User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 288 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 288

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 8, 2011
    9
    Here is what you get when you see this movie: You get to be with moviegoers that will cheer and clap out loud (when is the last time that happened). You get great fight scenes. Real life Rock'em Sock'em Robots. You get the desire to stand up and throw a punch yourself. You may get a tear in your eye. If you go with your son, you get to watch him go through every emotion in two hours then talk about every minute of it for the next two hours. You get to watch a very good movie and you get your monies worth. Again, when is the last time that happened? No academy awards with this one, but you'll have some priceless snapshot moments with your family. Expand
  2. Oct 8, 2011
    10
    I am in a robotics team, so i might be a little biased towards robots, but i think this was the best fighting movie of the year!!!!!!! I was looking forward to this movie soo much, and it STILL beat my expectations!!!! It is a classic movie of a father getting to know his son better after leaving him alone with his mother and they are seeing each other for the first time because the mom died. However, the fact that the dad is a pro boxer and that he fights extremely high tech robots is a very good plot line. He is kind of a bum that is trying to earn money to pay off many debts, but he ends up getting a really cool son instead. If you like Rocky Balboa and transformers (mainly the robot part, not so much the transforming part), then you will think this movie is epic!!! Expand
  3. Oct 9, 2011
    10
    My son at 10 minutes in: "I LOVE this movie!" :) Really well done - great fx, really good actors, good, personal story. Like a "Rocky" for kids. A good father-son bonding movie. :)
  4. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    I went to this movie with apprehension and at first wondered if I had come into the wrong show until I saw Hugh Jackman at the wheel of his truck. I was expecting it to be far into the future but soon found it was in a time similar to ours, the not to distant future. It's a relatable world with characters not much different to us. Real Steel was a pleasant surprise and had a Disney flavour, it's really worth seeing. It has a great story line, interesting characters and great robot fighting scenes. They were well-done and the Robots look so real and you would hardly tell that it was all done by computer simulation. This movie is a heart felt father son story between and ex boxer Hugh Jackman and his son Dakota Goyo. I wouldn't be surprised is there is a sequel and I'd definetly go alone and see it. Expand
  5. Oct 8, 2011
    9
    Here is an over-the-top idea to bring in a rock 'em sock 'em robot movie with Wolverine rather than Optimus Prime that many are overlooking from the trailers. Guess what, the movie was great and a lot of fun! I took the family and if the wife enjoyed it, then you know it wasn't that bad. The fights did remind me of Rocky and even a few of them seemed to mirror Balboa's fights, I was hooked into them no different rooting for Atom. My boy was loving every second of it. So if you want to be entertained, blow off the negative critics and go see it. That's what movies are about right, just enjoying it and not wanting everything to be grounded in realism? Expand
  6. Oct 8, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite movies, the movie is an instant classic in every way. Great to take the family to, with the gf, go with friends... all around a great movie. It has tons of action.... who in their right mind doesn't wanna see fighting robots? It has some lovey dovey scenes, it makes you feel as if you are a part of Atoms journey to greatness and it really brings you into the lives of the main characters. The critics are being REALLY harsh, there's no reason to give this movie any less then a 9. If the movie interests you at all, it's defiantly worth seeing on the big screen. I found myself cheering Atom on the whole movie and really felt as if I could connect with all the main characters. Can't wait for Real Steel 2. Expand
  7. Oct 16, 2011
    9
    This is highly likely the film of the year. It's a daft concept, Rocky with robots, but it works and it works brilliantly. The film maybe cliched in it's plot but you should already expect that the estranged father and son will make amends and win the competition etc. These are acceptable cliches they are the cliches that you will enjoy seeing and thankfully the ones that you don't like to see are avoided. There were many points where I expected a certain cliche to happen and then nope it was avoided, it shows their was care and consideration put into the making of this film. The film gives you what you want and is a totally great feel good film. The robots look fantastic and the boxing is edge of the seat stuff, you will really give a damn about Atom winning his fights. Jackman is great as always and the little kid in this reviewers opinion was excellent although kids can be make or break for alot of people so you'll have to decide for yourself. Fantastic film, you'll love every second. Only problems are gangsta COD player soundtrack and lots of product placement. Easy 9/10, go see it!

    Final thought: How come a director with credits such as Night at the museum can make a movie with better robot fight scenes than Michael Bay? **** you Michael Bay...
    Expand
  8. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    A very good and entertaining movie. My husband liked it (he's a very critical person) and my 9-year old daughter loved it. Yes its unrealistic to us in 2011 but who knows what will happen in 2027. It's not a movie to take seriously but its what i call a "fun" movie. Watch out parents there's cursing throughout the whole movie including the little boy. That's something hollywood really needs to get rid of when it comes to cursing kids. My child would be disciplined if she curses like that. Besides that the movie is two thumbs up. Expand
  9. Jan 9, 2012
    10
    just one word to describe this MOVIE when im seeing

    and the word are " AMAZING "

    really2 amazing..
    im wonder whats the director use to make this movie..
  10. Feb 17, 2012
    9
    A man, who is lost in life connects with his son over the course of a summer whilst fixing and fighting robots. Together they learn, love and find what they have been missing. Itâ
  11. Oct 10, 2011
    9
    I think that the majority of the reviews for 'Real Steel' are not only harsh but smack of reviewer ignorance to the point where I even wonder if they watched the film. Yes it is a bit sappy, sometimes a little too much but it is a family movie for goodness sake. Take care when reading reviews from ragazines like the NY times (where the reviewer makes so many factually inaccurate statements about the film that it is obvious he did not watch the whole film) and pay attention to Metacritic. Spot on. Expand
  12. sYs
    Jan 12, 2012
    10
    The movie was amazing. At first i wasn't impressed at all but when the plot developed - it really got me going and wanting more. Even a tear from my eyes. This movie deserves all 10 from me.
  13. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    this film stinks the plot has so many holes it. the acting is dire and wooden. why do they persist on giving kids adult dialogue? the kid says things that no kid would say. they said that humans get tired of watching other humans fight yet you got robots pummeling each other and squashing heads with crowds cheering. the kid an father have not seen each other for years yet they get on straight away no animosity and no withdrawn actions from the child. the movie is cliched and devoid of character development also the language used by the kid only goes to show what type of world we are living in now when directors are only encouraging children to be rude to adults but also swear Expand
  14. Oct 17, 2011
    9
    Rocky with Robots! It was packed with excitement and amazing visuals. Cast was awesome and funny. This is movie is definitely for all ages. Though it doesn't make you think that much, it is pure entertainment.
  15. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    Loved the movie. Futuristic version of the original Rocky. Nice tale of a father learning to be one. I would recommend highly. PG-13...there is some violence, but not brutal as in the Rocky Saga.
  16. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    It was relatively ok, it could have had more action and a better plot and story line, acting was good and special affects were also great but I had a good time watching, its something older people and kids can enjoy together,
  17. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    This movie was way better than I expected going in. The acting is outstanding, the story is interesting and pulls you in, the action and fighting scenes are phenomenal, etc. Honestly, it's essentially Rocky with robots. The only negative I have about the movie is that the premise is a bit silly but if you can look past that, this really is a fantastic film. The idiotic critics didn't find it to be a good movie but then again, they're rarely correct with any of their assessments. They tend to think unique, even if terrible, is better than great but a little cliche. I can't disagree more. This movie, outside of the robot element, has been told a 100 times before but it is still a strong movie in its own right and worth watching. Expand
  18. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    I dont care about what the critic's say..for me, what matters is whether I enjoyed the movie or not..and trust me..you will enjoy each and every moment of REAL STEEL..right from the careless Hugh Jackman..the Japanese Noisy Boy..Dakota's innocence..Evangeline's beauty to the ultimate inspirational friend ATOM..everything is cool about this movie..I really wanted somebody to replace Transformers..and this movie has done it.. Expand
  19. Mar 5, 2012
    9
    Real Steel is a fantastic film, with great visual effects and amazing actors and I will highly recommened it to everyone. However there are two problems with the film One, The begining, its VERY slow and makes the watcher feel that the film is going to be rubbish, though as the film goes on the plot gets better. Secondly, Charlie (Hugh Jackman) is a very unlikeable character, though it didn't ruin the film for me as he got more likable as the film went on, but he can make the viewer want to get up and strangle him.

    Max(Dakota Goyo) has also been recieving pretty harsh reviews, and to me you either love him or hate him. Luckily I really liked his character, who I found you could easily symphasie with I would highly reccomend this film
    Expand
  20. Jul 27, 2012
    10
    This movie is legendary. It is everything you want in a family film and more. It has robots and intense fighting scenes but this film also weaves in a real sense of heart, humanity. It makes you laugh, cry, shout, snicker and say awww. Not only a movie that is filled with adrenaline, but also a movie with a great deal of heart. It is in line with great classics like Rocky, definitely a movie that you will want to watch over and over. I do not know what is wrong with the people who give it a low remark, i think they are insane or just plain dumb. The kids 10 years old, give him a break!! And bad acting, bad music, bad storyline?! What the **** is wrong with all of you?! The reader of my review, PLEASE trust me when I say that they are outta they're mind, it is an amazing movie and you'd be filled with regret if you didn't watch it. It is amazing and I applaud the ones who created it, thank you. Expand
  21. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    56? Are you serious? Real Steel is one of my favourite movies. I know that it isn´t perfect, but it is a very good movie. There are a lot of better movies, but Real Steel is almost perfect.
  22. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    Did not expect to be giving this film a 9, but it's fun, exciting, and very easy to get emotionally invested. Director Shawn Levy has a very spotty record, but this is his best work.
  23. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Good film for young audiences. The action-packed fighting scenes is incredible, the story/plot is good (and like what I said before, the plot is (kinda) for young audiences.

    Other than that, good movie, great battle scenes and very cool acting.
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: James White
    Oct 10, 2011
    60
    Rocky with robots? It's not quite in Balboa's weight class, but Real Steel at least has some heft. There's barely a story beat among the beat-downs that you won't expect, and sometimes the saccharine gets in the way of the spectacle, but on the whole this is enjoyable family entertainment.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Oct 10, 2011
    50
    The story remains sadly mired in botdom, which leads to some boredom. It's hard to look away from the ever-dazzling Jackman, but the sight of him hunched over the controls of something akin to a live action video game is not, in the end, much more exciting than the sight of your average teenager hunched over the controls of a Game Boy.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Oct 7, 2011
    50
    When making a film for 10-year-old boys, it doesn't have to be good, necessarily -- just good enough. And that's exactly what Real Steel is: good enough.