Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: May 20, 2011
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 614 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
297
Mixed:
228
Negative:
89
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
BingoTrousers14May 25, 2011
The Pirates movies have been a bit of a hit and miss for me. I enjoyed the first movie while the second and third were just alright. This movie seems to take the cake for the series for me. Great characters such as Barbosa and Jack (ofThe Pirates movies have been a bit of a hit and miss for me. I enjoyed the first movie while the second and third were just alright. This movie seems to take the cake for the series for me. Great characters such as Barbosa and Jack (of course) are back, but the real great character in this movie is Blackbeard. I feel that he was done so well and really showcases this evil pirate without taking it to ridiculous extremes. The story was entertaining as I love epic adventure movies like this one. The cinematography of the lands was outstanding and it was always cool to look at the environments that the movie was shot in. Me being a fan of the age of piracy and Johnny Depp and the overall idea of Pirates of the Caribbean make this one of the most enjoyable movies to come out this far into the year. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
molemaster43Apr 6, 2013
When I first heard that there would be a new Pirates of the Caribbean movie without Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightly, I was a bit skeptical. However, this movie greatly exceeded my expectations. It was funny and it was finding a veryWhen I first heard that there would be a new Pirates of the Caribbean movie without Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightly, I was a bit skeptical. However, this movie greatly exceeded my expectations. It was funny and it was finding a very interesting item in the Fountain of Youth. Jack Sparrow and Barbossa are great as they usually are. Gibbs is still one of my favorite characters. He was just great. In my opinion, this was a good movie that was very funny and underrated, especially compared to the other installments in the series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
nonnikchiefSep 4, 2011
Okay. Hot new girl, plenty of action, three different campaigns. All twisted into a journey of trying to find the Fountain of Youth. There are the Spanish, who want to destroy it, because it interferes with their religion. There are theOkay. Hot new girl, plenty of action, three different campaigns. All twisted into a journey of trying to find the Fountain of Youth. There are the Spanish, who want to destroy it, because it interferes with their religion. There are the French, who want to make their king immortal. And there are the pirates, whose desire is to make Blackbeard immortal. The story is sound, and character relationships are intriguing. I'm sure it would've been plenty more enjoyable if I remembered any of the characters from the previous films. This is a good, action filled movie, perfect for the cheap seats or shaw video on demand. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
Polonaise77Jun 16, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't the best in the series. Being the fourth, I wasn't expecting much, but it wasn't as good as I thought it would be. There are some plot holes, an unnessicary romance between a priest and a mermaid, and Blackbeard, who was supposed to be the main villian, didn't really seem like a bad guy. At most, he burnt someone alive, but that was the worst he ever did. In short, you don't need to see this movie because the story isn't really branching off from the first three, but it still has its enjoyable moments. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
directguyJun 12, 2011
Seeing all these 10's makes me remember just how subjective entertainment is. Or how someone's got a PR firm trying to goose the metacritic ratings. Seriously though, for me, this was just an awful movie. The story was blah, the fightSeeing all these 10's makes me remember just how subjective entertainment is. Or how someone's got a PR firm trying to goose the metacritic ratings. Seriously though, for me, this was just an awful movie. The story was blah, the fight scenes where boring, and even bits which might have been interesting were ruined because the script gave everything away up front, so there weren't any surprising reveals. And the ending was ripped right from the third Indian Jones movie, and you saw it coming from a mile away. I suppose they won't retire this franchise until it stops making money, but please producers, can you try a little harder for the next one? Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
YumnyJun 4, 2011
While this film outshines it's two predecessors massively and could stand next to "Curse of the Black Pearl" independently, it does have some minor trouble with irrelevant subplots and scenes the film could've done without.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
percy972May 26, 2011
When I saw the first of these movies I was completely blown away by its overall style and when the second came out I was a little less impressed, then the third came out and I was totally confused. This time around it was just like the thirdWhen I saw the first of these movies I was completely blown away by its overall style and when the second came out I was a little less impressed, then the third came out and I was totally confused. This time around it was just like the third movie: What the hell happened? The formula for all of the Pirates movies does not change; action, escapes, wierd villains, and exitement. I like that but then again what was the whole point of this movie besides entertain? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
AlexArvin21May 30, 2011
ok did i like it? yes, i did. But that is from a fan of the series standpoint. Now let me act like a true critic and really judge the movie.It wasnt all that great. The acting was about the same as the other pirates movies. the fx were up took did i like it? yes, i did. But that is from a fan of the series standpoint. Now let me act like a true critic and really judge the movie.It wasnt all that great. The acting was about the same as the other pirates movies. the fx were up to pare, and the story was somewhat mediocre. I mean there were'nt any battles at sea, like in the other pirate movies, when i think of pirates i think of awesome naval battles. This installment just didn't deliver. And honest to god i wish Disney would drop it and a another production company picks the series up. because if they make a new one, i expect blood, i mean there pirates lets push for an R rating. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
RattazustraApr 13, 2014
It rates among the worst films I have ever seen. All the galmour and glitter, all special effects and grand music cannot save this movie from over-acted nonsense and completely pointless story. The first film in the series was a solid 9, theIt rates among the worst films I have ever seen. All the galmour and glitter, all special effects and grand music cannot save this movie from over-acted nonsense and completely pointless story. The first film in the series was a solid 9, the second a shaky 7, the third closer to 3 than to 4. This one has hit rock bottom with a deserved ranking between 1 and 2. I am so glad I did not have to endure this movie in a cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ThefilmnerdJul 3, 2013
This was a big disapointment. I wasen´t looking much for to at all since none of the previous cast was back from the first three movies (besides Johnny Depp). The movie was a complete disaster. The story was pointless, and it did not make anyThis was a big disapointment. I wasen´t looking much for to at all since none of the previous cast was back from the first three movies (besides Johnny Depp). The movie was a complete disaster. The story was pointless, and it did not make any sense to make, because it has nothing to do with the previous movies. Captain Jack Sparrow, you went on the wrong ship. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
xanderveeMay 21, 2011
As with all sequels, particularly fourth ones, I was a bit concerned that Stranger Tides wouldn't live up its predecessors. And while Jerry Bruckheimer/Disney have been churning out some less then great movies (National Treasure 2, Sorcerer'sAs with all sequels, particularly fourth ones, I was a bit concerned that Stranger Tides wouldn't live up its predecessors. And while Jerry Bruckheimer/Disney have been churning out some less then great movies (National Treasure 2, Sorcerer's Apprentice, etc.), Stranger Tides impressed me very much. The story, cast, and spcial effects were all great. Overall a very fun, enjoyable movie. The 3D is surprisingly impressive, but it's just as enjoyable in 2D. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
3
lionalioOct 7, 2011
Bad, just bad. This film is not the one I expected from the Pirates of the Caribbean saga. How can the story and the techniques of the films is so boring and monotone like that?! The character didn't have their own characteristics, and theBad, just bad. This film is not the one I expected from the Pirates of the Caribbean saga. How can the story and the techniques of the films is so boring and monotone like that?! The character didn't have their own characteristics, and the plot is so bad. Don't waste your time for this things, you deserved more! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
ItsukkiAug 18, 2011
I´m impressed, I though that for being the fourth movie it was predetermined to be bad (as much of the new sequels of today) but it is strangely good, the characters take time time to do their jobs, it have a good plot and theI´m impressed, I though that for being the fourth movie it was predetermined to be bad (as much of the new sequels of today) but it is strangely good, the characters take time time to do their jobs, it have a good plot and the fun is mixed in the action as all pirates of the caribbean movies, in other movies you can find a lot missing pieces of information (I wonâ Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
Nostalgic9tailsJul 7, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First off, I want to make it clear that I highly enjoyed every PoTC film, even the sequels up to AWE. Even with all their flaws, they still kept the charm of the franchise. This film, however, takes all that away.

Something I want to mention first, that no one here seems to have done, is that Penelope Cruz's character is such a blatant Mary-Sue. For anyone familiar with bad fan-fiction or books, that's how this character feels the entire time. She's the one woman Jack Sparrow ever 'had feelings for', she's just as good of a swordsman as him, and she's not only Blackbeard's first mate but also his daughter. She begins as Jack Sparrow's impersonator, then after a sword fight with him, he claims that 'only one other person knows that move' when they both do a tactic that negates each other. Then he pulls her into his arms and kisses her.

That's another severe issue of this film. This is the one time I've ever seen Capt. Sparrow act so out of character. He isn't the same, sarcastic, get-my-own-way person. They've exhausted his character to the point that he's been forced to be something he's not supposed to be. He's now cowardly and bumbling, almost like either Pintel or Ragetti from the first three films.

Then there's Blackbeard. He's apparently not only a pirate, the most infamous and horrifying pirate in existence, but a wizard. Yeah, he can control ropes on his ship to wrangle his crew, steer his ship with a gesture of his sword and stores ships of his victims in tiny bottles on his shelves. Now, I don't mind the mysticism if done well, like with characters like Barbossa and his immortality from the curse, or Davy Jones and his curse to ferry the dead. But at least they were both fictional and given a proper back story. Blackbeard was a real pirate, and a damn frightening one. But he was anything but a wizard. And he wasn't given any back story as to how he could do everything he did.

Next, there's Barbossa, or whatever's left of him. In between the third film and this one, he lost his leg and became a Captain in the Navy. When in history has ANY Captain of a pirate ship and crew managed to become a member of the Navy, especially with such ill intent as Barbossa? And the whole 'prophecy' at the beginning about a one-legged man leading to the downfall of Blackbeard was made so painfully obvious, I felt a physical pain in my head.

Then there's the mermaid subplot. Alright, I have to admit, I like the lore of mermaids being vicious vixens of the sea. But even that lore gets brushed under the carpet almost immediately with the mermaid they capture. They need a mermaid's tear to make the Fountain of Youth (a point I'll get to next) work. The one they capture acts fierce at first, but then falls for the priest on the ship because 'he's different from the others'. First off, at one point, the priest gets angry that they don't call her by her name, but then he thinks it's ok for him to give her a name instead of properly ask her what hers really is. Second, at one point, he's threatened with his life when the mermaid doesn't cry. Instead of telling her not to do it, a cliche but a noble one, he says, and I quote, "If you could produce a tear, I would be grateful". A bit of a douchy move, and he still gets his throat slit. But it's ok, because she REVIVES him shortly after. Vicious vixen you are not.

Now for the Fountain of Youth. In the film, it requires a sacrifice, where one person must give his/her remaining years to another. It also requires two goblets, the mermaid tear being in the life giving one. Ok, that's a nice take on it, if it wasn't already used hundreds of times before. And the whole switchero with Blackbeard and Cruz was the most predictable thing I've ever seen. If it was the Jack Sparrow from the first film, he would have tricked them both into sacrificing their combined years so that HE could get extra life.

I can't really say how the film's 3D effects were, because I only watched a TV film version. But from the scenes where it was obviously made for 3D (a spear up close to the camera or a skeleton hand reaching forward), I can tell, they're unimpressive. The whole gimmick of 3D is a waste of money, time and vision. Some of the scenes that could have been enhanced by it, like the Fountain of Youth or the scenes at sea were either so foggy or so shaky that 3D would have made it worse than better. Once again, I can't speak from experience, that's just how it felt watching it in 2D and wondering how it must have been for those who shelled out the extra $5 for blurry, cross-eyed inducing glasses.

I'm running out of characters, so I'll make my final thoughts brief. I do not consider this a PoTC film. I consider it Live Action PoTC Fan Fiction. From self-inserts to out of character moments to plot inconsistencies, that's exactly how it felt for me. Perhaps if it was made separately, without Capt. Jack or the few recurring PoTC characters, it could have worked. Otherwise, it's just a mess.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
2
FilmBuff94Mar 31, 2016
Rob Marshall's philosophy for shooting action sequences seems to be roughly equivalent to his approach to musical numbers: give 'em as little as possible. Just as the danceless “dance” sequences that polluted the director's Nine wereRob Marshall's philosophy for shooting action sequences seems to be roughly equivalent to his approach to musical numbers: give 'em as little as possible. Just as the danceless “dance” sequences that polluted the director's Nine were assembled a posteriori in the editing room, thus obviating the need for choreography, the numerous fight scenes in Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides feel cobbled together from hundreds of disparate snippets. No scorched-earth Greengrassian postmodernist, Marshall imbues his sword fights and chase scenes with a semblance of visual coherence, but he's careful not to linger on any single bit of action long enough for viewers to register the significance of the image they've just witnessed.

It's an enervating approach that marks the film as more exhausting than enthralling, and its m.o. of nonstop clatter is one that Marshall applies to almost every aspect of the production. Everything is pitched so high in terms of loud exclamations, dramatic music, and frenetic activity that one would reasonably expect the film to be a compendium of juicy thrills, but the uniformity of tone instead renders the whole thing uniformly dull. When the characters aren't fighting each other, they're making solemn threats or, in the case of Johnny Depp's Captain Sparrow and Penélope Cruz's Angelica, exchanging caustic but flirtatious barbs, all of which is about as sexy as watching Richard Griffiths frump it up as a boorish, overweight King George II.

This fourth installment in the Pirates of the Caribbean series, the 18th-century-set On Stranger Tides has as its central narrative the search for the Fountain of Youth and the accompanying paraphernalia that allow its powers to be harnessed. In its overly convoluted plotting, three groups of explorers set out to follow the trail of the late Ponce de León. While Sparrow flits between the parties of gone-straight buccaneer Barbossa's (Geoffrey Rush) British contingent and that of the unrepentant pirate Blackbeard (Ian McShane) and his daughter (and Sparrow's love interest) Angelica, the Spanish set off to stake their own claim for the fountain.

After the overlong setup (which admittedly contains the film's best action sequence, the only one to successfully incorporate a measure of humor into the staging), it's off to sea for a series of set pieces that have a distinct time-marking quality, riding out the duration until the three groups finally arrive at their destination. There are no shortage of film-padding subplots devised by screenwriters Ted Elliot and Terry Rossio, ranging from the dull to the ridiculous (a romance between a missionary and mermaid has to represent some kind of new low for screen amour) and some half-baked discussion about faith toward which the movie can't be bothered to develop a coherent attitude, but mostly the filmmakers rely on a rather perfunctory use of 3D to endow the whole thing with an (ironically) surface-deep patina of thrills. But give or take a sword or two being thrust at the audience or a barrel rolling toward the viewer and the stereoscopic process serves mostly to extend the foreground image while leaving the background flat. Its use of 3D as uninspired as its staging, plotting, and characters (and its weak stabs at humor), On Stranger Tides proves its title to be a patently false bit of advertising. There's nothing strange—or in any way extraordinary—about this dim-witted bore.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Deathrage0823May 26, 2011
I thought this to be a great addition the to the Pirates franchise. Johnny Depp did what he does best and delivered a good performance. You can tell he loves to play this character. I was worried at first going into it because of no bloomI thought this to be a great addition the to the Pirates franchise. Johnny Depp did what he does best and delivered a good performance. You can tell he loves to play this character. I was worried at first going into it because of no bloom ore knightley. But you don't even miss them. Depp proves that he was indeed the star of the movies! Expand
9 of 15 users found this helpful96
All this user's reviews
10
NaughtyDogMay 29, 2011
I loved the first Pirates of the Caribbean. But unfortunately Dead Man's Chest and At World's End were horrible movies. Ok, Dead Man's Chest was a ok movie but At World's End was horrible. Therefore I had high expectations for this one. And II loved the first Pirates of the Caribbean. But unfortunately Dead Man's Chest and At World's End were horrible movies. Ok, Dead Man's Chest was a ok movie but At World's End was horrible. Therefore I had high expectations for this one. And I was surprised, On Stranger Tides is actually a great movie. And it's she second best Pirates-movie Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
bighead6000Jul 3, 2011
In my opinion, this pirate of the Caribbean was the worst one yet. The story was terrible, throughout the whole movie. There was also barely any good action. If you are looking into seeing this movie, i suggest seeing something else.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
PrvshJul 6, 2011
Disappointing cast , senseless story , monotonous setting and 3D???? .... officially the worst movie of the summer ... from the short dweeb with the magical sword to the lousy jerk with the wooden leg the movie stinks of under developedDisappointing cast , senseless story , monotonous setting and 3D???? .... officially the worst movie of the summer ... from the short dweeb with the magical sword to the lousy jerk with the wooden leg the movie stinks of under developed characters, lousy script and powderpuff makeup (u can barely look at barbossa) .... Depp's character was significantly overused and got really boring amidst occasional sparks with Penelope Cruz .... all in all watching this movie will probably give u the "wtf was that all about" feeling... Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
XzRecolzJul 16, 2013
I didn't really like this movie. I REALLY liked the previous PotC movies. But this one... It just didn't feel the same. It was boring, story was pretty bad, If I was Johnny Depp, I would've quit playing Jack.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JOEFEGHALY38Jul 13, 2011
On Stranger Tides is a disappointing movie. It lacked the sense of entertainment and imagintation that the first two had..I hope that 5 & 6 would be better, but as far as i know, i won't watch this movie again..
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
glend690May 22, 2011
definitely the best of the franchise.The first one was a good film with an excellent cast but Dead Man's Chest and At World's End were much less original.While this one is just the best summer movie since The Hangover
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
8
AnezayMay 23, 2011
This movie feels like a return to form from the first movie. A macguffin chased by multiple factions, each with different motives, spectacular getaways, and self-sufficiency from the rest of the series. The second and third movies wereThis movie feels like a return to form from the first movie. A macguffin chased by multiple factions, each with different motives, spectacular getaways, and self-sufficiency from the rest of the series. The second and third movies were dreadful, but thankfully, this one veers away from that direction. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
ScottyLovinsMay 22, 2011
I found this movie to be rather boring and I feel asleep a couple of times and that's not good. So it gets a 5 out of 10 just because Johnny Depp is Johnny Depp but the rest of the characters just weren't that good and the mermaids just notI found this movie to be rather boring and I feel asleep a couple of times and that's not good. So it gets a 5 out of 10 just because Johnny Depp is Johnny Depp but the rest of the characters just weren't that good and the mermaids just not that amazing. This a wait for it come out on DVD and then watch it kind of movie Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
3
kbrito162May 22, 2011
The Pirates trilogy has always been one in which i could ignore any major problems with the films (most of which were in PotC 2 and 3)and allow myself to enjoy them. While not great, the two sequels at least attempted an air of "epicness,"The Pirates trilogy has always been one in which i could ignore any major problems with the films (most of which were in PotC 2 and 3)and allow myself to enjoy them. While not great, the two sequels at least attempted an air of "epicness," for lack of a better term, with a grand mythological storyline and a bunch of subplots, which could have been annoying or interesting based on your opinion. They were entertaining, though partially exhausting, and were at least partially memorable. On the contrary, On Stranger Tides was not epic, or even magical, in its storyline or characters. There was nothing strange about it, and instead, the movie was everything you would expect of a money-grabbing attempt by Disney. The supposedly legendary Blackbeard was not nearly as fearsome as Barbosa in the first film, the plot was disjointed and uninteresting, and Jack Sparrow is becoming predictable. Overall, it was disappointing to watch such a previously ambitious series dumb itself down to such low levels. We needed a simpler story, not a boring one. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
JoseLittMonsterMay 29, 2011
I love this movie... is so amazing... I really really love this movie!! I love this movie... is so amazing... I really really love this movie!! I love this movie... is so amazing... I really really love this movie!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
smk123Jun 1, 2011
I honestly went into the cinema not expecting much from this film but against all my expectations I came out quite pleased indeed. In my opinion it is the low point of the franchise but it still offers some good fight scenes and the famousI honestly went into the cinema not expecting much from this film but against all my expectations I came out quite pleased indeed. In my opinion it is the low point of the franchise but it still offers some good fight scenes and the famous Pirates of the Caribbean humor we have come to love. Personally the worst thing about the movie is Angelica who I could never fully 'connect' with as with the rest of the cast, but newcomers such as Blackbeard do not fail to please. Overall if you're a fan of the series it's worth watching for sure but it doesn't try anything special to appeal to a new audience. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
wareagle12Jun 29, 2011
How could you be so heartless- Kanye West
This movie came from an original movie that was completely based on adventure and heart. The main characters found themselves in daring adventures that thrilled the audience but the only reason we
How could you be so heartless- Kanye West
This movie came from an original movie that was completely based on adventure and heart. The main characters found themselves in daring adventures that thrilled the audience but the only reason we cared so much was because we actually cared about the characters. In this movie its the same formula as the original but its all put up just to make a movie. The characters have no depth despite them trying to create fake depth. It seems like any summer movie put out to make a few million dollars.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
rodstewart33Jul 16, 2011
This was probably my least-favorite movie in the series - partially because I missed Keira Knightley and Orlando Bloom - but I still enjoyed it. Johnny Depp is fabulous again, and it had several plot twists that kept it interesting ...This was probably my least-favorite movie in the series - partially because I missed Keira Knightley and Orlando Bloom - but I still enjoyed it. Johnny Depp is fabulous again, and it had several plot twists that kept it interesting ... although I think there were plot points that could have been handled a little better. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
nbozinatorMay 23, 2011
great movie no doubt about that, but a. it isn't really a pirates of the Caribbean film (yes same characters, songs ect.) but it doesn't really have the same focus or point as a normal pirates film

b. it isn't based on the book on stranger
great movie no doubt about that, but a. it isn't really a pirates of the Caribbean film (yes same characters, songs ect.) but it doesn't really have the same focus or point as a normal pirates film

b. it isn't based on the book on stranger tides, the only common things are the zombies, blackbeard, pirates and the cleric (yes no mermaids :()

on that, it is still a good movie the mermaids r awesome, best part by far, the story is great and exciting
the main gripe with this film aside from the misappropriated title is the zombies, in the book lots more focus on voodoo, but the zombies in this have 2 character models 2! and no real development aside from the fact that they can take a sword and are controlled by blackbeard.

this movie is still good though i need to reinforce this, the music is awesome, the story is quirky and cool, mermaids ftw also i think the spanish are funny :), but i think it just lacked development not much is explained as to why different things happen in the movie.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
gabrielpietro12May 25, 2011
Pirates of the Caribbean 4 movie is a hilarious and very cool that Jerry Bruckheimer did not let down. I found a little needless to the use of 3D ... But great, quick and intelligent characters, especially Johnny Depp. Penelope Cruz is stillPirates of the Caribbean 4 movie is a hilarious and very cool that Jerry Bruckheimer did not let down. I found a little needless to the use of 3D ... But great, quick and intelligent characters, especially Johnny Depp. Penelope Cruz is still impeccable. Anyway, Pirates 4 is a great movie for all to see. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ArrowMay 27, 2011
For starters : I watched the 2D version. Action, Jack Sparrow, fighting, Jack Sparrow, humour, Jack Sparrow, Penelope Cruz and more of Jack Sparrow. This is a movie for Jack Sparrow fans. Its a simple movie with chases, sudden action changesFor starters : I watched the 2D version. Action, Jack Sparrow, fighting, Jack Sparrow, humour, Jack Sparrow, Penelope Cruz and more of Jack Sparrow. This is a movie for Jack Sparrow fans. Its a simple movie with chases, sudden action changes and sword fights. Uncomplicated plot and Jack Sparrow. I love the movie. Please do not expect much more. If you expect anything more, go watch something else. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
THEkhuxMay 21, 2011
Jack reunites with his long lost love Angelica who he admits has 'stirrings' for on a journey to the fountain of youth alongside the new baddie-the magic possessing Blackbeard and his nasty flame-throwing,nitrous powered Queen Anne's Revenge.Jack reunites with his long lost love Angelica who he admits has 'stirrings' for on a journey to the fountain of youth alongside the new baddie-the magic possessing Blackbeard and his nasty flame-throwing,nitrous powered Queen Anne's Revenge. Its a generally good movie and you won't fall asleep during it but the whole story of Jack Sparrow is getting old and predictable. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
google_calasadeMay 31, 2011
I went into this movie unsure of my feelings towards it. I am a big fan of the first three with Bloom and Knightley. However, I always thought Elizabeth (Knightley's character) better suited Jack than she did Will. It seemed to me theyI went into this movie unsure of my feelings towards it. I am a big fan of the first three with Bloom and Knightley. However, I always thought Elizabeth (Knightley's character) better suited Jack than she did Will. It seemed to me they jacked up on that part. I also didn't know about Cruz as a romantic replacement.

Needless to say, however, I came out of the movie decided on a lot of things, all of them good. This is a very entertaining movie, and a worthy Pirates installment. The action and humor are top notch. Depp is in high form. You can tell he really loves playing Captain Jack. Some old faces mixed in with plenty of new ones kept the story fresh. Go see it. Pirates 4 is the perfect summer movie.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
ajdolanNov 28, 2011
These movies have gotten weaker since the third installment. This is the weakest but it is still a fun family watch. I does leave it open for a sequel which hopefully is never made. People seem to be expecting gold from other thing JohnnyThese movies have gotten weaker since the third installment. This is the weakest but it is still a fun family watch. I does leave it open for a sequel which hopefully is never made. People seem to be expecting gold from other thing Johnny Depp touches, some of us have seen all of his movies and know that, that is expecting a whole lot from him! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
PSenoudasDec 12, 2011
It is certainly an improvement over the third part. It is fun, action packed and well acted but it lacked the humor and the originality of "Dead man's chest".
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
LordRaymondMay 20, 2011
As a huge fan of the previous 3 pirates movies, I had high hopes for the 4th movie. The 2nd and 3rd movie were pretty good but overall are not as good as the 1st one. Pirates of the Carribean: On Stranger Tides was a incredible movie to watchAs a huge fan of the previous 3 pirates movies, I had high hopes for the 4th movie. The 2nd and 3rd movie were pretty good but overall are not as good as the 1st one. Pirates of the Carribean: On Stranger Tides was a incredible movie to watch for any fans of the previous movies. Anyone who is a huge fan of Jack Sparrow and Hector Barbossa are in luck cause more than half the story are about them. Ian McShane did a terrific job as the evil pirate Blackbeard and Penelope Cruz also did a terrifc job as Blackbeard's daughter. The score was outstanding and a bit of the previous movie scores were used. The costuming was spot on and authentic. The locations were breathtaking and the action was as great as the previous movies. The new cast members did a fantastic job fitting into the movie and acted well. They added a lot of lighthearted funny moments. Also the 3D for this movie was amazing and it really add to the movie watching experience. Overall I would recommend ths movie to any fan of the previous Pirate movies. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
9
jkcanewtonMay 21, 2011
More of the same...but what is wrong with that! You will never have a better time than watching an installment of Pirates of the Caribbean and this one is no exception.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
MichealJohnsonMay 20, 2011
There is a lot of good actors in this movie such as Jesse Jane. There are lots of good scenes (with nudity). This could be the best movie of the year. This is a movie I would take my kids to. Pirates 2: Stagnetti Revenge for movie of the year.
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
10
HaydenWMay 22, 2011
'Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides' - I've been following the progress of this movie ever since it reported to be in production. I would search for related news articles almost weekly, and each time anything was announced, I was'Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides' - I've been following the progress of this movie ever since it reported to be in production. I would search for related news articles almost weekly, and each time anything was announced, I was excited about whatever news I'd heard. So you can imagine my excitement during the week leading up to the release of this movie. My expectations were insanely high, and I was confident that a new director and overhauled cast would provide the breath of fresh air or 'shot in the arm' that the franchise was in need of after the overblown, near-incomprehensible 'At World's End'.
However, I must say that my hopes were somewhat lowered when I started reading some of the more negative reviews, and the dismal score that the film held on RottenTomatoes didn't do much to help this. Still, I remained positive and excited for this new installment into this series which I've loved from the very beginning. I was somewhat apprehensive, though; I thought that I was going to have to convince myself that I was enjoying the film - this was my fear. But it wasn't long into the film that this notion completely left my mind. The atmosphere and fun of the movie had taken over. The fast-paced opening to the film completely distracted me from all else; it was the same 'Pirates' action and excitement that drew me into the first two films (and the third, to a degree).
But although the action was exciting and well-choreographed, it wasn't so much the action sequences that were the highlight of the film; but the humor. This film had some of the best witty banter & one-liners in the whole 'Pirates' series. And while Terry Rossio & Ted Elliott can be thanked for this, it was really the actors and their chemistry between them that brought the script alive. Depp was at his best, delivering both the dialogue as well as the physical persona of Jack Sparrow with the professional brilliance that we've come to expect from the man. Cruz played off of Depp perfectly, and vice-versa, as the characters of Jack and Angelica clashed in the most delightful way. McShane was perfect in his role of playing the genuinely evil villain of Blackbeard, whilst Rush was once again terrific in his role as the whimsical villain. Hollywood debutantes Sam Claflin and Ã
Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
9
Shiro_May 30, 2011
Not a bad movie at all, Plenty of action and sword play. The characters especially Depp and McShane were pretty good. The plot was there and the whole thing moved along at a good pace. I have seen better films but I've seen a hell of a lotNot a bad movie at all, Plenty of action and sword play. The characters especially Depp and McShane were pretty good. The plot was there and the whole thing moved along at a good pace. I have seen better films but I've seen a hell of a lot worse. I feel it is a good family movie and a good addition to the other films Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
jacksparrow1234May 20, 2011
To me this movie was great. It was close to the first film and I love Pirates of the caribbean a lot. Besides, I like the plot and Blackbeard. On the other hand, some actors like Pitelle and Magetti wern't in the movie. What the heck?To me this movie was great. It was close to the first film and I love Pirates of the caribbean a lot. Besides, I like the plot and Blackbeard. On the other hand, some actors like Pitelle and Magetti wern't in the movie. What the heck? Anyways, few parts I didn't understand such as when Phillip escape from the fighting in the fountian of youth and the Brits and Spaniards finding the fountian in the first place. But still a great movie. I understand everything.......................except that wig. (P.S. I've seen worse movies. This isn't one of them) Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
3
GagnarNov 3, 2011
The Pirates of the Caribbean movies have come along way since the first one came out, it was fun, mysterious and intriguing. Unfortunately for this newest addition to the Pirates universe it simply fails to deliver. There are three majorThe Pirates of the Caribbean movies have come along way since the first one came out, it was fun, mysterious and intriguing. Unfortunately for this newest addition to the Pirates universe it simply fails to deliver. There are three major drawbacks which dragged my personal rating for this move down to a 3.

First of, they tried compressing a to big of a story into one movie. The story lacks coordination and transfers the viewer from location to location, from plot to plot, from character to character in to little time so that you will just not be able to tell what exactly is going on. You will have no emotional bond with any character or the stakes at hand. The overall story of this movie is just simply to big to be put into a few hours. Second, the characters presented in this movie are just flat out bad. The leap in time between the previous movie and this one is just way to big to make you understand anything about any character involved in this movie. Jack is of course back, which is a pretty big drawback, considering he is actually the main character in this movie. In all the previous movies he is a fun and enjoyable character, BUT ONLY because he was WASN'T the main character. The entire movie now evolves around to many lame ass jokes and hes annoying personality, which was fun in the previous movies because hes personality was present in much smaller doses. Sparrow made the movie way to annoying and he's trickery and fighting action has become way to predictable because of it. Hector Barbossa suffered immensely from the huge time leap between this movie and the previous one. He pretty much resides with the Spaniards all the time, diminishing the characters value and time on screen, which is of course really a waste. Black beard also suffers from an obvious lack of time and story, he is just to big of a character. You will just not really get to know him as we got to know Davy Jones and Barbossa. He's daughter also suffers this drawback, although she is definitely not as interesting, which she could have been.

Finally we get to see this sailor priest whom, I guess, needed to fill up the more serious and romantic role in this movie, but failed miserably. The love between a mermaid and this sailor could have certainly be more fleshed out. Yet again, it suffers because of lack of time and story.

And last...3D fails, yet again. Clearly this movie lacked any of it. The occasional thrown dagger that gets a 3D makeover or scenery that looks as if it has a bit more 3D depth to it, but all in all it just simply lacks 3D. Conclusion: Very disappointed. It is way to obvious there was to much ambition (or lack of it) for this movie and it suffered heavily because of it.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
zhayeebMay 23, 2011
The movie didn't work for me, its just, i have this great expectation since i was a fan from the very first start of this film but this one, i can consider that there are some parts which we can call as lame one.
First, the settings were
The movie didn't work for me, its just, i have this great expectation since i was a fan from the very first start of this film but this one, i can consider that there are some parts which we can call as lame one.
First, the settings were unprepared and not convincing
second, acting of the other actors were kind ''wtf'' was that!
Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
0
ChrisJamesMay 26, 2011
Just a bad, bad movie. I sat through this hoping for it to get better and unfortunately it never did. It had glimpses of promise and bucketloads of potential, but it never tied up in the end and pretty much presented itself as a genericJust a bad, bad movie. I sat through this hoping for it to get better and unfortunately it never did. It had glimpses of promise and bucketloads of potential, but it never tied up in the end and pretty much presented itself as a generic pirate film full of cliche and cringe-inducing moments. Blackbeard wasn't even a bad guy. It's about time we let the POTC series take its place in movie history before they churn out another one... Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
8
The-CriticMay 27, 2011
Pirates, Spanish and Privateersâ
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
JamesMorrisonJun 1, 2011
People have talked down on this movie but I watched it and I couldn't see why. The action scenes were great. Depp and Cruz have great chemistry (the last scene in particular was pretty hilarious). Blackbeard was a great villain and hisPeople have talked down on this movie but I watched it and I couldn't see why. The action scenes were great. Depp and Cruz have great chemistry (the last scene in particular was pretty hilarious). Blackbeard was a great villain and his rivalry with Barbosa was well developed throughout the movie. The ending part with Jack at the fountain was a little predictable but it was the way you would've wanted the movie to end. Definitely not the best, but a good addition to the series!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Caro2500Jun 4, 2011
Great movie! Far better than the last two, with Jack finally being elevated out of buffoonery and back into the eccentric-but-sharp character he was in the first movie. Writing was much better, plot much slicker. Depp obviously loves thisGreat movie! Far better than the last two, with Jack finally being elevated out of buffoonery and back into the eccentric-but-sharp character he was in the first movie. Writing was much better, plot much slicker. Depp obviously loves this character, and Rush and Cruz did an excellent job as well. Very entertaining! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
LavrengJun 6, 2011
Good film. I very love play of Ian Mc Shane. Interesting story. Touchable moments. Great Barbossa. And I waiting for sequel. And of course buy this film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
choro356Jun 7, 2011
it was a great movie so fun! it was hilarious and was definitely worth it.if you haven't seen it you should. it was the best movie Ive seen this year.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
jimpageJun 13, 2011
...had a great time with this 4th POTC installment. no complaints.....action was great, a little romance, horror, fantasy, humor, history, mystery, a bit of everything in this movie. my biggest enjoyment was all of the historical references...had a great time with this 4th POTC installment. no complaints.....action was great, a little romance, horror, fantasy, humor, history, mystery, a bit of everything in this movie. my biggest enjoyment was all of the historical references combined with humor. So far I would tie this one with the 2nd one as my favorite. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
guardian210Jun 25, 2011
Congratulations Disney you officially ruined a perfectly good trilogy of movies. I'm glad the drive-in that i saw this movie at had this as a double feature with Cars 2, because if it hadn't and only showed this piece of **** i would haveCongratulations Disney you officially ruined a perfectly good trilogy of movies. I'm glad the drive-in that i saw this movie at had this as a double feature with Cars 2, because if it hadn't and only showed this piece of **** i would have demanded my money back. The only real reason why Penelope Cruz was in the movie, was for her good looks, which is a waste of a great talent. If you're a director that plans to put add a female character for the sole purpose of looking good, put a good looking actress with no talent in there. You'd save yourself a lot of money. I want to know what on gods green earth the director was smoking when he thought it would be a brilliant idea to, not only have Captain Barbossa Captain a Royal Navy Ship, but emblazon the British flag in the background behind him. I mean really, did the flag HAVE to be that big. Captain Sparrow, who i agree is the flagship of the trilogy, and without him all four movies are pointless, not to say this one is just because he's in it, because it's the most pointless of all the movies, i commend Jack for being the captain that goes down with his ship (the trilogy). The movie is missing two keys that would have made it a better sight to see. Quite frankly the trilogy would be better off if this movie had never been made in the first place. To put it even simpler, if i was given the option of watching this movie again or watching my **** go down the toilet, the choice would be easy... watch my **** go down the toilet, the horror ends quickly and dosen't drag on for two and a quarter hours. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
marcustargusSep 14, 2011
Saw this movie with my wife and teenage daughter at the local cinema.Great story, brilliant acting, and wonderful movie. Although there were a few scenes where the story seemed to drag on a bit. But all in all a very good movie.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
cylian3Aug 16, 2014
A truly sad time we live in to have the loveable Captain Sparrow be so convoluted with half-arsed scripts and inconsistencies with fighting scenes that are so mudded down in fogs, lightning and smoke to the point where I found myself moreA truly sad time we live in to have the loveable Captain Sparrow be so convoluted with half-arsed scripts and inconsistencies with fighting scenes that are so mudded down in fogs, lightning and smoke to the point where I found myself more prompted to skip them just to have more dialog. And I hate dialog. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PirateMikeMay 27, 2011
I'm one of fans of this series who has enjoyed all 3 of the previous films, even the overly convoluted At World's End. But still, I knew that this franchise was in need of a reboot or better yet, a trip back to it's roots. I think it pullsI'm one of fans of this series who has enjoyed all 3 of the previous films, even the overly convoluted At World's End. But still, I knew that this franchise was in need of a reboot or better yet, a trip back to it's roots. I think it pulls both off really well. Johnny Depp as Jack Sparrow will never get stale, and he's in fine form yet again in this installment. Ian McShane as Blackbeard also did an amazing job! There's nothing better than an epic movie with equally epic acting and setting. The new additions combined with the nods back to the past 3 movies blended together amazingly well. Lots of good cameo appearances that I thought added to the story and were not thrown in just for fan service. All in all, I have to say this chapter ranks up there as one of the best in the series. I was not disappointed! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
TheAlbearSep 19, 2011
Although not as good as the original pirates of the Caribbean movie. It is much better than number 3, if you are looking for good entrainment this fits the bill.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
BalekFeketeMay 30, 2011
On Stranger Tides brings us back - finally - to what we fell in love with originally. Depp is his usual quirky genius as Captain Jack Sparrow and Cruz is a nice replacement to the overdone Turner/Swan pairing in the previous movies. TheOn Stranger Tides brings us back - finally - to what we fell in love with originally. Depp is his usual quirky genius as Captain Jack Sparrow and Cruz is a nice replacement to the overdone Turner/Swan pairing in the previous movies. The fourth movie will not garner any major awards, but it does a good job at being what it set out to be - a solid popcorn flick for the months leading up to the summer season. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
ptolemeausMay 23, 2011
Though better than its predecessor, this movie owes everything to the strength of Johnny Depp's charm and the presence of Geoffrey Rush and Ian McShane.The absolutely terrific original score by Hans Zimmer makes most of the scenes come alive.Though better than its predecessor, this movie owes everything to the strength of Johnny Depp's charm and the presence of Geoffrey Rush and Ian McShane.The absolutely terrific original score by Hans Zimmer makes most of the scenes come alive. On Stranger Tides is not an exceptional summer popcorn movie, but it provides acceptable summer fun.
You'll go, you'll enjoy, and a month from now you won't remember much about it. " ***1/2 "
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
skelekeyMay 20, 2011
This is a really good movie. For fans of Jack Sparrow or Hector Barbossa and Pirates fans in general, it is a must see. Ian Mcshane does a terrific job at playing the bad guy. The Costumes are well designed and as always there is a niceThis is a really good movie. For fans of Jack Sparrow or Hector Barbossa and Pirates fans in general, it is a must see. Ian Mcshane does a terrific job at playing the bad guy. The Costumes are well designed and as always there is a nice play on the legends and stories of that time period. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
9
jaytay4589May 20, 2011
Capt'n Jack is back! I thought this movie was very entertaining. I would rate it as the second best in the series, after the original. Lots of good acting and an enjoyable story.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
9
Bulldog6565May 20, 2011
Johnny Depp is back as Captain Jack and his crew are in the quest of immortality. Old and new enemies are back while Jack faces new dangers and enemies. He will face: zombies, mermaids, Royal Navy, and Blackbeard. Laughs, adventure,Johnny Depp is back as Captain Jack and his crew are in the quest of immortality. Old and new enemies are back while Jack faces new dangers and enemies. He will face: zombies, mermaids, Royal Navy, and Blackbeard. Laughs, adventure, excitement, and action are brought back in the search of eternal life. This movie might not be the best but it's worth to see and deserves a solid 9! Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
Jack_SpurvMay 20, 2011
When I first saw PotC 1, I was overwhelmed by the magic of the story and the characters. Then came the 2nd and the 3rd movie and I was a bit disappointed with those two. It all suddenly seemed to be all about Elizabeth and Wills love storyWhen I first saw PotC 1, I was overwhelmed by the magic of the story and the characters. Then came the 2nd and the 3rd movie and I was a bit disappointed with those two. It all suddenly seemed to be all about Elizabeth and Wills love story and the other characters were pushed into the background. So when I heard that there was going to be a 4th PotC movie with my two favorite captains - Barbossa and Sparrow - and almost a whole new cast, I was once again excited, and the movie did not disappointed me. It was fun, witty, had lots of action and adventure. And after seeing it, I had that same magical feeling that I experienced after seeing PotC 1. I simply love this movie and I hope there will be a 5th and a 6th one! Expand
11 of 17 users found this helpful116
All this user's reviews
9
Phoenix_1May 21, 2011
The critics must still be jaded by the 2nd and 3rd movies. I can't see how they give it such low ratings. This movie redeems the franchise. All the magic, humor and piratey goodness have returned. The story is fun and easily followed.The critics must still be jaded by the 2nd and 3rd movies. I can't see how they give it such low ratings. This movie redeems the franchise. All the magic, humor and piratey goodness have returned. The story is fun and easily followed. Forget the 2nd and 3rd and count this as the only sequel! Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
leahleialoaMay 21, 2011
Pirates is back! On Stranger Tides more than makes up for the 2nd and 3rd Pirate movies. There was only one story-arc and it didn't drag on. They didn't reuse overdone jokes or characters that had grown stale. There weren't a million,Pirates is back! On Stranger Tides more than makes up for the 2nd and 3rd Pirate movies. There was only one story-arc and it didn't drag on. They didn't reuse overdone jokes or characters that had grown stale. There weren't a million, really long swordfights. This movie was done right; it was fresh, funny, and exciting. Certainly worth seeing in theaters. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
AmadusMay 21, 2011
On Stranger Tides sails in with its own charms. The lack of Will Turner and Elizabeth Swann is where the feeling of something amiss comes from. If you're a fan of Jack and Barbossa as well as Mr. Gibbs, then you will enjoy this installment ofOn Stranger Tides sails in with its own charms. The lack of Will Turner and Elizabeth Swann is where the feeling of something amiss comes from. If you're a fan of Jack and Barbossa as well as Mr. Gibbs, then you will enjoy this installment of the Pirate Franchise. It is a good film, not the best, definitely not the worst. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
7
DeresolutionMay 25, 2011
Okay, I'll make this short and to the point. The fact is, this movie has the lowest critics score of any in the series. The truth is, it may actually be the best one. The cast is great, lead by the always good Johnny Depp. I actually didn'tOkay, I'll make this short and to the point. The fact is, this movie has the lowest critics score of any in the series. The truth is, it may actually be the best one. The cast is great, lead by the always good Johnny Depp. I actually didn't care for Depp that much a few months ago, but he's starting to grow on me now. The action is occasionally confusing, but those scenes of underwhelment are made up for by some really good action set pieces. The direction is great, too. I thought that Rob Marshall, who previously did musicals, was a bit of an odd choice at first, but I honestly think that his work in Chicago helped with some of the action pieces. There is a love story in this one as well (not between Jack and Penelope Cruz, but rather a missionary and mermaid), and I have to say, this one was handled really well. I honestly cared about the realtionship between these two, which I can't say about Will and Elizabeth (getting married on a ship in the middle of a battle? REALLY?). Now, the story may be a bit convoluted, and the CGI in this isn't as good as the last installments, but that being said, I could still follow the story quite well, and I would rather have the CGI be the film's low point than have it be the only good thing (like in the last 2 Pirates films). If you want to se this movie, I say go right on ahead. If you're like me, you'll love it. IF not, than I'm sorry that I may have lead you to spend money on something you didn't like. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
cheat700000007May 21, 2011
This movie was just a flat out mess. There was no pacing, characters didn't have a character, they had a name and a set of objectives that they had to do to advance the plot or cause something to happen that shouldn't have, but the producerThis movie was just a flat out mess. There was no pacing, characters didn't have a character, they had a name and a set of objectives that they had to do to advance the plot or cause something to happen that shouldn't have, but the producer thought would be exciting like having someone jump into the camera away from an explosion in a PIRATE MOVIE, or have a chase scene in a busy town that people should be barely able to move in (which is actually how the chase ends, why there is suddenly a huge path available before that who knows) riding a wooden cart full of flaming coals which for some reason isn't completely burning. I'm going to stop listing out things now or else I'll just be writing a summary of the entire movie. Captain Sparrow's character arc is starting to remind me of Stewie Griffens arc too. At the start of the series, he was an evil mastermind with gay tendancies, but a fun and original character. Now he is just gay. All of the interest, sublty, and roundness to the character is gone. Every other character is completely flat and only act to advance the plot in the way that the writers, or maybe the producer, wanted. They have no personality, no depth, no soul. They are not characters they are just living mcguffins. Nearly every big event in the movie just happens. It is not explained or even hinted at in any way of the sort why or how it was happening. There wasn't even a reason why or how the characters knew what they were doing. Even in simple little dialogue interactions, characters had responses that made no sense. As I'm looking back at the movie now, I can confidently say that if you picked out ANY scene in the movie, I could tell you at least 3 things wrong with it. I sincerely hope the writers of this movie never do so again. At the 30 minute mark I was already ready to walk out, but stayed because I did enjoy the other 3 movies. In 2 and 3 they had a few boring segments which turned to great ones later on, I kept hoping this would be the case but it sure as hell was not. The only reason I can see that this is getting positive reviews at all is either that a) these people are from disney or were paid off or b) throwing big name celebrities into a movie really will make people like it whether it is a good movie or not. Expand
9 of 16 users found this helpful97
All this user's reviews
4
GordonGekkoMay 22, 2011
We took our 9 year old nephew to see this one as it was in IMAX 3 D. The other POC movies have been pretty decent so I thought, why not we can see Thor another time. We were pretty excited about the 3D aspect as well.
This movie was a huge
We took our 9 year old nephew to see this one as it was in IMAX 3 D. The other POC movies have been pretty decent so I thought, why not we can see Thor another time. We were pretty excited about the 3D aspect as well.
This movie was a huge let down. There was way too much dialogue and not enough action; the most interesting part of the movie were the mermainds. The 3D was a waste as there were maybe about a cumulative 5 minutes with decent use of 3D. I wouldn't waste your time on this one. Johnny Deep needed the check.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
TomSeilerJun 13, 2011
It's a highly entertaining movie, maybe not as entertaining as the first Pirates of the Caribbean movie, but it's really good. Like the first three movies, that one received mixed reviews from professional critics, too. I'm not reallyIt's a highly entertaining movie, maybe not as entertaining as the first Pirates of the Caribbean movie, but it's really good. Like the first three movies, that one received mixed reviews from professional critics, too. I'm not really surprised about that, but fact is, the success of the movie shows us that they are at least not perfectly right with their evaluation... I was a bit skeptical about that film being without Elizabeth and Will, I really like those characters and thought it wouldn't be Pirates of the Caribbean without them. But it is! It's a good story, well-crafted (just like I expected) and the actors are good, too (or is anybody here thinking that Johnny Depp is not great in his role as Jack Sparrow). In conclusion, I don't think it's the movie of the year and it's not perfect, but the movie has made me feel anticipation because of the next two of that kind, so it did his job ;) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
doesahappydanceMay 22, 2011
I was not expecting this installment to be nearly as good as it was. The fact that it didn't have the Elizabeth/Will storyline made it instantly better than the last 2. I enjoyed the ride all the way through. The story was fun, the acting wasI was not expecting this installment to be nearly as good as it was. The fact that it didn't have the Elizabeth/Will storyline made it instantly better than the last 2. I enjoyed the ride all the way through. The story was fun, the acting was great, and the entire experience left me saying, yea, I would go see a pirates 5! The critics are just too harsh. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
8
robertjwilliamsMay 22, 2011
Good solid sequel that will not win any oscars, but is a good deal of fun. Better than the other sequels and Johnny Depp on phenomenal form it is a good way to spend 2hrs and 17 mins. Also stick for the end of the credits.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
asseerraaMay 22, 2011
Just as good and entertaining as the previous installments.. not as much action which you'd think would be disappointing but it wasn't. Johnny Depp delivers again and the cast was in top form. Ian Mcshane and Penelopy Cruz were both amazing.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
8
AndreyaHalmsMay 25, 2011
Though hardcore fans may find it a teensy-weensy but disappointing, it still is as magical as always. After Will and Elizabeth's disappearance, this movie brings more focus onto Jack and Barbossa. It begins with the British mistaking aThough hardcore fans may find it a teensy-weensy but disappointing, it still is as magical as always. After Will and Elizabeth's disappearance, this movie brings more focus onto Jack and Barbossa. It begins with the British mistaking a bewildered Gibbs as Jack, and bringing him on trial in front of Jack himself. Fights follow, involving chandeliers, cream cakes and a flaming coal cart. Enter Angelica (Penelope) and the story starts. For those who think they'll miss Will and Elizabeth's romance, the relationship between Philip, a clergyman, and Serena, a mermaid, can serve as a useful distraction.
The fights may seem a bit predictable at times. Some moments may make you go 'O-hkay. How did THAT happen?'. The background music may seem a bit loud at times, and tends to drown out the dialogues, especially if you're in the cinema halls.
That aside, PoTC 4 is an enjoyable movie. 8/10.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
arkanoidMay 26, 2011
I saw this movie because my girlfriend wanted to see it. I went for the popcorn to tell you the truth because i was totally confused by the convoluted story that she was explaining to me. I only saw the third movie so i thought i was gonna beI saw this movie because my girlfriend wanted to see it. I went for the popcorn to tell you the truth because i was totally confused by the convoluted story that she was explaining to me. I only saw the third movie so i thought i was gonna be lost seeing this one, but the thing i realized about the pirates movies is that it's more of a movie that you go see to have fun and escape the mundane world we live in. The movie's scenery is awesome has always and the story kept my attention. I left feeling i got my monies worth Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
CDWBMay 26, 2011
Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides is indeed an okay film. It has an unbelievable amount of potential, yet there are elements that lead it to fall just short of greatness. The most irritating of these elements was the introduction ofPirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides is indeed an okay film. It has an unbelievable amount of potential, yet there are elements that lead it to fall just short of greatness. The most irritating of these elements was the introduction of Philip the missionary. He is a weak and uninteresting character whose love story somehow manages to seem more unrealistic than any special effect or CGI character. One of my favourite additions to the Pirates saga however, were the mermaids. Their mythology was thoroughly interesting and their introductory scene was spine-tingling. I just wished they'd built the story of the lead mermaid Syrena up a little more instead of wasting time on the Spanish soldiers and their arbitrary appearance and disappearance towards the film's climax. Johnny Depp and Geoffry Rush give solid performances as Jack Sparrow and Hector Barbossa, and it is truly phenomenal to see them back in anew adventure. Penelope Cruz and Ian McShane are invaluable contributions to the Pirates saga as the vivacious Angelica and the menacing Blackbeard.
Overall the film was an enjoyable experience and I left the theatre happy, however, when you look back on it it is easy to spot areas where it could have been improved.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
Jeroen030May 28, 2011
I enjoyed the movie, although I often had the feeling it was just 'the movie to much'. They tried to mix in the elements of the previous ones, but they failed somehow. Even though Johnny Depp is acting great (as always) he couldn't carry toI enjoyed the movie, although I often had the feeling it was just 'the movie to much'. They tried to mix in the elements of the previous ones, but they failed somehow. Even though Johnny Depp is acting great (as always) he couldn't carry to movie alone, which he had to do IMO. One of the few great things about this movie was the 'chemistry' between Jack Sparrow and Barbosa, but that was about it for the good things. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
likesgoodmoviesMay 28, 2011
Without Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightley, the dynamics were way off. Johnny Depp went from being a flake to fulfilling the slightly more responsible role formerly occupied by Orlando Bloom's Will Turner. The interaction between Johnny DeppWithout Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightley, the dynamics were way off. Johnny Depp went from being a flake to fulfilling the slightly more responsible role formerly occupied by Orlando Bloom's Will Turner. The interaction between Johnny Depp and Penelope Cruz was long, drawn out, and extraordinarily boring, as opposed to the constant sparks created between Knightley and Depp . Putting Barbosa in the role of legitimate seafarer really diminished his character. The hint of a former love connection between Cruz and Depp along with the ending comment "it's a pirates life for me" by Sparrow indicate a level of commitment not conducive to Sparrow's normal careless and lackadaisical thought processes. This lends support to a feeling of "phoniness" in Jack's Character. If I were Siskel or Ebert I'd give this film two thumbs down and say - "Skip it!" Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
thajeJun 4, 2011
The whole Pirates of the Caribbean franchise is a bit like a bottle of coke. It starts off all fresh and fizzy, then there's the middle where it tastes a bit off but you finish it anyway, and then there's that bit the bottom that no oneThe whole Pirates of the Caribbean franchise is a bit like a bottle of coke. It starts off all fresh and fizzy, then there's the middle where it tastes a bit off but you finish it anyway, and then there's that bit the bottom that no one wants to drink because it just looks like black water. That's what On Strange Tides is like. Flat coke. The plot is just one ridiculous scene after another, the characters are boring and have no development whatsoever, and there are so many loose ends you could probably weave a rug. It's a classic let's-just-get-this-thing-over-with kind of movie and adds nothing to the series whatsoever. Not really worth anyone's time. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
5
MachShotMay 30, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To be fair, I wanted to enjoy this movie, but what was received seemed less like a professional scripting of a film and more of an adaptation of some child's fan-fiction.

The plot hardly seemed cannon and offered little consistency in the logic. How did an old man manage to be "fished" by two others? Why did Blackbeard need such a large crew for his ship when simply by pointing the ship would manage itself? Why did daylight only hurt the mermaid in the second half of that saga, when earlier the only issue was breathing in the tank? Why does everyone else just spontaneously begin to remember lore about the fountain?

The movie delivers on some sequences where the famous "theme" works in action, but this is not the Pirates of the Caribbean you once knew. You care not for the parties involved, and could only care possibly about Jack in his hopping and meshing of allies and enemies, but even then in the end the viewer is confused as to why Jack seemed to not care about the fountain.

Action? Yes. Plot? No. An extended version of the trailer is all you would need to see. This is the result when a stand alone film turns into a trilogy, then that trilogy gets a fourth installment. What's scary is that after the credits a possible fifth movie is implied, and that movie may be an absolute bomb.

Just pretend this movie doesn't exist and think of PotC as a good trilogy.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Omsaly14May 30, 2011
Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides is a stunning new movie. I didn't think POTC 4 was going to be as good as Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End, but my thoughts were wrong. POTC 4 is the best chapter in the Pirates Franchise.Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides is a stunning new movie. I didn't think POTC 4 was going to be as good as Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End, but my thoughts were wrong. POTC 4 is the best chapter in the Pirates Franchise. This new part is much different to any of the first three films, infact it feels like a new triliogy. Pirates of the Caribbean 4 brings amazing new special effects and new characters, and will leave you satisfied as you walk out of the cinemas. Johnny Depp brings amazing new escape tactics. Despite being the shortest film in the series running at-137 minutes.(POTC1=139 minutes, POTC2=145 minutes, POTC3= 162 minutes), POTC 4 fills in every thing needed to make a good movie. Ian McShane plays evil ruthless pirate captain of the Queen Anne's Revenge. Blackbeard almost meets the level of Davy Jones(played by Bill Nighy).

Captain Jack Sparrow crosses paths with a woman from his past (Angelica) and is forced among the ship 'Queen Anne's Revenge'. Angelica's father Blackbeard is also in search of the Fountain of Youth.
The spaniards, King George II's men and Blackbeard's crew race to the Fountain of youth.

Watch POTC 4 soon...

My Pirates Order:
1.POTC4. I give it 10/10
2.POTC3: 9.8/10
3.POTC1: 9.2
4.POTC2: 8.8/10
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
ANDOG45May 30, 2011
I love the pirates movies and had extremely high hopes for this one. I knew those high hopes would never be met but I still expected something better. The movie was not bad or boring but comparing it to the first two it did not hold up. It isI love the pirates movies and had extremely high hopes for this one. I knew those high hopes would never be met but I still expected something better. The movie was not bad or boring but comparing it to the first two it did not hold up. It is certainly better than the third but not a must watch. It certainly a fun ride but not to the extent of the first two. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Draican29Jun 2, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was really excited to see this movie and watch Johnny Depp amaze me again with his acting and at first it was looking to be a pretty good movie until near the end of act 2 and the rest of act 3 it kinda went well overboard lets just say. At the beginning it look to be a funny classy pirate adventure as jack sparrow searches for the fountain of youth while collecting the ingredients for the thing to work properly along with his ex-girlfriend surprisingly and the nasty most awesome pirate of them all BLACKBEARD!! oh and mermaids come to the picture, nice. So its exciting at first that is until act 2 starts to drag going on what could have been a simple search and find quest and then near the end you be scratching your head in utter confusion asking "why they do that? It doesn't make sense." quite a lots especially when the Spanish army show up because in the end, well lets just say that's the biggest reason why you be asking WHY!? and that's what ultimately hurts this film to a point that it kinda sucks. my recommendation is that if you love Pirates Of The Caribbean it will be an okay popcorn flick if nothing interests you to go see but for the others who never seen the first 3 I best avoid it until DvD rental if you really want to watch it someday because this ones the weakest of the movies. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
georgegalilyJun 4, 2011
I was waiting for this movie before sex months since the 3rd part was a great part, I think every thing is good on 4th part except the English language. I think the way they said the words just changed. In the first three parts, I enjoyed toI was waiting for this movie before sex months since the 3rd part was a great part, I think every thing is good on 4th part except the English language. I think the way they said the words just changed. In the first three parts, I enjoyed to the words coming from the Heroes. The way just was looking as history. Simply, the 4th part is still exciting on its story, actions and adventure. I think 3rd part was the best. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
AshmenonJun 12, 2011
On Stranger Tides isn't the most ground-breaking film of the year, and despite the film's name, it sticks resolutely to familiar tides throughout the whole movie. However, it succeeds on the platforms that it contests: cinema visual glory,On Stranger Tides isn't the most ground-breaking film of the year, and despite the film's name, it sticks resolutely to familiar tides throughout the whole movie. However, it succeeds on the platforms that it contests: cinema visual glory, pulse-racing action, good looking people hacking through wilderness in search of fabled wonders Indiana-Jones style, and Johnny Depp's swashbuckling-with-a-side-of-guyliner performance as Captain Jack Sparrow. Enjoy it for what it is, and don't spend too much time thinking about the cannonball-sized holes in the plot. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
kubus96Jun 14, 2011
I went to the cinema in the hope of new, grate Pirates of the Caribbean. And I get movie, which was interesting in second part (I mean 70-140 min). Relief are Jack Sparrow's jokes, which were great, like in 1-3 parts.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
dosaJun 15, 2011
gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
Chronus007Jun 18, 2011
The 4th in the series didn't strike it with me for a few reasons. For example the story was not linked and seemed jumbled up at times which didn't make sense. There are some good points though as there is some rare but funny humour and theThe 4th in the series didn't strike it with me for a few reasons. For example the story was not linked and seemed jumbled up at times which didn't make sense. There are some good points though as there is some rare but funny humour and the action scenes are that bad. However the biggest let down was the fact Jack's 2 sidekicks were missing and it just didn't seem the same without them. Overall maybes one to rent when it's available. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
PINKPOISONJul 18, 2011
EVERYTHING Johnny Depp (Captain Jack Sparrow) did was wonderful & hilarious. Captain Jack Sparrow was aready sooo exciting that I didn't seem to care if they went into dept about the Mermaid Myth or any other characters' story. Sure, a lot ofEVERYTHING Johnny Depp (Captain Jack Sparrow) did was wonderful & hilarious. Captain Jack Sparrow was aready sooo exciting that I didn't seem to care if they went into dept about the Mermaid Myth or any other characters' story. Sure, a lot of things in the movie were overly-exaggerated (like a man jumping over the boat after hearing about man-eating mermaids) BUT it was funny. I mean, everyone already knows from the other series that you cant take someone like Jack Sparrow seriously so nobody should've expected a serious pirate story. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
NillerusJul 22, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. From the disjointed story, to the one-dimensional characters, this movie simply should not have been made. Where the occasional plot hole or convoluted storyline in the first three movies could be overlooked because they were otherwise greatly enjoyable, this heaping pile of dung fails to engage on all levels.
Captain Jack has become a parody of his formerly glorious self. Think Wolverine in X-men 1-2 vs. Wolverine in X-men 3 and "Wolverine". Shudder. The scriptwriter failed miserably at catching the essence of the first three movies in the franchise.
Character dialogue is completely nonsensical. Just utterly, mind-numbingly pointless and stupid. This is a movie that just doesn't make any sense. From glass boxes as horribly glaring and stupid plot devices, to the villain vowing to kill off characters who are central to his plans, and generally, everyone is being a bit trigger happy concerning key figures without whom this entire enterprise would fall apart for all concerned.

Kiera Knightley and Orlando Bloom have been outdone, Penelope Cruz and the priest are easily the most annoying characters I have seen, in any movie, for a very long time.

Characters do things for no reason. Just pure **** insanity. Mermaids handing cups around randomly to save their captors and tormentors, people being sent out on errands to fix a bit of the plot off camera. I can't go on. Read cheat700000007's review, and you'll get the gist of it. Pretend this never happened.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
RBDisbestponyNov 28, 2011
Best POTC movie yet. I completely enjoyed the fact that Bloom and Knightley were not in this sequel so the movie can focus on the on main character, Captain Jack Sparrow.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
TheUnbeholdenApr 30, 2013
Advantages: Alot of new blood to invorgorate the series.
No more Will and Elizebeth. They where seriously dragging down the series after the first movie so thank the gods.
I didn't hate it... but its forgettable. Disadvantages: 1. Its
Advantages: Alot of new blood to invorgorate the series.
No more Will and Elizebeth. They where seriously dragging down the series after the first movie so thank the gods.
I didn't hate it... but its forgettable.

Disadvantages:
1. Its one of those rare examples where to much exposition only seems to drag the movie down to be needlessly complicated without doing much for character development, and missing out on alot of action scenes.
Essentially theres alot of dialogue to establish each sides motivations so we know what they want and who they are. But the movie also spends alot of time telling us the rules for the fountain of youth. Alot. But why? Why does there have to be all these rules, and how do they know?
The relic they need don't say anything about it. So how? And where did they find the magic cup anyway? How did they find out the rules of this magic place if no one thats been there is alive? Where did this mermaid tear stuff come from?
2. For a pirate movie theres no naval battles. Captain Jack, who's supposed to be the proganist this time, doesn't actually do any big sword fighting scenes. The last fight in particular is really confusing like how Barbosa turns his back on the one legged man that he knew was destined to kill him.. who the hell writes this ****
3. Zombies... blackbeard can't just be a mean pirate.. he also has to be voodoo master. He can control all the rope on his ship... and how? It just seems thrown at us with no explanation how it works or its limitations.
4. Characters... Captain Jack doesn't care about the fountain of youth.. a man that has been established as a a guy who carse about his own self preserveation you'd think he would be the most interested in this especially because he has the map for the place.
he gets dragged into it all, but then inexplicably decides not to back to find his ship when he has a chance to even though he supposed to not care about the fountain of youth..
Barbosa doesn't have much to work with plotwise, character development or even much motivation..
5. Its not as long as previous movies but it still feels long.
6. 3d still looks bad, especially here.

Suggestions: More swash buckling, have naval battles, make Jack Sparrow do more awesome stuff, make him fight more, have more motivation to fight and get the treasure rather than being ignorant all the time. I'm fine with him being ignorant sometimes, but he should be pretending to be ignorant alot of other times while having is own plan/desire.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
JefferySlumsDec 16, 2014
This movie had absolutely nothing to do with any part of the series, I mean it had nothing to do with anything. Yes we learn a bit of each characters backgrounds, but what is before all that? They started the series off strong with theThis movie had absolutely nothing to do with any part of the series, I mean it had nothing to do with anything. Yes we learn a bit of each characters backgrounds, but what is before all that? They started the series off strong with the first three, then all the sudden, we're left off with this. It's placed like a few years behind the first movie, and it doesn't even tell a worth tale of anything. It leaves off with Black Pearl in its original owner, again, but again, what happened before? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews