User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 420 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 420
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 10, 2012
    8
    Requiem for a Dream is a breathtaking movie and this is because of the topics that treat and point of view that give them. The film talks about family conflicts, couple problems, friend disagreements, racist fights, poor environments and all of these immersed in the drugs world. Obviously the points of view towards these problems are four, the one of Harry (who is trying to be successfulRequiem for a Dream is a breathtaking movie and this is because of the topics that treat and point of view that give them. The film talks about family conflicts, couple problems, friend disagreements, racist fights, poor environments and all of these immersed in the drugs world. Obviously the points of view towards these problems are four, the one of Harry (who is trying to be successful and have a job), his girlfriend (who is looking her happily ever after), his mother (who wants to be remembered after her dead, by appear on television) and his best friend (who is hoping to live without worries and just enjoying the moment). In another way, this people is trying to accomplish something that is very difficult to find in the real world, so the solution is to escape from the reality; here is when the four path joins in a common point: the drugs, which represent the release of their minds. In this part Darren Aronofsky use the expressionist and surrealistic images, like the sequence when they take drugs, the attack of the TV people with the refrigerator and the zombie ending. Finally the four people end in the same way as if they were only one body. All of this is enhance by a marvelous direction, astonishing performances, excellent script and shocking music. This is a requiem for the beloved housewife, the worker son, the empathic girlfriend and the supporting friend. It is a requiem for achieving perfection. A Requiem for a Dream. Collapse
  2. AnonB.
    Sep 14, 2008
    10
    Without a doubt, one of the greatest movies I have ever seen. It grabs hold of you and doesn't let go. 98% of the brilliance of this movie is in its excellent music. Clint Mansell is brilliant.
  3. AnonY
    Mar 26, 2009
    10
    A powerful, underrated, classic film. Those who decry this movie as an overly simplistic caricature of the horrors of drug use completely miss the point of the film; what makes this film compelling and different from other drug films is its ability to show how drug addiction can afflict anyone and comes in many forms. From television to caffeine to heroin, everyone self medicates, and A powerful, underrated, classic film. Those who decry this movie as an overly simplistic caricature of the horrors of drug use completely miss the point of the film; what makes this film compelling and different from other drug films is its ability to show how drug addiction can afflict anyone and comes in many forms. From television to caffeine to heroin, everyone self medicates, and anyone can fall victim to serious addictions, be they old or young. Expand
  4. GarvinVanG
    Apr 23, 2009
    10
    Greatest use of audio and visual technology of any film ever. Engrossing to the bitter end, building into a sensual crescendo metaphorically described as a classical rapsody of soundtrack and cenematics that overwhelms the senses into submission, leaving only the body to sink into the comfortable couch of emotion and stimulation. Perfectly cast, brilliantly edited, genius direction and Greatest use of audio and visual technology of any film ever. Engrossing to the bitter end, building into a sensual crescendo metaphorically described as a classical rapsody of soundtrack and cenematics that overwhelms the senses into submission, leaving only the body to sink into the comfortable couch of emotion and stimulation. Perfectly cast, brilliantly edited, genius direction and interpretation of the writers vision and desire. 10/10 Expand
  5. DevinW.
    Aug 24, 2008
    9
    Unbelievable masterpiece. It's so deep on so many levels, that weeks afterwards you find yourself discovering new meanings. I see a lot of very ignorant reviews of this movie. Do not be fooled because however depressing or dark the movie is, it leaves you in a way of striving to avoid the downfall of the characters in the movie. A lot of bad reviews read of how terrible it was, but i Unbelievable masterpiece. It's so deep on so many levels, that weeks afterwards you find yourself discovering new meanings. I see a lot of very ignorant reviews of this movie. Do not be fooled because however depressing or dark the movie is, it leaves you in a way of striving to avoid the downfall of the characters in the movie. A lot of bad reviews read of how terrible it was, but i think that most of the people who wrote those reviews did not get the point of the movie at all, ruining the whole experience. Brilliant, just brilliant. Expand
  6. JayF.
    Jul 4, 2006
    10
    The most brilliantly directed film in American motion picture history. How Ellen Burnstyn did not win the Academy Award for this film is far, far beyond my realm of thinking.
  7. GusF.
    Dec 28, 2006
    9
    I just had to respond to Richie C.'s comment. Richie, do you only go to the movies to watch fairy-tale endings and Jim Carrey movies? That's like saying the only books that should be printed are kids' stories. If you can't handle drama, fine, but that's no reason to give the movie a 3. That said, this movie is hard to watch and does leave you bummed, but I just had to respond to Richie C.'s comment. Richie, do you only go to the movies to watch fairy-tale endings and Jim Carrey movies? That's like saying the only books that should be printed are kids' stories. If you can't handle drama, fine, but that's no reason to give the movie a 3. That said, this movie is hard to watch and does leave you bummed, but itis' beautifully done and the fact that it can affect its viewers just goes to prove its power in grabbing you. Watch it. Expand
  8. NeilW.
    Jun 3, 2004
    10
    Saw it, and ordered the dvd the day after. Just totally blew me away. I felt empty as the credits rolled, as if someone had grabbed my soul and dragged it out of me. Also the soundtrack is just so powerfull, never has a soundtrack had such in impact on me. And that Ellen didn't win the oscar is just unforgivable. One of my all time favourites, just behind Alien and Shawshank.
  9. Megan
    May 22, 2002
    10
    Never have I ever been so touched by a movie. I stared at the screen for 5 minutes after the film ended and could not think of anything else besides what I had just seen. Mind-numbing, breath-taking, heart-stopping, eye-opening. You just gotta see it.
  10. Mr.Green
    Nov 2, 2002
    10
    This was the best drama movie I have ever seen. It has extremly nice acting. The plot is great and the filming was better. I love the scene where they see Ellen Burnstyn cleaning her apartment. I also loved the cradle camera they had on the actors. I think the only reason it got a lousy 72 was because people thought it was too depressing for them. I saw Traffic the same year and could not This was the best drama movie I have ever seen. It has extremly nice acting. The plot is great and the filming was better. I love the scene where they see Ellen Burnstyn cleaning her apartment. I also loved the cradle camera they had on the actors. I think the only reason it got a lousy 72 was because people thought it was too depressing for them. I saw Traffic the same year and could not figure out how anyone thought it was a better movie then this?? Traffic does not even compare to this movie. Expand
  11. Bob
    Mar 3, 2002
    10
    It was perfect. I cannot understand what anyone did not like about it. The music, acting, storyline, cimeatography, and everything I left out was the best I have ever seen,
  12. StarK.
    Apr 8, 2001
    10
    Completely out of this world amazing. Can't get it out of your mind.
  13. AndrewM
    Feb 3, 2005
    8
    If only Hollywood made more films like this. I'm not talking theme here, or plot, but rather conviction and expression. It ain't perfect, but it's strengths are Herculean! A very gripping and involving film with outstanding performances from the entire cast, but especially Burstyn and Wayans. Given time to reflect, it is their two performances that stand out, as well as If only Hollywood made more films like this. I'm not talking theme here, or plot, but rather conviction and expression. It ain't perfect, but it's strengths are Herculean! A very gripping and involving film with outstanding performances from the entire cast, but especially Burstyn and Wayans. Given time to reflect, it is their two performances that stand out, as well as brilliant editing, novel cinematography and taut direction. Usually, one of the first facets of any film I look to critique is the screenplay. Oddly, with this film, I didn't. The script is really an irrelevance with this type of movie; we are watching the characters, living with them, and are utterly in the hands of the director. Aronofsky has delivered a powerful film and he is staid in his beliefs, unrelenting in voicing his message. And you will get it! This film succeeds where Leaving Las Vegas didn't. I don't wish to elaborate on that - just watch both and judge for yourself. At the least, watch this one - you won't forget it easily, and Burstyn's masterful skills will haunt you for days! Expand
  14. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    This movie is simply awesome, it show the things the way it should be and the way it happens, along with Eyes wide shut, this movie is one the best drama movies i ever seen and i think that every single teenager should watch this movie and realize that drugs and excess never will end well
  15. Oct 5, 2011
    7
    "Requiem for a Dream" showcases the unique talent Jared Leto possesses. He is a really talented person (acting, music, directing) and the fact that he generally makes only so called art movies, makes him even more special, because he isnâ
  16. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    This film has a great and original vision, never before have you seen or will you ever see a movie like this one. Great style acting and pace. This movie has one of the best paces to a movieI have ever seen. It will not let you down with its powerful cimax
  17. May 28, 2012
    10
    Amazing piece of film. I agree that it is a little over rated and people think they're artsy for liking it and even knowing about it, but any movie that could take the place of every single life education class we ever had to take growing up in school about how drugs are bad is a success in my book. Very powerful. Jared Leto delivers, Jennifer Connolly kills it, Marlon Wayans showsAmazing piece of film. I agree that it is a little over rated and people think they're artsy for liking it and even knowing about it, but any movie that could take the place of every single life education class we ever had to take growing up in school about how drugs are bad is a success in my book. Very powerful. Jared Leto delivers, Jennifer Connolly kills it, Marlon Wayans shows diversity, and Ellen Burstyn steals the whole show. True acting from true actors. Expand
  18. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Aronofsky's film is a haunting and hypnotic show, fueled by a bracing score and a heart wrenching performance from Ellen Burstyn. Though the cuts may seem quick and sloppy to the naked eye, Requiem is carefully and precisely put to together, and the effect will floor you.
  19. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    Requiem for a Dream is a film which is Fearlessly Directed and Acted. Its very raw, which wont make many audiences appreciate the film, But its true to its story without a tiny sliver of fake. Its one of those films which scare you, make you cry by experiencing the downward spiral of these characters along with them. And though even at times when you don't agree with them [that's mostly],Requiem for a Dream is a film which is Fearlessly Directed and Acted. Its very raw, which wont make many audiences appreciate the film, But its true to its story without a tiny sliver of fake. Its one of those films which scare you, make you cry by experiencing the downward spiral of these characters along with them. And though even at times when you don't agree with them [that's mostly], you can't help but feel for them and finally embrace them by the end. There is no better Horror Movie than reality. In that sense this definitely is one. Each and Every actor had a lot to emote, and they did so beautifully. But Ellen Burstyn takes the cake, Have not seen a performance as beautiful as that ever, Period. Expand
  20. May 3, 2013
    7
    uhm..this one is confusing actually cause i don't know where to start so lets begin from the good to bad.
    the best thing about this movie is the soundtrack it's exceptional and one of the best i ever heard in a life time.the second good thing is the directing it's one of the kind.the screenplay was great Ellen Burstyn performance was tremendous but the story was confusing it's kinda
    uhm..this one is confusing actually cause i don't know where to start so lets begin from the good to bad.
    the best thing about this movie is the soundtrack it's exceptional and one of the best i ever heard in a life time.the second good thing is the directing it's one of the kind.the screenplay was great Ellen Burstyn performance was tremendous but the story was confusing it's kinda made me sick i actually had to take a break to breath in some fresh air this is never happened to me before. it's probably the biggest campaign in the world against drugs but i felt i was chocking to death while watching it.
    however the story behind the movie was astonishing but it's one of the movies that i will never watch again.
    Expand
  21. Jul 16, 2014
    8
    While this is one of Aronofsky's better movies with some great cinematography and style,the first half of Requiem For a Dream should be as powerful, potent, and viscerally emotional as the second. However, few movies have been able to capture what drug addiction does to our bodies, to our minds, and to our lifestyle so well. If you want someone close to you to stop drug addiction, makeWhile this is one of Aronofsky's better movies with some great cinematography and style,the first half of Requiem For a Dream should be as powerful, potent, and viscerally emotional as the second. However, few movies have been able to capture what drug addiction does to our bodies, to our minds, and to our lifestyle so well. If you want someone close to you to stop drug addiction, make them watch this movie; it's *that* shocking. Expand
  22. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    10/10 ................................................................................................................................................
  23. May 16, 2011
    10
    Fine piece of work. From every aspect. You can tell the cast and crew worked so hard to compose a phenomenal film, like nothing you have seen before.
  24. RoryP.
    Feb 8, 2008
    5
    I think this film is overrated. Although it is an awful lot better then his last film, the Fountain. The film reliance on style causes problems, especially in the first act, where we are introduced to split screen and various other stylistic devices for no other reason then to give the film a professional sheen. There use in these areas were shallow and pointless, they did not progess any I think this film is overrated. Although it is an awful lot better then his last film, the Fountain. The film reliance on style causes problems, especially in the first act, where we are introduced to split screen and various other stylistic devices for no other reason then to give the film a professional sheen. There use in these areas were shallow and pointless, they did not progess any element of the story. I think if Aronofsky had laid off at the beginning and let the stylistic devices build up as the addictions took hold, it could have been a much better film. There is little character development. It appears to be a film situated in an Expand
  25. MarkusR
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    This film was amazing. I loved every second of it and was thinking about it days after watching it. The music was perfect through the whole thing.
  26. ChrisK
    Apr 19, 2008
    0
    It is the most overrated and dangerous movie atrocity ever. It takes every stereotype about drugs and drug abuse and reinforces those stereotypes to absurdist, kafkaesque levels. Comparisons to the propaganda classic "Reefer Madness" (go watch it at archive.org and spot the similarities) are both valid and necessary. People who know nothing (and want to know nothing) about how addiction It is the most overrated and dangerous movie atrocity ever. It takes every stereotype about drugs and drug abuse and reinforces those stereotypes to absurdist, kafkaesque levels. Comparisons to the propaganda classic "Reefer Madness" (go watch it at archive.org and spot the similarities) are both valid and necessary. People who know nothing (and want to know nothing) about how addiction works give this film a high rating because it confirms their infantile views (Drugs=Evil)on the issues dealt with in the movie. Cater ignorance to the ignorant. Always a wise business decision. Expand
  27. May 21, 2012
    3
    Requiem for a Dream is the story of 4 stereotypical stock characters who suffer from substance abuse. All of which become the victims of a gruesomely slippery slope of drug addiction. However, this film fails at creating unique and original characters with even the slightest amount of depth. And the half-assed love story between Harry and Marion gives no insight into why they fell in loveRequiem for a Dream is the story of 4 stereotypical stock characters who suffer from substance abuse. All of which become the victims of a gruesomely slippery slope of drug addiction. However, this film fails at creating unique and original characters with even the slightest amount of depth. And the half-assed love story between Harry and Marion gives no insight into why they fell in love other then them both being attractive. Many people praise its innovative cinematography and "realistic" view of the results of drug abuse. But along with its purposefully disturbing scare tactics, it's about as compelling and a D.A.R.E poster. And unfortunately the cinematography isn't enough to salvage this colossal piece of trash. Expand
  28. [Anonymous]
    Feb 8, 2008
    0
    horrid. depressing, no plot. left me feeling disgusting, hopeless and depressed. i wish i could erase that hour and a half.
  29. Kazumi&Daisy
    Oct 14, 2008
    8
    Amazing! Can't find any word to describe except the one I just used. - Kazumi Kazum Hotogishi I never watched the movie but my husband said it was absolutely fabulous, I'm very posh and he's Jap - Daisy Elizabeth Hotogishi Oh I forgot to brush my teeth!!
  30. MikeW
    Dec 18, 2008
    9
    Intricate, dark, amazing.
  31. WhoCares
    Feb 7, 2009
    10
    No movie has made me feel the way i did after i watched this. Plus the music was amazing.
  32. RafaellaT.
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    This movie is amazing! I love Jared Leto!!!
  33. DaveH.
    Oct 30, 2006
    5
    In the vein of Trainspotting and the even more odious Human Traffic, beneath all the ostentatious showiness, is a lifeless, one-note film. The people are not so much characters as they are caricatures. Vices such as drugs, prostitution, antidepressants and erm... ECT are presented as dehumanising in the most reactionary, doctrinaire fashion imaginable and I felt very little empathy for In the vein of Trainspotting and the even more odious Human Traffic, beneath all the ostentatious showiness, is a lifeless, one-note film. The people are not so much characters as they are caricatures. Vices such as drugs, prostitution, antidepressants and erm... ECT are presented as dehumanising in the most reactionary, doctrinaire fashion imaginable and I felt very little empathy for Leto or Connelly, who are presented more as subjects to Aronofsky's painfest than as real people. We don't believe a word Leto says when he proclaims "I just want to make [his mum] happy", which brings us to the brilliant Ellen Burstyn, who is the heartbreakingly naive mother. She is the only reason to see this film. Expand
  34. RichieC.
    Nov 17, 2006
    3
    If you love being depressed and miserable after watching something thats soposed to be entertaining and artsistic then watch this film from hell.
  35. ChadS.
    Aug 5, 2007
    9
    A great movie in every aspect. one that will surely stick with you for years to come. Don't miss out.
  36. Tasha
    Aug 26, 2002
    5
    more of a movie with intentions to "shock". Lacks thoughtful dialogue, and strays from complete development of characters.
  37. AllanT.
    Jan 17, 2003
    10
    This is a fantastic movie!!!!!!!!! Like duh it's god O.K.!!!!!
  38. SammyP.
    Jul 24, 2001
    9
    It is disgustingly beautiful. A must-see for anyone whose life is slipping.
  39. YanG.
    Jun 1, 2010
    10
    Great!
  40. Oct 2, 2010
    0
    Requiem for a Dream was extremely boring. i really can't believe that anyone saw any good in this worthless trash of a film. there was no point in the movie that was even remotely entertaining and the only good thing about it was that everything i did over the following couple of days after seeing it seemed a lot more interesting in comparison. It was just bad.
  41. Jan 21, 2011
    2
    Aronofsky obviously knows little about drug culture or addiction. If a person has never used hard drugs or been involved with people using hard drugs I can see how they might praise this as an unflinching look at the realities of addiction. But unfortunately, Aronofsky's "shock-and-awe" campaign is not based in reality. In actuality the consequences of drug use can be much worse, but notAronofsky obviously knows little about drug culture or addiction. If a person has never used hard drugs or been involved with people using hard drugs I can see how they might praise this as an unflinching look at the realities of addiction. But unfortunately, Aronofsky's "shock-and-awe" campaign is not based in reality. In actuality the consequences of drug use can be much worse, but not as gruesome or as idiotic as this film portrays them. Expand
  42. Mar 1, 2011
    0
    I really do not see the fascination a lot of filmmakers and other artists have with the bottom feeders of society. I find addicted people disgusting, as simple as that. I find it evenly disgusting how deep certain humans can sink. We must be the only species without a clear genetically determined spectrum of behaviour. I have seen people who live in dirt, who smell, who dump their waste onI really do not see the fascination a lot of filmmakers and other artists have with the bottom feeders of society. I find addicted people disgusting, as simple as that. I find it evenly disgusting how deep certain humans can sink. We must be the only species without a clear genetically determined spectrum of behaviour. I have seen people who live in dirt, who smell, who dump their waste on the street, who destroy themselves with alcohol, drugs, cigarettes, food, or whatever poison they can find. No animal does that. Animals spend most of the day cleaning themselves, because they instinctively know that their body is pretty much their most important asset.
    With regard to this movie, what is the purpose of making it ? Drugs are dangerous ? Thanks, by now everybody should know that.
    The only thing tha bothers me is that apparently a lot of people can actually relate to that movie. That spells trouble for humanity...
    Expand
  43. Dec 18, 2011
    8
    Afronsky creates quite a vivid picture here. His use of numerous film-making devices from close up action shots of everything from the dilation of a pupil to the sipping of a cup of coffee, sound effects that enhance the action, side by side panoramic shots, high speed action shots, and many other techniques all come together to truly allow the viewer to feel what the character feels, toAfronsky creates quite a vivid picture here. His use of numerous film-making devices from close up action shots of everything from the dilation of a pupil to the sipping of a cup of coffee, sound effects that enhance the action, side by side panoramic shots, high speed action shots, and many other techniques all come together to truly allow the viewer to feel what the character feels, to experience his or her inebriation end ultimately despair as desire and withdrawal come into play in the latter half of the film. At times such stylistic directing doesn't allow for character growth, but nonetheless when the characters are able to grow, they do so beyond measure. From simply desire of the drug and love for one another, they move to dependence and we see that become their only focus. Then Afronsky shows us the deepest dark of addiction. From simple withdrawal to prison to prostitution to hospitalization and even to an amputation, the characters end in far different places and circumstances. But nonetheless, in the end, all the characters face the same loneliness, the loneliness that comes when one has sacrificed all else for the drug that gives him nothing. This film takes different circumstances and ultimately brings them together in the most tragic of ways. While not a perfect film, Afronsky proves that he is a director not to be reckoned with. Expand
  44. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    I've got my cousin to thank for making me watch this movie. He told me to hang on when I got kind of bored in the middle. Lo and Behold! Nothing can ever prepare you for what happens during the climax. Everything that you imagine can go wrong goes wrong! If you want to be put off drugs for good, watch this.
  45. Feb 24, 2013
    4
    Weird, confusing, and pointless. I really don't understand what all the hype is about. Yes, Ellen Burstyn performance was unbelievable, but the movie was just terrible. Honestly, I know it has a huge cult following, but wtf is so special about it? Please someone fill me in...What am I missing?
  46. Nov 3, 2013
    0
    There should've been a story arc of Garfield and his horrible lasagna addiction but instead they focused on Gerry Loto and his stupid friends and not on Garfield 0/10000000000 NOTWORTHWATCHING
  47. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    With a shattering performance from Burstyn that lost out disgustingly at all major award ceremonies, and artistic genius from Aronofsky, Requiem for a Dream is without a doubt the most powerful film I've yet to endure. Brutally honest, daringly filmed and masterfully acted, this film traps you within the minds of the helpless characters it follows using impressively unique and effectiveWith a shattering performance from Burstyn that lost out disgustingly at all major award ceremonies, and artistic genius from Aronofsky, Requiem for a Dream is without a doubt the most powerful film I've yet to endure. Brutally honest, daringly filmed and masterfully acted, this film traps you within the minds of the helpless characters it follows using impressively unique and effective editing and filming techniques. But technicalities aside, this film is emotional and heartfelt, and will provide any viewer with taste, a brain and emotion a gut-wrenching yet massively rewarding experience a perfect film. Expand
  48. JenniferF.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    This movie is insane. I was glued to the T.V
  49. KaraW
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    Amazing movie. If you didn't like it, you didn't get it. The acting was amazing, the soundtrack was amazing, the cinematography was amazing. I LOVED it.
  50. ShaunH.
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    This movie is by far the most disturbing yet realistic outlook at how drug users become completely dislocated from themselves. The acting is outstanding (especially Burstyn and Connelly). Burstyn was robbed of the Academy Award for her performance in this movie. Ellen Burstyn's portrayal of "Sara" devastated me long after the movie was over. Simply amazing....
  51. Chadmon
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    Like many others that have stated it, this is indeed a life changing movie. The first time I watched I.. I couldn't stop thinking about it. I had to go around and ask everyone if they'd seen it, and if they hadn't I told them they must!...The acting was amazing, the soundtrack (by Clint Mansell) was truly worth buying after hearing it and the true message of the movie made Like many others that have stated it, this is indeed a life changing movie. The first time I watched I.. I couldn't stop thinking about it. I had to go around and ask everyone if they'd seen it, and if they hadn't I told them they must!...The acting was amazing, the soundtrack (by Clint Mansell) was truly worth buying after hearing it and the true message of the movie made me wish I'd seen it 5 years earlier. Clint Mansell and Darren Aronofsky work amazing together. It was a dark movie sure, but to say reality isn't dark is ignorant. The critics giving it a 20 and 30 really must've been doing what the main characters in the movie got addicted too. I'll let you find out what that is if you haven't seen it. This movie is a must see in my books. Expand
  52. DM.
    Feb 25, 2008
    9
    Haunting. Just haunting.
  53. AbhinavG.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Undoubtly, this is the best movie I have seen this whole year. I cant believe that I didnt see this movie till today. Awesome direction, terrafic performances by actors and storyline is like something I cant be explain in words. If you havent watched it yet, watch it now.
  54. AndyM.
    Aug 17, 2008
    7
    This movie is a horror movie that you can't scream throughout and laugh with your friends about afterward. Instead, you just sit there, staring, not wanting to watch the depressing, frightening images but unable to tear your eyes away. The style and direction is distinct, the editing abrupt and jarring. It is very well filmed, but it doesn't bring much else to the table. You This movie is a horror movie that you can't scream throughout and laugh with your friends about afterward. Instead, you just sit there, staring, not wanting to watch the depressing, frightening images but unable to tear your eyes away. The style and direction is distinct, the editing abrupt and jarring. It is very well filmed, but it doesn't bring much else to the table. You watch it, in awe of the darkness and despair of it all, and what do you get? Drugs are bad. Yes, yes they are. You want a more... INSPIRED message in the end, or at least a somewhat happy ending! But you don't get it. It is, all and all, a worthwhile piece of film, but don't watch it if you expect either of those things. Really, just watch it on hulu.com, it's free. And even then... be in a good mood. Expand
  55. EvilB.
    Nov 29, 2008
    9
    Hard to describe. Gut wrenching, disturbing, thrill ride, engrossing; just to use a few. Darkly fascinating and wildly entertaining. Any movie that can get your pulse racing, be it good or evil, is an epic flick for sure.
  56. TomL
    Dec 7, 2008
    8
    Superb film, amazing director. just watch it.
  57. EricC
    Jan 9, 2009
    9
    Chris K., it's not about the drugs. It's about the pursute of happiness. There's the spring board for starting to understanding this intense, earth-shatteringly bleak film. Also has the most incredible score of our generation.
  58. JennyL
    Jun 14, 2009
    10
    Brilliant-honest and artfully put together.
  59. joes.
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    This movie blew my mind....I've never seen a more powerful and disturbing movie, but it was great...just unspeakably disturbing.
  60. AshleyM.
    Jul 30, 2009
    7
    It was a very dark and depressing movie that left me feeling very depressed after watching it.However its a movie that dares to show the much darker side to drug abuse.I though it was well put together and the soundtrack was amazing.
  61. KevinC
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    I cant find words for this movie. One the one side a beautiful work of art and at the other site cruel reality. There are some small negatives but without them this movie wouldn't be THAT good! You have to see it to understand.
  62. egemen
    Jul 20, 2005
    10
    Best film i ve ever watched.
  63. RoyH.
    Jul 21, 2005
    10
    I quote the Rolling Stone review " No one interested in the power and magic of movies should miss it. " Such a powerful movie should not be missed by those who really care for their purpose which is to capture the audience in a way few films are capable this days. All the elements of film are focused in this movie, which are effects, music, story, scripts, characterization, camera takes, I quote the Rolling Stone review " No one interested in the power and magic of movies should miss it. " Such a powerful movie should not be missed by those who really care for their purpose which is to capture the audience in a way few films are capable this days. All the elements of film are focused in this movie, which are effects, music, story, scripts, characterization, camera takes, cinematographic emotion and feeling, and a lot more. A movie that when you finish watching you literally can't get off your seat, whether you liked it or not. It deliver such kind of suspense and drama and thriller and (in a matter of speaking if you watched the movie) such propaganda for drugs and at the same time its opposite, that at the end of the movie you can't realize that you've actually been watching what I think should have been a greatly acclaimed movie! Expand
  64. AlirezaM.
    May 14, 2006
    10
    A very touching story of falling of four people mixed with brilliant acts and perfectly matched music.
  65. Dr.Gonzo
    Aug 14, 2006
    10
    Haunting. Dreamy. Gritty. Not sure how those three mix together but they do. Amazing film, do not miss.
  66. ChrisM.
    Nov 23, 2006
    9
    Like it or lump it, this film is an expirence like none other.
  67. DavW.
    Jan 15, 2007
    9
    Repulsive, disgusting, intriguing, strange, ironic and utterly irresistible. This film is disturbing to the core, however there is a powerful message delivered, one that puts most of the rest of the film in context. This is truely a great cinematic work and should be admired as such. I suppose you can either love this movie or hate it, but if for nothing else, the soundtrack rocks! Mother Repulsive, disgusting, intriguing, strange, ironic and utterly irresistible. This film is disturbing to the core, however there is a powerful message delivered, one that puts most of the rest of the film in context. This is truely a great cinematic work and should be admired as such. I suppose you can either love this movie or hate it, but if for nothing else, the soundtrack rocks! Mother looses her sanity, son looses his arm, girl looses her dignity and black guy looses his freedom, everything that we take for granted is ripped away at the end, and thats a pretty damn interesting message. Expand
  68. AdlaiH.
    Feb 5, 2007
    10
    A technical and directorial masterpiece with amazing cinematography, music, acting, plot, pace, direction, and every other element of a movie. Simply top-notch; Aronofsky brings the Shakespearean tragedy into the present day and adds his own dark touch. Watch it, but make sure you watch the unrated version; Aronofsky made it that way for a reason, and watching an edited version would A technical and directorial masterpiece with amazing cinematography, music, acting, plot, pace, direction, and every other element of a movie. Simply top-notch; Aronofsky brings the Shakespearean tragedy into the present day and adds his own dark touch. Watch it, but make sure you watch the unrated version; Aronofsky made it that way for a reason, and watching an edited version would simply defeat the film's purpose. Expand
  69. Carolyn
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    I bought this movie today at Wal-Mart called 'Requiem for a Dream'. Of couse I got the R-rated Edited Version. I truly believe that it deserves WAY more than $5.50. I love this movie, it is a masterpiece, but I did not enjoy it. Why? Because it deals with lots of drugs. Nothing good happens in this film. Absoluely nothing. This was the first movie ever to make me cry, especially I bought this movie today at Wal-Mart called 'Requiem for a Dream'. Of couse I got the R-rated Edited Version. I truly believe that it deserves WAY more than $5.50. I love this movie, it is a masterpiece, but I did not enjoy it. Why? Because it deals with lots of drugs. Nothing good happens in this film. Absoluely nothing. This was the first movie ever to make me cry, especially at the end. I wish I could say that it had a happy ending. I really do. Definitely a must-see. Expand
  70. ChrisB.
    May 16, 2007
    10
    Requiem for a Dream is a masterpiece and a movie you will never forget. The title alone should let you know it is not going to be a happy, uplifting movie. If you aren't a schizo on the subject of drugs, then this movie is a muse see. The theme song is incredible too!
  71. AR
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    This is an amazing movie. It makes you relate to the 4 characters first, then slowly spiral you into the oblivion that is addiction. Aronofsky does this through the amazing lens of a gifted filmmaker.
  72. JackL.
    Jul 25, 2007
    9
    This is a great movie. Very stylish and thought provoking. The movie slowly sucks you in the leaden nightmare in which is filled up with harrowing truths, deep thoughts and breathtaking performances, especially by Ellen Burstyn.
  73. BushM.
    Sep 6, 2007
    10
    Changed my life. Made me rethink things I've said and done. truly a masterpiece.
  74. fitchbuck
    Sep 8, 2007
    9
    Hugely disturbing masterpiece. Some of the best acting across the board you will ever witness, period. If you've ever had a personal connection to any of the themes explored here, it will make your blood boil. The downward spiral of the 3 lead characters is putrid, uncomfortably hellacious.
  75. TelyS.
    Dec 28, 2003
    1
    Sorry Darren, you're not foolin this wily cat. I will give him credit for making a film that goes absolutely no where, dramatically or conceptually, seem 10X more complex than it actually is. Underneath the pretentious flash is a soul as or even more vacant as any mainstream Hollywood garbage.
  76. YoonMinC.
    Dec 6, 2003
    8
    In some ways, this is a bold American film made by someone with independent spirit and ingenuity. Feeling generous, we might confer upon Aronofsky the mantle of the daring artist, and there's no doubt that Aronofsky is bright, driven, and sharpwitted stylist. But is he saying anything new, unearthing some profound truth about modern life? Does he stand out of the crowd among the In some ways, this is a bold American film made by someone with independent spirit and ingenuity. Feeling generous, we might confer upon Aronofsky the mantle of the daring artist, and there's no doubt that Aronofsky is bright, driven, and sharpwitted stylist. But is he saying anything new, unearthing some profound truth about modern life? Does he stand out of the crowd among the younger crop of filmmakers? I think not. To be fair, Aronofsky's use of slo-motion and fast-motion within the same frame is something I hadn't seen before, and the effect is devastating, illustrating the unbridgeable islands of human reality, that we may be few feet apart physically but in separate emotional universes; sort of like a one-shot Rashomon. Otherwise, while the movie's consistently gripping and watchable, our attention is generally maintained by endless dosages of visual fixes than with any startling discovery or revelation about desperate/delusional lives. Also, this notion of fuzzy reality has become a cliche, as the younger generation of filmmakers all seem to have been schooled not only in cinema and alot of dumb popmusic (notably rap and punk), but on drugs. I can see the average independent filmmaker, smoking alot of weed, occasionally doing harder stuff like heroin, feeling wild and creative and mistaking his scatterbrained mental imagery as the stuff of art. Sure, such can be the stuff of art, but it's now become the staple of every half-assed pretentious independent or quasi-independent(hollywood financed)movie. Whereas drugs like LSD pushed artists like David Lynch to look deeper under the facade of human consciousness, the newer directors seem fixated on the superficial effects of the drugs. You can see this in the aesthetics of David Fincher and his contemporaries. Enough already; and wouldn't it be more honest for the viewer to snort coke thru the nose than thru the eyes? Requiem may resemble Lynch's masterful, indeed tragic, Mulholland Drive but in fact it's closer a gonzo version of a Twilight Zone episode. It's clever and absorbing, eerie and unsettling but it's incomplete, sketchy, with ideas underprepared and half-digested. Aronofsky got all the ingredients together but didn't cook them long enough. Requiem is to art movie what Burton's Planet of the Apes is to today's action movie: all forward thrust with no rest stops. The rollercoaster effects may faithfully convey the mind of a junkie, but a movie should be more than the sum of its effects, which is why Taxi Driver is far more memorable, balancing the madness of its protagonist with the cerebral gaze by the author. Aronofsky overstates the theme of addiction. Judging from Rush Limbaugh's recent drug conviction, how obvious that addiction isn't simply a problem restricted to junkies but in how we live our lives, how we need endless distractions to keep our minds off reality, in order to hope for the impossible. And, Aronofsky is courageous in revealing there is no clear boundary between destructive addictive impulses and healthy instincts which, in their obsessive quality--sex, food, need for love and warmth--may be the very foundation of all addictions. Still, when everything in the movie is contextualized within the theme of addiction, Aronofsky is simplifying a complex subject, thinking like a drug addled paranoid himself. Sadly, the movie too closely resembles what it's attacking. Aronofsky shows the emptiness of dreams fed by our pop culture, by ambitions of overnight success, by craving for that wild rush of illusory euphoria. For beyond what the movie shows as the malaise of addictive behavior, there isn't anything else. And, Aronofsky, in his perhaps bold and noble attempt to show this ugly truth as it really is, goes over-the-top ala Oliver Stone(in Natural Born Killers)and revels in the very mess he's scrutinizing. The movie itself becomes little more than a fix, a wild rush of cinematic inventiveness that excites and thrills but brings us no nearer to truth, which is something that can't be said for Kubrick's masteful Clockwork Orange, which might have inspired certain aspects of Requiem. The two male leads are adequate playing silly mama's boys who think they're made for tougher things. Connelly looks great and shows real acting talent but her performance suffers from its sheer, gratuitous sleaziness. It's a sad phenomenon among pretty actresses that they feel inadequate and underappreciated as 'actors' and so must prove their worth by going over-the-top. Fonda did it politically by playing monkey on North Vietnamese artillery and Connelly, like many others, does it here by confusing baring her ass with baring her soul. She may think her skanky scenes faithfully depict the tragic downfall of her character, her debasement at the hands of greedy capitalistic men, but really, honey, you've been had by Aronofsky, just as Rossellini was duped by Lynch. Anyone seeking out the Director's Cut will not have Connelly's 'art' on his mind but her undulating ass. Don't fall for the hype, sister. The real performance in the movie belongs to Burstyn, so painful and total that it made me wonder about women like her I saw on subway trains. We dismiss them as crazies but this movie made me empathize, that their madness too may have been the end result of desperate lives, dashed hopes, and fixation of childish dreams. Ellen Burstyn role has raw power and exhibits a lifelong devotion to the art of acting, which ripens here to the point of bursty. It's a role as total, equally reckless and masterful, as Milland's in Lost Weekend. Also, as an actress who has seen better days, perhaps even personal, both a confession and a last hurrah. Expand
  77. RobertB.
    Dec 19, 2004
    10
    This movie wont let you move, the the artwork that is this movie is haunting, and it is some of the best ive ever seen.
  78. JustinN.
    Nov 14, 2004
    10
    One of the most powerful films I've ever watched. An amazing look at addiction of many types (drugs, entertainment, sex, affection) which illustrates in painful detail just how empty these things are.
  79. DanielTaylor
    Nov 16, 2004
    10
    This movie is one of the best movies I have ever seen. It's stunning cinematography and hauntingly appropriate violin score only add to the emotional power of a film about the world as it really is. In the world there are rarely the happy endings that we see in the movies and it scares most people, but thats what Aronofsky delivers. A compelling yet gut wrenching look at the world of This movie is one of the best movies I have ever seen. It's stunning cinematography and hauntingly appropriate violin score only add to the emotional power of a film about the world as it really is. In the world there are rarely the happy endings that we see in the movies and it scares most people, but thats what Aronofsky delivers. A compelling yet gut wrenching look at the world of drugs. It is unbearable to watch an oscar worhty Ellen Burstyn (who reminds you of your grandmother) go through such a terrible transformation. Her lonely saddened life along with her longing for something more becomes her eventual downfall and the tragic climax that the audience is forced to see leaves us devastated. Her son Harry even though somewhat ego-maniacal does not lack any sympathy. Expand
  80. ErwinK.
    Jul 18, 2004
    8
    What a downer. All junkies should be forced to see this movie with their eyes pried open a la Clockwork Orange.
  81. LinoG.
    Mar 17, 2004
    10
    I would give it more than a ten if i could. This is the most powerful, thought provoking, most perfectly acted film I have ever seen (and yes, I've seen many of the so-called classics). I cried at the end. Burstyn was robbed, end of story.
  82. Forweg
    Aug 23, 2003
    8
    I just liked it because it was so weird.
  83. LynnR.
    Oct 3, 2001
    10
    God!!! I luuve this movie...
  84. Lux
    Mar 18, 2003
    10
    This is a movie, that i personally got totally lost in. (and i mean that in a good way). It's so real and it torments me to watch it beause i know to an extent what i feels like to be addicted. I like how they gradually sink into the addiction so you can actually see what drugs do to you, and how much they impact your whole life.
  85. RigellioR.
    Jan 20, 2002
    10
    One of the best films, i've ever seen...
  86. SamC.
    Jun 19, 2001
    10
    Emotionally gripping, the director makes you feel as if you are living in hell with the characters.
  87. MarianneK.
    Jan 9, 2002
    10
    This is a frightening movie and really shows how horrible life could get by drugs. And also so great=)
  88. SaraE.
    Oct 15, 2001
    10
    This film was definitely for the intellectuals. Not too many others would truly appreciate it's worth. True, it's a terribly negative piece, but aren't you sick of covering up everything bad in the world?
  89. PatrickF.
    Aug 25, 2003
    10
    This is the best movie I have ever seen and only wish that I had been able to see it in the theatre.
  90. BryanE.
    Aug 27, 2001
    6
    Visually stunning, but narratively empty. This film goes over territory that has already been covered in a very one-note and unimaginative fashion. Arronovsky is no doubt a talented stylist. But he shows off at the expense of realism and character development. Rent "Trainspotting" for a more nuanced and interesting take on this subject matter.
  91. Beily
    Jun 28, 2001
    10
    Wow.
  92. TangentUniverse
    Sep 15, 2002
    9
    This movie made me puke, and thats a good thing... if you don't see it, you aren't complete.
  93. Fightthepower
    Apr 4, 2003
    10
    I would like to know jennifer connelly, biblically.
  94. Sameer
    Sep 26, 2002
    9
    Powerful indeed. Undoubdtedly delivers the intended messege.
  95. JanaC.
    May 7, 2001
    10
    This movie is definitely IT.
  96. TheGilbertMulroneycakesEffect
    Dec 2, 2002
    10
    Despair so massive it almost swallows itself whole. That's the tone of this film. Doesn't appeal to you? Watch it anyway. It's just-so-important that it cannot be missed.
  97. BillB.
    Mar 21, 2003
    10
    This movie is an intelligent, smart movie. It enforces its theme without any troubble, yet there is so much underlying the obvious.
  98. J.McMaster
    Jun 17, 2002
    3
    First half was boring, little more than an exercise in film school technique. Second half was a little better, once the director stopped getting in the way of the story. If you want a good movie in this genre, rent "Trainspotting" or "Drugstore Cowboy."
  99. JeffD.
    Apr 20, 2002
    10
    How could anyone give this movie a bad rating? Not only are the audio and visual aspects of the movie stunning, the plight of the characters is heartbreaking and true-to-life.
  100. MichaelF.
    Jul 28, 2002
    10
    It's SO damned good. It's really f.....d up but so damn good and powerful and emotional and just sickening at times. I thought that I had lost all faith in Jared Leto after PANIC ROOM and I KNEW that I lost all the faith that I didn't have in Marlon Wayans after The SCARY MOVIE movies, but those two just blew me away. Jennifer Connely has never been this hot hot hot ever. It's SO damned good. It's really f.....d up but so damn good and powerful and emotional and just sickening at times. I thought that I had lost all faith in Jared Leto after PANIC ROOM and I KNEW that I lost all the faith that I didn't have in Marlon Wayans after The SCARY MOVIE movies, but those two just blew me away. Jennifer Connely has never been this hot hot hot ever. She was amazing. Ellen Burnstyn was incredible and deserved that oscar, she's always great. Darren Aronofsky is one of the most talented directors/writers in Hollywood today. It has that same feeling as PI did but more disturbing. One of the 3 best films of the year, short of AMORES PERROS and TRAFFIC. Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32
  1. 100
    No one interested in the power and magic of movies should miss it.
  2. Reviewed by: Ernest Hardy
    30
    Too self-consciously dark, too aware of its long, murky, art-designed descent into the underbelly of America's addictive personality.
  3. A powerful fable about love and addiction that manages to be darkly humorous when it isn't graphic or harrowing in the extreme.