the movie's acting, writing, directing, and pacing. This film is not for everyone but for anyone with an open mind, heart, or imagination...please see this." Stephanie P's comments made sense as well.. "Stephanie P. gave it a10: For the naysayers who think that there was (a) no plot or character development, (b) lack of fantasy elements throughout the film, and (c) nothing worth loving in this film other than startling visuals, then I have to wonder if you're thinking outside of the box at all!!! del Toro does an amazing job at paralleling the fantasy of the Underworld and the fantasy of Fascism - the "fantasy" is throughout; it is a fairy tale throughout... sometimes you don't always need monsters with eyes in their hands to signify "fantasy"... but, that was pretty creepy/awesome too. And, insofar as lack of character development, if you didn't cheer when Mercedes did the-thing-that-she-did-that-I'm-not-going-to-say-here-so-as-to-not-spoil-the-plot, then I can see how you thought character development was lacking but I also wonder if you were paying attention. All in all, del Toro's statement on horror both in fantasy and in politics, is so of the time that the movie goes beyond a simple beautiful piece of cinema. It is also very well crafted and intelligent and one of the best examples of traditional-horror-as-reflection-of-the-current-zeitgeist that I have seen." Cindy L's comments are with writing on here.... "Cindy L. gave it a10: The movie has been billed as a fairy tale for grownups -- I think that's a poor description. It is a movie about cruelty and being in the last place you want to be, and embracing the magic that presents itself. Much of the film isn't fairytale at all. It's cruel, horrible, and very difficult to watch. This is not, I say again NOT, a film for children. Ofelia has been torn from her world by the Captain. Those things that have been real to her are gone -- her father is dead, her mother's love is not hers alone anymore, she is in a strange place with strange sounds and strange people, everything feels wrong. Yet in that, and maybe because of that, she embraces the magic around her. Would a happy, well-adjusted child even seek out the labyrinth, even follow the insect fairy in the first place? Maybe it is only when we lack something, when we are lost, that we are willing to embrace something that would seem in a normal situation to be absurd. She never says, "weird!" or "this can't be happening". She never questions what she sees -- it is her possible salvation, and she accepts it straight off. When she sees the moon mark on her shoulder it only convinces her fully of what she had already accepted, and in the very next scene she introduces herself (fearlessly I might add) to the great toad as Princess Morella. She believes it utterly -- why? It feels like she knows that she has no other choice -- this is the way out, the only way out, and she takes it all willingly and bravely. Didn't we all wish to find out that secretly we are princesses and princes, that this life isn't our true life? (I know I did!) She surrenders to the fantasy in order to survive." I can go on and on and find the right remarks that makes this movie worth seeing again and again and I for those who understood the movie's psychological conflict. The comments that these people made on here are exactly what the movie hits on. For those who give this movie a 1 or a 0, are you afraid of reality and live in a fantasy world? Open your minds and think for once!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephanieP.Jan 20, 2007
For the naysayers who think that there was (a) no plot or character development, (b) lack of fantasy elements throughout the film, and (c) nothing worth loving in this film other than startling visuals, then I have to wonder if you're For the naysayers who think that there was (a) no plot or character development, (b) lack of fantasy elements throughout the film, and (c) nothing worth loving in this film other than startling visuals, then I have to wonder if you're thinking outside of the box at all!!! del Toro does an amazing job at paralleling the fantasy of the Underworld and the fantasy of Fascism - the "fantasy" is throughout; it is a fairy tale throughout... sometimes you don't always need monsters with eyes in their hands to signify "fantasy"... but, that was pretty creepy/awesome too. And, insofar as lack of character development, if you didn't cheer when Mercedes did the-thing-that-she-did-that-I'm-not-going-to-say-here-so-as-to-not-spoil-the-plot, then I can see how you thought character development was lacking but I also wonder if you were paying attention. All in all, del Toro's statement on horror both in fantasy and in politics, is so of the time that the movie goes beyond a simple beautiful piece of cinema. It is also very well crafted and intelligent and one of the best examples of traditional-horror-as-reflection-of-the-current-zeitgeist that I have seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BobB.Jan 20, 2007
I agree with people saying that the advertisement campaign was pretty misleading, but at the same time I believe this movie is still pretty darn good. To be honest, I wouldn't have been disappointed at all if the ads had just said "Come I agree with people saying that the advertisement campaign was pretty misleading, but at the same time I believe this movie is still pretty darn good. To be honest, I wouldn't have been disappointed at all if the ads had just said "Come see this movie, it's great". But instead they were pretty misleading, and in the end you think to yourself "Wow, that was a pretty good movie, but it wasn't what they said it would be", so overall you end up being pretty disappointed. Definitely not a smart move, in my view it's better to let the audience decide for themselves before you tell them how great your movie is. As for Ryan C, I think you missed the point of rating movies : You rate it what you think it should get, not rate it based on what other people gave it. If you thought it's overrated, fine, but lowering your score in an attempt to lower the overall score is just imposing your beliefs on other people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffS.Jan 22, 2007
I simply do not understand the dislike for this movie I've been seeing around the web. It's not Hellboy, but it really is a perfectly realized fable about life's choices, working on multiple levels which, frankly, are really I simply do not understand the dislike for this movie I've been seeing around the web. It's not Hellboy, but it really is a perfectly realized fable about life's choices, working on multiple levels which, frankly, are really not too difficult to figure out. This is Amelie-level accessible, and just as poignant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WillG.Jan 25, 2007
This movie is perhaps the most amazing movie I have seen in quite some time, certainly the best of 2006. It grabs you from the first scenes of the film and doesn't loosen its grasp even after it is over. Incredible acting by all actors. This movie is perhaps the most amazing movie I have seen in quite some time, certainly the best of 2006. It grabs you from the first scenes of the film and doesn't loosen its grasp even after it is over. Incredible acting by all actors. Not only a fantasy film, but a perfect drama. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveA.Jan 27, 2007
This movie was beautiful. I think a lot of people were upset because the movie was part war movie. However, that half of the movie was as well written as the fantasy part, and it had as many good twists in it. Perhaps, the movie's This movie was beautiful. I think a lot of people were upset because the movie was part war movie. However, that half of the movie was as well written as the fantasy part, and it had as many good twists in it. Perhaps, the movie's American audience is burned out on war movies (and war period). I can also see a back-lash toward Eastwood's current war movie. Anyhow, I found this to be a wonderful movie. I loved the Mercedes character. Not only was she extremely humble and kind, but her fate seemed grave, and you could see the sadness and fear in her eyes throughout. To a lesser extent, my heart also went out for the little girl. However, the child was so entrenched in her fantasies (and her situation more hopeful) that it gave the character less rooting power than the Mercedes character. I think that might have hurt the end a little. Furthermore, by giving his artestry back to his people, Del Toro probably did the right thing. However, I also feel that Del Toro cooked his golden goose. If this movie had been made in English, it probably would have swept the Oscars and box office. (But is that what movie making is about?) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidV.Jan 28, 2007
Magical realism at its very best. Lyrically, one can not deny its relevance to Marquez. Likewise, this is the kind of story Rushdie has been trying to tell his entire career and has fallen short. The Renaissance of Mexican filmmaking has Magical realism at its very best. Lyrically, one can not deny its relevance to Marquez. Likewise, this is the kind of story Rushdie has been trying to tell his entire career and has fallen short. The Renaissance of Mexican filmmaking has been underway for at least ten years now, and "Pan's Labyrinth" ranks among the country's very top achievements. Undoubtedly, the best film of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JordanZ.Jan 4, 2007
Too much time wasted on the general and the relationship between the worker and her secret soldier lover. It should've focused more on the girl. More on fantasty. Less on bullshit realism and people. BUT, this is a wonderful film. Too much time wasted on the general and the relationship between the worker and her secret soldier lover. It should've focused more on the girl. More on fantasty. Less on bullshit realism and people. BUT, this is a wonderful film. Really beautiful, nicely shot, creates tension, sadness, really evokes emotion, some nice shots, really good stuff here. certainly one of the year's best but it does have it's problem (as mentioned above). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TetoB.Jan 4, 2007
Excelente pelicula, es una rara mezcla de terror, guerra civil, drama y fantasía, donde las mismas hadas no siempre salen bien libradas, imaginen entonces a los que desean verlas?, el Fauno está mas feo que el mismo diablo, Excelente pelicula, es una rara mezcla de terror, guerra civil, drama y fantasía, donde las mismas hadas no siempre salen bien libradas, imaginen entonces a los que desean verlas?, el Fauno está mas feo que el mismo diablo, perfecto!. y toda esta combinación funciona!. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrianC.Jan 5, 2007
Definitely worth seeing due to its unique nature, but prepared to be surprised by its story. The way del Toro is able to intertwine reality and fantasy plus history seamlessly into one is unmatched.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BarryOct 8, 2007
Good but stupidly overrated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenD.Jan 9, 2007
Glowing from the opening credits to the final scene. Cruel, tragic, terrifying and at times just purely beautiful. Building a divide for audiences to feel hatred and love for characters is never easy but here its magnifcient. The acting is Glowing from the opening credits to the final scene. Cruel, tragic, terrifying and at times just purely beautiful. Building a divide for audiences to feel hatred and love for characters is never easy but here its magnifcient. The acting is of such a high standard many careers should blossom from such performances. First rate stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomG.Feb 11, 2007
I just watched PL an hour ago or so and it has got me searching the Internet for more information on this fantastic and timeless film. Like The Secret Garden, it is about that emotional disjoint in life between cynical and cruel reality and I just watched PL an hour ago or so and it has got me searching the Internet for more information on this fantastic and timeless film. Like The Secret Garden, it is about that emotional disjoint in life between cynical and cruel reality and the hope and boundless generosity of myth and childhood. One of the best movies I've ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CoryH.Feb 11, 2007
I am a huge fan of both the fantasy and horror genre, and I have never seen a movie in either that left me as affected as this film did. What Del Toro has done is created a world that is horrifying and ugly in the physical sense, but one I am a huge fan of both the fantasy and horror genre, and I have never seen a movie in either that left me as affected as this film did. What Del Toro has done is created a world that is horrifying and ugly in the physical sense, but one that is beautiful and intriguing as well. It is a world I would love to visit, but would scare the hell out of me. Be warned that it is in Spanish with English subtitles, but you won't even realize it ten minutes in. This is not a film for children by any means, but it reminded me of the first time I saw movies like Tron, The Neverending Story, and Labryinth. It will take to a place in your mind where you were afraid of went bump in the night, but will make you want to see what is making the noises. Go see it, and be amazed!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
YokSanFeb 10, 2007
"there wasn't enough car chases"
"this film ruined my weekend and my life boo fucking hoo"
why dont you walking rainclouds fuck off. You'd give a film of the edge of the universe a bad review if you thought it was controverisal
"there wasn't enough car chases"
"this film ruined my weekend and my life boo fucking hoo"
why dont you walking rainclouds fuck off. You'd give a film of the edge of the universe a bad review if you thought it was controverisal enough to make people pay attention to you for 15 seconds.
Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful
10
AdamT.Feb 11, 2007
I am 45 years old andthis is the finest movie I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulN.Feb 1, 2007
An absolute masterpiece. Visually stunning and a wonderful deomstration that fantasy can be reality too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimKFeb 1, 2007
Of the 200-some-odd foreign films I've seen, this easily ranks in my top 5... though I hate to classify it that way, I know there are some that will undoubtedly stay away just because. Of the thousands of films I've seen, this may Of the 200-some-odd foreign films I've seen, this easily ranks in my top 5... though I hate to classify it that way, I know there are some that will undoubtedly stay away just because. Of the thousands of films I've seen, this may just wind up around the top ten. The combination of cinematography, direction, and story, along with the superb acting makes this a very rare treat. My wife came out of the theater and said "That's what I want for Christmas next year". Hopefully we'll be able to view it again long before then. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinS.Feb 18, 2007
A great movie, as long as you know what you're in for. It may be billed as a fair tale, but its not one Walt Disney could ever have dreamed up. This is very much a gothic movie aimed squarely at adults. It is extremely dark, even A great movie, as long as you know what you're in for. It may be billed as a fair tale, but its not one Walt Disney could ever have dreamed up. This is very much a gothic movie aimed squarely at adults. It is extremely dark, even depressing and graphically violent, with only the faintest hint of a happy ending. I don't know if the movie's rating in other places gives the wrong impression, but suffice to say it most definitely deserves and R and children should not be allowed anywhere near it. Nevertheless, the movie is very imaginative and very well done. Its also extremely engrossing and adults will probably find it immensely satisfying, even though it will probably leave you profoundly depressed at the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenC.Feb 19, 2007
I am saddened to see some people overlook every aspect of such a great movie, and instead focus solely on the violence or the lack of a deep, thought provoking, life changing plot. Pan's Labyrinth may not be the most family-oriented I am saddened to see some people overlook every aspect of such a great movie, and instead focus solely on the violence or the lack of a deep, thought provoking, life changing plot. Pan's Labyrinth may not be the most family-oriented film of the season, but it does what so many movies have forgotten to do: tell a story. The movie tells a fairytale the way they used to be, before Disneyland and overly-concerned parents. The movie is hardly violent on an unnecessary scale (Saw or Hostel), but instead focuses on the harsh realities of a world where good people do not always live. Ofelia's story is insperational and heart-warming; a young girl who is compassionate about good, wishes to vanquish evil and most importantly, seeks to find meaning in her world, her life. As I mentioned before, this film does not open your eyes to some new dimension; it simply tells a classic fairytale, without the make-up and glitter that hides reality in so much of our daily lives. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisD.Feb 2, 2007
One of the best movies of the year. I'm amazed that some people rated this movie below an 8, even as low as a 0 in some cases. These people need their heads examined. I guess it hurts some people to have to actually use their brain to One of the best movies of the year. I'm amazed that some people rated this movie below an 8, even as low as a 0 in some cases. These people need their heads examined. I guess it hurts some people to have to actually use their brain to follow a story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyF.Feb 22, 2007
This movie is beyond perfection. I am so disappointed to see how many people overlook each detail. They say there's too much violence, and it's dark, and it's too depressing. And they're all wrong. I mean, yes it is a This movie is beyond perfection. I am so disappointed to see how many people overlook each detail. They say there's too much violence, and it's dark, and it's too depressing. And they're all wrong. I mean, yes it is a dark and depressing movie, but it's supposed to be. And it's not THAT depressing. Not so much that you can't watch it. And the violence is not tasteless or useless. i think it's right. Guillermo Del Toro always has a lot of gore. Now, with that said... The movie's brilliance is almost indescribable. Ivana Baquero is an amazing aspiring young actress. And Sergi Lopez is amazing in his role as the heartless villain. All the acting is incredible. The visuals are as astounding as the hype makes them out to be. The music is breathtakingly beautiful. The whole thing is just a beyond perfect piece of work. This is not a work of cinematic stupidity. It's cinematic genius. 10/10, no doubt. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JonC.Feb 26, 2007
Truly a gothic fairy-tale, with a good script, wonderful cinematography, and awesome visual effects. The story is sad, but captivating. But luckily it does have its gorey scenes! Not a good film for a date. Not a good film to watch with a Truly a gothic fairy-tale, with a good script, wonderful cinematography, and awesome visual effects. The story is sad, but captivating. But luckily it does have its gorey scenes! Not a good film for a date. Not a good film to watch with a group of guys. Not a good movie for small children. Perfect family film, to watch together. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyB.T.Feb 3, 2007
A great film that I can easily recommend to anyone despite the very gruesome torture/murder scenes. I don't want to ruin the plot but if you are looking for an easy thematic reference look to Milton's "Marriage of Heaven and Hell". A great film that I can easily recommend to anyone despite the very gruesome torture/murder scenes. I don't want to ruin the plot but if you are looking for an easy thematic reference look to Milton's "Marriage of Heaven and Hell". Ophelia makes for the best Satan ever committed to film. The other prevalent theme, outside of the main theme rebellion vs order, is a slightly more obtuse one of how we must fight to help shape the paths of our children and their collective futures. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mulderdogFeb 4, 2007
Maybe 98 is a little high, but I enjoyed this movie more than any other in recent memory. A solid 95 for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
marksfreecomixcartoonistFeb 4, 2007
Beautiful and gut-wrenching, fantastic and sad, people openly wept all around me. I am strongly tempted to give it a 10 'cause it really succeeds in all it attempts to do. Acting, story everything worked. Del Toro is a poet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CatherineC.Feb 4, 2007
Captivating, haunting, visceral and heartbreakingly sad, at times, this movie enobles the viewer in a way that few others have.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrettRFeb 4, 2007
Celeste R. is clearly not well cultured. This film is a depiction of the post-civil war era of Spain as seen through the escapism of a little girl. Children often conceive adults by one-dimensional characteristics, and they are beautifully Celeste R. is clearly not well cultured. This film is a depiction of the post-civil war era of Spain as seen through the escapism of a little girl. Children often conceive adults by one-dimensional characteristics, and they are beautifully captured. However, there is no one-dimension to this story. From the religious references to the forbidden fruit tempting the woman via the grapes to the obvious Goya reference of Saturno comiendo su hijo with the Pale Man eating the fairies, there are distinct influences in this movie which embody 40's Spanish sentiment. Patriarchy and Fascism are oft depicted through violence but never with such force and clarity. There's also nothing ditzy about a mother trying to save her daughter from the slums of 1940's Barcelona. Don't critize a film if you didn't understand it. Perfecto. Celeste, read some Borges while you're at it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
B.K.Feb 6, 2007
This movie is a work of art. It deserves the 98/100 it got. The story is wonderfully woven between our world and a fantasy world either created or lived by a young girl. The visuals are fantastic. Sure, it is violent, but it works with the This movie is a work of art. It deserves the 98/100 it got. The story is wonderfully woven between our world and a fantasy world either created or lived by a young girl. The visuals are fantastic. Sure, it is violent, but it works with the movie. Some people are dissapointed because it's not what they expected, but that doesn't make it a bad movie, it's still the same great movie if you knew what it was before you saw it or not. Another thing is don't follow the low user reviews, because there are people who are rating too low just to lower the score, which just chances people from going to see the best film of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EvanC.Feb 7, 2007
I saw the trailer twice and both times thought to myself this is one to miss. However, because of the uniformly great reviews, I decided to go see it, and I'm glad I did. It is one of the best movies I have seen in years, and keeps I saw the trailer twice and both times thought to myself this is one to miss. However, because of the uniformly great reviews, I decided to go see it, and I'm glad I did. It is one of the best movies I have seen in years, and keeps haunting me. The trailer does the movie injustice. See it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimB.Feb 9, 2007
Excellent movie, very beautiful and surprisingly deep.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BJonesFeb 9, 2007
Absolutely one of the greatest movies ever created. It is so engrossing, that I couldn't even explain what it was about after until I had a half an hour to get my thoughts together and attempt to do it justice. Astonishing would be an Absolutely one of the greatest movies ever created. It is so engrossing, that I couldn't even explain what it was about after until I had a half an hour to get my thoughts together and attempt to do it justice. Astonishing would be an understatement. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NancyHFeb 9, 2007
Wow--it's one of the best films all year--no kidding. This is heart breaking and brilliant. Acting is fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JIMD.Mar 11, 2007
This movie blew me away ! Depth, imagitation glimpse into the madness of all it's characters.... Excellent entertainement.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristianB.Mar 10, 2007
This movie is simply superb, the story is touching and moving - as a matter of fact, the whole theatre was captured in silence at the end. The actors do a tremendous job. The only criticism one might include is that some parts of the plot This movie is simply superb, the story is touching and moving - as a matter of fact, the whole theatre was captured in silence at the end. The actors do a tremendous job. The only criticism one might include is that some parts of the plot are somewhat predictable - but since Pan's Labyrinth is an adult (I mean adult! This movie has mature content) fairy tale, that's not too much of a point Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful