Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 192 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 38
  2. Negative: 5 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Zwecker
    Jul 19, 2013
    88
    Red 2 not only delivers the action, laughs and thrills of the original — in many ways it surpasses it.
  2. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Jul 17, 2013
    67
    Like its predecessor, it’s a one-joke movie; the difference is that this time around, the joke is better.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jul 18, 2013
    63
    The film has its charms but the end result feels like warmed-over James Bond… and not even especially good 007, at that.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jul 18, 2013
    50
    My favorite thing in the movie is the way co-star and Korean action icon Byung Hun Lee uses his feet of fury to hoist a paint can and send it flying.
  5. Reviewed by: Jamie S. Rich
    Jul 18, 2013
    50
    Willis appears to have finally grown bored of his own shtick, and Malkovich spends most of the movie looking humiliated.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Aug 3, 2013
    40
    Dean Parisot, who made the delightful Galaxy Quest, has a funnier sensibility than the first movie’s director, Robert Schwentke, but he’s still defeated by a script that’s over-complicated and under-sophisticated.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Jul 17, 2013
    25
    An awfully expensive and grossly extended Cialis commercial.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 41
  2. Negative: 6 out of 41
  1. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    Simply put if you are a fan of the first movie and how excellent it was done, then you will enjoy the same formula again with Red 2, its a wonder again with my attempt to understand critic reviews, I wonder how many of them purchase the same bagel, cup of coffee or meal from their favorite establishment. A movie like Red 2 needs to keep with the same formula as the first because it worked another movie that comes to mind is Taken and Taken 2, same formula used with Taken 2 and just as entertaining. Red 2 gets the job done even with a few scenes of absurdity, but coolness blended in, the movie is entertaining. Go See it. Expand
  2. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    great action and interplay with a awesome cast...fun date night movie....both my wife and I liked it. the line play between the characters got laughs from the crowd throughout the movie Expand
  3. May 13, 2014
    8
    In 2010, DC Comics introduced the world to one of it's lesser known series, R.E.D. (Retired Extremely Dangerous). What I loved about that film was that it took old school action stars and put them into a modern action movie. The expectations for action movies are much higher today, no longer are they just chases, explosions, and gun fights. Today, people expect action films to have some kind of story, characters with personality, and even some humor. RED delivered all that and more and so does it sequel. Even though there are some bigger names in RED's second installment, the humor didn't play as big a role as it did previously and the story moved a lot faster. To some, this may have been a good thing, but for me, too much happened too quickly. I liked it better when we didn't know the characters or what to expect from them, when things were explained, and not just delved into. The first film made RED seem very original, but it's sequel really does play like a story that was adapted from a comic. Don't get me wrong though, while the second film doesn't compare to the first, it is still far better than some of the other action films released lately. You really can't go wrong in having an action film that stars Bruce Willis and John Malkovich, they seem to just be oblivious to the signs of aging and are as believable today as they were in their prime. Alone, this pair would have been terrific, but you add true legends of the screen like Anthony Hopkins and Helen Mirran to the cast, and honestly, I don't see how any movie fan would want to miss that! The acting is terrific and the story, while proceeding much too quickly, was still a pretty interesting one. I did really enjoy RED 2, my only wish is that they had slowed things down a little and let us catch our breathe. Expand
  4. Jul 25, 2013
    7
    If you didn’t see the first one (or don't remember), RED stands for "retired, extremely dangerous." That applies to Bruce Willis and John Malkovich, who set out (with charming Mary-Louise Parker) to save the world from a special bomb. Along the way, they encounter Helen Mirren, Catherine Zeta-Jones & Anthony Hopkins. Watching this A-list cast fight and kill with efficient aplomb is the biggest draw. The action sequences are plentiful and entertaining, while the humor comes more from attitude than lines (and Malkovich's funny faces). This is an old-fashioned spy flick. It's not as good as the original or ground-breaking, but it's still plenty of fun. Expand
  5. Sep 2, 2014
    6
    Typically sequels of this nature fail to bring any fresh and/or exciting looks into the realm of their first installment. Red 2 contains a similar formula, but manages to provide thrill after thrill. Expand
  6. Jul 26, 2013
    6
    You walk into “Red2” knowing exactly what you are getting. After checking your brains at the door you lean back and observe the actors from how beautiful Catherine Zeta-Jones is to how much fun Helen Mirren appears to be having even to the point of playing a queen gone mad in one scene. There is John Malkovich playing crazy as only he can and Bruce Willis flipping off repartee as if he was back in “Moonlighting” only this time sparring with Mary-Louise Parker. First spotting Anthony Hopkins you may think Charles laughton has come back to life. With this cast it is hard to stand out but Korean star Byung Hun Lee, as a lethal body weapon, gets laughs with his ‘want my plane back’ tirade at Bruce Willis and Neal McDonough is ready to jump into the next James Bond movie as a villain extraordinaire.

    Director Dean Parisot and screenplay writers Erich and Jon Hoeber know they aren’t making a picture for the ages but a fun romp with stellar performers. Yes they throw in a mad scientist, a device that will blow up, if not the world, then at least Moscow. There is a timing device ticking down and wires being cut but suspense is not the name of this game. Have a few car chases, blow up a few more cars, break a lot of glass and have Helen Mirren come out blazing with a gun in each hand plus a sexy scene with her, being a sniper, and Brian Cox enthralled by her and her shooting and her toes curling with each round she fires off and you will be smiling.

    What can you expect of a movie that takes place in Paris, France, Moscow, Russia and Teterboro, New Jersey, that also has a subdued, but pounding beat of a music background by Alan Silvestri and throws in “Papa Loves Mambo” sung by Perry Como?

    This is the type of movie that throws away a line like “Is that a stick of dynamite or are you just happy to see me?” to burn in your mind and go right on to the next line!

    Hot and/or rainy day? Want to forget everything for 2 hours and just relax? Definitely go see “Red2” and watch pros have a good time!
    Expand
  7. Oct 31, 2013
    0
    Lazy, stupid, boring, and unfunny. What is going on with the state of movies these days? Have we forgotten everything about how to make a decent movie? I'm thinking this must be made for very stupid children.
    How about adding some suspense, by not mixing the emotional tone of the movie every damn 2 minutes. Funny, serious, funny, serious, funny, serious, angry, funny and so on. If you mix this with the totally unbelievable conversations, that sound sooo rehearsed, you have a freakin recipe for disaster.
    Collapse

See all 41 User Reviews

Trailers