Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 21, 2007
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 149 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
95
Mixed:
21
Negative:
33
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
simonerodriguezMar 13, 2016
i love this film so much,no matter how many times i see it it makes me cry!!!! the acting is so believable i felt like the two main characters were in love in real life!!! a must see!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
GeorginaFeb 1, 2008
I read the book and loved it and watched the film and loved it! I think it's heart warming, endearing, and although it's hard to believe there are really guys like Gerry in the real world...A girl can dream can't she...Really I read the book and loved it and watched the film and loved it! I think it's heart warming, endearing, and although it's hard to believe there are really guys like Gerry in the real world...A girl can dream can't she...Really liked it and think Hillary was awesome! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EJMay 10, 2008
With all the crap that has come out lately I thought this was a refreshing movie with a great cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BryanCJun 20, 2008
The premise was cliche indeed, but the characters honesty about the situation was endearing to a fault. Every time I thought something was silly, so did the characters. I'm a hetero man, I watched it with my wife and we both loved it. The premise was cliche indeed, but the characters honesty about the situation was endearing to a fault. Every time I thought something was silly, so did the characters. I'm a hetero man, I watched it with my wife and we both loved it. Harry Connick junior was fantastic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaireJun 9, 2008
an UNREAL film. the critics obviously are blind to see that it was a gripping film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AinsleyM.Jan 14, 2008
It was amazing. I have never enjoyed a film so much. It takes a lot to make me cry and this film did it. I could watch it over and over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MelissaJ.Jan 28, 2008
Great film. Curious how these critics define good filmmaking (and if they consider Rambo a good example). The script and acting were brilliant, but it is pretty emotionally heavy. Contrary to what some have said, I believe Swank was perfect Great film. Curious how these critics define good filmmaking (and if they consider Rambo a good example). The script and acting were brilliant, but it is pretty emotionally heavy. Contrary to what some have said, I believe Swank was perfect for this role. Character development was excellent. A definite must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmandaMJan 3, 2008
10+++ Critics don't know what they are talking about. I've already seen it twice. It really captures human emotion in it's purest, real form. I found myself crying and I rarely cry at movies. I will buy this the day it comes 10+++ Critics don't know what they are talking about. I've already seen it twice. It really captures human emotion in it's purest, real form. I found myself crying and I rarely cry at movies. I will buy this the day it comes out on DVD!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarrahS.Jan 4, 2008
This was a great movie. I cried and laughed throughout, and haven't seen a movie that spurred such emotion in me in a while. Maybe I'm a sucker, but I absolutely loved it. I felt close to the characters, and the director and actors This was a great movie. I cried and laughed throughout, and haven't seen a movie that spurred such emotion in me in a while. Maybe I'm a sucker, but I absolutely loved it. I felt close to the characters, and the director and actors did a great job in the first 20 minutes of the film helping the audience fall in love with the characters so that we could be involved throughout the movie. The soundtrack was great as well. Not surprised that the critics didn't like it, since I generally don't agree with the critics. See this movie. It's wonderful. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LauraW.Feb 4, 2008
Awesome film! I lost count of how many times I cried!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadFeb 4, 2008
my girlfriend and i were extremely excited to go watch this and weren't disappointed in the least bit. p.s is sad and often depressing but at the same time its cute and funny. easily the best of this genre since the notebook and will my girlfriend and i were extremely excited to go watch this and weren't disappointed in the least bit. p.s is sad and often depressing but at the same time its cute and funny. easily the best of this genre since the notebook and will hopefully become as popular as the notebook in the long run. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RubiMar 1, 2008
this movie was ever so creative i enjoyed it to the fullest!! i cried through the whole movie and was amazed at the little details that were included in. one of my fave.s!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AlastairP.Jul 9, 2008
I was surprised at the big laughs that I got. Sure, it was contrived, but it still provided a romantic good time. It's a movie that won't offend anyone .
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CHRISR.Dec 21, 2007
Great cinematography; very charming film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeC.Dec 22, 2007
Diregard all colorful commentary , It actually has good message for grief.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidN.Jan 13, 2008
Guys!!!! Take your girlfriends and make sure you have condoms ready afterwards. She'll be all over you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LynneVJan 2, 2008
I loved the story line. Very creative and touching. However, I wish the director would have provided us with more details along the way to help us grasp more easily. I got the warm and fuzzy but it could have been that much better! Very well I loved the story line. Very creative and touching. However, I wish the director would have provided us with more details along the way to help us grasp more easily. I got the warm and fuzzy but it could have been that much better! Very well casted! Great talent in this movie; Hillary blew me away ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackieJan 23, 2008
This film is beautifully done I don't know how anyone can't believe in love after seeing this movie. Gerard Butler gives an Oscar worthy performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KarenMOct 30, 2008
I thought this movie was amazing. The movie drew me in right from the beginning. I defiantly cried through most of it, but always made many laughs. It had a good balance between it being a romantic comedy with this tragic love story I thought this movie was amazing. The movie drew me in right from the beginning. I defiantly cried through most of it, but always made many laughs. It had a good balance between it being a romantic comedy with this tragic love story involved. The whole story was very clever and romantic. It Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KathrynA.Jan 5, 2008
What is the matter with critics today? Have they all had their hearts surgically removed? P.S. I Love You is a truly charming film, well acted, well directed, with a wonderful script. It was not "sappy" at all. In fact, it deals quite What is the matter with critics today? Have they all had their hearts surgically removed? P.S. I Love You is a truly charming film, well acted, well directed, with a wonderful script. It was not "sappy" at all. In fact, it deals quite truthfully with the subject of coming to terms with the pain of loss, and does so in a truly engaging way. Forget the critics; see this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KylieM.May 23, 2008
I watched this movie while my husband was deployed to Iraq--not a good idea :) BUT it is my all time favorite movie. i still sob everytime i watch it...its simply amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SonitaL.May 29, 2008
I love this movie! It's like the saddest of all movie! Beside i think Gerard Butler look way hotter without the beard in 300! Anyway still love him with that Irish accent!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahF.May 30, 2008
I liked this movie and i thought it was cute.yeah, it wasn't all that perfect because many parts werent from the book. all in all, it was alright.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GypsyS.May 7, 2008
What a wonderful romantic comedy. A little humor, a little sadness, and overall, a great story. Perhaps a "chick flick", but to me, anyone would enjoy it. I would rate this movie a 10, except it isn't really a great piece of work, just What a wonderful romantic comedy. A little humor, a little sadness, and overall, a great story. Perhaps a "chick flick", but to me, anyone would enjoy it. I would rate this movie a 10, except it isn't really a great piece of work, just a nice watch. I saw it at the theatre, and now will rent it to enjoy again. Oh, for you men out there.... my husband didn't like it nearly as much as I did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BarbA.May 7, 2008
The "professional" reviews are so poor. Why? Seems movies should be vulgar, violent, crude, and bloody to get a good rating. Ignore the professionals, and see the movie. It's so enjoyable. A tender romance, with several great actors. The "professional" reviews are so poor. Why? Seems movies should be vulgar, violent, crude, and bloody to get a good rating. Ignore the professionals, and see the movie. It's so enjoyable. A tender romance, with several great actors. You will laugh and cry during the movie, and love every minute of it. I wish more movies were like this one. It's seldom I even watch a movie anymore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisB.Jun 1, 2008
Not every movie is a work of art, just like the mindless novel, the movie follows bravely. While my wife loved it, I actually chuckled a little and thought the soundtrack to be first class. So in the end and as with some films, I'm not Not every movie is a work of art, just like the mindless novel, the movie follows bravely. While my wife loved it, I actually chuckled a little and thought the soundtrack to be first class. So in the end and as with some films, I'm not wishing for my brain cells back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CamilleHJan 8, 2009
Those people who tried to debase this film, I understand that your statements were your opinion but you all are just immature and can't seem to enjoy the movie for what it was....and it was awesome!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SLW.Dec 24, 2007
Touches elements of our emotional daily lives that we may or may not want to deal with. The work of all the actors is sublime, with Gerry Butler' "Gerry" having us fall in love with him, so that "Holly's" grief is ours, too. Touches elements of our emotional daily lives that we may or may not want to deal with. The work of all the actors is sublime, with Gerry Butler' "Gerry" having us fall in love with him, so that "Holly's" grief is ours, too. Supporting cast was perfect - particularly Bates and Morgan. LOVED it, in a tearful, laughing, poignant sort of way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SylvieM.Dec 28, 2007
Beautiful movie!! I did not want it to end, very powerful. It made me laugh and cry, I was very satisfied!.. I don't know why the critics were so negative for this movie. I would recommend it for anyone!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Dec 31, 2007
Gerry(Gerald Butler) needs to stay dead but "P.S. I Love You" keeps him alive in flashbacks and in his wife's mind. If the audience doesn't see Gerry when Holly(Hilary Swank) senses his presence, her aching need to make a Gerry(Gerald Butler) needs to stay dead but "P.S. I Love You" keeps him alive in flashbacks and in his wife's mind. If the audience doesn't see Gerry when Holly(Hilary Swank) senses his presence, her aching need to make a connection will be all the more poignant and pathetic. "P.S. I Love You" has Lifetime Network written all over its treacly self, but an exceptionally strong cast transforms painfully earnest moments into the stuff of real life(except for that scene in the fishing boat, that was "chick-flick"-hell). What goes unsaid in "P.S. I Love You" but should be obvious to the viewer is that Holly and Gerry would've been a lot happier in the latter's native Ireland than in the States. Holly could've designed shoes, and speak Gaelic. Swank didn't have the star-power to save "Freedom Writers", but she shines bright enough in "P.S. I Love You" to get away with the sort of sentimental junk I usually detest. Swank shakily warbles a drippy love song to her dearly departed on karaoke night, and gets away with it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CherylJan 13, 2008
Loved it. Cried and laughed throughout. I would see it again. Hilliary Swank was great, don't listen to the critics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DenyseM.Feb 25, 2008
I loved this movie...I read the book before the movie had even came out and I feel in love with the book. When I heard that the movie was being made I knew that it was going to be awesome and it was.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MurielA.May 11, 2008
A beautiful fairy tale full of truth. Critics trashed it. Viewers love it! It's a visually gorgeous, touching, yet light movie on the heavy subject of loss of a love. Absolutely believable? No, of course not. But true to the craziness A beautiful fairy tale full of truth. Critics trashed it. Viewers love it! It's a visually gorgeous, touching, yet light movie on the heavy subject of loss of a love. Absolutely believable? No, of course not. But true to the craziness of grief after losing a beloved mate. I've been through it, and so many of the feelings and actions were spot-on. I cried and had a wonderful time viewing this film. Hillary shines!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MegB.May 12, 2008
I just thought this was an amazing movie! It had me on the floot laughing to crying my eyes out in 2.2.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
leanneMay 17, 2008
After reading the book first i did not think i would like the film but i thought that the film was better than the book, the book is more sad and morbid where as the film has comedy in it and i think that makes it better, there is a sad After reading the book first i did not think i would like the film but i thought that the film was better than the book, the book is more sad and morbid where as the film has comedy in it and i think that makes it better, there is a sad factor to the film but it lets you see that life is not all doom and gloom i love the film i could watch it every day. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
lisanMay 25, 2008
Cried through the entire movie. I can relate to this pain as my husband died at 29. Very touching
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MeganJul 27, 2008
Really good film, similar to The Notebook, quite sad though. Cried lots.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JudyF.Dec 21, 2007
I'm sorry the critics can't do "enjoyable". This was touching and romantic and funny and delightful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GloriaR.Dec 27, 2007
It is refreshing to see comedy blended with sadness in life. It is real. It reminded me of the movie Magnolias (a beautiful film of 4 women's friendship throughout all their ordeals in life). I loved it.1 I also love Gerry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordanNDec 14, 2008
This movie was the best I ever seen.It was touching and amazing.I cried the whole time.You should watch this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
katie66xxDec 27, 2010
ps. i love you is a film which really attaches you to the characters and brings tears to your eyes. It really lets you look deep into what true love is really like. In my opinion it is an outstanding film and worth seeing as soon as you can.ps. i love you is a film which really attaches you to the characters and brings tears to your eyes. It really lets you look deep into what true love is really like. In my opinion it is an outstanding film and worth seeing as soon as you can. One of the best films i have seen in years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews