User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 44
  2. Negative: 4 out of 44

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 29, 2014
    4
    Pocahontas does not feel like a Disney movie. The animation is some of the worst I've seen in a Disney movie and the story is bland and follows very stupid source material and themes that I can't stand. The message was also not very good, it felt cliche and unoriginal. The only thing I liked about this film was probably the music. I am pretty baffled that this film was considered "Disney's Main Project" at the time while The Lion King was considered like a "B project" or a "side project" that was just not as important. I would probably not recommend watching this film. Expand
  2. Mar 9, 2014
    7
    A very inspiring and dramatic movie, Pocahontas is great dark entertainment. The film is prolific in family friendly storytelling, yet manages to be mature at the same time.
  3. Jan 6, 2014
    5
    Uma das mais fracas animações da disney
  4. Jul 5, 2013
    7
    While "Disney's Pocahontas" once again uses Disney's musical formula, it does succeed on its breathtaking animation, songs, and music, but it lacks the clever storytelling that its predecessors did. With some of its plots are bland and could have been worked on, its sheer joy of beauty and love holds the film together.
  5. Jun 4, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Another highly recommended Disney family movie! Pocahontas was amazing till the end. I mean, in Lion King 2 (Simba's pride) the battle between the two clans has stopped after a while. In Pocahontas it didn't even start! I was expecting some action at the end! So the only thing i didn't like was, that it ended too easy. But my final score is 6/10 Expand
  6. Feb 13, 2013
    5
    Overall Pocahantas is an ok. It barely passes. The characters for the most part are not that interesting. The film lacks originality. The story has flaws. What saves the movie though is decent animation, the fact that the characters are not bad but not spectacular, a couple good songs. If you see this film do not go in with great expectations it’s a weak forgettable film and I can see why it ruined Disney’s victory streak. Collapse
  7. Jul 30, 2012
    8
    Pocahontas is the 33 rd movie in the disney animated canon. It had the burden of being the successor of the highly successful the lion king. Because of that, this movie is vastly under appreciated, I have the feeling that people wanted more talking animals with wacky sidekicks, instead Pocahontas has a definit shift in tone. Humans are main characters, there are no talking animals, no magic ( sort of). White men sail to the new world looking for gold, destroying the environment. Indians of course try to defend their land. Here the chief's daughter Pocahontas is looking to find her way in order to be a wise leader, her path brings her to meet the english John Smith. It's the story of how different worlds can come together in peace. Disney was accued of being racist and historically inaccurate, but I think that's not the point, the point is the message: respect the environment and don't getting scared by different cultures are good moral values. The musical score is a masterpiece, every song is catchy and meaningful, lyrics are powerful. If you were a kid in the 90's you knew every word of colours of the wind! The music fails, sort of, because people expected happyness and cuteness, instead they got a more mature setting, in fact the comic relief characters feel forced and out of place, ruining the pace of the movie. In the end I think this is a must-watch, don't expect the second coming of Lion King but a movie that stands on its own. Expand
  8. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Seriously? Critics hate this? I was a kid when I first watched this and even to this day I still find it good. The entire film was interesting and well worth watching.
  9. Oct 22, 2010
    9
    every Disney movie kicks a**. the animation in this movie is simply wonderful, the characters were amazing, and the songs were enjoyable. Pocahontas is a beautiful movie for kids and adults.

    Rating: 9/10
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    90
    Because she also has a classical heroine's sense of quest, the picture's Pocahontas rises above stodgy old legend into the sky of myth... That's apt for a role model for any child, red or white. And it's perfect for a film romance that earns a place of honor among Disney's latter-day animated film stunners.
  2. Reviewed by: Staff(not credited)
    75
    Overall, Pocahontas is a triumph as a visual experience (though the music is unusually bland), but a disappointment as a film.
  3. Reviewed by: Jeremy Gerard
    90
    The Disney artists have created a vivid palette for the picture.