Screen Gems | Release Date: October 10, 2008
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 141 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
68
Mixed:
34
Negative:
39
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
grandpajoe6191Sep 30, 2011
They might as well change the title "Quarantine" into "[REC] 2.5".
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
AaronK.Oct 13, 2008
Scary movie not the greatest movie but good enough to go with your friends and leave satisfied and freaked.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MovieGoer14Aug 17, 2013
Quarantine delivers outstanding performances that you can't caught the actors acting. The story is dark, twisted and claustrophobic in many ways. The movie is shocking and scary. Although I didn't have the chance to watch the original yet,Quarantine delivers outstanding performances that you can't caught the actors acting. The story is dark, twisted and claustrophobic in many ways. The movie is shocking and scary. Although I didn't have the chance to watch the original yet, but I am going to give it a solid 9. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
LorenaDeLaRosaMar 9, 2009
Fantastic, this kind of movie always makes you wonder, and think. . ., this could be happening alredy. Can you imagine, a loony making powerful virus, and everybody knows that these loonys exists, and they are working at this moment in this Fantastic, this kind of movie always makes you wonder, and think. . ., this could be happening alredy. Can you imagine, a loony making powerful virus, and everybody knows that these loonys exists, and they are working at this moment in this poisons . . . well, thats it, and the main caracter, she was wonderful, bye. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadDOct 12, 2008
Scary....Scary....Scary I was yelling and shaking the whole movie. I cant even put into words how scary it is....Worth Every Penny! Best Movie I have ever watched.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelFeb 20, 2009
This movie was very effective. It definitely scared me. Jennifer Carpenter was 20 times the actress than the horrible Heather Donahue (who single-handed nearly destroyed Blair Witch Project for me---plus her bad acting makes the character This movie was very effective. It definitely scared me. Jennifer Carpenter was 20 times the actress than the horrible Heather Donahue (who single-handed nearly destroyed Blair Witch Project for me---plus her bad acting makes the character even more annoying). Also, unlike Blair Witch and Cloverfield (both of which border on gimmicky due to not giving us a reason why the characters are keeping the camera rolling), the script does contain character motivation for the filming that occurred. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JohnnyM.Oct 10, 2008
This movie was good, but not for the reason I went there. I went there to get scared, what I got was a hilarious comedy. The audience was literally ROARING with laughter and applauding at parts that were supposed to be scary. Also, crappy This movie was good, but not for the reason I went there. I went there to get scared, what I got was a hilarious comedy. The audience was literally ROARING with laughter and applauding at parts that were supposed to be scary. Also, crappy advertising, they gave away the ending of "no survivors" and showed the last scene of the entire movie all the in the trailer! We knew exactly how it would end, so much for suspense. If you're in the mood to watch a really bad horror movie for the laughs, go, my stomach was hurting I was laughing so hard, and we all had a great time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KelseyPOct 12, 2008
I was going to give the Movie a 1 however the creators of the movie must of given out free homes to the people that freely handed the movie a 10 and I feel I have to balance the score so that no one will wander into this horrible movie I was going to give the Movie a 1 however the creators of the movie must of given out free homes to the people that freely handed the movie a 10 and I feel I have to balance the score so that no one will wander into this horrible movie unsuspectingly. Given that the movie had a pretty good idea for a plot the rest went to s***. I would like to say I saw the whole movie and that I could give you a full review of every scene but I spent nearly 20 minutes of the tragedy puking out the contents of my stomach. The "cloverfeild/blairwitch" camera work took my equilibrium on a hell of a rollercoaster and by the end of the movie my anger and rage at wasting money on such a movie was quelled by the need to overmedicate and sleep the rest of the day away. I wish that critics would stop praising this use of camera. It's terrible and looks as if pulled off by a highschool filming club. If I wanted to spend my day throwing up I'd eat gresy foods and ride spinning rides at the carnival. At least carnies are scarrier than this movie. I was proud of the movie for letting us know what was happening and where the disease came from (screw you Cloverfield) however I was urked by the character portrayal of the firemen and the cops. An average citizen may not know it but officers in a unit aren't just going to cut off all communications to the rest of the guys in the building. It's absurd that they would try to run a CDC operation without some sort of open communications with the officers in the building! There are so many other things wrong with this movie but my head and stomach STILL hurts from the awful camera shaking. All in all just save your gas money and don't go see it. It seriously isn't worth your time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
VaL.Oct 13, 2008
Most annoying lead actress EVER !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattT.Oct 13, 2008
one of the best horror movies I've seen in a long time.... I'm sure this movie will get bashed a lot but don't listen to those film buff nerds, this movie was awesome... very very scary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DemiM.Oct 17, 2008
I gave it an 7 because the special effects were good but I didn't like the actors. Although it did scare me, it was very scary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacobS.Oct 6, 2008
Freakin' amazing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jeaOct 9, 2008
The plot is really good, I saw the original spanish version of this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CJApr 20, 2009
Watched this on my own and in the dark and enjoyed it immensely. Jennifer Carpenter's acting was some of the best I've ever seen. This movie plays on atmosphere and tension, the way a good horror movie should. If you're into Watched this on my own and in the dark and enjoyed it immensely. Jennifer Carpenter's acting was some of the best I've ever seen. This movie plays on atmosphere and tension, the way a good horror movie should. If you're into the boring, teen slasher-style films like Texas Chainsaw Massacre or "torture porn" masquerading as horror like Hostel, then this film is probably not geared towards your interests. If you're a fan of classic paranoia horror like the The Thing, you'll enjoy this as much as I did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Oct 11, 2008
Inscribed onto the black asphalt in elongated white lettering, all in caps, is the traffic safety term "XING", a warning served to motorists about an upcoming crosswalk; "XING", as in crossing, pedestrians are crossing. The fire truck Inscribed onto the black asphalt in elongated white lettering, all in caps, is the traffic safety term "XING", a warning served to motorists about an upcoming crosswalk; "XING", as in crossing, pedestrians are crossing. The fire truck whooshes over the marking, over the "XING", en route to an apartment complex where the 911 call was dispatched to a brigade of firemen, who were in the midst of being profiled by a flirtatious news reporter named Angela Vidal. For sure, she's no Christine Amanpour, this one. Even as a cub reporter specializing in special interest stories, the journalist need not remit herself from performing her duty with some semblance of professionalism. At one point, she asks, "Do firefighters still slide down poles?" It's no wonder that the men don't take her position as a media type seriously, and worse yet, neither does she. When Angela overhears a candid remark on a fireman's mic about the plans he has for her, she seems more flattered than offended. At ground zero, at the scene of the quarantine, however, Angela gets her big break, a chance to prove her mettle as a hard-hitting reporter who can exhibit grace under pressure during a crisis. Alas, she's no Kimberly Wells(Jane Fonda) either, the special interest reporter in James Bridges' "The China Syndrome", whose story on energy production in nuclear power plants turns into an investigative report on public safety. At the outset, Angela talks a big game, instructing her cameraman to "film it all", but the pandemonium is too much for her. Angela is speechless, when it matters the most, whereas Kimberly delivered, and in doing so, "The China Syndrome" made its case for female journalists like Amanpour, and others just like her. (Wait! She has no peer.) "Quarantine" is indeed, an update of "The China Syndrome". The allusion to the 1979 thriller is made when that firetruck traverses over the "XING". "Xing" is a Chinese girl's name, meaning "apricot". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
meghanvOct 11, 2008
Loved it. Maybe one of the scariest movies I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
FrankM.Oct 11, 2008
Occasional "shocking" images that roused my attention kept this film from receiving a '0'. The acting was mediocre; and the performance by the female lead was horrendous. Her performance was so absurd as to be unbelievable; she was Occasional "shocking" images that roused my attention kept this film from receiving a '0'. The acting was mediocre; and the performance by the female lead was horrendous. Her performance was so absurd as to be unbelievable; she was an annoying distraction. The film itself consists of a movie crew running through a haunted house. Ugh. Do not see this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DanyH.Oct 11, 2008
Scared me at very few certain points, but the overall characters and decisions made by ALL was truly just bad film making. No explanations, no good ideas from anyone, just bad choices all over the place. They could have gone somewhere good Scared me at very few certain points, but the overall characters and decisions made by ALL was truly just bad film making. No explanations, no good ideas from anyone, just bad choices all over the place. They could have gone somewhere good with this one, but they still blew it. Next time, don't put the final scene of the movie in the trailer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DardoSOct 11, 2008
There is a HUUUUUUGE problem with this movie. Actually, the problem is not the movie. The problem is that "Quarantine" is a REMAKE. It is not an update of who-knows-what-film and definitely the only thing in common with The Blair Witch There is a HUUUUUUGE problem with this movie. Actually, the problem is not the movie. The problem is that "Quarantine" is a REMAKE. It is not an update of who-knows-what-film and definitely the only thing in common with The Blair Witch Project is the camera in hand thing. This is a REMAKE!, and as usually happens, it's crap. It's years light from the original one, the Spanish REC. If you want a comparison, this is Hollowood screwing it up again, like they did with Vanila Sky. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MicahD.Oct 11, 2008
Good enough to keep you on the edge of your seat. Acting was mediocre. The filming got tiresome very quickly with every shot being very tight and closeup and enough blur to make you wonder if you took your glasses off.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattI.Oct 12, 2008
So for those who want a real review read this. I have been through horror films for about 30years now, I've seen almost all you name it from the remakes to the classics to the just plain awful! Quarantine ranks up there with the horror So for those who want a real review read this. I have been through horror films for about 30years now, I've seen almost all you name it from the remakes to the classics to the just plain awful! Quarantine ranks up there with the horror remakes done right! Most on the people on here are most likely reviewing this movie based off trailers. If you actually saw this it was a quite shocking and suspenseful piece of cinema. It was definitely a horror gem compared to most of the awfully predictable and gore-fest garbage now a days. The acting was about average, Jennifer Carpenter gave a pretty convincing performance going through all the normal reactions that a normal human would be going through if they were in her situation. The point of view style of the camera was really well done, it wasn't overdone but it definitely was the selling point of the movie. The scares were truly genuine, not cheap scares and really made you jump or let out a scream here and there. Overall if you want a thrill ride that will put you on edge of your seat and in the end leaving nail marks in your armrest, then Quarantine is for you. Horror films like this don't come very often so go out and see it you won't be disappointed. Quarantine is the effective chiller that is enough to send you home with fear! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DaveP.Oct 13, 2008
All in all, not a bad movie. It's an action movie, and it never really goes beyond that. But it makes up for what it lacks in story and characters by doing what it does very well. The action is thrilling, and it never seems forced or All in all, not a bad movie. It's an action movie, and it never really goes beyond that. But it makes up for what it lacks in story and characters by doing what it does very well. The action is thrilling, and it never seems forced or uninteresting. It won't win awards, but that doesn't mean it's not entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CesarM.Oct 13, 2008
Pretty creepy stuff. I don't usually get scared with horror movies. This movie is a nice alternative to all that torture horror that's out right now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MichelleW.Oct 19, 2008
I saw the movie expecting a great horror film, but it was very much like 28 days later with extremely bad camera work, I got sick watching it, and it made me so mad because the camera was waving around and you couldn't make anything I saw the movie expecting a great horror film, but it was very much like 28 days later with extremely bad camera work, I got sick watching it, and it made me so mad because the camera was waving around and you couldn't make anything important out, then when she found the room with all the weird info and newspapers in it, it just skimmed over, but I never understood cause I COULDN'T see it clearly for the damn camera work..It also made me mad at the end you kinda remeber the set up her on the floor from the trailor, so you know what is about to happen, in my opinion, it had no ending whatsoever! everyone dies, if everyone dies, atleast show the aftermath or what the gov says or something! it just ends..it had a good foundation but didnt take it anywhere. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TommyBoyOct 23, 2008
Dizzy watching another "Blair Witch" hand held camera. However, much better the the fore mentioned. As of 10/23 movie has taken in $25 million...was made for $12 million (where the money went is a mystery) so it's on it's way for a Dizzy watching another "Blair Witch" hand held camera. However, much better the the fore mentioned. As of 10/23 movie has taken in $25 million...was made for $12 million (where the money went is a mystery) so it's on it's way for a net profit. No name stars so the "payroll" was small. Still...$12 million to make this..???? Another movie with a "sudden" ending leaving everyone pis...d off. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoseB.Oct 25, 2008
Horrile i saw it bootleg but still good enough too tell this is the worst movie ever better off watching beverly hills chihuahua.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewR.Oct 26, 2008
This movie has been the best Zombie-based movie I have ever watched. Why? Simple, it includes so many psychological implications that when the zombies finally appear you are already too sucked into the movie that you can feel the frustration This movie has been the best Zombie-based movie I have ever watched. Why? Simple, it includes so many psychological implications that when the zombies finally appear you are already too sucked into the movie that you can feel the frustration and fear the characters are feeling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TonyS.Oct 26, 2008
Overall much better than expected, I dug it plenty. If your a fan of the Blair Witch mock-umentary style stuff you will too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KeeganqBJan 28, 2009
I am really glad I didn't watch this in theaters... Seriously though if you watch the trailers you practically watched the entire movie in under a minute the rest is just filled in with screaming. I think it's pretty pathetic when I am really glad I didn't watch this in theaters... Seriously though if you watch the trailers you practically watched the entire movie in under a minute the rest is just filled in with screaming. I think it's pretty pathetic when the last 30 second of the movie are actually in the trailer. I really hope who ever came up with the ending gets hit by a bus, twice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
mattbFeb 15, 2009
If you watch this alone, at midnight, with the lights off and a surround-sound headset with the sound cranked way up, I guarantee you will enjoy this. It had some cheap scares, but it also had a nice high-tension atmosphere. Much better than If you watch this alone, at midnight, with the lights off and a surround-sound headset with the sound cranked way up, I guarantee you will enjoy this. It had some cheap scares, but it also had a nice high-tension atmosphere. Much better than your run-of-the-mill horror movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
EggsleyBagelfaceFeb 20, 2009
It wasn't a very good movie. Freaky, but not scary. I didn't like the camera shots, and everything was very predictable. Jennifer Carpenter was great, I just loved how she behaved when they had to put night-vision on. The disease It wasn't a very good movie. Freaky, but not scary. I didn't like the camera shots, and everything was very predictable. Jennifer Carpenter was great, I just loved how she behaved when they had to put night-vision on. The disease was unexplained, other that it was a jacked-up sort of super-Rabies. It allowed for a little five-year-old girl to take down a full grown man. No reasoning as to how. All-in-all, sucko movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RyanSMar 13, 2009
Another Blair Witch clone. Has a few creepy moments. A slightly different take on zombies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DeceticonPomMar 31, 2009
So bad, I plugged in my headphones and watched episodes of Arrested Development on my iPhone in the cinema whilst my partner carried on watching...before declaring "I wish you'd had a second headphone jack!"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JoeSApr 25, 2009
A disappointment. It was definitely a much better movie than Blair Witch but not nearly as good as Cloverfield, Quarantine felt like a cross between a SciFi original and someone's crappy video of their walk through a Halloween Haunted A disappointment. It was definitely a much better movie than Blair Witch but not nearly as good as Cloverfield, Quarantine felt like a cross between a SciFi original and someone's crappy video of their walk through a Halloween Haunted House. I was hoping for something that felt a little more... realistic. The characters behaved in very unnatural ways at times in some attempt to generate scares that only managed to take me "out of the moment." If you wanna see a mockumentary, watch Cloverfield instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
[Anonymous]Apr 25, 2009
these characters never shut up. there is constant banter and bickering. there is a shaky camera (yes, i get the "style" and "reason") and towards the end the light constantly flickers on and off, in which it took some aspirin to cure my these characters never shut up. there is constant banter and bickering. there is a shaky camera (yes, i get the "style" and "reason") and towards the end the light constantly flickers on and off, in which it took some aspirin to cure my aching head. without the foaming of the mouth and slower infection time these are DANNY BOYLE zombies. what a rip off. if you gotta see zombies, see 28 days later. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RobertH.Oct 11, 2008
WOW I cannot explain how disappointed I was with this movie. It's a combination of Diary Of The Dead And 28 Days Later. The plot... im sorry.. there wasn't one... as well as no explanation from beginning to end. Infection started WOW I cannot explain how disappointed I was with this movie. It's a combination of Diary Of The Dead And 28 Days Later. The plot... im sorry.. there wasn't one... as well as no explanation from beginning to end. Infection started where? How? Cult? They wouldn't use that? Number 2 they wouldn't be able to engineer that in an apartment building or be able to test it. WHERE DOES IT END? This movie was so fake and the script was horrible I don't even know where to start with how many things made no sense with this movie. Its so predictable. I loved the acting thats the only reason this gets a 3 at all. They did very well with the acting and the directing of the movie but the plot was written by the 5 year old girl that was infected in the movie...... I guess its what u expect from a movie that was written by Mexicans please stick to mowing my lawn, I'm so pissed at this movie right now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RobertH.Oct 11, 2008
WOW I cannot explain how disappointed I was with this movie. It's a combination of Diary Of The Dead And 28 Days Later. The plot... im sorry.. there wasn't one... as well as no explanation from beginning to end. Infection started WOW I cannot explain how disappointed I was with this movie. It's a combination of Diary Of The Dead And 28 Days Later. The plot... im sorry.. there wasn't one... as well as no explanation from beginning to end. Infection started where? How? Cult? They wouldn't use that? Number 2 they wouldn't be able to engineer that in an apartment building or be able to test it. WHERE DOES IT END? This movie was so fake and the script was horrible I don't even know where to start with how many things made no sense with this movie. Its so predictable. I loved the acting thats the only reason this gets a 3 at all. They did very well with the acting and the directing of the movie but the plot was written by the 5 year old girl that was infected in the movie...... I guess its what u expect from a movie that was written by Mexicans please stick to mowing my lawn, I'm so pissed at this movie right now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DodiT.Oct 12, 2008
The entire theatre was LAUGHING during the parts that were supposed to be scary. The Plot line was typical and easy to get ahead of.. They were just trying to get out a movie fast without thought or reason.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RS.Oct 13, 2008
The only reason i give this a 1 is because the scene where the cameraman beat one of the zombies, er rabies victims, to death with the camera was hilarious. Other than that, skip this, the female reporter wasn't too bad till near the The only reason i give this a 1 is because the scene where the cameraman beat one of the zombies, er rabies victims, to death with the camera was hilarious. Other than that, skip this, the female reporter wasn't too bad till near the end where I guess the director told her to "drop the credible but scared reporter doing her job, and do nothing but stagger around in abject terror at every sound" Really really bad, and yeah they basically killed everyone off so who is playing the camera tape is really unclear. At least in Cloverfield we are told it was recovered by the Government. Considering that in this movie everyone dies, who played the tape we are watching? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickH.Oct 15, 2008
That was one of the scariest movies I have ever seen, I love horror films and this is up at the top of the list. The way the movie is flimed makes it seem like your in the movie.. Great movie to see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JuniorC.Oct 18, 2008
This movie was bad i thought from the commericals that it was good but when i went to go see it and there was no end, like what happened to the building and did she die? The tv reporter in the whole movie she moaned and screamed because This movie was bad i thought from the commericals that it was good but when i went to go see it and there was no end, like what happened to the building and did she die? The tv reporter in the whole movie she moaned and screamed because there was no light.Funniest part was when the camera man beat the zombie with the camera! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BrendaS.Oct 18, 2008
Lamest movie of all motha' fuckin' time!!!!!!!!!!!!!! worst movie ive ever seen in my life. it was freakin' retarded! DONT SPEND UR MONEY ON THIS LAME MOVIE! was not scary at all. was funny only because it was that retarded. Lamest movie of all motha' fuckin' time!!!!!!!!!!!!!! worst movie ive ever seen in my life. it was freakin' retarded! DONT SPEND UR MONEY ON THIS LAME MOVIE! was not scary at all. was funny only because it was that retarded. totally ruined my excitment for this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JoshuaD.Oct 26, 2008
REC. Thats all I have to say. If you didn't like the ending well the Original VASTLY superior Spanish version won't be of any help. The movie was waaaay too bright to be scary. All I have to say is that the original is much much REC. Thats all I have to say. If you didn't like the ending well the Original VASTLY superior Spanish version won't be of any help. The movie was waaaay too bright to be scary. All I have to say is that the original is much much better, and had a reporter who wasn't as annoying as the one in Quarantine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
gamefriekFeb 26, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Compared to the Blair Witch Project, this movie was pretty cool. It was really well shot and the special effects were well done as well. The only problem is of course the camera; it just shakes and falls too much, which I guess makes it realistic, but it also makes the viewer angry after a while. The story wasn't the most original but it worked quite well for the setting. The characters were believable enough, which made the movie better in many ways. Also, theres actually suspense unlike the Blair Witch Project and I'm sorry to say Cloverfield. The ending was pretty decent , but could have been so much better than the main character getting dragged away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AlexOct 24, 2010
Nothing beats a bit of bludgeoning with a camera; this is a good film, very jumpy, and with a surprisingly and satisfyingly unique ending. I am a huge fan of Found Footage films, and I have to say that this is one of the best on the list soNothing beats a bit of bludgeoning with a camera; this is a good film, very jumpy, and with a surprisingly and satisfyingly unique ending. I am a huge fan of Found Footage films, and I have to say that this is one of the best on the list so far. It can get very scary in parts, and very jumpy too. However, in the more tense parts of the film, it becomes harder to follow because of the camera-all-over-the-place-ness. Otherwise, great film, worth a watch, but only slightly falls short of Blair With and Paranormal Activity.
8/10. Why? This is a well made film, the storyline is correct and realistic, and gives a nice punch of horror to boot.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerSep 11, 2012
Quarantine is a remake of the movie [Rec], a popular Spanish zombie movie series which as of today has just released a third instalment. I've never watched the [Rec] movie so I can't compare this to it, but from what I've read it's exactlyQuarantine is a remake of the movie [Rec], a popular Spanish zombie movie series which as of today has just released a third instalment. I've never watched the [Rec] movie so I can't compare this to it, but from what I've read it's exactly the same except for some added scenes. Quarantine is a good movie but does have some issues, the film is shot in the "found footage" style which means you see the movie in the first person through a camera lens, and while that's not really a bad thing I've just seen so many films like this I'm ready for this style to die already. Another thing that irritated me is that the main character (Angela Vidal who's played by Jennifer Carpenter) near the end starts freaking out and can't keep it together, which I understand that the character is scared but I really just wanted to knock her out and I've never really wanted to do that before save a few other movies. I appreciate this movie for being serious, scary, and downright tense which is great considering most Zombie movies nowadays are cheesy and dumb. It really is a great zombie movie, and for fans of Zombie movies this is a no brainer (pun intended), and even if your not really a Zombie fan this movie might satisfy the horror movie fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
HalfwelshmanJul 5, 2012
Quarantine is mostly a shot-for-shot, slightly glossier American remake of Spannish horror stunner [Rec]. It's a consistently diverting film in its own right, and keeps you interested throughout, but it's nowhere near as terrifying as theQuarantine is mostly a shot-for-shot, slightly glossier American remake of Spannish horror stunner [Rec]. It's a consistently diverting film in its own right, and keeps you interested throughout, but it's nowhere near as terrifying as the original film. This is mostly due to the fact that the big scares come in exactly the same places as they did in [Rec]. Though it's always a technically competent film, the filmmakers don't appear adept enough at pacing and judging the viewers expectations to provide too many new scares. Jennifer Carpenter gives a decent performance playing reporter Angela Vidal, who is trapped in an L.A apartment complex when a mysterious virus breaks out and the authorities seal off the building. Carpenter effectively communicates her terror, and we can sympathise with her and the ordeal she is going through, though she lacks the raw, panicked energy of Manuela Velasco in the original film. Don't get me wrong, Quarantine is a perfectly reasonable and effective horror film if you're seeing it for the first time without any knowledge of the preceding Spanish found-footage chiller. However, if you're re-watching it, or if you've already seen [Rec], then there isn't a whole lot to frighten or thrill you. At least Quarantine was made in the same spirit as the original film, and director John Erick Dowdle appears to hold the original film in some regard, but his slicker take on this landmark horror story somehow isn't as viscerally terrifying as the low-budget guerrilla-style [Rec]. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Spielberg00Nov 14, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bottom Line: So-so remake of a great foreign film. Actually, itâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
CooterPatooterMar 4, 2012
Is there seriously a market for this kind of "video camera horror" nonsense nowadays? Or have unimaginative copycat directors not figured out that we don't care about the crap they're peddling anymore?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
hollowficationSep 28, 2012
this was worst movie ever remake of spanish version of REC if u want original horror flick that scary Watch the rec movies instead those ones is scary....

only i knew in that flick was Chick who played Judith from two and half men
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LovejoyMay 14, 2013
''this was a great film i was quite suprised its amazing whatyou can do with just a camera and thats it lol
the infected were scary the acting was great overall i was impressed.

''crafty unpredictible and visionary
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
UtopianStuffJul 3, 2013
Nowadays, zombie movies can be good or terrible. Luckily, "Quarantine" is not terrible, it does some really cool stuff! I personally love zombie movies and I personally love found footage movies, and in this movie I get the best of bothNowadays, zombie movies can be good or terrible. Luckily, "Quarantine" is not terrible, it does some really cool stuff! I personally love zombie movies and I personally love found footage movies, and in this movie I get the best of both worlds. The acting was legitimately good, the camera work wasn't as shaky as most found footage movies and its very well thought out. The movie isn't without flaw, but its very enjoyable and entertaining. Its eye candy to zombie movie goers and horror movie goers. So go check this movie out. I'll give you this warning, this movie is VERY VERY VERY scary. Every time I see it, I freak out. And don't let kids watch it, they won't sleep for months. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ii_like_bl00dOct 5, 2014
Honestly, I didn't mind this movie. It really tries to stand out as a horror movie but, unfortunately, it's a copy and pace from it's predecessor REC. The movie is exactly the same albeit the pacing is especially faster. Where REC relied onHonestly, I didn't mind this movie. It really tries to stand out as a horror movie but, unfortunately, it's a copy and pace from it's predecessor REC. The movie is exactly the same albeit the pacing is especially faster. Where REC relied on slow tension. This movie relies on quick scares. The reason why REC worked so well as a film was because it created a genuine scary atmosphere. In this film all the scares are sped up. You can't appreciate them. BUT, the characters acting was really solid, the effects were great and there were some general surprising moments. But even so, I recommend watching REC, it's way better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeOct 2, 2016
The acting was great, the visuals were good and the movie was entertaining. Sure, Rec was still better but, it's still a rather good movie and a good remake.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
horcrux2007Dec 25, 2014
It could've used a bit more originality since it was almost an exact copy of REC, and they should have used unknown actors to play the parts rather than Jennifer Carpenter and Jay Fernandez. This felt more like a movie while REC felt moreIt could've used a bit more originality since it was almost an exact copy of REC, and they should have used unknown actors to play the parts rather than Jennifer Carpenter and Jay Fernandez. This felt more like a movie while REC felt more like a newscast gone horribly wrong. I can't deny that it was scary, however. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
WJSJun 27, 2015
Claustrophobic and somewhat noisy American remake of the Spanish horror flick [Rec}, it has some effectively creepy and bloody sequences and is actually pretty scary at times. The acting is strong and the direction purposeful, It's a goodClaustrophobic and somewhat noisy American remake of the Spanish horror flick [Rec}, it has some effectively creepy and bloody sequences and is actually pretty scary at times. The acting is strong and the direction purposeful, It's a good remake that I liked better than the original that was dubbed in English, and not very well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HotelCentralDec 3, 2015
One of the better zombie flicks ever made. The first 15-20 minutes could have been trimmed, but overall this is a nicely conceived package with good execution and a creative scenario to distinguish it from 85% of the genre. I'd say itOne of the better zombie flicks ever made. The first 15-20 minutes could have been trimmed, but overall this is a nicely conceived package with good execution and a creative scenario to distinguish it from 85% of the genre. I'd say it compares well to my all-time favs: Wyrmwood, Dead Set, Shaun of the Dead, and the inevitable Night of the Living Dead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
spencieOct 23, 2017
An okay, forgettable horror flick, nothing new. Quarantine doesn't add anything unusual or memorable to the found footage movie formula; there are a few good scares in the film, but overall it was just boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CineAutoctonoDec 7, 2015
Quarantine , the adaptation of the super scary movie REC , made in Spain was a movie almost full of fear, but like the ganeas were not removed before the adaptation, but better Spanish than American .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
VadertimeOct 24, 2016
This was a really bad movie. On top of being poorly directed, no story, no plot, it was shot in 1st person view, which was horrible. I gave a 3 rating. It had been on my list of luke-warm movies to view, but the disappointment was evenThis was a really bad movie. On top of being poorly directed, no story, no plot, it was shot in 1st person view, which was horrible. I gave a 3 rating. It had been on my list of luke-warm movies to view, but the disappointment was even greater than I bargained for. Poor lighting, poor acting and just poor movie-making all around. A far superior movie along the same lines came out 13 years earlier starring Dustin Hoffman. It was called "Outbreak". A far superior and far scarier movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews