Summit Entertainment | Release Date: March 12, 2010
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 201 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
159
Mixed:
18
Negative:
24
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
JenSMar 29, 2010
[***SPOILER***]Really REALLY depressing! it had like 3 deaths in it one from a suicide, one from a murder, and one from a 9/11/2001 death. SAD! it also had a crappy ending! The main character dies. also there is about like two fights a car[***SPOILER***]Really REALLY depressing! it had like 3 deaths in it one from a suicide, one from a murder, and one from a 9/11/2001 death. SAD! it also had a crappy ending! The main character dies. also there is about like two fights a car fight! good but sad me and my friend were like up all night depressed and talking about sad events in the USA. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Mar 14, 2010
"Remember Me" is not a Rudy Giuliani biopic; it's Robert Pattinson's maiden foray into acting. As Edward Cullen, Bella's fella, all Pattinson had to do was hit his marks and throw smoldering glances Kristen Stewart's way. "Remember Me" is not a Rudy Giuliani biopic; it's Robert Pattinson's maiden foray into acting. As Edward Cullen, Bella's fella, all Pattinson had to do was hit his marks and throw smoldering glances Kristen Stewart's way. There's not a whole lot of heavy lifting involved if you're playing the undead. Can Pattinson look alive? As the star of this modestly engaging indie ensemble drama, the London-born actor, portraying a lost boy named Tyler, accomodates the moviegoer with enough proof that he has a pulse. Pattinson is convincing as a warm-blooded mammal, and he plays well with others, but still, the glittering bloodsucker of Cullen lore can't quite escape the twilight. Remember he, Rod Serling, the man who begat M. Night Shyamalan. A sense of irony that would pull the rug from under the television viewer's feet was what typified a good "Twilight Zone" ending, a payoff that prevailed upon you and the protagonist a simultaneous epiphany. For instance, in one episode, a man who thought he had made it to heaven, actually was in hell. Irony, however, doesn't belong here; irony rears its ugly head in "Remember Me", spoiling an otherwise highly watchable romantic melodrama. (***SPOILER ALERT***) Late in the film, after Tyler seems poised for a reconciliation with his difficult father(Pierce Brosnan), the camera pulls back dramatically while he stares out a skyscraper window. His locality is the Serling-esque twist, which recalls the groundbreaking anthology series(that aired on CBS before the much-missed buildings were even a twinkle in the architect's eye), because this moment of reckoning sucker-punches the moviegoer. It's not a new beginning for Tyler; it's the end. A tragedy of such monolithic proportions is the wrong time for the filmmaker to show off his cleverness. It's not too soon; it's just tacky. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JessicaRMar 18, 2010
I found myself heading into this movie with low expectations. I fancy myself an open minded person (I've read Twilight and seen the movies), but I also consider myself a fair and realistic movie critic. Twilight sucked. Entertaining? I found myself heading into this movie with low expectations. I fancy myself an open minded person (I've read Twilight and seen the movies), but I also consider myself a fair and realistic movie critic. Twilight sucked. Entertaining? Sure. But let's be real about this honestly. So, when I agreed to attend the premier of Remember Me with some of my excessively Twi-Hard friends, my critic hat was on cautious mode. As the film progressed I found myself cringing through some fairly cheesy cliched dialogue, but I also found myself surprised by moments of genuine emotion and straight up good acting (I am NOT talking to you Pierce Brosnan's New York accent). I was sincerely moved by the story - I really did care about the characters and I BELIEVED them. I found myself smiling at the tender moments and laughing at some of the more comical ones (and I am not referring to Tyler's obnoxious friend and roomate). And the most miraculous moment was when I found myself hoping for the redemption of these grieving families - and redemption seemed to be coming! And not in a "and everything worked out once they all figured out what they were doing wrong" kind of way. And then they blew it. A big explosion of disappointment in the final few moments of an honest look at struggling to understand one's purpose in life. Listen folks - I definitely don't think that the use of 9/11 was an insensitive move. In fact, there have been and certainly will be films in which the reference will be absolutely necessary. But here, it was cut and paste. Insert ending here. The movie was so focused on these characters, these people - and then a switch was flipped. In fact, one barely pays attention to which city the movie even takes place! And it didn't really matter, because the characters were the real meat and potatoes of this movie. Forget insensitivity - I was just hoping for some relevance. Good start to a movie career for both Rob and Emilie - I can certainly say that they will only continue to get better at their craft and in the choices they make. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
abductionOct 1, 2011
This movie is very good. The only thing that ruins every little part of the entire movie is when robert pattinson dies. i felt bad for the little sister. that was her only other older brother. One thing that is good about this movie is thatThis movie is very good. The only thing that ruins every little part of the entire movie is when robert pattinson dies. i felt bad for the little sister. that was her only other older brother. One thing that is good about this movie is that it interfeeres with the twin towers and that made me very emotional even though I did not lose anyone that day. The united states did. They lost hope. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
JawsLaxerDramaJan 3, 2013
Remember Me isn't a horrible movie. it won't make you question the sanity of others, it's more or less of a romantic comedy that slowly descends into one of the most stunning ends I've ever seen (even though it may be predictable) I enjoyedRemember Me isn't a horrible movie. it won't make you question the sanity of others, it's more or less of a romantic comedy that slowly descends into one of the most stunning ends I've ever seen (even though it may be predictable) I enjoyed Rob Pattinson (even though Twilight gets on my nerves- he's a good actor if he actually tries) It's depressing enough to see someone die, but what could be sadder than 9/11 combined with a love story? You guessed it. I advise you to have your favorite comedy near you after you watch this. Pros: Great acting, great script. Cons: Too depressing. Diagnosis: See it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews