User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 247 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 247
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JacintaG.
    Nov 16, 2003
    4
    I'm all for slow, quirky films- but this was a complete bore. It's a crap movie. There was a peep or brilliance shining through at some point, but was squashed flat by the non-existent a plot. Don't waste your money.
  2. AndyS.
    Nov 28, 2002
    4
    A modest little love story swollen grotesquely out of proportion by a forced regimen of showy, self-conscious camera moves, surreal flourishes, and an often bombastic score. Not that P.T. Anderson hasn't made this formula work brilliantly before (2 1/2 times to be precise), but this time he comes up short due mostly to an uncharacteristically slight script. The leads are very good A modest little love story swollen grotesquely out of proportion by a forced regimen of showy, self-conscious camera moves, surreal flourishes, and an often bombastic score. Not that P.T. Anderson hasn't made this formula work brilliantly before (2 1/2 times to be precise), but this time he comes up short due mostly to an uncharacteristically slight script. The leads are very good (Sandler) and great as usual (Wastson), but not only don't have any chemistry, but seem to be acting in different films. Expand
  3. PatC.
    Jan 7, 2004
    5
    Pretty Woman meets Dumb & Dumber. Don't look for much substance. The plot is disjointed, the premise stupid, but moments of audacious authenticity emerge at random.
  4. MarcK.
    Nov 2, 2002
    5
    What has happened to PT Anderson? After the great "Boogie Nights" was the not-so-good "Magnolia", and now comes "Punch Drunk Love", which isn't even as good as "Magnolia." The only good things about this movie are Emily Watson and Anderson's great visual style. Sandler is in TOTALLY over his head during this picture. As others have noted, we know nothing about these characters, What has happened to PT Anderson? After the great "Boogie Nights" was the not-so-good "Magnolia", and now comes "Punch Drunk Love", which isn't even as good as "Magnolia." The only good things about this movie are Emily Watson and Anderson's great visual style. Sandler is in TOTALLY over his head during this picture. As others have noted, we know nothing about these characters, and why Emily Watson is even remotely attracted to Sandler. In music, Alanis, Hootie, etc. put out great first albums, and then when they have the power/clout to do anything they like, the results were albums that bombed. I think that analogy is appropriate to what is going on with PT Anderson right now. Expand
  5. JacintaG.
    Nov 16, 2003
    4
    I'm all for slow, quirky films- but this was a complete bore. It's a crap movie. There was a peep or brilliance shining through at some point, but was squashed flat by the non-existent a plot. Don't waste your money.
  6. Oct 18, 2010
    6
    Punch Drunk Love...hm..what to say. Well, I will say that Adam Sandler was the best thing in this film and this is coming from a guy who trys to find faults within Sandler for some reason. Now that thats out of the way...Punch Drunk Love in one word is...weird. I finished the movie and literally had no idea what the point was. I mean I guess you could say the typical romance ending as inPunch Drunk Love...hm..what to say. Well, I will say that Adam Sandler was the best thing in this film and this is coming from a guy who trys to find faults within Sandler for some reason. Now that thats out of the way...Punch Drunk Love in one word is...weird. I finished the movie and literally had no idea what the point was. I mean I guess you could say the typical romance ending as in he got with the girl after getting rid of his problems, which while true and a valid point, just wasn't supported by the rest of the movie I feel. It seemed the storyline was pretty random and random events just happened (beginning scene and the random flashes of color to be a few). Also, the characters weren't all the likable. I mean Sandler was and his love interest was as well but the other major characters (aka his sisters) were terrible and actually almost ruined the whole movie for me and did end up tarnishing it for me in a way. Anyways, 3 out of 5. Interesting at least but randomness is it's downfall.

    http://mashupmash.blogspot.com/2010/10/punch-drunk-love.html
    Expand
  7. BKM
    Jan 21, 2012
    6
    Punch-Drunk Love is a bit of a tricky film to figure out, but I think that it is ultimately worth the effort. Adam Sandler gives one of his most nuanced and mature performances as a man who is barely in control of his emotions and is out of step with society. Emily Watson plays the woman who ultimately provides him with a sense of strength and stability by simply loving him. It's a bitPunch-Drunk Love is a bit of a tricky film to figure out, but I think that it is ultimately worth the effort. Adam Sandler gives one of his most nuanced and mature performances as a man who is barely in control of his emotions and is out of step with society. Emily Watson plays the woman who ultimately provides him with a sense of strength and stability by simply loving him. It's a bit too quirky and artsy to be a fully satisfying viewing experience, but its hard not to admire its off-kilter heart. Expand
  8. Apr 6, 2014
    4
    This was just not for me. I enjoy Paul Thomas Anderson's films and his direction here was great as expected. I also really enjoyed Adam Sandler in this film, he really embodies this entirely psychologically off character and his final confrontation with Philip Seymour Hoffman (who was also great here) was both funny and intense. The added element of the pudding, with it being somethingThis was just not for me. I enjoy Paul Thomas Anderson's films and his direction here was great as expected. I also really enjoyed Adam Sandler in this film, he really embodies this entirely psychologically off character and his final confrontation with Philip Seymour Hoffman (who was also great here) was both funny and intense. The added element of the pudding, with it being something from real life was also very interesting. However, my main problem here was it was just too quirky and weird for me. I somewhat enjoyed the pudding thing, but it really added a lot to this problem. The awkwardness and quirkiness in every scene was overbearing at times and really sapped any enjoyment this one could have provided for me, to the point where it felt like nails on a chalkboard. It was awkwardness overload. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. 75
    Quirky and stylish, but not in a manner that comes across as overly artsy or pretentious.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Fox
    70
    The strangest thing about writer-director Paul Thomas Anderson's unusual romantic comedy is how much of it is based on a true story.
  3. Whether Adam Sandler can actually act is not actually answered in Paul Thomas Anderson's Punch-Drunk Love. But he's great in it.