Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 238 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , ,
  • Summary: Project X follows three seemingly anonymous high school seniors as they attempt to finally make a name for themselves. Their idea is innocent enough: let's throw a party that no one will forget... but nothing could prepare them for this party. Word spreads quickly as dreams are ruined, records are blemished and legends are born. Project X is a warning to parents and police everywhere. (Warner Bros.) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 10 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Mar 1, 2012
    100
    The Oscars are swell, but once in a while a film comes along that is so courageous it deserves consideration for the Nobel Prize. An entire generation has been born and gone to college since the Beastie Boys defined that most basic of civil liberties: You've got to fight for your right to party.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Mar 1, 2012
    75
    Project X, likewise, serves up the frat house/Spring Break/Snooki-and-Sitch-on-a-bender antics that many in the audience will have been staring at for years, and implies that it's breaking down bold new barriers of misbehavior. In the end, though, it ain't nothin' but a party.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 3, 2012
    63
    Project X's first-person verisimilitude is the movie's primary strength and most damning weakness.
  4. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Feb 29, 2012
    42
    It's crude in every sense: The film looks like shit, the characters are boors, and it's as sloppily put-together as the home movie it pretends to be. Project X's commitment to its crudity almost redeems it, though.
  5. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Mar 3, 2012
    30
    "There's a midget in the oven!" is about as inspired as the dialogue and set pieces get in this queasy-making entertainment.
  6. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Mar 1, 2012
    30
    A party disaster movie targeted at kids who find the "Hangover" franchise too sophisticated.
  7. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Mar 1, 2012
    12
    Awesomeness seems to be the chief quality prized by both the film and its characters; all other considerations--like safety, property damage, and especially good taste--are secondary.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 87
  2. Negative: 29 out of 87
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    Let me first say that the only reason I saw this movie was because of the New York Times review. I watched this movie from start to finish and realized it was barley a movie at all. It was literally the filming of the most epic party ever. You cannot watch this film expecting character development, deep plots or script. It is literally the filming of a night as it unravels. The cinematography and use of flip cams was awesome and really well done. The only reason why i wont dismiss this film as bad, is how true it is and accurately it portrays a big portion of high school teens. I myself am a senior in high school and can say, the script accurately shows how we talk and the party shows the way we act. the only part i was iffy on was the instant consumption of about 70 ecstasy pills, that i feel would have been met with more hesitation. But long story short, This is simply the filming of an epic night that Millions wish they could have. Expand
  2. May 31, 2013
    10
    Probably one of my most favourite movies of all time. There are 2 types of movies: the "good" movies like The Godfather, The Shawshank Redemption and Pulp Fiction and there are also the "fun" movies like Project X, The Hangover, Jackass etc. Most of the "fun" movies however are bad, but Project X is one of those films that if you are a teen like me, you will find incredibly entertaining. You will also want to watch it again. And again. And again. Expand
  3. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    A very original and funny movie!
  4. Apr 3, 2012
    7
    I went into this movie expecting a cheesy annoying comedy, but I got a decent coming of age story. It had some parts that were absolutely ridiculousness and far fetched, but all in all, I enjoyed this movie. Expand
  5. Mar 2, 2012
    5
    Crazy and rambunctious, Project X appeals to teenagers that long for a party so great that it spans to such an unthinkable amount. A well directed found footage type and nicely acted by it's novice cast, Project X seeks to entertain audiences for its full run time with much vulgarity. Though it's not a good outlook or a good influence for the matter, it creates some fun that has no real value at all. By the end of the movie however, it seems like the kids really haven't learned their lesson after entirely wrecking their house to the extent that everyone in school applauds the main character Thomas for ruining his life but by creating the party of a lifetime. Expand
  6. May 29, 2012
    2
    I agree with some of the other posters. There is no plot really. The moral of the story is that if you have a giant ass party that you will win the girl and have a happy ending(this doesn't require a spoiler alert) Even the jokes were pretty lame. I like funny movies but this isn't one of them. Expand
  7. Aug 29, 2012
    0
    Dazed and Confused for stupid people.

    One of the worst films ever made, this movie is not only unfunny, uncreative, and boring, it's a
    downright offensive film that offers up the following 'moral' at the end: It doesn't matter if you ruin your own life and the lives of your parents, as long as you're popular in high school, because that's what is REALLY important. Expand

See all 87 User Reviews

Trailers