United Artists | Release Date: November 14, 1980
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 406 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
272
Mixed:
22
Negative:
112
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
EsaiSouzaNov 26, 2012
One of the finest films of it's decade or any decade. Martin Scorsese painted not only a pretty picture but a beautiful and profound one as well. When I see this movie my breath is taken by the masterful acting ability of the great Robert DeOne of the finest films of it's decade or any decade. Martin Scorsese painted not only a pretty picture but a beautiful and profound one as well. When I see this movie my breath is taken by the masterful acting ability of the great Robert De Niro. This is sure to make you hate but pitty him at the same time. Breathtaking just pure genius. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
Justinavery7074Mar 15, 2011
One of the all time greatest movies. I can't find a goddamn thing that's wrong with this. I'll say that this is better than "Goodfellas" or "Taxi Driver"
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
ashrafn.Feb 9, 2005
Why oh why do people who rate movies so low are included? especially when its as great and compelling as this!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
NiallD.Jul 8, 2004
Best Movie Everrr!!!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
LawrenceP.Feb 8, 2005
This masterpiece didn't win best picture oscar? What a crime! This is the best movie made by all the people who are involved.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
SpokB.Mar 7, 2004
Absolutely stunning portrayal of a man realising where his demons lie ! Amazing fight sequences and a stunning performance from De Niro.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
CalH.Feb 16, 2005
Genius.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
VincentA.May 14, 2005
The GREATEST MOVIE from Martin Scorsese period.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
liams.Mar 5, 2005
It was so good it was like ringing my ears it was just sooo good! Even thogh it was very bloody but that did not stop me from wathing it. It had the best acting ever i mean like the bloode and everthing looked real. please buy it, it is the It was so good it was like ringing my ears it was just sooo good! Even thogh it was very bloody but that did not stop me from wathing it. It had the best acting ever i mean like the bloode and everthing looked real. please buy it, it is the best movie in history! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JaredS.Oct 8, 2005
Arguably the greatest movie of the past thirty years. Many critics regard this film as probably the last "great achievement" in American cinema...and for good reason. DeNiro is Oh-My-God good as Jake LaMotta. The film is both hard to take Arguably the greatest movie of the past thirty years. Many critics regard this film as probably the last "great achievement" in American cinema...and for good reason. DeNiro is Oh-My-God good as Jake LaMotta. The film is both hard to take and beautiful to look at, which is probably why so many people nowadays have a hard time watching it. A single frame of this film has more depth than the last four "Best Picture" winners put together. Quite an accomplishment on Scorsese's part. An American masterpiece. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TravisG.Oct 3, 2004
Perhaps, the greatest performance ever filmed. By far, the best film to come out of the 1980s. Rober De Niro completly embodies Jake LaMotta; mentally and physically. From gaining the build of a middle-weight champion, to the size of an Perhaps, the greatest performance ever filmed. By far, the best film to come out of the 1980s. Rober De Niro completly embodies Jake LaMotta; mentally and physically. From gaining the build of a middle-weight champion, to the size of an obese night club owner, De Niro becomes this man. The editing of the film is perfect, especially in the fight sequences. With the flash of camera light bulbs, devasting punches, and sweat and blood flying, it makes for a violent ballet that reflects the soul of LaMotta. The score is brilliant as graceful classical music creates irony to the world of gore and jealousy that exists in the movie. And oh yeah...it is directed by Martin Scorcese. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlexF.Mar 12, 2005
My personal favourite.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
IllyaZ.May 30, 2005
Intense and amazing!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanC.Apr 14, 2004
Scorsese's best film. De Niro's best performance. One of the top ten of all time. 'Nuff said.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MatthewS.Nov 17, 2005
Stunning. Brilliant acting performaces from Dinero and cast, ex movie duringcellent directing, and cinematography. Pause the during beginning scenes in the Bronx. They are beautiful stillshots.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ArmandoS.Jan 22, 2005
My favorite Scorsese film - should have won the oscar - Robert De Niro is brilliant.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RyanM.Feb 11, 2005
"Greatest" and "all-time" are words I gladly use on multiple occasions when speaking of Martin Scorsese's ingeious biopic. This is one of the greatest films of all-time, with one of the greatest performances of all-time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AkhilKJul 27, 2005
Granted its a masterpiece. Yet its uneven pacing and its weaker moments lend it an unnerving ride that must be endured to get to its bitter and incredible ending.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ArkonBladeOct 26, 2010
Fantastic acting and a interesting story about jake lomatta a boxer from the old days of boxing . its a rise and demise story from lomaata's beginings to his fall . the guy certanly led a interesting life and deniro and peci really bringFantastic acting and a interesting story about jake lomatta a boxer from the old days of boxing . its a rise and demise story from lomaata's beginings to his fall . the guy certanly led a interesting life and deniro and peci really bring thoose charicters to life . the black and white look to the film really gives it that 50's era feel to it. if you like films based on true storys this is deffinitly a must see. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
VinceRocks123May 15, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Scorsese's beautifully shot masterpiece is still an electrifying moment that is almost as grand as Citizen Kane itself.

Raging Bull can definitely be the best film from the 1980s and one undeniably triumphant biography drama ever made. Robert De Niro's tough to the core lightning worthy performance is cinematic history as this epic depicts the rise and fall of the controversial heavyweight boxing champ Jake LaMotta also know as the Bronx Bull.

Jake LaMotta is at the height of his boxing career in the early 1940s as he pits himself against the toughest boxers to ever hit the boxing ring of New York, however his rage-filled ambition and lack of focus to be the frontline contender is held back when his personal and private life begins to be driven into the battlefield of his inner rage and everything that is his life takes a massive down turn for the worst.

However even the final outcome still shows us that behind every boxing story is a legendary story about confronting reality with whats left of your guts. Scorsese and DeNiro both did an astounding work to bring LaMotta's career into the spotlight and make it interesting for many audiences alike, (also featuring Joe Pesci and Cathy Moriarty in their major screen debuts as brother and wife who are treated as heels) its a beautiful film with awesome film editing, graceful score, and a favorable lush cinematography of pure black and white that makes it climatic, suspenseful, dramatic, overpowering and exhilarating and remarkably one of the greatest pictures in motion picture history and a certified classic, not to be missed
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
Raging Bull is the best boxing movie ever made, even better than 'Rocky.' I do; however, use the term 'boxing movie' loosely, as both 'Raging Bull' and 'Rocky' are character studies.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
6
TokyochuchuApr 22, 2014
I have watched and re-watched Raging Bull many times. And everytime I do, I walk away from the film wondering why it's held in such high regard. Then I convince myself that I must be missing something and I go back watch it again. RinseI have watched and re-watched Raging Bull many times. And everytime I do, I walk away from the film wondering why it's held in such high regard. Then I convince myself that I must be missing something and I go back watch it again. Rinse repeat. I love Scorsese and DeNiro but for whatever reason, Raging Bull feels like a kitchen sink drama with boxing sequences. Maybe this film will forever be a mystery to me. Oh well... Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
FrankL.Feb 9, 2005
Boring, pompous and vastly over-rated because of the Scorsese "genius." Nero over-acts just as badly fat as he does skinny. For a far better movie about a has-been boxer, try John Huston's understated, under-rated Fat City.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
Pelen23Jul 19, 2014
Raging bull is an overrated film that deserves appreciation for its stylish technique .however it is uninteresting, unengaging and uninvolving.There is absolutely no character we relate to. In the end , it is all about style , photographyRaging bull is an overrated film that deserves appreciation for its stylish technique .however it is uninteresting, unengaging and uninvolving.There is absolutely no character we relate to. In the end , it is all about style , photography and editing but no substance. Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
1
SolusR.Feb 8, 2005
The most overrated movie in history. Give me Con Air any day.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
1
1966ZodiacJul 10, 2011
This movie SUCKED!! I'm sorry I'm totally going against the crowd on this one. It's boring & long and it felt like a chore watching it. I really wanted to like it. I really tried, but you know what if a movie is really that good (according toThis movie SUCKED!! I'm sorry I'm totally going against the crowd on this one. It's boring & long and it felt like a chore watching it. I really wanted to like it. I really tried, but you know what if a movie is really that good (according to critics)why should you try to like it? Man I freakin hate this movie. ALL boxing movies are better than this crap Rocky 1-6, Million Dollar Baby, and The Fighter are MUCH better. I know why the critics love this movie because it's bold and so vastly different from any other film. You know what that's very true. It is bold and vastly different, but in a VERY BAD way. (semi-spoiler) It's literally just about a douchebag boxer. He doesn't go though a change or journey or anything it just shows his life. He beats his brother & wife. He cusses alot. He kisses an underage girl(well she really didn't look underage) and the movie literally just ends in a random spot. I don't even care about the real story now because he was such a douche.However, he wasn't like an awesome villain douche or anything. It's not like he was the Joker,Hannibal Lecture, or Darth Vader. He was simply a douche that I didn't care about, and wasn't interested in. This movies overrated and people are just saying it's a masterpiece to follow the trend. Well F**k that. Eff this movie and Eff what the critics say. I respect peoples opinions, and if you like this movie fine. Everyone is entitled to their own opinions. Just don't annoy me about it to watch it because I did and it was a terrible waste of my time. Expand
3 of 15 users found this helpful312
All this user's reviews
3
LondonTrueloveNov 8, 2010
Yet another vastly overrated "classic". The whole time Lamotta is just being a meathead with a terrible temper. I'm a huge De Niro and Scorsese fan (Goodfellas, Casino), and that's why I gave it the 3, but I just don't get why people overhypeYet another vastly overrated "classic". The whole time Lamotta is just being a meathead with a terrible temper. I'm a huge De Niro and Scorsese fan (Goodfellas, Casino), and that's why I gave it the 3, but I just don't get why people overhype this film so much? I will say this though, De Niro does a great job of making you hate Lamotta. Expand
2 of 13 users found this helpful211
All this user's reviews
1
MikeFeb 15, 2008
I liked the beginning, but then it became soooo boring!! I bought the movie because I "heard" it was soooo great. What a waste!
1 of 7 users found this helpful
7
KazuoMay 24, 2011
Intense Movie, brilliant De Niro, but sometimes story writing is a bit weak................................................150 characters, there you go
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
FranzHcriticOct 25, 2013
The epic sports drama. Martin Scorsese's magnum opus, and Robert De Niro's as well. His performance is starkly authentic and amusing and all of the positive aspects of an actor put together. 'Ordinary People' is completely overrated.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews