Universal Pictures | Release Date: January 17, 2014
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 159 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
56
Mixed:
67
Negative:
36
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
LamontRaymondJan 29, 2014
It's MUCH funnier and a MUCH better time than the critics give it credit for. Ice Cube is a little off his game in terms of comic timing, but Kevin Hart is hilarious! Easy recommendation if you're just looking for a night of laughs.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
4
ThegodfathersonJan 17, 2014
Despite the best efforts of Kevin Hart, Ride Along limps along and never really works as a comedy thanks to a listless Ice Cube and poor direction from Tim Story.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
chrisjones914Jun 20, 2014
I can honestly say that this is by far the worst film I have seen in my life! Kevin Hart is hilarious in stand up... but this is just ridiculous! I can't even put it into words... All I can say is PLEASE don't watch this movie! you'll beI can honestly say that this is by far the worst film I have seen in my life! Kevin Hart is hilarious in stand up... but this is just ridiculous! I can't even put it into words... All I can say is PLEASE don't watch this movie! you'll be doing yourself a huge favor! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
PStakhivJan 26, 2014
An average buddy cop movie with predictable plot and some funny moments! But it have been a while since we have this kind of movie, so it's fun time but not one original thing about it
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
dyshpoMar 12, 2014
Very enjoyable and funny this sadly is one of only a few Black cop buddy films out ever. Kevin and Ice Cube pulled this together. Respectable to me as far as humor ,story and character development goes . Felt really balanced with the dramaVery enjoyable and funny this sadly is one of only a few Black cop buddy films out ever. Kevin and Ice Cube pulled this together. Respectable to me as far as humor ,story and character development goes . Felt really balanced with the drama and heavier moments . Next movie Universal Pictures needs to do is a Black gay comedy to break the cycle . Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
Leo9127Feb 3, 2014
This movie is a mixed bag on one side is Kevin Hart mostly improvising which give most of, if not all of the film's funny dialogue, he also shares good chemistry with Ice Cube, on the other side the scripted jokes, are most of the time wellThis movie is a mixed bag on one side is Kevin Hart mostly improvising which give most of, if not all of the film's funny dialogue, he also shares good chemistry with Ice Cube, on the other side the scripted jokes, are most of the time well lame, this fun to watch now than most of the movies are **** Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
RicardoJavierJan 26, 2014
I like Kevin Hart but this movie is like the same joke being repeated every ten minutes for an hour and a half. We know what is going to happen and what Kevin Hart and Ice Cube will say throughout the movie, but if you don't expect muchI like Kevin Hart but this movie is like the same joke being repeated every ten minutes for an hour and a half. We know what is going to happen and what Kevin Hart and Ice Cube will say throughout the movie, but if you don't expect much (which you shouldn't), just enjoy how much non-sense Kevin Hart can say in just a few minutes. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
outlivedMay 2, 2014
This is a horrible movie. I am currently watching this movie with what I thought were friends and feel as though I'm being held hostage. This is a terrible, terrible movie and has ruined my Friday night. As I am writing this my only thoughtsThis is a horrible movie. I am currently watching this movie with what I thought were friends and feel as though I'm being held hostage. This is a terrible, terrible movie and has ruined my Friday night. As I am writing this my only thoughts are Why HAS NO ONE STOPED THIS ABOMINATION!!!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"Ride Along" 10 Scale Rating: 4.5 (Mediocre) ...

The Good: Kevin Hart is hilarious at times, though that is expected. Ice Cube does a very solid job playing the straight man and for a few fleeting moments, this is a decent buddy comedy.
"Ride Along" 10 Scale Rating: 4.5 (Mediocre) ...

The Good: Kevin Hart is hilarious at times, though that is expected. Ice Cube does a very solid job playing the straight man and for a few fleeting moments, this is a decent buddy comedy.

The Bad: I don't expect a whole lot in regard to story from a film like this, but even still ... this movie was underwhelming in that regard. While Hart was funny, they leaned way too much on him and on occasion it went on too long and wasn't humorous anymore. The film's final act is a predictable dud. A very formulaic movie.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
Steel1943Jan 18, 2014
Hilarious movie, and very entertaining. The interactions between Kevin Hart and Ice Cube are worth watching. However, the movie's ending feels rushed and incomplete, and basically makes the rest of the movie feel as though it was there forHilarious movie, and very entertaining. The interactions between Kevin Hart and Ice Cube are worth watching. However, the movie's ending feels rushed and incomplete, and basically makes the rest of the movie feel as though it was there for nothing. A lot more could have been added to the movie; in fact, an additional 30 minutes could have been added to prevent the ending seeming as incomplete as it is. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
PrincethadonMar 3, 2014
This movie deserves more than it gets. It kept me rolling!! This movie is number 2 on my Top 10 funniest movies ever. Ice Cube wasn't acting the best this time but that's okay Kevin Hart made us look over the fact that cube wasn't on hisThis movie deserves more than it gets. It kept me rolling!! This movie is number 2 on my Top 10 funniest movies ever. Ice Cube wasn't acting the best this time but that's okay Kevin Hart made us look over the fact that cube wasn't on his game. It's definitely worth the time. So if you want a night of good laughs this is the movie to watch. So I give this movie a 9 out of 10. Thanks for reading. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
mojomuddyJan 25, 2014
this movie is definitely a piece of **** I know this because it popped up on my computer and pissed me the **** off. I would never, and will never support such an asinine form of advertisement, and refuse to participate in such a bogus formthis movie is definitely a piece of **** I know this because it popped up on my computer and pissed me the **** off. I would never, and will never support such an asinine form of advertisement, and refuse to participate in such a bogus form of intellectual degradation. Piss the ****ed off.
Me
Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerMay 22, 2014
If you're a Kevin Hart fan then this is definitely one that is worth a watch. This is Hart's show, and when he takes control it's easy to find the laughs. It's his goofy character that never stops talking that makes the movie worth watching,If you're a Kevin Hart fan then this is definitely one that is worth a watch. This is Hart's show, and when he takes control it's easy to find the laughs. It's his goofy character that never stops talking that makes the movie worth watching, and easily makes up for the lackluster plot that is full of cop movie cliches and the surprisingly disappointing Ice Cube. So yeah if you're looking for some laughs Kevin Hart brings them. It's just a shame that the rest of the movie around him isn't so spectacular. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
analogkid280Feb 9, 2014
Kevin Heart is the new fad in comedy right now. I don't know if his brand is endearing but it is good for 2014. This movie was much better than staying at home and playing Call of Duty. Now I can go to the theater and watch actors pretend toKevin Heart is the new fad in comedy right now. I don't know if his brand is endearing but it is good for 2014. This movie was much better than staying at home and playing Call of Duty. Now I can go to the theater and watch actors pretend to play Call of Duty. All this while Ice Cube pretends to be a detective with no self control, and some forgotten actress pretends to be some borderline annoying clueless forgotten girlfriend/sister with a strange midget fetish. But hey its funny and your bored so what do you have to loose? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Bruce722Jun 12, 2014
Ride Along is easily one of the funnier films I've seen in a while. Kevin Hart is the funniest man in Hollywood right now and everything he touches is golden. The only negative, to be honest, was Ice Cube. He seems to have regressed, ifRide Along is easily one of the funnier films I've seen in a while. Kevin Hart is the funniest man in Hollywood right now and everything he touches is golden. The only negative, to be honest, was Ice Cube. He seems to have regressed, if possible, as an actor and there were certain scenes that were just tough to watch without his mediocre acting breaking the immersion. All in all though, this is definitely a hilarious movie worth watching. As usual, the critics know nothing about comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
csw12Apr 10, 2014
The only positive thing I can think of was it kept my attention. The bad news, predictable, clumsy, and most of all annoying. The combination of Kevin Hart and Ice Cube screaming for unnecessary reasons is a reason to avoid this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
wvmoviefanFeb 5, 2014
Don't understand the appeal of this film. It's a compilation of a 10 other films with no originality at all.
Kevin Hart acts "funny" but his rapid-fire talk makes it difficult to understand him at times. The sad thing about a film like this
Don't understand the appeal of this film. It's a compilation of a 10 other films with no originality at all.
Kevin Hart acts "funny" but his rapid-fire talk makes it difficult to understand him at times. The sad thing about a film like this is that its rock-solid financial success will result in more Ride-Alongs when the first one wasn't even that good. I'm not sure what this says about America's cultural appetite but I'll bet that it isn't healthy.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
SimpleMethodApr 5, 2014
Painfully stupid. Ice Cube is funny in more of a supporting role as in 21 Jump Street, and after awhile just got annoying here. Typical, weak january fare.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
BradySmithApr 1, 2016
Eh, it's ok. Pretty predictable but it's never mind numbingly stupid like a Sandler movie, and Hart is always dependably funny. The dialogue never really has any comedic bite but there is a funny recurring joke about how Hart's obsession withEh, it's ok. Pretty predictable but it's never mind numbingly stupid like a Sandler movie, and Hart is always dependably funny. The dialogue never really has any comedic bite but there is a funny recurring joke about how Hart's obsession with a video game actually makes him a weapons expert. Nothing all that memorable or hilarious though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FleshWorldJan 31, 2014
You simply can't judge this type of film too harshly. Cube is great, and Hart is funny as hell. Hart's fiancee character is a terrible actress - or the director didn't give her much to work with. Otherwise, it's a laugh, and likely willYou simply can't judge this type of film too harshly. Cube is great, and Hart is funny as hell. Hart's fiancee character is a terrible actress - or the director didn't give her much to work with. Otherwise, it's a laugh, and likely will not be remembered come Oscar Season next year. But who cares???? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
BrianMcCriticApr 19, 2014
A very predictable buddy cop film that just lacks enough humor. By predictable I mean every step of the way you can guess where this film is going. It's not unbearable like the spoof comedies but I didn't laugh enough. D+
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Movie1997Jan 19, 2014
It has its shares of outrageous laughs, but in the end, "Ride Along" is a comedy that delivers not many laughs that you would expect. I really enjoyed the second half of this movie more than than the first half. Maybe because there are scenesIt has its shares of outrageous laughs, but in the end, "Ride Along" is a comedy that delivers not many laughs that you would expect. I really enjoyed the second half of this movie more than than the first half. Maybe because there are scenes full of comical moments that are not seen anywhere in the trailers or promos. Other than that, it's still missing a step. Overall, even with some outrageous laughs, you still walk out of this movie feeling a bit underwhelmed. I give it a C+! But lets face it, you won't agree with me. So why fight it. Everyone else will love this. Overall, you'll still laugh your butts off. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGoer14Feb 11, 2014
Really good! In fact, I really enjoyed it! It funny, entertaining & has cool chemistry between the two main actors. It is cliched & done before, but it is just a cheesy bumpy ride throughout!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DuckNationJun 10, 2014
Ride Along was actually pretty funny but i felt like it should have been rated R rather than PG-13 and you can clearly see that in Ice Cube's acting. With him being a great verbal actor and this being PG-13 it only constricts how far hisRide Along was actually pretty funny but i felt like it should have been rated R rather than PG-13 and you can clearly see that in Ice Cube's acting. With him being a great verbal actor and this being PG-13 it only constricts how far his character can go which really sucks on the other hand Kevin Hart absolutely kills it in this, he is for sure the highlight of this buddy cop movie. The story again like most buddy cop movies nowadays is with little thought and relies on too much on its actors to make it entertaining its a good thing the actors do a good job and make it at least watchable. Alright i think we all know Tim Story has directed some crap movies his worst of course being the two Fantastic Four movies but this movie is actually the first movie i like of his also i wonder how much Jason Mantzoukas had to do with the script because that guy is freaking hilarious. Okay most of the time i like seeing John Leguizamo in movies but this time i just found him to be annoying also i totally wasn't expecting Laurence Fishburne to be in this movie and i was surprised when he walked into the scene and while his character is "the bad guy" he never really seems convincing.

Overall i give it a 6.0 The big speech scene at the end with Kevin Hart was easily the best part of the movie also Tika Sumpter was easy on the eyes.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
sammurphy66Jul 14, 2014
Completely unfunny, tedious, spectacularly moronic, and completely barren of any laughs whatsoever, Ride Along is a complete waste of comedic talent and time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
GreenBlood02Jan 27, 2014
Yolanda Williams is an idiot. This Movie was so stupid and unoriginal with a predictable plot and bad humor. Few scenes will make you laugh but most is just an unsatisfying mix and not worth your time or money.By the way Yolanda critics gradeYolanda Williams is an idiot. This Movie was so stupid and unoriginal with a predictable plot and bad humor. Few scenes will make you laugh but most is just an unsatisfying mix and not worth your time or money.By the way Yolanda critics grade movies on quality and Ride Along was just a disaster. Please Yolanda get off the internet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
bdub526Jan 30, 2014
Where do I start?
I never saw the preview before watching Ride Along. I heard it starred Ice Cube and Kevin Hart, so I didn't expect much from it. Ice Cube was typical Ice Cube, and Kevin Hart stuck to his comedian small guy act. Everything
Where do I start?
I never saw the preview before watching Ride Along. I heard it starred Ice Cube and Kevin Hart, so I didn't expect much from it. Ice Cube was typical Ice Cube, and Kevin Hart stuck to his comedian small guy act. Everything in this movie was very predictable. The acting was on the low side. But I did get a few good laughs in. Lawrence Fishburne was perfect for Omar's character, even if it was a small part to play.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
eagleeyevikingFeb 8, 2016
Some funny scenarios and good chemistry between Ice Cube and Kevin Hart isn't enough to save Ride Along from buddy cop comedy clichés. My advice: skip this ride.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
zDuhtainedFeb 3, 2014
If you are looking for a clean comedy with Kevin Hart and Ice Cube, this movie is as clean as it can be with very little cussing and loads of action, I did enjoy this movie and also love watching Kevin Hart!!
My score for this movie is 8 out of 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SannyasiJan 18, 2014
This film is just not very well put together. The plot is predictable even for a buddy cop movie, and the action is not very good. That being said Kevin Hart was funny and the movie did score some big laughs in the theater I was in.This film is just not very well put together. The plot is predictable even for a buddy cop movie, and the action is not very good. That being said Kevin Hart was funny and the movie did score some big laughs in the theater I was in. However despite its humor the movie does start to drag on. I would only recommend this movie if you are a big Kevin Hart fan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
failureturtleJan 26, 2014
Frankly, Ride Along was only watchable due to the fact that I've enjoyed these actors in other movies. Kevin Hart is the sole actor to bring any humor out of the script, but given the flat performance of Ice Cube, Lawrence Fishburne and theFrankly, Ride Along was only watchable due to the fact that I've enjoyed these actors in other movies. Kevin Hart is the sole actor to bring any humor out of the script, but given the flat performance of Ice Cube, Lawrence Fishburne and the rest of the cast, I just can't say that Hart's part is enough reason to watch. Also, plot points are often introduced to soon be abandoned for the next minor plot point. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
david1997Apr 19, 2014
Ride along is yet a dumb funny buddy cop movie with a few laughs and some entertainment but lacks some value and sense in its movie..What have been better with a proper storyline ..all in all I give it a 50/100
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
aperry6Feb 16, 2014
Well, I must start off with the fact this movie is a bit cheesy, and some of the acting and such is a bit eh. However, for the most part this movie is hilarious and the funniest parts, to me, are the subtlest. Ride Along is a feel good movieWell, I must start off with the fact this movie is a bit cheesy, and some of the acting and such is a bit eh. However, for the most part this movie is hilarious and the funniest parts, to me, are the subtlest. Ride Along is a feel good movie worth going and seeing. Had it been R rated, who knows how good it could've been. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
lukechristianscJan 3, 2016
"Ride Along" manages to get a few laughs from me, but the main character played by the wild eccentric talented comic Kevin Hart is so annoying, yes I know he's supposed to be that way but it's so annoying and painful watching him for one-hour"Ride Along" manages to get a few laughs from me, but the main character played by the wild eccentric talented comic Kevin Hart is so annoying, yes I know he's supposed to be that way but it's so annoying and painful watching him for one-hour and forty minutes. Kevin Hart plays Ben Barber a security guard, who has tried to convince James (Ice Cube) that he is worthy of marrying James' sister Angela (Tika Sumpter). Ben is invited to the police academy, James decides to test his mettle by inviting him along on the shift designed to scare the trainee. Director Tim Story (Barber Shop, Think Like A Man and Fantastic Four) provides Hart and Cube some funny comedic landscape and Story does succeed by making it making it funny, but overall Hart and Cube would do better if they had a different director and had a better director instead Hart and Cube are trying to shine and make the script work also outshine the bad direction by Story. Laurence Fishbourne is good as the villain, also John Leguizamo is miss-cast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Nesj3Mar 14, 2014
Not the best comedy movie, but if you have nothing else to do, it can lighten your mood in many ways, there are plenty of funny scenes. But not the best story tbh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
chwJul 17, 2014
Ride Along is pretty funny, but it's also kind of stupid of how they portray the "ride along", because a friend of mine described to me that the ride along he went on was scary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CanucksApr 22, 2014
I liked this movie. Not great acting or epic theater but who cares, It was funny and kept me watching. Cube and Hart made a good team... A bit predictable but this is Hollywood where nothing is a surprise anymore.
If you like Ice Cube and
I liked this movie. Not great acting or epic theater but who cares, It was funny and kept me watching. Cube and Hart made a good team... A bit predictable but this is Hollywood where nothing is a surprise anymore.
If you like Ice Cube and Kevin Heart and enjoyed movies like Rush Hour then this is worth a watch.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
kateesposito3Apr 7, 2014
The previews for Ride Along were better than the actual movie. Kevin Hart is hilarious per usual, but like I said- I've already seen the funny parts 200 times via commercials and previews, that by the time I watched the movie I was annoyedThe previews for Ride Along were better than the actual movie. Kevin Hart is hilarious per usual, but like I said- I've already seen the funny parts 200 times via commercials and previews, that by the time I watched the movie I was annoyed seeing it again.
I was very, very bored with it- I wanted to leave since it was so predictable.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
jasonswanbourneMay 20, 2014
This definitely a very bad movie with its entirely cliche and predictable plot that doesn't even start properly until 60 minutes of its 100 minute run-time has passed, yes that's right a majority of the movie is dedicated to presenting to usThis definitely a very bad movie with its entirely cliche and predictable plot that doesn't even start properly until 60 minutes of its 100 minute run-time has passed, yes that's right a majority of the movie is dedicated to presenting to us not so funny scenarios that has Kevin Hart doing his best to make his ranting sound funny with moderate success. The 40 minutes that do relate to the main plot just shows the audience how unoriginal this movie is , with its main mystery going to waste and the ending turning into useless mini-version of die hard providing a very unsatisfying ending.
The characters are cliche and consists of everyone you would expect in a typical cop buddy movie, a bad ass cop protective of his sister, the strict police commissioner who disapproves the bad ass cop, and the seemingly puny weak stupid guy who is in love with his sister and of course, some sort of uninteresting gang or cartel with its mystery leader. I would highly recommend anyone to not watch this movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
c11beatzMay 24, 2014
terrible............................................................................................................................................................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TheFredinatorJun 21, 2014
Its alright. Ride Along is a movie about a guy who tries to impress his girlfriends brother by proving to be "Badass." It is pretty funny I just didn't think it deserved all the hype it got. The plot is pretty good except it is very easy toIts alright. Ride Along is a movie about a guy who tries to impress his girlfriends brother by proving to be "Badass." It is pretty funny I just didn't think it deserved all the hype it got. The plot is pretty good except it is very easy to get lost in it due to all of the other information you are getting. Its extremely funny and a good comedy but the lack of plot isn't good. It felt a lot like a sequel then a new movie and you do not want your movie to look like a sequel.

Ride Along gets a 6/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MadmikeJul 11, 2014
I really like both ice cube and Kevin hart but the movie is nothing special. The only way I see people liking it is if, like me, already like the actors or are young kids and teenagers. Its watchable but not too funny. I smiled here andI really like both ice cube and Kevin hart but the movie is nothing special. The only way I see people liking it is if, like me, already like the actors or are young kids and teenagers. Its watchable but not too funny. I smiled here and there laughed a few times and sad to say that was it. The chemistry between cube and hart was pretty good but with a so,I'd script and director I think they could be great together. It's very formulaic in the story structure, characters are not too deep (doesn't need to be in a comedy but depth still helps) as with most movies, especially comedies dumb things people say or act that would never happen in real life do happen in the movie for the sole sake of moving the story forward. There's no real tension and I think it just comes from a weak script and the directing could have been miles better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
alysajordanJul 14, 2014
This movie was a funny movie altogether, you would get to some part's that weren't interested but other then that its was a good movie .
Kevin Hart over course was hilarious , and Ice Cube was not too funny but played the part well .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
reellmOct 6, 2014
2/5★ Kevin Hart works for every penny. He's on fire from the first frame, and he does not stop, like a little energizer bunny who is always jumping around. Unfortunately, he doesn't distract from the unoriginal and only mildly entertaining2/5★ Kevin Hart works for every penny. He's on fire from the first frame, and he does not stop, like a little energizer bunny who is always jumping around. Unfortunately, he doesn't distract from the unoriginal and only mildly entertaining film.
Verdict: For the Buddy Cop genre/Kevin Hart fan.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Q8MarrongGlaceApr 18, 2016
Not bad for what it is , As a partner cops making a movie with Action, Comedy, Crime categorize you will find all the above , Believe me I've seen worst :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
TheFilmFanaticNov 2, 2014
Ride Along is a predictable buddy cop action-comedy that falls victim to Tim Story's inability to create adequate character development or storytelling in his films. Instead what is left is an unoriginal cliched plot filled with more jokesRide Along is a predictable buddy cop action-comedy that falls victim to Tim Story's inability to create adequate character development or storytelling in his films. Instead what is left is an unoriginal cliched plot filled with more jokes than real story. Although the chemistry of Ice Cube and Kevin Hart is good, Hart's manic demeanour becomes overbearing sometimes. The buddy cop genre is terribly cliched but a little more effort in story and characters would have gone a long way to making this a better film. Ride Along is a very undemanding piece of action entertainment so if I were you, I'd just ride along and not expect anything. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TheLonelyHunterNov 15, 2014
If we see the movie from a technical standpoint and meticulously take a look at performances,execution,plot and production value we do not treat the movie right.Of course the movie is weak in all the above aspects but it is not meant toIf we see the movie from a technical standpoint and meticulously take a look at performances,execution,plot and production value we do not treat the movie right.Of course the movie is weak in all the above aspects but it is not meant to impress and win awards.This movie is enjoyable to watch from start to finish because of the personalities that take part in it.You will get a few laughs out of it and memorize some funny lines to discuss with your friends.The scenario is not the one that will get you thrilled but the approach and the attitude will win you over.If you want to be 0% serious and relax for a few minutes while turning your brain off that's the movie for you.For me this movie covered the aboved points and that was exactly what I expected.It is not worth watching in theaters but it's worth renting for a night. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Movi3R3vi3werDec 28, 2014
What is there really to say? The point of a comedy is to make the audience laugh and guess what? I DIDN'T LAUGH ONCE. Keven Hart gives it his all but he can't get pass the stupidity of this script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
YarnJan 10, 2015
Arguably one one of the worse movies I've ever seen. Hart's acting reaches levels of annoyance previously only Chris Tucker ever had. Ice Cube, however, sounds as if he's a franksenstinian amalgamation of cliche'd overworked cops that we'veArguably one one of the worse movies I've ever seen. Hart's acting reaches levels of annoyance previously only Chris Tucker ever had. Ice Cube, however, sounds as if he's a franksenstinian amalgamation of cliche'd overworked cops that we've seen time and time again. The plot is clustered and unfocused, the relationship between Hart and Ice Cube makes little sense, starting off rough, as was intended, and follows through with that until the very end, with little to no form of development in between barring the insane amount of slapstick humour. The plot is clustered and non-sensical, and, unfortunately, even though the entire focus of the movie is the jokes, it fails at that miserably. I would only suggest this movie for any government agents looking for any viable torture techniques. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DavidV293Apr 14, 2015
Kevin Hart tried to be funny on this one. Like I could see that he was just trying way too hard in some scenes. Ride Along is not a terrible movie it's just an OK. I really tried to stay and enjoy it. But it barely make me laugh. All I canKevin Hart tried to be funny on this one. Like I could see that he was just trying way too hard in some scenes. Ride Along is not a terrible movie it's just an OK. I really tried to stay and enjoy it. But it barely make me laugh. All I can say it's that you will forget about this movie soon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
acaiberryMar 20, 2015
I give this a 5.5 which translate to a 6 but I was expecting more effort in the plot than what it turned out to be. I love Kevin Hart and I think he is naturally funny, but he did nothing here that I haven't seen before. Good thing Ice CubeI give this a 5.5 which translate to a 6 but I was expecting more effort in the plot than what it turned out to be. I love Kevin Hart and I think he is naturally funny, but he did nothing here that I haven't seen before. Good thing Ice Cube showed up as his polar opposite or else this would've turned exponentially banal.

As far as comedy movies go, this is average as it gets and really seems formulaic. I don't easily laugh at old elements of comedy and I tend to look for something new so this movie disappointed me there. Another thing I want to say is not all the scenes are particularly captivating so expect lulls in the film.

All in all, it gets a 6 because you'll get the laughs and who doesn't love a bit of cop-badguy action?
Word to describe: Wandering, it's not as good as you think as it gets predicative so your mind will wander every once in a while.
Watch it with some friends and it's okay to get the annoying movie friend to come because it's a comedy. Even the annoying movie friends deserve to laugh a bit.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ImaginaryCriticApr 19, 2015
I'm going to be honest but I didn't find it funny or interesting. It's so much things that you have seen before in other movies. Kevin Hart did okay but doesn't really delivers the things that make me laugh. I was going to give this movie a 4I'm going to be honest but I didn't find it funny or interesting. It's so much things that you have seen before in other movies. Kevin Hart did okay but doesn't really delivers the things that make me laugh. I was going to give this movie a 4 which is good enough for this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
NatT96Aug 13, 2015
Has its flaws, but not a horrible film as people make it seem. The plot could use some massive work, but its not enough to give it less that a 5 though, the jokes are not bad, nor super good but I did laugh at Kevin's jokes. Ice Cube was aHas its flaws, but not a horrible film as people make it seem. The plot could use some massive work, but its not enough to give it less that a 5 though, the jokes are not bad, nor super good but I did laugh at Kevin's jokes. Ice Cube was a good edition, but he did not seem to even want to connect with Kevin at all, but hell the sequel could be a major improvement over this very decent cup of tea Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeJan 15, 2016
A little bit better than its sequel because that's why I'm here. Ice Cube and Kevin Hart can easily make a great combo, but the movie falls apart from the combo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Keyshawk13Apr 13, 2016
Kyle foresee
Mrs. shafer
4/13/16 Ride Along I have been watching movies for a long period of time, so I decided to review one. I have decided to review the movie “Ride Along”. The categories I am using to grade this movie are actors,
Kyle foresee
Mrs. shafer
4/13/16
Ride Along

I have been watching movies for a long period of time, so I decided to review one. I have decided to review the movie “Ride Along”. The categories I am using to grade this movie are actors, jokes,and story. I have a rubric and everything.

Actors, Ride along has many great actors, like Ice cube and Kevin Hart and many others. Kevin Hart is a non serious, funny guy who tries to act tough the entire movie. Ice Cube is a lawful street tough who became a cop and has to take Kevin on a ride along. The acting was good, I like both of them so I would have to give it an A.

Jokes, This movie was one of the funniest movies with Kevin Hart. I don't really like most of his movies, but this one is good because their jokes were well timed and Kevin and ice cube work well together. All in all it was a funny movie, I would have given it a B.

Story, A quick summary of the story, Kevin wants to marry Ice Cubes sister, ice cube doesn't think Kevin can protect her so he brings him on a ride along. After a few shenanigans, they run into the guy Ice Cube has been after for a few years and get in a kerfuffle. Now if that's not a good story then my name isn't Kyle. I'd have to give it an A.

In conclusion, it was a pretty good movie. It was funny and had a good story plot. Although one thing that doesn't make sense to me how kevin didn't feel he got shot, even though a bullet went through. I would rate this 4.5/5 stars.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
shadowguy654Oct 18, 2016
This movie is in ok.But It have 2 pros and 2 cons.The cons are this movie got some unfunny jokes and this movie is forgettable.The pros are kevin hart is funny and got good action.So I give ride along a 6/10,I only recommend this movie.If youThis movie is in ok.But It have 2 pros and 2 cons.The cons are this movie got some unfunny jokes and this movie is forgettable.The pros are kevin hart is funny and got good action.So I give ride along a 6/10,I only recommend this movie.If you think kevin hart and Ice cube will make a great team.Because I don't think they make a great team Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews