Focus Features | Release Date: August 17, 2012
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 408 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
352
Mixed:
35
Negative:
21
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
VirgonoShakaMar 24, 2018
Paranorman is a Halloween movie that you can enjoy all year round. With a great story, full of emotive and thoughtful messages, great animation and a truly excellent ending. This is one spooky adventure that all your family should experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
spacebear1Dec 11, 2017
Laika's ParaNorman is another flawlessly animated film. The characters are great and so is the story. I have a few problems with the film but they are just little nit picks. In the end, this is a great film and my rating is a 7.9/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MonkiReviewsMay 29, 2017
I enjoyed it, but it wasn't amazing. Usually I don't like stop motion things, but this looks amazing! The story is also good, but needs some work. It feels like something that has been done before. It is worth it to watch though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeJan 20, 2016
Let me rework on the movie's tagline for this review. It's all fun and games until someone gets bored of this movie. ParaNorman is a successful stop-motion for 2012's films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TimeOfTheChimpsNov 22, 2015
With a great message about bullying, awesome action sequences and hilarious zombies, a strong Tim Burton feel and tone, realistic and relatable characters, and an innocent yet surprisingly chilling but heartwarming atmosphere, ParaNorman isWith a great message about bullying, awesome action sequences and hilarious zombies, a strong Tim Burton feel and tone, realistic and relatable characters, and an innocent yet surprisingly chilling but heartwarming atmosphere, ParaNorman is indeed one of the strongest films of 2012. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SuperWooperOct 25, 2015
A hilariously spooky family movie that adults will find even funnier than kids will. Packed with adult humor and kids humor both, great animation, and a good message to go along with it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
grandpajoe6191Aug 30, 2015
While "ParaNorman" is that animation film we've all seen before at some point with a plot having resemblance to "Frankenweenie" in some parts, the movie still is a great family film to watch over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
pardogatoJul 13, 2015
The greatest achievement of this film is its honest premise in favor of tolerance, which unsurprisingly includes an openly gay supporting character. Fun when should be fun, scary whet it want to scare and deep and reflexive without treatingThe greatest achievement of this film is its honest premise in favor of tolerance, which unsurprisingly includes an openly gay supporting character. Fun when should be fun, scary whet it want to scare and deep and reflexive without treating the audience as a fifth-grader. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
teddylukeApr 7, 2015
paraNorman is very different film from the ones I watch but it is amazing. there is a lot to like about this film it's villain , the charters to even the story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
homer4presidentMar 31, 2015
Very well done animation, with a great story of acceptance of the different in oneself and others. A more sophisticated animated film in that it doesn't rely on screaming parrots and potty humor to pander to children or immature adults.Very well done animation, with a great story of acceptance of the different in oneself and others. A more sophisticated animated film in that it doesn't rely on screaming parrots and potty humor to pander to children or immature adults. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
CherryxldNov 23, 2014
Paranorman es uña de las Otra de las buenas Películas Hechas de la forma en stop-motion, Que Contiene Una historia tradicional Pero estafa Otros toques Que le dan Más Vida al cine. Los Personajes y los Paisajes Que aparecen en el largometrajeParanorman es uña de las Otra de las buenas Películas Hechas de la forma en stop-motion, Que Contiene Una historia tradicional Pero estafa Otros toques Que le dan Más Vida al cine. Los Personajes y los Paisajes Que aparecen en el largometraje estan muy bien realizada Hechos, y la forma En que Desarrolla La Historia De Una Manera es Versátil y tradicionalista. En conclusión, Paranorman OFRECE Una historia tradicionalista e interesante, Que esta muy bien realizada y lograda. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
jeff_reviewsAug 14, 2013
"ParaNorman" is highly fun, beautiful and dazzling, and has a very satisfying ending that is sure to delight older audiences. The downsides? Well, despite its interesting characters and wonderful message, the film sometimes struggles with"ParaNorman" is highly fun, beautiful and dazzling, and has a very satisfying ending that is sure to delight older audiences. The downsides? Well, despite its interesting characters and wonderful message, the film sometimes struggles with originality, as the film feels overdone with the fact that its also considerably a zombie movie, though the zombies have a smaller degree of importance in the film. Despite this, "ParaNorman" succeeds to darken and delight its age group by its compelling narrative and the spectacular and creepy visual effects, even though it may feel unoriginal when it focuses on zombies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AReviewsJun 26, 2013
ParaNorman has new stuff that haven't been made for a long time, it is mature and frightening for a PG film, and it is surprisingly good, it has a good premise, a stunning visuals and an outstanding plot and twist for a movie for kids, but itParaNorman has new stuff that haven't been made for a long time, it is mature and frightening for a PG film, and it is surprisingly good, it has a good premise, a stunning visuals and an outstanding plot and twist for a movie for kids, but it has some poor movie building, it is way to mature for kids and frightening, but still ParaNorman is one of the best movies 2012 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JacobJun 5, 2013
Paranorman is a mixed bag. One end the story was some great themes, deals with a

serious topic in American history, has some adult moments, and great horror scenes. On the other hand the comedy feels out of place, the characters are
Paranorman is a mixed bag. One end the story was some great themes, deals with a

serious topic in American history, has some adult moments, and great horror scenes. On the other

hand the comedy feels out of place, the characters are cliché, and there seems to be a lack of

danger. I feel like one more rewrite and removal of comedic tones could have given us a

spectacular film. But as it is Paranorman has its flaws but there is enough good stuff in here to

make it worth a watch.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
VibroKnifeMay 27, 2013
Wow, just wow. I went into this movie with a very bad mindset. I thought it was going to be terrible. I was going to just watch it on Netflix for the heck of it because I was bored. Boy I was wrong. I've forgetting how much kids ovies used toWow, just wow. I went into this movie with a very bad mindset. I thought it was going to be terrible. I was going to just watch it on Netflix for the heck of it because I was bored. Boy I was wrong. I've forgetting how much kids ovies used to make me laugh. I haven't laughed this hard at a movie's jokes in a long time. I was in tears way more than the 1 or 2 chuckles I got from Ted. As for visuals, I absolutely loved the art style. And I wish more claymation movies would do this, it's a very dark and detailed claymation with a lot of extra video editing. The graphical style is just stunning. I underestimated this movie a lot and was surprised to find that it brought a very good storyline. It gets a little slow, but near the end they pick up the pace. Right when you think this movie will turn left, it turns right. And I like that. It has a good message on bullying and the best humor I've seen in a long time, my only concern for others is that this movie IS NOT for children. Don't let the PG rating fool you. There is plenty of sex jokes, some swearing, and even some gay references. It barely escapes a pg-13 rating. Overall though, was truly surprised how good this movie was. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Rox22Feb 11, 2013
I got to say: This movie almost lived up to it's hype for me. The animation is brilliant. The music is fantastic. Voice acting very good. But I also felt that this is a movie I have seen many times before, at least from the point of view ofI got to say: This movie almost lived up to it's hype for me. The animation is brilliant. The music is fantastic. Voice acting very good. But I also felt that this is a movie I have seen many times before, at least from the point of view of the moral of the story. For an animated movie it does have some rather intense visuals that I would not recommend for little children, but still a bit tame for an adult audience. While the stop motion is very well done, it also feels a little tired. However, I highly doubt this movie could have worked if done any other way. Overall: A pretty decent movie that is fun to watch, but feels a little flat at times. Still allot of fun, and perfect for any Halloween. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BKMFeb 2, 2013
ParaNorman never quite finds the right balance between goofy comedy, creepfest and parable, but it's still a visual treat with a good heart and one of the more genuinely moving finales of any film released in 2012. That alone puts it a cutParaNorman never quite finds the right balance between goofy comedy, creepfest and parable, but it's still a visual treat with a good heart and one of the more genuinely moving finales of any film released in 2012. That alone puts it a cut above the increasingly homogenized crop of family friendly animated fare being churned out at an alarming rate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
NedRyerson1Jan 29, 2013
ParaNorman is a very different and amazing stop-motion film, although it was impossible to expect less because is from Laika productions, the same studio that brings Coraline. To begin with the story and main character are not very original.ParaNorman is a very different and amazing stop-motion film, although it was impossible to expect less because is from Laika productions, the same studio that brings Coraline. To begin with the story and main character are not very original. It has a misunderstood boy who can speak with dead people, a curse of a 300 year witch and zombies. The interesting thing is the way in which the plot develops; because with little jokes and making fun of stereotypes, treat topics like discrimination, perseverance and fear. The attractive thing about fear is that this movie takes it to the next level, since this is a feeling with the power of changing who you are; so if you do not let it control you, is possible to have a beautiful life with no regrets. Another captivating thing is the sort of expressionism with which was constructed the animated characters. Apart from that there are characters that need to be highlighted like Norman and the drama teacher, apparently the only two intellectuals in a sea of unenlightened people. This teacher is especially extraordinary because in one moment she quotes Julius Caesar from Shakespeare: Cry Havoc and let slip the Dogs of War. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
heyitsmegrif4Jan 13, 2013
ParaNorman is the best animated film of the year that I have seen. It gives out good messages, it is funny, sweet, and emotionally depth. I never was once bored with it. I give this film 90%.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
Apemonkey666Jan 12, 2013
The 3rd stop-motion film from Laika studios who brought us Coraline and Corpse Bride is technically state-of-the-art but the story is probably the least interesting of the three. It's maybe a bit dark for a kids movie but not rich enough aThe 3rd stop-motion film from Laika studios who brought us Coraline and Corpse Bride is technically state-of-the-art but the story is probably the least interesting of the three. It's maybe a bit dark for a kids movie but not rich enough a story to keep adults engaged. If you're a fan of stop motion flicks it's recommended viewing but for everyone else there are more interesting films out there I guess. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HaithamBayazeedJan 9, 2013
Well, the movie doesn't stands quite up to "Coraline" but it is still great, and freaked my little sister, well this movie is ain't made for kids, it is made for teens, not kids, not adults, appropriate for teens and older teens, the movieWell, the movie doesn't stands quite up to "Coraline" but it is still great, and freaked my little sister, well this movie is ain't made for kids, it is made for teens, not kids, not adults, appropriate for teens and older teens, the movie has great, amazing effects, but it takes a lot of time to build up the plot, the 3D was amazing, characters were terrific, plot, intelligent, but still "Coraline" a little better, so I will say, I will give this movie a 9 out of 10 it is a good time, no kids are involved, I can say it is best for children 11 years old and over. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bram29Jan 7, 2013
something i've seen in paranorman that i haven't seen in a long time: a plot twist that i didn't see coming. that upped my respect for the movie a lot. also the fact that the movie has some very interesting things to say about bullying. isomething i've seen in paranorman that i haven't seen in a long time: a plot twist that i didn't see coming. that upped my respect for the movie a lot. also the fact that the movie has some very interesting things to say about bullying. i liked it so much that i'm willing to forgive it for some of the more cliché moments. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
theahsanhaseebDec 20, 2012
ParaNorman is a kind of film that you can love, from which you can learn those little things that happen in our everyday life but nobody bothers to fix it or do something about it. It gives a great message of "being different from others" andParaNorman is a kind of film that you can love, from which you can learn those little things that happen in our everyday life but nobody bothers to fix it or do something about it. It gives a great message of "being different from others" and in this society, this happens a lot. Visual effects, the entire stop-motion animation is brilliant, I loved every frame of it. The voice acting is fantastic, sounds very natural and genuine that sometimes it makes you forget that you're watching an animated film. The background score in the climax when Norman is convincing Agatha is so freaking awesome and so is the animation in those frames. A couple of days ago, I was reading a review about Mitch being "gay" and they had given it a really low score because of that factor. But honestly, I don't care about it. It's not a big deal. And definitely not an important factor to consider when reviewing a movie especially when you're reviewing an animated feature film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZalDec 14, 2012
When I first saw the trailer, I wasn't sure if I would like this film and when I saw it, I didn't like it. I LOVED it. I love stopmotion, but that's not why I love this film (well, it's one of the reasons). All the characters are veryWhen I first saw the trailer, I wasn't sure if I would like this film and when I saw it, I didn't like it. I LOVED it. I love stopmotion, but that's not why I love this film (well, it's one of the reasons). All the characters are very likable. Even characters like the sister, the best friend's brother, and the school bully were lots of fun. They started out as stereotypical jerks but there's a little more to them then that.

I also like how there's actually atmosphere in this movie. A lot of kids movies are afraid of being too scary because it's "dark," but ParaNorman, for the most part, is not scary. The scene that freaked me out was the climax (same thing with Coraline, but I think Coraline's climax was scary as %$@*). I won't say what happens but even if you don't think it's scary, it's still a great scene, especially if you love animation since it combines stopmotion, computer, and hand-drawn animation.

While it's not scary, there are a lot of elements of horror. If you like watching old grindhouse movies, you might find this interesting since the writers have incorporated their love of the genre into this film.

I realize this movie won't be everyone's cup of tea and that's okay. I went with a friend who thought it was going to be a cute, Tim Burton-y type of movie and she ended up not liking it. I love Tim Burton's stopmotion films, but I don't know how his fans will feel about this movie. ParaNorman is more for Coraline fans. Since I am a Coraline fan, I recommend this. But I also recommend it because it was creative, funny, and touching.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
cameronmorewoodDec 13, 2012
It's not a great animated film by any means- but there's magic in it, and all the details feel fresh and original. The whole vibe is just- to put it in a word- cool.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Lambo442Dec 9, 2012
A brilliant film. It really nails the horror scenes well. They're genuinely scary and imaginative. I wouldn't let a young kid watch this lol. It has some classic, retro type music play when the zombies appear too, giving it a kind ofA brilliant film. It really nails the horror scenes well. They're genuinely scary and imaginative. I wouldn't let a young kid watch this lol. It has some classic, retro type music play when the zombies appear too, giving it a kind of grindhouse feel. The animation is really unique and quirky, the dialogue is funny too. A family film on a didn't level, an old school level. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobNov 24, 2012
I thought it was a pretty enjoyable movie. Solid voice acting and it looks rather unique as well. Although I am not a fan of the touchy feely movies, I thought the movie got rather sweet (in a good way) near the end and for it to touch me inI thought it was a pretty enjoyable movie. Solid voice acting and it looks rather unique as well. Although I am not a fan of the touchy feely movies, I thought the movie got rather sweet (in a good way) near the end and for it to touch me in such a way is very suprising considering it's hard for me to find something like that touching in the first place. I would definently recommend watching it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
dharmaNov 24, 2012
Technically impressive, stop motion effort which should get this film a nice, nomination at the Oscars. A bit scary for kids in spots, but has a great message in the end about tolerance and understanding. Basically a horror flick for theTechnically impressive, stop motion effort which should get this film a nice, nomination at the Oscars. A bit scary for kids in spots, but has a great message in the end about tolerance and understanding. Basically a horror flick for the little ones. Give this one a go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SaturnPhoenixNov 19, 2012
ParaNorman was honestly one of the greatest movies of 2012 I think. It features a very interesting, but well written story, voice acting that fits each character perfectly, amazing plot twists, jokes that teens & adults will get & love, andParaNorman was honestly one of the greatest movies of 2012 I think. It features a very interesting, but well written story, voice acting that fits each character perfectly, amazing plot twists, jokes that teens & adults will get & love, and one of the best movie endings I've ever seen. I know, you probably haven't ever heard of this movie or you think it looks too childish, but believe me, this is will probably end up being hugely underrated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
catcarloOct 31, 2012
Chissà quanti Norman hanno dovuto sopportare i giochi di parole sul loro nome collegato al paranormale. Rende giustizia a tutti il protagonista di questa pellicola, un ragazzo che deve tirare avanti tra i lazzi dei suoi compagni diChissà quanti Norman hanno dovuto sopportare i giochi di parole sul loro nome collegato al paranormale. Rende giustizia a tutti il protagonista di questa pellicola, un ragazzo che deve tirare avanti tra i lazzi dei suoi compagni di scuola e i borbottii di compatimento (quando va bene) in famiglia perché sostiene di vedere i morti e di poterci parlare. Non è però un caso di fantasia troppo accesa: il piccolo Norman riesce davvero a mettersi in contatto con i defunti, a partire dalla nonna che continua a sferruzzare sul divano facendogli compagnia davanti a vecchi film dell Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews