Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 202 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: "Priest," a western-fused post-apocalyptic thriller, is set in an alternate world -- one ravaged by centuries of war between man and vampires. The story revolves around a legendary Warrior Priest from the last Vampire War who now lives in obscurity among the other downtrodden human"Priest," a western-fused post-apocalyptic thriller, is set in an alternate world -- one ravaged by centuries of war between man and vampires. The story revolves around a legendary Warrior Priest from the last Vampire War who now lives in obscurity among the other downtrodden human inhabitants in walled-in dystopian cities ruled by the Church. When his niece is abducted by a murderous pack of vampires, Priest breaks his sacred vows to venture out on an obsessive quest to find her before they turn her into one of them. He is joined on his crusade by his niece's boyfriend, a trigger-fingered young wasteland sheriff, and a former Warrior Priestess who possesses otherworldly fighting skills.(Sony Screen Gems)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: S.T. Vanairsdale
    May 13, 2011
    75
    To Stewart and screenwriter Cory Goodman's credit, the whole set up takes about 10 minutes flat, leaving Priest's remaining 77 minutes to the dark, desolate action at hand. Even more to their credit, there's something evocative in that darkness, something poetic in its desolation.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    May 11, 2011
    60
    In an era where monster mythology has become raw material for all sorts of mediocrity, Priest is one of the best examples of a broad-scale vampire blockbuster.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    May 13, 2011
    60
    It appears that turning the John Ford/John Wayne classic "The Searchers" into the church-vs-vampire adventure Priest was not an altogether god-awful idea. As long as we don't get "The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance" as an elegiac zombie drama, this adaptation of a graphic novel has some bite.
  4. Reviewed by: Adam Markovitz
    May 13, 2011
    42
    Its B-movie sins are many, worst among them an icy hero and a plot that feels like it was built from relics of other, better films.
  5. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    May 19, 2011
    40
    Bettany exudes an intensity that lays the groundwork for an interesting character, but Priest hasn't a prayer of creating anything more subtle than the giant cross tattooed on his face.
  6. May 13, 2011
    40
    The film is somehow a disappointing combo of too-full and oddly empty. Even with all the various parts and pieces going into its structure, it feels bare-bones.
  7. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    May 13, 2011
    33
    Bettany's performance consists entirely of a purposeful frown paired with a menacing glare: He goes about his godly business with solemn, no-frills intensity. The film follows suit.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 71
  2. Negative: 23 out of 71
  1. Aug 21, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i have to say that this movie actually surprised me. i thought this movie had decent dialogue (could've been much better) the action scenes were fantastic and the plot was decently put together. considering the fact that the producers had very low intentions for this movie anyway makes it even better. i believe if they had any real hope in this movie it could have been very much better. while watching it i though of countless scenarios to which priest 2 could be about(im actually trying to write a script for the second one just for fun) this movie has real potential. they could've tied in religion a little deeper into the action, etc.i also like the way they depicted the vampires. i like that they took the eyes away, considering that "vampires are soul-less creatures". the ending of the movie was a cliff hanger pretty much (they never found the queen). so they can work that into the sequel (which is one of the major stories of my script :-] ). there are many scenarios they can work into it to make the movie much better. so, this movie has real potential but nobody really believed it would do goo, so that's why it really didn't. the key to any movie is confidence.. with out that, you wont put much effort into the production and in the end have a disaster of a movie.... Expand
  2. May 15, 2011
    10
    People giving this movie bad reviews either don't like vampire movies, or don't know anything about them. Priest is not meant to be Twilight.People giving this movie bad reviews either don't like vampire movies, or don't know anything about them. Priest is not meant to be Twilight. It's not meant to be sexy. It's meant to be awesome, and it is. Another guy on here was talking about Hollywood taking rated R movies and making them PG13 (which makes them horrible normally-I definitely agree)...I think this movie is the exeption to that PG13 is censored R rule. Priest is not a movie that feels like it was forced into being PG13 and I remember being worried about it sucking because it is pg13. I mean the movies' main character is a priest...it's not like there's going to be a lot of sex and 'bad' words...the violence is bloody, not gory.
    I was not at all disappointed. I love this movie so much. I came...
    .
    To see a vampire movie and I got one with bits of satire and references to old western movies. The cinematography was awesome- the colors, the angles, the composition- beautiful. The fight scenes ruled. The cgi wasn't overdone. The violence was tasteful. The storyline was interesting and original. The style of the wardrobes and the environment gave subtle reference to the Final Fantasy/steam punk styles and it worked out really well. I don't normally write reviews... I really wish I'd get paid for this (because I'm spending a lot of time writing reviews about this movie)... But this movie was so good that I decided I would write one...and after I saw what critics were saying about this movie I've basically begun a campaign to let people know that this is in fact a bad@as movie. This is now in my top 3 favorite movies: 28 days later, The Matrix (the first one), Priest.
    Go see it, and don't let any of these reviews (including this one) effect what you think of it. If you like my top three, you like vampires, you like genre-benders and you don't need sex in a movie to think it's good, then you will like/love this flick.
    Expand
  3. Nov 4, 2011
    6
    Priest is...a bad movie. But I enjoyed it, I thought it was rather entertaining and hilarious. It was, (shall I say), Soo-bad-it-was-good.
  4. Jun 26, 2011
    4
    I really didn't know what to expect with this movie. As soon as the movie began to play my eye instantly caught the aesthetic style of theI really didn't know what to expect with this movie. As soon as the movie began to play my eye instantly caught the aesthetic style of the world that this movie painted, and the back story that set the film's plot up was decent to boot. The CGI was decent and the acting wasn't terrible. The movie opened with the tale of a war with vampires and special warriors called priests tasked with stopping the vamps. After the vampire threat was long thought diminished they begin to return. After this interesting set-up the film shifts it's plot to more of a rescue mission. it completely loses the scope that it sets up at the beginning of the film and ends with a very lackluster climax that is unfortunately forgettable, which is pretty much what I'd say about the whole film itself. The story just didn't pan out very well ant the cool art direction was ditched after the first fifteen minutes of the movie, They had a really cool noire looking city in the middle of the desert and we barley got to see any of it. This movie could have been so much more, well at least the vampires didn't sparkle... Expand
  5. Sep 18, 2011
    4
    "Priest" tries to tame the wild SF+horror+western genre with impressive CGI. Ultimately, the movie is what you will expect.
  6. May 19, 2011
    3
    Paul Bettany plays a holy man who's also a badass vampire killer. Unfortunately, the movie isn't badassâ
  7. May 31, 2011
    0
    In contrast to the glimmering, good-looking people vampires have been portrayed to be in recent movies/TV shows, the vampires portrayed inIn contrast to the glimmering, good-looking people vampires have been portrayed to be in recent movies/TV shows, the vampires portrayed in Priests are the complete opposite, and is pretty awesome. However the story was bland and some of the dialogues felt awkward. This movie seemed more like a straight to DVD, or a made for TV, type film. I would recommend that those who are thinking about watching this in theaters to skip it and pick it up for rental when it comes out. Expand

See all 71 User Reviews

Trailers