Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Jun 6, 2013
    70
    Chris Matheson's script focuses its energy on small, wickedly funny gags, half of which Robinson seems to have sputtered out as improv.
  2. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    Jun 4, 2013
    70
    Always amusing, if never screamingly funny.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Jun 9, 2013
    50
    More irrelevant than irreverent, the unworthy script from “Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure’s” Chris Matheson might play to apocalyptically stoned college kids, but offers nothing in the way of broader social satire, suggesting the waste of a perfectly good Reckoning — not to mention the talents of a cast far funnier than the doom-and-gloom results suggest.
  4. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jun 6, 2013
    50
    Silly enough for you? Did I mention that the immortal Ken Jeong of “The Hangover’’ plays God, who gets mighty pissed when hubby accidentally shoots Jesus out of the sky?
  5. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jun 6, 2013
    50
    Rapture-Palooza has a promising setup and a cast with a good track record of bringing the funny, yet it never does live up to its potential.
  6. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Jun 6, 2013
    40
    An amusing premise yields few yuks.
  7. Reviewed by: Drew Hunt
    Jun 6, 2013
    38
    Its views on organized religion are so halfhearted and perfunctory as to make Kevin Smith's Dogma seem like a veritable master's class in theistic studies.
  8. 38
    If you’re going to commit to a blasphemous stoner comedy mocking the New Testament prophesy of the coming Rapture, you’d better go all in. Because halfway isn’t funny.
  9. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Aug 20, 2013
    30
    The film overflows with inspired comic ideas that fizzle and die in execution like a marathon fireworks display of nothing but duds.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. May 27, 2014
    6
    The rapture finally happen but Anna Kendrick, her boyfriend and her family didnt get sent to heaven. Talking locusts,walking Wraith making them like pothead zombies and the occasional meteor shower are the few that plague Earth but its livable. The Beast A.K.A the Antichrist played by Craig Robinson wants to marry and basically sleep with Anna Kendrick. He gave her a choice to marry him or kill everyone she knows so she and her boyfriend came up with a plan.

    A decent satire about the rapture with sarcastic humor by Anna Kendrick and Craig Robinson raunchy humor. A good cast and cameos, it could of been better but the movie did have moments especially with Craig Robinson and Anna Kendrick together. Rapture-Palooza comedic approach towards the rapture and religion work with some success.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 24, 2014
    9
    Pot smoking demons, "fowl-mouth" birds, and Ben of Seattle join together with Ben's girl, Lindsey, in battling the Anti-Christ, Craig Robinson, also known as "Earl". If the movie just stopped there, it would already be a comic hit, but the jokes come dangerously non-stop with the evil Earl at the helm of the Rapture's aftermath. It is true that a few quips are sophomoric and there are lots of 4-letter words, but that works in the context of a plot where wickedness envelopes the planet and those left behind adjust to the new norm with a bizarrely hilarious complacence. Beware of this evil misadventure since you might very well laugh yourself to death! (I nearly did.) While this flick goes well with beer and buddies, it is not recommended for those who are convinced that the earth has corners and has only been around for 6,000 years. Full Review »
  3. Dec 3, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I laughed a lot at this movie. Start to finish. Seeing Craig Fergeson
    on the front cover seemed like a no brainer for me but after a quick
    internet search I had second thoughts, which turned out to be wrong.
    currently I believe IMDb scores this movie higher than sites like
    criticker and flixster, I am not sure why as I felt it was much better
    than the majority of comedies out there. Craig plays the anti-Christ
    which gives him the opportunity to flood us with crude, inappropriate
    one-liners every time he is on screen. There are also lots of other
    recognizable actors who mostly play what the movie refers to as
    "reapers", pot smoking half zombies with sarcastic humour. Good stuff.
    The two leads are straight enough characters that keep the movie
    grounded yet their reactions to some of the hilarious plagues early on
    in the movie made for some good laughs. Overall I laughed constantly
    and that is the point of a comedy so good job to this underrated gem.
    Full Review »