Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 220 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ponyo is a story inspired by Hans Christian Andersen's fairy tale "The Little Mermaid." Already a box-office success in Japan, the story of a young and overeager goldfish named Ponyo and her quest to become human features an outstanding roster of voice talent. (Walt Disney Pictures)
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Don't tell Walt Disney, but Hayao Miyazaki really holds the keys to the magic kingdom.
  2. The latest masterwork from Hayao Miyazaki, places emphasis on the natural world, its tumults and fragility.
  3. 100
    Best of all, Ponyo never ceases to be a genuine odyssey in short pants.
  4. 88
    Miyazaki works marvels. Sit back and behold.
  5. You watch a Miyazaki film with the pie-eyed, gape-mouthed awe of a child being read the most fantastic story and suddenly transported to places previously beyond the limits of imagination. It's quite a trip.
  6. Liam Neeson has gravely splendid pipes as Ponyo’s father, a once-human wizard who lives underwater and despises humankind for polluting the planet.
  7. 50
    His (Miyazaki) stories, and often his character design, just leave me cold. I know I'm supposed to be magically transported by his fanciful tales and his whimsical grandiosity, but they make me listless.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 83
  2. Negative: 6 out of 83
  1. AC
    Aug 14, 2009
    10
    Another classic by the greatest film-maker on the planet. Best the film of 09.
  2. JoeyC
    Sep 11, 2009
    10
    My brother and I (him 19 and me 22) went to see this one together. Beautiful film, perfect in every way. We laughed through the whole thing. My brother and I (him 19 and me 22) went to see this one together. Beautiful film, perfect in every way. We laughed through the whole thing. The theatre erupted with the giggles of children every time Ponyo did something silly. Had serious moments as well, I even cried. Not sure why anyone would rate this film low. An instant classic and masterpiece. Expand
  3. Aug 4, 2014
    10
    This movie kind of reminds me of Winnie the Pooh: there isn't much of a plot, but it is just so charming and innocent, and the animation isThis movie kind of reminds me of Winnie the Pooh: there isn't much of a plot, but it is just so charming and innocent, and the animation is just so adorable, that I would feel too guilty giving it anything less than the best score I can possibly give it.

    Especially in a movie industry filled with countless action-filled movies and romantic comedies and heartbreaking serious movies, a movie as innocent as Ponyo is something to cherish.
    Expand
  4. Jul 6, 2013
    8
    With its charms of a kid fairytale-like film, "Ponyo" is visually inventive and wonderfully scored. With its story towards the moreWith its charms of a kid fairytale-like film, "Ponyo" is visually inventive and wonderfully scored. With its story towards the more confusing, and weaker side, it's charming characters are sure to help win over. To watch Ponyo is watching not Miyazaki's finest, but probably most charming. Expand
  5. j30
    Oct 7, 2011
    7
    A cute movie and interesting retelling of The Little Mermaid.
  6. Mar 24, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ponyo is sweet and innocent, but I would rate this as a rather mixed bag. I actually thought this movie was quite short. But honestly, I like this movie in many ways. Expand
  7. RobertB.
    Aug 15, 2009
    0
    What??? You have got to be kidding me. This gets an 89? What??? A cartoon movie with that high of a score you expect to be funny and/or very What??? You have got to be kidding me. This gets an 89? What??? A cartoon movie with that high of a score you expect to be funny and/or very moving with a great story line and good animation. No. This is some kind of psychotic whacked out fantasy that only may be halfway cute if someone is stoned. Even then they will say it was bad. People, what is going on with ratings??? Where are the truly good movies? I mean really.... did they just quit being made years ago? We left the theater early as you would guess, but we were not the first ones to do so. Expand

See all 83 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2009

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2009 Image
    Published: January 4, 2010
    Which films from the past year are worthy of praise, and which should be forgotten forever? We cover all the bases as we look at the best and worst wide releases and limited releases of the past year, and run through the critics' Top 10 lists.