Paramount Pictures | Release Date: March 4, 2011
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 620 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
495
Mixed:
78
Negative:
47
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
EpicLadySpongeJan 31, 2016
Rango surpasses Pixar in 2011. An enjoyable animation that actually works for Johnny Depp to appear in without Tim Burton making way for directing in.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJan 12, 2016
A fantastically fun and wild animated film, Rango is definitely not your typical PG-rated animated film. A bit more vulgar and adult than other animated films, much of the film is incredibly derivative of old westerns (especially SergioA fantastically fun and wild animated film, Rango is definitely not your typical PG-rated animated film. A bit more vulgar and adult than other animated films, much of the film is incredibly derivative of old westerns (especially Sergio Leone's spaghetti westerns, as well as an homage to Depp's Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas) and as such, it may not really be the thing most kids want to see. Regardless, it does manage to be uproariously funny at times and had me in stitches at a few times. The voice cast, including Johnny Depp, Isla Fisher, Ned Beatty, Abigail Breslin, Alfred Molina, Bill Nighy, and Timothy Olyphant, is splendid and really knocks the ball out of the park. The film is also wonderfully animated, directed, and written. Above all, Rango is a great time that really is a treat for the eyes and for lovers of the western genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryMar 9, 2011
ILM's first foray into animation features some dazzling visual effects, but they got the rest pretty wrong. A city chameleon (voiced by Johnny Depp) ends up in the desert, where he becomes the de facto sheriff of a dusty town in habited by anILM's first foray into animation features some dazzling visual effects, but they got the rest pretty wrong. A city chameleon (voiced by Johnny Depp) ends up in the desert, where he becomes the de facto sheriff of a dusty town in habited by an assortment of scuzzy fauna. There's an unexplained water shortage and the movie in a quest for the truth. This isn't a kids movie: there's too much taking and not enough cute characters or zany fun. This isn't an adults' film: it's not smart enough. There is some action and humor, but not enough to compensate for the lack of creative storytelling. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
TheQuietGamerNov 19, 2011
I fell like this movie misses any kind of audience, it's not one for kids for it's language, killing, and other controversial things, but also not one for older audiences because of it's juvenile sense of humor, it's starts off slow but picksI fell like this movie misses any kind of audience, it's not one for kids for it's language, killing, and other controversial things, but also not one for older audiences because of it's juvenile sense of humor, it's starts off slow but picks up later but I was never really invested in it, I never cared about the characters or they're fates, and I feel the movie adds some stuff I'd just rather not see touched on in the movies I watch, it's not fun, funny, or really enjoyable, and I don't think it really knows what it wants to be, so this is one you can pass on. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeJul 3, 2016
In this light hearted comedy, the acting is really good, the animation is amazing, and the movie is entertaining. Despite the fact that the movie was predictable, it was still a fun entertaining experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 18, 2011
The western animation "Rango" is impressive; its realistic graphics, dark & mild humor, and sparse bits of deep meaningful symbolism makes the movie equal to those of Pixar's.
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobJan 1, 2013
It looks great and has good voice acting. However, It's not all that funny. It got a chuckle or two out of me but that's about it. Don't get me wrong, It is enjoyable to watch, It simply isn't funny.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellNov 18, 2011
Rango has a great story. There is a big mystery behind it too, which also keeps you guessing. The visuals are amazing. The characters are so realistic.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
JacobAug 16, 2013
While Rango’s story and characters are cliché it is not that distracting because of how entertaining the film is. It is edgy with some mature writing, the characters are edgy and likeable, and the presentation is fantastic with some greatWhile Rango’s story and characters are cliché it is not that distracting because of how entertaining the film is. It is edgy with some mature writing, the characters are edgy and likeable, and the presentation is fantastic with some great animation and character designs. Had the filmmakers come up with a more original story this film would have been amazing but as it is it is still really entertaining and definitely worth a watch. Parents just make sure your little kids do not see this or they will learn a lot of fowl language. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FranzHcriticSep 3, 2014
Steering away from purely kids humor like Dr. Seuss adaptationsm, in my opinion a good thing, this Pixar film is unconventional in that it directly parodies the western genre, with violence and mature humor. This is not as endearing a storySteering away from purely kids humor like Dr. Seuss adaptationsm, in my opinion a good thing, this Pixar film is unconventional in that it directly parodies the western genre, with violence and mature humor. This is not as endearing a story as 'Toy Story' or 'The Incredibles', with less importance and a more external focus but it certainly is unconventional fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
heyitsmegrif4Jan 16, 2012
Rango is a hilarious burst of originality, charm and humor with even a bit of chills. The film benefits from dazzling animation and Johnny Depp's colorful vocal performance. The film even succeeds even if it does have a bit too much innuendo.Rango is a hilarious burst of originality, charm and humor with even a bit of chills. The film benefits from dazzling animation and Johnny Depp's colorful vocal performance. The film even succeeds even if it does have a bit too much innuendo. I give this film 83%. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
worleyjamersDec 6, 2012
Great! The best animated film of 2011, hands down. The perfect combination of the Western genre and modern animation capabilities. Add to that some great voice work and you have a very entertaining film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFNov 1, 2013
What a glorious surprise ‘Rango’ turned out to be, it isn’t a dumbed down animated comedy or a family-oriented cartoon, its a very smart and beautifully rendered adventure that is a treat to look at, with a vast array of colourful and largerWhat a glorious surprise ‘Rango’ turned out to be, it isn’t a dumbed down animated comedy or a family-oriented cartoon, its a very smart and beautifully rendered adventure that is a treat to look at, with a vast array of colourful and larger than life characters that look bright and cheerful as they light up the already bright screen. The setting of of the film is first and foremost, a Western, it delivers subtle but also not so subtle nods to the genre that defined an era, even if you haven’t seen the many films it borrows its content from, there is still enough to like about it, especially Rango himself. Johnny Depp lends his voice to the character, a run of the mill lizard, but his journey to an unknown location is disrupted after a roadkill, so he ends up deceiving his way into a local town called Dirt, which is running dangerously low on water supply while also being held under fear from the various villainous creatures of the town. As the film progresses, its clear to see the linear it follows, much the same as a Western, it has the stranger who isn’t part of the town, he breaks social order by confronting the rulers of the town, while he also has the chance to become honest. Rango tries his best to pull the wool over the eyes of the citizens, but birds, snakes and other unsavoury creatures make this quite difficult. Each character has been excellently brought to life through their voice actor, and through their relevant roles on screen, Bill Nighy and Ray Winstone are the ideal villainous cretins who terrorise the town, so Ned Beatty’s mayor decides that Rango should wear the Sheriff’s badge. The witty and smartly-drawn humour of the film is brilliant, it’s sort of a grown-up animation that has a variety of deadpan humour. Director Gore Verbinski shows his skills when commanding the great action sequences, there is a delightful chase sequence in the many canyons of the wild west that sums up the brilliance of the whole film, fast-talking, fast-paced and full of characters who could easily belong in a real film, they have limitless amounts of energy while the film has limitless amounts of opportunities to parody classical films such as Apocalypse Now and the endless amount of Westerns, it even use the talents of Timothy Olyphant to nod in the direction of the “Man With No Name”. This is a surprising and uplifting comedy that is colourful, breathtaking to look at and definitely raises the bar for a first rate story along with some excellent involvement of Hollywood stars, they bring the added flavour to the characters involved as Rango tries to figure out the water problem. Beauty and first-rate entertainment at its finest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BikerjamesMar 14, 2011
I'm giving it a 7 based on the fantastic visuals, otherwise it would be closer to a 5. I saw this in a theater that was almost full and kids were bored and making noise the entire time so I don't recommend it for kids. The biggest problemI'm giving it a 7 based on the fantastic visuals, otherwise it would be closer to a 5. I saw this in a theater that was almost full and kids were bored and making noise the entire time so I don't recommend it for kids. The biggest problem for me was the lack of humor. The film will keep your attention because of the great animation, but this could have been great if the movie was funnier. The script writers also pay homage to many other movies, (Wizard of Oz, Star Wars, High Noon and many more) by copying the most famous scenes from those movies. The actors doing the voices do a great job. Overall, a good animated film aimed at adults, but not enough humor to make it a classic. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
HalfwelshmanAug 7, 2011
I must admit, I didn't know what to make of Rango five minutes in. The story does take a while to get going, and even longer to engage you. But when it does, you're in for a real treat, especially for film buffs. The bulk of the plot is aI must admit, I didn't know what to make of Rango five minutes in. The story does take a while to get going, and even longer to engage you. But when it does, you're in for a real treat, especially for film buffs. The bulk of the plot is a loving homage to Chinatown, but there are numerous other film references throughout, particularly, and understandably, to classic westerns. The film looks great, filling a wild-west frontier town with hyper-real anthropomorphic animals, and giving your eyes a feast in extremely creative action set-pieces. The voice acting is top-notch, particularly Johnny Depp who makes Rango a classic good-natured lovable loser, Ned Beatty who tips his hat to John Huston as the town of Dirt's devious mayor and Bill Nighy who channels the venomous spirit of Jack Palance's bounty hunter character in Shane. Gore Verbinski is back on form, having made a clever, quirky, funny, character driven film more akin to the first Pirates of the Caribbean than their overblown and hectic sequels. The ending of the film is a little sudden and unsatisfying (though, happily it does contain the classic "riding into the sunset" shot) and the eco message is crow-barred in, but there is plenty in this rich, intelligent and humorous animation to satisfy. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ShiiraMar 16, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Who is the movie buff: the filmmaker or the protagonist? Is "Rango" the culmination of all the films that the hammy chameleon may have glimpsed perchance from behind his terrarium glass over the course of time in a home with a nearby television. In other words, is Rango's misadventures in the hallucinatory town of Dirt a moving picture, a post-modernist one to boot, that unreels psychically through his tiny reptilian head? It sure looks that way. From time to time, the domesticated(and cultured) animal constructs an invisible box in the air with his finger, which would seem to indicate a screen, as if he was setting up the next shot. It's a little bit of self-awareness on the film's part suggesting that it's the chameleon calling the shots, like a John Ford with scaly green skin, filling the mis-en-scene with costumed critters in a tribute to the old west that's more cracked than Alejandro Jodorowski's cult-classic "El Topo". "Rango" could be entitled "El Dopo". It's almost a stoner movie. If Rango is indeed the true author of the film-within-the-film, the next question we should be asking is if he's even alive? After all, terrariums don't come equipped with either seatbelts or airbags. When the chameleon is jettisoned from the back of his owner's crashing vehicle, does the impact of the road leave him unconscious, paving the way for his dreaming self to conjure up a glass shard, the remnant of a blown-out back-window which allows him to skid safely along the highway? If the armadillo(Alfred Molina) with the missing midsection offers any indication, Rango probably never did survive that vehicular accident, because only roadkill can hear other roadkill speak. Arguably, death is the best thing that ever happened to the chameleon with directorial aspirations. (This decidedly avant-garde offering actually has a lot in common with Brad Bird's "Ratatouille".) In life, Rango suffers from writer's block, somebody who is long on theory but short on story; somebody who can't even decide on a genre, mulling over as he does on a multitude of genre-specific roles, among them, a sea captain, a rogue anthropologist, and a Casanova type. Limited by the inanimate objects that make up his sorry compliment of ensemble players, the chameleon also seems to be disenchanted by his apparent medium, the play, as suggested by the demarcations of the imprisoning glass which confines the lonely varmint to a single setting, thereby converting his terrarium into a stage. Throughout his opening soliloquy, steeped in metafiction and existentialism, Rango interacts with "actors" who can't act back; he yearns for the collaborative experience that mere props simply can't offer, and a change of scenery from the fixed mountain range and sky which comprises the backdrop of his controlled environment; his laboratory for artistic development. Stuck in a sort of Brechtian hell, Rango indicates his desire to escape from the terrarium(which is, for all intents and purposes, a metaphor for experimental theater), and then to enter the filmic world, a diegesis, when he draws that first rectangular screen, a sort of portal which leads to the place where dreams come true. No more aimless soul-searching: this chameleon wants to break free and live. Construed as a death metaphor, the allusion to the "other side" that the sage-like armadillo imparts to his new scaly friend, can also be taken as a showbiz one, meaning the transition from stage to screen. Later in the film, Rango successfully crosses the highway, and on this other side, he meets the High Plains Drifter himself, which to the chameleon, is the perfect being, a god who looks over the weird array of cowfolks that populate his movie. In reality, Rango may be near-death on the highway, or on the side of the highway, so what we're actually seeing is an imagined life filtered through the cinema as it flashes before his(and our) eyes, which encompasses a span of diverse films(especially Roman Polanski's "Chinatown") that met the chameleon's approval. When one of the minor characters uses the term "man" in a speech(rather than "critter" or varmint"), the fourth wall is broken, because in this self-contained world, there are no humans to speak of. It's Rango who is providing the lines; it's Rango who is doing all the talking. His reptilian consciousness forgets to convert "man" into animal terms. Being domesticated, maybe the chameleon forgets that he's an animal, as well. Look at his god. It's Clint Eastwood, not some animal version of the venerable actor/director. Rango flatters himself. He may think that he was made in god's own image. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
nutterjrMay 1, 2011
Neither an artful Hayao Miyazaki nor a glossy Pixar production, however Rango stands on its own, with a bonkers of a story, great animation, intelligent directing and lots of fun!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
SEROJMay 3, 2014
To all people who're looking for some intresting,dramatic and fun animation with deep story... Ignore all critics and just watch the movie till the end! First 20 minutes are boring that's true but how can people vote negative by only watchingTo all people who're looking for some intresting,dramatic and fun animation with deep story... Ignore all critics and just watch the movie till the end! First 20 minutes are boring that's true but how can people vote negative by only watching the beginning? For me it was a nearly perfect animation.... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
oblique15Jan 26, 2013
It`s pretty interesting! I say it`s a decent movie since it`s "unique", but it is kind of slow. Also the start really scared me, and made me think it might be worst then it was.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
FreedomFightersDec 5, 2016
Outside of "Jimmy Neutron: Boy Genius," I have never given a Nickelodeon Movies film a perfect 10. Low and behold, after a slow start to 2011, here we are. "Rango" is certainly excellent. Smartly-written, exciting, wonderfully animated andOutside of "Jimmy Neutron: Boy Genius," I have never given a Nickelodeon Movies film a perfect 10. Low and behold, after a slow start to 2011, here we are. "Rango" is certainly excellent. Smartly-written, exciting, wonderfully animated and featuring some very memorable characters, "Rango" certainly doesn't fail to entertain. I would say that the film is not for everyone (it's a bit more "arthouse" than most animated fare, and small children might be a bit scared of it), but all in all, "Rango" is a tremendous film that most film-lovers should watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieMasterEddyApr 3, 2016
There’s a New Sheriff in Town, and He’s a Rootin’-Tootin’ Reptile!

Feature animation currently finds itself in a golden age of mediocrity, with sensationally inventive technical means tethered, more often than not, to drab and cynical
There’s a New Sheriff in Town, and He’s a Rootin’-Tootin’ Reptile!

Feature animation currently finds itself in a golden age of mediocrity, with sensationally inventive technical means tethered, more often than not, to drab and cynical imaginative ends. The perennial Pixar exception tends to prove a dreary rule: as animated movies claim an ever bigger share of money and attention — drawing cross-generational, demographically diverse audiences more readily than most other films — they rely more and more on manic, synthetic formulas.

And so, a half-dozen times a year, parents and children line up for overscaled, noisy genre pastiches crammed with yammering movie-star voice work, eye-straining action sequences and tacked-on sermons about the importance of being yourself, following your dream or sticking by your friends and family. Even at their best (again noting the Pixar exception), these movies are like theme-park rides and other big-ticket corporate amusements — thrilling while they last and then quickly forgotten.

All of the above should apply to “Rango,” a tongue-in-cheek western (a lizard’s tongue, at that) directed by Gore Verbinski, who is best known for helping to turn a theme-park ride (Disney World’s “Pirates of the Caribbean”) into a dizzyingly successful movie franchise. But the odd thing about “Rango” is that unlike so many of its peers, it is odd. In spite of a profile that should place it alongside “Megamind” and “Despicable Me” and the long list of other overblown, have-fun-or-else cartoons, this rambling, anarchic tale is gratifyingly fresh and eccentric. Much of the time you don’t quite know where it is going, which is high praise indeed given the slick predictability that governs most other entertainments of its kind.

Perhaps this should not be too surprising, since Mr. Verbinski, especially in the first installment of the “Pirates of the Caribbean” series, showed a distinctive visual style and a genuinely off-beat sensibility. He was helped immeasurably, in all of the “Pirates” pictures, by the decorative whimsy of Mark McCreery (the production designer here) and by the uninhibited goofiness of Johnny Depp, who turned Jack Sparrow into a new pop-culture archetype. Both Mr. McCreery and Mr. Depp are crucial to the look and rhythm of “Rango,” keeping it vigorously strange almost until the end, when the movie decides to go for the safe, commercial action-extravaganza wrap-up.

But the craziness of the journey makes that familiar destination worth it. We first encounter Mr. Depp’s character, a domesticated lizard with a Hawaiian shirt and an active imagination, in the terrarium tank he shares with a broken doll torso and a wind-up plastic fish. This minimal world is a stage for him, and he struts about on it like a scaly provincial trouper, acting out dramatic scenarios and scenes from Shakespeare to dispel the boredom of benign captivity. The blank, abstract space this creature inhabits calls our attention to the fanciful nature of the movie itself, as it begins to conjure an antic, improbable world out of nothing.

Or, rather, out of images and ideas that have been floating around in the collective dream life for as long as most of us can remember. Mr. Verbinski and his colleagues (John Logan wrote the script, and James Ward Byrkit shares story credit) rummage through a grab bag of allusions and homages, many of which seem inspired more by genuine fandom than by the impulse to be clever. There is an early, blink-and-you-miss-it nod to the memory of Hunter S. Thompson, who is a personal touchstone for Mr. Depp and is also connected to the iconography of the West that “Rango” sets out to explore. That includes not only the expected tumbleweeds and cactuses and dusty rock formations, but also a hallucinatory desert tradition encompassing Carlos Castaneda and Wile E. Coyote.

Prodded on his quest by a visionary armadillo (voiced by Alfred Molina) and accompanied by the corridos of a quartet of fatalistic singing owls, our reptilian hero drags himself to the desolate town of Dirt, a bleak, bone-dry place that is nonetheless swimming in cinematic associations. As Hans Zimmer’s score chews up great mouthfuls of Ennio Morricone-style spaghetti, the town’s varmint population evokes movies ranging from the westerns of John Ford to “Chinatown” and “The Big Sleep.”

“Rango,” which may take place entirely within its hero’s head — that kind of ambiguity worked in “Inception” and “Black Swan,” so why not here? — is about the appetite for myths and stories, whether or not they make sense. It is about the worlds we dream inside our fishbowls, helped by the weird reflections on the walls.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
The first animated film from ILM is also the first memorable motion picture of 2011. Also, in a break from Hollywood's incessant race to surcharge parents to death by releasing anything bearing the "family film" moniker in 3-D, Rango isThe first animated film from ILM is also the first memorable motion picture of 2011. Also, in a break from Hollywood's incessant race to surcharge parents to death by releasing anything bearing the "family film" moniker in 3-D, Rango is available in 2-D and only in 2-D. Watching this movie unfold may remind viewers why 2-D is not an inferior format. The image pops with clarity and color. It's bright and vivid. And it's a lot easier to lose oneself in the world crafted by the filmmakers without the unwelcome and unnecessary accessory of a pair of cheap plastic glasses. Rango is the poster child for those who are anti-3-D, and a great reminder that genuine creativity doesn't need a gimmicky crutch to appeal to audiences.

Rango is a celebration of the Western. It's a comedy but, like Blazing Saddles (although without the R-rated edge), it exposes a deep, abiding love for and knowledge of the genre. Working in concert, director Gore Verbinski, screenwriter John Logan, and composer Hans Zimmer have developed a tapestry that's stitched together using references to every great movie to come along during the Western's heyday. The dialogue incorporates lines (or variations thereof) from the past. Shot selection mimics classic moments. The music utilizes recognizable cues and, at times, imitates entire themes. All of the Western motifs and clichés are employed, from the showdown at high noon to the lonely tumbleweed being hurried along by a dusty wind. One of the villains, the ominous Rattlesnake Jake, bears more than a passing resemblance to Western Legend Lee Van Cleef. And The Man With No Name makes a cameo (with Timothy Olyphant doing a passable Clint Eastwood imitation).

Although Rango's primary marching orders pertain to Westerns, the film occasionally branches out to reference other famous moments. One high octane scene begins with bats replacing gunships to the tune of "Ride of the Valkyries" before transforming into a Western version of an ILM touchstone: the Death Star trench battle from Star Wars. For older viewers, Rango offers dozens of "spot the reference" instances to go along with a screenplay that's characterized by a depth and intelligence one rarely finds in non-Pixar animated fare. For younger viewers, there are plenty of dizzying action sequences peppering a fast-moving, energetic story.

The voice acting is top-notch, with Johnny Depp taking top billing as the occasionally wisecracking Rango. Like Mike Meyers, Depp has a chameleon-like voice and is not easily recognizable without his Captain Jack accent. Support comes from an eclectic group that includes Isla Fisher (as Rango's tart-tongued love interest, Beans), Abigail Breslin, Alfred Molina, Ray Winstone, Ned Beatty, and Bill Nighy as Rattlesnake Jake. Rango's adventures are related by a Greek chorus of sorts. Dressed in sombreros, they play appropriate music and wonder out loud how long it will be until Rango dies.

The screenplay is pitched at a more sophisticated level than is the norm for a non-Pixar animated film. The plot is more complex, there are multiple villains, and there are existential moments (although nothing as extreme as what viewers experienced the last time Verbinski and Depp collaborated: Pirates of the Caribbean 3). While much of that will go over the head of the average child, there's plenty of whiplash-inducing action, with two standout sequences: Mr. Rango's Wild Ride and the bat attack. The only "missing" kid-friendly element is the ubiquitous animated song, and it isn't missed.

It's tempting to argue that Rango is a richer experience for adults than for children because there's so much more in the film for viewers with significant cinematic experience. Nevertheless, the movie has been assembled with a wide audience in view and at no time is it exclusionary of any demographic. In fact, the humor is so broadly accessible that five-year olds and eighty-year olds will often laugh at the same jokes. In terms of quality, Rango is the kind of movie one expects to see during the high profile summer or year-end seasons. It's to the benefit of movie-goers that it rides into multiplexes during one of the most barren stretches in recent memory. The story is about ending a drought, and that's precisely what Rango accomplishes.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gm101Mar 9, 2011
Why did I love this movie? Well, you got a director who directed one of the best trilogies ever, you got Johnny Depp, and you got George Lucas's ILM, the guys behind some of the best special effects seen in movies, animating the movie. Not toWhy did I love this movie? Well, you got a director who directed one of the best trilogies ever, you got Johnny Depp, and you got George Lucas's ILM, the guys behind some of the best special effects seen in movies, animating the movie. Not to mention a great homage to the Western genre. 10/10! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SwatiFeb 21, 2013
Rango seems to have divided opinions a lot. I don't think kids would enjoy it much, as the humor is dry and so is the setting. It may easily be perceived as dull and slow, but i think it's a clever movie. People may not be able to relate toRango seems to have divided opinions a lot. I don't think kids would enjoy it much, as the humor is dry and so is the setting. It may easily be perceived as dull and slow, but i think it's a clever movie. People may not be able to relate to the protagonist but there are other great movies and TV shows where the main character may come across as pretentious and annoying, but only confident artists would take such risks. I would always appreciate the avoidance of cliches of likable heroes, as the world is not made that way. But having said that, this is an animated movie and perhaps it should have done something to make it more accessible by children. Or maybe the time has come to deal with serious matters in animated films that should be targeted at grown ups. Rango had excellent visuals and script. The plot and the characters were all engaging. This is my opinion anyway. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
cabritaFeb 4, 2012
Rango is a film with lots of symbolism and witty humour. The film is very well acted by Johnny depp and is also masterfully animated, making visuals that are incredible to watch. However the film has a problem. I felt very distant from theRango is a film with lots of symbolism and witty humour. The film is very well acted by Johnny depp and is also masterfully animated, making visuals that are incredible to watch. However the film has a problem. I felt very distant from the story and it's characters I have no reason to think that but it's a reasonable feeling I had while watching this film. This feeling is enough to ruin the climax but still recognise the skill of writing and acting was put into the film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
DavidTejadaDec 18, 2016
Rango feels like a combination between action and drama but very well adapted to an animated film. Some features that you should know is that if you are not that big on action movies, you'll find Rango boring ; the soundtrack definitely wasRango feels like a combination between action and drama but very well adapted to an animated film. Some features that you should know is that if you are not that big on action movies, you'll find Rango boring ; the soundtrack definitely was terrific; the characters look ugly and the message in this movie is to never give up... After all these reviews I have to say that Jonnhy Deep has done such a very good movie but not for all the spectators, it would have succed had it been made in real life. No doubt it does not feel like trash and it's a remarkable movie from 2011. (75%) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
BKMAug 15, 2011
Rango is certainly different than most of the other computer animated films out there and it is visually rich as wel. But the story never fully engaged me. I was always aware that I was watching a movie instead of being swept up in theRango is certainly different than most of the other computer animated films out there and it is visually rich as wel. But the story never fully engaged me. I was always aware that I was watching a movie instead of being swept up in the story. Combine that with an undeniable sense of smugness resulting from the film's "not as funny as it thinks it is" brand of humor and the end result is an astonishingly dull creation. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
Khunter4382May 31, 2011
Just plain boring. The animation and cinematography is beautiful, but the whole film is just as dry as the desert it walks. The voice talent really isn't that great either. One can't help but compare this film to all of it's genreJust plain boring. The animation and cinematography is beautiful, but the whole film is just as dry as the desert it walks. The voice talent really isn't that great either. One can't help but compare this film to all of it's genre predecessors, and to that respect, this one simply isn't worthy. This one by itself is just......well, read the aforementioned. Expand
8 of 14 users found this helpful86
All this user's reviews
10
CherryxldNov 23, 2014
Rango es una película que no solo cuenta con buenos efectos de animación, si no que además ofrece una historia entretenida e interesante situada al estilo de "viejo oeste".
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
BarneyOnMTJan 5, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: The music, tone and themes feel genuinely fresh, and the character of Rango himself is great
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: Plot. Or rather lack of - 'Rango' doesn't feel like anything much at all happens. That's a real problem in a film
WHAT I LIKED: The music, tone and themes feel genuinely fresh, and the character of Rango himself is great
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: Plot. Or rather lack of - 'Rango' doesn't feel like anything much at all happens. That's a real problem in a film that's supposed to be entertaining and fun
VERDICT: A very average animation that's quirky without being particularly interesting or exciting
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
txrangersfan72Mar 7, 2011
Exceptional as an animated picture, Rango is actually a superb FILM! The story of a lizard trying to establish his own identity is followed through a journey of self-discovery that is seldom seen in animated form. The story is adorable,Exceptional as an animated picture, Rango is actually a superb FILM! The story of a lizard trying to establish his own identity is followed through a journey of self-discovery that is seldom seen in animated form. The story is adorable, exciting and surprisingly deep. The climax of the film finds Rango at his lowest point, crossing over to the other side and coming to realize who he is...just in time to save the day in the destitute town of Dirt. Funny for kids and meaningful for adults, Rango is the surprise of the year! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
avatar16Aug 23, 2011
A la fois parodie et hommage aux films à la Sergio Leone, Rango est un véritable bijou d'animation qui use de bon nombre de trouvailles comiques et de références à gogo (LasA la fois parodie et hommage aux films à la Sergio Leone, Rango est un véritable bijou d'animation qui use de bon nombre de trouvailles comiques et de références à gogo (Las Vegas Parano, Arizona Dream, Apocalypse Now, Pulp Fiction...), dont les personnages reflètent à merveille le jeu des acteurs (ah, Johnny Depp...). Un film d'animation? On pourrait même dire un véritable western spaghetti!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DarkCriticMar 5, 2011
Rango was a fun western animation film with this cool lizard that reminds me of Hunter S. Thompson from Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. Johnny Depp's character did a good voicing and keeps his character for being so obnoxious and ackward forRango was a fun western animation film with this cool lizard that reminds me of Hunter S. Thompson from Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. Johnny Depp's character did a good voicing and keeps his character for being so obnoxious and ackward for making fun for his performance. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
sil3nt_nickMar 24, 2013
Unworthy of its Oscar win. A boring plot line finished with a dull climax.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JmsbppJul 10, 2013
Un excelente comienzo para Paramount Pictures logrando una excelente pelicula, Rango demuestra gran diseño artistico y una gran enseñanza, agradezco a los productores por este gran Film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AwesomeReviewerMar 26, 2012
Rango is the most unusual animated movie out this year, it is an original title from a studio that has never produced a film like this. Also it marks the first western in animation. While the story is like a typical western, it is still quiteRango is the most unusual animated movie out this year, it is an original title from a studio that has never produced a film like this. Also it marks the first western in animation. While the story is like a typical western, it is still quite interesting. It tells the tale of big business taking advantage of the little guys. And how the little guys are just as important as the big leaders.

Another note worthy achievement is in the animation. The textures are so real and the movement is so fluid especially with the villain, a giant rattle snake. It goes for photo realism and achieves in creating realistic looking creatures. However, certain characters fall into the uncanny valley. Characters tend to look unappealing and quite disturbing. The musical score is also good. It captures the western vibe.

The movie has a lot going for it, except the humor. The humor to me feels forced and it tries too hard. It becomes pandering and quite ridiculous. The film and characters try really hard to be funny and weird for the sake of some cheap laughs. The movie also takes a while to start up and I mean a while. The movie doesnâ
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
filmtrashreviewJun 8, 2011
Who said animation has to just be for kids. The film tries to run with this idea but falls short with a overall childish plot. I have to give credit where credit is due, though the plot was lacking the film stayed true to western film cultureWho said animation has to just be for kids. The film tries to run with this idea but falls short with a overall childish plot. I have to give credit where credit is due, though the plot was lacking the film stayed true to western film culture leaving a child friendly 21st Century wester that can be cherished and because of that it gets a bump from 5 to 7. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
lovemusicJun 25, 2011
yeah this movie was awesome. it wasn't for kids. it was violent and funny too. good movie. i enjoyed it. it was weird too. it was a odd strange movie. i liked it. i thought it was good.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
scrieciuMar 28, 2011
"Rango'' is the most bad-ass, well done animated film I had ever saw. The graphics are unbeatable, it definitely deserves a nomination for best animated film. If you love western movies, you will love ''Rango", because it has those classic"Rango'' is the most bad-ass, well done animated film I had ever saw. The graphics are unbeatable, it definitely deserves a nomination for best animated film. If you love western movies, you will love ''Rango", because it has those classic moments from old western movies (such as bad guys, gun fights, the girl, etc). It wasn't just an ordinary animated movie. The actors really had to ''play'' the scene in a studio (with all the technological materiel) in order to really incarnate there voices. I must say, it really showed that incarnation in the voices of the actors. Everybody did a good job, especially Johnny Depp (as Rango). It's a fun movie for all ages ! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
gunnyartMar 5, 2011
I fell asleep for a few minutes in the middle. What's that say about it. I thought it was pretentious and self important. Some adult humor sprinkled in to give us a reason to hang out while the kids enjoy it.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
3
namelessMar 5, 2011
I really wanted to love this movie because it is gorgeous. Unfortunately the pacing is repetitious, no pathos you can feel, nothing at risk. Animals all act like humans in animal costumes. The most telling aspect as the number of people II really wanted to love this movie because it is gorgeous. Unfortunately the pacing is repetitious, no pathos you can feel, nothing at risk. Animals all act like humans in animal costumes. The most telling aspect as the number of people I saw in the theater falling asleep. Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
8
KarthXLRMar 16, 2011
Rango isn't a kids film, and it knows it. Riddled with adult humor, violence, and some pretty ugly characters, it's the perfect playground for a western lover such as myself. It pays little bits of homage to various westerns and is absolutelyRango isn't a kids film, and it knows it. Riddled with adult humor, violence, and some pretty ugly characters, it's the perfect playground for a western lover such as myself. It pays little bits of homage to various westerns and is absolutely gorgeous to watch. Great animation, great humor, great story, and most important of all: A great western. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
JTKelleyAug 10, 2012
What starts as a simple story about a lizard turns into a hero tale, parody, and spaghetti western all tied into one. John Logan's script is pure genius while Johnny Depp brings the small lizard to life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Bullet97Mar 4, 2011
I was actually really looking forward to this movie, and I was not dissapointed. I love this movie!!! The animation is stunning (ITS NOT IN 3D, THANK GOD!!), the voice work was amazing, especially Johnny Depp, who has his best role sinceI was actually really looking forward to this movie, and I was not dissapointed. I love this movie!!! The animation is stunning (ITS NOT IN 3D, THANK GOD!!), the voice work was amazing, especially Johnny Depp, who has his best role since POTC, and Bill Nighy, who's insanely perfect as the bad guy snake who has a badass machine gun for a tail, the humor is great, the film references are hilarious, and the score is brilliant! But the best thing about this movie is that its so different. Instead of being a runofthemill animated movie, its so quirky and weird. This movie is destined to be a cult midnight hit. I actually recommend it to younger kids, around 6 years and younger. There's some scary parts, some cussing, and a lot of adult jokes. But overall, Rango is a fantasic film that's one of my favorite animated movies in years. Highly recommended. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
RyanPrattSep 12, 2011
Rent-it - Johnny Depp truly is Rango, a pet chameleon accidentally stranded in the Nevada desert, and just like Depp, Rango is charming, smart, creative, beautiful, and definitely not for kids! Though it definitely is an early front-runnerRent-it - Johnny Depp truly is Rango, a pet chameleon accidentally stranded in the Nevada desert, and just like Depp, Rango is charming, smart, creative, beautiful, and definitely not for kids! Though it definitely is an early front-runner for Best Animated Picture in 2011. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
marnee96Nov 3, 2011
The voice talent is undeniably awesome, especially Johnny Depp, and the story is highly original and creative. Rango thoroughly exceeded my expectations. 4/4 stars.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
KendylKlownfishMar 5, 2011
Rango is far less charming than Disney or Pixar -- and more profane than any other "family oriented" animated feature I've seen. But it's cleverly written and beautifully animated, thus winning older audiences.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
2
Justinavery7074Mar 21, 2011
This is one of those movies that everyone that I know likes, but not me. When I was watching this, I kept thinking that "this supposed to be interesting, right?". There was great animation, but most of the stuff that was going on was notThis is one of those movies that everyone that I know likes, but not me. When I was watching this, I kept thinking that "this supposed to be interesting, right?". There was great animation, but most of the stuff that was going on was not compelling. I was begging for this to end when it got to the 20 minute mark Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
7
NKOASNov 17, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A studio-produced animated film that didn Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
ZacharyMatsonMay 7, 2011
So beautiful, so perfect, so perfectly timed. Finally Pixar has meet its match. This movie was perfect on all fronts, I didn't find myself bored or upset at any time in this film. Gore, please do more animated films!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
xolveJan 26, 2016
A brilliant, well-told film - but there's some moments that just make you wonder - who the hell thought 'that' would be appropriate for children???
Like the bit with the 'human spinal column'... WTAF.
Despite that, it's a brilliant film,
A brilliant, well-told film - but there's some moments that just make you wonder - who the hell thought 'that' would be appropriate for children???
Like the bit with the 'human spinal column'... WTAF.
Despite that, it's a brilliant film, made better by an unexpected plotline... well until it gets to the third act and gets pretty, well, predicta-hollywood-ble.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
McgillacuddyFeb 17, 2016
Parents can act like this film isn't kid-friendly but not say a damn thing when Shrek is mentioned. This... this right here is an excellent animated feature that steps past the boundaries or kid-friendly bullcrap that engulfs way too much ofParents can act like this film isn't kid-friendly but not say a damn thing when Shrek is mentioned. This... this right here is an excellent animated feature that steps past the boundaries or kid-friendly bullcrap that engulfs way too much of general American cartoons these days. This is an animated film done the right way: vulgar, but not innappropriate, violent but not wild. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
boxenford92May 14, 2011
Hands down the best movie ive seen this year so far. I enjoyed every second of this awesome animated picture. It is Gore Verbinski's best film and i hope that they make sequels because this was well worth $10.50
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
ESS180Mar 4, 2011
I think Rango is very well done.

The animation was stunning. All of the voices were fantastic especially Johnny Depp he was perfect for the role. Also this movie was hilarious! I wasn't expecting it to be funny but that was brilliant
I think Rango is very well done.

The animation was stunning.
All of the voices were fantastic especially Johnny Depp he was perfect for the role.
Also this movie was hilarious! I wasn't expecting it to be funny but that was brilliant that they added lots of comedy in there.

All and all i thought it was brilliant and better than i was expecting!
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
HighwayUKSep 5, 2011
Having a young daughter means I often get pushed into watching family movies, most of which bore me **** but RANGO is an exceptional movie, the stark contrast of city slicker pet vs wild desert critters in a western themed story is brilliant.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
D-SliceMar 26, 2011
Rango is indeed a quirky film; certainly not for kids, but still very satisfying. Not only a great comedy, animation, and adventure film, but also a great western. Rango is probably the first good film of 2011 and most people would agree withRango is indeed a quirky film; certainly not for kids, but still very satisfying. Not only a great comedy, animation, and adventure film, but also a great western. Rango is probably the first good film of 2011 and most people would agree with me. Plenty of great action and dialogue push this film along and it keeps on pushing until the end. The movie's theme is much more deep than I expected and the writing is excellent; something you would expect from a Pixar film. In short, I was happily surprised with Rango. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
FrozenStar90Mar 4, 2011
A damn fine animated movie that isn't shot in pointless 3D, contains memorable characters, superb voice-work, and painted in vivid animation. It has the all the beauty of "The Legend of the Guardians" minus the blatant stupidity.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
WayneThomas412Mar 11, 2013
Not a johnny Depp fan but since I didn't have to see his hobo looking self, I sucked it up and agreed to make this a date night movie. What a surprise. It ended up being my favorite animated film. An action packed animated film that looks andNot a johnny Depp fan but since I didn't have to see his hobo looking self, I sucked it up and agreed to make this a date night movie. What a surprise. It ended up being my favorite animated film. An action packed animated film that looks and sounds great. Love the Clint Eastwood reference. The snake was pretty bad ass! Packed a lot of punch for a Kids movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
iAGRNov 18, 2011
The movie was good but certainly not what I was expecting to see. I was expecting a comedy but it turned out to be an action film. Yeah, a full on action film. So, if you're expecting to watch a funny comedy film with your kids or whatsoever,The movie was good but certainly not what I was expecting to see. I was expecting a comedy but it turned out to be an action film. Yeah, a full on action film. So, if you're expecting to watch a funny comedy film with your kids or whatsoever, - this isn't the right choice. Some may even consider it scary. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
NEEBONDNov 13, 2011
It is like an average movie its little bit boring the jokes are also very dull. It is good to watch it once or twice the max. A very simple topic of the film the desert creatures are fighting for water and going on a stupid adventure. IIt is like an average movie its little bit boring the jokes are also very dull. It is good to watch it once or twice the max. A very simple topic of the film the desert creatures are fighting for water and going on a stupid adventure. I didn't expected an average movie from Johnny Depp. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
m_eldersJan 10, 2013
The beginning and end of this movie are the only parts worth watching. Those are the parts when you figure out the true meaning of the story. The middle is unbearable. If the town could turn cliches into water, the movie would end early inThe beginning and end of this movie are the only parts worth watching. Those are the parts when you figure out the true meaning of the story. The middle is unbearable. If the town could turn cliches into water, the movie would end early in a much-needed torrential rain. I almost stopped watching. Usually cliches don't bother me so much, but none of the characters were likable. I couldn't hold on to anything worthwhile. If you watch this movie, just watch the first and last 15 minutes, and you'll have seen a decent short animated film. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
joelschnickAug 24, 2011
Movie makes up for a few story faults by the gorgeous animation and quirkiness. My 6 & 9 year olds kind of liked it and I kind of liked it so that is good enough for a 7.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
rastapastaOct 10, 2012
There's a lot going on in Rango, some good, some bad, and come outright confusing. The good; the cinematography and action set pieces are absolutely astounding. There are funny moments, for young and old, as well.
The bad; you can argue that
There's a lot going on in Rango, some good, some bad, and come outright confusing. The good; the cinematography and action set pieces are absolutely astounding. There are funny moments, for young and old, as well.
The bad; you can argue that the plot is more or less nonexistent and was probably thought up in perhaps 2 minutes. Poor execution of said plot as well.
The Confusing; There is some language that seems more orientated towards older audiences, such as a few mild swear words. And for a movie that was supposed to be directed towards children, perhaps not suitable. But, to older viewers, the dialogue is a refreshing bit instead of "Ah Crud," or "Heck!"
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
bikemanApr 10, 2011
This is a very good movie that should appeal to both adults and older children. It may not have enough silliness for toddlers and there are a couple of places that might be a little scary for very young kids. The animation was very wellThis is a very good movie that should appeal to both adults and older children. It may not have enough silliness for toddlers and there are a couple of places that might be a little scary for very young kids. The animation was very well done. The plots is fairly predictable but it has a few twists. The plot delves into topics such as: what it takes to be a hero, greed, and cooperation, so Rango has some good positive messages for kids see. There are a lot of computer animation films released each year, and the bulk of them are terrible. This is an exception. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
bottafffMar 14, 2011
I very much enjoyed watching Rangoo, I thought it put a great spin on the old Clint Eastwood Westerns. What stuck out the most to was creative the townspeople were. It had a simple but wonderful storyline and it didn't try to get toI very much enjoyed watching Rangoo, I thought it put a great spin on the old Clint Eastwood Westerns. What stuck out the most to was creative the townspeople were. It had a simple but wonderful storyline and it didn't try to get to complicated but just stuck with the basics. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MaxTravisApr 25, 2011
Alright all you cinema lovers youâ
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
skeletonking123Sep 10, 2011
ts...Very...Weird, But in a good way, Depp did a fantastic job as Rango, along with Bill Nighy as the snake, and Ned Beatty as the mayor, Though my only problem is that, well one its very weird and by weird i mean, weird like its neverts...Very...Weird, But in a good way, Depp did a fantastic job as Rango, along with Bill Nighy as the snake, and Ned Beatty as the mayor, Though my only problem is that, well one its very weird and by weird i mean, weird like its never mentioned again, like the tunnel in willy wonka, And there is al ot of stuff that could be skipped over and it wouldnt have made a difference on the plot, Half the animals i couldn't tell what they were. But the movie was just decent overall, its at least worth seeing once but its a movie that you have to make your mind up for yourself, the weirdest part however is when Clint Eastwood (known as the spirit of the west) Appears in a vision or something to rango. Its a very strange movie and is definetly not for kids, There are several sexual references, And 9 uses of hell and one point the snake says "Sign the Damn Paper!!!!" But it pays homage to some of the old western movies with a funny little reference to "Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas" Which is also funny knowing how Depp was also in that movie. All in all a fairly decent movie with some good action, plot, and some good comedy Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
GlooneNov 1, 2015
Artistically stunning. Ever since Toy Story introduced us to the joy of computer animation, there has been an almost ubiquitous consensus on the principles of style. This has always struck me as the greatest and strangest disappointment ofArtistically stunning. Ever since Toy Story introduced us to the joy of computer animation, there has been an almost ubiquitous consensus on the principles of style. This has always struck me as the greatest and strangest disappointment of the genre. Rango shatters that, with a visual style which is completely unique -- more mature, experimental, and honestly just plain superior to everything that came before. It stands out on both a technical level, with its sophisticated cinematography, and on a creative level, with a wealth of memorable visual motifs -- and above all, an incredible menagerie of weird and wonderful character designs. The analogy that came to mind whilst watching the film was that it was like seeing a Miyazaki film in three dimensions.
These characters are acted superbly, and the dialogue sparkles with wit, weirdness and an unashamed erudition.
The one shortcoming is the plot, which doesn't really hold anything of novelty or surprise, but serves a mostly functional role of supporting the set pieces and the film's wonderful world in general.
Overall I was impressed and entertained all the way through this film, and I hope it encourages other artists in the medium to be a little more daring.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
NathanRMar 10, 2011
Let me get the good stuff out of the way first. This was a beautiful movie, visually. Industrial Light & Magic has given Pixar Animation a run for it's money. In some ways, the visual beauty of this film surpasses anything that Pixar has everLet me get the good stuff out of the way first. This was a beautiful movie, visually. Industrial Light & Magic has given Pixar Animation a run for it's money. In some ways, the visual beauty of this film surpasses anything that Pixar has ever produce. The humor is indeed quite dry, which is right up my alley. And there were some times where I genuinely laughed out loud and enjoyed myself. These are the good things; on to the bad.
This is not a kid's film. It doesn't matter that it's being promoted as one. It doesn't matter that the trailers before the movie were all kid's films. This isn't one of them.
As several others have commented, the language is borderline atrocious, especially compared to other animated films. There are some very heavy themes in this film. There are scenes of intense violence, compared to other animated films. There are scenes of the protagonist's "mystical revelations" that will go right over your child's head. In fact, trying to wrap your mind around this film will only result in a headache, as it is designed to make the viewer search for some kind of meaning, when there is none. There are MANY occult references in the film. References that only those adept to spotting them will notice. Meanwhile, the rest of the audience (esp. the kids) will soak it up subconsciously without ever noticing. There are vague Luciferic references, alongside references to the lost city of Atlantis, the Zodiac, etc, that make me feel like this film is meant to convey a certain message to a very specific group of people.
What else can I say? I fell asleep about an hour in, woke up with about 30 minutes left. Perhaps the best parts of this film were between the 17 minutes that I slept through, but I kindly doubt it.
Jonny Depp fanatics will love the film. Young adults on drugs will also love it. Your kids? Probably not.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
scottysauceMar 12, 2011
Absolutely fantastic. Funny and quirky and incredibly enjoyable. Perfect for Johnny Depp and Depp was perfect as always. Also easily the best looking animated film I've seen. A bit more adult in language than expected but and amazing filmAbsolutely fantastic. Funny and quirky and incredibly enjoyable. Perfect for Johnny Depp and Depp was perfect as always. Also easily the best looking animated film I've seen. A bit more adult in language than expected but and amazing film none the less.


I bet that Geico Lizard is super pissed he wasn't cast as Rango
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
maestraretiradaApr 15, 2011
This movie was wonderful and fun it is really a good start in 2011 for Disney, I have heard that some people hate it, I mean how can they say this the person that says this movie is terrible is really bitter and doesnt enjoy life, im tired ofThis movie was wonderful and fun it is really a good start in 2011 for Disney, I have heard that some people hate it, I mean how can they say this the person that says this movie is terrible is really bitter and doesnt enjoy life, im tired of reading this reviews with people keep saying that most movies are terrible, come on people we must learn to love everything not matter what, execept violence! i recommend YOU to watch this. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
harrisonMar 5, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A tortured universe.

I hated all of the characters, and Rango most of all. He's a pretentious, obnoxious, annoying, stupid character.

Who is the audience supposed to identify with? The female Gecko? It's just too bad she isn't the main character, and doesn't get more screen time.

The CG is insanely good, the detail in each animal is incredible and their animations are believable and fluid, it's 1,000 times more impressive than Toy Story 3.

The environment these characters inhabit, however, is far less impressive : brown, bland, boring, and hopeless, I felt despair just watching the animals carry out their doomed existence.

The film depressed me. I have no idea what the snake is supposed to do now that he's had a change of heart, what's the poor bastard going to eat?

The Turtle Villain is a great Franklin Dealanor Roosevelt or Barrack Obama type villian, and I felt myself Identifying with this character the most, as he too hated everyone else in town.
Expand
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
4
tingleApr 3, 2011
Bland passable fair. It's not crap butit's not epic either. It's just there and it will entertain you... mostly. You will wait a while between laughs but you won't walk out of the theater out of outright boredom. It's fine but completely forgettable.
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
7
kingtzAug 19, 2011
For graphics, I give this movie a solid 10. Everything was crisp, bright, and highly detailed. The overall movie gets only a 7 because I felt that it was too busy paying homage to old Westerns rather than developing its own thing. The coreFor graphics, I give this movie a solid 10. Everything was crisp, bright, and highly detailed. The overall movie gets only a 7 because I felt that it was too busy paying homage to old Westerns rather than developing its own thing. The core movie seemed to lacking and I found none of the characters memorable. Still, it was an entertaining watch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AfreemanukJul 31, 2011
I never heard of this movie until i went to see it in the cinema on the kids club a few weeks ago. I really enjoyed it and my 7 and 8 year old did too. Its not the traditional animated movie id thought it be. It has a strong story coupledI never heard of this movie until i went to see it in the cinema on the kids club a few weeks ago. I really enjoyed it and my 7 and 8 year old did too. Its not the traditional animated movie id thought it be. It has a strong story coupled with some amazing voice acting and some truely breath taking animations. Its fun, silly and sometimes serious in places but this is the best animal crossover modern western movie ever put to film. Its not suprising that this is up for oscars next year. Very very good film, Johnny Depp is amazing as Rango and his supporting cast are fantasic too. Highly recommend to see this film and own it on DVD, I hope they make another style of movie like this. It is truely an epic tale. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Nadim_BasnaMar 8, 2011
If you throw in a lizard, Beetle Juice, Salvador Dali, and a small Western town into a blender you get Rango. I must admit, the plot could have been more original, and the dialogue funnier - but the magnificently nightmarish characters keepIf you throw in a lizard, Beetle Juice, Salvador Dali, and a small Western town into a blender you get Rango. I must admit, the plot could have been more original, and the dialogue funnier - but the magnificently nightmarish characters keep you mesmerized. Nadim Basna Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
007Mar 20, 2011
Wow, this move was spectacular. Its visuals were stunning, its characters were incredibly believable, and it's humor was like some I have never seen before. Just one tip, if you are planning to see this movie, just remember to get a ice coldWow, this move was spectacular. Its visuals were stunning, its characters were incredibly believable, and it's humor was like some I have never seen before. Just one tip, if you are planning to see this movie, just remember to get a ice cold drink, because by the end of the movie, you will feel as dry as hardened glue. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SoandsoApr 18, 2011
I just noticed that one of the few people who gave Rango a "0" also gave Sucker Punch a "10." Make of that what you will. Rango isn't as good as it could've been but it was entertaining and I wasn't sorry I'd spent the $12 on a theaterI just noticed that one of the few people who gave Rango a "0" also gave Sucker Punch a "10." Make of that what you will. Rango isn't as good as it could've been but it was entertaining and I wasn't sorry I'd spent the $12 on a theater ticket afterward. Great animation and it's intelligent in that it doesn't rely on bodily functions or T&A to get audience interest. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
jimmydeanApr 23, 2011
I am partial to Pixar, but this was nice and cute. Did Johnny Depp help? I guess getting people to see it, but anyone could of voiced Rango. Pixar is just better at this medium.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
nathan737Feb 7, 2012
I was bitterly disappointed by Rango. It tried to be a cross between a Western and kids' movie and failed. The title character is an idiot and the storyline was mediocre. Save your money for another movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
grendel082Mar 20, 2011
Great animation. Fun (though not entirely original) story. Sweet characters. This is not a movie for a wide audience and DEFIANTLY not for younger kids. Anyone who is a fan of classic spaghetti westerns, The Andy Griffith Show, and JohnnyGreat animation. Fun (though not entirely original) story. Sweet characters. This is not a movie for a wide audience and DEFIANTLY not for younger kids. Anyone who is a fan of classic spaghetti westerns, The Andy Griffith Show, and Johnny Depp will have a good time. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
nufrequencyJun 26, 2011
From me its a solid 10 ! So far the best animated movie this year, well developed characters with good voice acting and top notch CGI.But to be honest I had feeling this movie was made for little bit older audience especially with allFrom me its a solid 10 ! So far the best animated movie this year, well developed characters with good voice acting and top notch CGI.But to be honest I had feeling this movie was made for little bit older audience especially with all violence and gun fighting... Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
RicshawMar 25, 2011
Overall I would say one of the better 3D animated movies in a long time (IMHO). Visually unique and a funny movie for kids (and sophisticated enough for older viewers). I'm very happy we're starting to get movies like this and not justOverall I would say one of the better 3D animated movies in a long time (IMHO). Visually unique and a funny movie for kids (and sophisticated enough for older viewers). I'm very happy we're starting to get movies like this and not just repeats of Pixar-clones. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
CactusManApr 7, 2011
BLEW MY MIND INTO PIECES AND THEN FIX MY MIND THEN BLEW IT AGAIN. Johnny Dep more like Johnny Deep for the role of Rango I felt as if i was in the old west his acting was unbelieveable. I divorced my wife because of this movie she said sheBLEW MY MIND INTO PIECES AND THEN FIX MY MIND THEN BLEW IT AGAIN. Johnny Dep more like Johnny Deep for the role of Rango I felt as if i was in the old west his acting was unbelieveable. I divorced my wife because of this movie she said she saw a problem i said I saw her leaving the house. Anyways Great movie have a great day. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
M_ajaAug 18, 2011
i think that this movie is absolutely awesome, i really like cartoons and the new ones like rio, how to train your dragon, cars 2 and this are work of a genius! johnny depp was amazing, as always, and rango is the coolest lizard i have ever watched!
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
CINEFILODec 19, 2011
I did not give a perfect score not to exaggerate, but certainly one of the best animated films of all time. A true delight that shows that not only PIXAR entertain and knows to send a message.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
conorbobonorMar 6, 2011
Being 16 and walking into a cinema to see an animation mainly aimed at children can be quite a dawnting task, as i wasn't to sure as to whether or not this movie was going to be for me. I went with my younger brother who it seemed to beBeing 16 and walking into a cinema to see an animation mainly aimed at children can be quite a dawnting task, as i wasn't to sure as to whether or not this movie was going to be for me. I went with my younger brother who it seemed to be primarily aimed at and surprisingly it was not a hit and miss like i orignally thought. Rango brings a new type of animation to the big screen as it is not just hopeless comedy like alot of the other family movies at the cinema today, it has a rich plot. The voice acting suits the roles completely and the Western style shooter works perfectly when the serious cowboys are replaced with the likes of lizards, rats and snakes. Dont get me wrong the movie is not all just haha it has a very well constructed and creative story to it in which the town is heavily dependent on their water supply which begins to run dry. It is at this point that the loveable lizard Rango(played perfectly by Johnny Depp I might add!) steps into to do his part as the sheriff of the town along with a host of different creatures all portrayed as old westen characters like general store owners, prospectors, bandits and farm owners.The humour varies and will make not only the children laugh, but adults alike not forgetting teenagers my age! All in all Rango is a good day out for the whole family and is definitely not a waste of time. Rango is so high standard compared to most animated movies out now, that it doesn't need 3D to boost its viewing figures. Instead it can rely souly on its shear quality and will not leave you 2 or 3 pound out of pocket from a disapointing trip to a 3 dimentional screening! Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
8
sadsonicfanMar 31, 2011
This movie is NOT a kids movie. Sure there's an anthropomorphic lizard, and there's a wild west setting, but many of the jokes and even the art direction are not directed at kids. I did enjoy the film though. It was fun, and seemed very wellThis movie is NOT a kids movie. Sure there's an anthropomorphic lizard, and there's a wild west setting, but many of the jokes and even the art direction are not directed at kids. I did enjoy the film though. It was fun, and seemed very well made. Don't watch this movie and expect a pixar production though. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
soldoutactivistMar 21, 2011
A great children's movie tainted by the director and screenwriter into a decent adult movie. Gore Verbinski directed the Ring and the first three Pirates of the Caribbean movie. He was fired as director of the BioShock movie because heA great children's movie tainted by the director and screenwriter into a decent adult movie. Gore Verbinski directed the Ring and the first three Pirates of the Caribbean movie. He was fired as director of the BioShock movie because he wouldn't direct a PG-13 version (he insisted on an R rating, not that I'm complaining). The screenwriter, John Logan, co-wrote Gladiator, wrote Sweeny Todd, Time Machine, Star Trek Nemesis, and The Last Samurai. So neither are known for light-hearted child entertainment. It's clear this movie wasn't intended for children under 14, but it was certainly advertised as such, to the film's discredit. That being said, changes were obviously shoe-horned in to make the story more accessible to the Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
WolfoJul 17, 2011
Lots of kids' movies use adult humor, but Rango makes the jokes so blatantly and repeatedly that it's painful for a mature mind. And it's not just here and there; every other piece of dialogue contains some kind of embarrassing sexual joke,Lots of kids' movies use adult humor, but Rango makes the jokes so blatantly and repeatedly that it's painful for a mature mind. And it's not just here and there; every other piece of dialogue contains some kind of embarrassing sexual joke, or poop joke. Rango has it's own brand of humor; too ahead of children to understand, and too immature for adults to laugh at. Some teens may possibly like it. So yeah, the humor will confuse intelligent moviegoers and the younger generation, but anyone else who doesn't really care will enjoy the amazing visual direction and great character designs. I myself like this movie for the art piece that it is, and it's sad that Rango is chained down by crap writing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
xDarkfaith312xMay 6, 2014
A funny movie that is definitely re-watchable, terrific voice-acting, a great storyline and many funny moments is what makes this such a great movie to watch
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
evanbiddulphMay 7, 2011
I absolutely was lost from beginning to end. The visuals were okay, but I fell asleep 2/3 into it. The biggest gap between the critics and my own personal review in a long time. Not recommended.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
Tmacfan51May 3, 2011
This is the best animated film I have seen in a long time. Beautiful movie, absolutely fantastic to look at. Btw, all you over-sensitive idiots, this is what I would have wanted as a kid, a film that treats you like an adult.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
austinbondMar 19, 2011
The film is worth paying full price just to see the mind-blowing animation. It's like watching the most detailed painting ever... in MOTION! Seriously, you will be entertained watching each character move. Doesn't hurt that the film is aThe film is worth paying full price just to see the mind-blowing animation. It's like watching the most detailed painting ever... in MOTION! Seriously, you will be entertained watching each character move. Doesn't hurt that the film is a hilarious, clever and surprisingly traditional western full of exciting set -pieces, nods to classic cinema and one of the most bad-ass cameos ever. Surreal brilliance. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
BeejorApr 8, 2011
Rango is a dark, dry, frightening, ugly film. I honestly can't understand how it could be considered a children's film; I was genuinely surprised. There's smoking, swearing, death, gun violence, cults, sexual innuendo, and very scary images.Rango is a dark, dry, frightening, ugly film. I honestly can't understand how it could be considered a children's film; I was genuinely surprised. There's smoking, swearing, death, gun violence, cults, sexual innuendo, and very scary images. The characters are not very lovable, with the exception of a cute possum girl. Most of the humor is cheap slapstick or tired pop culture references. On the plus side, Rango does have an interesting style and the animation is technically very stunning to look at; there's more texture and fluidity than a lot of animated films. But I would not put this on the level of Pixar or even Dreamworks. It breaks my heart because I like Johnny Depp and am a fan of CGI films, and I really wanted to like this movie. But it just left me feeling empty inside. Some people may enjoy the dark tone of the film but I would strongly recommend parents not to take their children. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
2
pcgMar 5, 2011
Great graphics, stupid "humor", totally empty storyline. My 3-year-old and I both fell asleep, and neither of us was ever engaged. No one in the (packed) theater really was. I kept wondering why I bother with non-Pixar animated moviesGreat graphics, stupid "humor", totally empty storyline. My 3-year-old and I both fell asleep, and neither of us was ever engaged. No one in the (packed) theater really was. I kept wondering why I bother with non-Pixar animated movies anymore; everything else is poop humor and cheap laughs and big name voiceovers, rather than timeless storylines and sublime humor. Even the trailers were lame.

Save your money.
Expand
8 of 24 users found this helpful816
All this user's reviews
8
ReviewAvenueMar 21, 2011
I remember seeing the snake in the commercials but I never saw it's tail. when I finally went to the movie I learned the snake, instead of a rattle on the end of it's tail, had a MINI-GUN! A FREAKING GATLING GUN. That was awesome!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
GuilloMar 19, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Unoriginal script about the guy who inspire everybody , all find out he is a fake, and turns out to be a hero after all. Not even a refreshed looked at the same story. It is slow and I believe that it has a high score because it is Johnny Deep voice. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
8
briunj04Mar 28, 2011
Rango is one of those kids movies that you wouldn't take a young child with you to see, but more of a movie that you would want to see for yourself. There honestly aren't that many jokes scattered around the movie and many of the charactersRango is one of those kids movies that you wouldn't take a young child with you to see, but more of a movie that you would want to see for yourself. There honestly aren't that many jokes scattered around the movie and many of the characters swear or threaten to kill each other. So if you are looking for more a family oriented movie, you may want to look elsewhere. Rango is similar to The Nightmare Before Christmas in ways. While it markets itself as a kid's movie, you don't watch it to get a good laugh or a happy little story, you watch the movie because of it's atmosphere and because of it's story. Rango is amazing in terms of it's visuals and character design. Everything is so detailed it's hard to take all the scenery in at once. Rango is probably the best looking animated movie that I have seen in a long time. Rango isn't too strong story wise though. It has a predictable plot that's been done many times before in different forms, but the dialogue between characters just flows so nicely that it's fun to listen to. Rango is definitely not a good movie for everyone, but if you are a fan of animated movies, then you must see this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
houseofnightfanApr 18, 2011
i watched it for ten minutes and was bored out of my mind, this film has no storyline and i could only watch ten minutes of it now that has to say something
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews