Columbia Pictures | Release Date: November 23, 2005
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 185 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
130
Mixed:
17
Negative:
38
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
1
MassimoF.Nov 25, 2005
I love Musicals, and after the first scene in the movie I felt very positive about this movie. Unfortunately, that was the only good scene in the movie. A waste of a great musical score and an intriguing engaging story. Not worth the ticket. I love Musicals, and after the first scene in the movie I felt very positive about this movie. Unfortunately, that was the only good scene in the movie. A waste of a great musical score and an intriguing engaging story. Not worth the ticket. Better to wait until it comes back to town on stage. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
moviemongerFeb 1, 2011
The characters seem to be miscast and the movie seems to only want to send a message every 20 minutes....not have the movie-goer leave with a complete message. Skip this.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
kyleDec 3, 2005
Sucked plain and simple.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KevinMar 28, 2006
Awful and unthoughtful. Not a movie. A second-rate music video version of the stage musical. Adam Pascal achieves new heights of awfulness with his performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JakeM-Nov 22, 2005
Everyone has AIDS! AIDS! AIDS! AIDS! AIDSAIDSAIDSAIDSAIDSAIDS AIDS!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlexaNov 23, 2005
Was NOT good at all. do not see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ZekeM.Nov 24, 2005
Loud and obnoxious, literally unbearable to watch
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SprocketholesDec 2, 2005
RENT is not a good film. At no time did I emotionally connect with this film; however, I had no trouble emotionally connecting with the stage production both times I saw it. Bad direction, really bad photography and inept editing. I am RENT is not a good film. At no time did I emotionally connect with this film; however, I had no trouble emotionally connecting with the stage production both times I saw it. Bad direction, really bad photography and inept editing. I am telling you, the camera is almost always in the wrong place. The production is a real mess. A lot of praise is being heaped on Rosario Dawson, but she is really an amateur compared to Daphne Rubin-Vega who originated the role of Mimi (and who I saw perform it on stage). The play won a Pulitzer, but this film won't win any good awards. I say skip it like the plague and go see the play if and when a well reviewed revival comes your way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BradM.Dec 8, 2005
Disliked the play, now the movie. It's annoying when the characters sing the dialogue instead of just musical numbers. Depressing, too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NickE.Jan 7, 2006
Horrible. Loose plot, kitschy music, pretty much the most overly sentimental movie I've seen in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
IsaacR.Jan 9, 2006
Literally, this has to be the worst movie I've ever seen in my life. I'm not the type that gives all movies either a "10" or a "0," but this movie was just so awful that I think it actually depressed me a little. Not from the plot Literally, this has to be the worst movie I've ever seen in my life. I'm not the type that gives all movies either a "10" or a "0," but this movie was just so awful that I think it actually depressed me a little. Not from the plot of the movie, but from the awful taste this movie left in my mouth. After a few numbers I took a bathroom break; as I left the theatre there were at least ten people (mostly men) who had actually left the theatre because it was so awful. My girlfriend was in the theatre, and I was tempted to stay outside as well, but I sat through the rest of it, and to my expense. I think my IQ has drastically shot down since the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
joeUSAFeb 13, 2006
A most horrible attempt at anything remotly resembling actual life. In the stand point of diversity, im sorry 9/10 people do not have aids, and there is such a thing as a part time job. To actually pay the rent that the worthless life that A most horrible attempt at anything remotly resembling actual life. In the stand point of diversity, im sorry 9/10 people do not have aids, and there is such a thing as a part time job. To actually pay the rent that the worthless life that was in that disgusting "musical" could not pay. This makes you not only a bum, but also a deadbeat that should learn how the real world actually works. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RyanC.Jan 4, 2008
Roger Ebert once said of "North": "I hated this movie. Hated hated hated hated hated this movie. Hated it. Hated every simpering stupid vacant audience-insulting moment of it. Hated the sensibility that thought anyone would like it. Hated Roger Ebert once said of "North": "I hated this movie. Hated hated hated hated hated this movie. Hated it. Hated every simpering stupid vacant audience-insulting moment of it. Hated the sensibility that thought anyone would like it. Hated the implied insult to the audience by its belief that anyone would be entertained by it." This quote expresses exactly how I feel about Rent. I do not think the film is abysmal in the traditional sense of the word. It isn't painful to watch, in that the direction or acting is horrible. Rather, this movie is infuriating and insulting because it tells the story of characters whose motto seems to be "Live life exactly how you want it, with no regards for the consequences" but expects us to feel bad for these characters when horrible things happen to them. It's schmaltzy and over-wrought. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BOBW.Nov 23, 2005
This movie was dead on arrival. It is loud and energetic but says little. Sound and fury signifiying nothing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RussellL-HNov 24, 2005
I LOVE Rent the musical. I can't beleive I am writing this, but I HATE Rent teh movie. Awful awful awful awful. no energy, no emotion, no point. Honestly, one of the worst movies I've seen a a LONG time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BlueyS.Nov 25, 2005
Simply awful!! I LOVED the musical when I saw it on Broadway. I've seen it several times onstage. This movie was the worst I've seen in a long time. Don't waste your money, but more importantly your time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RogerC.Nov 25, 2005
I'm a big fan of the stage show but God was this adaptation awful. We're talking down to the basics - blurry shots, faces covered in shadow to conceal bad lip syncing or bad acting, focusing the camera on the exterior of a building I'm a big fan of the stage show but God was this adaptation awful. We're talking down to the basics - blurry shots, faces covered in shadow to conceal bad lip syncing or bad acting, focusing the camera on the exterior of a building almost a minute into a song that's being performed by someone inside the building, screenplay that's more intent on making the film one long music video than character development, RHYMING dialogue barely edited at all from the stage libretto, very theatrical opening (on a stage) with NO CONTEXT, and one of the most rushed endings in the history of film. F- from me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TaraL-HNov 26, 2005
Yuck. yuck. yuck. I loved the stage show and could not wait for the film version. I was stunned by its lack of energy, pacing, context, passion. I left after the first hour was over. I am deeply saddened, but if those of us who considerYuck. yuck. yuck. I loved the stage show and could not wait for the film version. I was stunned by its lack of energy, pacing, context, passion. I left after the first hour was over. I am deeply saddened, but if those of us who consider ourselves fans of Rent the Musical are to be honest - hard to see how any of us could be fans of Rent the Movie. Truly awful film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AlE.Nov 27, 2005
Alas... Maybe "The Producers" will show all the fakers how you make a real movie musical. For the love of all that is holy, let's hope so.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ScottM.Nov 27, 2005
I'm sure the stage show is good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
rcunardNov 28, 2005
This is the second worst movie I have ever seen (it was right behind Freddie Got Fingered). None of the characters were likable and the plot was scattered and boring. I thought they all should have ponied up the dough for the apartment, This is the second worst movie I have ever seen (it was right behind Freddie Got Fingered). None of the characters were likable and the plot was scattered and boring. I thought they all should have ponied up the dough for the apartment, rather than expecting someone to let them live there for free so that they could bellow some of the most ridiculous songs ever sung. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MartinZ.Nov 28, 2005
Actuallly -10, seems a better rating. I sure the stage version had its up and downs. Watching the film version only produced two rather sarcastic remarks from this viewer 1)FAME on steroids. 2) Angels in America Light. Not to take anything Actuallly -10, seems a better rating. I sure the stage version had its up and downs. Watching the film version only produced two rather sarcastic remarks from this viewer 1)FAME on steroids. 2) Angels in America Light. Not to take anything from the author but in production they missed a que or two. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
FantasyNov 30, 2005
I walked out after 40 minutes as it was too depressing for words. I go to the movies to be entertained not to be bombarded with music about drug addicts and deadbeats. Not my cup of tea.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
chrish.Nov 22, 2005
Columbus couldn't have done worse.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AngieNov 23, 2005
We walked out half way through the movie. While the actors gave a passionate performance, the story line itself was very poor. There were individual scenes that had their "moments" but overall it was a bad movie going experience. This is the We walked out half way through the movie. While the actors gave a passionate performance, the story line itself was very poor. There were individual scenes that had their "moments" but overall it was a bad movie going experience. This is the type of movie that will appeal only to very a specific moviegoer. Rent did a bad job connecting the mainstream audience member with the powerful and emotional story it is TRYING (but failed miserably) to tell. You sit there through the whole movie waiting and waiting and it fails to deliver... I had such high expectations for it too... Working actively in the young community, I thought this would tell a powerful and positive story, but the theme/message of "you only live once" sort of gave me the impression that its okay to use drugs.. Promoting drug use to audence members (esp. the kids around me) was very disturbing... But again, I walked out half way through so I didn't see the ending. The actors--great. The movie--sucks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RtheomJun 21, 2014
I'd had this one on my radar for a while because I'd heard such great things about the play. Unfortunately, I could tell almost instantly that the whole thing just didn't translate well into movie format. What should have been powerful vocalI'd had this one on my radar for a while because I'd heard such great things about the play. Unfortunately, I could tell almost instantly that the whole thing just didn't translate well into movie format. What should have been powerful vocal performances were instead muffled and hushed into submission by the limitations of the format. Having the actors sing the songs separate from their performances was also a terrible idea. The words mismatch the lips constantly and ultimately left me feeling like I was listening to a CD while watching another thing altogether.

I'd gladly see this live, but I could never recommend this movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
nahtan1244Mar 19, 2016
So I love musicals. They can be a wonderful source of entertainment especially when there are great songs maybe a good message and there just so much fun too watch that being said i was very disappointing with rent. The opening scene isSo I love musicals. They can be a wonderful source of entertainment especially when there are great songs maybe a good message and there just so much fun too watch that being said i was very disappointing with rent. The opening scene is wonderful with the song seasons of love. The idea of a musical about people in an impoverished neighborhood not being able to pay there rent could be an inspiring premise for a musical. However this movie seems to have no sense of direction. They just jump from one musical song to another without much explanation. The music and lyrics were absolutely cringe worthy and the dialogue was clunky. I watched the first hour and then I had to turn it off. It was the longest hour of my life. in the end rent is not for everyone. I can see why some might like it but It didn't seem to have the psychological impact and important message of the musical of into the woods. The empowering message of Les miserables or the razzle dazzle of Chicago. I don't mind operas were there singing there whole way though. I am an absolute fan of Les miserables but this was way more painful to sit though then mama mia and that is saying something. all in all this is the worst muiscal i have ever sat though Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews