User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1739 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 24, 2012
    3
    I wanted to like this movie so much. I am a huge fan of the Alien films (the first 2 at least) but I tried not to let that influence my take on this movie. Visually, this movie is great. The CGI with the ship is amazing and the rest of the effects make you feel like you are really on an alien planet. I will say that I was not particularly impressed with the creatures though; AliensI wanted to like this movie so much. I am a huge fan of the Alien films (the first 2 at least) but I tried not to let that influence my take on this movie. Visually, this movie is great. The CGI with the ship is amazing and the rest of the effects make you feel like you are really on an alien planet. I will say that I was not particularly impressed with the creatures though; Aliens felt more real than this. The most glaring problem with this movie is its lack of development of the characters; Charlize Theron's the most. There was a lot of potential to explore so many interesting facets of the characters but most of them are ignored. You get nibbles of some great side-stories to some of the characters, but then it is never mentioned again. A lot of the scenes seem rushed and many times you are asking yourself what the motivation for some of the character's actions are only to be met with the end of the movie and no answer. Michael Fassbender does play the android character perfectly. For me, it all starts with the story. If the story is flawed then no amount of effects, great acting or other frills is going to make the movie great. I feel bad for Ridley Scott, as he has obviously fell into the same "modern film" hole as many of the other great directors (George Lucas, Steven Spielberg). If you want a decent sci-fi film with good visuals, rent this movie on DVD. If you are looking for a masterpiece, look elsewhere. Collapse
  2. Jun 16, 2012
    3
    It looks great, but it's a typical noisy 2012 filmunderneath that. The characters, script and plot are poorly set out. There is little tension, partly because the characters are continually stupid and unlikeable, and partly because the inappropriate soundtrack never shuts up. It needs more room to breathe, more silence, and some honest examination next time. And fire the writers, please.
  3. Jun 8, 2012
    0
    Prometheus is the story of a trillion-dollar mission to discover the origins of human life on a distant planet. Basically, this is supposed to be the greatest exploration undertaken in the history of mankind.

    So who do they send? A gaggle of fractious goons whose collective scientific nous is rivalled only by that of the Three Stooges. Within minutes of touching down (conveniently beside
    Prometheus is the story of a trillion-dollar mission to discover the origins of human life on a distant planet. Basically, this is supposed to be the greatest exploration undertaken in the history of mankind.

    So who do they send? A gaggle of fractious goons whose collective scientific nous is rivalled only by that of the Three Stooges. Within minutes of touching down (conveniently beside the only 'man-made' structures on the planet, a'la 1960s Star Trek) the 'scientists' are yanking off their helmets, on the basis of 'it seems fine to me', dipping their fingers into strange organic ooze, and lugging a severed alien head back to an unquarantined spaceship in a sandwich bag.

    Once there, they speedily discover the meaning of life. Then, while one of them gets a bit drunk, his two female companions decide it would be useful to stimulate the head electrically to reanimate it. They don't say why. They give it a bit too much juice, then too little,then dither over too much or too little like a couple of schoolgirls fiddling with a dicky bunsen burner, while the most important scientific discovery in human history waggles its ears and rolls its eyes â
    Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have a few questions to add to the list that everyone here seems to have covered already...why did the pasty giant alien guy drink oily ooze in the beginning anyway? What was the motivation there? Why did the captain leave the bridge with guys trapped ina storm on the planet to have sex with Charlize Theron? Why was she even in this movie?!?!? All she did was bark out husky commands that belied everything that was happening. Why did people who were infected with alien embryos turn into raging zombie creatures? Why did Charlize and the other chick keep running forward when the ship was rolling at them instead of to the side where they easily could have avoided it? Why does the big pasty guy "birth" the alien in the escape pod. According to the first Alien movie, he's in the pilot chair on his ship where it crashed. Nice job everybody. And my biggest question of all: where can I have surgery that opens up my entire abdomen, removes a substantial lifeform, staple me back up and then I can run, jump, hang from cliffs, barrel roll and only have to stop once in a while for a quick stabbing pain that seems more like explosive diarrhea than major surgery after effects. Wow. This movie sucked. Nice to see Ebert and company taking studio bribe money so they don't trash this pig **** of a film. They'd never recover the advertising loot if they did. Don't waste your time. Collapse Expand
  5. Jun 8, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Prometheus has a good premise, good ideas, good intentions, but it executes all of them wrong. In fact there are so many inconsistencies you could write an entire review just listing them, don't believe me? Well there you go:
    -the scientists go from paintings on walls to "it's an invitation from our makers to go meet them on a remote planet", just like that, HUGE stretch there don't you think huh
    -the old man that organized the whole expedition pretends to be dead, for no reason, only to show up at the end with no one giving a crap that he's actually alive; what was the point of pretending to be dead to begin with then???
    -they hire completely incompetent and crazy people to conduct an expedition that cost billions and billions; those guys lost themselves in a cave when they have a 3D MAPS OF THE ENTIRE CAVE with gps, good god
    -the android poisons a crew member for no reason whatsoever, the main character even finds out about it and still doesn't give a crap when it was her fiance he poisoned
    -when the main character is impregnated with an alien they tell her they have no other option but to put her in hibernation when they have the best surgical machine available, which she then uses herself to get the thing out with no problem at all
    -talking about the surgical machine, why was it programmed for a "male patient" when it was owned by Charlize Theron, does that mean that her character was a actually a man?
    -why was the bald dude in hibernation for god knows how long when it was clearly stated he wanted to destroy mankind, or something, why was he just sleeping there if he had such an important mission to accomplish?
    -why did he just attack the characters like a rabid bull if he's supposed to be so smart and superior to us, couldn't he outsmart the crew and try to manipulate them instead of just going Rambo on them and failing miserably?
    -why the hell did such a terrible script get approved?
    Expand
  6. Jun 10, 2012
    0
    This movie is so incredibly atrocious that it's hard to put into words just how bad it is!

    The story is laughable, the character development is non-existent, the pseudo-science claptrap is intolerable. It is a hateful pastiche of the Alien films with other elements stolen from any recent sci fi you can think of. The dialogue is cringe-worthy in the extreme - just embarrassing. There is
    This movie is so incredibly atrocious that it's hard to put into words just how bad it is!

    The story is laughable, the character development is non-existent, the pseudo-science claptrap is intolerable. It is a hateful pastiche of the Alien films with other elements stolen from any recent sci fi you can think of. The dialogue is cringe-worthy in the extreme - just embarrassing. There is exposition delivered at every possible opportunity.

    Going against evolution and having humans made by a creator means you're starting with by wiping out our knowledge of science, which strangely won't appeal to many sci-fi fans! Yet if you're going down this route, don't use DNA matching with the engineers as evidence, as it quickly begs the question, what about the DNA similarities with our evolutionary cousins? The man who wrote this tosh is clearly an ignoramus - best start with a basic understanding of science if you plan to write sci-fi!

    I left the cinema feeling extremely disappointed and just plain angry that I wasted hours of my life watching such drivel. It makes me sick to see the great talents of the visual effects artists wasted - not to mention the gargantuan sums of money that it must have cost. I have lost all respect for Ridley Scott, and I hope this pile of offal fades quickly into the obscurity of failure and doesn't besmirch the incredible legacy of Alien and Aliens.

    Read the Forbes review for a pretty spot-on summary of its failings:
    http://www.forbes.com/sites/daviddisalvo/2012/06/11/review-prometheus-is-a-visually-stunning-epic-failure/
    Expand
  7. Jun 8, 2012
    3
    There isn't a frame of Prometheus which is suspenseful, mysterious or fresh. The narrative and logic get jumbled unnecessarily after the first 20 minutes or so, and then everything gets clunky and uninspiring. Who is the protagonist? Who is carrying this picture(Fassbender, Rapace or even Theron)? The film does answer this question only in the final 10 minutes, with an almost laughableThere isn't a frame of Prometheus which is suspenseful, mysterious or fresh. The narrative and logic get jumbled unnecessarily after the first 20 minutes or so, and then everything gets clunky and uninspiring. Who is the protagonist? Who is carrying this picture(Fassbender, Rapace or even Theron)? The film does answer this question only in the final 10 minutes, with an almost laughable ending. The movie has a great sequence and detail in the beginning where a character watches and emulates TE Lawrence(Peter O'Toole) from Lawrence of Arabia...it's a very cool piece to see David Lean's epic in 3-D. The rest is TV Material at best. Expand
  8. Jun 8, 2012
    2
    A monumental disappointment. Up there with the Star Wars prequels, the X-Files movie and, of course, Lost. It's not a spoiler to say that none of the fundamental questions posed by the trailer or marketing materials for Prometheus are answered. Worse, as an insult to the viewers, these questions are re-asked at the end of the film to entice them to spend their money on the next installmentA monumental disappointment. Up there with the Star Wars prequels, the X-Files movie and, of course, Lost. It's not a spoiler to say that none of the fundamental questions posed by the trailer or marketing materials for Prometheus are answered. Worse, as an insult to the viewers, these questions are re-asked at the end of the film to entice them to spend their money on the next installment of a potential franchise. In the way that Lost became merely a commercial for itself (all tease, all promise, no pay-off), Prometheus shows reveals Lindelof's involvement by simply being a 2-hour commercial for a sequel. Lindelof is fundamentally an advertising genius posing as a storyteller. But it's not the lack of answers that hurt most. Early reviews prepared me to leave without resolution. What really hurt was its tone-deaf script, logical incoherence, lack of suspense, and sluggish feel. I thought, at the very least, I could get off on this movie aesthetically but it breaks no new ground there and feels oddly devoid of passion visually. There are a million choices that go into a movie to make it feel real, which will then make it interesting. But nothing that happens in Prometheus feels real (even by sci-fi standards). There aren't any real people in this film. The characters never come to life. The action barely arrives. Everything feels television-thin. There's no depth to soak in. Just hack work and expensive-looking cinematography.

    There's something dangerous about artists who once had a traumatic experience in the industry in their earlier, art-film periods and lived to fight another day. George Lucas and both Scott brothers seem to almost resent their fans and the early, experimental years of their own legacies. All three now make bloodless work on a grand scale that seems to have forgotten the cadences of good, human storytelling.

    And I wish Lindeloff would stop hurting my feelings.

    In the end, Prometheus is a metaphor for itself. My friend and I who went both wished we had never gone and felt an urgent need to warn others not to make the same mistake. Rapace says it best: "WE WERE SO WRONG!"
    Expand
  9. Jun 10, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Who wrote this dribble?Scientists who remove their helmets on an alien world because the air seems fine.Scientists who try to take shelter from a storm by leaving cover to race it... to different cover.Scientists who refuse to investigate life signs,then attempt to pet the alien worm cobra emerging from the black ooze a few minutes later.The sissybot who,for no discernible reason,poisons a crew member,who then has sex,immediately impregnating his girl,to which she then performs her own abortion with the only side effects being some pain while running.Scientists who transport an alien head in a sandwich bag,only to destroy the head in the most unscientific way possible,lessmorelessmore Boom!.Let's include a razorhail storm that inflicts zero damage,the odd mutated human attacking humans for some reason(Braaaaains maybe?),waking a giant alien,who then proceeds to kill all humans(I call him Bender),some tentacles,a sissybot head that can fly an alien ship,some running and avoiding an alien ship crashing by rolling 3 feet to the right,more tentacles,a glimpse of a true ALIEN,and then finally the credits.It also had Biff from Back to the Future in it trying to find the secret of eternal life,but he is killed in 5 min flat so who cares.I'd talk about the story but The Cat in the Hat is far more coherent and entertaining.30 odd years waiting for this S..T! Expand
  10. Jun 11, 2012
    2
    Dreadful. Ridley Scott has harvested all the best bits from the previous Alien films and jumbled them all up together to make a clumsy hotchpotch of a film that tarnishes his record. Some of the dialogue is embarrassing. The action is tedious, I was bored after about 30 minutes. The story is infact quite dull. Wait til it's on TV one Christmas, see something else unless you enjoyDreadful. Ridley Scott has harvested all the best bits from the previous Alien films and jumbled them all up together to make a clumsy hotchpotch of a film that tarnishes his record. Some of the dialogue is embarrassing. The action is tedious, I was bored after about 30 minutes. The story is infact quite dull. Wait til it's on TV one Christmas, see something else unless you enjoy disappointment. Expand
  11. Jun 11, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What a spectacular disappointment. The pictures are pretty, but that's it. The characters are paper thin. Their motivations are never explored. Everyone does really stupid counter-intuitive things that leave the audience groaning in disbelief. It assaults any sense of disbelief by continually ejecting you from the movie with an incongruous plot device. Science fiction should be smart about science, there should be internal logic. This movie isn't scientifically fact checked at all (the half a billion miles from earth that Theron says they have travelled, puts them near Jupiter, not another solar system - which would have been an incredibly easy thing to check... but it isn't). And that's just the beginning of the disgrace (flamethrowers work without oxygen, a woman runs around after having her stomach muscles cut, medical machinery is gender specific, video camera's cannot record, there is no gps to find missing team members although they are wonderfully display in HD mapped holograms... and on and on... it seems to go out of its way to be stupid). Science is treated as magic and smart scientists as people with "faith - not facts" in science with wonderful responses like "I choose to believe" when asked for scientific evidence that begins a journey costing a trillion dollars. These are scientists... you know people who spend their whole life looking for facts. But in our story, the main scientist doesn't present facts, we the audience (and the Peter Weyland the financier) must just accept her word that she might be right because she has faith. Peter Weyland pays for everything, secretly wakes up on the ship, goes to meet his maker and is summarily killed. Wow... Guy Pearce has about as much screen time as the aliens do. Groan.The musical score is turgid, just doesn't fit and repeats far too often. All in all, it's the worst Scott movie I have seen by far and is most certainly the most expensive flop I've ever seen. Stick to the viral movies on youtube... they are far more interesting. Expand
  12. Jun 10, 2012
    3
    you know in horror movies where some teens are out in the woods and they see a house with severed heads outside, and they say 'hey let's go in there and ask for help' and the whole audience groans and also rubs its hands and waits for the monster to come and chop the idiots to pieces? well sadly transfer that level of idiocy to space, and substitute scientists for teenagers, and you've gotyou know in horror movies where some teens are out in the woods and they see a house with severed heads outside, and they say 'hey let's go in there and ask for help' and the whole audience groans and also rubs its hands and waits for the monster to come and chop the idiots to pieces? well sadly transfer that level of idiocy to space, and substitute scientists for teenagers, and you've got Prometheus. There are SO MANY holes and 'WTF???' moments. From people pointing at a totally vague cave painting and deciding it's an accurate star map and an invite from aliens zillions of miles away, to approaching an obviously mad space snake, and petting it, (guess what happens next)... to opening the spaceship door to totally bonkers monster men just for the hell of it... oh you get the idea. Enjoy it, but for lords sake, don't take it seriously. Expand
  13. Jun 8, 2012
    2
    Though I dearly wanted to like Prometheus (I love Alien/Aliens, Blade Runner, and all the other classic scifis), I thought the film was just awful, driven by an absolutely terrible script. It's as though it's written by twelve-year olds for seven-year olds - full to bursting with cringeworthy dialogue, unresolved plot strands, and laughably bad characters. That this film was even allowedThough I dearly wanted to like Prometheus (I love Alien/Aliens, Blade Runner, and all the other classic scifis), I thought the film was just awful, driven by an absolutely terrible script. It's as though it's written by twelve-year olds for seven-year olds - full to bursting with cringeworthy dialogue, unresolved plot strands, and laughably bad characters. That this film was even allowed to be released in this form is a testament to so many of the things wrong with Hollywood today.

    On the plus side, it's visually gorgeous - but that just ain't good enough.
    Expand
  14. Jun 9, 2012
    3
    There are so many plot holes in this film it's ridiculous. I have no problem with the mysterious relationship between aliens and humans, but it is littered with leaps in story that defy logical progression. Characters disappear and reappear whenever it is convenient for the writers. And for a seminal moment in the history of humanity, the voyageurs treat the trip with the nonchalance ofThere are so many plot holes in this film it's ridiculous. I have no problem with the mysterious relationship between aliens and humans, but it is littered with leaps in story that defy logical progression. Characters disappear and reappear whenever it is convenient for the writers. And for a seminal moment in the history of humanity, the voyageurs treat the trip with the nonchalance of a visit to the Grand Canyon. Please Mr. Scott, stay away from Blade Runner before you tarnish that film also. Expand
  15. Jun 8, 2012
    3
    What a disappointment. This flick has a generic, nonsense and plot hole driven hollywood-esque script and some of the worst acting i've seen this year (even from fassbender, who does a laughable gaybot impression; not that he had much to work with, since the dialog is atrocious). there were some genuinely beautiful shots (the nature vistas spring to mind), but some really, really terribleWhat a disappointment. This flick has a generic, nonsense and plot hole driven hollywood-esque script and some of the worst acting i've seen this year (even from fassbender, who does a laughable gaybot impression; not that he had much to work with, since the dialog is atrocious). there were some genuinely beautiful shots (the nature vistas spring to mind), but some really, really terrible ones as well. the alien design is cringeworthy, with avataresque, muscle bound and retarded looking space jockeys, penis shaped water snakes and octopi topping the cake. do yourself a favor and don't waste good money to see this flop. Expand
  16. Jun 8, 2012
    2
    Roger Ebert has lost it long ago. My favorite movie of all time is Aliens and I want to say that I saw it at a midnight showing with a great crowd that was very quiet (You go Alamo Drafthouse!). Yes, this movie is very pretty with outstanding cinematography. But it's all about story and this one is just terrible. The story is disjointed, leaves too many unanswered questions in an attemptRoger Ebert has lost it long ago. My favorite movie of all time is Aliens and I want to say that I saw it at a midnight showing with a great crowd that was very quiet (You go Alamo Drafthouse!). Yes, this movie is very pretty with outstanding cinematography. But it's all about story and this one is just terrible. The story is disjointed, leaves too many unanswered questions in an attempt to be cerebral, and finally, is just downright boring. The atmosphere was not tense at all, their were no frights just unbelievable scenes. I don't want to give away any spoilers but just think about this review when you see Noomi's need for medical attention. It's one of the worst scenes I can think of in my last 20 years of watching movies. Expand
  17. Jun 9, 2012
    3
    This movie had such great potential, good actors, good special effects and cinematography and plenty of budget to work with. However the script let it down miserably, with a horrible predictable and unengaging story. From a sci fi fan perspective it was dull but with great cinematography and from a horror fan point of view the predictability combined with lack of suspense or anything atThis movie had such great potential, good actors, good special effects and cinematography and plenty of budget to work with. However the script let it down miserably, with a horrible predictable and unengaging story. From a sci fi fan perspective it was dull but with great cinematography and from a horror fan point of view the predictability combined with lack of suspense or anything at all to get you on the edge of your seat just made the whole thing fall flat. without a doubt the most disappointing movie of the year. Expand
  18. VDS
    Jun 8, 2012
    3
    Not good. A hotch-potch of ideas that seemed chucked together with no real story or theme. Heavy-handed direction, paper thin characters and fan fiction style dialogue. Visually ok, but again it seemed caught up in its own sense of self importance. If you like Alien, don't watch this because like all prequels it ruins the mystery and of the original.
  19. Jun 9, 2012
    2
    Prometheus should be renamed to Prometheus a ship full of idiots. The simple truth about this movie is that the characters make incredibly idiotic decisions that lead directly to there death. Many scenes were like looking down the barrel of a gun then pulling the trigger to see if it's loaded, as if that's the way you do it. The choices that the characters made ranged from slightly odd toPrometheus should be renamed to Prometheus a ship full of idiots. The simple truth about this movie is that the characters make incredibly idiotic decisions that lead directly to there death. Many scenes were like looking down the barrel of a gun then pulling the trigger to see if it's loaded, as if that's the way you do it. The choices that the characters made ranged from slightly odd to WTF did they do that for? This was more then a bad movie it was almost like no one read the entire script all the way through. I truly believe that someone like me.. Someone who has never made a movie, someone who doesn't know the intricacies of movie making would have said at some point during the making of the movie, " Hey man.. that doesn't make any sense and only an idiot with a death wish would do that" Expand
  20. Jun 8, 2012
    0
    I went to the midnite showing, expecting to finally see a good alien movie like the original Alien. I was so wrong. It will always be a mystery how we got here or who made this place we live on. We all have are beliefs. This movie is rated in my book as one of the worst movies I have ever seen. That's 10.00 I will never get back and feel like a fool for going to see it. Over acting, underI went to the midnite showing, expecting to finally see a good alien movie like the original Alien. I was so wrong. It will always be a mystery how we got here or who made this place we live on. We all have are beliefs. This movie is rated in my book as one of the worst movies I have ever seen. That's 10.00 I will never get back and feel like a fool for going to see it. Over acting, under acting, it was a mess. There was about 65 people in the theater and I did not hear a peep from any of them and when the movie was over, I heard nothing but negative comments of disappointment. I had no compassion for any of the actors. Please take my word for it, it is not worth the gas to go to the theater. The best part of the movie was it ended and I could go home. No horror in this movie, just si-fi done wrong, action was weak and limited at best. I'm so pi**ed off I want my money back and will call the theater tomorrow and ask if I can have it back or a free movie pass. I feel sorry for the people who are going to waste there money Friday nite to see this B rated movie. I dont understand how anyone could give this movie more then a 1 rating. at least my slushy and nachos were good. I could go on but I wasted more then enough time warning people not to waste there money. But go for it. You WILL be sorry and say I should have listened to that bigfoot guy. I am a movie freak, and this movie suc**d big time. Maybe it got some good reviews cause they took something that altered there minds and dont even remember the movie, just the buzz they had. Expand
  21. Sep 6, 2013
    0
    Please make me unsee this. This is the worst movie ever, I almost puked when I see it. Nothing entertaining, just nothing. Failed action, failed horror. This movie tries to be priquel to Alien but failing hard in plot.
  22. Nov 13, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the worst movie I have ever seen!!! It is Science-fiction without the science part!
    The cons: 1. PLOT HOLES (As big as the distance between Earth and the planet they have visited!)
    2. No character development (Noomi Rapace's boyfriend is "murdered" by the android David, but at the end of the movie they become buddies...OK...)
    3. The "scientists" are nothing like real life scientists (They act childish and not like a group of professionals sent to a billion dollar mission)
    4. WASTED TALENT (The movie stars actors as Noomi Rapace, Michael Fassbender, Charlize Theron but even they can't save the movie)
    5. The ending (Ridley Scott made the movie unfinished just to make a sequel in the future...He needs to pay the bills too!)
    6. The science (They land on a plant without mapping it first, Noomi Rapace's self-surgery and how she walks around after that ETC.) 7. No suspense (There are several action scenes but they feel very dull and stupid)
    And many more problems the critics seem to forget about when they give the movie 100/100 scores!!!
    Maybe they were watching a different movie....GOOD FOR THEM!
    Expand
  23. Oct 18, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The dumbing down of science fiction films is prevalent throughout the entire genre. With Prometheus I was hoping to find salvation. What I did find however was shockingly poor.

    A character list that I couldn't care less about launch themselves headfirst into a half baked search for the creators of humanity. Supposedly intelligent crew members of the Prometheus take every opportunity to stick fingers in alien goop and open doors to suspected infected shipmates without a second thought.

    Questions that I am not really sure I had are now bugging me as the film does more to promote itself a sequel than pay dues to the Alien franchise that it basis itself on.

    Praise is due for the geek squad who, like the 'photos of the fairies' believers at the turn of the century, go to great lengths to cover the tracks of Mr Scott and attempt to second guess the conveluted script and explain away some of the more gaping holes.

    The only saving grace I can think of may well lie with the obvious sequel. If this second film delivers something truly original and sews together the Prometheus/Alien/Space Jockey stories so incredibly well as to produce something of an epiphany, then, and only then will these words be eaten. I think that I may well go hungry.
    Expand
  24. Dec 31, 2012
    0
    This is like a comedy: because all the characters are bumbling idiots.
    It is like a horror: because there is a lot of foreshadowing, deaths and monsters.
    It is like a sci-fi: because it is set in the future and has spaceships, etc. It is like a like a Scientology recruitment video: because it has a lot of nonsense preaching. But ultimately it is none of these things. It's just a load
    This is like a comedy: because all the characters are bumbling idiots.
    It is like a horror: because there is a lot of foreshadowing, deaths and monsters.
    It is like a sci-fi: because it is set in the future and has spaceships, etc.
    It is like a like a Scientology recruitment video: because it has a lot of nonsense preaching.

    But ultimately it is none of these things. It's just a load of muddled crap. It's so stupid, lazy, sloppy, and unoriginal that it gave me a headache. Worst of all, it *thinks* it is meaningful.

    We need decent sci-fi films. This does the entire genre a disservice.
    Expand
  25. Dec 2, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So let me get this straight... In the future, two archaeologists discover a 35.000 years old cave painting, in Scotland. Painted by humans who seemed to worship giant aliens, members of superior space-faring race. Similar finds were made all over the world, of artifacts left behind by independent civilizations that shared no contact. Apparently those ancient aliens posed as Gods, were friendly, and yet, with such teachers and sponsors, all that those humans were able to leave behind were cave paintings made with charcoal and some stone tools. THIS ALONE makes archaeologists forget all about Lucy and other famous australopithecines and hominids. Screw Darwin. We were CREATED... umm...engineered. Because one archaeologist "chose to believe so." Jesus of Nazareth was an alien hybrid, she concludes, I guess. Insulting pseudo-religious anti-science diarrhea at it's best. But wait, it gets worse... On those ancient artifacts are included identical star maps that look like an invitation, she chose to believe. Invitation from whom, you might ask, invitation to go where? Well, invitation from our gods, umm... aliens I mean. To go where? WELL, TO GO VISIT AN ANCIENT ALIEN BIOWEAPONS STORAGE FACILITY, OF COURSE !!! So naturally, humans go and visit. Why would a super advanced race of Engineers invite their Children to visit a bioweapons storage facility, and not a Temple of Knowledge???

    A trillionaire named Weyland pays for a space exploratory mission, THE Mission, Mission of all missions. So one would think that such a Mission would be populated by crown jewels of modern science, Cream of the Cream, the Super Intelligentsia, the very best that future Harvard, Oxford and Stanford will be able to offer the richest ,most powerful man on the planet Earth.

    Right ? Wrong. Weyland handpicked a bunch of retards whose intellect operates on a level of a ten-year-old who learned science from comic books, and bad comic books at that !!! An archaeologist suddenly becomes an expert in genetics and biochemistry, while moron biologist gets lost with a sociopathic geologist in a 3D-mapped cave, while being able to communicate with captain. Alien genome is identical to human genome. Scientists remove their helmets twenty minutes after entering a compound on a foreign planet which they KNOW is populated with alien biology and potential pathogens. And when they encounter a foreign organism (after discovering a bunch of mutilated alien corpses !!!), a sinister looking cobra-like worm, the very first alien humans ever encountered, what do they do ? They start laughing and giggling like drunk high school kids, you know, those retarded football types, and they start petting that god-damned thing. 2000-years-old mummified corpses are twitching like they died five minutes ago and suddenly explode, spraying gallons of bodily fluids all over the lab. That's after those silly "scientists" poke the corpse with an electric needle !!! Yes, that's ancient mummies I'm talking about. A woman who just went through fully opened abdominal surgery is stitched like a cardboard and starts running around. Literally ! They find strange organic liquid stored in vases, on an industrial scale, in ancient alien temple - nobody bothers to properly analyze it. Have you ever seen a NASA news conference or mission room after they landed a new probe on Mars? Those scientists are hugging each other with tears in their eyes. Their voices are shaking. AND THEY DIDN'T EVEN LAND ON MARS PERSONALLY, THEY JUST SUCCESSFULLY LANDED A ROVER!!! Landing on an alien world is every geologist's wet dream, every geologist masturbates to the thought of that! And what does our Prometheus' geologist have to say when he wakes up from cryo-sleep? "Don't bother me with your friendship, I'm here to make money." It's like he just broke out of jail. And so on and on. The idiocy of these so called scientists is beyond belief and it just never stops. It just gets worse and worse with every additional scene. It is actually quite astonishing just how stupid this film is. Is Lindelof mentally retarded? Definitely. It's either that or he just did it on purpose, out of sheer perversion. Is Scott senile? Or just criminally under-educated egomaniacal quasi-intellectual masturbator ? You tell me... I'm perfectly able to enjoy "childish" sci-fi, like Transformers. That's because Michael Bay didn't set out to cheat me. He said Transformer movie is about a sexy couple, cool giant robots, ultra-spectacular action scenes and... that's it. That's what Michael Bay promised us and that's EXACTLY what he delivered. I respect Bay for his unpretentious honesty and I wasn't at all disappointed by his films, in fact - I enjoyed them very much ! But this Prometheus was sold to me as a quintessential A-Movie, a masterpiece of serious, intelligent Sci-Fi. It was supposed to be an intellectual Sci-Fi film. I feel raped.
    Expand
  26. Dec 26, 2012
    0
    I'm not going to waste any time on the plot as it has been discussed to exhausting heights. But I am going to vent my frustration and heartbreak over Prometheus. The grandest disappointment in cinamatic history and science fiction. Why? Its simple. Alien is a staple of science fiction and suspense the likes of which has been attempted many times but never surpassed. The film itself is aI'm not going to waste any time on the plot as it has been discussed to exhausting heights. But I am going to vent my frustration and heartbreak over Prometheus. The grandest disappointment in cinamatic history and science fiction. Why? Its simple. Alien is a staple of science fiction and suspense the likes of which has been attempted many times but never surpassed. The film itself is a mythical force full of mystery and discovery. It had an unprecedented scope of imagination and discovery like the original Raiders of the Lost Ark. None of these qualities exist in Prometheus on any level.

    This brings me to director Ridley Scott. Clearly he is not the same man who so eloquently scared the sh*t out of us while enticing our imagination. I fear that his passion is not to appease our expectations but to create something new. That's acceptable. Prometheus is not. In fact it doesn't even belong in the same scope of storytelling. This is a giant mess of biblical proportions not only in its overreaching ideas of human origins but a complete failure in storytelling altogether. Alien had nothing to prove. It was dry. cold and mercilessly tense. Prometheus wants to be something more while ignoring the principle of what matters most. Imagination.
    Expand
  27. Oct 24, 2012
    3
    This movie wanted to be Alien so bad, but it fell flat on its face. I thought this movie was going to be good, judging by the first hour or so. Unfortunately the last hour went way off the deep end.
  28. Jun 26, 2012
    3
    Expectation: introduced as a prequel to Alien, and directed by Ridley Scott, so incredibly high

    Delivery: For a film so thought provoking, heavy on symbolism, questioning human origin, and metaphysical beliefs, Prometheus was a huge let down. It borrows heavily from an established belief that the Original Man came to Earth from another planet and began civilization on this planet, but
    Expectation: introduced as a prequel to Alien, and directed by Ridley Scott, so incredibly high

    Delivery: For a film so thought provoking, heavy on symbolism, questioning human origin, and metaphysical beliefs, Prometheus was a huge let down. It borrows heavily from an established belief that the Original Man came to Earth from another planet and began civilization on this planet, but it never really does anything with it. These studies are interrupted by series of setups and let downs. It's littered bunch of teasers and references to the original Alien, but never delivers. It may have been a bit more enjoyable as a stand alone sci fi flick instead of playing up it's Alien relations. Being introduced as having relations to Alien, allowed my expectations to fly well above and beyond what this movie was actually willing and able to do. Prometheus feels like its stuck somewhere between an Alien prequel, and a prequel to a prequel of an Alien prequel.
    Expand
  29. Jun 19, 2012
    3
    After discovering that this is was not intended to be a true prequel to Alien, only using the same universe for the story, it does improve my score for reviewing this movie. Mainly because, if it was meant to be a true prequel to Alien, it would have been awful, with it explaining almost nothing. Both story and script are very poor. Special Effects are amazing, however, with somewhatAfter discovering that this is was not intended to be a true prequel to Alien, only using the same universe for the story, it does improve my score for reviewing this movie. Mainly because, if it was meant to be a true prequel to Alien, it would have been awful, with it explaining almost nothing. Both story and script are very poor. Special Effects are amazing, however, with somewhat entertaining scenes. Expand
  30. Jul 8, 2012
    0
    This was the dumbest movie I've seen in years. The characters all seem to suffer from severe brain damage, and the plot is needlessly complicated and nonsensical with many, many holes. Like Avatar, it's nothing but a sequence of pretty pictures (to be honest, they are very pretty pictures) that make little sense when put together into a story. Watch it if you want two hours of niceThis was the dumbest movie I've seen in years. The characters all seem to suffer from severe brain damage, and the plot is needlessly complicated and nonsensical with many, many holes. Like Avatar, it's nothing but a sequence of pretty pictures (to be honest, they are very pretty pictures) that make little sense when put together into a story. Watch it if you want two hours of nice environments, but don't expect anything intellectual out of it. Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jun 11, 2012
    80
    Scott may always have had an eye on the box office, but from "Alien" and "Thelma & Louise" on, he has made women into heroines. In that regard, he's still ahead of the curve. Rapace's scene is a classic of its kind; it tops John Hurt's notorious misfortunes in "Alien."
  2. 70
    It's a different sort of experience: a stately, somewhat plodding but endurable science-fiction saga.
  3. 75
    There's definite mastery here, but it's hardly a masterpiece.