Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Eva Green and Ewan McGregor star as witnesses to the end of the world-- strangers who form a desperate romantic connection in the face of an apocalyptic epidemic of sensory loss. (IFC Films)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Glenn Heath Jr.
    Feb 2, 2012
    88
    Visually glassy and smooth, Perfect Sense values the dynamic mood of each scene without being overly stylized.
  2. Reviewed by: Ray Greene
    Jan 30, 2012
    80
    Director David Mackenzie's quietly accomplished film straddles the arthouse world and cult movies with a unique poetic vision.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Feb 2, 2012
    70
    What's unusual about the sometimes screwy but mostly smart and always heartfelt Perfect Sense - is its search for a middle ground.
  4. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Feb 2, 2012
    60
    The love story doesn't quite work. Mr. McGregor and Ms. Green make an attractive couple. But the movie's notion of two self-centered people ill suited to each other, shedding their defenses and clinging together, feels forced and sentimental.
  5. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Jan 30, 2012
    50
    Perfect Sense is a very conventional love story wrapped into a slightly more quirky, apocalyptic yarn and lightly dusted with a touch of true originality.
  6. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jan 31, 2012
    40
    Filmed with the somber pretentiousness of a "Babel," the movie never quite converts its premise into something grander (never mind believable). Meanwhile, the world starts to riot, yet their bed is warm. Will love save the day? Unfortunately for us, our sense of smell remains intact.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Jan 31, 2012
    25
    And there is Ewan McGregor, who makes entirely too many movies and only occasionally makes an effort to speak the kind of English anyone can understand.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    It is just not an apocaliptic movie, or a story based on Saramago´s novels. I really loved it, very fresh, reflexive, very good acting, and a story that left me some to think during the whole week end Expand
  2. Apr 9, 2014
    10
    A journey through a matrix of sense and emotion. I can only explain my positive reaction (compared to the general apathy of critics) on my predisposition to such overt portrayals of raw emotion. A brilliant ending. Expand
  3. Jun 11, 2012
    9
    If you like standard, run-of-the-mill romantic comedies like 'Serendipity', 'Kate & Leopold' or 'How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days' this might not be the movie for you. This is a little gem that you only rarely discover between the default Hollywood drab, so if you want to see something completely different you might come to know and love this film. One of the better films of 2012. Expand
  4. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can't understand the bad reviews in that film. At first i saw it was a BBC movie and i thought it won't be good. This film came as a surprise for me as it's one of the best film drama-romance-fantasy. The plot is truly original and the ending made me really sad. I can't imagine how it is when you lose all your senses. The last scene will make you cry. And Eva Green's narration will chill you. Thumbs up Expand
  5. Jun 20, 2012
    8
    Pretty depressing, for some people maybe it's old sweet movie, uneven or whatever. But for me it's great, every frame, every sense, love. You'll notice when something bad happen on life, on your love, you must go on. Collapse
  6. Jun 8, 2012
    4
    Terrible. I wanted so badly to like this film, but it was terrible....boring...in opposition to one critic's review, it was in fact over-stylized and redundantly abstract. The voice-over narration was annoying and inappropriate. The relationship between the two main characters seemed forced and insincere. I am usually very fond of under-the-radar films, especially with talented actors, but I was sorely disappointed with this film. I wanted to stop it halfway through, but I'm not one to quit something once I've started it. But all in all, it was a waste of my evening. I wasn't left wondering about any great dilemma in the world or pondering the intricacies of relationships. I was left bored and uninspired. Hope this helps. Expand
  7. Jun 21, 2013
    1
    Don't let the fact that this film participated in the Sundance Film Festival fool you. It is an attempt at telling a tale of lovers tormented by an apocalyptic epidemic, which results in a black mood and a boring plot. Expand

Trailers