Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: May 25, 2007
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 868 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
482
Mixed:
174
Negative:
212
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
SonnyS.May 24, 2007
The fight at the end was good the rest of the film dragged and didn't make arny sense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KyleHJun 2, 2007
It pretty much comes down to this: Do you like pirates? Do you like Johnny Depp? Do you like Keira Knightly? Do you like escapism? Can you not be cynical for 2 1/2 hours? If you answered "no" to any of these questions, save yourself the time It pretty much comes down to this: Do you like pirates? Do you like Johnny Depp? Do you like Keira Knightly? Do you like escapism? Can you not be cynical for 2 1/2 hours? If you answered "no" to any of these questions, save yourself the time and save us from having to listen to you complain. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
OrvilleS.Jun 6, 2007
Unforgivably dull and long. Vapid performances. Please, let's end this series of movies at 3. Don't do a fourth!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
DavidS.May 24, 2007
Like the 2nd installment, this one wasn't very good. Lacks the humor and heart of the original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
Philter137May 27, 2007
Sadly, this movie was a big disappointment for me. There were some good aspects - the sets, costumes and special effects were excellent and deserve to be recognised for their technical complexity and flawlessness, BUT... the story was Sadly, this movie was a big disappointment for me. There were some good aspects - the sets, costumes and special effects were excellent and deserve to be recognised for their technical complexity and flawlessness, BUT... the story was unsteady, unengaging and at times difficult to follow. The dialouge was forgettable, the humor was tired, the peformances mostly lacklustre. The worst error was the pacing - long unmoving conversations that failed to draw you into the story, followed by action sequences that built up too quickly to a fever pitch and stayed there forever, a steady stream of exaggerated feats and narrow escapes, one after the other, over and over and over - the result; a solid wall of audio and video noise that quickly became boring. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CCM.May 28, 2007
At first I was confused. But I have to admit, I still loved it. I see no problem with it except for the part where Lord Beckett goes down with his ship. Too much. Well anyway I enjoyed it, WATCH IT!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RyencokeMay 28, 2007
Haha, oh man was this bad. I had no idea what was going on this movie at all. The only good thing about it was easily Johnny Depp & Kieth Richards. The first one was the only good one. Hollywood's usual "Let's try to sell-out".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChristianH.May 28, 2007
A huge improvement to Dead Man's Chest!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DwightMay 28, 2007
I only have one question after watching nearly three hours of this disconnected garbage. What was the Director thinking? How in hell can you release something this bad? Someone, anyone in charge had to see how truly awful this was. Avoid at I only have one question after watching nearly three hours of this disconnected garbage. What was the Director thinking? How in hell can you release something this bad? Someone, anyone in charge had to see how truly awful this was. Avoid at all costs. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
KoreyW.May 29, 2007
Movie was a little bit long. If you can understand what is happening with jack and the others then it's a very good movie. Plenty of room though to make it very hard to follow. Good effects and a little more violent than most disney movies.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
RobertHMay 30, 2007
A morose tone, messy narrative, and superfluous subplots make this a real disappointment. The summer season has definitely seen better films.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
7
BrianMMay 30, 2007
Not as fun as the first one, but I was impressed by the complexity of the story line and some of the twists in the plot. Would have been better had it been shorter. It was a lot of set up, but the action at the end was a pretty good payoff.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
IainM.Jun 15, 2007
The longest 3 hours of my life, summed up in 3 words - silly, long, dull.
3 of 5 users found this helpful
10
SrikanthK.Jun 25, 2007
Simply an awesome movie. The 1st half was a bit slow filling up the gaps of the dead man's chest but the second half simply rocked. It completely ROCKED with that climax and a superb twist at the end didn't expect it at all. i give Simply an awesome movie. The 1st half was a bit slow filling up the gaps of the dead man's chest but the second half simply rocked. It completely ROCKED with that climax and a superb twist at the end didn't expect it at all. i give it best of the three parts Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JuanM.Jun 3, 2007
Movie was very long, very convoluted, complicated to understand.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesA.Jun 30, 2007
A funny and good film. Daring for a Disney film, as it starts with a hanging scene and has a totally-white Captain Jack Sparrow scene -- not often seen in a mainstream Hollywood production.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ElenaJun 3, 2007
Discombobulated from the original. Just a lot of special effects to take advantage of the first Pirates and separate us, the suckers, from our hard earned money. What did P T Barnum once say.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MattEJun 4, 2007
Good final installment of the series. the plot twists can get a little hard to follow but not overwhelming. good action sequences. Definitely go see this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TonyJun 4, 2007
Well, I have to say I don't blame people who rated this movie low. This is after all a space for critics and if you chose to critique the thing that is "movie" you will have to concede points about character development and overall Well, I have to say I don't blame people who rated this movie low. This is after all a space for critics and if you chose to critique the thing that is "movie" you will have to concede points about character development and overall plot. That said, I was still entertained by this movie! Its a fun ride, with hammy characters and fun action scenes. The ending sequence with the pearl and the dutchman is worth the wait. Pirates fighting, monkeys being shot our of canons and huge explosions... all in all, fun! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
IGiveUpJun 4, 2007
Too long, impossible to follow, no chemistry, wooden acting, and a lame script. Other than that this trash was wonderful.
3 of 4 users found this helpful
9
SteveKJun 6, 2007
I am not confused about the plot, but I am befuddled by all the negative reviews. I will say this: do yourself a favor and watch the last 15 minutes of Pirates I and all of Pirates II before you see this one. You will find that the plot is I am not confused about the plot, but I am befuddled by all the negative reviews. I will say this: do yourself a favor and watch the last 15 minutes of Pirates I and all of Pirates II before you see this one. You will find that the plot is actually not that confusing, it's just that most of us have a hard time remembering what happened the last time around if it's been almost a year. If you can follow the plot, just hang on and enjoy the ride. This movie is a return to true-swashbuckling form with everything one would want in a Pirates' movie. The last one got a little too dark for my taste. This is a *MILD SPOILER* but you should know that they unceremoniously dump the Kraken. You should know that going in, so you won't be too disappointed when it happens... er, more like doesn't happen. There is great atmosphere, some jaw-dropping scenes, spectacular battles, and quite a few funny moments, but again.... Review the movies before you watch!!! If you are scratching your head over the plot, you will miss out on the ride! (I think this is why people have had such negative reactions... they can't follow the movie, therefore they can't fully commit to the ride that Pirates takes you on. If you can't commit to a logical story, it's so much harder to suspend your disbelief, then the acting seems off and the action scenes seem pointless) This movie, indeed the whole series, is about enjoying a ride, much like at a theme park. This is a much more satisfying, enjoyable, and well-crafted third chapter to a series than say Spider-Man 3. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KrisS.Jun 7, 2007
Generally entertaining throughout but incomprehensible and overlong. Lovely cinematography with a surrealist tinge.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JluaUJun 8, 2007
What these pirates have mostly killed is their creator's inspiration. No story, no inspiration, no dialog, and no good writing. A sequence of meaningless scenes spiced with special effects. Frankly, it's sad to think of the waste What these pirates have mostly killed is their creator's inspiration. No story, no inspiration, no dialog, and no good writing. A sequence of meaningless scenes spiced with special effects. Frankly, it's sad to think of the waste of good workmanship, in the middle of creative nothingness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JessicaW.Feb 9, 2008
Lacked the much loved characteristics of the characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
mixmastajbOct 13, 2007
I am at a complete loss as to how anyone can defend this film. "In your face action," (which, in reality, it was far from) cannot make up for the very very poorly laid out plotpoints. I did not know what was going on more than half the time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RobbyT.Dec 7, 2007
Depp and Rush seem to be the only ones to realize what kind of movie they're really in: a $300 million third installment of a franchise based on a ride at Disney World. Chow-Yun Fat's character is completely useless and Depp and Rush seem to be the only ones to realize what kind of movie they're really in: a $300 million third installment of a franchise based on a ride at Disney World. Chow-Yun Fat's character is completely useless and Knightley's performance is absurd. Everytime she yelled, "FIRE!" I almost laughed out loud. Overall it is better than the treading water of Dead Man's Chest, but that isn't saying much. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful
9
DarshanS.May 24, 2007
A fitting end that parallels the first...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
OlgaG.May 24, 2007
In whole the movie's the best, Barbossa forever, but the script is a nightmare.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JudyT.May 25, 2007
The ending redeems an over long, overly CGI laden, under use of good actors and over use of unecessary characters mess. I didn't buy Elizabeth as a pirate captain or monarchy one bit. She was enough to give women a bad name until the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredB.May 25, 2007
A great addition to a fabulous series. I am very suprised to see so many people speaking badly against this movie. Definately one of the best movies of the summer. A great way to start off the summer season. ***Note: Make sure to stay until A great addition to a fabulous series. I am very suprised to see so many people speaking badly against this movie. Definately one of the best movies of the summer. A great way to start off the summer season. ***Note: Make sure to stay until after the credits roll for a bonus scene!!!*** Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful