Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: July 27, 2001
4.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 186 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
52
Mixed:
73
Negative:
61
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
R.LopezFeb 3, 2009
Exceptional!! Planet of the Apes is perhaps one of the brainiest and most visually stunning film I've ever seen. Planet of the Apes stars Mark Whalberg as Captain Leo Davidson a 22 century astronaut who while his genetically altered Ape Exceptional!! Planet of the Apes is perhaps one of the brainiest and most visually stunning film I've ever seen. Planet of the Apes stars Mark Whalberg as Captain Leo Davidson a 22 century astronaut who while his genetically altered Ape is investigating an electro-magnetic storm suddenly disappears into thin air, Davidson defies orders and takes a pod out into the cloud to look for his chimp. But as soon as he enters he losses all control of his ships and is sent into an alternate reality where Apes rule and humans are there slaves. Now Davidson has one shot of getting home, he has to tread across uncharted territory to find a sacred temple which could hold the shocking secrets to mankind's past- and the last hope for it's salvation. Planet of the apes is an amazing Si-Fi epic that will have you cheering for the little guy and will have you on the edge of your seat through out. I give Planet of the apes a 4 out of 5. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful
10
DanB.Mar 9, 2009
For someone like me who hasn't seen the original, a type of person I think most reviews failed to consider, I think this is a more than competent, and very thought provoking, fitting modern sci-fi great, genuinly any fan of sci-fi, For someone like me who hasn't seen the original, a type of person I think most reviews failed to consider, I think this is a more than competent, and very thought provoking, fitting modern sci-fi great, genuinly any fan of sci-fi, anyone who cares about animals, anyone who has questions about human nature and whats its all about, with get a lot out of this movie, without it even necessarily needing to be directly related to the viewer, and thats the beauty of it...Enjoy. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
R.LopezJan 28, 2009
Exceptional!! Planet of the Apes is perhaps one of the brainiest and most visually stunning film I've ever seen. Planet of the Apes stars Mark Whalberg as Captain Leo Davidson a 22 century astronaut who while his genetically altered Ape Exceptional!! Planet of the Apes is perhaps one of the brainiest and most visually stunning film I've ever seen. Planet of the Apes stars Mark Whalberg as Captain Leo Davidson a 22 century astronaut who while his genetically altered Ape is investigating an electro-magnetic storm suddenly disappears into thin air, Davidson defies orders and takes a pod out into the cloud to look for his chimp. But as soon as he enters he losses all control of his ships and is sent into an alternate reality where Apes rule and humans are there slaves. Now Davidson has one shot of getting home, he has to tread across uncharted territory to find a sacred temple which could hold the shocking secrets to mankind's past- and the last hope for it's salvation. Planet of the apes is an amazing Si-Fi epic that will have you cheering for the little guy and will have you on the edge of your seat through out. I give Planet of the apes a 4 out of 5. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
TheNewSpielbergFeb 11, 2012
This mediocre piece of film making is one of, if not the worst remake of all time. Over the top acting, a boring and predictable plot as well as some freakishly realistic makeup make this one definitely worth avoiding. The original willThis mediocre piece of film making is one of, if not the worst remake of all time. Over the top acting, a boring and predictable plot as well as some freakishly realistic makeup make this one definitely worth avoiding. The original will always remain the classic. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
MichaelC.Sep 14, 2001
I had very mixed feelings about this film. I liked the start...However, as soon as we got to know the nature of the apes, I started to really despise this movie. I thought it was pathetic, gay and boring. Personally, I found it hard to take I had very mixed feelings about this film. I liked the start...However, as soon as we got to know the nature of the apes, I started to really despise this movie. I thought it was pathetic, gay and boring. Personally, I found it hard to take the ?ape city? thing seriously. That lasted for about 25 minutes or so and then BAM! the action hit me like a bomb and I loved it. That lasted for pretty much the rest of the movie. All of it was a blast after the crappy parts in the ape city and I was really entertained watching the adventure and escapist story. The apes themselves can be sort of unintentionally funny at times, but the make-up for them was amazing! Wow, I just gave up trying to guess who the actors where after a while because the ape make-up was so astounding and convincing, you couldn?t even tell who?s eyes were under that hunk of hair! The actors do well, Mark Wahlberg fits the leading role well and gives it his all. I don?t think his character was very considerate and I think he tried to be a little too much like Leonardo DiCaprio in Titanic, but apart from that, he?s done well. Helena Bonham Carter was really fantastic and has the pleasure of playing the most developed character in Planet of the Apes, giving her character and performance depth, more-so than Wahlberg?s sometimes selfish hero. Tim Roth was evil and believable and the most ape-like actor in the film. Tim Burton?s direction shines through the movie, especially the final reel. He puts focus to his camera-work and knows he?s up to the job. Some of the characters are annoying at times but you all care about what happens to them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LizB.Sep 25, 2001
This is one of my favorite movies this year. I love what Burton brings to the classic story of Planet of the Apes, and I'm looking forward to owning the DVD as soon as I can!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
destroya1artAug 7, 2011
i liked this movie! was it better than the rise of the planet of the apes NO! and there not that relate-able. everyone says its not that good and they just hate on it for no reason. i saw it and i enjoyed it... the apes look really good fori liked this movie! was it better than the rise of the planet of the apes NO! and there not that relate-able. everyone says its not that good and they just hate on it for no reason. i saw it and i enjoyed it... the apes look really good for just make up and other stuff. the acting was good. Mark Walhberg is always! good if hes in a bad movie its not hes fault! the ending was awesome because it makes u think? although it is a bit trippy and weird it was amazing. i have not seen the original, and i probably wont. but this movie is good. people just hate for no reason. losers! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ApocalypseGamerNov 23, 2011
Exciting! A very delicate story with a best cast, especially Mark Wahlberg's performance in the film. This was WAY better than the 1968 film. There needs to be a sequel to see what happens after what happens in the end of the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jordiFeb 16, 2013
Remake no solo correcto sinĂ³ innovador, con un redoble de tuerca. Guapo Mark Whalberg. Simios muy bien caracterizados. Doble historia de amor. Necesaria para todo friki.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
busbfranDec 30, 2013
Planet of the apes is a intriguing universe filled with excitement and believe it or not apes! Apart from the lack of character chemistry it is made even by the different personalities. This movie has some impressive set, apes and CGI thatPlanet of the apes is a intriguing universe filled with excitement and believe it or not apes! Apart from the lack of character chemistry it is made even by the different personalities. This movie has some impressive set, apes and CGI that really bring the movie to life. Apart from the confusing plot twist you and in for one hell of a ride. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews