User Score
4.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 152 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 152
  2. Negative: 67 out of 152

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 23, 2013
    7
    This movie has a lot of action, and that's a good thing. So, they may have deviated from the original a bit, and that's fine. The acting is ok at best. Listen, I have watched BattleShip twice. I think the acting in that movie totally SUCKS. (Rihanna, acting, really?) The actors in this movie are far better. Go in thinking action movie, for about 2hrs, give or take, and you will be satisfied. Anything else, and you will probably be disappointed. i will recommend this movie on that condition. Expand
  2. Feb 20, 2013
    0
    North Korea attacks The U.S. A. This is the point where you should stop considering watching this teen fantasy movie! Some untrained kids from the local town later form a resistance group, and fight back the highly trained and fanaticized N.K. soldiers! Honestly I can not say how dumb that is...
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    6
    Enjoyable action film. Didn't have close to the storyline of the original, but enjoyable to watch. If you are looking for a remake of the original, this is not it. If you are looking for an action flick, have at it.
  4. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    People say that this movie sucks, I really don't know why they say that, you watch a movie to have fun, this movie, Red dawn, combines everything that teens like to become an amazing movie, great characters, story and sfx, ill be watching this movie as one of my favorites, always.
  5. Jan 24, 2013
    3
    Red Dawn is a remake of the 1984 film that starred Patrick Swayze, and sadly this remake is even more ridiculous than the original. I have seen the original film a few times, and although it has its problems, it was a fun movie because of how silly it was. This new version just isn't very fun and has nothing really special about it at all. The characters are really unlikeable, the action is nothing we haven't seen before, and I honestly didn't care what was happening in the story the whole time. When I walked in the theater I had an open mind, and I actually hoped that this would be a fun and silly action film. Well sadly this movie really doesn't do anything fun or original to keep it interesting, and I walked out of the theater feeling like I had my money stolen from me. What also disappointed me was that this movie actually has a good cast of actors too, and they just waste the talent they have. I realized this was supposed to be a dumb and mindless action flick, but I at least wished I had some characters that were fun enough to cheer for. I like brainless action films if they realize it Expand
  6. Jan 18, 2013
    7
    Sorry critics. I try to see what people are finding so bad about this film, but there is too many things I like here that should be highlighted. For one thing, this movie pays much more respect the the "man in uniform" than "Act of Valor" ever attempted to have. The action is awesome, and we have reasons to care for the characters here. Unlike "Battleship", this movie develops all of its characters. No, I have never seen the original "Red Dawn", and i'm not gonna let that affect my review. This movie stands alone as something entirely different. The point is, I recommend it. I feel that it is very underrated. Expand
  7. Jan 17, 2013
    4
    Horrible, just horrible. No word to describe how horrible this movie is.
  8. Jan 9, 2013
    2
    Red Dawn has some good action scenes and some pretty actors thats where the good stops. Story telling is horrible, felt forced and predicable, Dialogue horrible feels like a standard Hollywood student script nothing special, Character Development sad(not in a good way) and horrible, seriously what made the old Red Dawn so good was the character development. You had time to get to know the people and feel what they feel and when they die its horrible but that's the point to involve the audience. , Weapons and tactics horrible. I was looking so forward to this movie... Why did you have to mess up such a awesome genre. Could have made a classic, just another Hollywood B movie with lots of money pumped in it. Expand
  9. Dec 17, 2012
    6
    I am a fan of the original and this one was just fine...worth seeing (probably more of a Redbox than a $12 movie ticket), but good fun, different enough from the original but close enough to "honor" it.
  10. Dec 10, 2012
    7
    I still have a difficult time believing that people listen to critics. I have an even harder time believing they get paid for what they do. This was a good action movie. It's as if they were expecting a thriller. I was also looking through user reviews and had to laugh at the illiteracy of most of the negative scorers. Are children rating? I can't trust an individual's opinion if he/she seems incompetent. Anyways, dairy for the tangent. Good action movie. If you haven't seen it, just remember......ACTION MOVIE. NOT PHILOSOPHICAL. Expand
  11. Dec 10, 2012
    6
    Though it's not as bad as the critics make it out to be, there's no question Red Dawn is a silly, over-the-top, wannabe-bad ass sort of film. But despite all that, it's actually kind of fun.
  12. Dec 10, 2012
    3
    Completely preposterous. There is a scene in the middle of the film where they run into a friendly and they tell him who they are. His response "I was afraid of that", My response "I couldn't agree more". I just could not believe I was sitting through this weird mess of a film. The only reason it is still in theaters is because there is nothing else to take its place. Why sit through this when there is a perfectly decent version of this movie from the early 80's to watch sitting in the discount bin at your grocery store. That one starring that chain smoking sex symbol Swazee back before he died choking on his own regurgitated tobacco tar. Expand
  13. Dec 8, 2012
    1
    Worst movie I have seen. Bad acting, bad plot, bad directing, and so on. Please do not waste your hard earned money or your precious time on this garbage. It's BAD!
  14. Dec 6, 2012
    5
    Oh! This picture has failed to reach my upmost desires and expectation in a film of such topic. During the picture, i felt the desire to bash my skull into my adversaries while denouncing the queen herself! I declare this film treachery against England and her royalty. BAN THIS PICTURE AT ONCE! But...... Oh did i enjoy the appearance of "Josh". the lovely individual whom played Josh on Drake and Josh. Expand
  15. Dec 2, 2012
    9
    So the only reason I went to this particular movie was because it lined up with another movie we where going to watch and we had to watch 2 movies back to back because the tickets we had expired that day and my wife and i had an engagement with friends in the evening. I was not particularly enthused to see Red Dawn because of the horrendous score it got from almost every single critic. I knew they hated the acting and the plausibility of the story so in particular I payed close attention to both. As far as the acting goes it was very good, Hemsworth does well of course but his supporting cast also did well. The acting brought me into the movie instead of taking me out. The story was interesting and even somewhat plausible, it definitely wasn't so bad it made the movie ridiculous. I mean it is a fiction "what if" movie but I could see it play out if there was an invasion. I'm not sure to what success but still this is only a movie after all. One particular critic mocked a scene were a girl fires a rocket launcher, I have fired rocket launchers in real life when in the military and i fired it next to girls also firing rocket launchers so I'm not sure what was so unbelievable there. All in all the movie was a great time with an engaging story that made me and my wife glad we went to see it. As far as it stacking up to the original, I cant remember the original very well at all so i really have no idea. Expand
  16. Nov 28, 2012
    4
    This remake of the 1984 film has shifted the villains from Russia to North Korea. (It was shot several years ago with Chinese villains, but times have changed and so did the flags and uniforms in post production.). Pre-Thor Chris Hensworth and pre-Hunger Games Josh Hutcherson lead the cast of young people who take on the hostile foreign invaders. Their pluck and guerilla tactics are amazingly slick and successful for such an untrained group, but there's not much about this film that's realistic. Some of the action is good, but much of it is blurred and choppy Expand
  17. Nov 27, 2012
    3
    The worst remake movies i seen is The Stepfather (2009). and Psycho (1998). Planet of the Apes (2001). The Wicker Man (2006). Red Dawn (2012) , And wait for more bad remakes movies Carrie 2013 and . Robocop 2013.
  18. wap
    Nov 26, 2012
    0
    Wow! I can't believe someone actually likes this movie. We are all unique and different. This was by far the worst movie i have ever seen. Who ask them to remake this movie? The script was equally bad as the acting.
  19. Nov 25, 2012
    0
    Aside from the fact that Hollywood caved to Chinese pressure, and altered the antagonists from China to North Korea - Ironic in the extreme because this movie is about Americans standing up to communists - this movie is pure garbage. How the hell would North Korea invade America? With what Navy? This is just simple tripe and typical of the crap Hollywood produces.
  20. Nov 25, 2012
    3
    I love the original Patrick Swayze version of Red Dawn, it was one of the best 80's movies that we certainly don't have time for a reboot. The new version starring a Hunger Games star and an Avengers star is pretty much says it. After a long period of delays since MGM (the movie's former company) headed for turbulance. And even bankruptcy, they should've released it when Sony acquired the rights to the troubled studio. Red Dawn is nearly half as bad as the floppy reboot Total Recall, so I thought it was gonna be called "Crap Dawn" or "Turkey Dawn." Jennifer Grey (the original Dirty Dancer) could send a message to the late Patrick Swayze that the director who is responsible for the remake is making a fool out of himself making a stupid idea to remake Red Dawn. I already got the movie on VHS, sadly I retired the tape and wait for the Blu-Ray release. Reboots are nothing more than con artists and so does the Red Dawn reboot. A terrible, indulgent, and as Joe Biden said in the Democratic debate that I've never heard that "Malarkey" word, but it's incredible. Expand
  21. Nov 24, 2012
    2
    "Oh how the mighty have fallen." That is a phrase that you will repeat quite a bit if you've watched the original Red Dawn and maybe even played the video game Homefront before watching this. The movie is a gigantic rush job, which is a shame, as I'm pretty sure the original writer seems to have made the trio of American invasion movies/game, as the style is distinctly that of the original. The only problem? The execution. While the style it is done in has little differences, the script is a mess, spending no time developing female characters and constantly juggling ridiculous dialogue with a horrid plot, Much like Homefront, the original villain seemed to have been the Chinese. However, it seems to have been changed at the last second to avoid controversy. The writing is also a mess, and the action is like that of having a string puppet show involving a cowboy and a waving inflatable-arm tubeman duking it out. Do not watch this mess of a movie, and avoid it at all costs. Expand
  22. Nov 24, 2012
    0
    Absolutely disgusting. Nothing short of a pathetic excuse of a remake that does not live up to it's original. Patrick Swayze would roll in his grave if he knew how much of a disgrace this movie was. The plot makes very little sense, and is overly patriotic. It is almost like they gathered inspiration from the awful video game Homefront. Do not waste your money.
  23. Nov 23, 2012
    8
    I think this is yet another movie where the majority of the critics have gotten it wrong. Sure they could have dreamt up something a little more plausible than an invasion by paratroopers but the story wasn't so much about the hows or whys of war so much as to create a "what if" scenario. The characters were believable, the acting was pretty good, and the storyline was entertaining. There were some funny parts and some omg moments. Overall it was definitely worth seeing in the theater. Expand
  24. Nov 22, 2012
    0
    It's a little hard to get drawn into a movie when the main villain is a country that can barely has enough of anything in their own fridge, let alone invade another country.
  25. Nov 22, 2012
    6
    It's certainly not as bad as the pro critics would suggest. As a tribute to the first film, it's decent, but it lacks the charm of the original. Hemsworth is not nearly as magnetic as Swayze. But it's a dumb fun action flick that keeps the blood pumping, so I'd give is a modest recommendation to those who are into this sort of thing.
Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 33
  2. Negative: 18 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Mar 15, 2013
    20
    This has to be the year's most pointless remake: a boring and badly acted reboot of John Milius's gung-ho red-scare actioner from 1984.
  2. Reviewed by: Neil Smith
    Mar 11, 2013
    40
    The doltish, messy and frequently incoherent result bears all the hallmarks of a botched and compromised endeavour.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick de Semlyen
    Mar 11, 2013
    20
    Long-delayed. Arguably not long enough.