Rio 2

  • Studio: Gkids
  • Release Date: Apr 11, 2014
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Louis Black
    Apr 16, 2014
    30
    All singing, all dancing, all color: Rio 2 is a modern, studio animation blockbuster spilling all over the place, rather than arching into the sky.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Packham
    Apr 10, 2014
    30
    Rio 2 wants to be a musical, but instead of timing songs to, say, the emotional peaks of the characters, director Carlos Saldanha opts for high-intensity intervals of singing every four minutes.
  3. Reviewed by: Eric Henderson
    Apr 8, 2014
    25
    The net effect is a shapeless would-be diversion in which things just happen independently, a string of effects missing any cause.
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 148 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 44
  2. Negative: 9 out of 44
  1. Apr 11, 2014
    8
    Rio 2 brings newly improved crispy and fleshy visuals than the original. It's story is great which deals family matters and relationship, theRio 2 brings newly improved crispy and fleshy visuals than the original. It's story is great which deals family matters and relationship, the music is funky and lively, the voice casts is well-talented but the only thing that doesn't work out much is the hit-or-miss gags. Overall, it still enjoyable to watch at. Full Review »
  2. Jul 16, 2014
    8
    The first movie was a silent hit. One of the best animations on that year. Usually successful movies make comeback in sequels and I expectedThe first movie was a silent hit. One of the best animations on that year. Usually successful movies make comeback in sequels and I expected the 'Rio 2', but was not sure. 'Ice Age' series were the massive hit from the Blue Sky Studios. Other movies did not look like coming back in sequels. So 'Rio' gave them a chance to go on with a sequel. After this movie's success, now you can count on the 3rd as well. If it doesn't come then it will be a disappointment.

    Nowadays the animation industry is not targeting only the children, but adults as well. So the contents, including the story must benefit all age groups. This movie series were excellent, good story with messages in it. Especially this second movie talks about wildlife conservation like the movie 'Happy Feet'. Showing to the kids would be an educational. What a cute way to learn something valuable.

    Blu and Jewel with three kids enjoying the life. Jewel is an ideal mother who wants her kids to learn everything that birds can do naturally. But Blu who was once a human companion is not made for those. This is the issue wanted to be solved after all they are the last of their kind on the planet. One day they get a news that the explorer sighted a whole flock of blue macaw on the Amazon wilderness. Blu and Jewel decides to go and find them and let their kids to connect with their roots. So this adventure is our great entertainment. Lots of fun and even more than that. Just like in the 'Madagascar' movie, who discovers where they originally belong to.

    ‘‘Birds of blue feathers...
    Have to stick together.’’

    The songs were really good and my favorite track is 'let's come together (beautiful creatures)'. Beautiful jungle beats, it is the latest addition to my free time listening list. There was nothing special in digital 3D, but definitely not bad. I saw the first movie in the regular version, but I enjoyed watching this in 3D. The story was not great, but humors were. The human characters were avoided until it gets into a crucial stage. The expansion of characters was exceptional. The original sidekicks from the first movie set aside to make their own fun which partially detached from mainstream story. The newer ones opened another dimension of the family and friend related drama, with happiness found and the jealousy kind of stuffs. Overall, a good animation, hard to leave behind unseen and not to suggest others. So if you like animations then don't listen to anybody, just go for it.

    7.5/10
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 22, 2014
    9
    Ignore the critics reviews, what would they know ... they are not kids... Out of my five year olds mouth about Rio 2 in 3D... "I loved it canIgnore the critics reviews, what would they know ... they are not kids... Out of my five year olds mouth about Rio 2 in 3D... "I loved it can we see it again"... That is all that should be cared about, what the target audience thinks not a bunch of adult critics... I am sure most kids would give this at least an 8... Full Review »