Universal Pictures | Release Date: July 19, 2013
4.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 271 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
77
Mixed:
91
Negative:
103
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
KefrifAug 3, 2013
This was an enjoyable film! What do people expect? The performances were fun, it was well cast, and the story was entertaining. Yes its the stepchild of better movies (MIB, Ghostbusters), but that's not to downgrade it I'd urge you to watchThis was an enjoyable film! What do people expect? The performances were fun, it was well cast, and the story was entertaining. Yes its the stepchild of better movies (MIB, Ghostbusters), but that's not to downgrade it I'd urge you to watch it when it hits a home release though. Feels like it would work better that way. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
JabbtothFeb 22, 2014
I don't get all the hate this movie is great if you feel like watching a silly movie about killing dead people, laughed my head off. Sometimes you just need a dumb movie to make you feel all happy inside and this is what R.I.P.D is.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
RealMuthaFJan 23, 2014
I totally don't understand all the hate towards this movie. Yes, R.I.P.D. has many parallels with Men In Black, but it's not the makers' fault, it's based on an existing comic after all. Besides, "a MIB clone" sounds like a compliment for me,I totally don't understand all the hate towards this movie. Yes, R.I.P.D. has many parallels with Men In Black, but it's not the makers' fault, it's based on an existing comic after all. Besides, "a MIB clone" sounds like a compliment for me, since I absolutely love the MIB movies. Anyway, this movie's got stellar cast (Reynolds, cowboy Bridges, Kevin Bacon and the ever-pretty Mary-Louise Parker), mostly funny jokes, quite gripping action scenes and, suddenly, a bit of convincing drama. Now the downsides are that the plot's a bit predictable and the visual effects aren't all polished, but those are minor to me. A solid 8 out of 10, don't skip this out because of the critics. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
adde1Dec 1, 2013
I rather enjoyed this movie. It was fairly clean for a PG-13. My son enjoyed it, as it brought back "old school" movie themes like Ghost Busters, a modern theme, and Men in Black charisma. It was funny, the monsters weren't super creepy. ItI rather enjoyed this movie. It was fairly clean for a PG-13. My son enjoyed it, as it brought back "old school" movie themes like Ghost Busters, a modern theme, and Men in Black charisma. It was funny, the monsters weren't super creepy. It probably would have done better with a little younger target age group. I recommend this. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
CailoreJul 31, 2013
If MiB and Ghost Busters had a baby…

It's a fun movie based on a comic book, if you are going to review it based on it's standing next to Downton Abbey then, you probably should adjust your medication. It isn't high art, but it is
If MiB and Ghost Busters had a baby…

It's a fun movie based on a comic book, if you are going to review it based on it's standing next to Downton Abbey then, you probably should adjust your medication.

It isn't high art, but it is enjoyable for what it is a silly summer action movie.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
Miko_YorkJul 24, 2013
Nice funny move. Jeff Bridges is briliant actor. Because of him this move looks good. Its a clone of MIB indeed, but I had a great time and can reccoment it to friends.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
etb444Dec 27, 2013
Don't listen to all this hate. This movie was action packed and a good, imaginative story made this movie great. I can't believe all this hate for such a great movie. OK, maybe it was a bit like Men in Black but the story was completelyDon't listen to all this hate. This movie was action packed and a good, imaginative story made this movie great. I can't believe all this hate for such a great movie. OK, maybe it was a bit like Men in Black but the story was completely original. Ryan Reynold and Jeff Bridges performance was great. definitely recommend this for people who want an original, funny, and well made sci-fi movie. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
MazzyrazzyJul 21, 2013
I honestly don't understand all the hate. I thoroughly enjoyed every moment of this film. Yes it was a bit like MiB maybe and the CGI could've been a bit better, but my friends and I, as well as the packed theater, couldn't stop laughing. AllI honestly don't understand all the hate. I thoroughly enjoyed every moment of this film. Yes it was a bit like MiB maybe and the CGI could've been a bit better, but my friends and I, as well as the packed theater, couldn't stop laughing. All I can say is don't listen to reviews and go see for yourself. If you go in expecting a bad movie, you're not going to enjoy yourself. Expand
7 of 19 users found this helpful712
All this user's reviews
7
scoleySep 27, 2013
I think people are being very harsh I don’t think it’s the best film ever but is definitely not that bad to get such a hammering if you like Men In Black you will like this if you don’t then don’t go anywhere near it. There are some veryI think people are being very harsh I don’t think it’s the best film ever but is definitely not that bad to get such a hammering if you like Men In Black you will like this if you don’t then don’t go anywhere near it. There are some very funny bits in it Jeff Bridges is not too bad a few good special effects worth a watch on the telly or if you have a cinema monthly pass Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
stew1017Mar 30, 2014
The movie was fire. I don't know why all the hate is coming down on this one movie. People who talk bad about this movie are wrong and probably don't have a imagination or a funny bone in there body. Anyone any age can be a dusty hating madThe movie was fire. I don't know why all the hate is coming down on this one movie. People who talk bad about this movie are wrong and probably don't have a imagination or a funny bone in there body. Anyone any age can be a dusty hating mad at the world and everything hater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
x_tina74Jul 1, 2014
I have to agree mostly with Mazzyrazzy! I thought Jeff Bridges was HILARIOUS and my husband and I laughed so much during certain parts we had to watch again. I've seen movies that were much, much, MUCH worse...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ydnar4Jan 17, 2015
This movie was certainly not amazing but it really doesn't deserve all the hate that its gotten. The premise is really interesting although I'm sure they likely could have done a better job with the overall product, there was more potentialThis movie was certainly not amazing but it really doesn't deserve all the hate that its gotten. The premise is really interesting although I'm sure they likely could have done a better job with the overall product, there was more potential here. There's lots of action and original looking computer animation for the dead people. Jeff Bridges was definitely my favorite character. He was badass the whole way through. Ryan Reynolds still hasn't convinced me though. This movie certainly wasn't horrible but it could've been better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
hollandmajorApr 23, 2016
Really, don't get hold back by all the negative review. It's just a good action/shooter movie with a decent plot. The story is wel thought of and really I actually don't see why people keep saying its a simple MIB/ghostbusters copy. I didn'tReally, don't get hold back by all the negative review. It's just a good action/shooter movie with a decent plot. The story is wel thought of and really I actually don't see why people keep saying its a simple MIB/ghostbusters copy. I didn't even think of that untill I read the reviews. Yes, the story might be predictable, but I wasn't bored a single time during the movie. So, R.I.P.D. is an excelent movie to watch on your free friday evening and just let the fiction and shooting go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews