Screen Gems | Release Date: March 15, 2002
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 292 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
171
Mixed:
81
Negative:
40
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
KeenanSMay 30, 2009
Despite what critics and some people had to say about it, I absolutely loved Resident Evil. Sure the story doesn't exactly follow the games, but it created its own identity and was a well-written, competent story. The action scenes were Despite what critics and some people had to say about it, I absolutely loved Resident Evil. Sure the story doesn't exactly follow the games, but it created its own identity and was a well-written, competent story. The action scenes were well done, even if the zombies lacked blood and there was plenty to go around in terms of excitement. I loved the music and it fit well with the themes. Best of all, Milla Jovovich kicks so much ass in this film! Give it a try, it's actually quite good. Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful
10
LeeJul 1, 2006
Brill movie, great action and great for if you want to watch a good horror!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MissayO.Sep 24, 2005
An action packed movie from start to finish.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ninjabobOct 11, 2007
Watched this movie in theatres atleast 6 times... Brilliant acting (maybe not the best ever but put yourself in the characters shoes) and a nice story, love the special effects. First 30 min. are the best, could watch that over and over andWatched this movie in theatres atleast 6 times... Brilliant acting (maybe not the best ever but put yourself in the characters shoes) and a nice story, love the special effects. First 30 min. are the best, could watch that over and over and over again. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Tomn.Aug 29, 2007
A brilliant movie, above the standard action film. While it may not have the best lines in cinema histyory, and some of the acting is a bit cack (matt never changed his expression, once), it still stands to be a great fun film. With some of A brilliant movie, above the standard action film. While it may not have the best lines in cinema histyory, and some of the acting is a bit cack (matt never changed his expression, once), it still stands to be a great fun film. With some of the best music ever heard in an action film, hectic and exciting action scenes, and a depressing but cool ending, this film doesn't fail to disappoint. The laser corridor, Rain's first zombie encounter and the final battle on the train are among the films highlights, and Mila Jovovich and Michelle Rodriguez put on decent performances. This film is easily worth a rent; remember that these critics putting down Resident Evil are the same ones that said Pirates Of The Carribean was not a fun film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
nightly_tugboatJan 1, 2011
I personally don't understand all the hate towards the Res evil films. I feel like this film is drastically underrated and so I've given it a 10. Probably deserves no better than a 8, but it can still be a pretty compelling film. It's notI personally don't understand all the hate towards the Res evil films. I feel like this film is drastically underrated and so I've given it a 10. Probably deserves no better than a 8, but it can still be a pretty compelling film. It's not about to blow your damn mind, but I really think it's worth the time of day if you are just looking for a sweet zone out film that you can still follow what's happening. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
julian_zizzleAug 3, 2011
This review contains spoilers. This is one awesome story of carnage. I loved Alice. I loved Rain but shame that she got infected. I liked the lazer slash and dog chase screens. Everybody should watch this one! Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
N1ghtshade3Feb 12, 2013
Having never played any of the games, I rate this without the "...but it didn't follow the game's plot, 0/10" nonsense. I thought this was a fabulous movie. Although the whole zombie thing has really taken over a lot of movies, apps, andHaving never played any of the games, I rate this without the "...but it didn't follow the game's plot, 0/10" nonsense. I thought this was a fabulous movie. Although the whole zombie thing has really taken over a lot of movies, apps, and games lately, Resident Evil brought a fresh take on the slow-moving, falling-apart crap we're so used to nowadays. I appreciated the fact that there was a plot, and a pretty decent one at that. It wasn't just the characters pulling ammo out of their asses and killing hundreds of zombies. It was a great movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscMar 11, 2014
i love resident evil trilogy and this one3 it is go epic watching a group of rad ass people kill zombies but this one is never better then dawn of the dead or world war z . resident evil is better then shaun of the dead
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
BernanHandeiroApr 20, 2014
CAMON!
please dont do this to me! critics are negative? in all movies????? but why? CGI are bad? plot are bad? crew are bad? well, is just an user review against all of those critics but the users win and in the end, Resident Evil rules!!!!
CAMON!
please dont do this to me! critics are negative? in all movies????? but why? CGI are bad? plot are bad? crew are bad? well, is just an user review against all of those critics but the users win and in the end, Resident Evil rules!!!! --thank God!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
walker14Apr 20, 2014
Personally, I think RE is one of the best movies I've ever seen, and trust me, I've seen a lot of movies! It has an original story, good characters, and extremely good storyline and there's so much in the movie.. action, horror.. thePersonally, I think RE is one of the best movies I've ever seen, and trust me, I've seen a lot of movies! It has an original story, good characters, and extremely good storyline and there's so much in the movie.. action, horror.. the relations between the characters, the way they need to unite to survive.. it's such a good and interesting movie! I find so weird that people have so many negative critics! I mean, I know it was inspired in the game, and i know Alice isn't in it.. but people need to get one thing straight: those are two different things! and to be honest, I think it's pretty cool that there is a female bad ass the major character! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
007FilmReviewerJun 3, 2017
Slick, brutal, and fun which all adds up to an amazing time acting as a techno-flavored haunted house.

Slick, brutal, and fun which all adds up to an amazing time acting as a techno-flavored haunted house.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KevinMMar 13, 2009
This score is probably the best I can give any of Paul WS Anderson's films. I know this is the worse reviewed by critics and some of the users won't agree with me on this, but this first one to me is actually the best of the 3. This score is probably the best I can give any of Paul WS Anderson's films. I know this is the worse reviewed by critics and some of the users won't agree with me on this, but this first one to me is actually the best of the 3. Apocalypse wasn't as good and Extinction was just alright, though I like the set up for a sequel at the end of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RodericR.Jul 18, 2009
I actually enjoyed this movie a lot. I played the games and am well aware of the "lore" of RE, but sometimes the movies don't need to follow exactly. Plus, this is kind of new territory here, with the movie actually coming after the I actually enjoyed this movie a lot. I played the games and am well aware of the "lore" of RE, but sometimes the movies don't need to follow exactly. Plus, this is kind of new territory here, with the movie actually coming after the game. I still wish I could filter reviews and remove all "0" scores. A movie that bad should make you *literally* vomit in your mouth, unable to even watch it in its entirety and sad for the plot of humanity and anyone's soul who came within 10 feet of it. Thus, only a handful of movies would be able to get such a ridiculous score. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
pkdJun 20, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Resident Evil franchise is more than a gripping story. it is the aesthetics of the movies, that with certain scenes are engraved in memory for years. I adore the entire series, and cannot understand why it is not getting much higher ranking, as it is realy very well done, very artistic, not stupid, maybe prophetic, certainly enjoyable. and Alice is the best! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerSep 8, 2011
I've never played the video games so I can't compare this to them, but I can tell you this is a very enjoyable Zombie movie, this movie actually made me jump twice, it's really a great movie, and I'm looking forward to the other movies in the series.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Rox22Jan 25, 2013
Considering how low a budget this film had, it was really surprising just how far they stretched it. This is perhaps the only Resident evil (non-animated) movie that I liked. I really like that they decided not to just remake the story fromConsidering how low a budget this film had, it was really surprising just how far they stretched it. This is perhaps the only Resident evil (non-animated) movie that I liked. I really like that they decided not to just remake the story from the games and make an original character with her own story. I really like Alice and Milla does a great job playing her. Rodriguez also does a good job but she more or less just plays the same character that she always plays. The rest of the cast were just forgettable. As to the movie as a whole, it was a decent horror that did have some chills and did a good job capturing the tone of the games, or at least the first two games. Overall: An enjoyable movie that is perhaps one of the better video game movie adaptations. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
topdolaFeb 24, 2014
Very good convert from video game to movie, kept true to the game for those that have played it.
It is what it is and far this reason I rate it highly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
russiangamerMar 23, 2017
Боже мой, да тут даже сюжетные повороты есть!
Да, фильм туповат, а точнее герои, да и просто странности есть, но это именно тот резидент, который я бы хотел видеть - узкие коридоры, не убиваемый ГГ...
Итог: Лучшая часть франшизы.
Боже мой, да тут даже сюжетные повороты есть!
Да, фильм туповат, а точнее герои, да и просто странности есть, но это именно тот резидент, который я бы хотел видеть - узкие коридоры, не убиваемый ГГ...
Итог: Лучшая часть франшизы.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ERJSep 7, 2008
I love this movie. Not perfect, pretty flawed, but i love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
S.D.Jul 17, 2008
I like the film really. But I think, it's because I have never played the game. So, the film is a good action/zombie movie, but only for people who, never played the game. And this is the best Movie of the trilogy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Andy92Sep 12, 2010
i thought this movie was an alright start to the resident evil franchise despite not following the original game series storyline. the story was satisfactory not perfect and the cast performed well and convincingly. i would recommend this movie
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Bal81Apr 12, 2011
When i first watched it i thought it was ok but after afew more views i realised it could have been done alot better and by then i was over the dissapointing licker scene and the flying dog kick scene.
Going back and prefering it and the
When i first watched it i thought it was ok but after afew more views i realised it could have been done alot better and by then i was over the dissapointing licker scene and the flying dog kick scene.
Going back and prefering it and the sequels now ,the reason for it is because im now in my thirties and when i first watched it i was in my early early twenties and a massive Res fan.
Theres always room for another director to try again or maybe enjoy what Capcom are bringin to the screen and with a great start from Res Evil:Degeneration which is a complete graphical movie it does a better job of catering for the fans.
All that aside though,coming back to these films i realise its not great but good is good enough especially when so much crap is coming out these days that this film and its sequels are quiet enjoyable afterall. Just dont expect too much.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
HedilioMar 11, 2013
It's a really entertaining movie, but Is it Resident Evil? Certainly not. It would've been cooler if they had actually followed the game's storyline.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
busbfranJan 7, 2015
Resident evil has amazing suspension, though struggles to maintain direction. There is no stand out performances here however, nothing below average. The first half of the movie is very strong until the zombies are introduced. The creepyResident evil has amazing suspension, though struggles to maintain direction. There is no stand out performances here however, nothing below average. The first half of the movie is very strong until the zombies are introduced. The creepy atmosphere and unanswered question will intrigue even the simplest of audiences. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeAug 13, 2014
Resident evil tries too much to be like the games and it's not really a good result.The fight scenes are cheesy and and the last monster is made with some incredibly bad CGI effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SiAScORCHNov 5, 2014
While I'm a huge fan of pretty much anything Resident Evil, I can't let that affect my honest review. The movie isn't so bad and I do watch it from time to time. I like horror movies, and this is one of the movies that I'm able to watch moreWhile I'm a huge fan of pretty much anything Resident Evil, I can't let that affect my honest review. The movie isn't so bad and I do watch it from time to time. I like horror movies, and this is one of the movies that I'm able to watch more than once which isn't always the case. I would honestly say the movie is worth watching, or owning if you can find it cheap. It's interesting and has a lot of action so at times it'll have you on the edge of your seat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
perkjlJan 8, 2016
A decent Sci-fi with some clichéd action sequences and a little horror elements thrown in. Barely if at all follows the games, but has some similarities. The original Resident Evil film surpasses the later installments. The set pieces areA decent Sci-fi with some clichéd action sequences and a little horror elements thrown in. Barely if at all follows the games, but has some similarities. The original Resident Evil film surpasses the later installments. The set pieces are well done. They feel claustrophobic and unsettling just like the earlier games on Sony's PlayStation. The environments involving underground tunnels and labs are definitely the film's strong point. Overall, it's an average movie that's easy on the eyes. For a movie adaption of a video game it could be worse. Just don't expect good acting and sadly no "Jill sandwich" lines. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
HalfwelshmanJan 26, 2012
I'll admit this from the off - I am not a fan of the Resident Evil games. I think I played Resident Evil 3 briefly a long time ago but that's where my experience with the series ends. The first film in the series is a bit of a guilty pleasureI'll admit this from the off - I am not a fan of the Resident Evil games. I think I played Resident Evil 3 briefly a long time ago but that's where my experience with the series ends. The first film in the series is a bit of a guilty pleasure of mine. Resident Evil works as a pretty decent example of both an action and a horror movie - the set pieces are entertaining and stylish, there are a couple of decent scares and the whole film maintains momentum (if not quite tension) throughout. Milla Jovovich has another ballsy action heroine role to add to her C.V., and while Alice is not quite up there with Leeloo, she's a solid protagonist that does exactly what is required of her, that is to say she still kicks serious undead behind. The rest of the cast, and their characters are generic and unmemorable, and as is traditional with this kind of film, it quickly becomes a game of "who's going to be zombie lunch next". Will we ever see Michelle Rodriguez playing a different character? It's highly doubtful, but hey, she's got a good thing going with type-casting, so who am I to judge. The script is also pretty clunky, but at the end of the day it's just an action-horror movie, and one based on a video game at that, so you don't expect much in that regard. The CGI was also never top-of-the-line (being a film entirely financed by small European studios) and these effects look even worse today, so thankfully they're used sparingly. You can have a pretty good time with Resident Evil if you're prepared to gloss over a few issues, and just take it for what it is - a bit of fun. You'll really see it at its very best if you watch it with a couple of friends, perhaps with a beer or two, then you can all indulge in what makes it good entertainment, and as one, you can also ridicule what makes it...less good. Just sit back, leave your brain outside and enjoy the ride. And watch out for the lasers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 21, 2011
"Resident Evil" is a zombie movie based on a famous game franchise. The movie is different from the game and offers new perspective and entertainment, if and only if you can handle the cheesy dialogue and the lost-its-way plot of the movie.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews