Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Ray Greene
    Jan 30, 2012
    80
    Director David Mackenzie's quietly accomplished film straddles the arthouse world and cult movies with a unique poetic vision.
  2. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Feb 8, 2012
    83
    Ewan McGregor and Eva Green are easy on the eyes as lovers in Perfect Sense, an intriguing apocalyptic romance with a multi-purpose title.
  3. 70
    You've got to make room in your heart for a film in which the world ends with neither a bang nor a whimper but a cuddle.
  4. Reviewed by: Andrew Lapin
    Feb 6, 2012
    70
    Perfect Sense shines best outside of the bedroom, in sequences that show the human race adjusting to tragedy after tragedy.
  5. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Feb 8, 2012
    63
    Perfect Sense offers an epic tale seen through the prism of a tiny, intimate story. It's the inverse of "Contagion," which sacrificed character to scope.
  6. Reviewed by: Glenn Heath Jr.
    Feb 2, 2012
    88
    Visually glassy and smooth, Perfect Sense values the dynamic mood of each scene without being overly stylized.
  7. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Feb 8, 2012
    67
    The perseverance of McGregor's restaurant, in spite of its apparent inutility in the changing world, ends up having more poignancy than his parting and reuniting with the glowering Green.
  8. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Feb 2, 2012
    70
    What's unusual about the sometimes screwy but mostly smart and always heartfelt Perfect Sense - is its search for a middle ground.
  9. Reviewed by: Mark Holcomb
    Jan 31, 2012
    70
    Perfect Sense beautifully captures the ache and counterintuitive thrill of "the days as we know them, the world as we imagine the world" fading away by degrees.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Jun 8, 2012
    4
    Terrible. I wanted so badly to like this film, but it was terrible....boring...in opposition to one critic's review, it was in factTerrible. I wanted so badly to like this film, but it was terrible....boring...in opposition to one critic's review, it was in fact over-stylized and redundantly abstract. The voice-over narration was annoying and inappropriate. The relationship between the two main characters seemed forced and insincere. I am usually very fond of under-the-radar films, especially with talented actors, but I was sorely disappointed with this film. I wanted to stop it halfway through, but I'm not one to quit something once I've started it. But all in all, it was a waste of my evening. I wasn't left wondering about any great dilemma in the world or pondering the intricacies of relationships. I was left bored and uninspired. Hope this helps. Full Review »
  2. Aug 6, 2014
    7
    Globally, the movie's good. Great actors, darkest atmosphere and interesting staging. However, there is some too far long scenes, tooGlobally, the movie's good. Great actors, darkest atmosphere and interesting staging. However, there is some too far long scenes, too intimist. The romance between Ewan McGregor and Eva Green is too much developed in relation to the reactions of the world in front of this epidemic... Full Review »
  3. Apr 9, 2014
    10
    A journey through a matrix of sense and emotion. I can only explain my positive reaction (compared to the general apathy of critics) on myA journey through a matrix of sense and emotion. I can only explain my positive reaction (compared to the general apathy of critics) on my predisposition to such overt portrayals of raw emotion. A brilliant ending. Full Review »