Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
Watch On
  1. Even the more cartoonish performances, like John Malkovich's acid-damaged paranoiac, fit the movie's vision of the vanished, wild-and-woolly heyday of spycraft.
  2. Red isn't a great movie, but it's great fun, and if that sounds like damning with faint praise, you take things too seriously.
  3. One of those rare action comedies that actually delivers action and comedy.
  4. 75
    It's a lot of fun and, because of the high quality of the cast, there's no need to feel guilty about praising such an inherently silly motion picture.
  5. 75
    Red isn't edifying, ennobling, or artful. It's just an utterly satisfying combination of big kicks, cheap thrills and real laughs.
  6. This breezy action comedy is a noisy affirmation that life goes on after 50, that retirement doesn't mean redundancy, and that nobody - young or old - can wear a long cream evening gown like Mirren.
  7. 75
    The result is like a sugar rush after a visit to the vintage candy store.
  8. 75
    Red has more snappy joy in store than practically all of last summer's busted blockbusters.
  9. RED is so much fun -- and its Over the Hill Gang so likeable -- that this is one of those rare cases where I wouldn't mind seeing them come out of retirement again for another romp.
  10. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Oct 27, 2010
    70
    The good news is that, while "The Expendables" was the kind of product that should be shown to health inspectors rather than critics, much of Red is jovial and juvenating. [1 Nov. 2010, p.121]
  11. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Oct 21, 2010
    70
    All those guys are a blast, and the dark-hearted idiocy of Red is mostly quite enjoyable.
  12. The best part of Red is the spectacle of terrific actors being terrific in novel ways.
  13. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    70
    Only a curmudgeon could entirely resist the laid-back charms of Red, an amusing, light-footed caper about a team of aging CIA veterans rudely forced out of retirement.
  14. Reviewed by: Robert Wilonsky
    70
    Not the best. Not the worst. Just the classiest.
  15. To underestimate actors of this caliber -- even in a popcorn action flick -- would be dangerous indeed.
  16. 67
    Part of it is cheap thrills, of course; this is a capable, experienced cast with extensive acting chops, and it's trashy fun watching them descend to the level of the material.
  17. 67
    It's an amusing geriatric uprising that might just as well be titled "Gray."
  18. RED is a poisoned valentine to the CIA, and that approach, too, is in keeping with its cold-war sentimentality.
  19. 67
    There's no denying the kick you get from seeing Borgnine (forever lovelorn Marty to me, when he's not tooling around my head as Cabbie, from John Carpenter's Escape From New York) and company kick ass, take names, and go batshit crazy one last time.
  20. Red starts repeating itself and spinning its wheels and looking for an ending, well before the ending arrives. The actors have considerable fun with it, though.
  21. Too long, too busy, too loud, and too reliant on slam-bang stunt work, Red's glib dialogue and sinister government scenarios begin to wear.
  22. 63
    Unlike "Wild Hogs" or last summer's "The Expendables," this adaptation of the "Red" graphic novel series gets into a cool, sophisticated swing.
  23. 63
    Red has enough acting flourishes and incidental action pleasures to make it an adrenalin-jacked giggle, if not exactly the romp one so fervently expects.
  24. 63
    Excels at bringing on the high-power pyrotechnics.
  25. Reviewed by: Angie Errigo
    Oct 21, 2010
    60
    Good fun, and though it breathes hard in the second half, the ensemble has charisma to spare.
  26. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    60
    The film preserves many of Ellis's amoral one liners (best delivered by Malkovich and by Richard Dreyfuss as one of the villains), though as in much of his writing, the fun is discolored by a profound cynicism.
  27. It's the casting, stupid!
  28. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    58
    Unfortunately, while RED's stars may have gotten better with age, its many clichés have not.
  29. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    50
    "The Expendables" trotted out the concept this summer, and it was good dumb fun - a nudge-nudge wink-wink '80s movie on steroids. RED is more self-consciously wacky, more stridently in your face, and more disappointing.
  30. Red can't stop itself from trying too hard to be hip. It's not that it doesn't have effective moments, it's that it doesn't have as many as it thinks it does. The film's inescapable air of glib self-satisfaction is not only largely unearned, it's downright irritating.
  31. Red is an insult to our memories and to our intelligence, an unfunny farce whose veteran cast is cashing a retirement check.
  32. 50
    It is possible to have a good time at RED, but it is not a very good movie.
  33. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    50
    The uneven humor, half-baked plot and generic action scenes keep RED from being much fun.
  34. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    50
    Red simultaneously tries too hard and not hard enough.
  35. The star turns are Red's raison d'être, with the winking performances filling the place of any credible dramatic tension.
  36. 50
    Red is neither a good movie nor a bad one. It features actors we like doing things we wish were more interesting.
  37. No one is expected to take any of this seriously, so Schwentke keeps things light: light on big laughs, light on unique action set pieces and light on any sense that these game but retired spies are too old for this crap.
  38. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Nov 20, 2013
    20
    The movie doesn’t have a funny bone in its body, clomping from one unoriginal set piece to the next with a head-scratching lack of urgency.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 291 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 71
  2. Negative: 6 out of 71
  1. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    Man, this movie is awesome! This is how you make an old-people action movie, Expendables!! I saw them film part of this in New Orleans, so IMan, this movie is awesome! This is how you make an old-people action movie, Expendables!! I saw them film part of this in New Orleans, so I was pretty excited about this movie. But when I saw the first trailer with Helen Mirren with automatic guns and John Malkovich running after some guys with bombs strapped to his chest, I knew this was gonna rock, and it did!!! The entire cast seems to be having a blast, which just helps their awesome performances. I'm a huge Bruce Willis fan, and I wasn't dissapointed. The action scenes are awesome and cartoony, and the comedy had me rolling on the floor!! Overall, with a strong cast, clever wit and dialouge, and some awesome action scenes, RED is an awesome ride that blows this years other action movies out of the water!! Full Review »
  2. Sep 30, 2011
    6
    "RED" is a occasionally-funny action movie with old guys like Bruce Willis comes out and shoots guns. I know, its monotonous and boring, but"RED" is a occasionally-funny action movie with old guys like Bruce Willis comes out and shoots guns. I know, its monotonous and boring, but at least it's better than "The Expendables". Full Review »
  3. Oct 27, 2010
    8
    Fun and Funny flick! Plot and story line just plausable enough to keep you engaged. Worth the time and money for an enjoyable entertainment.Fun and Funny flick! Plot and story line just plausable enough to keep you engaged. Worth the time and money for an enjoyable entertainment. No Oscars here, but what the heck, it's dinner, a movie, and a few chuckles. Full Review »