Paramount Pictures | Release Date: March 4, 2011
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 615 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
490
Mixed:
78
Negative:
47
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
fullquiverMar 18, 2011
My boys and youngest daughter liked it. My middle daughter fell asleep. My 15-year-old said it was OK. My wife thought it predictable, draggy, and inappropriate for kids (they said the H-word a lot!). I thought it wasn't very funny or interesting.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
1
nonsequiturMar 17, 2011
Based on favorable reviews I selected this movie for my sonâ
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
8
KarthXLRMar 16, 2011
Rango isn't a kids film, and it knows it. Riddled with adult humor, violence, and some pretty ugly characters, it's the perfect playground for a western lover such as myself. It pays little bits of homage to various westerns and is absolutelyRango isn't a kids film, and it knows it. Riddled with adult humor, violence, and some pretty ugly characters, it's the perfect playground for a western lover such as myself. It pays little bits of homage to various westerns and is absolutely gorgeous to watch. Great animation, great humor, great story, and most important of all: A great western. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
ShiiraMar 16, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Who is the movie buff: the filmmaker or the protagonist? Is "Rango" the culmination of all the films that the hammy chameleon may have glimpsed perchance from behind his terrarium glass over the course of time in a home with a nearby television. In other words, is Rango's misadventures in the hallucinatory town of Dirt a moving picture, a post-modernist one to boot, that unreels psychically through his tiny reptilian head? It sure looks that way. From time to time, the domesticated(and cultured) animal constructs an invisible box in the air with his finger, which would seem to indicate a screen, as if he was setting up the next shot. It's a little bit of self-awareness on the film's part suggesting that it's the chameleon calling the shots, like a John Ford with scaly green skin, filling the mis-en-scene with costumed critters in a tribute to the old west that's more cracked than Alejandro Jodorowski's cult-classic "El Topo". "Rango" could be entitled "El Dopo". It's almost a stoner movie. If Rango is indeed the true author of the film-within-the-film, the next question we should be asking is if he's even alive? After all, terrariums don't come equipped with either seatbelts or airbags. When the chameleon is jettisoned from the back of his owner's crashing vehicle, does the impact of the road leave him unconscious, paving the way for his dreaming self to conjure up a glass shard, the remnant of a blown-out back-window which allows him to skid safely along the highway? If the armadillo(Alfred Molina) with the missing midsection offers any indication, Rango probably never did survive that vehicular accident, because only roadkill can hear other roadkill speak. Arguably, death is the best thing that ever happened to the chameleon with directorial aspirations. (This decidedly avant-garde offering actually has a lot in common with Brad Bird's "Ratatouille".) In life, Rango suffers from writer's block, somebody who is long on theory but short on story; somebody who can't even decide on a genre, mulling over as he does on a multitude of genre-specific roles, among them, a sea captain, a rogue anthropologist, and a Casanova type. Limited by the inanimate objects that make up his sorry compliment of ensemble players, the chameleon also seems to be disenchanted by his apparent medium, the play, as suggested by the demarcations of the imprisoning glass which confines the lonely varmint to a single setting, thereby converting his terrarium into a stage. Throughout his opening soliloquy, steeped in metafiction and existentialism, Rango interacts with "actors" who can't act back; he yearns for the collaborative experience that mere props simply can't offer, and a change of scenery from the fixed mountain range and sky which comprises the backdrop of his controlled environment; his laboratory for artistic development. Stuck in a sort of Brechtian hell, Rango indicates his desire to escape from the terrarium(which is, for all intents and purposes, a metaphor for experimental theater), and then to enter the filmic world, a diegesis, when he draws that first rectangular screen, a sort of portal which leads to the place where dreams come true. No more aimless soul-searching: this chameleon wants to break free and live. Construed as a death metaphor, the allusion to the "other side" that the sage-like armadillo imparts to his new scaly friend, can also be taken as a showbiz one, meaning the transition from stage to screen. Later in the film, Rango successfully crosses the highway, and on this other side, he meets the High Plains Drifter himself, which to the chameleon, is the perfect being, a god who looks over the weird array of cowfolks that populate his movie. In reality, Rango may be near-death on the highway, or on the side of the highway, so what we're actually seeing is an imagined life filtered through the cinema as it flashes before his(and our) eyes, which encompasses a span of diverse films(especially Roman Polanski's "Chinatown") that met the chameleon's approval. When one of the minor characters uses the term "man" in a speech(rather than "critter" or varmint"), the fourth wall is broken, because in this self-contained world, there are no humans to speak of. It's Rango who is providing the lines; it's Rango who is doing all the talking. His reptilian consciousness forgets to convert "man" into animal terms. Being domesticated, maybe the chameleon forgets that he's an animal, as well. Look at his god. It's Clint Eastwood, not some animal version of the venerable actor/director. Rango flatters himself. He may think that he was made in god's own image. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
bottafffMar 14, 2011
I very much enjoyed watching Rangoo, I thought it put a great spin on the old Clint Eastwood Westerns. What stuck out the most to was creative the townspeople were. It had a simple but wonderful storyline and it didn't try to get toI very much enjoyed watching Rangoo, I thought it put a great spin on the old Clint Eastwood Westerns. What stuck out the most to was creative the townspeople were. It had a simple but wonderful storyline and it didn't try to get to complicated but just stuck with the basics. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
BikerjamesMar 14, 2011
I'm giving it a 7 based on the fantastic visuals, otherwise it would be closer to a 5. I saw this in a theater that was almost full and kids were bored and making noise the entire time so I don't recommend it for kids. The biggest problemI'm giving it a 7 based on the fantastic visuals, otherwise it would be closer to a 5. I saw this in a theater that was almost full and kids were bored and making noise the entire time so I don't recommend it for kids. The biggest problem for me was the lack of humor. The film will keep your attention because of the great animation, but this could have been great if the movie was funnier. The script writers also pay homage to many other movies, (Wizard of Oz, Star Wars, High Noon and many more) by copying the most famous scenes from those movies. The actors doing the voices do a great job. Overall, a good animated film aimed at adults, but not enough humor to make it a classic. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
AcnadMar 13, 2011
This movie was entreating as an adult movie but certainly goes way beyond what I think is appropriate for children. Several scenes including the beginning showed a female naked torso of a mannequin, the phrase 'go to hell' was used and amongThis movie was entreating as an adult movie but certainly goes way beyond what I think is appropriate for children. Several scenes including the beginning showed a female naked torso of a mannequin, the phrase 'go to hell' was used and among other things, the word lesbian was used in such a way that an adult would understand and choose to like or dislike the connotation, but not a child. My 9 year old granddaughter stated in the car on the way home " I liked the movie but there were some inappropriate words". I couldn't help but agree with her. Great animation but also somewhat violent with lots of gunfire and in my opinion a reference to low self esteem that might lead to suicide. Unacceptable for children. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
scottysauceMar 12, 2011
Absolutely fantastic. Funny and quirky and incredibly enjoyable. Perfect for Johnny Depp and Depp was perfect as always. Also easily the best looking animated film I've seen. A bit more adult in language than expected but and amazing filmAbsolutely fantastic. Funny and quirky and incredibly enjoyable. Perfect for Johnny Depp and Depp was perfect as always. Also easily the best looking animated film I've seen. A bit more adult in language than expected but and amazing film none the less.


I bet that Geico Lizard is super pissed he wasn't cast as Rango
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
NathanRMar 10, 2011
Let me get the good stuff out of the way first. This was a beautiful movie, visually. Industrial Light & Magic has given Pixar Animation a run for it's money. In some ways, the visual beauty of this film surpasses anything that Pixar has everLet me get the good stuff out of the way first. This was a beautiful movie, visually. Industrial Light & Magic has given Pixar Animation a run for it's money. In some ways, the visual beauty of this film surpasses anything that Pixar has ever produce. The humor is indeed quite dry, which is right up my alley. And there were some times where I genuinely laughed out loud and enjoyed myself. These are the good things; on to the bad.
This is not a kid's film. It doesn't matter that it's being promoted as one. It doesn't matter that the trailers before the movie were all kid's films. This isn't one of them.
As several others have commented, the language is borderline atrocious, especially compared to other animated films. There are some very heavy themes in this film. There are scenes of intense violence, compared to other animated films. There are scenes of the protagonist's "mystical revelations" that will go right over your child's head. In fact, trying to wrap your mind around this film will only result in a headache, as it is designed to make the viewer search for some kind of meaning, when there is none. There are MANY occult references in the film. References that only those adept to spotting them will notice. Meanwhile, the rest of the audience (esp. the kids) will soak it up subconsciously without ever noticing. There are vague Luciferic references, alongside references to the lost city of Atlantis, the Zodiac, etc, that make me feel like this film is meant to convey a certain message to a very specific group of people.
What else can I say? I fell asleep about an hour in, woke up with about 30 minutes left. Perhaps the best parts of this film were between the 17 minutes that I slept through, but I kindly doubt it.
Jonny Depp fanatics will love the film. Young adults on drugs will also love it. Your kids? Probably not.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
gm101Mar 9, 2011
Why did I love this movie? Well, you got a director who directed one of the best trilogies ever, you got Johnny Depp, and you got George Lucas's ILM, the guys behind some of the best special effects seen in movies, animating the movie. Not toWhy did I love this movie? Well, you got a director who directed one of the best trilogies ever, you got Johnny Depp, and you got George Lucas's ILM, the guys behind some of the best special effects seen in movies, animating the movie. Not to mention a great homage to the Western genre. 10/10! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryMar 9, 2011
ILM's first foray into animation features some dazzling visual effects, but they got the rest pretty wrong. A city chameleon (voiced by Johnny Depp) ends up in the desert, where he becomes the de facto sheriff of a dusty town in habited by anILM's first foray into animation features some dazzling visual effects, but they got the rest pretty wrong. A city chameleon (voiced by Johnny Depp) ends up in the desert, where he becomes the de facto sheriff of a dusty town in habited by an assortment of scuzzy fauna. There's an unexplained water shortage and the movie in a quest for the truth. This isn't a kids movie: there's too much taking and not enough cute characters or zany fun. This isn't an adults' film: it's not smart enough. There is some action and humor, but not enough to compensate for the lack of creative storytelling. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TheSauceMar 8, 2011
I liked it quite a bit, its not really a movie for kids in my opinion. There were some boring parts, started kinda slow, but overall i was happy with my purchase of a child's ticket to see the movie
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
JorDeneMar 8, 2011
All in all the movie itself was quite entertaining. The graphics were absolutely stunning, and the acting was appropriate. Each character had their own personality, and I personally find that a rare commodity in movies nowadays. I'm givingAll in all the movie itself was quite entertaining. The graphics were absolutely stunning, and the acting was appropriate. Each character had their own personality, and I personally find that a rare commodity in movies nowadays. I'm giving the movie an 8/10 because as entertaining as it is, I did find that it doesn't really hook you right away. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Nadim_BasnaMar 8, 2011
If you throw in a lizard, Beetle Juice, Salvador Dali, and a small Western town into a blender you get Rango. I must admit, the plot could have been more original, and the dialogue funnier - but the magnificently nightmarish characters keepIf you throw in a lizard, Beetle Juice, Salvador Dali, and a small Western town into a blender you get Rango. I must admit, the plot could have been more original, and the dialogue funnier - but the magnificently nightmarish characters keep you mesmerized. Nadim Basna Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
txrangersfan72Mar 7, 2011
Exceptional as an animated picture, Rango is actually a superb FILM! The story of a lizard trying to establish his own identity is followed through a journey of self-discovery that is seldom seen in animated form. The story is adorable,Exceptional as an animated picture, Rango is actually a superb FILM! The story of a lizard trying to establish his own identity is followed through a journey of self-discovery that is seldom seen in animated form. The story is adorable, exciting and surprisingly deep. The climax of the film finds Rango at his lowest point, crossing over to the other side and coming to realize who he is...just in time to save the day in the destitute town of Dirt. Funny for kids and meaningful for adults, Rango is the surprise of the year! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
mahtigwessMar 6, 2011
Absolutely brilliant I will predict right now that it will not only be nominated for the Best Animated Oscar, but it will also upset the Pixar offering of Cars 2.

Rango pays homage to all of the western that came before from the Serio
Absolutely brilliant I will predict right now that it will not only be nominated for the Best Animated Oscar, but it will also upset the Pixar offering of Cars 2.

Rango pays homage to all of the western that came before from the Serio Leone style score to the John Ford visuals. Roger Deakins, cinematographer for True Grit and No Country, consults on this film and you can definitely see his influence.

This is not a kids movie, though Evan definitely enjoyed it (he also enjoyed True Grit), this is a real western with all of the dirt, death and violence you would expect.

The acting is brilliant and though there are name actors in the cast I didn't spend the entire time trying to guess who they were.
Expand
9 of 15 users found this helpful96
All this user's reviews
2
dq72Mar 6, 2011
This movie is not really for kids. It is a hard PG, bordering on PG-13 due to guns, violence and language. It's not for kids between 3 and 10 and I regret taking my kids to it because now I have a lot to explain. There were a few laughs inThis movie is not really for kids. It is a hard PG, bordering on PG-13 due to guns, violence and language. It's not for kids between 3 and 10 and I regret taking my kids to it because now I have a lot to explain. There were a few laughs in the first 10 minutes and after that it was all explosions and shouting Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
8
conorbobonorMar 6, 2011
Being 16 and walking into a cinema to see an animation mainly aimed at children can be quite a dawnting task, as i wasn't to sure as to whether or not this movie was going to be for me. I went with my younger brother who it seemed to beBeing 16 and walking into a cinema to see an animation mainly aimed at children can be quite a dawnting task, as i wasn't to sure as to whether or not this movie was going to be for me. I went with my younger brother who it seemed to be primarily aimed at and surprisingly it was not a hit and miss like i orignally thought. Rango brings a new type of animation to the big screen as it is not just hopeless comedy like alot of the other family movies at the cinema today, it has a rich plot. The voice acting suits the roles completely and the Western style shooter works perfectly when the serious cowboys are replaced with the likes of lizards, rats and snakes. Dont get me wrong the movie is not all just haha it has a very well constructed and creative story to it in which the town is heavily dependent on their water supply which begins to run dry. It is at this point that the loveable lizard Rango(played perfectly by Johnny Depp I might add!) steps into to do his part as the sheriff of the town along with a host of different creatures all portrayed as old westen characters like general store owners, prospectors, bandits and farm owners.The humour varies and will make not only the children laugh, but adults alike not forgetting teenagers my age! All in all Rango is a good day out for the whole family and is definitely not a waste of time. Rango is so high standard compared to most animated movies out now, that it doesn't need 3D to boost its viewing figures. Instead it can rely souly on its shear quality and will not leave you 2 or 3 pound out of pocket from a disapointing trip to a 3 dimentional screening! Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
5
harrisonMar 5, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A tortured universe.

I hated all of the characters, and Rango most of all. He's a pretentious, obnoxious, annoying, stupid character.

Who is the audience supposed to identify with? The female Gecko? It's just too bad she isn't the main character, and doesn't get more screen time.

The CG is insanely good, the detail in each animal is incredible and their animations are believable and fluid, it's 1,000 times more impressive than Toy Story 3.

The environment these characters inhabit, however, is far less impressive : brown, bland, boring, and hopeless, I felt despair just watching the animals carry out their doomed existence.

The film depressed me. I have no idea what the snake is supposed to do now that he's had a change of heart, what's the poor bastard going to eat?

The Turtle Villain is a great Franklin Dealanor Roosevelt or Barrack Obama type villian, and I felt myself Identifying with this character the most, as he too hated everyone else in town.
Expand
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
1
progressrealizaMar 5, 2011
My wife and I took our son to see Rango today. I have to say that I was very disappointed with the language used in this "so called" kids movie. To be honest my wife and I were shocked at the language that was used at the end of the movie.My wife and I took our son to see Rango today. I have to say that I was very disappointed with the language used in this "so called" kids movie. To be honest my wife and I were shocked at the language that was used at the end of the movie. All it takes is one movie like this to start pushing the boundaries of what is acceptable. Soon others will start doing the same kind of thing. I really hate to even think about what will be acceptable for kids movies in twenty or thirty years. This is really unfortunate. Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
8
DarkCriticMar 5, 2011
Rango was a fun western animation film with this cool lizard that reminds me of Hunter S. Thompson from Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. Johnny Depp's character did a good voicing and keeps his character for being so obnoxious and ackward forRango was a fun western animation film with this cool lizard that reminds me of Hunter S. Thompson from Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. Johnny Depp's character did a good voicing and keeps his character for being so obnoxious and ackward for making fun for his performance. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
pcgMar 5, 2011
Great graphics, stupid "humor", totally empty storyline. My 3-year-old and I both fell asleep, and neither of us was ever engaged. No one in the (packed) theater really was. I kept wondering why I bother with non-Pixar animated moviesGreat graphics, stupid "humor", totally empty storyline. My 3-year-old and I both fell asleep, and neither of us was ever engaged. No one in the (packed) theater really was. I kept wondering why I bother with non-Pixar animated movies anymore; everything else is poop humor and cheap laughs and big name voiceovers, rather than timeless storylines and sublime humor. Even the trailers were lame.

Save your money.
Expand
8 of 24 users found this helpful816
All this user's reviews
4
gunnyartMar 5, 2011
I fell asleep for a few minutes in the middle. What's that say about it. I thought it was pretentious and self important. Some adult humor sprinkled in to give us a reason to hang out while the kids enjoy it.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
7
writergalMar 5, 2011
I mostly enjoyed this movie. There was lots of humor, found myself laughing out loud. For the most part my 7 year old had a smile on his face. But by the end he was bored and found it weird. But it's quite common for a movie to not hold hisI mostly enjoyed this movie. There was lots of humor, found myself laughing out loud. For the most part my 7 year old had a smile on his face. But by the end he was bored and found it weird. But it's quite common for a movie to not hold his attention the whole way. But then after it's over he usually says he loved it. But this one he still affirmed, the ending was weird. I wouldn't say that, but I just didn't walk away saying I loved it. Depp was wonderful, as usual. The visuals were amazing. I'd say it's worth seeing, but don't go out of your way. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
namelessMar 5, 2011
I really wanted to love this movie because it is gorgeous. Unfortunately the pacing is repetitious, no pathos you can feel, nothing at risk. Animals all act like humans in animal costumes. The most telling aspect as the number of people II really wanted to love this movie because it is gorgeous. Unfortunately the pacing is repetitious, no pathos you can feel, nothing at risk. Animals all act like humans in animal costumes. The most telling aspect as the number of people I saw in the theater falling asleep. Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
10
smileyschroederMar 5, 2011
No one should give this film a bad review for it's language. It's the old west, it was like that. The awesomeness of the graphics kept me so intrigued. The story was fast paced and witty, it was only a tad predictable though. I would haveNo one should give this film a bad review for it's language. It's the old west, it was like that. The awesomeness of the graphics kept me so intrigued. The story was fast paced and witty, it was only a tad predictable though. I would have gave it a 95/100 but i had to round up. Your kids though may be bored because actually, it seems it gears towards teens, which is what Nickelodeon has become. If I would watch their channel non stop. So in conclusion, a heartwarming, hilarious movie for ages 12 and up. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
SD_TysonMar 5, 2011
Rango, it was slow with a very dry humor. It was not a good kids movie â
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
0
momof3Mar 5, 2011
This was a horrible movie! I kept waiting and waiting for the entertainment. I thought is was a family film, but since when did damn, hell, ass become daily words used in a family setting...I will not recommend this movie to anyone.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
donutpondMar 5, 2011
The most unusual 3D animated feature film I have ever seen. Gore Verbinski and Industrial Light & Magic has opened up a whole new dimension in the field formerly dominated by pixar and dreamworks. The images and animation in this film is ofThe most unusual 3D animated feature film I have ever seen. Gore Verbinski and Industrial Light & Magic has opened up a whole new dimension in the field formerly dominated by pixar and dreamworks. The images and animation in this film is of such photograhic quality that sometimes it just seems so real that I find myself lost in the desert just like rango.....Not that it's a bad thing, as the story is superbly engaging, the jokes were so absurd that it's funny and the animation was totally convincing given the realistic nature of the visuals. All in all, if you are the type of person who isn't afraid to try something new, who wouldn't mind getting yourself dirty in a mud bath for the sake of FUN, then this movie is DEFINITELY worth your while! Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
7
KendylKlownfishMar 5, 2011
Rango is far less charming than Disney or Pixar -- and more profane than any other "family oriented" animated feature I've seen. But it's cleverly written and beautifully animated, thus winning older audiences.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
FrozenStar90Mar 4, 2011
A damn fine animated movie that isn't shot in pointless 3D, contains memorable characters, superb voice-work, and painted in vivid animation. It has the all the beauty of "The Legend of the Guardians" minus the blatant stupidity.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
9
Bullet97Mar 4, 2011
I was actually really looking forward to this movie, and I was not dissapointed. I love this movie!!! The animation is stunning (ITS NOT IN 3D, THANK GOD!!), the voice work was amazing, especially Johnny Depp, who has his best role sinceI was actually really looking forward to this movie, and I was not dissapointed. I love this movie!!! The animation is stunning (ITS NOT IN 3D, THANK GOD!!), the voice work was amazing, especially Johnny Depp, who has his best role since POTC, and Bill Nighy, who's insanely perfect as the bad guy snake who has a badass machine gun for a tail, the humor is great, the film references are hilarious, and the score is brilliant! But the best thing about this movie is that its so different. Instead of being a runofthemill animated movie, its so quirky and weird. This movie is destined to be a cult midnight hit. I actually recommend it to younger kids, around 6 years and younger. There's some scary parts, some cussing, and a lot of adult jokes. But overall, Rango is a fantasic film that's one of my favorite animated movies in years. Highly recommended. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
ESS180Mar 4, 2011
I think Rango is very well done.

The animation was stunning. All of the voices were fantastic especially Johnny Depp he was perfect for the role. Also this movie was hilarious! I wasn't expecting it to be funny but that was brilliant
I think Rango is very well done.

The animation was stunning.
All of the voices were fantastic especially Johnny Depp he was perfect for the role.
Also this movie was hilarious! I wasn't expecting it to be funny but that was brilliant that they added lots of comedy in there.

All and all i thought it was brilliant and better than i was expecting!
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews