Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 1747 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Guillermo del Toro delivers a unique, richly-imagined epic with Pan's Labyrinth, a gothic fairy tale set against the postwar repression of Franco's Spain.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 100
    A swift and accessible entertainment, blunt in its power and exquisite in its effects.
  2. 100
    Del Toro never coddles the audience. He means us to leave Pan's Labyrinth shaken to our souls. He succeeds.
  3. Like the folk tales from centuries past, Pan's Labyrinth is a dark odyssey with nightmarish visions and cruel threats, but coming through the sacrifice and suffering is the childlike belief in magic and imagination that for Del Toro represents the hope and optimism of a happily ever after in this cruel world.
  4. 100
    Del Toro's film ranks with the best examinations of children's inner lives, but be warned: Its haunting insights are best left to adults.
  5. A critic trots out the word "masterpiece" at his own peril, but there it is.
  6. 91
    After two hours of dazzlingly fantastical images and stomach-turning gore, del Toro winds around, and finds his story's center.
  7. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    80
    There's plenty of blood -- both literal and figurative -- coursing through the veins of Pan's Labyrinth, a richly imagined and exquisitely violent fantasy from writer-director Guillermo del Toro.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 81 out of 662
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    This movie moved me deeply in 2006, and hasn't stopped moving me since. The final scene is playing on a perpetual loop in the background ofThis movie moved me deeply in 2006, and hasn't stopped moving me since. The final scene is playing on a perpetual loop in the background of my mind. It is a canonical work of art. Collapse
  2. EricG.
    Aug 6, 2007
    10
    Here's what I think: Pan's Labyrinth, above all, is about being true to oneself. It is about doing the right thing in the face of Here's what I think: Pan's Labyrinth, above all, is about being true to oneself. It is about doing the right thing in the face of evil and horrible consequences. It is about rebelling in the face of wrong, it is about trusting one's inner instincts. It is about life in the face of death, right in the face of wrong. The ending captures the essence of the afterlife so beautifully, and captures the paradox of the tragedy on earth that it remains both strangely beautiful and despairing at once. The plot, characters, cinematography, acting, all function as a driving force to drive this theme home. Expand
  3. NickM
    Jan 12, 2007
    10
    A rich, beautiful and profound film.
  4. Sep 28, 2014
    10
    A stunning and dark fairy-tale movie. It's deep, moving, and filled with symbolism. It's a treat for the eyes with gorgeous effects andA stunning and dark fairy-tale movie. It's deep, moving, and filled with symbolism. It's a treat for the eyes with gorgeous effects and creatures that just look real. It's a mix of a fantasy and a war movie with touches of horror. It's overall just a work of art that can appeal to audiences of all ages, although due to some mature content and potentially frightening images it is probably better left to the older ones. Del Toro created a masterpiece, one that should be at the top of your must-watch list. It is one that will stick with you long after watching. Expand
  5. DanS.
    May 16, 2007
    9
    Powerful and always engrossing, this tale is not too sad nor bloody for most adutls and young people to see. The acting and cinematography Powerful and always engrossing, this tale is not too sad nor bloody for most adutls and young people to see. The acting and cinematography are simply terrific. I hope that theatre managers keep this on the screen long enough for the favorable word of mouth to get around. I plan to see it again on DVD sometime. Expand
  6. T.J.
    Jan 24, 2007
    7
    The film is amazing looking and imaginative. The young girl is a terrific actress. But, I still think the film lacks subtlety. It's a The film is amazing looking and imaginative. The young girl is a terrific actress. But, I still think the film lacks subtlety. It's a comic book world of extreme violence and brutal fascism on one side and innocence and imagination on the other. Life exists in the gray areas and so does great cinema. Is it really all that brave or interesting to show Franco's fascists as brutal and the rebels as valiant? Surely there's a deeper story here. But, very well acted and imaginative. Expand
  7. RyanC.
    Jan 18, 2007
    0
    This movie was a major disappointment. I can't say it was horrible because it was generally entertaining with some great visuals, but a This movie was a major disappointment. I can't say it was horrible because it was generally entertaining with some great visuals, but a 97/100? If this film did not have such an inflated score I would normally have given it a 6 or 7. I realise a zero may not be in the best taste but for the sake of future readers the score needs to be lowered. Expand

See all 662 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Lost in Translation: Second-Guessing the Academy's Foreign Language Picks

    Lost in Translation: Second-Guessing the Academy's Foreign Language Picks Image
    Published: April 16, 2010
    Oscar-winning foreign language film "The Secret in Their Eyes" arrives in American theaters this weekend. But it's not the best-reviewed foreign film of the past year, continuing the Academy's decade-long trend of selecting lesser titles. What films have they overlooked?
  2. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.
  3. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.