Paramount Pictures | Release Date: October 21, 2011
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 271 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
133
Mixed:
82
Negative:
56
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
IAmPhongNguyenOct 24, 2011
Paranormal Activity 3 is somewhat bit of a letdown but the last fifteen minutes of the film actually did leave me shaking. It's what we've seen from the past two films but in different scenes. Better than the first? Hell no. Better than theParanormal Activity 3 is somewhat bit of a letdown but the last fifteen minutes of the film actually did leave me shaking. It's what we've seen from the past two films but in different scenes. Better than the first? Hell no. Better than the second? Probably not. Is it worth it? Yes. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
6
MarcDoyleOct 21, 2011
Before I get to the substance of my review, I have to describe a fairly shocking incident that occurred in my theater just a little while ago - the first Thursday night, 10pm showing in Santa Monica. And this no B.S. About 30 minutes intoBefore I get to the substance of my review, I have to describe a fairly shocking incident that occurred in my theater just a little while ago - the first Thursday night, 10pm showing in Santa Monica. And this no B.S. About 30 minutes into the film, just after the subtitles read "Night 13", a young guy sitting 2 rows in front of me started groaning/yelling. He was in a group of six - looked like a triple date - and they had been fairly squirrely up to that point, so I assumed he was just playing up the tension as people are prone to do in horror movies - testing each other and themselves. I suppose it's easier to laugh than to give in to the fear. Turns out it was the onset of a full-blown seizure. People started bounding over rows to help the guy brace himself and the lights came up - he didn't stop shaking for about a minute. He apparently had no history of seizures - which is what he told the firemen after he came to. His friends were blown away, and the packed out theater couldn't believe it. Could the tension from the film have caused or contribute to it? I have no idea. The firemen were asking a lot of questions about drug use - the friends were confident in ruling it out. (Personally, he didn't seem like the type, but what do I know?) It made the rest of the film a little creepier knowing it could have a physical effect on someone... So after a 20 minute break in the action, they started the film again (and gave us all free tickets for another show). There was some good-natured daring of each other to sit in that kid's seat for the rest of the movie - no takers. So, was the movie as good as the first two? I'd say no, but it certainly was able to construct an entirely new sort of tension. The late-80s VHS feel to the thing was refreshing My heart was racing for most of the last 15 minutes or so. I'd give the "experience" of the evening about a 9, but the movie? About a 6. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
5
TheMudDoctorOct 22, 2011
The first film was a surprise hit that used old-fashioned horror minimalism to terrify the audience, but by now any originality that the premise originally possessed has been milked out by Hollywood producers with dollar signs in their eyes.The first film was a surprise hit that used old-fashioned horror minimalism to terrify the audience, but by now any originality that the premise originally possessed has been milked out by Hollywood producers with dollar signs in their eyes. Read the full review at: http://themuddoctor.blogspot.com/2011/10/paranormal-activity-3.html Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
4
dougreesOct 28, 2011
This was a cut above the standard horror flick in many ways, despite the inconsistencies of the whole "caught on camera" trope, done best, and as it should have been in hindsight, last, by the still stunning BLAIR WITCH PROJECT; acting of aThis was a cut above the standard horror flick in many ways, despite the inconsistencies of the whole "caught on camera" trope, done best, and as it should have been in hindsight, last, by the still stunning BLAIR WITCH PROJECT; acting of a very high order for this kind of movie, and then it all turns remarkably dumb, and of course, ends even dumber. I'd give the first 80% of this movie a 6, and the ending a 0. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
kingshahidOct 21, 2011
The movie kept you in suspense. Watching it in the theaters is the only way to enjoy this movie. Now basing it on experience in a theater and having an great night out with my wife watching this suspenseful comedy movie (because it is nothingThe movie kept you in suspense. Watching it in the theaters is the only way to enjoy this movie. Now basing it on experience in a theater and having an great night out with my wife watching this suspenseful comedy movie (because it is nothing more than comedy) I give it a 10 for the heartbeats it delivers. As for the movie itself if I was to watch it at home (like I did with Paranormal Activity 1), it will bore you to tears and make you want to die from boredom which may be then considered paranormal on the part of others speculating the cause of your death.This movie was much better than the first one though. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
VidsRuleFeb 28, 2012
I just don't see why this should be worth my 5-6 bucks. But... somehow I enjoy it. I just don't think this genre can get any better than this. And this ain't anything great. This is one of the few scary movies I've watched by myself at 2 AMI just don't see why this should be worth my 5-6 bucks. But... somehow I enjoy it. I just don't think this genre can get any better than this. And this ain't anything great. This is one of the few scary movies I've watched by myself at 2 AM (I'm 34 by the way) that didn't scare me. Well it did at times, but I didn't feel the dread I shoul feel during a scary movie. Okay it's worth the 5-6 bucks, but you won't be sleeping with your parents after this one (what?). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
Thomas21Nov 3, 2012
I liked watching the first 2 movies, but this movie was just overdone. The action in this movie isn't near as thrilling and unexpected as in it's predecessors. Just a good idea went to waste by a production made with some more money but lessI liked watching the first 2 movies, but this movie was just overdone. The action in this movie isn't near as thrilling and unexpected as in it's predecessors. Just a good idea went to waste by a production made with some more money but less thought in it. A shame because I liked the other movies Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
Knicksfan7Oct 25, 2011
I had an original review saying how scary and good this movie was so i hope this one wipes that out because now that i think of it and ive watched the trailer again, im suddenly frustrated and pissed. Where was the paranormal guy who gets hisI had an original review saying how scary and good this movie was so i hope this one wipes that out because now that i think of it and ive watched the trailer again, im suddenly frustrated and pissed. Where was the paranormal guy who gets his head slammed on the table? Wneres the girls playing bloody mary? Where christie jumping off the ledge ofher bedroom? Wheres the house fire? Wheres the mom getting pulled back into the bedroom? Wheres christie splashing toby with water? Ive just listed 6 of the best scenes from the trailer that werent even in the film! Theyve cut off most of the movie and the best parts. This is very frustrating and annoying, this movie couldve been a thousand times better. There was yet another abrupt ending that made no sense. Seems as thoughtheres alot of plot holes. They didnt explain very much of what katy and christie said in the first 2 movies. I dont know why but i was pretty scared throughout this movie but im bery confused and frustrated now that i think of all of the disappointments. Very frustrating but if you want cheap thrills then go ahead and see it but yu will be frustrated if you think about it. 4/10 Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
josephbalentineDec 5, 2011
It was kind of hard to follow this movie but it was only made for a god scare. The worst part of this movie is the ending and the way they tried to make it look more real by having cropping issues. YOU KNOW WHAT I MEAN IF YOU HAVE WATCHED IT>
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
rafael14Apr 14, 2012
It's a good movie, but the end is not good, but the whole movie was good, and this movie is the best of the two others movies about Paranormal Activity
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
CincinnatiDaveNov 5, 2011
I'm really not sure what came over me, but I decided to go see this movie...I HATE horror and scary movies...HATE them! I just don't get why anyone "likes" to see them. With that said, I paid, I sat in the theatre with my fingers partiallyI'm really not sure what came over me, but I decided to go see this movie...I HATE horror and scary movies...HATE them! I just don't get why anyone "likes" to see them. With that said, I paid, I sat in the theatre with my fingers partially covering my eyes (as if that would help ease the pain), I had the &%*#@^ scared out of me, and I REALLY enjoyed the movie! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
B3ckettJan 30, 2012
I must say. It was a challenge to make a new & refreshing formula boring at the end of its third installment. While the first sequel covered some new ground, the third does nothing new. I admit it, I was curious about the way all of thisI must say. It was a challenge to make a new & refreshing formula boring at the end of its third installment. While the first sequel covered some new ground, the third does nothing new. I admit it, I was curious about the way all of this started. The problem I have with PE3 is that it focused on the same plain dumb moments during the movie, when they stop watching the footage and argue (watch it! no! it's stupid, there's nothing to talk about. there are no ghost. stop the cameras!).
Doing that once is okay - people are people and I can understand such behavior. But 3 times in a row? Please...

The actors do their job well, the visuals are on par, but the story doesn't catch up. As stated before, the whole explanation (if you could call it that) took no more than a minute and was really shallow. I guess now we can expect part 4, which will concentrate on the actions from the movies finale.

To wrap things up - if you are new to the series, give it a shot. It would be actually easier to watch the trilogy from the end. If you've seen the first two movies, you'll probably end up dissapointed with the movie and plot as a whole. There are some moments worth seeing. It's just a bit sad, that they don't get enough attention from the plot.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
LehnsherrNov 8, 2011
I went to see this movie, expecting it to be wonderful. I was let down. I loved the first one, and the second really raised the bar. This installment fell short of that mark. The last film actually answered some questions and thenI went to see this movie, expecting it to be wonderful. I was let down. I loved the first one, and the second really raised the bar. This installment fell short of that mark. The last film actually answered some questions and then presented some new ones. This movie really didn't answer any questions, only presented more. It implored some good scare tactics, and at points it's scary as hell, but not as good as the first two. I feel that this movie is still worth a watch, especially for the fans of the series, but wait and rent it at a Redbox. It's not at all worth the price of admission. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
eTurkeyMar 3, 2012
Not as commendable as the original but better than the second film. All in all, the third installment in the Paranormal Activity franchise is a mixed bag. Much like the previous two films this movie is no different as it gradually builds upNot as commendable as the original but better than the second film. All in all, the third installment in the Paranormal Activity franchise is a mixed bag. Much like the previous two films this movie is no different as it gradually builds up the terror and suspense as it progresses. While it does have a slow start it really climaxes in a frightful ending which leaves you scratching your head in astonishment. While most horror series begin to drift off into absurdity territory by the time a trilogy is completed these flicks show no sign of slowing down. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Tss5078Feb 22, 2013
Paranormal Activity started the phenomenon of films that are shot on camcorder. At the time, it was considered to be revolutionary, but at this point it's getting a little old. How many of these camcorder films have actually been successful?Paranormal Activity started the phenomenon of films that are shot on camcorder. At the time, it was considered to be revolutionary, but at this point it's getting a little old. How many of these camcorder films have actually been successful? ...and don't you get just the slightest bit nauseated by the constant movement of the camera? I guess that's for you to decide, back to the film. In the third installment of Paranormal Activity, we learn what happened to Katie and her sister when they were little. To be honest with you, I was pretty into this film until the last twenty minutes or so. Without spoiling it for ya, lets just say the story takes a dramatic turn away from the storyline. The result of this is that the overall story isn't as creepy and really doesn't make as much sense as it should. Paranormal Activity was never that scary to begin with, the film plays on the audience by having things suddenly jump out at them, but the story itself has gotten far less creepier as the series has gone on. Part 3 and 4 do have different writer/directors and that may be part of the problem. The first one freaked me out, the second one was a little slow, but also did the trick, and this one really didn't scare me. They relied much more on making the audience jump than they did on scaring them with the actual story. Number three didn't stick with me for days afterward, the way one and two did. As for the cast, they were all newcomers and the little girls were absolutely terrific! This series has a way of finding newcomers who seem like they've been acting for decades. Paranormal Activity 3 is good for a few cheap jumps and laughs, but the ending was really disappointing, leading me to think less of this film than I do of the other two. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Some pretty legitimate scares within the film, but the movie's horrible ending ultimately mars my enjoyment a bit.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
a7xfanMar 6, 2012
Not a bad movie but not a good one either. The Paranormal Activity franchise is slowly but surely becoming the highest-grossing horror franchise ever and because of that I thought it would be a little better. There is basically no script andNot a bad movie but not a good one either. The Paranormal Activity franchise is slowly but surely becoming the highest-grossing horror franchise ever and because of that I thought it would be a little better. There is basically no script and the effects weren't that great. This is definitely a movie that will keep wondering when something will just come out of nowhere but you really must not worry about it for every 20 minutes. This a movie you definitely rent Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
beingryanjudeAug 31, 2014
Back in top-form, Paranormal Activity is both as exciting and thrilling as the original installment. A different and unique route is taken--the effort has been noted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
OfficialNov 4, 2013
"Paranormal Activity 3" has ingenious inventions like a moving camera, which is mounted on an electric fan base, as it moves back and forth. The important information moves out of the frame helplessly, and the audiences must wait anxiously to"Paranormal Activity 3" has ingenious inventions like a moving camera, which is mounted on an electric fan base, as it moves back and forth. The important information moves out of the frame helplessly, and the audiences must wait anxiously to see more. However, the plot is almost exactly the same as the previous ones, so don't expect any surprises. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
worleyjamersDec 7, 2012
I liked it! I haven't seen the previous films of the trilogy so I don't know how well it fit with the other films, but I thought it was well done and had many genuine scary moments. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time...I recommendI liked it! I haven't seen the previous films of the trilogy so I don't know how well it fit with the other films, but I thought it was well done and had many genuine scary moments. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time...I recommend it if you're a fan of scary movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TheWalrus2000Mar 9, 2013
Even though its poorly written, It regains the terror that the first film had.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
NikoZguri1997Jan 3, 2013
Okay, so normally i liked the first 2 Paranormal Activity movies. A bit boring, but still pretty great horror movies. Now, we got Paranormal Activity 3. It follows the story of Katie and Kristi when they were kids and how did the demon firstOkay, so normally i liked the first 2 Paranormal Activity movies. A bit boring, but still pretty great horror movies. Now, we got Paranormal Activity 3. It follows the story of Katie and Kristi when they were kids and how did the demon first started terrorizing them. Plot's pretty predictable, the acting was fine but i expected more. The one and big problem for it is that there's a lotta cool and scary moments in the trailer, but they're NOT actually in the movie. I saw the movie and i was like "Where are the best parts from the trailer? This kinda feels really boring!" That's the number 1 fail in this movie, that's the thing that totally let the movie down. And what's weird is that after the movie was done, i went home and slept like a baby. Seriously, this time it felt less scary and more boring than the other movies. So, overall the acting was fine, but they should've put the best parts from the trailer in the movie to make it less boring and more exciting and creepy. But, they didn't, and that totally sucks. Paranormal Activity 3, it's alright but you'll forget it in 2 hours. That's what happen, i went home and in 2 hours, i couldn't remember it at all. So, if you wanna see it, then go ahead. But if you wanna see good found-footage horror movie, then save your money and skip this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysMar 9, 2014
The third installment to this series is a little better than the second one, and almost lives up to the first one's legacy. It's a little bit more fresh and exciting again, and even more paranormal now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MarickJan 18, 2015
Paranormal Activity 3 is a 2011 American supernatural horror film, directed by Henry Joost and Ariel Schulman. It is the third installment of the Paranormal Activity series and serves as a prequel, mostly set 18 years prior to the events ofParanormal Activity 3 is a 2011 American supernatural horror film, directed by Henry Joost and Ariel Schulman. It is the third installment of the Paranormal Activity series and serves as a prequel, mostly set 18 years prior to the events of the first two films Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SnowwDec 7, 2014
Very slow until the last 40 minutes when they stay at the moms moms house and Derris finds out that the girls are satanic mothaf*ckas. And then his little girl turns crazy... It was very creepy, and they did a good job building up until thatVery slow until the last 40 minutes when they stay at the moms moms house and Derris finds out that the girls are satanic mothaf*ckas. And then his little girl turns crazy... It was very creepy, and they did a good job building up until that moment.
I myself was shocked when they had the courage to kill the main character by snapping his back.... supernaturally. And then the wife, two girls, grandmother, and tons of other people are possessed by "Toby" or soemthing... Not sure about the wife. Maybe she died? They didnt really do a good job telling us what happened, just stating that she disappeared. But then again, she did fly off the staircase and knock him off the stairs..... This really was shocking to me, the fact that they killed the main character, and possess the other co main characters (Little girls and wife) I do feel bad for Derris's friend, because now that friend lost his best friend. :( Sad.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MovieManiac83Apr 25, 2015
Paranormal Activity 3 is one of those obligatory sequels: films that use an existing template and attempt to populate it with different actors and new ways of scaring audiences. There are two significant problems with this approach here: theParanormal Activity 3 is one of those obligatory sequels: films that use an existing template and attempt to populate it with different actors and new ways of scaring audiences. There are two significant problems with this approach here: the "first person" through-the-viewfinder perspective, in addition to being employed in ridiculous situations, has grown tired (this time, no attempt is made to "trick" viewers into believing they're seeing lost footage), and the narrative has transcended the point where its absurdities are easily ignored. The scares (if you want to call them that) are still there - one "boo!" moment after another, strung together like a breadcrumb trail through a labyrinth. So if that's all you want from a Halloween release like Paranormal Activity 3, you are the perfect audience member.

The first Paranormal Activity was an expertly crafted, low budget horror thriller that used the camcorder point-of-view and an escalating sense of dread to craft something more chilling than anything released since The Blair Witch Project. Paranormal Activity 2 was the inevitable result of the earlier film's success, and a pale shadow of its predecessor - proof, if any was needed, that no one expected the initial installment to open the franchise cabinet. It's hard to say whether Paranormal Activity 3 is better or worse than the first sequel. Although technically a prequel, it feels more like a remake of the original. The guy with the camera won't put it down regardless of the circumstances. He's the NRA Charlton Heston of home movies - the only way he'll release his clunky, 1988 VHS camera is to have it pried out of his cold, dead hands. (Something we suspect might happen.)

The time frame for these Paranormal Activity movies keeps regressing. Number 2 was (mostly) a prequel to Number One. This one begins with brief scenes in 2005 and 2006 (prior to anything previously shown), thereby allowing franchise stalwarts Katie Featherstone and Sprague Grayden to pick up paychecks. The majority of the story transpires in September 1988 when Katie (now played by Chloe Csengery) and Kristi (Jessica Tyler Brown) are little girls living with their mother, Julie (Lauren Bittner), and her boyfriend, Dennis (Christopher Nicholas Smith). Dennis has a videotape fetish and, as soon as he suspects something odd is happening in the house, he sets up tripods and begins recording everything. This allows us to see how the "first haunting" develops. One wonders whether Paranormal Activity 4 will continue the trend of rewinding time or go back to the future.

This time around, the co-directors are Henry Joost and Ariel Schulman, who are no strangers to this style of filmmaking. Their "breakthrough" effort was the faux documentary Catfish. They have elected to film in 1080p color rather than in grainy black-and-white, which hurts the "reality" aspect of the movie. There is one clever touch - a camera is set up on the oscillating base of a fan, which allows it to slowly rotate through 180 degrees. Viewers can hear things happening just off-camera but have to wait a few seconds to see what's going on. Strangely, this approach is underused. As effective a way as it is for generating tension, Joost and Schulman never fully embrace it.

Perhaps the sense of déjà vu is what appeals to viewers. They found the first one scary and this one uses the same basic mechanics. Paranormal Activity 3 might have worked better had it been decoupled from its predecessors, employing the same basic setup but using different characters. The least effective aspect of this film is when it attempts to further the "mythology" of the series. Halloween ran afoul of this problem as the early sequels attempted to develop Michael's backstory. The more one knows about a monster, the less interesting it becomes. That basic rule of horror films is often flouted. Here, the more we learn about the history of the demon, the less ominous the situation becomes. Where Paranormal Activity ended with a shock that provoked screams, this one concludes with a fade to static to the accompaniment of audience titters. Still, if viewed in a dark, lonely house with plenty of booze on hand, Paranormal Activity 3 might work, but I doubt that's the kind of qualified recommendation the filmmakers are looking for.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FilmMasterEdJan 5, 2016
Is this really the best scare flick Hollywood could come up for Halloween? A second sequel to a surprise cheapie hit in 2009? Seriously? Oh wait, Paranormal Activity 3 is a prequel. I'm sorry. It's 1988. And the sisters, Katie (KatieIs this really the best scare flick Hollywood could come up for Halloween? A second sequel to a surprise cheapie hit in 2009? Seriously? Oh wait, Paranormal Activity 3 is a prequel. I'm sorry. It's 1988. And the sisters, Katie (Katie Featherston in PA1) and Kristi (Sprague Grayden in PA2), are just pre-teeners, played respectively by Chloe Csengery and Jessica Tyler Brown. Kristi talks a lot to Toby, her "imaginary" friend. Mom Julie (Lauren Bittner) is concerned, but stepdad Dennis (Chris Smith) is a wedding videographer so he knows how to set up cameras around their SoCal house to catch any mischievous ghosts in action. If you can't fill in the rest of the plot, you haven't seen the first Paranormal Activity or any movie at all. PA3 is shoddy goods with any hint of orginality sucked out of it. Have something pop out in the dark. Wait for a scream. Then drag out the next surprise for an eternity. Repeat cycle. I expected better from directors Henry Joost and Ariel Schulman, who scored so high with Catfish last year. But one of their gimmicks is a doozy: Stepdad straps one camera to a slowly moving fan, which will have audiences craning their necks while producing a meager payoff. I fully expect Paranormal Activity 3 to be box office gold. But it's barely worth two stars, let alone two cents. As for future followups, I offer this plea: STOP! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews