Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 1795 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Following a bloody civil war, young Ofelia enters a world of unimaginable cruelty when she moves in with her new stepfather, a tyrannical military officer. Armed with only her imagination, Ofelia discovers a mysterious labyrinth and meets a faun who sets her on a path to saving herself andFollowing a bloody civil war, young Ofelia enters a world of unimaginable cruelty when she moves in with her new stepfather, a tyrannical military officer. Armed with only her imagination, Ofelia discovers a mysterious labyrinth and meets a faun who sets her on a path to saving herself and her ailing mother. But soon, the lines between fantasy and reality begin to blur, and before Ofelia can turn back, she finds herself at the center of a ferocious battle between good and evil. [Warner Bros.] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Like any great myth, Pan's Labyrinth encodes its messages through displays of magic. And like any good fairy tale, it is also embroidered with threads of death and loss.
  2. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    100
    Dark, twisted and beautiful, this entwines fairy-tale fantasy with war-movie horror to startling effect.
  3. 100
    Pan's Labyrinth is a transcendent work of art.
  4. 100
    A swift and accessible entertainment, blunt in its power and exquisite in its effects.
  5. 100
    Literally and figuratively marvelous, a rich, daring mix of fantasy and politics.
  6. 91
    After two hours of dazzlingly fantastical images and stomach-turning gore, del Toro winds around, and finds his story's center.
  7. His palette here is deep-toned, with bottomless blacks and supersaturated oranges and blues--as if the Walt Disney of "Pinocchio" had collaborated with Goya.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 81 out of 665
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    This movie moved me deeply in 2006, and hasn't stopped moving me since. The final scene is playing on a perpetual loop in the background ofThis movie moved me deeply in 2006, and hasn't stopped moving me since. The final scene is playing on a perpetual loop in the background of my mind. It is a canonical work of art. Collapse
  2. AbbyL
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    First I have to say great movie, second I agree with Lena, third it bothers me that people watch movies they know they're not going to First I have to say great movie, second I agree with Lena, third it bothers me that people watch movies they know they're not going to like and then give them low scores. This film, as many have said, is the perfect mix of so many polar opposites. It is truly amazing how Del Toro actually pulls this movie off with such grace. I do believe that this movie deserves this score, it was breath taking... and the end?! Oh the ending was... well I won't spoil it but I left that movie feeling upset for Ofelia. Anyways the point is the movie is wonderful and no matter what there will always be that one person saying to the most universally acclaimed film, "It sucked, don't watch it." But always trust the minority or just watch whatever you like watching. Expand
  3. NicholasF.
    Jan 11, 2007
    10
    Personally i think this is the greatest movie of all time, its mix of reality and fantasy makes this the ultimate movie to be seen by our Personally i think this is the greatest movie of all time, its mix of reality and fantasy makes this the ultimate movie to be seen by our children and so forth. this movie is no for the weak of mind which is where any bad reviews came from. if any movie deserves higher than a 10, its this one Expand
  4. Sep 14, 2014
    10
    Del Toro is one of the few directors currently out there with the sort of unique vision that Kubrick or Lucas (forget the dialogue...think ofDel Toro is one of the few directors currently out there with the sort of unique vision that Kubrick or Lucas (forget the dialogue...think of the how far Star Wars was ahead of it's time in '77) had...Pan's Labyrinth is well deserving of it's 98... Expand
  5. RobE.
    May 7, 2007
    9
    I don't understand the people bashing this film. It's not a fantasy film, not does it have any intention on being one. The fantasy I don't understand the people bashing this film. It's not a fantasy film, not does it have any intention on being one. The fantasy elements are the girl's way of escaping an otherwise terrible life. As for a cop-out ending, how can you say that everyone winds up happy. There's no celebration with the rebel victory, as they know a looming threat still exists in franco and the fascists. As for the girl, she's dead, the only reason she's happy in the fantasty is because she'd rather die then live in her reality. To say the movie is a cliche of oversimplified elements is just to go against the grain and refuse to admit to the film's popular reception. It's a fantastic film and a entertaining, moving experience. Expand
  6. SteveO.
    Jan 22, 2007
    7
    A bit disappointing. Yes, this was a good movie, not spectacular. Much potential but didn't capitalize I don't believe. Not ThatA bit disappointing. Yes, this was a good movie, not spectacular. Much potential but didn't capitalize I don't believe. Not That Gory! No worse than Private Ryan. Well shot scenes left a lot of the gore to the imagination so these ppl must have some perverted thoughts. Anywho - worth seeing. But as a fairy talle i would've appreciated a more in depth look into the fantasy world - the tasks in the fantasy world were brief, and not enthralling. and seemingly simple. Seems to me the director wished to say more about the time in history than the story of this little girl and her imagination. The labyrinth could've been done away with - there was no point in having it in the movie. He did nothing with it. It could've been "Pan's Closet" for all intents and purposes. The faun was the most interesting character and did not reveal his purpose - be it self serving or if indeed his purpose was to help Ofelia. Ending was good. Very good Idea for a flick - just didn't explore what had been set up from the beginning as an ingenious fairy tale. Left me wanting more. Good movie though.. Not a masterpiece. Expand
  7. RyanC.
    Jan 18, 2007
    0
    This movie was a major disappointment. I can't say it was horrible because it was generally entertaining with some great visuals, but a This movie was a major disappointment. I can't say it was horrible because it was generally entertaining with some great visuals, but a 97/100? If this film did not have such an inflated score I would normally have given it a 6 or 7. I realise a zero may not be in the best taste but for the sake of future readers the score needs to be lowered. Expand

See all 665 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far)

    The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far) Image
    Published: March 26, 2015
    Check out our lists of the best (and worst) movies of the century so far, ranked by Metascore overall and in a variety of genres.
  2. Lost in Translation: Second-Guessing the Academy's Foreign Language Picks

    Lost in Translation: Second-Guessing the Academy's Foreign Language Picks Image
    Published: April 16, 2010
    Oscar-winning foreign language film "The Secret in Their Eyes" arrives in American theaters this weekend. But it's not the best-reviewed foreign film of the past year, continuing the Academy's decade-long trend of selecting lesser titles. What films have they overlooked?
  3. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.
  4. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.