Columbia Pictures | Release Date: November 14, 2008
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 587 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
294
Mixed:
212
Negative:
81
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
6
BradySmithAug 21, 2016
I might be being a little generous giving this a 6. It's not a horrible movie but it's definitely the weakest of Craig's movies. The first half or maybe more has almost no depth, no character, and no intrigue. The action scenes aren'tI might be being a little generous giving this a 6. It's not a horrible movie but it's definitely the weakest of Craig's movies. The first half or maybe more has almost no depth, no character, and no intrigue. The action scenes aren't horrible but they're mostly too over the top and poorly edited. The story, after meandering through a bunch of chases and not really building to anything, does start to pick up at a point. Apparently someone remembered a movie has to have some sort of depth to maintain interest. From there it goes onto a decent yet mostly uninspired path to the finish. The movie has its moments of character and atmosphere peppered throughout the second half but this is basically the definition of a placeholder movie. A watchable but frustratingly by the numbers and only occasionally engaging movie that's nowhere near Casino Royale or Skyfall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MasterRileyJul 20, 2016
While it still boosts fun action and set pieces, Quantum of Solace doesn't reach the critical acclaim of Casino Royale. It is still enjoyable to watch which is why I would still recommend it to Bond fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
EpicLadySpongeMay 10, 2016
Sounds lovely as it is and also sounds as much for James Bond, but Quantum of Solace can prove that the series is falling down for its 'doom' for its time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
aadityamudharApr 18, 2016
With absolutely no explanation of what is going on from scene to scene, what could potentially be a very interesting storyline becomes a mess of over-dramatic action scenes. James Bond just happens to find himself in exotic places on boats,With absolutely no explanation of what is going on from scene to scene, what could potentially be a very interesting storyline becomes a mess of over-dramatic action scenes. James Bond just happens to find himself in exotic places on boats, planes and fast cars but with no explanation... Also, for the first time, I get the feeling that this James Bond is as bad as the other villains! James Bond is supposed to be the hero, not the revenge-seeking murderous d*ck. Action scenes are fun to watch and they happen in a good variety of locations around the world - this is all that saves this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
sicranoApr 8, 2016
.....................................................................................................................................A Very very very very BAD 007 MOVIE,
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
TheFilmBuffApr 2, 2016
Marc Forster Has a License to Confuse and Bore in Quantum of Solace.

Those of us who adored Casino Royale, the 2006 reboot of the haggard, self-parodic James Bond franchise, had some trouble trying to decide where to place it among the
Marc Forster Has a License to Confuse and Bore in Quantum of Solace.

Those of us who adored Casino Royale, the 2006 reboot of the haggard, self-parodic James Bond franchise, had some trouble trying to decide where to place it among the series' finest. Was it better than Goldfinger? Probably not, but close. The Spy Who Loved Me? Maybe so. From Russia With Love? Nope—missed it by this much, to quote another secret agent. Granted, it's all shades of bullet-gray when it comes to Bond, historically riddled with silly, soporific misfires that looked the same regardless of who wore the tux and gulped the gin and gave the girl one last gasp before she drew her last breath.

But Casino Royale was a welcome break with a wearying tradition: It was the first James Bond movie since On Her Majesty's Secret Service to portray 007 as something more than a suave, Kennedy-era caricature—a handsome head perched upon a tailored suit and a martini glass. Daniel Craig, an art-house bombshell if there is such a thing, brought to Bond warmth, humanity, and, above all, gives-a-damn decency heretofore lacking since George Lazenby's sole stint as Connery's stand-in. More than just a good time spent riding shotgun in a tricked-out ride with a bad boy, Casino Royale was a love story masquerading as a spy thriller, with Bond falling for his collaborator and eventual betrayer, Vesper Lynd (Eva Green), who was working for . . . ?

That, alas, is the question allegedly answered by Quantum of Solace, which takes its title from an inconsequential Ian Fleming short story and is the first Bond movie to serve as a direct sequel. Allegedly, because Craig's second outing as Bond is as frustrating, sloppy, and brusque as its predecessor was engaging, sleek, and unhurried. At 106 minutes, it's the shortest of the Bond films, but it feels like one of the longest as it bounces hither and yon only to wind up stranded in a Bolivian desert, where baddie Dominic Greene (The Diving Bell and the Butterfly's Mathieu Amalric) is sucking the sand dry of its underwater river. Yawn. Used to be, Bond villains were larger-than-life Evil Geniuses who at least had Grand Aspirations to take over the world, bwah-haw-haw. Now, the bad guy's just a phony environmentalist with a thing for deposed dictators and dry wells.

At least, that's what Quantum of Solace seems to be about, though most of the time it's simply too hard to tell—or too pointless to care about—courtesy of the haphazard direction of Marc Forster, who demonstrates by negative example why Bond movies are best served by journeymen with something to prove rather than would-be A-listers slumming it. From its very first moments—we enter the film mid–car chase—Quantum is a spastic, indecipherable, unholy, and altogether unwatchable mess. Between swerves and smashes, we simply have no idea who's doing what to whom, where they're doing it, or why. What's meant to be kinetic and cathartic serves only to disorient, to keep the audience at a head-scratching distance.

It's as though Forster (Monster's Ball, Finding Neverland) and his two editors (longtime collaborator Matt Cheese and, get this, Get Smart and Bourne Supremacy vet Richard Pearson) filmed Quantum on a roller coaster and cut the movie with a food processor set on "indecipherable." Consider the scene, only moments after the car chase, where Bond and M (Judi Dench, even more disagreeable than she was in Casino Royale) question the mysterious Mr. White (Jesper Christensen, reprising his role from the previous film) about his role in Vesper's double-cross and death. The interrogation, but of course, turns into a shoot-out, with Bond chasing the assassin across rooftops and through broken glass ceilings—a reprise of Casino Royale's thrilling parkour sequence, perhaps the franchise's singular Great Moment. But Forster, whose biggest action sequence to date involved Halle Berry and Billy Bob Thornton getting it on, interrupts the action with needless, irritating cutaways to inconsequential doings (dunno what, can't say, wouldn't matter anyway) elsewhere that render the entire scene a confounding, alienating muddle. Which is to say nothing of the klutzy opera-house shoot-out stolen from The Godfather: Part III only moments later.

Written by Neil Purvis and Robert Wade (whose association with Bond dates back to 1999's The World Is Not Enough—yes, the one with Denise Richards) and Casino Royale pinch hitter Paul Haggis, Quantum of Solace may ultimately prove Bond's worst enemy to date. It's both frantic and boring, a surprising and wholly unnecessary attempt to gin up the revived franchise by turning Bond into Bourne.

If nothing else, there's no need to worry about where Quantum of Solace fits in the Bond pantheon—it's easily one of the worst.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MovieGeeksApr 1, 2016
A reviewer may come to a new James Bond movie — “Quantum of Solace,” directed by Marc Forster and opening Friday, is the 22nd official installment of the series in 46 years — with a nifty theory or an elaborate sociocultural hermeneuticA reviewer may come to a new James Bond movie — “Quantum of Solace,” directed by Marc Forster and opening Friday, is the 22nd official installment of the series in 46 years — with a nifty theory or an elaborate sociocultural hermeneutic agenda, but the most important thing to have on hand is a checklist. It’s all well and good to reflect upon the ways 007, the Harry Potter of British intelligence, has evolved over time through changes in casting, geopolitics, sexual mores and styles of dress.

But the first order of business must always be to run through the basic specs of this classic entertainment machine’s latest model and see how it measures up.

So before we proceed to any consideration of the deeper meanings of “Quantum of Solace” (or for that matter the plain meaning of its enigmatic title), we need to assess the action, the villain, the gadgets, the babes and the other standard features.

The opening song, performed by Jack White and Alicia Keys (an intriguing duo on paper if nowhere else), is an abysmal cacophony of incompatible musical idioms, and the title sequence over which those idioms do squalling battle is similarly disharmonious: conceptually clever and visually grating. The first chase, picking up exactly where the 2006 “Casino Royale” left off, is speedy and thrilling, but the other action set-pieces are a decidedly mixed bag, with a few crisp footraces, some semi-coherent punch-outs and a dreadful boat pileup that brings back painful memories of the invisible car Pierce Brosnan tooled around in a few movies ago.

Picturesque locales? Bolivia, Haiti, Austria and Italy are featured or impersonated, to perfectly nice touristic effect. Gizmos? A bit disappointing, to tell the truth. Technological advances in the real world may not quite have outpaced those in the Bond universe, but so many movies these days show off their global video surveillance set-ups and advanced smart-phone applications that it’s hard for this one to distinguish itself.

What about the villain? One of the best in a while, I’d say, thanks to a lizardy turn from the great French actor Mathieu Amalric, who plays Dominic Greene, a ruthless economic predator disguised as an ecological do-gooder. The supporting cast is studded with equally excellent performers, including Jeffrey Wright and Giancarlo Giannini, both reprising their roles in “Casino Royale.”

And the women? There are two, as usual — not counting Judi Dench, returning as the brisk and impatient M — one (Gemma Arterton) a doomed casual plaything, the other a more serious dramatic foil and potential romantic interest. That one, called Camille, is played by Olga Kurylenko, whose specialty seems to be appearing in action pictures as the pouty, sexy sidekick of a brooding, vengeful hero. Not only Daniel Craig’s Bond, but also Mark Wahlberg’s Max Payne and Timothy Olyphant’s Hitman.

James Bond is a much livelier character than either of those mopey video-game ciphers, but he shares with them the astonishing ability to resist, indeed to ignore, Ms. Kurylenko’s physical charms.

This is not out of any professional scruple. The plot of “Quantum of Solace” is largely propelled by Bond’s angry flouting of the discipline imposed by his job, and anyway when did James Bond ever let work get in the way of sex? No, what gets in the way is emotion. 007’s grief and rage, the source of his connection to Camille, are forces more powerful than either duty or libido.

Mr. Brosnan was the first actor to allow a glimmer of complicated emotion to peek through Bond’s cool, rakish facade, and since Mr. Craig took over the franchise two years ago the character has shown a temperament at once rougher and more soulful than in previous incarnations. The violence in his first outing, “Casino Royale,” was notably intense, and while “Quantum of Solace” is not quite as brutal, the mood is if anything even more grim and downcast.

The death in “Casino” of Bond’s lover Vesper Lynd (Eva Green), along with the possibility that she had betrayed him before dying, provides an obvious psychological explanation for his somber demeanor in “Quantum.” But while the exploration of Bond’s psychology makes him, arguably at least, a deeper, subtler character — and there is certainly impressive depth and subtlety in Mr. Craig’s wounded, whispery menace — it also makes him harder to distinguish from every other grieving, seething avenger at the multiplex.

“Quantum of Solace,” a phrase never uttered in the course of this film (though it has something to do with Greene’s diabolical scheme, itself never fully explained), means something like a measure of comfort. Perhaps that describes what Bond is looking for, or maybe it is what this kind of entertainment tries to provide a fretful audience. If so, I prefer mine with a dash of mischief.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SpangleMar 12, 2016
Quantum of Solace is a bit of a mess. Its action is over the top and makes it look as though Michael Bay took over direction at some point given its affinity for hard to follow action and explosions. The story is a bit much and I did not loveQuantum of Solace is a bit of a mess. Its action is over the top and makes it look as though Michael Bay took over direction at some point given its affinity for hard to follow action and explosions. The story is a bit much and I did not love the revenge angle too much. If the story was more fleshed out, I think the film would have benefited. As it stood, the film was too short. Olga Kurylenko's character has very little to do here other than look good, aside from the minor sub-plot that feels shoehorned in. That being said, that is where the negatives just about end. The non-action direction from Marc Forster is quite stylish, and the acting from Daniel Craig and Judi Dench is fantastic. Quantum of Solace has style for days and is not afraid to use it, but it truly is style over substance here with a pretty worthless plot. Quantum of Solace is an entirely mediocre effort from director Marc Forster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31Jan 28, 2016
A great action thriller, an enjoyable Bond film. Daniel Craig is great as Bond. Fantastic visual effects

Watch it here for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-418-Quantum-of-Solace-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FilmMasterEdJan 5, 2016
So shoot me. I left the action rush of this follow-up to the terrific 2006 Casino Royale feeling bummed out by James Bond. Well, not by the Bond of Daniel Craig — he's still one nasty-ass dude, with the kind of rough-edged style that the 007So shoot me. I left the action rush of this follow-up to the terrific 2006 Casino Royale feeling bummed out by James Bond. Well, not by the Bond of Daniel Craig — he's still one nasty-ass dude, with the kind of rough-edged style that the 007 franchise hasn't seen since the glory days of Sean Connery. But the character fun seems to have gone out the window in Quantum of Solace, a fancy-shmancy title (the only thing borrowed from Ian Fleming's short story) for a movie that pours crude oil all over the subtle pleasures and sexy beats that came before.

The new movie picks up a few minutes after the last one. Big car chase (all together now: eww!) as Bond, barely recovered from the death of his lady love Vesper Lynd (Eva Green), burns rubber all over Italy with the wiggling body of Mr. White (Jesper Christensen) in the trunk of his Aston Martin. Cut to Mr. White's interrogation by M (Judi Dench), who finds herself surrounded by traitorous MI6 agents now working for Quantum, an agency bent on (what else?) world domination. So it's Bond on the march, killing everything that moves.

I know, it sounds juicy, but it isn't. Things go on the fritz early — even the new theme song, "Another Way to Die," sung by Jack White and Alicia Keys, sucks. Bond seems to have come down with a serious case of Jason Bourne penis envy, leaping across rooftops from Bolivia to Haiti like a jug-eared Matt Damon.

Put the blame on Marc Forster, a sensitive filmmaker (Monster's Ball, Finding Neverland) who has no experience as an action director and appears to be seriously overcompensating. In Casino Royale, Martin Campbell — a real action man — stopped to savor the distractions in the script co-written by Crash Oscar winner Paul Haggis. Remember the poker game and the sexual teasing in that train scene with Craig's Bond and Green's Vesper trying to guess each other's past histories? Haggis is back, but the mischief is gone. There's a flicker of interest when redhead Gemma Arterton shows up as Fields, an MI6 agent not averse to bonding with Bond, but she's soon gone like the ghost of good times past.

Instead, we get pouty Ukrainian model Olga Kurylenko as Camille, perhaps the dullest Bond girl ever. Camille treats 007 like he has an STD, but she screws the villainous Dominic Greene (Mathieu Amalric, bugging the eyes he only blinked in The Diving Bell and the Butterfly) to get to Bolivian general Medrano, who did evil perversities to her and her family.

It could have been a hell of a revenge tale about two people, Bond and Camille, who know you kill most effectively when you don't take it personally but who can't help taking it personally. That story is written all over Craig's haunted face. But Quantum of Solace won't trust its own darker instincts. It delivers the popcorn goods, but it ignores the poison eating at Bond's insides. Killer mistake.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ivancic24Dec 22, 2015
Well sorry for the poor rating, but it seems to me that Sony made this picture in a hurry. Many jump-cuts, a story that is pale in comparison to the previous James Bond titles (mainly with Pierce Brosnan), and an actor who looks plainly dullWell sorry for the poor rating, but it seems to me that Sony made this picture in a hurry. Many jump-cuts, a story that is pale in comparison to the previous James Bond titles (mainly with Pierce Brosnan), and an actor who looks plainly dull compared to the other charismatic actors. Heck if I wanted to see a Casino Royale movie on meth, I would have, but this is simply wrong. Ian Fleming would be ashamed of it... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
oDjentoDec 18, 2015
This film absolutely butchered the Bond franchise. So many cuts the action sequences are nauseous to watch and don't capture you at all. The villains here are also completely unmemorable and cast horribly. The plot is something that almostThis film absolutely butchered the Bond franchise. So many cuts the action sequences are nauseous to watch and don't capture you at all. The villains here are also completely unmemorable and cast horribly. The plot is something that almost becomes strung onto the movie last minute and everything about it is plain and boring. I actually seriously struggle watching this film. Awful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SchroederRockNov 7, 2015
I don't understand critics not being on board with this film. I greatly enjoyed it, not quite the level of awesome that Casino Royale achieved, but still a strong action film with a plot that builds upon its predecessor. Worth seeing if you ask me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Deadly_TravelerNov 7, 2015
Well, in 2015 this web-site told me that this movie is 'new or notable' so I decided to write a review. It's bad. There're so many movies about 007 (LOTS) that I'd rather call it cliche than something new. Movie is absolutely not satisfying.Well, in 2015 this web-site told me that this movie is 'new or notable' so I decided to write a review. It's bad. There're so many movies about 007 (LOTS) that I'd rather call it cliche than something new. Movie is absolutely not satisfying. Plot is trash, all the sh*t happening is trash. Rather no than yes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MrMovieBuffOct 30, 2015
Yes, it's true what they say. 'Quantum of Solace' is a silly, choppy action movie that felt less like a Bond movie and more like a Bourne movie.

Daniel Craig still maintains the role magnificently well, doing what he can in a silly action
Yes, it's true what they say. 'Quantum of Solace' is a silly, choppy action movie that felt less like a Bond movie and more like a Bourne movie.

Daniel Craig still maintains the role magnificently well, doing what he can in a silly action film. Olga Kurylenko makes a good Bond girl and Mathieu Amalric is an okay Bond villain. I don't remember him as much as previous villains, especially Mads Mikkelsen ('Casino Royale'), and then Javier Bardem ('Skyfall') four years later.

I am not sure whether 'Quantum of Solace' would have been a much better movie if it wasn't a follow up to the great 'Casino Royale' (2006). It felt more like one of those dumb, gimmicky Pierce Brosnan movies after 'Goldeneye' (1995), this movie reminded me of 'Die Another Day' (2002), I was afraid that this current series of Bond movies would fall into that routine of dumb action and gimmicky moments. After starting off so well in 'Casino Royale' (2006), I feared this movie would end Daniel Craig, luckily he survived this one.

I just hope we never see another dumb action Bond flick ever again.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
raciocinioOct 21, 2015
The worst Bond of Daniel Craig,any one of Pierce Brosnan s better than this..... So weak,boring and long isn't too long but is so bad that seems which was 10 hours of weakest action and development
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Duke_NukemOct 13, 2015
Connery is the ultimate Bond, Moore is the funny Bond, Dalton is the cool Bond, Brosnan is the suave Bond and Craig is... the ugly Bond?

I have no idea why they came up with the ludicrous idea to pick Craig as the new Bond and why they
Connery is the ultimate Bond, Moore is the funny Bond, Dalton is the cool Bond, Brosnan is the suave Bond and Craig is... the ugly Bond?

I have no idea why they came up with the ludicrous idea to pick Craig as the new Bond and why they decided to make Bond movies so dark and boring.

The conversations between Craig (no, I wont call him Bond) and grandma 'M' are ridiculous: "All you do is hurt people, you have no feelings you big bully!"... "Yes mom!"

Although this movie is not that good it's still better than the 2 other Bond movies Daniel Craig did, because at least there is a lot of action in this movie and the Bond girl is hot while in the other 2 movies the story is boring and the Bond girls unattractive.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ThatCooperGuySep 18, 2015
Nearly 40 minutes in, and nothing interesting was happening. The non-stop action is upped, but that diminishes the story, plus the action scenes are poorly shot & horribly edited. There's too much action and not enough dialogue, not evenNearly 40 minutes in, and nothing interesting was happening. The non-stop action is upped, but that diminishes the story, plus the action scenes are poorly shot & horribly edited. There's too much action and not enough dialogue, not even Daniel Craig could save this movie.
Such a disappointing sequel to Casino Royal...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
nozamanAug 8, 2015
My kid's first Bond film, and a bit disappointed I had to be so. Has all the elements of a modern-day action thriller, and few of the elements of, you know, James Bond. There has to be a happy medium between Roger Moore-era camp and joylessMy kid's first Bond film, and a bit disappointed I had to be so. Has all the elements of a modern-day action thriller, and few of the elements of, you know, James Bond. There has to be a happy medium between Roger Moore-era camp and joyless grit, but this film errs toward the later. Craig at least has plenty of screen presence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
cryhardhumorJul 26, 2015
What is so sad about Quantum of Solace is the tremendous step down it was from Casino Royale. The only thing that makes this a Bond movie is Bond himself. All the style, action, and fun is sucked out and replaced by painful mediocrity.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
Zanessa250QIJul 5, 2015
Eu pensei que ia dar uma goleada no Cassino Royale (2006) no quesito de ação e principalmente como filme,mas foi um filme completamente fraquíssimo,em tudo o a conclusão foi uma bosta,o suspense uma merda,e o roteiro legal mas cansativo,masEu pensei que ia dar uma goleada no Cassino Royale (2006) no quesito de ação e principalmente como filme,mas foi um filme completamente fraquíssimo,em tudo o a conclusão foi uma bosta,o suspense uma merda,e o roteiro legal mas cansativo,mas pela algumas boas cenas de ação,boas atuações e por incrível que pareça nos deixar grudado até o final, Eu vou dar 6 mais?? Nem fudendo Fraco!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
dyshpoMar 23, 2015
Overwrought with complete disregard for any Bond purist to overuse of Bourne flair. This is no Bond film it takes a steamy **** on your memory I've watched several times and then it flies out of conscience into the abyss.

From the worst
Overwrought with complete disregard for any Bond purist to overuse of Bourne flair. This is no Bond film it takes a steamy **** on your memory I've watched several times and then it flies out of conscience into the abyss.

From the worst Bond intro song to the most unnatural and unyielding story and having no Bond in story is disgusting.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
FunposterUUUUFeb 17, 2015
I loved Casino Royale, but this, this is pure **** its the literal blandest film in the bond franchise and its something a bond film shouldnt be, i **** hate bland films, and this one was so mediocre i cant remember anything about its plot,I loved Casino Royale, but this, this is pure **** its the literal blandest film in the bond franchise and its something a bond film shouldnt be, i **** hate bland films, and this one was so mediocre i cant remember anything about its plot, just so unmemorable Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
manofthemoonJan 17, 2015
Rushed into production and it shows in every way, "Quantum of Solace" is a major disappointment after the excellent "Casino Royale". Directed, shot and cut as though it's a commercial, "QoS" also makes the mistake of trying to compete withRushed into production and it shows in every way, "Quantum of Solace" is a major disappointment after the excellent "Casino Royale". Directed, shot and cut as though it's a commercial, "QoS" also makes the mistake of trying to compete with the Jason Bourne series by dragging story and plot over from "Casino Royale", defeating the strong, stand alone stories that have worked for 50 films so far (as of 2014). Love interests should stay inside each story. The cast are strong against a weak script and terrible direction, to sadly make "QoS" one of the weakest outings in the entire franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
vikesh2206Nov 9, 2014
Although it is action-packed and very entertaining, Quantum of Solace can't help feel like a corny popcorn action flick which derivates from all other action movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SatiricalewokNov 8, 2014
This film is a mess. There are good features, the theme song is one of the best yet, Daniel Craig is yet again very good. But really the film is needlessly hard to follow, it feels awfully disjointed and the villain is not a charismatic one.This film is a mess. There are good features, the theme song is one of the best yet, Daniel Craig is yet again very good. But really the film is needlessly hard to follow, it feels awfully disjointed and the villain is not a charismatic one. This would all be fine if it was enjoyable during the film, but it's not really, it's a bit boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
beingryanjudeSep 4, 2014
Coming off the heels of the wonderful Casino Royale, Quantum is a surprising disappointment. Clearly, our director and Daniel Craig felt a tad bit too confident and lost their way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaAug 25, 2014
Mr. Bond is back. His last mission is still rattling the 007 and the MI6's trust in him, which causes constant conflicts as Bond continues to hunt for the men responsible for the death of the woman he loved - and who then betrayed her.

The
Mr. Bond is back. His last mission is still rattling the 007 and the MI6's trust in him, which causes constant conflicts as Bond continues to hunt for the men responsible for the death of the woman he loved - and who then betrayed her.

The story takes him to places around the world, he meets two women on the road (although only one lasts to round two, rendering the "other Bond girl" completely pointless), makes more enemies than is healthy for one man and keeps on getting up and killing people who might be more useful alive.

The action wasn't entirely non-stop, there wasn't that much scheming, but the story carried itself pretty well and there were enough stunts and flashes to cover any major flaws.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysMar 12, 2014
"Quantum of Solace" might be the least best in the Daniel Craig series, but that doesn't mean it's bad. It's just a bit short of these awesome movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Iky009Jan 3, 2014
Se destaca como o mais fraco da era Craig, simplesmente foi o mais mal produzido que seu anterior e seu antecessor uma pena que nem a carisma de Craig tenha salva esse filme mediano.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
eagleeyevikingDec 13, 2013
Although it is action-packed and very entertaining, Quantum of Solace can't help feel like a typical popcorn action flick which derivates from all other action movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Quantum of Solace is an action packed hot mess.
The entire movie is plagued with absolute horrible direction, compact with terrible cut scenes. It relies heavily on jumpy cameras and snappy one liners that it simply doesn't work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mymediaSep 30, 2013
I watched this movie with skepticism but was truly surprised and happy with the end result. The action sequences are sublime and the story is more than entertaining. Bond is well represented and well played. I may be a minority for lovingI watched this movie with skepticism but was truly surprised and happy with the end result. The action sequences are sublime and the story is more than entertaining. Bond is well represented and well played. I may be a minority for loving this film but I feel it has everything that makes the Bond character amazing. Love the movie from start to finish! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
alexthegreatSep 10, 2013
On the positive side, I still enjoyed Daniel Craig's performance as James Bond, the score was excellent, and the action scenes was somewhat creditable, but on the negative side, I had a huge problem about the story, the editing, the pacing,On the positive side, I still enjoyed Daniel Craig's performance as James Bond, the score was excellent, and the action scenes was somewhat creditable, but on the negative side, I had a huge problem about the story, the editing, the pacing, and the main villain became so much bland. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DibbHansenJul 16, 2013
Another modern Bond film, that is a sequel to 'Casino Royale' mostly disappoints. I find it is the worst of the Bond films, but it has some cool action and good acting in it. The story is terrible, the music is good (except for the awfulAnother modern Bond film, that is a sequel to 'Casino Royale' mostly disappoints. I find it is the worst of the Bond films, but it has some cool action and good acting in it. The story is terrible, the music is good (except for the awful theme song) and the fact that this Bond film relies mostly on Bourne type things, this does not feel like much of a Bond film. So in conclusion, this is the worst Bond film, but it had its good moments- but they were mostly rare. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
WalkingDead5640Jul 10, 2013
It's not a perfect follow up the phenomenon and just on the average mark. The story is wasted just as the dull villain who may look creepy, does nothing memorable. Other supporting cast are either wasted or good. What this film does deliverIt's not a perfect follow up the phenomenon and just on the average mark. The story is wasted just as the dull villain who may look creepy, does nothing memorable. Other supporting cast are either wasted or good. What this film does deliver is very exciting and outstanding action scenes, with some of the best of the series and touching moments. I still disagree with the fast cut editing like a Bourne movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24May 10, 2013
It may not be edited perfectly or nearly three-quarters as well-crafted as its predecessor, but "Quantum Of Solace" still stands tall as a thrillingly engrossing Bond film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
CaestusMar 11, 2013
Quantum of Solace dont live up to its expatiation, having a poor pace and bad editing. An average action film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
StevenFFeb 19, 2013
It was always going to be difficult following the raging success of 'Casino Royale', but to throw out this messy and flash bang action film with a downright boring and far too realistic plot, it just felt top heavy.
I love films that take a
It was always going to be difficult following the raging success of 'Casino Royale', but to throw out this messy and flash bang action film with a downright boring and far too realistic plot, it just felt top heavy.
I love films that take a realistic turn, Batman Begins being the best example, but with this mediocre plot of water and large deserts with hotels and perverted soldiers inside, this was not meant for James Bond, gone is the smooth and fluid dialogue and controlled action of Daniel Craig's debut, and in its a place an explosive and a cut too many action flick that was a step back, but that doesn't mean its a bad film.
Starting basically where the last film left off, we open with a pulsating chase in Bonds Aston Martin, being pursued through various close call cliffs by Alfa Romeo's, and this sets up the film for what it is, an action rampage. After a betrayal brings Bond and M back to London in an attempt to investigate the organisation known as Quantum, Bond rescues Camille (Olga Kurylenko) who was the victim of a failed assassination from her boyfriend, and main antagonist Dominic Greene (Mathieu Amalric).
M continues to be weary of Bond after the events of the first film, obersving his continuing reckless and raging behaviour, Daniel Craig expertly carries this film, and for all its failures, he is the one shining light. His ability to convey Bond's emotion through excessive violence is certainly a step away from what is expected of this British spy, but for this realistic nature of conveying human emotion, Craig must be lauded.
There are plenty of set pieces and explosions to rival the Die Hards and Bournes of this world, but this is the faltering moment of the film, because Bond simply isn't an adrenaline junkie or a flat out superhero, he is an MI6 operative doing his job, and Solace seems to forget this.
The writing is spot on, but the plot and story is messy to the point of there being very little point to many of the characters in the film, the appearance of the beautiful Gemma Arterton as MI6 agent Strawberry Fields just seems pointless.
It certainly isn't a bad film, its still miles apart from the later Brosnan days, but it is still unfortunately further a field than Casino Royale, its weak, slow, and sometimes just too much of a good thing.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
thenthomwaslikeJan 24, 2013
first things first. this movie has some of the worst film editing i've ever seen. it cuts between cameras in literally less than 1 second intervals. and it blatantly ignores decades of bond lore, as well as the scientific laws of time. ifirst things first. this movie has some of the worst film editing i've ever seen. it cuts between cameras in literally less than 1 second intervals. and it blatantly ignores decades of bond lore, as well as the scientific laws of time. i heard great things about skyfall so i figured i would catch up with daniel craig's bond beforehand, but i would recommend just skipping this one altogether. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
WiesyJan 18, 2013
This is a very good action movie. The story is good, The cast is good, just everything is good. I give this movie an 8 because I expected more as casino royal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
imthenoobJan 2, 2013
No where near as good as the previous Bond film. Pretty much lacks in every area - Acting, Plot, Villain sucks, and the action isn't as good either. A bit disapointing imo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DanteTheCynicDec 18, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A love letter to Timothy Dalton's 'License to Kill', Quantum is a great action film, but not so much a great Bond film. To be fair, the film's quality isn't it's fault, because of a writer's strike that was going on at the time. Still, there aren't that many girls or gadgets. Simply a boat load of action. If you've seen the trailer, try to imagine an entire movie of just that: Simple, gritty violence. The main villain is forgettable, but where the film shines is it's modern day answer to SPECTRE, Quantum. The name makes little sense, as it literally means 'Amount', but other than that, the film is pretty decent. A good watch for bond junkies, but it may not be worth more than one or two viewings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
jos95Dec 11, 2012
This was a bitter disappointment compared to Casino Royale, ditching a substantial story for a string of action scenes. The plot is ruined by its eco subtext, which gets tedious and annoying. The villain wasn't sinister at all, he was theThis was a bitter disappointment compared to Casino Royale, ditching a substantial story for a string of action scenes. The plot is ruined by its eco subtext, which gets tedious and annoying. The villain wasn't sinister at all, he was the sort of guy you'd take out for a beer. The lack of originality is incredibly obvious, the action scenes gave me serious deja vu of the M:I series, and Bond's subplot of his eagerness to avenge Vesper Lynd shamelessly borrows from The Bourne Supremacy. The ending is atrocious, since when would Bond leave the Bond girl stranded in a Bolivian desert town? The gaps in logic are bigger than Jupiter, he puts Vesper's father's corpse in a dumpster instead of having a proper burial, and some random guy comes and fights Bond in a hotel with no connection to the plot whatsoever. Worst of all is the shaky cam and rapid fire editing, which dominated the action making it difficult to watch. The only things giving me points to this movie are Daniel Craig's gritty portrayal of Bond, and the holographic table scene, that's all. Topping Casino Royale was always going to be difficult, but Quantum of Solace doesn't even come close. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
shineonsunfishNov 29, 2012
I'm going to go against the grain here and say that I really, really like this movie. I am not a fan of old Bond - I loved Casino Royale, and think that this film really stands up as a sequel to it. I liked that it had one, clear plot, andI'm going to go against the grain here and say that I really, really like this movie. I am not a fan of old Bond - I loved Casino Royale, and think that this film really stands up as a sequel to it. I liked that it had one, clear plot, and tied in well with Casino. At the end of that film, Bond realizes he has been betrayed by the only woman that he ever let himself love - he responds by shutting his feelings off entirely, and beginning a mad quest for revenge. The action scenes are smart and quick, and Olga Kurylenko as Camila is extremely beautiful, but also very interesting with a subplot of her own. There are so many small character building moments in this film, and the villain leads us to believe that there is a sinister Bilderberg type group pulling the strings for all of these coups in major countries. Nice to see Felix back again, and the political intrigue parts of the film were sharp. M's maternal relationship with Bond is subtly expanded upon. The Opera scene is flipping brilliant. Overall, I think that this is one of my favorite action movies of all time, and honestly it's super underrated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
NerungNov 22, 2012
A decent film but it does not manage to compensate for its bland concept. The story is uninspired and all about the film seems like a standard formula. All in all, the film is okay but still one of the weaker Bonds.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
jwt7000Nov 20, 2012
This movie is a toss-up since License to Kill. A corny and weak plot so unimaginable winds up being concentrated on something else. Also the movie is short despite five good action scenes and there's nothing else special in this one.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
bosnianNov 12, 2012
Loses a lot of the emotion of Casino Royale as well as character development and story. Villain is forgettable and finale underwhelming. Still, far from a bad movie especially in the sea of below average action movies out today.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
Not even the writers themselves could keep up with the plot. There's no problem with the action sequences and Daniel Craig is spot on, but at one point, Bond is poisoned. The poison doesn't seem to affect him in the next scene. Big oops.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SeriosityNov 4, 2012
Like a solid second act. Ends up being only a follow up to the original instead of its own movie. A step down from Casino Royale, but I'm still looking forward to future installments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
axelkochNov 3, 2012
A big step back after Casino Royale. The action isn't really rememberable (like the parkour fight in its predecessor) and the actors are bad. You have to put feelings into it to make Daniel Craig endurable - like in Casino Royale. It's just aA big step back after Casino Royale. The action isn't really rememberable (like the parkour fight in its predecessor) and the actors are bad. You have to put feelings into it to make Daniel Craig endurable - like in Casino Royale. It's just a sequel to it, which is a short movie but is longsome. 'Quantum Of Solace' is not that bad because you can enjoy it as a moderate action movie but they could've done way better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jordiNov 2, 2012
Muy aceptable. Acción a raudales desde el primer minuto. Continuidad con la anterior entrega de Daniel Craig. Globalización a tope, enseñándonos como la economía y el poder pasan por encima de losMuy aceptable. Acción a raudales desde el primer minuto. Continuidad con la anterior entrega de Daniel Craig. Globalización a tope, enseñándonos como la economía y el poder pasan por encima de los mandatarios. Lealtad. En contra algunas escenas con demasiado movimiento que necesitan un esfuerzo de concentración, así como el deseo de venganza y demasiadas muertes. Es cierto que después de la venganza se nos muestra que esta deja igualmente un vacío.
Fabulosa la interpretación tanto de Daniel Craig como de Judi Dench.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TokyochuchuOct 28, 2012
Quantum of Solace turns back the clock on Casino Royale's unconventional structure to bring about a more traditional Bond adventure. Craig still makes for an excellent 007, investing the role with emotional gravitas. The action scenes areQuantum of Solace turns back the clock on Casino Royale's unconventional structure to bring about a more traditional Bond adventure. Craig still makes for an excellent 007, investing the role with emotional gravitas. The action scenes are more fantastical than it's predecessor and as such have that tangible James Bond feel to them. Quantum of Solace is a good movie, even though it makes me cry to see a DB7 banged up so roughly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Andys_ReviewsOct 14, 2012
Production wise, I couldn
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
pauljohnsonOct 7, 2012
It's not great, but its not terrible either. The plot feels confused at many points as to what it wants to be in terms of its themes and story goals, and as a result it feels like a string of under-developed plot points. Some characters, suchIt's not great, but its not terrible either. The plot feels confused at many points as to what it wants to be in terms of its themes and story goals, and as a result it feels like a string of under-developed plot points. Some characters, such as Fields are largely pointless, and Greene as the villain is not threatening at best, and just uninteresting at worst. Not that the actor does not do a good job with the material he had. Craig and Dench save the film with their stellar performances in their roles, and Craig especially in his role as the brooding, vengeful Bond. On the whole, it just feels confused as to what it wants to be, but its entertaining enough to hold your attention. Oh, and the song for this film is awful. Roll on Skyfall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SamblixAug 14, 2012
Bond is angry. Quantum of Solace shows Bond like never before, setting out on a mission of vengeance and a lot of explosions. Daniel Craig again portrays Bond in a new light, darker, grittier, angrier yet this movie falls short in comparisonBond is angry. Quantum of Solace shows Bond like never before, setting out on a mission of vengeance and a lot of explosions. Daniel Craig again portrays Bond in a new light, darker, grittier, angrier yet this movie falls short in comparison to it's predecessors. Where Casino Royale showed us a new Bond isn't necessary a bad thing, Quantum of Solace shows us that, too much of the same thing, is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Sub-zero52Aug 4, 2012
I'll tell you straight! The film Quantum of Solace is not for everyone. Those who watched movies as a child because of the steep Bond shootouts, chases, fights will be very upset because of their absence. And those who watched them becauseI'll tell you straight! The film Quantum of Solace is not for everyone. Those who watched movies as a child because of the steep Bond shootouts, chases, fights will be very upset because of their absence. And those who watched them because the story will be completely satisfied. You can also recommend this film to those who did not sign with the Bond. They will appear in this film a masterpiece. I belong to the latter. So I put it the highest rating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
movie2187Jan 3, 2012
Stuck on this film, the story editing is great and fast moving for all the right reasons, but some action scenes (such as the opening) makes no logical sense, Yes it's thrilling (In large thanx to the sound effects) but It is dizzyingStuck on this film, the story editing is great and fast moving for all the right reasons, but some action scenes (such as the opening) makes no logical sense, Yes it's thrilling (In large thanx to the sound effects) but It is dizzying instead of entertaining. The film is well made but the half a second editing still enhances the film at certain times (planes chase sequence, hotel room fight) and hurts at others. The film is well written for the genre and actually improves certain aspects of Casino Royale, but the overproduced editing hurts it from being better than Casino Royale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
spadenxDec 31, 2011
It really sorted of abandoned all plot in exchange for good action sequences. I did like however that Craig was able to show a more serious side then he did in the previous film, Even though it made his character come off a bit of an emo (butIt really sorted of abandoned all plot in exchange for good action sequences. I did like however that Craig was able to show a more serious side then he did in the previous film, Even though it made his character come off a bit of an emo (but thats because of the poor script, not Craig himself). Also the film was pretty much a knock off of The Bourne Ultimatum. The action sequences reminded me a lot about that film and it made Quantum Of Solace look cheesey.

Overall the film is a huge step down from the first film, I expected better.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Commander_JimDec 14, 2011
An underrated gem of a Bond film. No, its not your usual epic, lavish Bond adventure. It is instead a very taut action thriller in the vein of films like Taken and euro-thrillers. I have no doubt that in years to come it will become moreAn underrated gem of a Bond film. No, its not your usual epic, lavish Bond adventure. It is instead a very taut action thriller in the vein of films like Taken and euro-thrillers. I have no doubt that in years to come it will become more highly regarded as other "different" Bond films like On Her Majestys Secret Service and Licence To Kill have. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
Daniel Craig is good in this film once again. The action sequences are good and film in general is good as well but not as great as the previous fim. I still enjoyed it though.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
steveos69Nov 10, 2011
I am a huge Bond fan. I have read the Flemming novels and I have seen all movies. Quantum of Solace is my favourite Bond movie by a mile.
It has everything that you could want from a bond film. Awesome action, excellent acting, hot Bond
I am a huge Bond fan. I have read the Flemming novels and I have seen all movies. Quantum of Solace is my favourite Bond movie by a mile.
It has everything that you could want from a bond film. Awesome action, excellent acting, hot Bond girls, a realistic plot and a realistic villain with a genius plan. The car chase and fight scene are better shot and easier to follow than anything in the Bourne films. They're hard hitting and thrilling to watch.
It pays homage to most of the great early movies like Goldfinger and The Spy Who Loved Me.
Sean Connery played Bond just like the character in the Flemming novels but Daniel Craig is by far the best actor to ever portray Bond. He looks classy and he kicks ass when he needs to. Highly recommended.
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
7
Smartine7Oct 24, 2011
The plot is just slightly too complex to follow, the Bond-girls aren't quite as stunning, and the writing is not quite as polished as its predecessor. "Quantum"'s primary problem is that it had to follow "Casino Royale". A moderately-funThe plot is just slightly too complex to follow, the Bond-girls aren't quite as stunning, and the writing is not quite as polished as its predecessor. "Quantum"'s primary problem is that it had to follow "Casino Royale". A moderately-fun action movie, an adequate addition to the Bond franchise, but a below-average sequel. Regardless, it's still worth a look. Maybe even two or three. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
kingshahidOct 8, 2011
This movie had a lot of action. Aside that I had no clue what the story was. I never liked this actor as James Bond either. It was not worth sitting through but the action was packed.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
J-ShapAug 27, 2011
Daniel Craig still shows himself as one of the best Bonds ever, and I applaud the filmmakers for wanting to veer away from the campy days of yore, but this Bond film is so morose, in a bad way, that it comes across as a bland actionerDaniel Craig still shows himself as one of the best Bonds ever, and I applaud the filmmakers for wanting to veer away from the campy days of yore, but this Bond film is so morose, in a bad way, that it comes across as a bland actioner disguised as something more. Quantum of Solace is an average film, and that's arguably the worst thing one can be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CRLAug 4, 2011
Quantum of Solace was not a 'bad' film, but pales in the light of Casino Royale. It had huge potential with one of the best Bonds ever and what could have been an excellent plot, but in the end falls a bit short with too much action and notQuantum of Solace was not a 'bad' film, but pales in the light of Casino Royale. It had huge potential with one of the best Bonds ever and what could have been an excellent plot, but in the end falls a bit short with too much action and not enough clever story; enjoyable in itself but nowhere near the stellar mark of its predecessor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FolstarJul 19, 2011
I find the negative reviews of this film laughable: 1. I DOES NOT UNDRSTAND DER PLOT... why? because the film does not pause to explain everything like so many modern films do? Everyone I watched this film with understood the plot withoutI find the negative reviews of this film laughable: 1. I DOES NOT UNDRSTAND DER PLOT... why? because the film does not pause to explain everything like so many modern films do? Everyone I watched this film with understood the plot without many questions. 2. WATER? WATER?... being completely unaware of how valuable water is makes a poor excuse for disliking a film. Having no understanding of current events and problems is just sad. 3. SO MUCH AKTON IS NOT BOND... yes, it is. This film does action sequences better than the slow and clumsy Bond films of yesteryear and that is a good thing. 4. I LIKE BROSNAN BETTERER... yes, those were great movies. No one should question that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
moviegrabbagJun 13, 2011
Not up there with Casino Royale but a great follow up to it. The acting was still great but the movie rushed through its self a little bit. Daniel Craig still does a good job and makes me forget about that Pierce guy. Overall a very good movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Andy92May 21, 2011
i found this an enjoyable movie however what has let it down is too much action. The acting was good as you would expect from a james bond movie and so was the storyline. it was just too fast paced there was not much talk involved it neededi found this an enjoyable movie however what has let it down is too much action. The acting was good as you would expect from a james bond movie and so was the storyline. it was just too fast paced there was not much talk involved it needed to take sometime to slow down every so often Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Fail1Mar 3, 2011
Over dramitised

I now understand why people kill themselves, with movies like this and Casino Royale, what the h3ll is wrong with the directors of today. I believe the world would be better if the just drowned themselves in a bucket of their
Over dramitised

I now understand why people kill themselves, with movies like this and Casino Royale, what the h3ll is wrong with the directors of today. I believe the world would be better if the just drowned themselves in a bucket of their own urine and aired that instead of this crap. At least then people would be left with a sense of satisfaction. Very very poor.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DeVr33zAug 30, 2010
A huge disappointment after the stellar Casino Royale. Hopefully the next 007 film can try to bring back the Bond we all know and love. I don't like this brooding antihero guy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ERG1008Aug 24, 2010
Daniel Craig's second outing as 007.
BIG set pieces, lots of carnage (Bond seems to wreck every location he goes to), fast, furious & slightly silly.
Bit of a mess this one & doesn't really hold together as the brilliant Casino Royale did.
Daniel Craig's second outing as 007.
BIG set pieces, lots of carnage (Bond seems to wreck every location he goes to), fast, furious & slightly silly.
Bit of a mess this one & doesn't really hold together as the brilliant Casino Royale did.
Craig is fine & basically an emotionless maniac which, considering his profession, is what he'd be.
Nice perfomances also by Olga Kurylenko (Blimey Charlie!!) & the great but under-used Giancarlo Giannini.
The bad guys aren't as a prominent as other films but it's still a damn sight better than any of the awful Pierce Brosnan films.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
GoldenEye16Aug 22, 2010
Tooooo short and not enough lighter/comedic moments. All bond does is go around shooting people and then doesn't even kill the one guy at the end. The action was good besides the shaky camera which I personally don't like. Not really aTooooo short and not enough lighter/comedic moments. All bond does is go around shooting people and then doesn't even kill the one guy at the end. The action was good besides the shaky camera which I personally don't like. Not really a good bond movie but a decent action movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MDJul 22, 2009
My family and I were extremely disappointed in "Casino Royale" and after watching it again, I still can't figure out how it got any good reviews. "Quantum of Solace" on the other hand was much more enjoyable and DC finally starts to act My family and I were extremely disappointed in "Casino Royale" and after watching it again, I still can't figure out how it got any good reviews. "Quantum of Solace" on the other hand was much more enjoyable and DC finally starts to act more like James Bond rather than the thug he was in the previous movie. This movie is not perfect, but it was entertaining and it gives me hope that this "reinvented" Bond is evolving into someone we can like again. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
AnthonyFJul 16, 2009
Never have I been this critical with any Bond film. The Man with the Golden Gun was pretty bad, but this one was just off the charts. Never have I seen a Bond film suffer from an identity crisis this bad. The film is a mess. The Never have I been this critical with any Bond film. The Man with the Golden Gun was pretty bad, but this one was just off the charts. Never have I seen a Bond film suffer from an identity crisis this bad. The film is a mess. The screeplay's a mess, the action scenes are a mess and even the climax is a mess. I don't think James Bond needed to be restarted, I think he needed a good screenplay thrown his way. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
6
CiaranGJun 29, 2009
With absolutely no explanation of what is going on from scene to scene, what could potentially be a very interesting storyline becomes a mess of over-dramatic action scenes. James Bond just happens to find himself in exotic places on boats, With absolutely no explanation of what is going on from scene to scene, what could potentially be a very interesting storyline becomes a mess of over-dramatic action scenes. James Bond just happens to find himself in exotic places on boats, planes and fast cars but with no explanation... Also, for the first time, I get the feeling that this James Bond is as bad as the other villains! James Bond is supposed to be the hero, not the revenge-seeking murderous d*ck. Action scenes are fun to watch and they happen in a good variety of locations around the world - this is all that saves this film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TonyHMay 8, 2009
I enjoy the way Daniel Craig interprets his Bond character and really appreciate that there is less focus on the "gadgetry" than in all the Bond movies. I really get a sense that this Bond cares about what and why he does what he does for a living.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AlexHMay 7, 2009
A horrible film consisting of no plot, no story, no acting and no sense. James Bond is not a action hero, get that straight Hollywood, and next time actually try to make a new Bond film a good one and a memorable one. "Quantum of Solace" is A horrible film consisting of no plot, no story, no acting and no sense. James Bond is not a action hero, get that straight Hollywood, and next time actually try to make a new Bond film a good one and a memorable one. "Quantum of Solace" is one of the worst of 2008. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
LawrenceTMay 5, 2009
This movie could have had some of the best action sequences. But it lacked that and lacked the charm which you would expext from a bond. Daniel is making the franchise fall because everywoman he sleeps with dies. He should have had a bond This movie could have had some of the best action sequences. But it lacked that and lacked the charm which you would expext from a bond. Daniel is making the franchise fall because everywoman he sleeps with dies. He should have had a bond with no sequels. But this film puts the hype and has more action which I like and I loved this movie because we saw something new instead of all the James Bond movies. He is not trying to save the world and he is just out for revenge. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
EmanTMay 4, 2009
Never before has there been such abuse of the name bond. All those years theve spent building a franchise only to have this aboination to come along. The story was week and confussing, the fighting was good but covereing a girl in oil??? Never before has there been such abuse of the name bond. All those years theve spent building a franchise only to have this aboination to come along. The story was week and confussing, the fighting was good but covereing a girl in oil??? Come up with an orginal idea rather than stealing from other bond films. Everyone envovled is a turd. End of. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
SteveCApr 16, 2009
What a dismal Bond movie. It had none of the character development or plot of the last one. Purely two-dimensional. On top of that, the actions scenes are shot in the increasingly popular super-close style that makes it so you can't What a dismal Bond movie. It had none of the character development or plot of the last one. Purely two-dimensional. On top of that, the actions scenes are shot in the increasingly popular super-close style that makes it so you can't tell what's actually going on. I frequently couldn't determine which black car or black suit was chasing the other. Overall, profoundly disappointing. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful
8
GeorgeMApr 6, 2009
Bond is back again...and Craig is on his second film playing everyone's favorite spy. Quantum picks up alsmot immediately after the events of the Casino Royale...so there is little time to get ready for this film, because it starts out Bond is back again...and Craig is on his second film playing everyone's favorite spy. Quantum picks up alsmot immediately after the events of the Casino Royale...so there is little time to get ready for this film, because it starts out "balls to the wall" and rarely lets up till the big explosive finale. In comparison to the first (Casino Royale), Quantum of Solace lacks a bit...whether it be the story the directorial style...nothing about this film seems as elegant or as well put together as its predecessor...it definately amps up the action a few notches however. The action scenes better choreographed and far more explosive...so it certainly excedes Casino in that regard. It's really the story and lack of substance that make this film a bit ho-hum at times...its just not interesting to follow, something about a greedy enviromentalist on the hunt for oil and he isn't afraid to lie and kill to get what he wants and then this even less important story about a girl trying to get revenge on a general for brutally killing her family (yawn)...but you really won't care about any of that, it almost seems like filler until you get to the real meat of what this movie is about...ACTION and lots of it, as its easy to see where most of the care went. Casino Royale is a far more polished Bond film...Quantum is certainly watchable and its actually quite entertaining as a hollow action film, it dosent seem to really expand on the Bond character other than we know he is even MORE upset and far more lethal in his methods now than before. it comes HIGHLY RECOMMENDED...if you are looking for action, this is it, if you are looking for story....i strongy recommend you watch Casino Royale to catch up. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
CutSceneApr 4, 2009
The most action-oriented Bond movie that I can remember seeing. I don't have a problem with that, but I do have a problem with the way the scenes were done. I literally can't watch the action scenes in the movie. I get so The most action-oriented Bond movie that I can remember seeing. I don't have a problem with that, but I do have a problem with the way the scenes were done. I literally can't watch the action scenes in the movie. I get so frustrated by following whats going on through the cut-scene-orama that it makes me angry. Did anyone who made this movie actually watch it when they were done? That was a rhetorical question because the answer is obvious. No. My advice - dont drink 26 cups of coffee before you edit the next Bond movie. Thanks. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
3
MichelleSMar 28, 2009
I really did not enjoy this movie at all. I gave it a 3 because, for an action movie it had some cool action sequences. I didn't care for any of the actors in the movie either. I didn't care for the story.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JaredJMar 25, 2009
Okay, after the horrid "Casino Royale," I thought that this was going to be a lot cleaner. It wasn't. The clasic "Gun barrel" opening was tossed away to the end of the film and done with horrorfying results. Bond is no longer an Agent Okay, after the horrid "Casino Royale," I thought that this was going to be a lot cleaner. It wasn't. The clasic "Gun barrel" opening was tossed away to the end of the film and done with horrorfying results. Bond is no longer an Agent he is a midless killing machine. Oh and if this is still part of 007's first mission EVER WHY THE *@!$ IS IT IN MODERN TIMES?! After "Die Another Day" we no longer get to see what Bond's next adventure is the re did the whole thing with crappy decisions! No story, tons of action that is poorly developed and RIPS off of Classic bond films! "Goldfinger" is in here but rip offed of it as well as "GoldenEye," "Thunderball," and "Live and Let Die" It has the Bond movie title and logo but it is NOT a Bond film, complete garbage. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful
6
TomHMar 24, 2009
Spectacular scenes and good rhythm.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JayHMar 22, 2009
It has all the right ingredients for a Bond flick - rapid pace, plenty of explosions, car chases, great special effects, great international settings and over the top action. Not the best of the Bond films, but it works. Very entertaining, It has all the right ingredients for a Bond flick - rapid pace, plenty of explosions, car chases, great special effects, great international settings and over the top action. Not the best of the Bond films, but it works. Very entertaining, outstanding production values. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DougRFeb 7, 2009
Pitiful Bond movie. The last two are a real let down. No super spy gadgets, cars, etc. Just blow 'em away brutality. A raw film that rubbed me raw. In attempting to make super spying into some gritty, hardcore killer flick, the writers Pitiful Bond movie. The last two are a real let down. No super spy gadgets, cars, etc. Just blow 'em away brutality. A raw film that rubbed me raw. In attempting to make super spying into some gritty, hardcore killer flick, the writers have fallen prey to a neverland that would have the 00 spies bouncing off their asylum walls. Way over the top without the fantasy gadgets...too much unreal realism. What can I say to some it up? It was a real downer. Redeeming lines within the thing about forgiveness...that was good. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
MeJan 16, 2009
Where was the debonair 007? New 007 has no class, no catchy lines that got laughs, and completely lacks any sophistication as other Bond actors. Furthermore, the movie lacked the most entertaining elements: Where were Q and Moneypennie? Where was the debonair 007? New 007 has no class, no catchy lines that got laughs, and completely lacks any sophistication as other Bond actors. Furthermore, the movie lacked the most entertaining elements: Where were Q and Moneypennie? Where were the cool gadgets we've come to expect to see in all Bond movies? Again I ask where were the "Phrases that Pay"? Furthermore this movie was poorly edited. All action scenes were limited to an ungodly half second. They must have not done any retaked for the flubbed scenes and pieced together all the stuff they liked in the end to make it so choppy and hard to watch/follow with your eyes. Gave me a real headache. A true waste of film and the money DH and I spent to see this poorly filmed, acted and letdown of a 007 film. Truly a big letdown compared to Brosnan, Connery, Moore and Lazenby. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DanSJan 10, 2009
Plot, editing, and acting aside, I'm surprised no one seems to be complaining about the rapid-fire attempted rapes near the end. I'm not a huge Bond fan, but part of the fun of these movies is the cartoonishness. Moon-based lasers? Plot, editing, and acting aside, I'm surprised no one seems to be complaining about the rapid-fire attempted rapes near the end. I'm not a huge Bond fan, but part of the fun of these movies is the cartoonishness. Moon-based lasers? Fun. Slightly disturbing brutality? Not so much. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
4
SMDec 30, 2008
Although Quantum of Solace was kind of a continuation to Casino Royal, the latter was at least ten times more thrilling and thought-provoking than the former, and I guess this pretty much explains why everyone is disappointed with this new Although Quantum of Solace was kind of a continuation to Casino Royal, the latter was at least ten times more thrilling and thought-provoking than the former, and I guess this pretty much explains why everyone is disappointed with this new Bond movie. However, there is still enough excitement to watch it once. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MBDec 23, 2008
So yes it's confusing. And yes upon leaving I had many unanswered questions. Not a huge fan of simply taking off from where the last left off. As I wasn't prepared for this I spent most of the opening car chase trying to remember So yes it's confusing. And yes upon leaving I had many unanswered questions. Not a huge fan of simply taking off from where the last left off. As I wasn't prepared for this I spent most of the opening car chase trying to remember the last bond film I watched two years ago. All that aside, the action is great. Craig is by far the most legitimate Bond character ever. Yes Connery was great, but Craig's character is a nice change from the boyish, unrealistic bonds of old. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DonK.Dec 20, 2008
The dialogue between Bond and M was just not convincing. Was the plot lame? Probably. What was the whole point dragging the poor guy from his home in he Mediterranean to get locked up in the trunk of a car in Bolivia - and eventually get The dialogue between Bond and M was just not convincing. Was the plot lame? Probably. What was the whole point dragging the poor guy from his home in he Mediterranean to get locked up in the trunk of a car in Bolivia - and eventually get killed? Yes teh plot was lame.... You don't speak to a President that way - sign the deal or you will get replaced. And if Bond could bumpo him off, why not the Bolivian President (or whoever that character was).... Still it was great entertainment. Awesome. So I give it a 7. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DominicG.Dec 20, 2008
Really enjoyed this movie - so much better than expected after reading mised reviews. The Bond team have truly reinvigorated this frachise just when it was on its last legs. A gripping, suspenseful plot that keeps the audience guessing, Really enjoyed this movie - so much better than expected after reading mised reviews. The Bond team have truly reinvigorated this frachise just when it was on its last legs. A gripping, suspenseful plot that keeps the audience guessing, worthy characters and break neck action sequences. I hope they can maintain this quality standard for the next one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeL.Dec 19, 2008
This story, while not written by Ian Flemming, is the natural extension of Casino Royale. Quantum of Solace explores the personal and professional issue that James Bond deals with in 'becomming Bond'. I found the film to be This story, while not written by Ian Flemming, is the natural extension of Casino Royale. Quantum of Solace explores the personal and professional issue that James Bond deals with in 'becomming Bond'. I found the film to be intelligent, well paced and in keeping with the Ian Flemming tradition. Quantum of solace should be viewed 3 to 4 times to truly appreciate the 'Art' of film making that was put into this project. Enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimonM.Dec 13, 2008
I enjoyed this film! This is the only time since the mediocre "License to Kill" where Bond has been in official REVENGE mode, and Dalton didn't do it half as well as Craig. Sure it wasn't all quips and one liners, a'la Moore. I enjoyed this film! This is the only time since the mediocre "License to Kill" where Bond has been in official REVENGE mode, and Dalton didn't do it half as well as Craig. Sure it wasn't all quips and one liners, a'la Moore. Never the less I'm really liking this so called "gritty" Bond. My only trivial gripe was with the Bond baddy's lack of a gimmick (No deformity or pet peeve?!?). In the end: Great Bond film. Great revenge film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GabrielJ.Dec 11, 2008
well I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
tankjDec 11, 2008
I'm not sure why everyone wants to see the same cheesy Bond movie. Craig is the best bond yet (sorry Sean). The action in this movie is spectacular. It is not quite as good as Casino Royale but still very good.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JamesBondDec 10, 2008
Village Voice has it right - this was edited in a blender set on indecipherable. Utter garbage. Give me Brosnan or any other Bond for that matter. The director should never be allowed to work again.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RichardSDec 10, 2008
The worst Bond film of all time. I thought nothing could be worse than Die Another Day. This manages it with some aplomb. The direction is horrible - all split second jump cuts designed to create excitement and stimulate action. It does The worst Bond film of all time. I thought nothing could be worse than Die Another Day. This manages it with some aplomb. The direction is horrible - all split second jump cuts designed to create excitement and stimulate action. It does nothing of the sort, only creating a sense of nausea. The story is boring and flat. Give me back the megalomaniac who wants world control and save me from these weary eco-stories. This has NOTHING in common with any Bond film. No sexiness, no gadgets, no exciting villain, no villain's lair, no henchman, no decent theme, no John Barry music, no intro, no nothing. The worst Bond film or all time, maybe one of the worst films of the year. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful