User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 238 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 238

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 22, 2011
    7
    Most horror movies are a bore. They try to frighten the audience with blood and guts and unstoppable killing machines. The Paranormal Activity series has taken the low-tech "bump in the night" approach and made it work for three films. While I enjoyed it, I believe this is the weakest of the three. While it is gifted at building tension it doesn't provide as satisfying a payoff as theMost horror movies are a bore. They try to frighten the audience with blood and guts and unstoppable killing machines. The Paranormal Activity series has taken the low-tech "bump in the night" approach and made it work for three films. While I enjoyed it, I believe this is the weakest of the three. While it is gifted at building tension it doesn't provide as satisfying a payoff as the two previous films. The story also gives very little attention to the reason behind the mayhem. I would have preferred a more complete explanation for all the bumps in the night. Even with these complaints, Paranormal Activity 3 is far better than any of the Saw films and 99 percent of all the other so-called horror flicks. That's why I gave it a 7. Expand
  2. Oct 24, 2011
    2
    Ok im s sucker for reality based horror movies. When the 1st one came out, I could not sleep for a week. It was great. I love it when as movie has that much of a scare effect. The 2nd one came out and I was literally praying to god in the cinema to get me out of here, again loved it. The 3rd one I was like ...ok where are the scenes from the trailer. I am not lying people when I say theOk im s sucker for reality based horror movies. When the 1st one came out, I could not sleep for a week. It was great. I love it when as movie has that much of a scare effect. The 2nd one came out and I was literally praying to god in the cinema to get me out of here, again loved it. The 3rd one I was like ...ok where are the scenes from the trailer. I am not lying people when I say the scariest scenes are in the TRAILER and not the MOVIE. The movie is missing approx 7-8 scenes. This is not acceptable and I feel like its a Marketing tactic to attract cinema seats to be sold and for us to buy the DVD. NOT GOOD Expand
  3. Oct 21, 2011
    6
    Before I get to the substance of my review, I have to describe a fairly shocking incident that occurred in my theater just a little while ago - the first Thursday night, 10pm showing in Santa Monica. And this no B.S. About 30 minutes into the film, just after the subtitles read "Night 13", a young guy sitting 2 rows in front of me started groaning/yelling. He was in a group of six -Before I get to the substance of my review, I have to describe a fairly shocking incident that occurred in my theater just a little while ago - the first Thursday night, 10pm showing in Santa Monica. And this no B.S. About 30 minutes into the film, just after the subtitles read "Night 13", a young guy sitting 2 rows in front of me started groaning/yelling. He was in a group of six - looked like a triple date - and they had been fairly squirrely up to that point, so I assumed he was just playing up the tension as people are prone to do in horror movies - testing each other and themselves. I suppose it's easier to laugh than to give in to the fear. Turns out it was the onset of a full-blown seizure. People started bounding over rows to help the guy brace himself and the lights came up - he didn't stop shaking for about a minute. He apparently had no history of seizures - which is what he told the firemen after he came to. His friends were blown away, and the packed out theater couldn't believe it. Could the tension from the film have caused or contribute to it? I have no idea. The firemen were asking a lot of questions about drug use - the friends were confident in ruling it out. (Personally, he didn't seem like the type, but what do I know?) It made the rest of the film a little creepier knowing it could have a physical effect on someone... So after a 20 minute break in the action, they started the film again (and gave us all free tickets for another show). There was some good-natured daring of each other to sit in that kid's seat for the rest of the movie - no takers. So, was the movie as good as the first two? I'd say no, but it certainly was able to construct an entirely new sort of tension. The late-80s VHS feel to the thing was refreshing My heart was racing for most of the last 15 minutes or so. I'd give the "experience" of the evening about a 9, but the movie? About a 6. Expand
  4. Oct 21, 2011
    9
    Let me premise this with the fact that scary movies DO NOT have an effect on me. I enjoy them, but hardly does it get a response out of me.

    PA3 changed this for me. I had preconceived notions based on what was in the trailers. The trailers are very misleading. Do not assume you know what will be in the movie based on the trailers. You won't really see anything that was in them. The movie
    Let me premise this with the fact that scary movies DO NOT have an effect on me. I enjoy them, but hardly does it get a response out of me.

    PA3 changed this for me. I had preconceived notions based on what was in the trailers. The trailers are very misleading. Do not assume you know what will be in the movie based on the trailers. You won't really see anything that was in them.

    The movie was great at creating tension and causing me to tense up enough that when something happened I'd freak out. The ending could have been better, but overall this was a great film. A definite must see for those who enjoy horror films!
    Expand
  5. Oct 22, 2011
    5
    The first film was a surprise hit that used old-fashioned horror minimalism to terrify the audience, but by now any originality that the premise originally possessed has been milked out by Hollywood producers with dollar signs in their eyes. Read the full review at: http://themuddoctor.blogspot.com/2011/10/paranormal-activity-3.html
  6. Oct 24, 2011
    5
    Paranormal Activity 3 is somewhat bit of a letdown but the last fifteen minutes of the film actually did leave me shaking. It's what we've seen from the past two films but in different scenes. Better than the first? Hell no. Better than the second? Probably not. Is it worth it? Yes.
  7. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    I am a long time fan of horror/thriller movies and books, tending to lean towards the **** ideals, but not discounting slasher films. I'll not drone on about camera technique, nor the type of medium used,(tho I will say the acting and direction of the two lil starlets in this piece was great :-D ). As most know this story chronicles the "other worldly" lives of two sisters but in reverse,I am a long time fan of horror/thriller movies and books, tending to lean towards the **** ideals, but not discounting slasher films. I'll not drone on about camera technique, nor the type of medium used,(tho I will say the acting and direction of the two lil starlets in this piece was great :-D ). As most know this story chronicles the "other worldly" lives of two sisters but in reverse, the latest film being them as children. I did enjoy the first two,seeing them on DVD, but was hesitant to spend money at a large theater filled with whispers and cell phones when in a couple months I could watch it for half the price in the comfort of my home.My niece , however, also a fan of the scream screen, was desperate to the point of, "I'll die if i can't see it opening night at midnight!!", and it being R rated...I couldn't give her money and toss her at the mall while pausing in front of the doors, and go to Applebee's for a couple **** while I waited. So, being the dutiful Uncle I am, I grudgingly relaxed a little after work and grumbled up to the theater so she could see the premier. Once seated in the theater, the previews included a trailer of a P.A. (Paranormal Activity) type movie involving a mental hospital and exorcisms with some very good special affects were played, adding to the normal tension associated with horror flicks in the the theater. The film began with no hoopla or credits, it was just there and playing. I could feel the anxiey n the place rise like a presence to a point where allmost all "surprise" in the film caused shrieks and giggles and I was bored already, but very soon...I developed a wickid lil grin. This was the best of the three, the screams from the audience were nearly defening and even young men were clenching so fast they came out of their seats and trashed anybravado they had shown coming in, while I was trying hard to watch the entire screen so I wouldn't miss any of the lil "creepys" that popped up. My 12 year old niece in the mean time went from a state of interest, to fasination, to mild fear up to an occation "freak-out", (baring in mind she' a BIG fan of "the Grudge" tp the point of knowing all the characters and watching the japanese version "Ju-on" as well as "The Ring" and the "Saws" franchise)but thats the point of going to these things in the first place. I was her age when the original "exorcist" came out and, like her, I was looking in the shadows and searched every room when I got homeand even having the light on was only minor comfort,( noooo Im NOT mean...she wants to see it again by the way) Long story short, ( to late),this is a must see film worth admissionlike a good roller coaster it should make you walk out going "HOLY CRAP" or it's just another day. ;-P......P.S. I don't like the way this format does corrections Expand
  8. Oct 22, 2011
    3
    Paranormal Activity 3 is simply just more of the same recycled thrills, chills, twists, and shifts from the first two films, except in this case, it's more terrible than terrifying.
  9. Oct 22, 2011
    3
    I gave this movie and big fat 3! When I saw the trailer for this movie, I though it was awesome! So I went to see the movie and it was complete "BS"! The movie had not shown the scene when the little girls went into the bathroom to play Bloody Mary and when the movie was getting really good in the middle when Katie's hair got pulled, it went back to nothing and then again at the end whenI gave this movie and big fat 3! When I saw the trailer for this movie, I though it was awesome! So I went to see the movie and it was complete "BS"! The movie had not shown the scene when the little girls went into the bathroom to play Bloody Mary and when the movie was getting really good in the middle when Katie's hair got pulled, it went back to nothing and then again at the end when the family had went to the grandmother's home, it got great until all of the sudden out of no where, it ended! The ads on television about the movie were misleading because they said that the last 15 minutes would change your l,ife when the whole movie was nothing! I really want my money back and I advise you not to waste YOUR money at the theater or when it comes out on DVD! Expand
  10. Nov 27, 2011
    3
    Boring, dull and got me sleepy before the first half an hour. The ending is an huge letdown. I expected better. The movie has a lot of unescessary scary scenes (which are not scary at all). It didn't really give you the kick that you expected for a horror movie.
  11. Feb 11, 2012
    3
    I'm not Paranormal Activity franchise fans. No impress for the first one, even I skip the second one. I just curious why the third got positive reviews. I watched it and it's still boring. Come on! We don't need new SAW.
  12. Oct 26, 2011
    1
    VERY VERY OVERRATED. NOT AS SCARY AS I WOULD ASSUME. EXPECTED MORE. WHERE ARE THE CLASSIC HORROR MOVIES. THEY DONT MAKE THEM LIKE THEY USED TOO. THIS WAS JUST ANOTHER BLAIR WITCH, WATCHING A MOVIE THROUGH A CAMERA LENSE IS NOT SCARY@!
  13. Oct 22, 2011
    7
    Just Like it's predecessors the film boasts in good horror themes for a low-budgeted film. But still lacks any good dialogue. The Film starts off in the year 2005 where Hunter wasn't born and the box of tapes where stolen from their house, which then continues as a prequel to the first and second films. The film was good, me and my friends loved it but I have to criticize the film's veryJust Like it's predecessors the film boasts in good horror themes for a low-budgeted film. But still lacks any good dialogue. The Film starts off in the year 2005 where Hunter wasn't born and the box of tapes where stolen from their house, which then continues as a prequel to the first and second films. The film was good, me and my friends loved it but I have to criticize the film's very short length and the missing scenes from what I saw in the trailer. All in all it's still good even though for it's short length. Pros: Everything!!!! Cons: Short Length and where's the scenes I saw from the trailer!?! Expand
  14. Oct 23, 2011
    9
    If you're coming to this movie expecting to get your mind-blown with innovative cinema... you're an idiot. Of course you're not gonna see any of that, there is a 3 at the end of the title after all. So from that end, it's a given, that it's going to seem familiar, but if you're going to this movie expecting a good time, it delivers extremely well. It's like going to a haunted house maze,If you're coming to this movie expecting to get your mind-blown with innovative cinema... you're an idiot. Of course you're not gonna see any of that, there is a 3 at the end of the title after all. So from that end, it's a given, that it's going to seem familiar, but if you're going to this movie expecting a good time, it delivers extremely well. It's like going to a haunted house maze, but without the added stress of walking around. It's a creepy roller coaster ride of anxious turns and things that go bump in the night. And yes, it's scary. I yelled out loud at one of them. And there's a pleasant balance of plug your ears, holy-crap-I'm-going-to-sh*t-myself scares, as well as the ones that make you laugh and make fun of your friends next to you for jumping. This movie's a great time, and anybody who doesn't think so, should just stop being a sourpuss and live a little. Expand
  15. Oct 27, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie started off pretty good, with a clip somewhat, but not quite, "explaining" the break in at Kristie's house that prompted them to install the security cams that recorded the majority of the events in PA2 (even though in PA2 they claim that the only thing stolen was a necklace, and in this one it was the old VHS tapes from when the girls were little that were the only things missing). Then the movie switches to the clips from the "missing tapes" without any explanation about where the tapes were found. I know it seems like nit-picking, but you knew that the footage shown in PA1 was found when the police showed up and found Micah and thus the video footage on the computer, the footage shown in PA2 was found when the police showed up after the murders of Kristie and Dan... but where were these "missing tape "found"? it seems like they could have at least explained that the tapes had been found in the attic of Katie and Micah's house like the burnt picture had been... something would have been better than nothing.

    The first part of the Old footage was pretty good if watched by itself, but as a part of the series there were some inconsistencies, such as the Demon being "attached" to Kristie, yet in PA1 Katie states that the Demon had been attached to her and that Kristie had simply "seen it too". Also, the fact that the demon was given a name as sinister and frightening as TOBY did a lot to take away from the scare factor. on top of that it just seemed like Toby just had a thing for little girls.

    Also there were some scenes in the previews that simply weren't in the movie such as the two girls playing Bloody Mary, one of the girls walking off of the second floor balcony, "the knocking game", the medium getting smashed into the table by an unseen force, the kid throwing water in the demon and things flying around the room, the mom getting pulled into the room and pinned to the bed, and... THE FIRE that was talked about so much in PA1! all of these were in "official previews" yet weren't in the movie. instead we got a cult of angry old women?

    I was expecting A LOT better and a movie that fit in with the whole back story from the first two movies and help tie them all in together. Also, where was the Epilogue? Like, "Lois' house was sold in 2005 following her death, It was destroyed in a fire in October of 2006. The Bodies of Julie and Dennis have never been found". Anything? Nothing? Some sort of follow up on what we had just seen like in the first two movies?
    Expand
  16. Oct 27, 2011
    1
    Usually I scare very easily. This one was a real snoozer. Very predictable, and boring. Almost as bad as PA2. I definitely expected more. I don't believe I was the only one. Looking around the the theater, a lot of people found their smart phones more entertaining.
  17. Oct 28, 2011
    2
    Disappointed in this round. It didnt compare to the first two; where you could actually believe these were candid type videos. In this movie, it's just too fake. The "video" quality is way too good to be VHS filmed in the 80's and stored for 23 years or so. Also, the acting seemed like... well, acting! In my opinion, there wasnt enough scare or creepy factor. Too much just day to dayDisappointed in this round. It didnt compare to the first two; where you could actually believe these were candid type videos. In this movie, it's just too fake. The "video" quality is way too good to be VHS filmed in the 80's and stored for 23 years or so. Also, the acting seemed like... well, acting! In my opinion, there wasnt enough scare or creepy factor. Too much just day to day activities going on and it was all just a little too cheesy. However, it did keep my attention for the full movie and I am shocked in myself for wanting a 4th movie... maybe in hopes they can recapture what the first two movies had or just to find out what happened to that baby from the 2nd movie. Expand
  18. Nov 3, 2011
    0
    Mais do mesmo, nada de novo, cenas de susto que já sabemos a hora (tudo parado, alguma coisa vai na tela com barulho), roteiro idiota, final sem sentido. Enfim, LIXO.
  19. Nov 13, 2011
    1
    First of all its a letdown.When i went in that theater i expected to not sleep for a week straight.Instead i wanted to go to sleep by the end.Ya sure there's some parts that made me jump(a little)but besides that it was a waste of time and money. When i walked into the theater there was about 7 people including me.I thought i was early,when the movie started i turned around and there wasFirst of all its a letdown.When i went in that theater i expected to not sleep for a week straight.Instead i wanted to go to sleep by the end.Ya sure there's some parts that made me jump(a little)but besides that it was a waste of time and money. When i walked into the theater there was about 7 people including me.I thought i was early,when the movie started i turned around and there was the same people,and in the middle and end.I bet if you put all the scary parts together its about a 3 min. movie.In the end (when the credits started playing) everyone in the theater(including me) thought half way through they were going to scare you or ther was more.There wasn't.So me and everyone in the theater(7 people) wasted about 5 or 6 min. watching the credits and by the end we all felt like fools. My over all thoughts are that it sucked and me or any one besides ariel schulman could make a better movie. Expand
  20. Dec 13, 2011
    8
    I saw this movie with my friend oppening weekend, i'm a big fan of the PA movies and love all of them, this one on the other hand was the best of the 3. It had amazing camera angles, and scares that will haunt me to this day. I was whimpering the whole time. At the end of the movie, which will haunt me for the rest of my life, my friend and I through our slusshies and ran out of theI saw this movie with my friend oppening weekend, i'm a big fan of the PA movies and love all of them, this one on the other hand was the best of the 3. It had amazing camera angles, and scares that will haunt me to this day. I was whimpering the whole time. At the end of the movie, which will haunt me for the rest of my life, my friend and I through our slusshies and ran out of the theater. Bottom line, Scary. Expand
  21. Feb 11, 2012
    0
    This 3rd installment, and the recently announced 4th, are greedy, bold faced grabs for your money. There is nothing original in this movie, which is to be expected considering the concept has a very limited framework (family sets up camera, things happen, someone believes it, someone doesn't believe it, someone dies). This one waits over an hour to have anything happen, has one of theThis 3rd installment, and the recently announced 4th, are greedy, bold faced grabs for your money. There is nothing original in this movie, which is to be expected considering the concept has a very limited framework (family sets up camera, things happen, someone believes it, someone doesn't believe it, someone dies). This one waits over an hour to have anything happen, has one of the worst set designer/wardrobe combinations ever, (wasn't it supposed to be in the 80's?), and moves into ridiculous territory for it's ending. Typical of Hollywood's "drive a good idea into the ground then kick it a few times" philosophy of late. Save yourself the time and money. Expand
  22. Oct 26, 2011
    8
    This movie surprised me in the best way. It created like-able characters, in a vulnerable state, and embellished on the serie's already far-fetched yet interesting story. But are "the scares" worth it??? There quite a bit of creepy bump in the night scenes, which i thoroughly enjoy (yet don't actually frighten me). However, in the third act, the film had my hands a bit sweaty and myThis movie surprised me in the best way. It created like-able characters, in a vulnerable state, and embellished on the serie's already far-fetched yet interesting story. But are "the scares" worth it??? There quite a bit of creepy bump in the night scenes, which i thoroughly enjoy (yet don't actually frighten me). However, in the third act, the film had my hands a bit sweaty and my grip tightened. So yes. The movie is scary. If you enjoyed the first and the second films, then you'll enjoy this one. If you've been on the fence, this one may not change your mind. But the film works. It creates a great sense of dread without the impassable drudging through night after night of nothingness like in the second film. (which i did not care for at all) The film moves, and leaves you fearing the coming night scenes. Take a friend who is a bit of a scare-dy cat, and you'll have a great time. Be patient, and allow yourself to get scared, and you'll have a great time! Expand
  23. Oct 28, 2011
    4
    This was a cut above the standard horror flick in many ways, despite the inconsistencies of the whole "caught on camera" trope, done best, and as it should have been in hindsight, last, by the still stunning BLAIR WITCH PROJECT; acting of a very high order for this kind of movie, and then it all turns remarkably dumb, and of course, ends even dumber. I'd give the first 80% of this movie aThis was a cut above the standard horror flick in many ways, despite the inconsistencies of the whole "caught on camera" trope, done best, and as it should have been in hindsight, last, by the still stunning BLAIR WITCH PROJECT; acting of a very high order for this kind of movie, and then it all turns remarkably dumb, and of course, ends even dumber. I'd give the first 80% of this movie a 6, and the ending a 0. Expand
  24. Nov 13, 2011
    7
    This movie was pretty scary and Paranormal Activity 3 has scariest moments that made me scared. First, the story takes back were Katie and Kristi started haunted in their past before they started hauntedl. Until the ghost started to terrorize the entire family, while their dad tape record the entire house. We can tell that it has the same thing all over again, but in the different way.This movie was pretty scary and Paranormal Activity 3 has scariest moments that made me scared. First, the story takes back were Katie and Kristi started haunted in their past before they started hauntedl. Until the ghost started to terrorize the entire family, while their dad tape record the entire house. We can tell that it has the same thing all over again, but in the different way. Also, we have new characters to tell back were they started. Here we have Katie and Kristi and they did pretty well. The parents are bit okay, but sometimes they're stupid at the same time. Finally, the scenes are very scary that I got chills while watching at it. They do boogie sounds, they do noises, and they haunted everywhere. In my conclusion, this movie is far scary than the second and the first one does more scare and third gets more chill to see. Expand
  25. Oct 21, 2011
    7
    I loed the first two, but this one was a little dissapointing. The scares were few and far between not to mention just reused. Dragged across the floor check, thrown furniture check, moving lights check. On the bright side it has a lot more laughs than the first two and definately adds to the story allowing a follow up.
  26. Oct 21, 2011
    6
    The movie kept you in suspense. Watching it in the theaters is the only way to enjoy this movie. Now basing it on experience in a theater and having an great night out with my wife watching this suspenseful comedy movie (because it is nothing more than comedy) I give it a 10 for the heartbeats it delivers. As for the movie itself if I was to watch it at home (like I did with ParanormalThe movie kept you in suspense. Watching it in the theaters is the only way to enjoy this movie. Now basing it on experience in a theater and having an great night out with my wife watching this suspenseful comedy movie (because it is nothing more than comedy) I give it a 10 for the heartbeats it delivers. As for the movie itself if I was to watch it at home (like I did with Paranormal Activity 1), it will bore you to tears and make you want to die from boredom which may be then considered paranormal on the part of others speculating the cause of your death.This movie was much better than the first one though. Expand
  27. Nov 12, 2011
    8
    This has got to be the scariest film in the trilogy, it scared the **** out of me, it was so creepy I couldn't sleep for a week. 2 THUMBS UP, PEOPLE WHO DISS THIS ARE ****
  28. Feb 28, 2012
    6
    I just don't see why this should be worth my 5-6 bucks. But... somehow I enjoy it. I just don't think this genre can get any better than this. And this ain't anything great. This is one of the few scary movies I've watched by myself at 2 AM (I'm 34 by the way) that didn't scare me. Well it did at times, but I didn't feel the dread I shoul feel during a scary movie. Okay it's worth the 5-6I just don't see why this should be worth my 5-6 bucks. But... somehow I enjoy it. I just don't think this genre can get any better than this. And this ain't anything great. This is one of the few scary movies I've watched by myself at 2 AM (I'm 34 by the way) that didn't scare me. Well it did at times, but I didn't feel the dread I shoul feel during a scary movie. Okay it's worth the 5-6 bucks, but you won't be sleeping with your parents after this one (what?). Expand
  29. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    PA3 converted from seriousness to actively corny. The corniness was twitching and surprising, and props to H.J. and A.S. for transforming the PA3 series into something different; which isn't always bad.
  30. Feb 9, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As horror movies go, PA3 is great, containing clever ways to shock viewers. But as PA movies go, it shows that the current series as it stands is beginning to show its age. PA3 does have more creative events then PA2 (which was really just more of the exact same from PA1). Even so, I have become trained enough by the first two movies that when I saw this one I already knew exactly when surprises would occur, which goes to show that PA3 really should have done even more to differentiate itself from its predecessors. It tries to explain some of the backstory to give a reason behind everything that happens in the first two movies. However, it only goes so far in this as to allude to a witches coven, which is a disappointingly flat and uncreative twist that failed to serve the atmosphere of the series, and made me wish that the writers had just left it unexplained, because the PA series is one that thrives on the unknown in the first place. But even with these misgivings, PA3 is still a hell of a lot more effective then basically all other modern horror movies. If you have never seen a PA movie before, I do recommend this one (the plots of the three movies are independent enough of each other that they can be watched in any order) because it at least understands how to go about scaring someone, which cannot be said for any other series, and that alone warrants a score above average. Expand
  31. Oct 22, 2011
    8
    This was the scariest one yet. It's a Must-see if you want a good scare. The only issue i had was the fact that all those scenes shown in the trailer were not in the movie. They are saving it for the unrated DVD version. Which is really annoying considering that would be like a toatal of 20 min of footage taken out.
  32. Nov 3, 2012
    4
    I liked watching the first 2 movies, but this movie was just overdone. The action in this movie isn't near as thrilling and unexpected as in it's predecessors. Just a good idea went to waste by a production made with some more money but less thought in it. A shame because I liked the other movies
  33. Oct 28, 2011
    7
    Although I didn't like the first 2, this one was great, I really enjoyed. But unfortunately, it didn't scare me. I found it more funny than scary. Although, there were some cool moments and scenes that made me jump!
  34. Oct 25, 2011
    4
    I had an original review saying how scary and good this movie was so i hope this one wipes that out because now that i think of it and ive watched the trailer again, im suddenly frustrated and pissed. Where was the paranormal guy who gets his head slammed on the table? Wneres the girls playing bloody mary? Where christie jumping off the ledge ofher bedroom? Wheres the house fire? WheresI had an original review saying how scary and good this movie was so i hope this one wipes that out because now that i think of it and ive watched the trailer again, im suddenly frustrated and pissed. Where was the paranormal guy who gets his head slammed on the table? Wneres the girls playing bloody mary? Where christie jumping off the ledge ofher bedroom? Wheres the house fire? Wheres the mom getting pulled back into the bedroom? Wheres christie splashing toby with water? Ive just listed 6 of the best scenes from the trailer that werent even in the film! Theyve cut off most of the movie and the best parts. This is very frustrating and annoying, this movie couldve been a thousand times better. There was yet another abrupt ending that made no sense. Seems as thoughtheres alot of plot holes. They didnt explain very much of what katy and christie said in the first 2 movies. I dont know why but i was pretty scared throughout this movie but im bery confused and frustrated now that i think of all of the disappointments. Very frustrating but if you want cheap thrills then go ahead and see it but yu will be frustrated if you think about it. 4/10 Expand
  35. Nov 4, 2011
    7
    Although the premise is getting old this is the best paranormal activity in the series. More jumps scares and overall more suspense.
  36. Feb 5, 2012
    8
    I have enjoyed all the paranormal activity movies and I'm happy to say that Paranormal 3 is the best so far because the characters are less annoying and more believable. The young child actors were the best actors of the movie. The simple and effective scares work well and are more interesting and effective than many big budget horror movies. I would have liked it better if they answeredI have enjoyed all the paranormal activity movies and I'm happy to say that Paranormal 3 is the best so far because the characters are less annoying and more believable. The young child actors were the best actors of the movie. The simple and effective scares work well and are more interesting and effective than many big budget horror movies. I would have liked it better if they answered more questions to who, what, why at the end but I enjoyed nonetheless. Recommended Expand
  37. Nov 14, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bottom Line: More irresistible, documentary-style startlesâ Expand
  38. Dec 5, 2011
    5
    It was kind of hard to follow this movie but it was only made for a god scare. The worst part of this movie is the ending and the way they tried to make it look more real by having cropping issues. YOU KNOW WHAT I MEAN IF YOU HAVE WATCHED IT>
  39. Apr 14, 2012
    6
    It's a good movie, but the end is not good, but the whole movie was good, and this movie is the best of the two others movies about Paranormal Activity
  40. Oct 21, 2011
    7
    See-it - This haunted-house-slash-demonic-possession prequel is the best scary movie of the year, and the directing duo from Catfish brings a fresh, sharp, much-needed jolt to PA3 that makes it worth seeing whether you're a PA-virgin or not.
  41. Nov 5, 2011
    6
    I'm really not sure what came over me, but I decided to go see this movie...I HATE horror and scary movies...HATE them! I just don't get why anyone "likes" to see them. With that said, I paid, I sat in the theatre with my fingers partially covering my eyes (as if that would help ease the pain), I had the &%*#@^ scared out of me, and I REALLY enjoyed the movie!
  42. Oct 22, 2011
    8
    Paranormal Activity 3 brings back the tense, suspenseful moments and scares that we all were swept up by in the original. There is no doubt all three of these â
  43. Oct 25, 2011
    9
    Hello. I was almost bored by the first 2 movies. They make some clever plays on this sort of film but there are large swaths of empty space with no scares. This was not a problem in PA3. I do not scare easy but over and over my hair was up on end. There were plenty of thrills and I left entertained. Isn't that the whole point of a movie, to be entertained? Overall I enjoyed the movie.
  44. Oct 29, 2011
    7
    I am a big paranormal activity fan, 1, 2, and now 3 are all great. One problem...some scenes in trailers are not in actual movie....disappointing. Movie was great anyway. Can't wait till "4".
  45. Oct 18, 2012
    7
    *UPDATED REVIEW!*In my opinion, Paranormal Activity 3 is the best in the series, even though it lacks true horror and creepiness. The film is a fast-paced, entertaining and utterly hilarious film that is both intentionally and unintentionally amusing. One of the film's main problems is that it ruins the series' continuity, but that is redeemed by it's enjoyable laughs.
  46. Jan 30, 2012
    4
    I must say. It was a challenge to make a new & refreshing formula boring at the end of its third installment. While the first sequel covered some new ground, the third does nothing new. I admit it, I was curious about the way all of this started. The problem I have with PE3 is that it focused on the same plain dumb moments during the movie, when they stop watching the footage and argueI must say. It was a challenge to make a new & refreshing formula boring at the end of its third installment. While the first sequel covered some new ground, the third does nothing new. I admit it, I was curious about the way all of this started. The problem I have with PE3 is that it focused on the same plain dumb moments during the movie, when they stop watching the footage and argue (watch it! no! it's stupid, there's nothing to talk about. there are no ghost. stop the cameras!).
    Doing that once is okay - people are people and I can understand such behavior. But 3 times in a row? Please...

    The actors do their job well, the visuals are on par, but the story doesn't catch up. As stated before, the whole explanation (if you could call it that) took no more than a minute and was really shallow. I guess now we can expect part 4, which will concentrate on the actions from the movies finale.

    To wrap things up - if you are new to the series, give it a shot. It would be actually easier to watch the trilogy from the end. If you've seen the first two movies, you'll probably end up dissapointed with the movie and plot as a whole. There are some moments worth seeing. It's just a bit sad, that they don't get enough attention from the plot.
    Expand
  47. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    I went to see this movie, expecting it to be wonderful. I was let down. I loved the first one, and the second really raised the bar. This installment fell short of that mark. The last film actually answered some questions and then presented some new ones. This movie really didn't answer any questions, only presented more. It implored some good scare tactics, and at points it's scaryI went to see this movie, expecting it to be wonderful. I was let down. I loved the first one, and the second really raised the bar. This installment fell short of that mark. The last film actually answered some questions and then presented some new ones. This movie really didn't answer any questions, only presented more. It implored some good scare tactics, and at points it's scary as hell, but not as good as the first two. I feel that this movie is still worth a watch, especially for the fans of the series, but wait and rent it at a Redbox. It's not at all worth the price of admission. Expand
  48. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    PA3 it was okay butt was like i already knew what was going to happenit wasnt that scary i fount it more funny than anything. But also it was quite jumpy to be hionest my opinion it was naff.
  49. Nov 19, 2011
    7
    I felt that writer Christopher B. Landon did a phenomenal job writing the third film in the Paranormal Activity series. But i felt the story could have been different considering it had the same plot as Amityville Horror without the ending setup. With having done a phenomenal job, i have to say the actors who played the parents were a lot better in being more realistic than in the secondI felt that writer Christopher B. Landon did a phenomenal job writing the third film in the Paranormal Activity series. But i felt the story could have been different considering it had the same plot as Amityville Horror without the ending setup. With having done a phenomenal job, i have to say the actors who played the parents were a lot better in being more realistic than in the second film. Along with the actors who played the daughters. With an excellent cast and writer, i saw how hard the sound and special effects crew worked in maintaining the horror effects on scaring the viewers.

    BOTTOM LINE:
    If you want to be scared and is interested in house horror films, i definitely say go see it
    Expand
  50. Mar 3, 2012
    5
    Not as commendable as the original but better than the second film. All in all, the third installment in the Paranormal Activity franchise is a mixed bag. Much like the previous two films this movie is no different as it gradually builds up the terror and suspense as it progresses. While it does have a slow start it really climaxes in a frightful ending which leaves you scratching yourNot as commendable as the original but better than the second film. All in all, the third installment in the Paranormal Activity franchise is a mixed bag. Much like the previous two films this movie is no different as it gradually builds up the terror and suspense as it progresses. While it does have a slow start it really climaxes in a frightful ending which leaves you scratching your head in astonishment. While most horror series begin to drift off into absurdity territory by the time a trilogy is completed these flicks show no sign of slowing down. Expand
  51. Feb 22, 2013
    6
    Paranormal Activity started the phenomenon of films that are shot on camcorder. At the time, it was considered to be revolutionary, but at this point it's getting a little old. How many of these camcorder films have actually been successful? ...and don't you get just the slightest bit nauseated by the constant movement of the camera? I guess that's for you to decide, back to the film. InParanormal Activity started the phenomenon of films that are shot on camcorder. At the time, it was considered to be revolutionary, but at this point it's getting a little old. How many of these camcorder films have actually been successful? ...and don't you get just the slightest bit nauseated by the constant movement of the camera? I guess that's for you to decide, back to the film. In the third installment of Paranormal Activity, we learn what happened to Katie and her sister when they were little. To be honest with you, I was pretty into this film until the last twenty minutes or so. Without spoiling it for ya, lets just say the story takes a dramatic turn away from the storyline. The result of this is that the overall story isn't as creepy and really doesn't make as much sense as it should. Paranormal Activity was never that scary to begin with, the film plays on the audience by having things suddenly jump out at them, but the story itself has gotten far less creepier as the series has gone on. Part 3 and 4 do have different writer/directors and that may be part of the problem. The first one freaked me out, the second one was a little slow, but also did the trick, and this one really didn't scare me. They relied much more on making the audience jump than they did on scaring them with the actual story. Number three didn't stick with me for days afterward, the way one and two did. As for the cast, they were all newcomers and the little girls were absolutely terrific! This series has a way of finding newcomers who seem like they've been acting for decades. Paranormal Activity 3 is good for a few cheap jumps and laughs, but the ending was really disappointing, leading me to think less of this film than I do of the other two. Expand
  52. Jan 26, 2012
    7
    Paranormal Activity 3 has more scares than Paranormal 2 and is most likely the best of the three films so far. The filmmakers do a good job here by letting us see the action from both handheld sources and from a creative POV shot where the camera is attached to a rotating fan. We are eager to see what has or has not changed in the room with each turn of the fan.

    PA 3 is basically a
    Paranormal Activity 3 has more scares than Paranormal 2 and is most likely the best of the three films so far. The filmmakers do a good job here by letting us see the action from both handheld sources and from a creative POV shot where the camera is attached to a rotating fan. We are eager to see what has or has not changed in the room with each turn of the fan.

    PA 3 is basically a prequel to the original and this is a good thing since we learn more about the background of the story. This added plot development brings the movie up a notch.

    Those who did not get into the 'found footage' style of the franchise and who did not return for the second installment will not find very much new here. However, for those of us who have become fans, this PA is a worthy addition.
    Expand
  53. Jan 29, 2012
    8
    Truthfully I don't understand how to define a 'Horror film'. Almost every single one of the rest of these horror films want to scare you maybe not with suspense but with blood, violence, and gore. Paranormal Activity shows a completely different side of what Hollywood can define a horror film. Maybe not the best of the three, but that's not say it was a bad, in fact it was a terrificTruthfully I don't understand how to define a 'Horror film'. Almost every single one of the rest of these horror films want to scare you maybe not with suspense but with blood, violence, and gore. Paranormal Activity shows a completely different side of what Hollywood can define a horror film. Maybe not the best of the three, but that's not say it was a bad, in fact it was a terrific movie. Luckily I saw the PA2, because if not, I would have no clue as to what was haunting the place. Towards the end, you can kinda infer what it really is but the story pays almost no attention as what is really going on. Don't get me wrong I'm not complaining. In fact, this is my favorite horror movie series. An 8 is great, I loved this movie along with the other 2. Expand
  54. Mar 1, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. great movie, had me on the edge of my seat, definately deserves greate reviews. 59 out of 100, I don't think so it made me scream!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  55. Mar 6, 2012
    5
    Not a bad movie but not a good one either. The Paranormal Activity franchise is slowly but surely becoming the highest-grossing horror franchise ever and because of that I thought it would be a little better. There is basically no script and the effects weren't that great. This is definitely a movie that will keep wondering when something will just come out of nowhere but you really mustNot a bad movie but not a good one either. The Paranormal Activity franchise is slowly but surely becoming the highest-grossing horror franchise ever and because of that I thought it would be a little better. There is basically no script and the effects weren't that great. This is definitely a movie that will keep wondering when something will just come out of nowhere but you really must not worry about it for every 20 minutes. This a movie you definitely rent Expand
  56. Mar 7, 2012
    8
    i actually was on the edge of my seat for this movie. it made me jump and creeped me out at the same time. not as good (or bad should i say!!!) as the first two but i have a feeling this was only filler for the next one anyway and what a scary filler it is =[
  57. Aug 31, 2014
    6
    Back in top-form, Paranormal Activity is both as exciting and thrilling as the original installment. A different and unique route is taken--the effort has been noted.
  58. Mar 24, 2012
    8
    **** scary!!!, this movie is insanely amazing and creepy, I have seen it 3 times and each time I love it even more. If you like ghost movies, see this mother**** movie!!!
  59. Mar 29, 2012
    7
    La formula sigue funcionando por tercera vez consecutiva y esta vez se puede decir que es aun mas aterradora. Aunque la verdad es que ya a la serie se le estan viendo las costuras y espero que esta sea por lo menos la penultima. No creo que la historia de dos hermanas pueda ser estirada por 5 o 6 peliculas, aunque generen mucho en la taquilla.
  60. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Paranormal Activity 3 continues the spooky thrills in its exploration of a secular family haunted by evil.

    It is rare to find a horror franchise which has sustained itself as well as the Paranormal Activity series. Whether due to its low key found footage approach or the power of scaring people with forces unseen, Paranormal Activity has yet to spend its simplistic formula of camera-person-scare-repeat.

    When strange occurrences happen about their middle class abode, Dennis used his resources as a videographer (that is VHS) and sets up cameras around the house in order to catch the poltergeist in action. As fans of the horror series know, he finds much more than expected.

    Not to say that there is a religious agenda which lies beneath the Paranormal Activity series. But as that granddaddy of all demonic movies The Exorcist proves, only the power of Christ can save. So come Paranormal Activity 4, perhaps itâ
    Expand
  61. May 31, 2013
    7
    The demon in the "Paranormal Activity" movies doesn't just go bump in the night. No. It also likes to yank your hair, possess your kids, move your furniture, drag you across the floor, and beat the hell [out of] you. What a [douche bag].

    Like its predecessor, "Paranormal Activity 3" winds back in time in an attempt to further trace the origin of its supernatural mysteries. The year is
    The demon in the "Paranormal Activity" movies doesn't just go bump in the night. No. It also likes to yank your hair, possess your kids, move your furniture, drag you across the floor, and beat the hell [out of] you. What a [douche bag].

    Like its predecessor, "Paranormal Activity 3" winds back in time in an attempt to further trace the origin of its supernatural mysteries. The year is 1988. Sisters Katie and Kristi are young and naive. When their father, Dennis, begins to suspect that an entity might be roaming around their house, he sets up some cameras to catch the bastard on the act. Turns out, videotaping on an excessive scale runs in the family. If these folks went out more often, they'd probably end up with priced footage of Big Foot and the Easter Bunny.

    The recordings eventually reveal that, something… is among their family. Because this is our third attendance on what is essentially the same movie, this discovery is only shocking for them. "Paranormal Activity 3" suffers from The Side Effects of Unplanned Franchising, where its makers force a complicated plot to adapt to a simple concept that's best left untouched. This move is applied to successful movies so countless sequels can be produced in the expense of the original's reputation. (The idea of [REC] probably wasn't enough for three more sequels, so they added an out-of-place supernatural twist, which we saw in [REC] 2.)

    Read more here: http://localmoviereview.com/paranormal-activity-movie- review/
    Expand
  62. Apr 28, 2012
    7
    I never liked the first two Paranormal Activity films; they bored me and nothing happened until the last 10 minutes and when it did happen it was unsatisyfing. But PA3 was a surprise; this one actually had stuff happening in it and it was fun to watch. But like the other films, this wasn't scary at all. In fact it provided more laughs than scares. So when PA4 comes out, it better be scary.
  63. May 7, 2012
    7
    Why are people saying the movie didn't have what was in the trailer? The version I watched had all of that in it...anyway, I wish they'd left it alone at 2, or even the first one. I wasn't disappointed in this one, but if they keep going, it's going to become predictable and boring. I hear 4 is coming out at some point, and I'm starting to worry it'll lose its scare factor for me. I stopWhy are people saying the movie didn't have what was in the trailer? The version I watched had all of that in it...anyway, I wish they'd left it alone at 2, or even the first one. I wasn't disappointed in this one, but if they keep going, it's going to become predictable and boring. I hear 4 is coming out at some point, and I'm starting to worry it'll lose its scare factor for me. I stop watching movies after the second make, normally. I might watch 4 just to see if it still has its effect, after that I'm done. Please don't ruin a great horror movie =( Expand
  64. Nov 4, 2013
    6
    "Paranormal Activity 3" has ingenious inventions like a moving camera, which is mounted on an electric fan base, as it moves back and forth. The important information moves out of the frame helplessly, and the audiences must wait anxiously to see more. However, the plot is almost exactly the same as the previous ones, so don't expect any surprises.
  65. May 30, 2012
    7
    This review pretty much sums up all the movies in the series so far. I've been through a loooot of horror movies and games and this is one of the few series where the horror aspect is done in a way that it actually gets your heart pounding. Even though I enjoy the over-the-top-gory side of the spectrum, PA is a movie I would watch if I actually wanted to be creeped out. I guess you couldThis review pretty much sums up all the movies in the series so far. I've been through a loooot of horror movies and games and this is one of the few series where the horror aspect is done in a way that it actually gets your heart pounding. Even though I enjoy the over-the-top-gory side of the spectrum, PA is a movie I would watch if I actually wanted to be creeped out. I guess you could argue that most of the movies nothing really happens until toward the end, but it's that whole build up period that I like the most about these. To see simple hauntings blow up into something dramatic and life threatening is a bit scary to me because I have been in plenty of situations where very weird, unexplainable things happen, just never had a camera ready at the right time (lols). But anyway, I appreciate the subtle approach to horror of these movies, and that they invented jump scares I haven't seen done before. I wouldn't go as far as saying the movies are brilliant masterpieces but they definitely change up the genre and do something other horror directors aren't. Expand
  66. Jul 14, 2012
    8
    The third film in the horror series is by far scarier than the second and scraping as scary as the first. 'Paranormal Activity 3' builds up very high tension and then gives us a big scare, it feels very fresh and original. The first film was simply a haunted house story with things going bump in the night, the second was the same. Now, with the third, we have new original scares, showingThe third film in the horror series is by far scarier than the second and scraping as scary as the first. 'Paranormal Activity 3' builds up very high tension and then gives us a big scare, it feels very fresh and original. The first film was simply a haunted house story with things going bump in the night, the second was the same. Now, with the third, we have new original scares, showing more of the demon, which works very well actually, and the bumps in the night are bigger budget and sometimes even a bit more scarier. The story is different, maybe not better, but on the same level as the original, this time we actually have a story that develops as we find more about the demon, links to the original, and revelations from previous films. But there are its faults, many comment the last 15 minutes are its scariest, but I feel they ruin the film, they are extremely tense, but it feels like there should have been more, and it was short of a great ending it could have been. We leave having more questions than answers, and throughout the film we were believing we were going to get a great answer at the end, but we don't we just get a bigger question. Some of the believably of the film is not the best, but, overall, this is a very scary film and if you could give an 8.5 I would, because this is scary and has a great story, it just seems a little rough round the edges. Expand
  67. Nov 6, 2012
    8
    Finally! A good movie is made and my expectations are met! And for some reason making a good movie with events and likeable characters who don't act like morons is bad? Clearly the critics are oblivious with this third film. The acting is the best of the three movies and the actors pull of their roles well unlike the first two (with the exception of Katie). And the story actually goesFinally! A good movie is made and my expectations are met! And for some reason making a good movie with events and likeable characters who don't act like morons is bad? Clearly the critics are oblivious with this third film. The acting is the best of the three movies and the actors pull of their roles well unlike the first two (with the exception of Katie). And the story actually goes somewhere with a beginning, middle, and end. My only gripe with the film is that the ending could be tweaked with because while it does appropriately end the film its not the most satisfying or shocking. But I can at least say the film makers have finally made a good movie. Expand
  68. Nov 28, 2012
    5
    Some pretty legitimate scares within the film, but the movie's horrible ending ultimately mars my enjoyment a bit.
  69. Dec 7, 2012
    5
    I liked it! I haven't seen the previous films of the trilogy so I don't know how well it fit with the other films, but I thought it was well done and had many genuine scary moments. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time...I recommend it if you're a fan of scary movies.
  70. Mar 9, 2013
    6
    Even though its poorly written, It regains the terror that the first film had.
  71. Jan 3, 2013
    5
    Okay, so normally i liked the first 2 Paranormal Activity movies. A bit boring, but still pretty great horror movies. Now, we got Paranormal Activity 3. It follows the story of Katie and Kristi when they were kids and how did the demon first started terrorizing them. Plot's pretty predictable, the acting was fine but i expected more. The one and big problem for it is that there's a lottaOkay, so normally i liked the first 2 Paranormal Activity movies. A bit boring, but still pretty great horror movies. Now, we got Paranormal Activity 3. It follows the story of Katie and Kristi when they were kids and how did the demon first started terrorizing them. Plot's pretty predictable, the acting was fine but i expected more. The one and big problem for it is that there's a lotta cool and scary moments in the trailer, but they're NOT actually in the movie. I saw the movie and i was like "Where are the best parts from the trailer? This kinda feels really boring!" That's the number 1 fail in this movie, that's the thing that totally let the movie down. And what's weird is that after the movie was done, i went home and slept like a baby. Seriously, this time it felt less scary and more boring than the other movies. So, overall the acting was fine, but they should've put the best parts from the trailer in the movie to make it less boring and more exciting and creepy. But, they didn't, and that totally sucks. Paranormal Activity 3, it's alright but you'll forget it in 2 hours. That's what happen, i went home and in 2 hours, i couldn't remember it at all. So, if you wanna see it, then go ahead. But if you wanna see good found-footage horror movie, then save your money and skip this. Expand
  72. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    That's scary and new, it is way too terrifying than the last 2 with new effects and scary as hell plot! But still the first one is better but not as scary as this one, the second one is scary but it could have been bonus 90 minutes to the first, but this one is new and scary!
  73. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    The most suspenseful Paranormal Activity film. Definitely worth a watch, very tension building. The last 15 minutes will mess with your head for days on end. PA3 YOU SHOULD WATCH IT!!!!!!
  74. Mar 3, 2013
    7
    Without a doubt it's the best Paranormal Actvity of them all. It's the scariest, freakiest, most terrifying Paranormal Activity yet. The last 15 minutes of it will scar you for life.
  75. Jun 10, 2013
    7
    This paranormal activity is great. Since i saw the first bad movie and the second one was ok) i really wanted to see how the activity began and a prequel of the girls. When i saw the movie i knew that they had done a great job and it was really interesting The end was really unexpected. i liked it a lot
  76. Mar 9, 2014
    6
    The third installment to this series is a little better than the second one, and almost lives up to the first one's legacy. It's a little bit more fresh and exciting again, and even more paranormal now.
  77. Oct 12, 2014
    0
    Worst movie in the universe! don't watch if you don't want to be bored to death! nearly not scary at all! It's not worth anything at all! What's so good about this movie!
  78. Sep 2, 2014
    6
    Better than part 2 but still not nearly as genius as part 1, "Paranormal Activity 3" is another terrifying film in the hugely successful franchise. There's not much more here that I can say that I haven't said about the other two films. Just check it out if you're a fan of the series.
  79. Dec 7, 2014
    6
    Very slow until the last 40 minutes when they stay at the moms moms house and Derris finds out that the girls are satanic mothaf*ckas. And then his little girl turns crazy... It was very creepy, and they did a good job building up until that moment.
    I myself was shocked when they had the courage to kill the main character by snapping his back.... supernaturally. And then the wife, two
    Very slow until the last 40 minutes when they stay at the moms moms house and Derris finds out that the girls are satanic mothaf*ckas. And then his little girl turns crazy... It was very creepy, and they did a good job building up until that moment.
    I myself was shocked when they had the courage to kill the main character by snapping his back.... supernaturally. And then the wife, two girls, grandmother, and tons of other people are possessed by "Toby" or soemthing... Not sure about the wife. Maybe she died? They didnt really do a good job telling us what happened, just stating that she disappeared. But then again, she did fly off the staircase and knock him off the stairs..... This really was shocking to me, the fact that they killed the main character, and possess the other co main characters (Little girls and wife) I do feel bad for Derris's friend, because now that friend lost his best friend. :( Sad.
    Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 25
  2. Negative: 3 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Oct 21, 2011
    50
    I fully expect Paranormal Activity 3 to be box office gold. But it's barely worth two stars, let alone two cents. As for future followups, I offer this plea: STOP!
  2. Reviewed by: A. A. Dowd
    Oct 21, 2011
    60
    Like its predecessors, Paranormal Activity 3 demands to be seen with a crowd: Being able to hear outbursts of nervous laughter and irrepressible panic ripple through a packed house is the reason movies like this exist.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark Holcomb
    Oct 21, 2011
    40
    The further this series drifts into corporate-franchise territory and away from Peli's inventively cheap, slyly psychosexual conception, the more reasons there are to just stay away.