Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: May 2, 2008
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 37 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
21
Mixed:
10
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
DWillyMay 18, 2008
This is a bad movie. Do you understand what I'm saying? This movie Mamet wrote. It's bad. They aren't even actors, some of these people. Ricky Jay, Tim Allen. Lady playing the cops wife, must be Mamet
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NatalieR.N.Apr 30, 2008
Typical Mamet -- with surprise turns and illusions. Good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.May 10, 2008
While we recognize the sophistication behind a motif when it's employed in a literary, or cinematic work; the primary motif for "Redbelt", a bowl of chance containing three stones(two white and one black), looks downright bizarre when While we recognize the sophistication behind a motif when it's employed in a literary, or cinematic work; the primary motif for "Redbelt", a bowl of chance containing three stones(two white and one black), looks downright bizarre when Mike's intellectual property is actually being utilized at the start of a mixed-martial arts fight. Under the stewardship of a fight promoter, the man who draws the black stone, doesn't lose with honor, he just loses. The drawing of the stones works on a literary level, but as a realistic depiction of a sporting event, a condition predicated on a handicap, prior to an actual fight, seems highly unlikely, if mixed-martial arts is the new boxing, and not the new "professional wrestling". But the filmmaker needed to show Mike's "bushido" code being corrupted by dishonorable men to prompt this decent man into a transformation for his own good. In the film's climax, we can see that he's rewritten the bylaws without abandoning its basic tenets, as a means to show his wife(Alice Braga), his Hollywood connection(Tim Allen), and his new friend(Emily Mortimer), that he's going for the red belt(read: brass ring) on his own non-denominational terms. "Redbelt" is a thinking man's "Rocky", but more relevantly, it's a breathing man's "Never Back Down". It's also "House of Games" meets "State and Main". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SteveR.May 19, 2008
I cannot believe how badly this film misses the mark. Mamet brings high expectations. This film has chasm wide holes. People who betray at the last moment. People who disengage for no reason, people who slap and love with no investment. If I cannot believe how badly this film misses the mark. Mamet brings high expectations. This film has chasm wide holes. People who betray at the last moment. People who disengage for no reason, people who slap and love with no investment. If not for Ejiofor and Alllen, this film was atrociously written and poorly acted. Mamet's worst effort by a wide margin and inexcusable given his knowledge of the subject. Randy Couture stutters every first line. What a fiasco, and I cannot believe the Metacritic score, i have never been so far off. 20 years from now, some films rise and gain cult status, mark my words, this will gain Showgirls status. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KelaM.Aug 2, 2008
The crappiest movie I have seen in a while;the end was particularly corny.Boring and complete waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JayHigginsAug 24, 2008
I am obviously in the minority on this one, but what can I say, the movie just didn't interest me. I simply couldn't get into it. The cast was okay, Emily Mortimer however was great. Boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AdrianMAug 8, 2008
Best MMA film to date. Good character development and quite an unexpected ending. Glad Therry did not just walk away like most people would have rathered. Remember, Therry is a fighter at heart and sometimes you just have to fight.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeorgeMSep 2, 2008
This is the strangest martial arts movie I've ever seen, its not some chop socky mess with a silly story and 1-dimensional characters, this is a complex film with a deep sense of character development.....its a personal journey for the This is the strangest martial arts movie I've ever seen, its not some chop socky mess with a silly story and 1-dimensional characters, this is a complex film with a deep sense of character development.....its a personal journey for the "hero" AND the viewer as well. The is a film about morals, honor, and the human spirit that for some, simply CANNOT be broken.....our hero seems to think about everyone but himself, and no matter how hard he tries to help other people it tends to backfire in his face but his intentions are pure and true. This is a man you really want to see succeed, its hard watching bad things happen to such a good person who means well in everything he does.....and while it ends rather abruptly with MANY questions left unanswered and the well-being of our hero a little "open".....it still manages to end like the 4th of July with a triumphant personal victory. This is a wonderful film about the "deeper" side of martial arts, the courage of someone that simply CANT be held down by the outside world, and the good that can be found in a ugly ugly world. BUY this......rent Never Back Down (then get hypnotized to forget about it), and be happy with your decision......i'm sure youll understand what i mean after youve seen both. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanPMay 12, 2008
Excellent movie. There aren't that many dramas which explore the TRUE meaning of the martial arts. I appreciate this since I'm a martial arts student myself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AustinW.May 3, 2008
This movie was one of the weirdest movies I've seen in a long time, and not intentionally. It's basically The Spanish Prisoner meets Never Back Down. It's got giant plot holes (to the point where things don't make sense) This movie was one of the weirdest movies I've seen in a long time, and not intentionally. It's basically The Spanish Prisoner meets Never Back Down. It's got giant plot holes (to the point where things don't make sense) but the scenes of brilliance make i t worth it. Ejiofor is outstanding. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MarcusAMay 21, 2008
Why is it that when I see a Mamet written and directed movie, i always come away with the impression that it was written and directed by a first time writer / director. The so called "twists and turns" are telegraphed well in advance, and Why is it that when I see a Mamet written and directed movie, i always come away with the impression that it was written and directed by a first time writer / director. The so called "twists and turns" are telegraphed well in advance, and the actors' delivery is consistently choppy and one-dimensional. I don't think that the actors lack skill, but that instead the direction they're receiving is amateurish. Maybe I'm looking at this the wrong way. Maybe I should just should just lower my expectations if I know that Mamet is writing / directing, then I won't be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
pdw123Sep 19, 2016
This is another masterpiece from Mamet, who is an aficionado of jujitsu, which I gleaned from reading my film society's monthly flier here. It's also another tight screenplay with fight promoter and gangster jargon, but since Mamet is knownThis is another masterpiece from Mamet, who is an aficionado of jujitsu, which I gleaned from reading my film society's monthly flier here. It's also another tight screenplay with fight promoter and gangster jargon, but since Mamet is known for his gritty screenplays (i.e. "Sparta"), I would only expect this from such a meticulous craftsman. The acting by Ejiofor is superb and the plot and character development by Mamet is superb with the rest of the cast also. The female support roles are right on the mark here and the film (and the action and dramatic aspects of it especially) will definitely keep you on your seat's edge all the way to the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
sanchopanchoMay 18, 2017
I'm a big Mamet fan. But the story just doesn't string together on this one. I'm not sure if this was supposed to be an homage to a cheesy fight movie or a legit drama I was supposed to care about. At the end it just ended up feeling like a BI'm a big Mamet fan. But the story just doesn't string together on this one. I'm not sure if this was supposed to be an homage to a cheesy fight movie or a legit drama I was supposed to care about. At the end it just ended up feeling like a B movie caricature. Meh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
RagnarokMikeJun 3, 2017
One of Mamet's worst efforts. He certainly did bring an affinity for the martial arts, that portion is treated with the proper reverence, but the movie itself is a slipshod mess. Character motivations are as near to non-existent as wellOne of Mamet's worst efforts. He certainly did bring an affinity for the martial arts, that portion is treated with the proper reverence, but the movie itself is a slipshod mess. Character motivations are as near to non-existent as well developed characters are, entire plot points are thrown out as soon as their introduced, it ticks off every trope in the book with little context to justify them, and then falls into an outright ridiculous ending (with characters reacting with no context and just another completely ignored plot point). Ejiofor is the sole saving grace in a film that is otherwise at home in straight to video sports schlock. Disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews