User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 1814 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MichaelN.
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    I think this was an allegory about the rebirth of Spain after the Franco years. I lived in the country in the '80s and what happened after Franco died was born in the years this movie takes place. It's too much to go into here, but it seems to fit very well.
  2. SamB.
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    A very entertaining movie with some violence and a fantastic fairy tale central story.
  3. SherryB.
    Feb 18, 2007
    10
    I loved this movie one of the best I've seen in a long time, not for small children though this is a film for adults, I think alot of people forget that this is set in a period where times were tough and you have to work to survive. Highly recommened.
  4. AliceM.
    Jul 11, 2008
    10
    The most beautiful and shocking film I've ever seen. It's incredibly imaginative, with a perfect mixture of fantasy and reality interwoven. I can't really fault it. I was genuinely moved by it, it even got me crying. If you're feeling strong enough for some very serious cinema, I highly recommend it.
  5. AdrianB.
    Feb 10, 2009
    10
    The only movie you need to see before you die
  6. JRMM
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    Few movies are perfect: Pan's Labyrinth is one of the perfect ones. Truly one of the greatest fantasy films ever made. Among my top 20 favorite films of all time.
  7. Rebecca
    Jan 15, 2007
    10
    This movie wasn't what I was expecting coming into it. I did not read up on the movie because I did not want the plot spoiled, so I missed the part where it said it was subtitled. I do not mind subtitles, but was not expecting it for this movie. Other than that I really enjoyed the plot and the visual effects. It was shocking, gritty and had me on the edge of my seat. I will be This movie wasn't what I was expecting coming into it. I did not read up on the movie because I did not want the plot spoiled, so I missed the part where it said it was subtitled. I do not mind subtitles, but was not expecting it for this movie. Other than that I really enjoyed the plot and the visual effects. It was shocking, gritty and had me on the edge of my seat. I will be buying this movie when it comes out on DVD. Expand
  8. NicholasW.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    Ya, I guess I can't understand the low ratings either, I guess if the moive wasn't for you...than an 8 maybe..I haven't seen many movies this good...this is a really good movie- period- the 4's I see I just can't make sense of...definitely worthy of a 98
  9. SeanS.
    Jan 22, 2007
    10
    Wow. Pan's Labyrinth is easily the finest movie I've seen this year. The deck is stacked against it (see Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon), but this is a foreign language film finer than most Best Picture winners and quite clearly deserving of the award.
  10. AlexS.
    Jan 24, 2007
    10
    Breathtaking, I liken it to a Miyazaki film. Just utterly fantastic and unforgettable.
  11. PatK.
    Jan 26, 2007
    10
    If you expect a fantasy film, keep in mind fantasy is more than Tolkein and Lewis. Before them, fantasy and folklore were about the darker aspects of life and developed to attempt to explain the unexplainable cruelty, capricious and uncaring aspects of life. This movie is every bit a fantasy in this respect. Like the labyrinth (not the "maze" but the religious version, pictured on the If you expect a fantasy film, keep in mind fantasy is more than Tolkein and Lewis. Before them, fantasy and folklore were about the darker aspects of life and developed to attempt to explain the unexplainable cruelty, capricious and uncaring aspects of life. This movie is every bit a fantasy in this respect. Like the labyrinth (not the "maze" but the religious version, pictured on the floor of the chamber) each person's life is an attempt to navigate an often tortuous path without a clear destination - every character in this film does so, with those falling away suffering the physical and metaphysical consequences of doing so. The fixing of the broken watch, the pantomimed versus real knife-at-the-throat moments, the echoes upon echoes all suffuse the film with, like many a fairy tale, implied choice and consequence. I cannot wait for the DVD to continue to explore the many character contrasts in the film, and number del Toro amongst the truly great storytellers. If you went in expecting mindless fluff, you haven't seen a del Toro film before. He is a craftsman in an era of shallow and artless direction. Expand
  12. AbeV.
    Jan 28, 2007
    10
    This was a brilliant movie. I really can't say enough great things about this film except that I loved it. Ever since seeing the preview I knew I had to see it, and it didn't let me down. It was every bit as tragic and glorious as I'd hoped. I think it may be one of the greatest accomplishments of cinema thus far.
  13. JohnA.
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    I was fascinated by this film - Ivana Baquero evoked all the horrors of a child caught up in the European (Spanish) 20th Century. It wrenches us between the brutal real world with that of a girl's fantasy - or is it a fantasy? A gut-wrenching film that left me stunned - something that rarely happens any more to this jaded old guy...
  14. LarryM.
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    A great movie, but not for the squemish.
  15. DanaM.
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    I don't usually give movies 10s. But this one is special. Savage at times, mystical fantasy thorughout, this is a must see. Be ready to read the subtitles, but worth the effort.
  16. KuldeepT.
    Feb 5, 2007
    10
    An amazing visionary movie. A masterpiece. American cinema has been needing some re-invigoration and with no surprise it comes from outside the establishment. The striking analogy to today's headlines and political climate should not be missed (i.e. military fascism, torture etc). This is a real contribution to the art of cinema, a landmark film.
  17. Darius
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    The film was mesmerizing. Brilliant political allegories and biblical parables, makes this a hard-to-miss-film. absolutely beautiful.
  18. TrevorM.
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    The best movie of the year- beautiful, magical, haunting, and suspensful. Who knew bloody and beautiful would be in the same movie??
  19. BretG.
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    It's not often you see anything with a score this high on Metacritic, so I just had to see this movie and I was awestruck. At every point in the movie I was either contemplating "what this is" or "what this could be", gasping in utter horrorstricken suspense or gripping my seat, ect. Truly a great and very original movie. Although I half expected David Bowie to pop out at anytime to It's not often you see anything with a score this high on Metacritic, so I just had to see this movie and I was awestruck. At every point in the movie I was either contemplating "what this is" or "what this could be", gasping in utter horrorstricken suspense or gripping my seat, ect. Truly a great and very original movie. Although I half expected David Bowie to pop out at anytime to sing "Dance magic dance!" This is a movie that certainly doesnt disappoint, unless you want to see Davie Bowie pop out to sing "Dance magic dance!" maybe in spanish, theres nothing wrong with that I guess. David Bowie is cool man. Expand
  20. WilliamM.
    Mar 24, 2007
    10
    Perfect film, a beautiful story with a brilliant ending. Best film I've seen in a very long time.
  21. JoeAverage
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    Off the top of my head, 'bittersweet' and 'lyrical' are two adjectives that come to mind. Could come up with countless more. Will stay with you forever...
  22. KidA.
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    This is the most beautiful film I have ever seen.
  23. MelissaW.
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    The best film I have seen in the past 5 years. Del Toro has finally achieved the perfection he was close to in Devil's Backbone. After a few dull years I am actually inspired by the medium again.
  24. JackL.
    May 20, 2007
    10
    Wow. This isn't a fantasy movie like it seems to be getting labled, but it is a masterpiece. It's got such an amazing amount of depth, and a story that is just as stunning as its visuals, and thats saying a lot. They're not as off the wall crazy as Lord of the Rings, they're more akin to a great painting. Simple and beautiful. If this film doesn't move you Wow. This isn't a fantasy movie like it seems to be getting labled, but it is a masterpiece. It's got such an amazing amount of depth, and a story that is just as stunning as its visuals, and thats saying a lot. They're not as off the wall crazy as Lord of the Rings, they're more akin to a great painting. Simple and beautiful. If this film doesn't move you emotionally, and hit your soul like a ton of bricks, than you're a complete, heartless monster. And I'm dead serous about that. Expand
  25. RobertH.
    May 30, 2007
    10
    An uncompromising fantasy epic. One of the very best of 2006.
  26. Drew
    May 7, 2007
    10
    Honestly this is one of the best movies I've ever seen. Superbly acted, and written, this movie is just masterfully crafted around reality and an escape from the rough life of a young spanish girl who is living through Franco's Spain in 1944. Just a great movie, do yourself a favor and watch it.
  27. BradC
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    Perfect. Instant classic. Movies do not get any better then this.
  28. AbbyL
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    First I have to say great movie, second I agree with Lena, third it bothers me that people watch movies they know they're not going to like and then give them low scores. This film, as many have said, is the perfect mix of so many polar opposites. It is truly amazing how Del Toro actually pulls this movie off with such grace. I do believe that this movie deserves this score, it was First I have to say great movie, second I agree with Lena, third it bothers me that people watch movies they know they're not going to like and then give them low scores. This film, as many have said, is the perfect mix of so many polar opposites. It is truly amazing how Del Toro actually pulls this movie off with such grace. I do believe that this movie deserves this score, it was breath taking... and the end?! Oh the ending was... well I won't spoil it but I left that movie feeling upset for Ofelia. Anyways the point is the movie is wonderful and no matter what there will always be that one person saying to the most universally acclaimed film, "It sucked, don't watch it." But always trust the minority or just watch whatever you like watching. Expand
  29. LaurenU
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    Very good movie, very compelling. And to say that I claimed it was good simply because someone told me it was is a lie. I can think for myself and watch a good movie. And yes critics usually rate foreign films high, but look at the sheer originality of those films, my opinion is that a lot of american directors either take a book and make a terrible movie, take a play and make a decent Very good movie, very compelling. And to say that I claimed it was good simply because someone told me it was is a lie. I can think for myself and watch a good movie. And yes critics usually rate foreign films high, but look at the sheer originality of those films, my opinion is that a lot of american directors either take a book and make a terrible movie, take a play and make a decent movie, or remake a foreign film and everyone loves it. Expand
  30. MiriamM
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    Simply stunning. Nuff said.
  31. ElinG
    Aug 2, 2007
    10
    This movie is amazing and I believe it deserves its place on metacritics all-time high scores. It is a beautiful, tragic, and sometimes traumatizing portrayal of how brutally war affects children. Yes, this movie is very violent, but at least the violence is there for a reason: to demontrate the horrors of war. And Bick B, I think you're completely wrong. This film dazzled with This movie is amazing and I believe it deserves its place on metacritics all-time high scores. It is a beautiful, tragic, and sometimes traumatizing portrayal of how brutally war affects children. Yes, this movie is very violent, but at least the violence is there for a reason: to demontrate the horrors of war. And Bick B, I think you're completely wrong. This film dazzled with brilliance, which is why it is one of the highest rated films of all time. Expand
  32. JonM
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    A great fantasy adventure that despite some incredulous remarks and 0 scores still rates at 8.4. This says much for the maligned few who judge not on message but on appearance, choosing to bypass the part of the brain that processes thought and sends them straight out of the rear. To avoid this film because of such pretentious folks thinking they are above the underlying meaning of theA great fantasy adventure that despite some incredulous remarks and 0 scores still rates at 8.4. This says much for the maligned few who judge not on message but on appearance, choosing to bypass the part of the brain that processes thought and sends them straight out of the rear. To avoid this film because of such pretentious folks thinking they are above the underlying meaning of the film is nigh on criminal. Expand
  33. MikeT.
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    This film is haunting in every sense of the word. In fact, this movie redefined it for me. Every scene has stayed with me in a way that entire movies rarely do. An accomplished feat of filmmaking.
  34. DennisS.
    Jun 6, 2008
    10
    Pan's Labyrinth is a beautiful fairytale for adults, that will remain in someone's mind for a long time.
  35. SteveJ.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    My wife & I rarely watch a rented movie twice--preferring to return the movie as soon as we can & get another one. This one we not only watched twice, but we also invited others to join us when we watched it the second time! Loved it!
  36. KaneP
    Jul 2, 2009
    10
    Very few times do I watch a "hyped" film and expect it to meet the expectations. Pan's Labyrinth smashed all my expectations. Never have I viewed a film so beautifully crafted and executed. Beautifully constructed fantastic elements are juxtaposed against violent realism, creating an uneasy yet beautiful environment that is also an extremely tragic. This is the perfect example of Very few times do I watch a "hyped" film and expect it to meet the expectations. Pan's Labyrinth smashed all my expectations. Never have I viewed a film so beautifully crafted and executed. Beautifully constructed fantastic elements are juxtaposed against violent realism, creating an uneasy yet beautiful environment that is also an extremely tragic. This is the perfect example of film making at its finest. A film made with care, love and passion for the medium that is rarely seen in modern film. Expand
  37. ReneC
    Sep 25, 2009
    10
    Excellent! I used this film as part of a school curriculum... Yes a I am a professor.. Some critics said: "a 6 because is violent"... These people should just look around them.. maybe they are playing the part of Ofelia... I think these people should go and live in Disneyland.
  38. EusebioP
    Sep 7, 2009
    10
    Wonderful fairy tales and atrocious reality melt a lake of fantasy where you will drown like a child in the bed reading the Lord of the Rings for the first time. Superb.
  39. TiagoF
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    Brilliant. Magical realism at it's best. Some people don't like it because they expect something else. Others don't like it because they just don't get it. People who now what to expect and can understand this masterpiece will NOT be disappointed.
  40. Jerrod
    Apr 30, 2010
    10
    Absolutely spectacular in its ability to simultaneously dazzle and provide scathing insight into the more sordid nature of the human condition.(In a side note the person who gave this a one for being too gruesome for children, which you claim is the intended audience, this movie is rated R which has never denoted that children should watch).
  41. BrianneC
    May 21, 2010
    10
    I just saw this movie for the first time a couple days ago. I've never had the chance to see it and I've wanted to for the past four years. I would recommend this movie to anyone who likes horror and fantasy. It has strong elements of both. It's a fantastic movie. So what if it has blood and gore in it and it's a fairy tale? No one ever said it was for kids. I wanted I just saw this movie for the first time a couple days ago. I've never had the chance to see it and I've wanted to for the past four years. I would recommend this movie to anyone who likes horror and fantasy. It has strong elements of both. It's a fantastic movie. So what if it has blood and gore in it and it's a fairy tale? No one ever said it was for kids. I wanted to see it when I was 12 and I think I would've been fine with it. This movie is definitely one of my favorites and I completely love it. Expand
  42. ColeeW.
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    Intricate and graceful, del Toro's Pan's Labyrinth is a work of art to savor.
  43. JoeC.
    Jan 11, 2007
    10
    I must say this movie was so good I'm going to see it again easily. I don't quite get all the negative reviews everyone (minus the critics of course) have been posting. Is it because mainly all critics enjoyed it? Probably but all this aside Pan's Labyrinth in my opinion is easily the best film of the Year! Full of character, mysteries & mainly a great story reminiscent of I must say this movie was so good I'm going to see it again easily. I don't quite get all the negative reviews everyone (minus the critics of course) have been posting. Is it because mainly all critics enjoyed it? Probably but all this aside Pan's Labyrinth in my opinion is easily the best film of the Year! Full of character, mysteries & mainly a great story reminiscent of Alice in Wonderland Meets Hellraiser meets All Great Wartime Films. An astonishing accomplishment! Expand
  44. StevenM.
    Jan 13, 2007
    10
    One of the best films of the year if not the best. It's a grown-up, unrelenting version of a child's fairy tale. The key difference -- we don't get the happy, joyful ending that children need. It's grand mix of the realities of war, and the fantasies of a child stuck in its middle. The violence is grisly, unrelenting, but that's the point. War is hell, life can be One of the best films of the year if not the best. It's a grown-up, unrelenting version of a child's fairy tale. The key difference -- we don't get the happy, joyful ending that children need. It's grand mix of the realities of war, and the fantasies of a child stuck in its middle. The violence is grisly, unrelenting, but that's the point. War is hell, life can be hell, and to not show the gore, the blood, the terrible deaths, is coddling to the viewer. One viewer says the violence is "entirely gratuitous" -- how lucky she is to have never seen anyone shot or killed. Heartbreaking? Yes. Shocking? Yep. But hopeful, too. And not easily forgotten. Expand
  45. BradG.
    Jan 14, 2007
    10
    Beautiful, terrifying, and heartbreaking. Fantastic movie.
  46. AlanC.
    Jan 18, 2007
    10
    New York Magazine rates it 80...their reviews are the most unreliable of any publication I read. The movie is fantastic!
  47. LeeF.
    Jan 19, 2007
    10
    Better, even, than The Devil's Backbone. I was astonished at how much I liked this movie.
  48. Tim
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    i just saw this film and... i dont even know where to begin. my heart has been ripped in two... the devastating beauty, yet the devastation- the entire theater was dead silent when the credits began to roll, every soul in the house marinating in the beautiful sadness... the reviews cannot convey... you must see it yourself.
  49. JeremyM.
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    I just saw the movie not too long ago and it was worth it. It's not for young children and then again people should have understood it knowing that the rating was and R rating.. The subject that came to my mind after the movie is that no matter how old you are you are always clashing between what is fantasy and what is reality. In our minds as people we are always clashing with what I just saw the movie not too long ago and it was worth it. It's not for young children and then again people should have understood it knowing that the rating was and R rating.. The subject that came to my mind after the movie is that no matter how old you are you are always clashing between what is fantasy and what is reality. In our minds as people we are always clashing with what is fantasy and what is reality. It does not matter what perception our minds are in the chaos is there to deal with as of now. M.S. said a lot in his comments and I am going to put them in here because this person made sense "M. S. gave it a9: Before I say anything about this movie I would just like to ask a few questions. Is the violence in this movie as gratituous or as brutal as many of the reviewers here would suggest? The answer to that question is no. The violence was by no means as gruesome or as intrusive to the film's messages as many of these score keepers suggest. I apologize but this isn't Hostel. Can you be THAT squeamish? My belief is a few of you don't believe that a contemporary piece can possibly merit such critical acclaim. As many of you have pointed out, you wanted to see that 98 go down a notch. Ok. Your vote only affects user scores, idiots. With that out of the way, I would like to announce that this is one of the most beautifully directed and realized films of the year. Though it's plot may be simple and the special effects may not devour the screen, the stark and grim reality of what is seen is portrayed with an unflinching love for what is possible in our minds. If anything, my only complaint would be that the fantasy world of Ophelia, the main character, was not seen enough. But I realize that this was necessary. It shows how the greed, bloodlust, and chaos of our world affects the minds of the young and the curious and how the real world's scary tendencies are not forgotten within the imagination. The scene with the horrifying "Pale Man" is the perfect example. A hideous and bloodthirsty, yet totally fantasized entity wishing to do harm to Ophelia. This helps emphasize on the truth that pain and fear as well as love and laughter encompass all worlds, whether fictional or factual. The concepts of our reality never die even if its imagery and logic does. Acting wise this movie is grade A. Every person in the cast makes his or her role believable and vital to the overall presentation. The camera work was gorgeous and the special effects were, if not subtle, breath-taking in their aesthetic. Before I decide to top this review off, I would like to say that the packed theatre I was in clapped loudly and before that clapped a particularly tense yet triumphant escape scene. It had a totally unanimous effect on the crowd, showcasing the genious of the movie's acting, writing, directing, and pacing. This film is not for everyone but for anyone with an open mind, heart, or imagination...please see this." Stephanie P's comments made sense as well.. "Stephanie P. gave it a10: For the naysayers who think that there was (a) no plot or character development, (b) lack of fantasy elements throughout the film, and (c) nothing worth loving in this film other than startling visuals, then I have to wonder if you're thinking outside of the box at all!!! del Toro does an amazing job at paralleling the fantasy of the Underworld and the fantasy of Fascism - the "fantasy" is throughout; it is a fairy tale throughout... sometimes you don't always need monsters with eyes in their hands to signify "fantasy"... but, that was pretty creepy/awesome too. And, insofar as lack of character development, if you didn't cheer when Mercedes did the-thing-that-she-did-that-I'm-not-going-to-say-here-so-as-to-not-spoil-the-plot, then I can see how you thought character development was lacking but I also wonder if you were paying attention. All in all, del Toro's statement on horror both in fantasy and in politics, is so of the time that the movie goes beyond a simple beautiful piece of cinema. It is also very well crafted and intelligent and one of the best examples of traditional-horror-as-reflection-of-the-current-zeitgeist that I have seen." Cindy L's comments are with writing on here.... "Cindy L. gave it a10: The movie has been billed as a fairy tale for grownups -- I think that's a poor description. It is a movie about cruelty and being in the last place you want to be, and embracing the magic that presents itself. Much of the film isn't fairytale at all. It's cruel, horrible, and very difficult to watch. This is not, I say again NOT, a film for children. Ofelia has been torn from her world by the Captain. Those things that have been real to her are gone -- her father is dead, her mother's love is not hers alone anymore, she is in a strange place with strange sounds and strange people, everything feels wrong. Yet in that, and maybe because of that, she embraces the magic around her. Would a happy, well-adjusted child even seek out the labyrinth, even follow the insect fairy in the first place? Maybe it is only when we lack something, when we are lost, that we are willing to embrace something that would seem in a normal situation to be absurd. She never says, "weird!" or "this can't be happening". She never questions what she sees -- it is her possible salvation, and she accepts it straight off. When she sees the moon mark on her shoulder it only convinces her fully of what she had already accepted, and in the very next scene she introduces herself (fearlessly I might add) to the great toad as Princess Morella. She believes it utterly -- why? It feels like she knows that she has no other choice -- this is the way out, the only way out, and she takes it all willingly and bravely. Didn't we all wish to find out that secretly we are princesses and princes, that this life isn't our true life? (I know I did!) She surrenders to the fantasy in order to survive." I can go on and on and find the right remarks that makes this movie worth seeing again and again and I for those who understood the movie's psychological conflict. The comments that these people made on here are exactly what the movie hits on. For those who give this movie a 1 or a 0, are you afraid of reality and live in a fantasy world? Open your minds and think for once!!! Expand
  50. StephanieP.
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    For the naysayers who think that there was (a) no plot or character development, (b) lack of fantasy elements throughout the film, and (c) nothing worth loving in this film other than startling visuals, then I have to wonder if you're thinking outside of the box at all!!! del Toro does an amazing job at paralleling the fantasy of the Underworld and the fantasy of Fascism - the For the naysayers who think that there was (a) no plot or character development, (b) lack of fantasy elements throughout the film, and (c) nothing worth loving in this film other than startling visuals, then I have to wonder if you're thinking outside of the box at all!!! del Toro does an amazing job at paralleling the fantasy of the Underworld and the fantasy of Fascism - the "fantasy" is throughout; it is a fairy tale throughout... sometimes you don't always need monsters with eyes in their hands to signify "fantasy"... but, that was pretty creepy/awesome too. And, insofar as lack of character development, if you didn't cheer when Mercedes did the-thing-that-she-did-that-I'm-not-going-to-say-here-so-as-to-not-spoil-the-plot, then I can see how you thought character development was lacking but I also wonder if you were paying attention. All in all, del Toro's statement on horror both in fantasy and in politics, is so of the time that the movie goes beyond a simple beautiful piece of cinema. It is also very well crafted and intelligent and one of the best examples of traditional-horror-as-reflection-of-the-current-zeitgeist that I have seen. Expand
  51. JeffS.
    Jan 22, 2007
    10
    I simply do not understand the dislike for this movie I've been seeing around the web. It's not Hellboy, but it really is a perfectly realized fable about life's choices, working on multiple levels which, frankly, are really not too difficult to figure out. This is Amelie-level accessible, and just as poignant.
  52. WillG.
    Jan 25, 2007
    10
    This movie is perhaps the most amazing movie I have seen in quite some time, certainly the best of 2006. It grabs you from the first scenes of the film and doesn't loosen its grasp even after it is over. Incredible acting by all actors. Not only a fantasy film, but a perfect drama.
  53. DavidV.
    Jan 28, 2007
    10
    Magical realism at its very best. Lyrically, one can not deny its relevance to Marquez. Likewise, this is the kind of story Rushdie has been trying to tell his entire career and has fallen short. The Renaissance of Mexican filmmaking has been underway for at least ten years now, and "Pan's Labyrinth" ranks among the country's very top achievements. Undoubtedly, the best film of Magical realism at its very best. Lyrically, one can not deny its relevance to Marquez. Likewise, this is the kind of story Rushdie has been trying to tell his entire career and has fallen short. The Renaissance of Mexican filmmaking has been underway for at least ten years now, and "Pan's Labyrinth" ranks among the country's very top achievements. Undoubtedly, the best film of the year. Expand
  54. TetoB.
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    Excelente pelicula, es una rara mezcla de terror, guerra civil, drama y fantasía, donde las mismas hadas no siempre salen bien libradas, imaginen entonces a los que desean verlas?, el Fauno está mas feo que el mismo diablo, perfecto!. y toda esta combinación funciona!.
  55. StephenD.
    Jan 9, 2007
    10
    Glowing from the opening credits to the final scene. Cruel, tragic, terrifying and at times just purely beautiful. Building a divide for audiences to feel hatred and love for characters is never easy but here its magnifcient. The acting is of such a high standard many careers should blossom from such performances. First rate stuff.
  56. TomG.
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    I just watched PL an hour ago or so and it has got me searching the Internet for more information on this fantastic and timeless film. Like The Secret Garden, it is about that emotional disjoint in life between cynical and cruel reality and the hope and boundless generosity of myth and childhood. One of the best movies I've ever seen.
  57. CoryH.
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    I am a huge fan of both the fantasy and horror genre, and I have never seen a movie in either that left me as affected as this film did. What Del Toro has done is created a world that is horrifying and ugly in the physical sense, but one that is beautiful and intriguing as well. It is a world I would love to visit, but would scare the hell out of me. Be warned that it is in Spanish with I am a huge fan of both the fantasy and horror genre, and I have never seen a movie in either that left me as affected as this film did. What Del Toro has done is created a world that is horrifying and ugly in the physical sense, but one that is beautiful and intriguing as well. It is a world I would love to visit, but would scare the hell out of me. Be warned that it is in Spanish with English subtitles, but you won't even realize it ten minutes in. This is not a film for children by any means, but it reminded me of the first time I saw movies like Tron, The Neverending Story, and Labryinth. It will take to a place in your mind where you were afraid of went bump in the night, but will make you want to see what is making the noises. Go see it, and be amazed!!! Expand
  58. AdamT.
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    I am 45 years old andthis is the finest movie I have ever seen.
  59. PaulN.
    Feb 1, 2007
    10
    An absolute masterpiece. Visually stunning and a wonderful deomstration that fantasy can be reality too.
  60. TimK
    Feb 1, 2007
    10
    Of the 200-some-odd foreign films I've seen, this easily ranks in my top 5... though I hate to classify it that way, I know there are some that will undoubtedly stay away just because. Of the thousands of films I've seen, this may just wind up around the top ten. The combination of cinematography, direction, and story, along with the superb acting makes this a very rare treat. Of the 200-some-odd foreign films I've seen, this easily ranks in my top 5... though I hate to classify it that way, I know there are some that will undoubtedly stay away just because. Of the thousands of films I've seen, this may just wind up around the top ten. The combination of cinematography, direction, and story, along with the superb acting makes this a very rare treat. My wife came out of the theater and said "That's what I want for Christmas next year". Hopefully we'll be able to view it again long before then. Collapse
  61. JustinS.
    Feb 18, 2007
    10
    A great movie, as long as you know what you're in for. It may be billed as a fair tale, but its not one Walt Disney could ever have dreamed up. This is very much a gothic movie aimed squarely at adults. It is extremely dark, even depressing and graphically violent, with only the faintest hint of a happy ending. I don't know if the movie's rating in other places gives the A great movie, as long as you know what you're in for. It may be billed as a fair tale, but its not one Walt Disney could ever have dreamed up. This is very much a gothic movie aimed squarely at adults. It is extremely dark, even depressing and graphically violent, with only the faintest hint of a happy ending. I don't know if the movie's rating in other places gives the wrong impression, but suffice to say it most definitely deserves and R and children should not be allowed anywhere near it. Nevertheless, the movie is very imaginative and very well done. Its also extremely engrossing and adults will probably find it immensely satisfying, even though it will probably leave you profoundly depressed at the end. Expand
  62. StevenC.
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    I am saddened to see some people overlook every aspect of such a great movie, and instead focus solely on the violence or the lack of a deep, thought provoking, life changing plot. Pan's Labyrinth may not be the most family-oriented film of the season, but it does what so many movies have forgotten to do: tell a story. The movie tells a fairytale the way they used to be, before I am saddened to see some people overlook every aspect of such a great movie, and instead focus solely on the violence or the lack of a deep, thought provoking, life changing plot. Pan's Labyrinth may not be the most family-oriented film of the season, but it does what so many movies have forgotten to do: tell a story. The movie tells a fairytale the way they used to be, before Disneyland and overly-concerned parents. The movie is hardly violent on an unnecessary scale (Saw or Hostel), but instead focuses on the harsh realities of a world where good people do not always live. Ofelia's story is insperational and heart-warming; a young girl who is compassionate about good, wishes to vanquish evil and most importantly, seeks to find meaning in her world, her life. As I mentioned before, this film does not open your eyes to some new dimension; it simply tells a classic fairytale, without the make-up and glitter that hides reality in so much of our daily lives. Expand
  63. ChrisD.
    Feb 2, 2007
    10
    One of the best movies of the year. I'm amazed that some people rated this movie below an 8, even as low as a 0 in some cases. These people need their heads examined. I guess it hurts some people to have to actually use their brain to follow a story.
  64. JeremyF.
    Feb 22, 2007
    10
    This movie is beyond perfection. I am so disappointed to see how many people overlook each detail. They say there's too much violence, and it's dark, and it's too depressing. And they're all wrong. I mean, yes it is a dark and depressing movie, but it's supposed to be. And it's not THAT depressing. Not so much that you can't watch it. And the violence is This movie is beyond perfection. I am so disappointed to see how many people overlook each detail. They say there's too much violence, and it's dark, and it's too depressing. And they're all wrong. I mean, yes it is a dark and depressing movie, but it's supposed to be. And it's not THAT depressing. Not so much that you can't watch it. And the violence is not tasteless or useless. i think it's right. Guillermo Del Toro always has a lot of gore. Now, with that said... The movie's brilliance is almost indescribable. Ivana Baquero is an amazing aspiring young actress. And Sergi Lopez is amazing in his role as the heartless villain. All the acting is incredible. The visuals are as astounding as the hype makes them out to be. The music is breathtakingly beautiful. The whole thing is just a beyond perfect piece of work. This is not a work of cinematic stupidity. It's cinematic genius. 10/10, no doubt. Expand
  65. BillyB.T.
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    A great film that I can easily recommend to anyone despite the very gruesome torture/murder scenes. I don't want to ruin the plot but if you are looking for an easy thematic reference look to Milton's "Marriage of Heaven and Hell". Ophelia makes for the best Satan ever committed to film. The other prevalent theme, outside of the main theme rebellion vs order, is a slightly more A great film that I can easily recommend to anyone despite the very gruesome torture/murder scenes. I don't want to ruin the plot but if you are looking for an easy thematic reference look to Milton's "Marriage of Heaven and Hell". Ophelia makes for the best Satan ever committed to film. The other prevalent theme, outside of the main theme rebellion vs order, is a slightly more obtuse one of how we must fight to help shape the paths of our children and their collective futures. Expand
  66. mulderdog
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    Maybe 98 is a little high, but I enjoyed this movie more than any other in recent memory. A solid 95 for me.
  67. CatherineC.
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    Captivating, haunting, visceral and heartbreakingly sad, at times, this movie enobles the viewer in a way that few others have.
  68. BrettR
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    Celeste R. is clearly not well cultured. This film is a depiction of the post-civil war era of Spain as seen through the escapism of a little girl. Children often conceive adults by one-dimensional characteristics, and they are beautifully captured. However, there is no one-dimension to this story. From the religious references to the forbidden fruit tempting the woman via the grapes to Celeste R. is clearly not well cultured. This film is a depiction of the post-civil war era of Spain as seen through the escapism of a little girl. Children often conceive adults by one-dimensional characteristics, and they are beautifully captured. However, there is no one-dimension to this story. From the religious references to the forbidden fruit tempting the woman via the grapes to the obvious Goya reference of Saturno comiendo su hijo with the Pale Man eating the fairies, there are distinct influences in this movie which embody 40's Spanish sentiment. Patriarchy and Fascism are oft depicted through violence but never with such force and clarity. There's also nothing ditzy about a mother trying to save her daughter from the slums of 1940's Barcelona. Don't critize a film if you didn't understand it. Perfecto. Celeste, read some Borges while you're at it. Expand
  69. B.K.
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    This movie is a work of art. It deserves the 98/100 it got. The story is wonderfully woven between our world and a fantasy world either created or lived by a young girl. The visuals are fantastic. Sure, it is violent, but it works with the movie. Some people are dissapointed because it's not what they expected, but that doesn't make it a bad movie, it's still the same great This movie is a work of art. It deserves the 98/100 it got. The story is wonderfully woven between our world and a fantasy world either created or lived by a young girl. The visuals are fantastic. Sure, it is violent, but it works with the movie. Some people are dissapointed because it's not what they expected, but that doesn't make it a bad movie, it's still the same great movie if you knew what it was before you saw it or not. Another thing is don't follow the low user reviews, because there are people who are rating too low just to lower the score, which just chances people from going to see the best film of the year. Expand
  70. EvanC.
    Feb 7, 2007
    10
    I saw the trailer twice and both times thought to myself this is one to miss. However, because of the uniformly great reviews, I decided to go see it, and I'm glad I did. It is one of the best movies I have seen in years, and keeps haunting me. The trailer does the movie injustice. See it!
  71. BJones
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    Absolutely one of the greatest movies ever created. It is so engrossing, that I couldn't even explain what it was about after until I had a half an hour to get my thoughts together and attempt to do it justice. Astonishing would be an understatement.
  72. NancyH
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    Wow--it's one of the best films all year--no kidding. This is heart breaking and brilliant. Acting is fantastic.
  73. JIMD.
    Mar 11, 2007
    10
    This movie blew me away ! Depth, imagitation glimpse into the madness of all it's characters.... Excellent entertainement.
  74. ChristianB.
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    This movie is simply superb, the story is touching and moving - as a matter of fact, the whole theatre was captured in silence at the end. The actors do a tremendous job. The only criticism one might include is that some parts of the plot are somewhat predictable - but since Pan's Labyrinth is an adult (I mean adult! This movie has mature content) fairy tale, that's not too much This movie is simply superb, the story is touching and moving - as a matter of fact, the whole theatre was captured in silence at the end. The actors do a tremendous job. The only criticism one might include is that some parts of the plot are somewhat predictable - but since Pan's Labyrinth is an adult (I mean adult! This movie has mature content) fairy tale, that's not too much of a point Expand
  75. 2Roads
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    This is a stroke of brilliance by Guillermo del Toro-- the brilliance comes into play with how he has intricately woven the Parallel Journeys of the unconscious and conscious mind. It is a parable of moral choices versus blind obedience juxtaposed with the symbols of mythology and religion without getting lost in specific perceptions. The parable is told from the POV of fantasy being the This is a stroke of brilliance by Guillermo del Toro-- the brilliance comes into play with how he has intricately woven the Parallel Journeys of the unconscious and conscious mind. It is a parable of moral choices versus blind obedience juxtaposed with the symbols of mythology and religion without getting lost in specific perceptions. The parable is told from the POV of fantasy being the reality. It is the test of what one believes even though it cannot be seen Expand
  76. KevinC.
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    A fantastic movie, easily one of my favorites. Visually stunning, I found that the violence perfectly underscored the horrors of war, especially those horrors having been seen through the eyes of a 10-year-old girl. Some may say that the characters were underdeveloped, with Mercedes adopting the "Good Guy" and the Captain being the classic villian archtype, but one must remember that thisA fantastic movie, easily one of my favorites. Visually stunning, I found that the violence perfectly underscored the horrors of war, especially those horrors having been seen through the eyes of a 10-year-old girl. Some may say that the characters were underdeveloped, with Mercedes adopting the "Good Guy" and the Captain being the classic villian archtype, but one must remember that this is a story seen through the eyes of a young girl. All adults, to children, are either good, or bad. And to the people griping about the film being unsuitable for children, well, it's rated R for a reason. Expand
  77. NenadJ.
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    Mix of fairy tale and cruel war film, incredible feeling during watching, must watch!
  78. DiianaBigham
    Apr 14, 2007
    10
    a new classic which I will want to have in my DVD library. multilayered and dazzling -- appealing to the mind and the soul -- archetypes of fairy tales and quests about life's journey and choices every step of the way, during Childhood and Adulthood.
  79. RonS.
    Apr 6, 2007
    10
    A transcendent movie experience. Perhaps not as perfect as a '10' implies but it deserves the highest rank if only to distinguish it from movies, however worthy, that are merely entertaining.
  80. JamesB.
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    This film is nothing short of a masterpiece and a must see. While it isn't quite the fairy tale that you are lead to believe, it is fantastic film with deep resounding themes if you look for them. The plot is still immensely interesting and keeps the viewer's attention even if a good three-fourths takes place outside the fantasy world. It also has some of the most brilliant This film is nothing short of a masterpiece and a must see. While it isn't quite the fairy tale that you are lead to believe, it is fantastic film with deep resounding themes if you look for them. The plot is still immensely interesting and keeps the viewer's attention even if a good three-fourths takes place outside the fantasy world. It also has some of the most brilliant cinematography and rich art direction of any film ever made. Expand
  81. AndrewY.
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    I'm not going to lie, this is quite argueably the best movie i have ever seen. ever. It has an amazing amount of depth to it, like a classic novel (possibly even more). If you give the movie some thought after viewing it, you'll understand what I'm talking about.
  82. CalvinJ.
    May 14, 2007
    10
    Pan's Labyrinth is a dark and well crafted movie which deserved the Academy Award. Pan's Labyrinth is unique and is hands down interesting.
  83. GrantV.
    May 16, 2007
    10
    Great movie and a note to Alex H. Pan was the fawn not the girl. If you didn't know that much, no wonder you only gave the movie a 5.
  84. FrattyB.n
    May 20, 2007
    10
    The sheer beauty of this film is shown through so many different aspects of the film. First of all this film was del Toto's baby which he finely crafted down to every detail. When so much heart goes into a film it shows on screen. The acting is incredible and Ivana Baquero (Ofelia) is going to be a star. The reason I believe this is one of the greatest films of all time is because of The sheer beauty of this film is shown through so many different aspects of the film. First of all this film was del Toto's baby which he finely crafted down to every detail. When so much heart goes into a film it shows on screen. The acting is incredible and Ivana Baquero (Ofelia) is going to be a star. The reason I believe this is one of the greatest films of all time is because of the simple fact that it was original. Yes, del Toro put many parallels of Alice in Wonderland and countless fairy tails, and Narnia into the movie, but he isn't copying these stories, he is taking some of their ideas and creatures and applying them to his original story. When you watch the movie you can feel the heart and soul of everyone involved projecting from the screen. This is what is wrong with today's films, there is no heart. All we see today are blockbusters and sequels. But this movie is different. Most movies like blockbusters blatently tell you what to think and what you should feel coming out of the movie. But Pan's Labyrinth leaves so many decisions up to the viewer to interpret that it makes you feel like the adult who dismisses the magic of fairy tales or feel like you do in fact believe that what Ofelia saw was real. And on one last note about the ending. I believe when she gets to the kingdom it is in fact heaven and it may be insinuating that everyone has their own version of heaven, and that was hers because of what she believed. Expand
  85. BillB.
    May 27, 2007
    10
    A wonderful film like this should be bestowed on the public more often. The riveting details and incredible special effects really pulled this movie together and made you go back to your childhood days and think about how fairy tales were supposed to be told.
  86. IanB.
    May 7, 2007
    10
    This was an amazing film - fantasy, but not for children (seriously, not suitable for children) - for adults. It was beautiful, frightening, and utterly captivating. The musical score is still with me, many weeks after seeing the film. It's not a children's movie, it's not a wizards and warlocks movie, it's not a drama - it's unlike anything you've ever seen This was an amazing film - fantasy, but not for children (seriously, not suitable for children) - for adults. It was beautiful, frightening, and utterly captivating. The musical score is still with me, many weeks after seeing the film. It's not a children's movie, it's not a wizards and warlocks movie, it's not a drama - it's unlike anything you've ever seen or heard. If you hve an open mind and the IQ to handle it, it could be one of the best movies you've ever seen. Expand
  87. EricS.
    May 9, 2007
    10
    Incredible movie. Those who don't understand how the two plots are interrelated are simply taking everything that happened in the movie at face value. In actuality-- whether the events that led her to her ultimate destiny even happened are debatable. This is about a little girl who is trying to cope with the very violent world we live in any way she can-- mostly by using her Incredible movie. Those who don't understand how the two plots are interrelated are simply taking everything that happened in the movie at face value. In actuality-- whether the events that led her to her ultimate destiny even happened are debatable. This is about a little girl who is trying to cope with the very violent world we live in any way she can-- mostly by using her imagination. For those of you trying to apply historical theory: this is not a documentary-- it is a fictional narrative that comes from the imagination of one person and should be viewed as just that: FICTION. Personally, talking fauns and magical doors dissuade me from trying to apply any sort of realist theory... but there are always those who will try to find the worst in everything. I personally respect anyone's opinion that this is a bad film -- I just strongly disagree. Expand
  88. K.
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    My favorite movie by far. It was easy and fun to sit through and I'm looking forward to watching it again. The costumes and places were amazingly designed, the acting was marvelous and the ending left me speechless. Only if you watch the movie with a closed-mind will you hate it.
  89. MattG
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    An absolute triumph! This movie beautifully depicts the creative imagination of a young girl hostile to an environment that is at once cruel and suppressive. I do not understand the bad reviews. This movie left me shaken and moved to the core. I am definitely with the critics on this one.
  90. RyanF.
    Jun 2, 2007
    10
    This movie is one of the most beautiful, poetic and brilliant movies I have ever seen. The storyline flows so well...it is an incredible work of art and imagination. I loved it so much it brought a tear to my eye at the end.....especially the second time around....I think this movie is definitely something where you just can say "Awesome!" , it's fascination and amazement will leave This movie is one of the most beautiful, poetic and brilliant movies I have ever seen. The storyline flows so well...it is an incredible work of art and imagination. I loved it so much it brought a tear to my eye at the end.....especially the second time around....I think this movie is definitely something where you just can say "Awesome!" , it's fascination and amazement will leave deep thinkers in awe at the end........almost as if for that last moment of the movie.....you look at life in a whole different way. Pan's Labyrinth=masterpeice 10++ no doubt. Expand
  91. AmberCameron
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    Set in the midst of the Spanish Civil War, the story of young Ofelia and her quest to return to her other worldly kingdom, is a masterpiece that deserves only the utmost honor and respect. It takes us to a time when the world was in tragedy, and the only way to survive was to shut your mouth and do some of the most atrocious things. To live with a fascist stepfather, and a mother who isSet in the midst of the Spanish Civil War, the story of young Ofelia and her quest to return to her other worldly kingdom, is a masterpiece that deserves only the utmost honor and respect. It takes us to a time when the world was in tragedy, and the only way to survive was to shut your mouth and do some of the most atrocious things. To live with a fascist stepfather, and a mother who is carrying his child, and seemingly only in it for security, Ofelia is trapped in a wasteland. The pain inflicted on her mother Carmen, physically by her unborn child, can also be construed as a representation of the pain she may feel emotionally about marrying a fascist murderer, who only cares about the child she bears, and has no good sentiments towards her daughter. Ofelia, alone and afraid in a troubling time, has been so desensitized by the war, that she begins to repress her feelings, and create a world entirely her own, where she is a princess. One would also be blind however, not to notice that the fantasy world is as dark as reality. It is a mirror image of the real world, the only difference being that Ofelia could give herself hope. She was put through trials, including facing a child eating monster (who could easily be construed as her step father) and had to watch as her hopes started to die. We often see how reality coincides with Ofelia Expand
  92. NickL
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    Visually stunning and provocative, this movie effectively brings together both the elements of childhood fantasy and adult reality. A breathtaking movie that magnificently portrays the innocence of the young, and the feeling of safety and seclusion that one obtains from the so called "fantasy world". Easily the best film I have ever seen, this movie is full of parallels and truly and Visually stunning and provocative, this movie effectively brings together both the elements of childhood fantasy and adult reality. A breathtaking movie that magnificently portrays the innocence of the young, and the feeling of safety and seclusion that one obtains from the so called "fantasy world". Easily the best film I have ever seen, this movie is full of parallels and truly and deeply expresses the caring and compassion that one aspires to have. Expand
  93. NontayaK.
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    Taken place in the mid of political war blending with a little girl's imagination. Telling a tragedy story with full of excites and emotions. The end is heartrending but happy.
  94. WalterR.
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    Masterpiece...pure and simple. For the simple-minded, a confusing tale, but for those who understand that story-telling at this level happens once or twice per decade, this is simply genius. You will be haunted by it, moved by it, and overwhelmed by it's brilliance and power. See it...I beg you!
  95. nasrim.
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    Perfect, amazing soundtrack, photography.
  96. DennisD.
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    A moving, many layered masterpiece. Far more than fantasy, this film compares with the Ring trilogy for symbolic meaning.
  97. DaveF
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    Powerfully good movie. There's a lot more going on than meets the eye, but what meets the eye is so compelling you'll have to pick yourself up after it's over to even begin thinking about the multiple levels at work. People will red-score anything, even modern masterpieces. Avoid it at your peril. Also, a word to the horror-averse: you have nothing to worry about. Powerfully good movie. There's a lot more going on than meets the eye, but what meets the eye is so compelling you'll have to pick yourself up after it's over to even begin thinking about the multiple levels at work. People will red-score anything, even modern masterpieces. Avoid it at your peril. Also, a word to the horror-averse: you have nothing to worry about. There's a little blood but it's not a shock or scare film in the least. Remember the Dark Crystal? It's like that--fantasy in its darkest color. Expand
  98. MickeyM.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    An excellent movie, but I am writing this as a response to many of the uninformed opinions here. This is NOT a movie about the Spanish Civil War, which had been over for 5 years by 1944 (when this takes place). It is not an advertisement for Communism (which was never the uniting force among the Republicans) vs. Fascism. There is no real political message--it's simply setAn excellent movie, but I am writing this as a response to many of the uninformed opinions here. This is NOT a movie about the Spanish Civil War, which had been over for 5 years by 1944 (when this takes place). It is not an advertisement for Communism (which was never the uniting force among the Republicans) vs. Fascism. There is no real political message--it's simply set (realistically) in a time when the victors of a terrible civil war were still violently suppressing guerrillas from the losing side (btw this continued into the 1950s and estimates are that as many as 200K people were killed). Read a book, and learn some history. Orwell's Homage to Catalonia is a good start, although it takes place well before these (fictional) events. Expand
  99. MikeM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    Masterpiece. The low ratings for this movie are laughable. Sure I can see an 8, even a 7 but below that and you're dealing with an 8 year old who wanted more transformers. It's a story of fascism and brutality, hope and love. It helps if you know a little about post civil war Spain but petty dictatorships are common enough that most people shouldn't have too much trouble Masterpiece. The low ratings for this movie are laughable. Sure I can see an 8, even a 7 but below that and you're dealing with an 8 year old who wanted more transformers. It's a story of fascism and brutality, hope and love. It helps if you know a little about post civil war Spain but petty dictatorships are common enough that most people shouldn't have too much trouble understanding the setup. Simply amazing is all I can say. Expand
  100. BrentA.
    Sep 5, 2007
    10
    One of the greatest movies I have ever seen. If you've been putting off seeing this movie, stop. It's well worth the money. Don't worry about having to know Spanish. After a while, you forget that they're speaking Spanish. Overall, the movie itself consists of two different stories, that intertwine at the right moments. And PLEASE, people, before rating this movie, SEE One of the greatest movies I have ever seen. If you've been putting off seeing this movie, stop. It's well worth the money. Don't worry about having to know Spanish. After a while, you forget that they're speaking Spanish. Overall, the movie itself consists of two different stories, that intertwine at the right moments. And PLEASE, people, before rating this movie, SEE IT! A majority of bad ratings nowadays come from people who haven't seen the movie yet. Don't be ignorant like that. Anyway, see this movie, love it, rate it. Expand
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    88
    Pan's Labyrinth artfully fuses a war film with a family melodrama and a fairy tale. The result is visually stunning and emotionally shattering.
  2. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    100
    Dark, twisted and beautiful, this entwines fairy-tale fantasy with war-movie horror to startling effect.
  3. 100
    One of the greatest of all fantasy films.