Rampart

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 58
  2. Negative: 11 out of 58
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 11, 2012
    8
    A really great movie. Harrelson gives a great performance as a rampart cop that refuses to change his old school ways. Caught up in addiction both chemical and sexual he winds his way through a nightmarish journey between his life as a cop and family man. It is a great story that is well told through Harrelson's performance as well as a few other famous actors that make cameosA really great movie. Harrelson gives a great performance as a rampart cop that refuses to change his old school ways. Caught up in addiction both chemical and sexual he winds his way through a nightmarish journey between his life as a cop and family man. It is a great story that is well told through Harrelson's performance as well as a few other famous actors that make cameos throughout the film. I highly recommend this film. Expand
  2. Feb 20, 2012
    9
    Don't listen to these other "users," who apparently want some simple little story with a clearly spelled out plot and well specified resolution. Instead, this is a great character study of a complicated, many sided, tightly wound sociopath decompensating (a psychiatric term) under the stress of a hundred different things falling apart in his previously well (albeit precariously)-structuredDon't listen to these other "users," who apparently want some simple little story with a clearly spelled out plot and well specified resolution. Instead, this is a great character study of a complicated, many sided, tightly wound sociopath decompensating (a psychiatric term) under the stress of a hundred different things falling apart in his previously well (albeit precariously)-structured life. Harrelson and the director beautifully convey both these different sides and this decompensation., and it's a joke that he and at least some of the other members of this striking ensemble cast (e.g., Ned Beatty, Robin Wright, Ben Foster. Bree Larsen, to name a few) haven't been nominated for Oscars, particularly given the other nominees. Great direction by Moverman (whose first feature The Messenger was also very moving) and cinematography ny Bukowski.This clearly isn't a movie for everyone, especially those who prefer sleeky, feel good, emotionally manipulative movies such as War Horse (ugh), Extremely Loud..., and The Help; and its exclusion from the Oscar list speaks volumes about the mindset and aesthetic of the average Academy member. There are a few wrong notes and an unnecessary scene taken straight out of Shame; but overall, I strongly recommend this movie for those who aren't easily disturbed and who aren't just seeking out pleasant diversions. Expand
  3. Feb 12, 2012
    8
    I was expecting something a little darker, closer to The Bad Lieutenant. To the contrary, it's fairly light fare. Woody is excellent in the lead role, bringing wit, humor, and more compassion than I expected, but as a huge The Shield fan, I kept found myself comparing his role to that of Vic Mackie and the strike team. The key difference is that Date Rape's character is a lone wolf,I was expecting something a little darker, closer to The Bad Lieutenant. To the contrary, it's fairly light fare. Woody is excellent in the lead role, bringing wit, humor, and more compassion than I expected, but as a huge The Shield fan, I kept found myself comparing his role to that of Vic Mackie and the strike team. The key difference is that Date Rape's character is a lone wolf, Vietnam Vet who is extremely intelligent and obviously far more tortured. I'm not a huge fan of the ending - which seems to be a trend in movies over the last couple of years. I remember trying it in a writing seminar and got destroyed for it. But I won't hold that against it! Expand
  4. Dec 22, 2011
    7
    Has to win the Oscars for Filmography. It reminded me of the movie Drive and one could also imagine that the character that Harrison plays is the pre-cursor to his character in No Country for Old Men. Crazy and peculiar. It does lack a more compelling storyline but the overall mood of the film compensates.
  5. May 28, 2012
    10
    What a reeking, heaping, sack of crap. Dave Brown (Woody Harrelson) lives with two women who are sisters and he has a daughter by each one. All four supposedly live together? If that isn't far fetched enough for you, he meets and picks up strange women in bars and is in the sack with them within minutes. This movie was excessively, and extremely painful to watch.
  6. May 27, 2012
    7
    i was really excited to see this movie, but after i saw it i was really disappointed. the acting is great all around, even ice-cube was good, but the movie suffers from what i saw as an incomplete story. it has an interesting story but nothing seems to be resolved at the end. one might argue that the movie is really a character study of the descend of Rampart, but when i was watching it ii was really excited to see this movie, but after i saw it i was really disappointed. the acting is great all around, even ice-cube was good, but the movie suffers from what i saw as an incomplete story. it has an interesting story but nothing seems to be resolved at the end. one might argue that the movie is really a character study of the descend of Rampart, but when i was watching it i thought Rampart was already at rock bottom at the beginning of the movie so there was nowhere for him to go. in all good acting, but i would have preferred if they focused more on the dirty cop part of the story. Expand
  7. Feb 22, 2013
    7
    A raunchy film on the life of dirty cop Harrelson. The film centers on the desperation and loneliness of Harrelson. A pretty good film that should leave many viewers pleased.
  8. Sep 12, 2012
    8
    this movie, with its refusal to bend to tired dialogue, plot devices or cliched moralizing, asks you to care about a character best-described by one of his daughters as racist, chauvinist, homophobic
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Mar 1, 2012
    67
    Ellroy's bully-boy schtick is getting stale, and Moverman is overly beholden to it.
  2. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Mar 1, 2012
    50
    One of the problems with Rampart is that we've seen guys like Dave in movies and on TV for years now. The bad cop psyche has been delved into pretty deeply on all fronts, most notably in FX's brilliant series "The Shield."
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Mar 1, 2012
    80
    Brown is a sick man, but Harrelson makes him so interesting, so charismatic, so ... watchable, that you can't look away, even if his actions make you want to (and they will).