Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: June 29, 2007
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1341 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,210
Mixed:
79
Negative:
52
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
4
BarneyOnMTJan 5, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: Brad Bird directs the characters well, and the animation is great
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: 'Ratatouille' actually offers very little in terms of plot, pace, excitement or interesting dialogue to keep children or adults entertained
WHAT I LIKED: Brad Bird directs the characters well, and the animation is great
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: 'Ratatouille' actually offers very little in terms of plot, pace, excitement or interesting dialogue to keep children or adults entertained
VERDICT: It's commended for it's character, but what really lets it down is the lack of ingredients to make you excited.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
MariofanFeb 9, 2015
One of Pixar's weakest films. I didn't like it that much. The animated people look ugly. The storyline is okay. The voice acting was fine. I only laughed once. I found Ratatouille pretty boring but it's your choice if you want to watch it or not.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
spielbrick90Oct 19, 2011
I really didn't enjoy this film, i'm a bit disappointed actually. I was looking forward to seeing it, I mean, the advert was quite good. But after watching the film I realised that the bits that were in the advert were the only good bits inI really didn't enjoy this film, i'm a bit disappointed actually. I was looking forward to seeing it, I mean, the advert was quite good. But after watching the film I realised that the bits that were in the advert were the only good bits in the film, and that's not that many. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
5
notFRIGENcasualNov 14, 2015
thought there was goin to be tittays in this judging by the thumbnail but i was SORELY mistaken turns out. some friggen, rat(?) is like controlling some dude by pullin his hair maken 'em cook (not to far with waht i do with my GF to be honestthought there was goin to be tittays in this judging by the thumbnail but i was SORELY mistaken turns out. some friggen, rat(?) is like controlling some dude by pullin his hair maken 'em cook (not to far with waht i do with my GF to be honest to ya, haha) then this FINE ASS FUG thottie shows up, i admit, i had to set my beanie on my lap when i saw her if ya catch my drift LOL (laugh out loud) my homie thought it was wack that i was "getting hot and bothered by a cartoon" but fug that fuggin fugboy, his moms a crack whore anyway, what do he know. yeah thats right, CHAD GO SCREW YOURSELF, THIS PURFECTLY NORMAL, YOU PROLLY AINT NEVER GOT STIMULAYTED BY ANYTHIN UNLESS IF IT WAS A ASS SLAPPIN OF THE MALE VARIETY, HAAAAAAA, #FUGAJOB Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ChrisR.Jul 5, 2007
The animation was great. The story, pretty good. The movie is definitely better then 'Cars' where I was bored to tears. This is the third pixar movie in a row, however, where I can't help but looking at my watch and wonder The animation was great. The story, pretty good. The movie is definitely better then 'Cars' where I was bored to tears. This is the third pixar movie in a row, however, where I can't help but looking at my watch and wonder when it will be over. The ending is predictable. I think Pixar needs to worry about becoming too formulaic. Just because Pixar changes from the sea, to the racetrack, now to the French kitchen, does not mean all these moves are incredibly original. In my opinion, they are the same story over and over again. Of course, maybe I was expecting something dramatically different due to the 95! overall score... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
mercedesm.Aug 12, 2007
i can't actually believe that so many critics gave this 100. I found it quite boring and predictable. I wouldn't ever choose to watch it again or advise anyone to watch it. I didn't feel connected to any of the characters and i can't actually believe that so many critics gave this 100. I found it quite boring and predictable. I wouldn't ever choose to watch it again or advise anyone to watch it. I didn't feel connected to any of the characters and the ending was a disappointment. I was being kind giving this film 6. I don't know how this film managed to get 96 when Finding nemo only got 89. Finding Nemo can be watched over and over again and can never become boring. After pixar creating such a great film as finding nemo I was very disappointed with this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarshaQ.Aug 20, 2007
I took my preschooler to see this movie and we both couldn't wait for it to be over. I was very disappointed in how slowly the storyline begins and drags on before it finally gets to the point of the movie. I don't believe this is I took my preschooler to see this movie and we both couldn't wait for it to be over. I was very disappointed in how slowly the storyline begins and drags on before it finally gets to the point of the movie. I don't believe this is worthy of being associated with Disney. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MikeKAug 8, 2007
Yawn. Advanced technology isn't enough to hold a movie together. This movie lacks true creativity. It's a perfect example of how lame and unimaginative mainstream movie-making has become. And the rave reviews by the critics Yawn. Advanced technology isn't enough to hold a movie together. This movie lacks true creativity. It's a perfect example of how lame and unimaginative mainstream movie-making has become. And the rave reviews by the critics illustrate how they're completely fooled by BIG production that has no soul. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JamieS.May 7, 2008
A very mediocre movie and overrated movie. Almost all of it's humour is Jerry-Lewis-esque --- IE strange bodily contortions, (When the chef is throwing his arms around) or funny faces pulled during various scenes. If you like that sort A very mediocre movie and overrated movie. Almost all of it's humour is Jerry-Lewis-esque --- IE strange bodily contortions, (When the chef is throwing his arms around) or funny faces pulled during various scenes. If you like that sort of thing, or indeed if you find Jerry Lewis funny, fine. I found it puerile,and I suspect most adults would. The thing is, it DOES have some truly beautiful imagery -- IE the scenes of paris at night -- and some really nice music. But this is a COMEDY. It's nice to look at and listen to, but as a comedy, it fails. It's just not funny. Not to mention the characters are tired modern stereotypes -- the hopeless, sappy nerdish male, and the confident, successful,powerful female who loves him in spite of himself. For christ's sake, writers, half of your audience is male. Stop alienating us. Bottom line - young children will probably enjoy it. Adults best avoid it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
DenzelW.May 7, 2008
I can't believe this is on the top ten of all time list. Yes the animation is phenomenal but I wouldn't even rate it in the top ten of Pixar releases (including shorts) let alone any best ever list. The storyline and I can't believe this is on the top ten of all time list. Yes the animation is phenomenal but I wouldn't even rate it in the top ten of Pixar releases (including shorts) let alone any best ever list. The storyline and characterisation are very poor and as for humour... was there any? Just average. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JayA.Aug 10, 2009
The rat scenes are great; but the chefs are cliched and the dust boy Linguni kills the film with his over done voice and constant screaming. I can't believe it has such high critical acclaim.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RégisM.Jun 14, 2010
Good ideas. Visually excellent. But not very funny. And worst : Again and again in an US movie about France, the action is in the present, but the Paris you see is like the 60's. Black and white TV, cars of 60's... I was disappointed.
2 of 10 users found this helpful
4
JoshR.Nov 19, 2007
Great FX. Lame story. I mean, why do these Pixar films sell so well and get good reviews? This was a clunky who cares type story where the main character was an idiot, and the rat was not much better. I get the point and understand the Great FX. Lame story. I mean, why do these Pixar films sell so well and get good reviews? This was a clunky who cares type story where the main character was an idiot, and the rat was not much better. I get the point and understand the story, just seems like it could have been an after school special made for Disney kids. Just because they spend multi-million dollars on a film and the CGI sets the standard - I just don't get why our culture enjoys a movie about a French cooking rat over movies like Rescue Dawn or other "real" heartfelt films that actually take more than the actor coming into the studio for a day to voice over. The new Beowulf is another example of this. All it is is eye candy, and the story and character development seems to be fading with our short attention spans. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
PrestonMNov 8, 2007
The name Linguine Alfredo?? Dig a little deeper, please. It's set in Paris not Italy. And although Linguine's character redeems himself slightly in the end, most of the time he's too clumsy to watch or listen to. And the plot The name Linguine Alfredo?? Dig a little deeper, please. It's set in Paris not Italy. And although Linguine's character redeems himself slightly in the end, most of the time he's too clumsy to watch or listen to. And the plot is reminiscent of plenty of animated movies. See Fieval movies and Flushed Away(2006). There is some kind of conspiracy amongst reviewers and animated children's movies. I think they should be in a whole different class. Imagine deciding between "The Godfather" and "Ratatouille" as the best movie in your library. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
PianocomposerAug 19, 2007
My wife and I saw this film and simply did NOT understand the high ratings that reviews were giving it. The plot is implausible and breaks its own rules by being logically inconsistent within its own fantasy world. I didn't care about My wife and I saw this film and simply did NOT understand the high ratings that reviews were giving it. The plot is implausible and breaks its own rules by being logically inconsistent within its own fantasy world. I didn't care about the characters. I wanted to walk out after the first 20 minutes but stuck with it. There was a minor pay off at the end that was weak, at best. I felt I had lost 2 hours of my life and this shook my faith in reviewers to the core. With weak characters, shaky plot and broken rules, it was really a terrible film. Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
LeeP.Feb 19, 2008
The animation is perfect as with all Pixar films but unlike The Incredibles or Toy Story the characters are not very strong or in fact very likable. I didn't think that this was as good as some of the earlier Pixar films. This one lacks The animation is perfect as with all Pixar films but unlike The Incredibles or Toy Story the characters are not very strong or in fact very likable. I didn't think that this was as good as some of the earlier Pixar films. This one lacks the visual impact of Finding Nemo or Monsters Inc. If you are a collector I'd wait till this one is a little older and then perhaps you can pick it up for less then its retailing at the moment! In a word I found this one disappointing from Pixar and hope that WALL-E will bring Pixar back to form! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JimR.Feb 26, 2008
I guess I'm missing something. Maybe I waited to long to see this movie and the hype just killed it. It was a fine movie. Beautiful, funny, charming. But I don't get the rave. I thought Finding Nemo was much more entertaining and I guess I'm missing something. Maybe I waited to long to see this movie and the hype just killed it. It was a fine movie. Beautiful, funny, charming. But I don't get the rave. I thought Finding Nemo was much more entertaining and much less predictable. This is a nice movie, but a 96 puts it ahead of Lord of the Rings, Schindler's List and Star Wars. I think not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ColinB.Mar 3, 2008
While this was an enjoyable movie experience, it hardly warrants a 96. The plot became too mechanical, the characters were so thin you could cut through them with dull scissors, and my God...I would find much pleasure stomping Remmy into While this was an enjoyable movie experience, it hardly warrants a 96. The plot became too mechanical, the characters were so thin you could cut through them with dull scissors, and my God...I would find much pleasure stomping Remmy into oblivion with a large boot, Although visually, this is an accomplishment. I'll give Pixar kudos for that. But a 96... And if Academy voters actually went and saw Persepolis, we'd all be stomping Remmy into oblivion with our large boots, instead of handing over our dignity in the form of a naked gold statue. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
AnonymousMCNov 15, 2007
Seeing the critics' rave reviews, I had very high expectations of this film. Suffice it to say I got so bored I had to stop half way through watching it. No laughs for 50' is also not a good sign for a so called animated comedy.Seeing the critics' rave reviews, I had very high expectations of this film. Suffice it to say I got so bored I had to stop half way through watching it. No laughs for 50' is also not a good sign for a so called animated comedy. Everything seemd fake about the characters, including the French accent which is done so poorly. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
RobertB.Nov 27, 2007
Cute. I smiled all movie, but never laughed out loud. Amusing, little to no negatives, but few positives. It isn't Shrek, it isn't Toy Story, its not even Finding Nemo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SebastianF.Oct 16, 2007
The movie isn't bad but come on 96!!! I mean it is a fairly common mainstream movie, there´s nothing really special about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KevinDNov 7, 2007
Not bad but by the end I was wishing it was over. As overrated as the new Radiohead album 'In Rainbows'.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
RichardSep 21, 2007
just one question. what part of this movie was supossed to be funny? the animation was brilliant but it was the first pixar movie i can recall seeing in which i did not laugh once.
0 of 0 users found this helpful