Samuel Goldwyn Films | Release Date: March 28, 2003
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 23 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
21
Mixed:
0
Negative:
2
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
PaulaW.Dec 14, 2003
Raising Victor Vargas transcends its low-budget style (the whole thing is filmed in and around different apartment buildings) with perfect emotional pitch. Every feeling, from young love to religious devotion to a grandmother's slightly Raising Victor Vargas transcends its low-budget style (the whole thing is filmed in and around different apartment buildings) with perfect emotional pitch. Every feeling, from young love to religious devotion to a grandmother's slightly insane response to the stress of raising three grandchildren, is real. The snappy dialogue and attractive leads are a plus. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Aug 3, 2004
Since "Raising Victor Vargas" opens with a makeout session like "Kids", being conscious of the Larry Clarke film is helpful in understanding the importance of authority figures for the precocious walking sperms. If Telly (Leo Fitzpatrick) Since "Raising Victor Vargas" opens with a makeout session like "Kids", being conscious of the Larry Clarke film is helpful in understanding the importance of authority figures for the precocious walking sperms. If Telly (Leo Fitzpatrick) had a loving grandmother(Altagracia Guzman), maybe he'd be more like Victor (an excellent Victor Rasuk). Vargas will f**k anything that moves, too, but he unlike Telly, he's capable of love. In Larry Clarke's world, Judy (Judy Marte) would be jailbait and a practitioner of abortions; but she's in Peter Sollett's hands, and he doesn't posit that the most beautiful girl on the block, is necessarily the most experienced. We like these kids. We like "Raising Victor Vargas" because it offers us an optimistic glimpse at youth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
S.SquarepantsJun 27, 2004
A little overrated - just a little! It is, on my list, the third best film of the year, after 'Lost in translation' and 'the station agent'. my main problem was the acting by grandma (altragacia guzman), who didn't A little overrated - just a little! It is, on my list, the third best film of the year, after 'Lost in translation' and 'the station agent'. my main problem was the acting by grandma (altragacia guzman), who didn't quite achieve the same 'i-don't-care-that-they're-non-professionals' type of niceness that the other actors did (especially the one who played judy's friend). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackR.May 24, 2003
Really liked this...very natural acting from everyone. See it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomR.Apr 8, 2003
One of the best movies I've seen in the last five years. A debut on par with any debut of note for the last 15 years in American film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeMay 23, 2003
This movie feels real and immediate, like you're spying on a bunch of neighborhood kids and their families. It's poignant and true, even if at times, it slips into formulaic moments. A beautiful little film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonasAug 19, 2003
The best film movie so far this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeF.Apr 21, 2003
Having just seen raising victor vargas is the reason why i go to movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianG.Sep 6, 2003
Refreshing, amazingly acted. For all those guys out there who thought or think they are all it but who really are just soft at heart and for the women who have the fear and uncertainty to open their lives to a new path that love leads. Refreshing, amazingly acted. For all those guys out there who thought or think they are all it but who really are just soft at heart and for the women who have the fear and uncertainty to open their lives to a new path that love leads. It's also about the love of family and how difficult it can be at times. I LOVE THIS MOVIE Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilfreeV.Aug 3, 2003
This is one of the best movies i ever seen it it relates to all hispanic families.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaysaS.Sep 23, 2003
This movie is amazing. It not only summarizes everything latino youth goes thru, but it does it in a very refreshing and relax way. I related to this movie like no other. Love Victor and his family! Im dominican too. The movie showed a lot This movie is amazing. It not only summarizes everything latino youth goes thru, but it does it in a very refreshing and relax way. I related to this movie like no other. Love Victor and his family! Im dominican too. The movie showed a lot of what goes on in a Dominican/American Family. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YariB.Oct 19, 2003
I think this is the best movie this year. This movie summarizes what latino young life in NYC. i'm dominican so it makes the movie even better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanH.Apr 3, 2004
Amazing breath of fresh air for last summer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful