Screen Gems | Release Date: March 15, 2002
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 308 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
181
Mixed:
78
Negative:
49
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
JohnnyE.Apr 10, 2002
Really Cool movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KeenanSMay 30, 2009
Despite what critics and some people had to say about it, I absolutely loved Resident Evil. Sure the story doesn't exactly follow the games, but it created its own identity and was a well-written, competent story. The action scenes were Despite what critics and some people had to say about it, I absolutely loved Resident Evil. Sure the story doesn't exactly follow the games, but it created its own identity and was a well-written, competent story. The action scenes were well done, even if the zombies lacked blood and there was plenty to go around in terms of excitement. I loved the music and it fit well with the themes. Best of all, Milla Jovovich kicks so much ass in this film! Give it a try, it's actually quite good. Collapse
8 of 9 users found this helpful
10
MikeH.May 10, 2002
Martin R......Sucks Shootsy......Sucks Real Critics......Losers Everbody Else......You're alright. People that gave a ten for this @$$ kicking, Zombie bashin', Licker Bitchin' movie, YEEEAAAAAAHHHHHHHH! YOU RULE!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JezzMay 31, 2002
Great!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MatejP.Jul 22, 2002
Luckily no one is listening to the critics. They suck anyway. The movie is great. Sure the story isn't exactly perfect but the music and lots of scenes rule. The best thriller I have ever seen!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
THOMASG.Aug 22, 2003
This was an awesom movie that you either love it or u hate it and i can tell u i loved it, having played the games and heard that the movie was comming out i knew i just had to see it, and i cant wait for the next one.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LeeJul 1, 2006
Brill movie, great action and great for if you want to watch a good horror!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CoreyP.May 23, 2002
Great movie. Could have been better, but it was great, held good to the resident evil series.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WayneJun 15, 2002
The critics do not know a good movie from a bad one! The critics are totally wrong on giving a great movie such a poor rating and review. Resident Evil is the best movie i've seen! I've seen it and there was NO accident, Remember The critics do not know a good movie from a bad one! The critics are totally wrong on giving a great movie such a poor rating and review. Resident Evil is the best movie i've seen! I've seen it and there was NO accident, Remember the coffee guy sceen and you will see my piont on : NO ACCIDENT. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BradyC.Jun 4, 2002
Personally it scared the crap out of me at some points and had the best a most gore i've seen in any movie and they better as sure hell make Res 2 i wanna see some cop zombies and kid zombies oh and there had dam well be thoes freaky Personally it scared the crap out of me at some points and had the best a most gore i've seen in any movie and they better as sure hell make Res 2 i wanna see some cop zombies and kid zombies oh and there had dam well be thoes freaky ass crows!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RyanAug 4, 2002
Oh my god! what is this movie doing on the worst movies list? I spent the entire movie drooling over Milla, and let me say that getting to experience it in the theater I kept getting scared/excited/chills. I never had much faith in critics, Oh my god! what is this movie doing on the worst movies list? I spent the entire movie drooling over Milla, and let me say that getting to experience it in the theater I kept getting scared/excited/chills. I never had much faith in critics, but now I can't help but loathe them. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GraemeL.Aug 4, 2002
For a zombie movie it was great! For a video game movie it was great! it really recreated the resident evil world well.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HughB.Sep 4, 2002
It was good and gory and it was briliantly made.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LalalahatspunkychikDec 16, 2003
So cool.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Apr 30, 2003
Michelle is the best.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SarahR.May 29, 2003
HCK this movie is the best!! i absolutely love it!! michelle kicks ass in here and i love the remarks that she makes!! i dont care wut u all say the movie is the best and i have seen it over 100 times and i still love it!! i hope they come HCK this movie is the best!! i absolutely love it!! michelle kicks ass in here and i love the remarks that she makes!! i dont care wut u all say the movie is the best and i have seen it over 100 times and i still love it!! i hope they come out with another one cuz i cant wait!! though i was really ticked that michelle had to die even thou i knew she had too! but it would b the best if they could bring her back! it wont happen cuz a bullet to the brain is pretty much it! the novie rocks!! dont diss it u crazy ppl out there!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MissayO.Sep 24, 2005
An action packed movie from start to finish.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ninjabobOct 11, 2007
Watched this movie in theatres atleast 6 times... Brilliant acting (maybe not the best ever but put yourself in the characters shoes) and a nice story, love the special effects. First 30 min. are the best, could watch that over and over andWatched this movie in theatres atleast 6 times... Brilliant acting (maybe not the best ever but put yourself in the characters shoes) and a nice story, love the special effects. First 30 min. are the best, could watch that over and over and over again. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Tomn.Aug 29, 2007
A brilliant movie, above the standard action film. While it may not have the best lines in cinema histyory, and some of the acting is a bit cack (matt never changed his expression, once), it still stands to be a great fun film. With some of A brilliant movie, above the standard action film. While it may not have the best lines in cinema histyory, and some of the acting is a bit cack (matt never changed his expression, once), it still stands to be a great fun film. With some of the best music ever heard in an action film, hectic and exciting action scenes, and a depressing but cool ending, this film doesn't fail to disappoint. The laser corridor, Rain's first zombie encounter and the final battle on the train are among the films highlights, and Mila Jovovich and Michelle Rodriguez put on decent performances. This film is easily worth a rent; remember that these critics putting down Resident Evil are the same ones that said Pirates Of The Carribean was not a fun film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeteB.Mar 25, 2002
Very good movie. Good story, nice action and nice chicks. You gotta love zombies.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
W.G.Jun 15, 2002
Is RE 2 gong to have all of the known characters such as, Jill, Berry, Clair, Sherry, William birkin, Leon, Chris, Rebbeca, Veronica, and all the others? That would be cool with nemesis, those anphibian creatures, and the ones that cut off Is RE 2 gong to have all of the known characters such as, Jill, Berry, Clair, Sherry, William birkin, Leon, Chris, Rebbeca, Veronica, and all the others? That would be cool with nemesis, those anphibian creatures, and the ones that cut off heads. (play RE 3) and have slower zombies. They were too fast in the movie. And the giant worm that gets electrocuted in the game. Have the police station in the movie as well. There's an movie idea for RE 2. (At least I tried to follow the games) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
nightly_tugboatJan 1, 2011
I personally don't understand all the hate towards the Res evil films. I feel like this film is drastically underrated and so I've given it a 10. Probably deserves no better than a 8, but it can still be a pretty compelling film. It's notI personally don't understand all the hate towards the Res evil films. I feel like this film is drastically underrated and so I've given it a 10. Probably deserves no better than a 8, but it can still be a pretty compelling film. It's not about to blow your damn mind, but I really think it's worth the time of day if you are just looking for a sweet zone out film that you can still follow what's happening. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
julian_zizzleAug 3, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one awesome story of carnage. I loved Alice. I loved Rain but shame that she got infected. I liked the lazer slash and dog chase screens. Everybody should watch this one! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
N1ghtshade3Feb 12, 2013
Having never played any of the games, I rate this without the "...but it didn't follow the game's plot, 0/10" nonsense. I thought this was a fabulous movie. Although the whole zombie thing has really taken over a lot of movies, apps, andHaving never played any of the games, I rate this without the "...but it didn't follow the game's plot, 0/10" nonsense. I thought this was a fabulous movie. Although the whole zombie thing has really taken over a lot of movies, apps, and games lately, Resident Evil brought a fresh take on the slow-moving, falling-apart crap we're so used to nowadays. I appreciated the fact that there was a plot, and a pretty decent one at that. It wasn't just the characters pulling ammo out of their asses and killing hundreds of zombies. It was a great movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscMar 11, 2014
i love resident evil trilogy and this one3 it is go epic watching a group of rad ass people kill zombies but this one is never better then dawn of the dead or world war z . resident evil is better then shaun of the dead
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
BernanHandeiroApr 20, 2014
CAMON!
please dont do this to me! critics are negative? in all movies????? but why? CGI are bad? plot are bad? crew are bad? well, is just an user review against all of those critics but the users win and in the end, Resident Evil rules!!!!
CAMON!
please dont do this to me! critics are negative? in all movies????? but why? CGI are bad? plot are bad? crew are bad? well, is just an user review against all of those critics but the users win and in the end, Resident Evil rules!!!! --thank God!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
walker14Apr 20, 2014
Personally, I think RE is one of the best movies I've ever seen, and trust me, I've seen a lot of movies! It has an original story, good characters, and extremely good storyline and there's so much in the movie.. action, horror.. thePersonally, I think RE is one of the best movies I've ever seen, and trust me, I've seen a lot of movies! It has an original story, good characters, and extremely good storyline and there's so much in the movie.. action, horror.. the relations between the characters, the way they need to unite to survive.. it's such a good and interesting movie! I find so weird that people have so many negative critics! I mean, I know it was inspired in the game, and i know Alice isn't in it.. but people need to get one thing straight: those are two different things! and to be honest, I think it's pretty cool that there is a female bad ass the major character! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RyanT.Oct 9, 2003
I think the movie is great. It isn't based directly off a game which would make it utterly dull because you know exactly how it would end. The special features could have been better but it was funny to hear the comments about how the I think the movie is great. It isn't based directly off a game which would make it utterly dull because you know exactly how it would end. The special features could have been better but it was funny to hear the comments about how the soundtrack was made. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
BabyM.May 6, 2003
A great movie. i dont understand why it gets such a low score from the reviewers. fantastic from start to finish and as good as any horror film to date.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
9
EricaJ.Mar 16, 2002
Much better than I expected. Don't expect this to be just another video-game adaptation. Awesome story and tons of surprises.
2 of 2 users found this helpful