Metascore
24

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 9 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Kyle Anderson
    Jun 2, 2012
    33
    The best part of Piranha 3DD, the pointless sequel to the utterly unnecessary 2010 remake of Piranha, is the credits. Not only do they signify that the film is finally, mercifully over, but they also allow for David Hasselhoff to sing the theme song to a new fake TV series called The Fish Hunter, a clever meta-gag that nods both to Baywatch and the Hoff's international recording success.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    Jun 2, 2012
    30
    As sequels go, Piranha 3DD has barely enough heft to squeeze out 83 minutes of ho-hum entertainment, although it faithfully delivers plenty of menacing fish and bouncing boobs, as amply advertised.
  3. Reviewed by: Leslie Felperin
    May 12, 2012
    60
    Ups the self-parody so much that it's practically a Wayans Brothers spoof, albeit with fewer jokes.
  4. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jun 1, 2012
    20
    The director, John Gulager, has no idea how to mix his ingredients to create a savvy self-parody.
  5. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Jun 1, 2012
    11
    Disappointingly, Piranha 3DD, the inevitable sequel to the remake, has none of Dante's wit, Aja's directorial skills, or Greg Nicotero's grotesqueries.
  6. Reviewed by: A. A. Dowd
    Jun 1, 2012
    20
    Hecklers can take the night off; ripping on a movie this bad is as rewarding as shooting fish in a barrel.
  7. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Jun 1, 2012
    16
    For the much-cheaper-looking sequel, Piranha 3DD, director John Gulager mostly seems to be trying to see how much he can degrade the old "Jaws" formula and still have it interpreted as parody rather than apathy.
  8. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Jun 1, 2012
    30
    Add to this that it takes place in the town of Merkin, and you'll get an idea of the labored spirit of dirty-old-man humor that prevails.
  9. 50
    Piranha 3DD is overcrowded and pointlessly mean. The stunt casting of David Hasselhoff playing himself, riffing off his infamous 2007 drunken home video, gets in the way of the storyline.
  10. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    May 31, 2012
    40
    It seems impossible that a sequel to a movie as ridiculous as "Piranha 3D" could disappoint but Piranha 3DD stops at mediocre before arriving at gloriously bad.
  11. Reviewed by: Ed Gonzalez
    May 27, 2012
    25
    John Gulager is neither artist nor genius, bringing only straight-to-video conviction to Piranha 3DD.
  12. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jun 1, 2012
    25
    "Piranha 3D" was ridiculous, gory and fun, everything Piranha 3DD is not.
  13. Reviewed by: Neil Smith
    May 17, 2012
    40
    "Welcome to rock bottom!" sighs Hasselhoff at one stage, pretty much summing up this textbook exercise in sloppy seconds. Here's hoping the piranhas have a better agent than he does.
User Score
4.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 137 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 48
  2. Negative: 29 out of 48
  1. Jun 1, 2012
    1
    The first film was not to bad half decent 3D the story was alright and it was fun to watch this was awful I have a monthly cinema card so I don't pay every time I go and even though I see why over my â Full Review »
  2. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    Given the extremely low user and critic reviews, I thought I, someone who loved Piranha 3D, would be greatly disappointed in this film. But this film was hilarious! What I don't understand is how people can criticize the movie for its story, acting, etc. The movie is about a bunch of prehistoric piranhas that get into a water park where girls run around naked. The film revels in its own absurdity, and that's what is so great about it. What did you expect, Rosemary's Baby? Full Review »
  3. Jun 1, 2012
    4
    As a 3D film, it's abysmal. Piranha 3DD was not shot in 3D to begin with, but is another of those post conversion hack jobs. It doesn't help matters that the little fishies are framed in tight close-ups--it's all foreground, when the format needs deep backgrounds; no depth, no 3D. The attacks are never scary, however, Piranha 3DD gets the job done when it goes for parody, especially of Jaws. One of TV's most famous lifeguards makes an extended cameo, and a cast member of the original film gets a funny scene as well. Full review on my blog. Full Review »