Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: November 21, 2012
4.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 178 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
53
Mixed:
46
Negative:
79
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
MarcDoyleNov 22, 2012
It's certainly not as bad as the pro critics would suggest. As a tribute to the first film, it's decent, but it lacks the charm of the original. Hemsworth is not nearly as magnetic as Swayze. But it's a dumb fun action flick that keeps theIt's certainly not as bad as the pro critics would suggest. As a tribute to the first film, it's decent, but it lacks the charm of the original. Hemsworth is not nearly as magnetic as Swayze. But it's a dumb fun action flick that keeps the blood pumping, so I'd give is a modest recommendation to those who are into this sort of thing. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
7
Bruteforce037Feb 23, 2013
This movie has a lot of action, and that's a good thing. So, they may have deviated from the original a bit, and that's fine. The acting is ok at best. Listen, I have watched BattleShip twice. I think the acting in that movie totally SUCKS.This movie has a lot of action, and that's a good thing. So, they may have deviated from the original a bit, and that's fine. The acting is ok at best. Listen, I have watched BattleShip twice. I think the acting in that movie totally SUCKS. (Rihanna, acting, really?) The actors in this movie are far better. Go in thinking action movie, for about 2hrs, give or take, and you will be satisfied. Anything else, and you will probably be disappointed. i will recommend this movie on that condition. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
Forrestgump1Jun 4, 2013
"As a huge fan of the original, If you can put aside all the cheesy, corny acting of our leads, chances are your going to like this new take on the classic film. Its intense, exciting and builds up huge momentum on its original. I know i'm a"As a huge fan of the original, If you can put aside all the cheesy, corny acting of our leads, chances are your going to like this new take on the classic film. Its intense, exciting and builds up huge momentum on its original. I know i'm a wolverine." B+ Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
TVJerryNov 28, 2012
This remake of the 1984 film has shifted the villains from Russia to North Korea. (It was shot several years ago with Chinese villains, but times have changed and so did the flags and uniforms in post production.). Pre-Thor Chris HensworthThis remake of the 1984 film has shifted the villains from Russia to North Korea. (It was shot several years ago with Chinese villains, but times have changed and so did the flags and uniforms in post production.). Pre-Thor Chris Hensworth and pre-Hunger Games Josh Hutcherson lead the cast of young people who take on the hostile foreign invaders. Their pluck and guerilla tactics are amazingly slick and successful for such an untrained group, but there's not much about this film that's realistic. Some of the action is good, but much of it is blurred and choppy Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
Jerik02Nov 25, 2012
Aside from the fact that Hollywood caved to Chinese pressure, and altered the antagonists from China to North Korea - Ironic in the extreme because this movie is about Americans standing up to communists - this movie is pure garbage. How theAside from the fact that Hollywood caved to Chinese pressure, and altered the antagonists from China to North Korea - Ironic in the extreme because this movie is about Americans standing up to communists - this movie is pure garbage. How the hell would North Korea invade America? With what Navy? This is just simple tripe and typical of the crap Hollywood produces. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
TheQuietGamerSep 27, 2013
It's mildly entertaining and highly unrealistic. I've never seen the original so I can't compare it to this remake. I can say that it can be entertaining at times but overall the odd casting choices and emotional moments that fall short bringIt's mildly entertaining and highly unrealistic. I've never seen the original so I can't compare it to this remake. I can say that it can be entertaining at times but overall the odd casting choices and emotional moments that fall short bring the experience down. Still it can be worth a watch just for the decent yet unrealistic action sequences that are packed with explosions. The cast does a good job but the only character that feels like they belong in a movie like this is Chris Hemsworth. Seeing Josh Peck and Hutcherson take down numerous Korean soldiers better than a squad of fully trained marines is more than a little unbelievable. Still the movie is watchable, so if you have nothing better to do then there are worse things to watch in your free time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
hcookieNov 22, 2012
It's a little hard to get drawn into a movie when the main villain is a country that can barely has enough of anything in their own fridge, let alone invade another country.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
3
KadeemluvmusicNov 25, 2012
I love the original Patrick Swayze version of Red Dawn, it was one of the best 80's movies that we certainly don't have time for a reboot. The new version starring a Hunger Games star and an Avengers star is pretty much says it. After a longI love the original Patrick Swayze version of Red Dawn, it was one of the best 80's movies that we certainly don't have time for a reboot. The new version starring a Hunger Games star and an Avengers star is pretty much says it. After a long period of delays since MGM (the movie's former company) headed for turbulance. And even bankruptcy, they should've released it when Sony acquired the rights to the troubled studio. Red Dawn is nearly half as bad as the floppy reboot Total Recall, so I thought it was gonna be called "Crap Dawn" or "Turkey Dawn." Jennifer Grey (the original Dirty Dancer) could send a message to the late Patrick Swayze that the director who is responsible for the remake is making a fool out of himself making a stupid idea to remake Red Dawn. I already got the movie on VHS, sadly I retired the tape and wait for the Blu-Ray release. Reboots are nothing more than con artists and so does the Red Dawn reboot. A terrible, indulgent, and as Joe Biden said in the Democratic debate that I've never heard that "Malarkey" word, but it's incredible. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
3
J_Thom123Apr 6, 2013
O.k. so in this version of Red Dawn in lieu of an actual powerful, adversarial nation like during the Cold War the United States is instead invaded by a country with less then half the GDP of the poorest US State and roughly the population ofO.k. so in this version of Red Dawn in lieu of an actual powerful, adversarial nation like during the Cold War the United States is instead invaded by a country with less then half the GDP of the poorest US State and roughly the population of Texas. This vast gulf in military power and funding is offset slightly by having China and Russia help out North Korea; which doesn't make much of a difference since the US Military has more equipment then the next 13 largest militaries...combined, and most of them are our allies. Of course they could get few actual Koreans to act in this movie, so the "North Korean" army looks more like the "Peoples Republic of Greater Asia", which in retrospect would have made a much more realistic storyline. Beyond the horrible plot that serves as a perfect example of the kind of paranoia that's driving our nation to bankruptcy spending untold billions on a gigantic military, the movie does do two things rather well. First, the comparison between the Wolverines and the insurgents fighting the US and the North Korean invasion force proclaiming that it wants to "save" America make the movie an excellent walk in "the other sides" shoes, essentially saying: "this is what it feels like to Iraq, Afghanistan, etc." The second thing which it does well are explosions. They are done very well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
hoops2448Apr 23, 2013
Remakes are all the style now as if Hollywood has run out of things to say so here is Red Dawn, a modern day remake of a 70s cold war paranoia picture. Back then the idea Russia could descend the world into darkness was very real and now itsRemakes are all the style now as if Hollywood has run out of things to say so here is Red Dawn, a modern day remake of a 70s cold war paranoia picture. Back then the idea Russia could descend the world into darkness was very real and now its the same with North Korea, oh wait, no it isn't. The film follows a group of survivors of a full scale invasion of suburban America by the North Koreans (I am honestly not joking). This group must band together and start a campaign of guerrilla warfare to take back their neighborhood and their country. (yet again, I am not joking) I really should have hated Red Dawn more than I eventually did. Don't get me wrong, I still pretty much loathed it. The cast is filled with miscast actors or just plain dreadful ones but it also has a few pretty great ones. For instance Chris Hemsworth is the right kind of charming/brooding to play former soldier Jed although Josh Peck is just horrendous as his hot headed (which he plays as constipated) brother Matt. Adrianne Palicki seems to be making a thing of the whole action woman thing but has had to wait a good 2 years for her two action films to be released after being held back for years. However she entertains as tomboy Toni although Isabel Lucas irritates and infuriates as her sister Erica. A pre Hunger Games Josh Hutcherson is in the film but I honestly cannot say anything about him because his presence isn't memorable. The main problem is that there is a borderline decent film hidden beneath the bad acting and illogical story that was changed as not to irritate the Chinese (the Chinese that were never going to see the film in the first place) as if they hadn't heard of a story before. The main draw of Red Dawn is the fact it is directed by Dan Bradley, a stunt coordinator who understands what makes good action as he has proven in the Bourne films he has worked on. The action is never short of fantastic from the opening invasion to the final showdown in a taken over police station. Its visceral and honestly some of my favorite action in a while, its that good. It's shocking that a film with this caliber of effects and stunts is let down by an idiotic plot change late into production and some woefully bad acting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Burnout-151Feb 19, 2013
Enjoyable action film. Didn't have close to the storyline of the original, but enjoyable to watch. If you are looking for a remake of the original, this is not it. If you are looking for an action flick, have at it.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
ZilcellJan 18, 2013
Sorry critics. I try to see what people are finding so bad about this film, but there is too many things I like here that should be highlighted. For one thing, this movie pays much more respect the the "man in uniform" than "Act of Valor"Sorry critics. I try to see what people are finding so bad about this film, but there is too many things I like here that should be highlighted. For one thing, this movie pays much more respect the the "man in uniform" than "Act of Valor" ever attempted to have. The action is awesome, and we have reasons to care for the characters here. Unlike "Battleship", this movie develops all of its characters. No, I have never seen the original "Red Dawn", and i'm not gonna let that affect my review. This movie stands alone as something entirely different. The point is, I recommend it. I feel that it is very underrated. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
8
F_PachecOMar 4, 2013
I'ts just a movie! I don't know why some people try to compare a movie like this with some chance of happening in the real world. As far as I know, movies are made do entertain people, to make people get out of their boring routine.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
Critic2012Dec 10, 2012
Though it's not as bad as the critics make it out to be, there's no question Red Dawn is a silly, over-the-top, wannabe-bad ass sort of film. But despite all that, it's actually kind of fun.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
tvchicano07Jun 30, 2014
Best movie ever. However North Korea is its own enemy by oppressing and enslaving its own people. I loved the action in this movie even though it is different from the original it is still awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
newtee2Nov 24, 2012
Absolutely disgusting. Nothing short of a pathetic excuse of a remake that does not live up to it's original. Patrick Swayze would roll in his grave if he knew how much of a disgrace this movie was. The plot makes very little sense, and isAbsolutely disgusting. Nothing short of a pathetic excuse of a remake that does not live up to it's original. Patrick Swayze would roll in his grave if he knew how much of a disgrace this movie was. The plot makes very little sense, and is overly patriotic. It is almost like they gathered inspiration from the awful video game Homefront. Do not waste your money. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
2
aznassassinMar 3, 2013
Shallow plot, shallow characters, shallow action and a horrible ending. They just took a hugeass dump on the original while creating one of the worst action flicks Ive seen in a long time. Hell, even Bourne Legacy was better than this pile ofShallow plot, shallow characters, shallow action and a horrible ending. They just took a hugeass dump on the original while creating one of the worst action flicks Ive seen in a long time. Hell, even Bourne Legacy was better than this pile of excrement. I felt sorry for the cast who had to put up with the cheap SFX, generic script and boring, uninspiring sequences that shouts below mediocrity. This should've been a made for TV movie from the start. Hell, had they retained the China vs U.S premise instead of this ridiculous North Korea vs U.S one it might've been a bit better. Because totally...the North Korean Army uses Hummers as part of their arsenal and are perfectly groomed like Korean pop stars. Avoid at all costs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mrmonsterApr 14, 2013
Like "War of the Worlds", with aliens replaced by North Korea. This is a truly awesome movie with an original story, great action, and lots of twists and turns that make this movie impossible to turn off. Awesome, truly awesome.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
4
kane148Aug 23, 2013
I don't know why Chris Hemsworth always ends up in bad movies, but this is another one. Way too much teen/young adult angst, cliches, and hollow characters. Honestly, most of the people in here I couldn't have cared less about, nor do II don't know why Chris Hemsworth always ends up in bad movies, but this is another one. Way too much teen/young adult angst, cliches, and hollow characters. Honestly, most of the people in here I couldn't have cared less about, nor do I remember them a day later. The story doesn't make any sense either, because by the end of the movie I still couldn't figure out why the hell there was an invasion in the first place, nor why an army which could defeat the US military couldn't kill a couple kids... Thankfully the action scenes are tolerably good, but overall there's too little fighting and way too much whining. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
oliver1hFeb 20, 2013
North Korea attacks The U.S. A. This is the point where you should stop considering watching this teen fantasy movie! Some untrained kids from the local town later form a resistance group, and fight back the highly trained and fanaticizedNorth Korea attacks The U.S. A. This is the point where you should stop considering watching this teen fantasy movie! Some untrained kids from the local town later form a resistance group, and fight back the highly trained and fanaticized N.K. soldiers! Honestly I can not say how dumb that is... Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
TheCapDemon4Dec 6, 2012
Oh! This picture has failed to reach my upmost desires and expectation in a film of such topic. During the picture, i felt the desire to bash my skull into my adversaries while denouncing the queen herself! I declare this film treacheryOh! This picture has failed to reach my upmost desires and expectation in a film of such topic. During the picture, i felt the desire to bash my skull into my adversaries while denouncing the queen herself! I declare this film treachery against England and her royalty. BAN THIS PICTURE AT ONCE! But...... Oh did i enjoy the appearance of "Josh". the lovely individual whom played Josh on Drake and Josh. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
SmeeMar 2, 2013
what the hell i just watched this is terrible as Dark knight rises and Amazing spider man 3. For heaven shake people should not made this sort of war porn movies.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
robertashfieldJan 1, 2013
epic
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
violentmilkJan 1, 2013
epic
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
1
heychrisfoxFeb 8, 2014
This movie was almost entirely unintelligible. It felt like watching a typical action movie on fast forward the entire time. Any form of realism or plot did not exist. There was so little time for any acting due to the immensely fast pace ofThis movie was almost entirely unintelligible. It felt like watching a typical action movie on fast forward the entire time. Any form of realism or plot did not exist. There was so little time for any acting due to the immensely fast pace of the story that the fact that actors were even hired for the roles is a miracle. Even with a wealth of subject matter to draw from with the original story as a launching pad, this movie failed so dramatically that it should win awards to better encapsulate how poor of a job it did. The best moments were the opening credits It was all downhill from there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
analogkid280Dec 10, 2012
Completely preposterous. There is a scene in the middle of the film where they run into a friendly and they tell him who they are. His response "I was afraid of that", My response "I couldn't agree more". I just could not believe I wasCompletely preposterous. There is a scene in the middle of the film where they run into a friendly and they tell him who they are. His response "I was afraid of that", My response "I couldn't agree more". I just could not believe I was sitting through this weird mess of a film. The only reason it is still in theaters is because there is nothing else to take its place. Why sit through this when there is a perfectly decent version of this movie from the early 80's to watch sitting in the discount bin at your grocery store. That one starring that chain smoking sex symbol Swazee back before he died choking on his own regurgitated tobacco tar. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
DollisNov 27, 2012
The worst remake movies i seen is The Stepfather (2009). and Psycho (1998). Planet of the Apes (2001). The Wicker Man (2006). Red Dawn (2012) , And wait for more bad remakes movies Carrie 2013 and . Robocop 2013.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
4
dante_finnNov 25, 2012
Makes audiences nostalgic
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
ShutUpJustDieNov 24, 2012
"Oh how the mighty have fallen." That is a phrase that you will repeat quite a bit if you've watched the original Red Dawn and maybe even played the video game Homefront before watching this. The movie is a gigantic rush job, which is a"Oh how the mighty have fallen." That is a phrase that you will repeat quite a bit if you've watched the original Red Dawn and maybe even played the video game Homefront before watching this. The movie is a gigantic rush job, which is a shame, as I'm pretty sure the original writer seems to have made the trio of American invasion movies/game, as the style is distinctly that of the original. The only problem? The execution. While the style it is done in has little differences, the script is a mess, spending no time developing female characters and constantly juggling ridiculous dialogue with a horrid plot, Much like Homefront, the original villain seemed to have been the Chinese. However, it seems to have been changed at the last second to avoid controversy. The writing is also a mess, and the action is like that of having a string puppet show involving a cowboy and a waving inflatable-arm tubeman duking it out. Do not watch this mess of a movie, and avoid it at all costs. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
8
keolaNov 23, 2012
I think this is yet another movie where the majority of the critics have gotten it wrong. Sure they could have dreamt up something a little more plausible than an invasion by paratroopers but the story wasn't so much about the hows or whys ofI think this is yet another movie where the majority of the critics have gotten it wrong. Sure they could have dreamt up something a little more plausible than an invasion by paratroopers but the story wasn't so much about the hows or whys of war so much as to create a "what if" scenario. The characters were believable, the acting was pretty good, and the storyline was entertaining. There were some funny parts and some omg moments. Overall it was definitely worth seeing in the theater. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews