Miramax Films | Release Date: October 1, 1992
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 660 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
617
Mixed:
28
Negative:
15
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
SpangleMay 31, 2013
Certainly a very intriguing debut from Tarantino. It was a very unusual movie and is almost indescribable, but was very entertaining to watch. Tarantino did a great job turning the bad guys into incredibly sympathetic characters and all ofCertainly a very intriguing debut from Tarantino. It was a very unusual movie and is almost indescribable, but was very entertaining to watch. Tarantino did a great job turning the bad guys into incredibly sympathetic characters and all of the actors did fantastic jobs as well. Very well done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysSep 15, 2013
I'm just gonna go ahead and say it: I think this movie is better than Pulp Fiction.

Unlike most of the Tarantino fans, I think this movie was a little bit better than Pulp. I just liked the story and characters more. Anyway, let me talk
I'm just gonna go ahead and say it: I think this movie is better than Pulp Fiction.

Unlike most of the Tarantino fans, I think this movie was a little bit better than Pulp. I just liked the story and characters more.

Anyway, let me talk about THIS movie.

Reservoir Dogs is a timeless classic. There are no smartphones, iPads, or laptops. Just good old fashioned killing.

No spoilers, the story is about a group of men who are pulling off a bank heist. But when it goes terribly wrong, they think they have a rat working for the police in their midst. This is followed by paranoia, suspicion, and rage. (I didn't differ very much from the IMDb description, so I don't believe any spoilers were revealed.) This story is very captivating, and the actors make it that way with no-bull performances. Michael Madsen, Tim Roth, and Chris Penn were all in the early stages of their acting careers, and this movie was their big break. In fact, if Harvey Keitel hadn't agreed to produce it and star in it, it probably wouldn't have even seen the light of day; or at least it wouldn't have been as big as it is now.

The script is very compelling and stylish. It gives a certain edge to the movie that made it better. A lot of this movie's dialogue has been quoted many times. My point- it was a very memorable movie.

Overall, you have to see Reservoir Dogs. It is a timeless classic that defined Tarantino movies for the rest of his career.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeMay 29, 2016
With top notch acting performances, interesting story, non-linear story and well made action scenes, Reservoir Dogs is not only the first of Tarantino's movies, it's also one of his best movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Tss5078Sep 26, 2015
Reservoir Dogs is the debut film from legendary Director, Quinton Tarantino, and that's why it's taken me such a long time to see it. Most Directors, even the great ones, aren't always successful right out of the gate. In fact, it's a veryReservoir Dogs is the debut film from legendary Director, Quinton Tarantino, and that's why it's taken me such a long time to see it. Most Directors, even the great ones, aren't always successful right out of the gate. In fact, it's a very rare thing to accomplish, but I should have known that if anyone could do it, Tarantino could. In his signature style, Tarantino heavily uses flashbacks to piece together an amazing story of a heist gone bad. The score of a lifetime is at Joe Cabot's fingertips, so he puts together a crew of six of the best criminals his city has to offer. To make sure nothing goes wrong, everyone remains anonymous and is given a nicknames. Right from the start of the film, we know that something has gone terribly wrong, but what happened? That we'll eventually find out in pieces, through flashbacks, in a style that is pure Tarantino. Even in his first film, you can see the style, classic lines, and intriguing that made Tarantino the household name that he is. Aside from flashbacks, the other thing Tarantino is known for, is putting together unlikely casts, that turn out to be perfect for the roles they are in. Harvey Kaitel as Mr. White, may very well be the best of the lot. Kaitel is at the top of his game, and while older and unlikely to be the leader of the group, he turns out to be much more, including the star of this film. Reservoir Dogs is nearly twenty-five years old and it is still as exciting and relevant today as it was then. I never thought anything would ever come close to topping Pulp Fiction as my favorite Tarantino film, but Reservoir Dogs certainly makes a compelling argument for the top spot on that list. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
Man, I really liked Quentin Tarantino before he became a retard, directing movies like "Kill Bill". His Sundance movie "Reservoir Dogs" was a great example why; it had everything a crime thriller doesn't need, from great, unexpectedMan, I really liked Quentin Tarantino before he became a retard, directing movies like "Kill Bill". His Sundance movie "Reservoir Dogs" was a great example why; it had everything a crime thriller doesn't need, from great, unexpected directions to a solid cast (mainly Harvey Keitel doing the job). It was a controversial blast that had powerful, appealing force, and that's why I admired it. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobJan 24, 2012
I loved this movie and I enjoyed watching it. The cast was good and it was interesting. Yet the film is a bit too predictable and that sort of ruined it a little. I would still recommend it though.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuAug 28, 2013
Reservoir Dogs was an excellent debut feature from Tarantino. The script was right on the money, as was the grim but stylish violence. This classic crime movie was doomed to be copied for years and years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticJun 9, 2014
This is Tarantino's beginning, not 'Pulp Fiction', although 'Reservoir Dogs' barely hits at the marker. However, its script, acting (particularly Keitel, Madsen, and Buscemi), and cinematography help set in motion the quintessential neo-noirThis is Tarantino's beginning, not 'Pulp Fiction', although 'Reservoir Dogs' barely hits at the marker. However, its script, acting (particularly Keitel, Madsen, and Buscemi), and cinematography help set in motion the quintessential neo-noir 'Pulp Fiction'. I hadn't recognized that many modern cultural references came from Tarantino, including the "world's smallest violin". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JacobJan 4, 2015
For a first film its good. The characters are interesting and the story is engaging. The choice to tell the story out of order makes me want to rewatch the film as I feel like it’ll make more sense the second time around.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
alejandro970Jul 2, 2017
The humble beginning of Quentin Tarantino. A criminal tale of a heist that went wrong supported by memorable and shocking characters, high doses of black humor, witty dialogues and a smashing OST. Another one that stablished a before and an after.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
StevenFOct 22, 2013
As the camera circles and observes the scene, it's clear to see the talent involved in 'Reservoir Dogs', director and writer Quentin Tarantino is one of those men sitting at the table, alongside Michael Madsen, Harvey Keitel, Steve Buscemi,As the camera circles and observes the scene, it's clear to see the talent involved in 'Reservoir Dogs', director and writer Quentin Tarantino is one of those men sitting at the table, alongside Michael Madsen, Harvey Keitel, Steve Buscemi, Lawrence Tierney and Tim Roth amongst others, they are well dressed in black suits and are having a rather crude discussion surrounding the Madonna song "Like a Virgin". These men don't know each other, but they share chemistry over coffee, but we soon learn that they have reason for being there, a jewellery story heist that we see in flashbacks, because for most of the film, we have a lot of dialogue taking place in the warehouse that was the agreed rendezvous, but you can now judge from this wording that it all goes horribly wrong, and as a few start to appear at the warehouse with various theories as to what went wrong, the most prominent of these being an informant within the pack, injuries and deaths have happened, and now they must find out what truth there is to the 'rat' business. The unfortunate shortcomings of the film lie with its characters having little intrigue or prospect about them, the plot revolves around them, but at the same time it revolves more around trying to find out what went wrong, the plot is intriguing, but not enough time is spent working up a point to each 'colour', each man being called a different one so as to protect their names, but that isn't to say the performances aren't immense, with Madsen almost stealing the show with his cold and collective attitude, each time he's about to speak is edgy because of his unpredictability and menacing demeanour. Keitel is the level headed one who looks after Roths character after he is shot. There are plenty of surprises and shocks along the way, while introductions to the characters through flashbacks intertwine well with the main arc of the warehouse, but we don't have particularly witty or mesmerising dialogue, the script relies on its characters and its conclusion of figuring out the problems of the heist. Tarantino is a proven marvel when it comes to unique filmmaking, this film was the kick off to some dark humour such as Madsens "Mr Blonde" toying with his victim as he dances to "Stealers Wheel", it funny but frightening, we have no idea what is about to happen, and Tarantino has carried on this witty and quick fire shooting that captures smaller but significant details that matter. This isn't his finest work, but here we get a crisp and sharp introduction to the technique and capabilities of Tarantino, he assembles quite the sought after cast with equally impressive performances, and a soundtrack that works well with the darkly humorous script, not as tight as it should be but still a cut above most, it talks perhaps a little too much, but never becomes boring or stale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Bruce722Nov 29, 2012
This is your perfect example of people liking something strictly because it's different. Other than the acting, which was actually very good, everything else about the movie was mediocre. Quentin Tarantino thinks that you can simply use chaosThis is your perfect example of people liking something strictly because it's different. Other than the acting, which was actually very good, everything else about the movie was mediocre. Quentin Tarantino thinks that you can simply use chaos to replace good storytelling and that's just not the case. This is a cult classic but like most of those, it's majorly overrated. Outside of the opening scene, nothing about the movie was entertaining in any way and really could've been told just as well in 20 minutes. Honestly, that's what Tarantino does. He takes a 15 minute story and fools the audience into thinking it's a halfway decent movie by using over an hour of fluff to fill out time between the constant back-and-forth of the plot. The acting and the opening scene earned the movie a 5/10. Anything more than that and people are just lying to themselves because they want to feel part of the cult following. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
axelkochDec 2, 2012
'Reservoir Dogs' marks the debut of legendary Quentin Tarantino, who revolutionized the heist genre with this movie. Crude jokes, nearly 300 uses of the f-word in a running time of only 90 minutes and an awful lot of blood. In the'Reservoir Dogs' marks the debut of legendary Quentin Tarantino, who revolutionized the heist genre with this movie. Crude jokes, nearly 300 uses of the f-word in a running time of only 90 minutes and an awful lot of blood. In the Tarantino-esque manner of using as few scenes as possible, this film is focused on the dialogues. Tarantino himself describing what Madonna Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
Simply, a classic. Great cast with great acting and great dialogue. Gangster movie about a bank robbery you don't actually see, you only hear what happened and yet your eyes are glued to the screen every second of the movie. A must see forSimply, a classic. Great cast with great acting and great dialogue. Gangster movie about a bank robbery you don't actually see, you only hear what happened and yet your eyes are glued to the screen every second of the movie. A must see for any movie lover. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
chwJul 22, 2015
Reservoir Dogs was Quentin Tarantino's second greatest film, in my opinion. There was a great plot, great acting, great dialogue, and it was very moving.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
spadenxJan 7, 2012
I thought it was good for the most part but it did take a bit too long to get into, I mean really interesting. Also I did not like Chris Penn in this film at all, He brought the acting (which was rather good) down quite a bit. Overall it wasI thought it was good for the most part but it did take a bit too long to get into, I mean really interesting. Also I did not like Chris Penn in this film at all, He brought the acting (which was rather good) down quite a bit. Overall it was a good movie and still well worth the watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieManiac83Apr 24, 2015
Reservoir Dogs grabs you by the throat and digs its claws in deep. From the moment that the unwitting viewer tumbles into the realm of Lawrence Tierney's gang of eight, they are hopelessly trapped there until the final credits roll. As theReservoir Dogs grabs you by the throat and digs its claws in deep. From the moment that the unwitting viewer tumbles into the realm of Lawrence Tierney's gang of eight, they are hopelessly trapped there until the final credits roll. As the first outing for actor/director/ writer Quentin Tarantino, this is a triumph, displaying all the marks of a longtime virtuoso of the genre.

The cast, which includes Harvey Keitel, Tim Roth, and Michael Madsen, is first-rate, and the parts the actors have to play are fully fleshed out. Tarantino invests each member of his group with a unique and multi-faceted personality. Not content with stereotypes, the writer/director digs deeper, bringing out the humanity in even someone as viciously sadistic and reprehensible as Mr. Blonde. To go along with the characters is a surprising plot, filled with wonderful little twists and turns, and pervaded throughout by the sense of not knowing what's around the corner. The non-chronological manner in which the story is told is confusing at first, but everything eventually sorts itself out.

Tarantino's directing influences, from John Woo to Martin Scorsese, are all in evidence, and their synthesis creates a high-voltage style that's entirely his own. The writing is crisp and clean, providing line after line of snappy dialogue designed to leave the viewer alternately pondering and laughing aloud. The gallows humor and dark comedy are among many of Reservoir Dogs' defining elements. This is one of those rare motion pictures that's both intelligent and visceral at the same time.

Highly recommended with one caveat: those who are squeamish about blood should be wary. While the gore in this film isn't gratuitous, there's a great deal of it, and one particular torture scene is chillingly and vividly depicted. Gripping and gut-wrenching, Reservoir Dogs is likely to stay with you for a long time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
Quentin Tarantino's debut is essentially a hyperviolent version of "Clue." It has the style and flair of Tarantino's other features, but not as much of the fun.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
oDjentoDec 30, 2015
I am going back and reviewing all Tarantino films i have watched in conjunction with Hateful 8 release. Reservoir dogs is one of the best debut films to ever be made. It is bank robbery film that doesn't rely on making a spectacle of theI am going back and reviewing all Tarantino films i have watched in conjunction with Hateful 8 release. Reservoir dogs is one of the best debut films to ever be made. It is bank robbery film that doesn't rely on making a spectacle of the robbery but instead having it take place in the aftermath of a robbery in a warehouse with intense suspense due to the robbers trying to figure out who the snitch is. The chemistry is brilliant on screen and this film first highlights Tarantino's brilliant writing style.
9/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
StaticSpineSep 18, 2013
Tarantino's first big movie. Already a cult classics. Perfect style, great cast (Michael Madsen is outstanding), awesome story. A must-see for everyone who loves Tarntino-style, criminal or simply good movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ReubenIsAGodAug 17, 2013
I enjoyed Reservoir Dogs, but i found it rather slow and REALLY WANNA SEE WHAT ACTUALLY HAPPENED, besides that the plot was very interesting and different other all i really enjoyed the movie, and will probably have to sit down again andI enjoyed Reservoir Dogs, but i found it rather slow and REALLY WANNA SEE WHAT ACTUALLY HAPPENED, besides that the plot was very interesting and different other all i really enjoyed the movie, and will probably have to sit down again and have another watch though, 8/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheWalrus2000Mar 9, 2013
Tarantino has a very strong opening to his extremely sucessful career by providing us with the powerfully written script Reservoir Dogs that will get inside your head for the rest of your life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
talisencrwMay 14, 2016
This unique take on the heist-film-gone-wrong was excellent--stylish and intelligently made, yet very funny and inexpensive. Tarantino's accolades from giving American cinema the resuscitation it needed mirrors what has happened, at leastThis unique take on the heist-film-gone-wrong was excellent--stylish and intelligently made, yet very funny and inexpensive. Tarantino's accolades from giving American cinema the resuscitation it needed mirrors what has happened, at least since the 70's, with Martin Scorsese's 'Mean Streets', both in terms of entertaining violence and usage of music in the scoring of films. I greatly thank Harvey Keitel for taking a chance on Tarantino back then--It paid off in spades. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
RegOzApr 5, 2012
I believe this is Tarantino's best movie...well, to me it is definitely better than Pulp Fiction. A great movie indeed, not a 10 but close...I hope to watch it again soon. What else can I say that hasn't been mentioned yet?
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
russiangamerFeb 11, 2017
Диалоги - главное достоинство фильма. Они восхитительны. Персонажи зачастую говорят на простые темы, но слушать их одно удовольствие. Так же фильм довольно напряжён и это очень похвально, по-скольку действие большую часть времени происходит вДиалоги - главное достоинство фильма. Они восхитительны. Персонажи зачастую говорят на простые темы, но слушать их одно удовольствие. Так же фильм довольно напряжён и это очень похвально, по-скольку действие большую часть времени происходит в четырёх стенах. Ну и актёры играют прекрасно.
Фильм обязаны посмотреть все киноманы, он может вам не понравится из-за своей жестокости или кучи мата, но просто посмотрите и решите сами.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TTW107Apr 6, 2012
Wow, Quentin Tarantino thank you for this gem. I effing love when mr. blonde has the officer tied to the chair in the safe house, it manages to be psychotic and badass at the same time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
filmtrashreviewAug 28, 2011
Boring and not the least bit exciting, Reservoir Dogs puts a modern day spin on the 12 Angry Men format and keeps the audience entertained. I am not saying is a bad film its just straight up indie and way to self indulgent for the modernBoring and not the least bit exciting, Reservoir Dogs puts a modern day spin on the 12 Angry Men format and keeps the audience entertained. I am not saying is a bad film its just straight up indie and way to self indulgent for the modern average film viewer. However most filmmakers and critics will enjoy its overall mellow theme. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
sinadoomSep 13, 2013
A fine attempt by Tarantino, but one of his weakest films. Sure, the action, cast and unique story telling style is very good. However, I didn't feel as though any of the characters actually mattered, so the ending wasn't very powerful atA fine attempt by Tarantino, but one of his weakest films. Sure, the action, cast and unique story telling style is very good. However, I didn't feel as though any of the characters actually mattered, so the ending wasn't very powerful at all. The core backbone of the story was missing, but each individual component of the film was excellent. If only these were more connected, the film would be a 9/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SummersausageJan 7, 2013
This movie is why Tarentino is a phenomenon. A screenplay that explains all the intrinsic character story lines that connect in one perfect moment of momentous fury. The acting of Harvey Keitel is unappreciated, and Steve Buchemi is awesome.This movie is why Tarentino is a phenomenon. A screenplay that explains all the intrinsic character story lines that connect in one perfect moment of momentous fury. The acting of Harvey Keitel is unappreciated, and Steve Buchemi is awesome. The script is full of conversations that show who the characters are and an awesome reveal of the ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
iamtrent424Mar 27, 2011
An awesome Crime Gangstar movie. I finally watch this movie. I love it. This is one of the best movie i seen. Memorable lines and scene. This movie brings action and comedy. An Crime gangster movie ever body should watch. very entertaining. IAn awesome Crime Gangstar movie. I finally watch this movie. I love it. This is one of the best movie i seen. Memorable lines and scene. This movie brings action and comedy. An Crime gangster movie ever body should watch. very entertaining. I never watch this movie before because I didnt think it was going be all this good. If you haven't watch it already you should. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews