RoboCop

RoboCop Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 276 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: When Officer Alex J. Murphy (Weller) is murdered in a futuristic crime-ridden Detroit, scientists and doctors decide to turn him into a "Robocop". He seeks revenge when memories of his past life return.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 90
    Robocop is as tightly worked as a film can be, not a moment or line wasted.
  2. 80
    Robocop is one weird and entertaining hybrid of camp and sci-fi shoot-'em-up.
  3. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    80
    It was this love of mayhem combined with a biting comic attack on neo-fascist corporatism - most notably seen in the TV ads for products like the apocalyptic board game Nuke 'Em - which helped raise Robocop above the common sci-fi herd.
  4. Boston Globe
    Reviewed by: Jay Carr
    75
    [Verhoeven's] cold, slick, funny, high-powered movie is informed by a humanism this genre almost always abandons in its chase after vigilante splat. [17 Jul 1987]
  5. Great effects and a nasty undercurrent drive this vehicle.
  6. The Globe and Mail (Toronto)
    Reviewed by: Stephen Cole
    63
    Robocop isn't going to win Verhoeven any medals - the focus remains on action, guns and gore - but it's a flashy movie with enough wit to be more than just another dumb bucket of bolts. [17 Jul 1987]
  7. Chicago Tribune
    Reviewed by: Dave Kehr
    50
    Paul Verhoeven's RoboCop is a stylish piece of work that leaves a sour aftertaste. [17 Jul 1987]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    I am supremely impressed. not by the fact that it avoid the typical inept 80's action movie stereotypes, but by the entire film. It's epic,I am supremely impressed. not by the fact that it avoid the typical inept 80's action movie stereotypes, but by the entire film. It's epic, it's grand, it's just so goddamn amazing. One would expect less, but when that one person decides to see this, they will be smiten and ashamed as to their thoughts of the movie prior. Collapse
  2. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    This was supposed to be a film destined to Class B, but people now a days and since its premiere the Legendary looks, and I do not disagree,This was supposed to be a film destined to Class B, but people now a days and since its premiere the Legendary looks, and I do not disagree, it is.
    Hail, Paul Verhoeven!
    Expand
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    The "critic" that gave this film a 5/10 is probably mentally-ill. This film is amazing. It's stylish, brutal, witty, and oh, so satisfying.The "critic" that gave this film a 5/10 is probably mentally-ill. This film is amazing. It's stylish, brutal, witty, and oh, so satisfying. The best action flick of the 80's in my opinion. Expand
  4. Feb 13, 2016
    8
    I love the work of Paul Verhoeven and Robocop is not an exception to this rule. An astute criticism of American culture and also a fantasticI love the work of Paul Verhoeven and Robocop is not an exception to this rule. An astute criticism of American culture and also a fantastic shoot em up late 80's action flick, Robocop features solid acting, solid special effects, and a killer plot coupled with great direction and writing. A fun and entertaining film, Robocop works on both a pure entertainment level and the satirical level, similar to Verhoeven's later work on Starship Troopers. In Robocop, Verhoeven uses its relatively straight forward plot as a tool to critique American culture, namely when it comes to violence, television, the military, capitalism, and the very infrastructure of our society. In addition, I also really thought Verhoeven was ahead of his time in his portrayal of women here, as they are shown as being largely on the same playing field as men and if you did not know better, you would have no idea what gender they are. Somehow, this film was criticized for being sexist, but I have no idea how. As I watched, I was struck by how well done the women in the film were, but I guess maybe I am the one who is wrong. Who knows. Anyways, Robocop is a very well made action film by Paul Verhoeven that is both entertaining and thought provoking. Expand
  5. May 25, 2014
    8
    After watching the new RoboCop and seeing how bad it was i thought id give the original another try. Its been years since the last time iAfter watching the new RoboCop and seeing how bad it was i thought id give the original another try. Its been years since the last time i watched the movie but i remember that it was totally kickass. Just like i remember i loved the movie right from the beginning this like many other 80's and 90's action movies feels more raw and real rather then the action movies we have now. There is no comparing this to the new RoboCop movie as this movie is hands down miles better then its remake even Peter Weller as RoboCop/Murphy was better then Joel Kinnaman and hewas the best part of that of the remake. The action is great and a bit brutal which i thought was awesome even though some of the action scenes were stop motion/go motion but i found those parts to be funny. Though with the remastered Blu ray version that was just released last month the whole movie looks absolutely amazing if you are going to be watching this movie anytime soon id recommend watching that version you wont regret it.

    Overall i give it a 8.0 also Kurtwood Smith as the villain was just too funny but he did a great job.
    Expand
  6. Aug 19, 2012
    8
    In 2012, RoboCop is hilariously dated but still a great action movie from start to finish. One of the finest examples of action movieIn 2012, RoboCop is hilariously dated but still a great action movie from start to finish. One of the finest examples of action movie greatness with a story that is, surprisingly, good. A timeless classic! A must see for all action movie fans! Expand
  7. Jun 9, 2016
    6
    Robocop suffers a lose of imagination and action, so this film is just a mediocre sci-fi film, withboring story-telling, simpleRobocop suffers a lose of imagination and action, so this film is just a mediocre sci-fi film, withboring story-telling, simple interpretations and only violence in step of action, for try to entertain adult viewers. Nothing bad for that times... Expand

See all 23 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 15 Reboots Worse Than the Original Movies

    15 Reboots Worse Than the Original Movies Image
    Published: July 5, 2016
    While we await the verdict on the new Ghostbusters, we look back at 15 other recent film reboots that failed to match the quality of their predecessors.
  2. 2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs)

    2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs) Image
    Published: January 14, 2014
    We preview dozens of the year's most anticipated films, including the latest from Wes Anderson, Christopher Nolan, Paul Thomas Anderson, David Fincher, Bennett Miller, Lars von Trier, Terrence Malick, Richard Linklater, David Cronenberg, and more. Plus, find out which films we picked as the year's likeliest box office bombs.
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: November 22, 2013
    Catch up on this week's movie news, and watch brand new trailers for Lars von Trier's "Nymphomaniac" plus "Muppets Most Wanted," "Need for Speed," "Robocop," and more.
  4. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: September 6, 2013
    Watch new trailers for "Robocop," "Gravity," "Runner Runner," "Nymphomaniac," "Neighbors," and more, and catch up on the week's movie news, including new casting announcements for the "Fifty Shades of Grey" adaptation.