Lionsgate | Release Date: December 5, 2008
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 151 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
77
Mixed:
38
Negative:
36
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
himynameisartMay 7, 2014
I enjoyed this movie, probably not as much as the 2004 version but yeah. It follows the comics more but its so cheesy and gory that it can't really be taken seriously. this movie was so bad that its good, i also found it very funny evenI enjoyed this movie, probably not as much as the 2004 version but yeah. It follows the comics more but its so cheesy and gory that it can't really be taken seriously. this movie was so bad that its good, i also found it very funny even though they didn't try being funny. Ray Stevenson looked more like the punisher than thomas jane but his acting just wasnt as good. Nobodies acting was good for that matter it was so mediocre. i feel like if they put both movies in a blender we'd probably have the perfect balance to have at least a good punisher movie. 6.5/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TjEJan 22, 2009
Warzone wasn't terrible nor was it great, however it was better then the other 2 movies. If you enjoy over the top action and gore, you'll love this movie. If you prefer a story drivin movie, you're outta luck. I prefer a good Warzone wasn't terrible nor was it great, however it was better then the other 2 movies. If you enjoy over the top action and gore, you'll love this movie. If you prefer a story drivin movie, you're outta luck. I prefer a good story movie, but I liked the action and gunfire sequences. So I gave it an average 5, but any fan of hardcore action and/or gore will find something to like in Warzone. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
GeorgeMMar 20, 2009
First, off...its better than the first attempt...but not by much. The first Punisher film (IMO) was horribly miscast and was totally lacking in substance and character...this version of the Punisher stays true to the brutality and "no First, off...its better than the first attempt...but not by much. The first Punisher film (IMO) was horribly miscast and was totally lacking in substance and character...this version of the Punisher stays true to the brutality and "no nonsense" of the Punisher character himself...but its thrown in with some of the most over the top, gratuitous "action" ive ever seen in a movie...it will probably tickle your funny-bone more than it will raise your pulse. One thing they nailed was the casting of the Punisher...Ray Stevenson walks the walk and talks the talk...and has the "look" down to a T and unlike the first film, this movie has a Punisher that truly has NO problems dispatching the guilty without remorse (as the Punisher character should)...but the weak story tarnishes this. There is a story...its just not in the least bit interesting, which is fine, because i dont think this film was going for anything "thought worthy"...but more "balls to the wall". Dominic West plays a decent enough villain...and he plays the character well, seemingly having a good time being a slimy, tough talking mob boss...obsessed with his looks (his accent during some of the dialog gave me a HUGE chuckle). If you are looking for something action packed, story-less, and hammy then this will be your "cotton candy" for an evening...cant recommend as a buy however. Overall...its worth a look...if anything, just to watch something loud and dumb which is nice from time to time...but to also see a potentially cool Punisher character...and afterwards, you can wonder what wouldve have happened had they gotten it right...oh well. Recommened as a RENTAL Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
5
ColinG.Dec 15, 2008
It may not be fair for me to rate this film as I missed large chunks of it to sleep. I'm not sure how it manages to be so bloody and boring at the same time. It could be the lack of plot. My favorite part was the suspended from the It may not be fair for me to rate this film as I missed large chunks of it to sleep. I'm not sure how it manages to be so bloody and boring at the same time. It could be the lack of plot. My favorite part was the suspended from the chandelier gag that was stolen from "Boondock Saints." If you're going to be boring, dumb and gruesome, the least you could do is go about it in an original way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TokyochuchuApr 18, 2016
The Punisher: War Zone is a paper thin comic book movie. It's stupid, violent, simple and well... Kind of fun in a no-brain way. Don't expect a masterpiece or any kind of emotion and you'll be OK. It's just a B-movie about cracking skulls. NoThe Punisher: War Zone is a paper thin comic book movie. It's stupid, violent, simple and well... Kind of fun in a no-brain way. Don't expect a masterpiece or any kind of emotion and you'll be OK. It's just a B-movie about cracking skulls. No more, no less. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Longbottom94Apr 29, 2013
Ray Stevenson and a few ridiculously funny scenes can't completely save this rather dull and forgettable movie. Although some poeple were not fond of the previous film, I found some interesting aspects that kept my interest. This is justRay Stevenson and a few ridiculously funny scenes can't completely save this rather dull and forgettable movie. Although some poeple were not fond of the previous film, I found some interesting aspects that kept my interest. This is just cinematic chewing gum, quite enjoyable while its on but has no lasting impressions what-so-ever. I can only recommend this to die hard Punisher fans. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
5
SuperheroMoviesAug 8, 2013
War Zone is shorter and leaner than the previous reboot was, but still contains the same storytelling flaws that haunted the first reboot. However, its devastatingly brutal nature may compensate for the miscues in the script for some.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JayH.Mar 15, 2009
All action, pizazz, gore and special effects and no substance. The plot, if you can call it that is weak, the acting is fair. I does have some great visuals.
0 of 0 users found this helpful